Hong Kong International Salon des vins et spiritueux 2017, Chine

La 10e édition du Hong Kong International Wine & Spirits Fair, une cave pleine de connaissances sur le vin et d’opportunités commerciales, aura lieu du 11 au 13 novembre au Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Au total, 1 070 exposants de 38 pays et régions ont présenté des vins exquis du monde entier.

Le salon propose une plate-forme incomparable de vins et spiritueux de premier plan du monde entier et reste l’étape idéale pour l’approvisionnement de millésimes extraordinaires, s’adressant aux acheteurs mondiaux à la recherche de la grandeur de la production à la vente. Les trois jours d’échanges intenses entre les intérêts commerciaux mondiaux et l’établissement de relations interpersonnelles, la collecte d’informations et la promotion de la culture œnologique internationale.

Sept nouveaux pavillons de l’APEV – Asociatia Producatorilor si Exportatorilor de Vinuri; Confederação dos Agricultores de Portugal; Enterprise Mauritius; Vins de Setúbal Península, Portugal; le centre d’exportation russe; la Southern United States Trade Association et le Syndicat Général des Vignerons de la Champagne, France (SGV).

Avec plus de 70 événements spectaculaires et 32 ​​pavillons de groupe thématiques, réseautez avec les meilleurs producteurs et débouchez les meilleurs de l’industrie avec des dégustations de vin, des masterclasses, des séminaires et des millésimes rares dans une vitrine mondiale fascinante.

Depuis que le gouvernement de la RASHK a supprimé tous les droits de douane sur le vin et mis en œuvre des mesures spéciales de dédouanement dans le cadre du CEPA (Arrangement de partenariat économique plus étroit) en 2008, Hong Kong est devenu un centre de commerce et de distribution de vin pour la région.

En tant que port hors taxes avec une bonne connectivité aérienne et d’excellentes installations de stockage, Hong Kong est mondialement reconnue comme le centre de distribution de vin le plus rentable. Les marchands de vin du monde entier privilégient Hong Kong comme tremplin pour développer leurs activités en Asie et sur le continent.

En particulier, Hong Kong est devenue une plate-forme pour le commerce du vin avec le continent, qui a longtemps été le plus grand marché pour les vins réexportés de la ville. Les mesures de facilitation étant désormais étendues à tous les districts douaniers, nos négociants en vin bénéficient d’un dédouanement plus rapide et d’une plus grande certitude lors de la réexportation de vins via Hong Kong.

En plus des avantages de Hong Kong tels que des infrastructures avancées, des réseaux de transport et des professionnels expérimentés de l’industrie, les nouvelles mesures renforcent encore la position de Hong Kong en tant que plaque tournante du commerce du vin en attirant davantage de négociants en vin mondiaux pour accéder au marché continental à travers la ville.

Salon du vin de Hong Kong 2017
À l’aube de son 10e anniversaire, le Wine & Spirits Fair est devenu un événement majeur du genre en Asie. Le salon de cette année présente 1 070 exposants de 38 pays et régions. Inclut les nouveaux exposants de Malaisie, Maurice, Roumanie, Serbie et Ukraine.

Le Wine & Spirits Fair est plus qu’une simple plateforme de trading d’élite pour le vin; l’événement est également une vitrine d’expertise du marché qui attire acheteurs, producteurs, sommeliers, hôteliers, restaurateurs, importateurs et distributeurs. Il y a aussi beaucoup plus à découvrir que le vin, car la foire propose également des spiritueux, des bières artisanales, des cocktails et d’autres boissons reflétant la culture mondiale.

Le salon sert également de plaque tournante de la connaissance du marché avec une gamme d’événements éducatifs, de séminaires, de classes de maître, de dégustations et de démonstrations révélant les tendances émergentes et un aperçu de l’industrie. Le dernier jour de l’événement était ouvert aux visiteurs du public, offrant une occasion exceptionnelle aux amateurs de vin de Hong Kong d’enrichir leurs connaissances et de déguster une large sélection de vins du monde entier.

Les zones thématiques comprennent les produits alcoolisés et les boissons, les amis du vin, l’éducation sur le vin et les équipements et services d’accessoires pour le vin, contribuant à favoriser le développement de l’industrie.

Champagne Avenue: Champagne Avenue est un lieu événementiel confortable présentant une exposition de grandeur, d’élégance et de célébration des producteurs de Champagne de différentes régions, notamment sept producteurs présentés par le Syndicat Général des Vignerons de Champagne, France (SGV).

Whisky and Spirits Zone: La populaire Whisky and Spirits Zone est de retour cette année avec plus de 100 exposants de premier plan présentant les grands whiskies et les spiritueux élégants. Apprenez tout sur le voyage d’excellence entrepris par certains des meilleurs spiritueux du monde.

Sautez dans la zone de la bière: dégustez d’excellentes bières artisanales et découvrez cet aliment de base emblématique de l’happy hour auprès de certains des producteurs les plus qualifiés au monde de la zone de la bière. Acclamations!

Zone Guide: Le monde dynamique de la mixologie a une maison au Ice Bar où les meilleurs barmans organisent des démonstrations de cocktails d’experts et se tournent vers l’avenir de la consommation intelligente avec une démonstration robotique de barman.

La Slovénie, pays d’Europe centrale, qui possède une industrie apicole en pleine croissance, lance le pavillon interactif “Bee World” à la foire pour promouvoir la “Journée mondiale de l’abeille” (20 mai), comme l’a proclamé l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies. Certains exposants slovènes présentent également des vins à base de miel.

Points forts
Plus de 30 pavillons présentent également fièrement leurs meilleurs vins produits à partir de différents terroirs, parmi lesquels Le Syndicat Général des Vignerons de la Champagne, France fait ses débuts et réunit sept grands vignerons rarement vus en Asie.

Les exposants mondiaux présentent une gamme de vins et d’expositions à la foire. Certains des faits saillants comprennent:

La nouvelle Champagne Avenue, où SGV présente sept vignerons de quatre régions viticoles, ainsi que des dégustations de Champagne de petits et moyens producteurs

Chateau Mercian Nagano’s Chardonnay Unwooded 2015 du Japon, lauréat du Gold Award de l’International Wine Challenge 2017. Le plus ancien domaine viticole du Japon, Chateau Mercian, est en activité depuis 1877. Ce vin blanc présente une saveur rafraîchissante de pêche et d’écorce de citron.

Dictador 20 Ans Solera System Rum de Colombie. Avec 15 récompenses internationales à son nom, le rhum est l’une des variétés les plus récompensées au monde en son genre, grâce à son utilisation combinée de recettes anciennes et de la technologie moderne.

Le Cabernet Sauvignon Girard 2014 des États-Unis. Il a été servi lors du premier dîner d’État organisé par le président américain Donald Trump pour le président chinois Xi Jinping.

Produit par la cave boutique renommée Girard de Napa Valley, en Californie, dont le climat chaud fait mûrir les raisins et les rend plus charnus, Girard 2014 Cabernet Sauvignon porte un soupçon de cacao en poudre, entrelacé avec des notes de cassis et de framboises noires. Des notes de cuir et d’herbes séchées se joignent aux tanins pour remplir le palais d’une texture intégrée.

Outre les rouges, le chardonnay pétillant a également fait son apparition dans l’arène de la politique internationale. La cave Aleksandrovic de Serbie intègre la recette des maîtres de chais royaux à la science moderne et à la technologie de vinification pour lancer le tout premier Trijumf Chardonnay Sparkling du pays fabriqué selon la méthode traditionnelle champenoise. Le joyau a été servi lors de la visite du président Xi en Serbie.

Dark Lady apporté par Doolhof Wine Estate (pty) Ltd est produit à partir de raisins Pinotage. Le vin rouge profond souffle sur des notes de moka, de chocolats noirs, de riches fruits noirs et d’amandes, avec des tanins fermes et bien intégrés en bouche. Il a remporté la médaille d’or au China Wine and Spirits Competition 2017.

BIOtiful Wines est un groupe de vignerons indépendants français éco-conscients qui se consacrent à n’utiliser que des raisins biologiques pour l’élaboration de vins. L’absence de pesticides et d’engrais chimiques compromet le volume de production, mais les vignobles sont florissants, robustes et sains, optimaux pour la vinification. Ils apportent La Galoche Beaujolais du Domaine Saint Cyr, dont le nouveau propriétaire Raphaël Saint-Cyr innove les vins du Beaujolais en introduisant la viticulture biologique. Ses cuvées sont élégantes et superbement raffinées, portant une structure fruitée équilibrée et un corps souple et luxuriant.

«Mori no Kanade», un saké pétillant du Japon. Ce vin est le fruit de cinq années de recherche et développement. Cet alcool japonais traditionnel à base de riz a évolué pour devenir le tout premier saké pétillant avec fermentation secondaire dans le baril de whisky de la distillerie Hakushu de Suntory.

Le Taiwan chinois est en train de devenir une région productrice importante ces dernières années en raison de son climat chaud et humide. La distillerie Nantou fabriquait autrefois des liqueurs de fruits, mais elle s’est convertie à la production de whisky depuis 2008. Son whisky de malt OMAR Cask Strength (Sherry Cask) a conquis le cœur de beaucoup lors de sa sortie en 2008. OMAR signifie ambre dans la langue autochtone. Le dram ambré est élevé dans des fûts de sherry espagnol pendant au moins quatre ans, en l’arrondissant avec des arômes de caramel fort, de cassonade et d’herbes. Il a remporté le titre de meilleur whisky taïwanais.

Dans un geste plus audacieux, Winepak Corporation (M) Sdn. Bhd. Crée Viss (Malaysia Durio) en mélangeant du durian, le «roi des fruits» d’Asie du Sud-Est, dans de la vodka. L’arôme unique et riche engendré par les durians et l’alcool mélangé à un léger arrière-goût doux-amer en fait une boisson tropicale parfaite. Il a reçu la médaille d’argent au Concours International des Vins et Spiritueux 2017.

Le vin mousseux italien Prosecco est parfois considéré comme “le champagne du pauvre”, mais pas pour le Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore DOCG “Col de Mez” Extra Dry, originaire de la région de production de vin mousseux suprême Prosecco Conegliano Valdobbiadene DOCG d’Italie, apporté à la foire par Cantina Colli Del Soligo SCA Produit à partir de raisins Glera, le mousseux est vif et crémeux, portant des notes florales avec des notes de pomme dorée. Incarnation de l’élégance, il a remporté la médaille d’or aux Sommelier Wine Awards 2017.

Kura Single Malt Whisky White Oak 12 Years, un whisky artisanal exceptionnel unique à Okinawa, apporté par Lillion Wine Limited. Dans le processus de distillation, le meilleur riz Indica de la région est ajouté pour produire une culture noire appelée Koji, dont les enzymes transforment les glucides du riz en alcool et adoucissent le produit. Le whisky est ensuite vieilli dans des fûts de chêne blanc nord-américains sélectionnés pendant huit ans. Le résultat est léger en bouche et velouté dans la gorge, associé à l’élégante douceur et aux arômes complexes des écorces d’agrumes et des prunes issues du vieillissement en chêne.

La brasserie artisanale Birrificio Antoniano SRL d’Italie est l’une des 26 distilleries certifiées «brassage lent» dans le monde. Il a également été nommé «Brasseur européen de l’année» lors de l’International Beer Challenge 2017. Sa Portello Golden Ale est fabriquée à partir d’ingrédients naturels, sans éléments artificiels pour accélérer la fermentation. Comparé à d’autres bières, le brassage lent est plus rigoureux et prend plus de temps avec une production plus petite, mais il donne à la bière des saveurs plus intenses.

Signorello Estate à Napa Valley, Californie, son Signorello Hope’s Cuvee Chardonnay 2015 est riche et vibrant en bouche avec une minéralité croquante, chantant avec des parfums de pommes vertes, de poires et d’abricots, ainsi qu’un baiser de fleurs blanches et d’épices à pâtisserie. Ce Chardonnay se déguste au cours des 15 prochaines années. Le critique de vin renommé Robert Parker lui attribue un score presque parfait de 98, le qualifiant de “meilleur Chardonnay que j’aie jamais goûté de Ray Signorello (vigneron)”. Oriental Pearl (Hong Kong) Limited la présentera au salon pour les connaisseurs et les collectionneurs.

En outre, un large assortiment d’expositions du monde entier a été présenté à la foire. Outre la zone Liquor & Beverage Products, il y avait des zones qui favorisaient le développement global de l’industrie, y compris l’éducation sur le vin, l’investissement dans le vin, ainsi que les équipements et services d’accessoires pour le vin.

Interactions avec l’industrie
Pendant le salon, plus de 70 événements ont été organisés pour fournir une plate-forme complète d’échange d’affaires aux visiteurs. Il s’agit notamment d’une conférence sur l’industrie du vin, d’un dîner de gala, de séminaires thématiques et de plus de 50 séances de dégustation présentant des vins fins d’Australie, d’Allemagne, de Bordeaux (France), du Japon, d’Italie et de Slovénie.

Pour fournir à l’industrie une plate-forme complète de négociation et d’échange, le HKTDC a organisé plus de 70 événements pendant le Wine & Spirits Fair. À l’occasion de sa 10e édition, le Conseil s’est associé à l’École de gestion hôtelière et touristique de l’Université polytechnique de Hong Kong pour co-organiser l’Asia Wine Academy. Maîtres du vin Jeannie Cho Lee et Steve Charters ont animé deux cours intensifs intitulés «Tendances contemporaines de la consommation de vin» et «Maîtrise de la dégustation et des tendances du vin en hausse».

Lors de la conférence sur l’industrie du vin qui s’est tenue le premier jour du salon, intitulée «Trends to Watch in 2018: The Business of Bubbles and Beyond», ainsi que de la neuvième cérémonie de remise des prix Cathay Pacific Hong Kong International Wine & Spirit Competition, qui se tiendra ce soir suivi d’un dîner de gala sur le vin.

Sous le thème «Festival du cabaret», le dîner de gala propose un menu préparé par le chef étoilé Fabrice Vulin du restaurant français de Macao, The Tasting Room.

Un séminaire intitulé “Améliorez vos opérations F&B en faisant équipe avec des fournisseurs de vins et de boissons” a eu lieu le deuxième jour, ainsi que le forum des acheteurs “Accès facile: Faciliter le commerce du vin sur le marché continental”, où les orateurs discutent des sujets les plus brûlants du secteur. .

Concours de vins et spiritueux premium d’Asie
Le 9e Concours international de vins et spiritueux Cathay Pacific Hong Kong est ouvert aux inscriptions jusqu’au 21 août (spiritueux) et 28 août (vin). Un jury composé des meilleurs juges des vins et spiritueux d’Asie tiendra compte de la culture asiatique du goût et de la consommation en sélectionnant les meilleurs vins et spiritueux de l’année. Les résultats constituent le guide ultime des vins pour les consommateurs asiatiques de vins et spiritueux. Un certain nombre de récompenses ont été décernées, notamment des prix pour les accords mets et vins asiatiques et le meilleur vin de Chine.

Journée publique
Le salon des vins et spiritueux était ouvert aux visiteurs du public âgés de 18 ans ou plus le dernier jour. Les détenteurs de billets valides ce jour-là reçoivent un verre à vin en cristal Lucaris sur la base du premier arrivé, premier servi et jusqu’à épuisement des stocks.

Les événements organisés lors de la journée publique comprennent la classe de maître de dégustation de vin, «Bienvenue à bord pour un voyage œnologique de première classe par Debra Meiburg, maître du vin. Les visiteurs du public peuvent également assister à des ateliers sur la bière, des dégustations de vin, des démonstrations de cocktails, de whisky et d’alcool, ainsi que des séminaires tels que «Profitez du saké de Kumamoto avec Kumamon», «Qu’est-ce qui fait un bon vin?», «Choisir parmi une carte des vins» et «Comment a Hongkonger Made Wines in Italy », une session de partage par le président de la Hong Kong Wine & Spirits Writers Association, Ronny Lau. Le Hong Kong Wine Competition 2017 aura également lieu lors de la journée publique.

Le HKTDC organise à nouveau la promotion de Hong Kong Wine Journey dans toute la ville, réunissant plus de 90 activités liées au vin en novembre. Alors que les visiteurs de la Foire peuvent profiter du bouchon gratuit dans certains restaurants, le public peut participer à une série d’événements, y compris des dégustations de vins, des visites thématiques et des séances d’accords mets et vins.

HKTDC
Créé en 1966, le Conseil de développement du commerce de Hong Kong (HKTDC) est un organe statutaire dédié à la création d’opportunités pour les entreprises de Hong Kong. Avec plus de 40 bureaux dans le monde, dont 13 sur le continent chinois, le HKTDC fait la promotion de Hong Kong en tant que plate-forme pour faire des affaires avec la Chine, l’Asie et le monde. Avec 50 ans d’expérience, le HKTDC organise des expositions internationales, des conférences et des missions commerciales pour offrir aux entreprises, en particulier aux PME, des opportunités commerciales sur le continent et sur les marchés internationaux, tout en fournissant des informations via des publications commerciales, des rapports de recherche et des canaux numériques dont la salle des médias. .

Tags:

Hong Kong International Wine and Spirits Fair 2017, China

The 10th edition of the Hong Kong International Wine & Spirits Fair, a cellar full of wine knowledge and business opportunities, last from November 11-13, at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. A total of 1,070 exhibitors from 38 countries and regions presented exquisite wines from around the world.

The fair deliver an incomparable platform of top-tier wine and spirits from across the globe and remains the perfect stage for sourcing extraordinary vintages, catering to global buyers on the search for greatness from production to sales. The three days of intense trading among global business interests and building of interpersonal relationship, information-gathering and the furtherance of international wine culture.

Seven new pavilions from APEV – Asociatia Producatorilor si Exportatorilor de Vinuri; Confederação dos Agricultores de Portugal; Enterprise Mauritius; Setúbal Península Wines, Portugal; the Russian Export Center; the Southern United States Trade Association and the Syndicat Général des Vignerons de la Champagne, France (SGV).

With over 70 spectacular events and 32 themed group pavilions, network with top producers and uncork the industry’s finest with wine tastings, masterclasses, seminars and rare vintages in a fascinating global showcase.

Since the Government of the HKSAR eliminated all duty-related customs on wine and implemented special clearance measures under CEPA (Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement) in 2008, Hong Kong has developed into a wine trading and distribution centre for the region.

As a duty-free port with good air connectivity and excellent storage facilities, Hong Kong is globally recognised as the most cost-effective wine distribution hub. Wine merchants worldwide favour Hong Kong as a launch pad to expand their business into Asia and the mainland.

In particular, Hong Kong has become a platform for trading wine with the mainland, which has long been the largest market for wines re-exported from the city. As the facilitation measures have now been extended to all customs districts, our wine traders enjoy faster customs clearance and greater certainty when re-exporting wines through Hong Kong.

Adding to Hong Kong’s advantages such as advanced infrastructure, transportation networks and experienced industry professionals, the new measures further bolster Hong Kong’s standing as a wine trading hub by attracting more global wine traders to access the mainland market through the city.

Hong Kong Wine Fair 2017
Entering its 10th anniversary, the Wine & Spirits Fair has grown to become a major event of its kind in Asia. This year’s fair features 1,070 exhibitors from 38 countries and regions. Include first-time exhibitors from Malaysia, Mauritius, Romania, Serbia and Ukraine.

The Wine & Spirits Fair is more than just an elite trading platform for wine; the event is also a showcase of market expertise that attract buyers, producers, sommeliers, hoteliers, restauranteurs, importers and distributors. There is also far more to experience than just wine as the Fair also features spirits, craft beers, cocktails and other beverages that reflect world culture.

The Fair also serves as a hub of market knowledge with a lineup of educational events, seminars, master classes, tastings and demonstrations revealing emerging trends and industry insight. The last day of the event was open to public visitors, offering an exceptional opportunity for Hong Kong’s wine lovers to enrich their knowledge and sample a broad selection of wines from around the world.

Theme zones include Liquor & Beverage Products, Friends of Wine, Wine Education and Wine Accessories Equipment and Services, helping to foster the industry’s development.

Champagne Avenue: Champagne Avenue is a cozy event venue showcasing exhibit of grandeur, elegance and celebration of Champagne producers from various regions include seven producers presented by the Syndicat Général des Vignerons de Champagne, France (SGV).

Whisky and Spirits Zone: The popular Whisky and Spirits Zone is back this year with over 100 leading exhibitors showcasing the grand whiskies and elegant spirits. Learn all about the journey of excellence taken by some of the world’s finest spirits.

Hop to the Beer Zone: Sample excellent craft beers and learn about this iconic happy hour staple from some of the world’s most skilled producers in the Beer Zone. Cheers!

Guide Zone: The vibrant world of mixology has a home at the Ice Bar where top bartenders host expert cocktail demonstrations and look to the future of smart drinking with a robotic bartender demonstration.

The central European country Slovenia, which has a growing beekeeping industry, is debuting the “Bee World” Interactive Pavilion at the fair to promote “World Bee Day” (20 May), as proclaimed by the United Nations General Assembly. Some Slovenian exhibitors also showcase wines made from honey.

Highlights
Over 30 pavilions also proudly present their finest wines produced from various terroirs, among which The Syndicat Général des Vignerons de la Champagne, France makes its debut and brings seven top winegrowers rarely seen in Asia.

Global exhibitors are showcasing an array of wines and exhibits at the fair. Some of the highlights include:

The new Champagne Avenue, where SGV presents seven growers from four wine regions, along with Champagne tastings by small and medium-sized producers

Chateau Mercian Nagano’s Chardonnay Unwooded 2015 from Japan, the Gold Award winner of the International Wine Challenge 2017. Japan’s oldest winery, Chateau Mercian has been operating since 1877. This white wine presents a refreshing peach and lemon peel flavour.

Dictador 20 Years Solera System Rum from Colombia. With 15 international awards to its name, the rum is one of the world’s most awarded varieties of its kind, thanks to its combined use of ancient recipes and modern technology.

The 2014 Girard Cabernet Sauvignon from the United States. It was served at the first state dinner US President Donald Trump hosted for Chinese President Xi Jinping.

Produced by the renowned boutique winery Girard in Napa Valley, California, whose warm climate ripens the grapes and make them fleshier, Girard 2014 Cabernet Sauvignon carries a hint of cocoa powder, intertwined with the notes of black currants and black raspberries. Hints of leather and dried herbs join the tannins to fill the palate with an integrated texture.

Apart from reds, sparkling chardonnay also made its appearance in the arena of international politics. Winery Aleksandrovic from Serbia integrates the recipe of royal cellar masters with modern science and winemaking technology to launch the country’s first-ever Trijumf Chardonnay Sparkling made by the traditional Champenoise method. The gem was served when President Xi visited Serbia.

Dark Lady brought by Doolhof Wine Estate (pty) Ltd is produced from Pinotage grapes. The deep red wine blasts with notes of mocha, dark chocolates, rich black fruits and almonds, with firm and well-integrated tannins on the palate. It garnered the gold medal at the China Wine and Spirits Competition 2017.

BIOtiful Wines is a group of eco-conscious French independent winegrowers dedicated to use only organic grapes to make wines. The absence of pesticides and chemical fertilisers compromises production volume, but vineyards are thriving, robust and healthy, optimal for winemaking. They are bringing La Galoche Beaujolais from Domaine Saint Cyr, whose new proprietor Raphaël Saint-Cyr innovates Beaujolais wines by introducing organic viticulture. His cuvées are elegant and superbly refined, carrying a balanced fruit structure, and a soft and lush body.

“Mori no Kanade,” a sparkling sake from Japan. This wine is the result of five years of research and development. This traditional Japanese rice-based alcohol has evolved into the first-ever sparkling sake with secondary fermentation in Suntory’s Hakushu Distillery whisky barrel.

Chinese Taiwan is emerging as a significant producing region in recent years due to its hot and humid climate. Nantou Distillery used to make fruit liqueurs, but it has converted to whisky production since 2008. Its OMAR Cask Strength Malt Whisky (Sherry Cask) won the hearts of many when it was released in 2008. OMAR means amber in the aboriginal language. The amber dram is matured in Spanish sherry casks for at least four years, rounding it with aromas of strong toffee, brown sugar and herbs. It earned the title of Best Taiwanese Whisky.

In a bolder move, Winepak Corporation (M) Sdn. Bhd. creates Viss (Malaysia Durio) by blending durian, the “King of Fruits” from Southeast Asia, in vodka. The unique and rich aroma engendered by durians and alcohol mixed with a slight bittersweet aftertaste makes it a perfect tropical drink. It was awarded the silver medal in International Wine and Spirits Competition 2017.

The Italian sparkling wine Prosecco is sometimes regarded as “a poor man’s champagne”, but not for Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore DOCG “Col de Mez” Extra Dry, hailing from the supreme sparkling wine producing region Prosecco Conegliano Valdobbiadene DOCG from Italy, brought to the fair by Cantina Colli Del Soligo S.C.A. Produced from Glera grapes, the sparkling is lively and creamy, carrying floral notes with hints of golden apple. An epitome of elegance, it won the gold medal at Sommelier Wine Awards 2017.

Kura Single Malt Whisky White Oak 12 Years, an exceptional craft whisky unique to Okinawa, brought by Lillion Wine Limited. In the distillation process, the best Indica rice from the region is added to produce a black culture called Koji, whose enzymes turn the carbohydrates in rice into alcohol and mellow the product. The whisky is then aged in selected North American white oak casks for eight years. The result is light on the palate and velvety smooth in the throat, coupled with the elegant sweetness and complex aromas of citrus peels and plums from oak aging.

Craft beer brewery Birrificio Antoniano SRL from Italy is one of the 26 certified “slow brewing” distilleries around the world. It was also titled “European Brewer of the Year” in the International Beer Challenge 2017. Its Portello Golden Ale is made from natural ingredients, without artificial elements to speed up fermentation. Compared with other beers, slow brewing is more rigorous and takes longer time with a smaller output, but it gives the beer more intense flavours.

Signorello Estate in Napa Valley, California, its Signorello Hope’s Cuvee Chardonnay 2015 is rich and vibrant on the palate with a crisp minerality, singing with scents of green apples, pears and apricots, as well as a kiss of white flowers and baking spice. This Chardonnay can be enjoyed over the next 15 years. Renowned wine critic Robert Parker rates it with the near-perfect score of 98, remarking it as “the best Chardonnay I have ever tasted from Ray Signorello (winemaker)”. Oriental Pearl (Hong Kong) Limited will present it at the fair for connoisseurs and collectors alike.

In addition, a wide assortment of exhibits from around the world was displayed at the fair. Apart from the Liquor & Beverage Products zone, there was zones that promote the industry’s all-round development, including Wine Education, Wine Investment, as well as Wine Accessories Equipment and Services.

Industry interactions
During the fair, more than 70 events was held to provide a comprehensive business exchange platform for visitors. These include a Wine Industry Conference, a gala dinner, thematic seminars and more than 50 tasting sessions presenting fine wines from Australia, Germany, Bordeaux (France), Japan, Italy and Slovenia.

To provide the industry with a comprehensive trading and exchange platform, the HKTDC organised more than 70 events during the Wine & Spirits Fair. Marking its 10th edition, the Council joined hands with the Hong Kong Polytechnic University School of Hotel and Tourism Management to co-organise the Asia Wine Academy. Masters of Wine Jeannie Cho Lee and Steve Charters hosted two intensive courses entitled “Contemporary Trends in Wine Consumption” and “Mastering Tasting & Rising Wine Trends.”

At the Wine Industry Conference held on the first day of the fair, entitled “Trends to Watch in 2018: The Business of Bubbles and Beyond,” as well as the ninth Cathay Pacific Hong Kong International Wine & Spirit Competition Award Ceremony, to be held this evening followed by a Gala Wine Dinner.

Under the theme “Cabaret Festival,” the Gala dinner features a menu prepared by two Michelin-starred Chef Fabrice Vulin from the Macau French restaurant, The Tasting Room.

A seminar entitled “Improve Your F&B Operations by Teaming up with Wine & Beverage Suppliers” was held on the second day, as well as the buyer forum “Easy Access: Facilitating Wine Trade to the Mainland Market,” where speakers discuss the hottest industry topics.

Asia’s premium wine and spirits competition
The 9th Cathay Pacific Hong Kong International Wine & Spirit Competition is open for entries until 21 August (spirit) and 28 August (wine). An adjudicating panel comprising Asia’s top wine and spirit judges will take into account the Asian taste and consumption culture as they select the best wines and spirits of the year. The results serve as the ultimate wine guide for Asia’s wine & spirit consumers. A number of awards was given out, including Asian Food and Wine Pairing awards and Best Wine from China.

Public Day
The Wine & Spirits Fair was open to public visitors aged 18 or above on the last day. Valid ticket holders on that day receive a Lucaris crystal wine glass on a first-come first-served basis and while stocks last.

Events held on Public Day include the wine-tasting master class, “Welcome on Board to a First-class Wine Journey by Debra Meiburg, Master of Wine.” Public visitors can also attend beer workshops, wine tastings, cocktail, whisky and liquor demonstrations, and seminars including “Enjoy Sake from Kumamoto with Kumamon,” “What Makes a Good Wine?”, “Choosing from a Wine List,” and “How a Hongkonger Made Wines in Italy,” a sharing session by Hong Kong Wine & Spirits Writers Association Chairman Ronny Lau. The Hong Kong Wine Competition 2017 will also be held on Public Day.

The HKTDC is again organising the Hong Kong Wine Journey citywide promotion, putting together more than 90 wine-related activities in November. While Fair visitors can enjoy free corkage at selected restaurants, the public can take part in a series of events, including wine tasting, themed tours and wine-and-food pairing sessions.

HKTDC
Established in 1966, the Hong Kong Trade Development Council (HKTDC) is a statutory body dedicated to creating opportunities for Hong Kong’s businesses. With more than 40 offices globally, including 13 on the Chinese mainland, the HKTDC promotes Hong Kong as a platform for doing business with China, Asia and the world. With 50 years of experience, the HKTDC organises international exhibitions, conferences and business missions to provide companies, particularly SMEs, with business opportunities on the mainland and in international markets, while providing information via trade publications, research reports and digital channels including the media room.

Tags: