أدريانا فارجاو معرض ، معهد إنهوتيم

اختارت Adriana Varejão مجال الرسم لتطوير عملها. يشمل إنتاجه التصوير الفوتوغرافي والنحت والتركيب ، ولكن قبل كل شيء الرسم ، بالمعنى الكلاسيكي للكلمة ، من خلال استخدام المواد والتقنيات المميزة لها ، والتي ، من الناحية التاريخية ، هي اللغة الأكثر نبلًا والأكثر تقديرًا للغة الفنون البصرية. في الأعمال التي تم جمعها هنا ، من الممكن متابعة تنوع المصالح في عمله وتنوع مصادر بحثه – التجريد ، الخراب ، النصب التذكاري ، أحادية اللون ، العنف ؛ التاريخ والعلوم الطبيعية والهندسة المعمارية.

تبدأ الطريق ، Panacea phantastica (2003-2007) ، وهي مجموعة من البلاط التي تصور 50 نوعًا من النباتات المهلوسة من أجزاء مختلفة من العالم. لقد تم اعتباره هنا كمضاعف يمكن أن يتكيف مع أي عمارة ، أصبح العمل هنا مقعدًا عند مدخل الجناح ، مساحة للتأمل والعيش المشترك. في أحد المربعات ، يقترح نص العلاقة بين التأثيرات المهلوسة للنباتات والتغيرات في الإدراك التي يمكن أن تسببها الفن أيضًا. يظهر البلاط ، وهو أحد الزخارف المتكررة لعمل Varejão ، في Linda do Rosário (2004) وفي O colecionador (2008).

من أهم الأعمال في سلسلة Charques. في هذه التماثيل ، ترتبط العمارة بالجسم ، وتصبح مادة البناء لحمًا. استلهم العمل من انهيار فندق Linda do Rosário ، في وسط مدينة ريو دي جانيرو ، في عام 2002 ، الذي سقطت جدرانه المبلطة على زوجين في إحدى غرف المبنى. المجمع ، بدوره ، هو أكبر لوحة في سلسلة حمامات البخار ، ويستخدم لوحة أحادية اللون تقريبًا لإنشاء متاهة داخلية مثالية. مع لعبها للضوء والظل ، تستحضر اللوحة مساحات من المتعة والإحساس وتعكس بنية الجناح ، مما يقترح استمرارية افتراضية للفضاء.

سيرة شخصية
أدريانا فاريجاو (ريو دي جانيرو ، البرازيل) فنانة برازيلية معاصرة. في عام 2008 ، تم افتتاح جناح دائم مخصص لعمل Varejão في Inhotim Centro de Arte Contemporânea ، Brumadinho ، Minas Gerais.

حصلت Adriana Varejão على جائزة Mario Pedrosa (فنان اللغة المعاصرة) ، من الجمعية البرازيلية لنقاد الفن (ABCA) وجائزة Grand Critics ، من جمعية ساو باولو للنقاد الفن (APCA) ، عن معرض “تاريخ على الهامش” ، عقدت في 2012/2013 في MAM SP و MAM Rio و MALBA.

شاركت في العديد من المعارض الوطنية والدولية ، من بينها ، في Bienal de São Paulo و Tate Modern في لندن و MoMa في نيويورك. إنها تعمل كثيرًا مع البلاط وهي من بين الأكثر نجاحًا في الدائرة العالمية.

ولدت فاريجاو في ريو دي جانيرو ، وقضت جزءًا من طفولتها في برازيليا. في عام 1981 ، دخلت دورة الهندسة في الجامعة البابوية الكاثوليكية في ريو دي جانيرو ، تخلت عنها في العام التالي. من عام 1983 ، درست في الدورات المجانية في مدرسة الفنون البصرية في Parque Lage ، ريو دي جانيرو ، واستأجرت استوديوًا في حي Horto مع طلاب آخرين. في عام 1985 ، سافر إلى نيويورك وكان على اتصال مع لوحة الألمانية أنسيلم كيفر والأمريكي فيليب جوستون. في عام 1986 ، حصل على جائزة الاستحواذ للصالون الوطني التاسع للفنون التشكيلية ، التي تروج لها مؤسسة الفنون الوطنية.

أقامت أول معرض فردي لها في عام 1989 في U-ABC ، ​​متحف Stedelijk ، أمستردام ، هولندا. مؤسسة كالوست غولبنكيان ، لشبونة ، البرتغال.

من خلال إعادة تفسير العناصر المرئية التي تم دمجها في الثقافة البرازيلية عن طريق الاستعمار ، مثل طلاء البلاط البرتغالي ، أو الإشارة إلى خامة وعدوانية المواد في الأعمال مع “اللحم” ، يناقش الفنان العلاقات المتناقضة بين الحسية والألم (فتشي) ) والعنف والوفرة. أحدث أعمالها تجلب مراجع تركز على الهندسة المعمارية ، مستوحاة من المساحات مثل الجزارين والحانات والساونات وحمامات السباحة وما إلى ذلك ، وتعالج قضايا الرسم التقليدية ، مثل اللون والملمس والمنظور.

تأثيرات
تظهر إشارات إلى آثار الاستعمار في البرازيل من قبل أوروبا في عملها وكذلك تاريخ الفن والوهم. يشير عملها إلى توسيع وتحويل الهوية الثقافية ، ومع ذلك تستمر في استخدام موضوعها في فهم الماضي ، من أجل فهم الحاضر.

الأنثروبولوجيا الثقافية ، أو عملية استيعاب ودمج التأثير الأجنبي في الثقافة البرازيلية الأصلية ، تلهم الكثير من أعمال فاريجاو. هذه الحركة واضحة طوال تاريخ البرازيل حتى الوقت الحاضر ، ويمثل انقسام التنوع والوحدة موضوعًا مشتركًا بين الفنانين البرازيليين المعاصرين. في أعمال Varejão ، تفحص هذا الموضوع في سياق العرق والجسد والهوية وآثار الاستعمار.

وسائل الإعلام
بالاعتماد على التوترات المحيطة بالعرق والعرق في البرازيل ، يستخدم فاريجاو التثبيت ، والرسم الزيتي ، والرسم للتعليق على تصور العرق في البرازيل في القرن الحادي والعشرين. غالبًا ما تبدأ بقماش ، تضيف مواد مثل الخزف والسيراميك. في عملها بعنوان “Polvo” ، الذي عرض في Lehman Maupin في عام 2014 ، تجمع Varejão بين نظرية اللون والكاستا (نظرية اجتماعية أثرت على اللوحات الأوروبية لغزو البرازيل) ، لفحص معيار تحديد العرق من حيث لون البشرة. تم عرض سلسلة الصور الذاتية المتطابقة تقريبًا التي تشكل الجزء الأكبر من العمل بعناوين فردية تشرح الاختلافات الوحيدة للصور: تم إنشاء العناوين من خلال التعداد البرازيلي لعام 1976 ، الذي طلب من البرازيليين لأول مرة تقديم تعريفاتهم الخاصة بهم لون بشرتك تراوحت الإجابات بين برانكوينها ، “بياض الثلج” ، إلى موريناو ، تقريبًا “المتأنق الأسود الكبير”.

يعمل
تم افتتاح أحد أكبر المشاريع للفنان حتى الآن مؤخرًا في Inhotim Centro de Arte Contemporânea ، البرازيل – جناح تم تكليفه خصيصًا بتصميم بالتعاون مع المهندس المعماري Rodrigeo Cervino Lopez. تم تضمين أعمالها في العديد من المجموعات في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بعضها متحف Solomon R.Guggenheim في نيويورك ، و Tate Modern في لندن ، ومتحف الفن المعاصر في سان دييغو ، من بين آخرين.

يسلط الضوء

آكلات اللحوم ، 2008
زيت وجص على قماش

تسبب Celacanto في موجة المد والجزر ، 2004-2008
زيت وجص على قماش

ليندا دو روزاريو ، 2004
زيت على الألومنيوم والبولي يوريثين

الجامع ، 2008
زيت على قماش

Panacea phantastica ، 2003-2008
سيرجي على البلاط

Passarinhos – من Inhotim إلى Demini ، 2003-2008
الرسم على البلاط [رسم يدوي بواسطة بياتريس سوير]

معهد إنهوتيم
يقع Instituto Inhotim في Brumadinho ، على بعد 60 كيلومترًا (37 ميلًا) من بيلو هوريزونتي ، عاصمة ولاية ميناس جيرايس ، وثالث أكبر منطقة حضرية في البرازيل. تتميز Inhotim بمجموعة فنية ذات صلة دولية ، تقع على مساحة 140 هكتارًا (346 فدانًا) من الغابات والحدائق النباتية.

ظهرت المؤسسة في عام 2004 لإيواء مجموعة برناردو باز ، رجل الأعمال في صناعة التعدين والصلب ، الذي كان متزوجًا من فنانة ريو دي جانيرو أدريانا فاريجاو ، وقبل 20 عامًا بدأ في التخلص من مجموعته القيمة من الفن الحديث ، والتي شملت أعمال Portinari و Guignard و Di Cavalcanti ، لتشكيل مجموعة من الفن المعاصر الموجود الآن في Inhotim. في عام 2014 ، تم انتخاب المتحف في الهواء الطلق ، من خلال موقع TripAdvisor على الويب ، وهو واحد من 25 متحفاً في العالم حصل على أفضل تقييم من قبل المستخدمين.

إلى جانب صالات العرض المخصصة للعروض التقديمية الفردية للفنان والأعمال الخارجية الدائمة ، فإن معارض Fonte و Lago و Mata و Praça و Galpão تضم معارض مؤقتة مستمدة من مجموعة الفن المعاصر المتنامية والتي تتكون الآن من أكثر من 700 عمل لـ 200 فنان من بلدان مختلفة حول العالم. من خلال التعاون مع الفنانين في التكليف بأعمال جديدة وتكييف الأعمال الحالية مع المساحات الجديدة ، تعاملت مشاريع Inhotim الفنية مع المناظر الطبيعية والطبيعة ، وجمعت مجموعة رائعة من الأعمال واسعة النطاق. بعد نشأتها من حديقة خاصة ، قامت Inhotim بتطوير خط عمل مكثف يهدف إلى الحفاظ على النباتات والأبحاث النباتية وتطويرها ، مع اتباع طرق جديدة للحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي في المنطقة المحيطة والبرازيل.

إلى جانب دورها الثقافي ، النشاط الذي جعل المعهد منظمة من منظمات المجتمع المدني ذات المصلحة العامة (OSCIP). في عام 2010 ، تلقت المؤسسة اللقب الرسمي للحديقة النباتية من قبل Comissão Nacional de Jardins Botânicos. تظهر المجموعة النباتية الغزيرة في حدائق المؤسسة حوالي 5000 نوع من النباتات ، وكثير منها مهدد بالانقراض.

Tags:

Adriana Varejão Gallery, Inhotim Institute

Adriana Varejão chose the field of painting to develop her work. His production includes photography, sculpture and installation, but above all painting, in the most classic sense of the term, through the use of materials and techniques characteristic of it, which is, historically, both the most noble and the most appreciated language of the visual arts. In the works gathered here, it is possible to follow the diversity of interests in his work and the variety of sources of his research – abstraction, ruin, the monument, monochromatism, violence; history, natural sciences, architecture.

Starting the route, is Panacea phantastica (2003-2007), a set of tiles that portrays 50 types of hallucinogenic plants from different parts of the world. Conceived as a multiple that can adapt to any architecture, the work here has become a bench at the entrance to the pavilion, a space for contemplation and conviviality. On one of the tiles, a text suggests the relationship between the hallucinogenic effects of plants and changes in perception that can also be caused by art. The tile, one of the recurring motifs of Varejão’s work, reappears in Linda do Rosário (2004) and in O colecionador (2008).

The one of the most important works in the Charques series. In these sculptures, architecture is associated with the body, and the building material becomes flesh. The work was inspired by the collapse of the Hotel Linda do Rosário, in downtown Rio de Janeiro, in 2002, whose tiled walls fell on a couple in one of the rooms of the building. The collector, in turn, is the largest painting in the Saunas series, and uses an almost monochrome palette to create an idealized inner labyrinth. With its play of light and shadow, the painting evokes spaces of pleasure and sensuality and reflects the architecture of the pavilion, proposing a virtual continuity of the space.

Biography
Adriana Varejão (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) is a Brazilian artist contemporary. In 2008, a permanent pavilion dedicated to the work of Varejão was inaugurated in Inhotim Centro de Arte Contemporânea, Brumadinho, Minas Gerais.

Adriana Varejão received the Mario Pedrosa Award (contemporary language artist), from the Brazilian Association of Art Critics (ABCA) and the Grand Critics Award, from the São Paulo Association of Art Critics (APCA), for the exhibition “Histories on the margins”, held in 2012/13 at MAM SP, MAM Rio and MALBA.

She participated in several national and international exhibitions, among them, at the Bienal de São Paulo, Tate Modern in London and MoMa in New York. She works a lot with tiles and is among the most successful on the world circuit.

Born in Rio de Janeiro, Varejão spent part of her childhood in Brasília. In 1981, she entered the engineering course at the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, abandoning it the following year. From 1983, she studied in the free courses at the School of Visual Arts of Parque Lage, Rio de Janeiro, and rented a studio in the Horto neighborhood with other students. In 1985, he travels to New York and has contact with the painting of German Anselm Kiefer and American Philip Guston. In 1986, he received the Acquisition Award for the 9th National Salon of Plastic Arts, promoted by the National Arts Foundation.

She held his first solo exhibition in 1989 at the U-ABC, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, Netherlands; Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Lisbon, Portugal.

Through the reinterpretation of visual elements incorporated into Brazilian culture by colonization, such as the painting of Portuguese tiles, or the reference to the rawness and aggressiveness of the material in works with “flesh”, the artist discusses paradoxical relationships between sensuality and pain (fetishes), violence and exuberance. Her most recent works bring references focused on architecture, inspired by spaces such as butchers, taverns, saunas, swimming pools, etc., and address traditional painting issues, such as color, texture and perspective.

Influences
References to the effects of colonialism of Brazil by Europe, are apparent in her work as well as art history and illusion. Her work alludes to expansion and transformation of cultural identity, yet continues the use of her theme of understanding the past, in order to understand the present.

Cultural anthropology, or the process of absorbing and incorporating foreign influence into native Brazilian culture, inspires much of Varejão’s work. This movement is evident throughout Brazil’s history into the present and the dichotomy of diversity and unity is a common theme amongst contemporary Brazilian artists. In Varejão’s works, she examines this theme within the contexts of race, body, identity, and the effects of colonialism.

Media
Drawing upon tensions surrounding race and ethnicity in Brazil, Varejão uses installation, oil painting, and drawing to comment on the perception of race in Brazil in the twenty-first century. She often starts with a canvas, adding materials such as porcelain and ceramics. In her work entitled “Polvo,” exhibited at Lehman Maupin in 2014, Varejão combines color theory and casta (a social theory that influenced European paintings of Brazil’s conquest), to examine the norm of defining race in terms of skin color. The series of nearly identical self-portraits forming the bulk of the work were displayed with individualized titles that explained the portraits’ only differences: the titles were generated by the 1976 Brazilian census, which asked Brazilians for the first time to give their definitions of their own skin tone; the responses ranged from branquinha, “snow-white,” to morenão, roughly “big black dude.”

Works
One of the artist’s largest projects to date recently opened at Inhotim Centro de Arte Contemporânea, Brazil – a specially commissioned pavilion designed in collaboration with architect Rodrigeo Cervino Lopez. Her work is included in numerous collections worldwide, some of which are the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York, the Tate Modern in London, and the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego, among others.

Highlights

Carnivores, 2008
oil and plaster on canvas

Celacanto causes a tidal wave, 2004-2008
oil and plaster on canvas

Linda do Rosário, 2004
oil on aluminum and polyurethane

The collector, 2008
oil on canvas

Panacea phantastica, 2003-2008
serigraphy on tiles

Passarinhos – from Inhotim to Demini, 2003-2008
painting on tiles [hand painting by Beatriz Sauer]

Inhotim Institute
Instituto Inhotim is located in Brumadinho, 60 kilometers (37 miles) from Belo Horizonte, the capital of the state of Minas Gerais, and the third largest metropolitan area in Brazil. Inhotim features an internationally relevant art collection, located within 140 hectares (346 acres) of forests and botanical gardens.

The institution emerged in 2004 to house the collection of Bernardo Paz, a businessman in the mining and steel industry, who was married to Rio de Janeiro artist Adriana Varejão, and 20 years ago began to dispose of his valuable collection of modernist art, which included works by Portinari, Guignard and Di Cavalcanti, to form the collection of contemporary art that is now in Inhotim. In 2014, the open air museum was elected, by the TripAdvisor website, one of the 25 museums in the world best rated by users.

Besides the galleries dedicated to solo presentations of artist and the permanent outdoor works, the galleries Fonte, Lago, Mata, Praça and Galpão house temporary exhibitions drawn from the growing contemporary art collection which now consists of more than 700 works by 200 artists from different countries around the world. By collaborating with artists in commissioning new works and adapting existing ones to new spaces, Inhotim’s artistic projects have dealt with landscape and nature, and have accumulated an impressive grouping of large-scale works. Having arisen from a private garden, Inhotim has developed an intensive line of work aimed at the preservation and development of vegetation and botanical research, pursuing new ways to preserve the biodiversity of the surrounding region and Brazil.

Alongside its cultural role, activity that has qualified the institute as a civil-society organization of public interest (OSCIP). In 2010 the institution received the official title of Botanical Garden by the Comissão Nacional de Jardins Botânicos. The exuberant botanical collection is shown in the institution’s gardens contains about 5,000 species of plants, many of them threatened with extinction.

Tags: