在旅行中的时差

时差是由于突然切换到不同的睡眠/清醒时间表和不同的白天时间引起的迷失方向和疲劳的一种形式。这是由跨时区的快速旅行引起的。

了解
有些人受到的影响比其他人更多,但是在一次飞行中穿越两个或更多时区时往往会发生这种情况(随着商业喷气式飞机旅行的发展,这个术语开始变得司空见惯)。

由于长时间在飞机上停留可能导致您睡眠过多或不足,可能是在相对于您离开的地方的错误时间,因此时差也更加复杂。旅行时的疲劳加上与当地时间的不匹配,可以让你准备好在午餐后入睡,或在半夜醒来,知道黎明还有几个小时的路程。飞行本身的长度不会造成时差,只会造成时区差异。从巴黎飞往约翰内斯堡的航班,虽然可能需要大约11个小时的时间,但不会让您感到非常落差,因为时差只有1小时。另一方面,从巴黎飞往纽约的航班大约需要8.5小时,但时差为6小时,因此很有可能遇到时差。

从东到西的航班,你可以在那里获得几个小时,通常会更容易,因为大多数人发现更容易熬夜比早点睡觉更容易。医学出版物似乎也同意这一点。但这因人而异; 如果你通常醒来并提前上床睡觉,你在东部旅行时可能没有太多问题但是在向西走同一时间段时感觉很糟糕。并不总是遵循原点和目的地之间的时差越大,时差越大。通常短时间的4-5小时差异导致您在当地时间凌晨2点醒来(或者需要在您的家乡时间凌晨2点起床)可能会更加疲劳,并且需要更长的时间来克服,而不是完全逆转昼夜。

两点之间的最大可能时差为12小时; 例如赫尔辛基和檀香山之间的任何一个方向。如果您在国际日期行中旅行,请从24中减去时区差异以获得正确的时差。例如,“18小时时差”将等于6小时的时差。最后可以得到1小时差异时差 – 如果你住在某个地方,可以观察夏令时,并且有适应变化的问题,你就会遇到这种情况。

如果您还没有选择目的地,可以通过查看相同或附近的时区来最小化时差。这种限制不会让你陷入一个大陆; 例如,欧洲和非洲之间的旅行很少改变时钟超过一小时。较慢的长途旅行方法,例如火车或船只,完全消除了时差或至少大大减少时差,但代价是在任何给定(大)距离的过境中花费更多时间。

名义上的时区被搁置,各国可以有非常不同的工作,餐饮和商店开放的习惯时间表。虽然中国等国家的上班族习惯于早上8点开始上班,但西班牙和南欧其他地区的人们在深夜就餐方面享有良好的声誉。

准备
你不能完全避免时差,但你可以通过不打击它来让事情变得更容易。您可以尽快忘记您的原始时区并按目的地时间生活。如果您应该在航班上睡觉,早上到达,那么请忽略时区,电影和娱乐,并尽可能地睡觉。如果您将在晚上抵达并且在旅行时保持清醒,请确保您有活动,娱乐,咖啡因等,以便在飞行途中保持清醒。

附近的时间表
有很大的时差(特别是如果你向西旅行),你可能会在第一个晚上很早就醒来 – 可能早在凌晨3点!你应该尽力回去睡觉,至少几个小时,但是既然你要早点起床,你也可以利用它。计划第一个早上或两个早上利用的活动。(例如,美国游客可以在东京看看丰洲市场并享用寿司早餐,或者在夏威夷的钻石头上徒步观看日出,而来自欧洲的人可以在落基山脉的某个地方欣赏日出。

另一方面,如果你向东旅行,你可能会发现在它已经是早晨之前难以入睡。如果您喜欢深夜派对,这可以转化为您的优势。然而,在新目的地的最初几天,喝太多酒精并不是一个明智的想法 – 你的头已经被时差搞砸了!但是,如果你在夜间飞行中睡得很厉害,或者你的旅行特别长或太糟糕,那么你可能会在第一天晚上在当地的就寝时间内很容易入睡,但可能会出现问题。以下。

此外,了解目的地时间的日出日落时间有助于确定何时寻求日光和黑暗以帮助过渡过程。在每个时区中,日出日落时间可以在时区的不同部分以明显不同的时间发生,具体取决于一年中的时间和您在时区内的位置。因此,目的地的昼/夜循环可能是您习惯回家的昼/夜循环的冲击。对于北欧和阿拉斯加的游客而言,这主要是一个问题,那里有高纬度地区的常见旅游目的地(午夜太阳或夏季非常漫长的日子,冬季相应的日光很少)。

时差与旅行疲劳
即使你没有以喷射速度移动并且不穿越任何时区,旅行也常常很累。在整个非洲的长途飞行将让你感到厌倦,因为在一天的大部分时间里,有数百名陌生人在一个拥挤,干燥,不舒服的空间。旅行疲劳是一个真正的问题 – 与时差不完全相同的问题。具有时差的旅行者通常具有这两个问题。

波音787梦幻客机
飞机自2011年以来,一些航空公司一直在驾驶波音787梦幻客机这架新型飞机。这种先进的飞机具有减少时差影响的附加功能,包括增强的空气过滤系统和专门的环境照明。如果你能够在这架飞机上飞行,它可能会有所帮助。

其他提示
如果您知道您将在早些时候或之后起床,请在出发前尝试进行部分更改。你可以在飞机前一周的一个星期前(或一小时后睡觉)一个小时前睡觉吗?

一些科学研究表明,禁食(不进食)可以通过重置身体的昼夜节律(生物钟)来帮助克服时差。到达目的地之前24小时或更长时间不吃东西会导致一旦抵达就会感觉不那么疲倦。地球的明/暗周期影响我们的昼夜节律,但我们的饮食模式也是如此。重新启动我们的喂食周期可以减少时间扭曲。

恢复
从时差中恢复是一个需要时间的过程。根据经验,您每天可以恢复约1小时的差异。你可能会发现,在你出门的路上,你在几天后就可以了,但你会在回家的路上注意到恢复期,特别是如果你没有足够长的时间来完全适应原来的时差。那时你的生物钟真的很困惑,它需要一段时间来解决问题。

你可以通过帮助重置你的生物钟来帮助这个过程。阳光在这方面起着重要作用,它可以帮助你在第一天晒太阳。尽量在新的当地时间运营。如果您要在当天早些时候降落,请尝试在飞机上睡觉,这样您就会精神焕发,并准备好进行一整天的活动。相反,如果你要在傍晚到达,试着在飞机上保持清醒,这样你到达时就会感到疲倦并且可以长时间睡眠。尽可能在户外新时区的前几天度过白天。

根据您飞入的时区尝试正常的一天。例如,如果你在早上7点降落,你可能已经在你的航班上享用了早餐,所以前往你的住处(如果你不轻便的话,问他们是否可以放心你的行李),然后去看看一些景点,确保日光和新鲜空气。你会感到疲倦,特别是在下午的中午,但一直推迟到晚餐时间。吃晚饭然后去睡觉。你应该累得足够睡个好觉。

或者,如果您在飞机上睡不好并在清晨到达目的地,可以考虑获得“白天使用”的酒店房间,以便在几小时内睡觉并淋浴,然后在其余时间继续。只睡了几个小时,晚上你仍然会感到疲倦,所以你会在第二天调整当地时间。

如果您在起床后立即进食,那么重置您的日/夜圈要容易得多。因此,在您到达新时区后的前几天,不吃早餐并不是一个健康的选择。

褪黑激素是一种由大脑松果体分泌的激素,可调节睡眠。在美国,褪黑激素片在商店中与其他补充剂如维生素和矿物质一起广泛销售。然而,许多国家需要医生的处方。剂量从0.5毫克到10毫克之间差异很大,但研究表明,褪黑激素最有效,约为0.3-0.5毫克。有些人发现,在新的和尴尬的就寝时间之前服用片剂有助于调整时差。超过几秒钟的观察光会破坏你身体的褪黑激素,包括作为补充剂的褪黑激素,所以特别是如果你空腹服用褪黑激素,准备在服用它后关闭室内灯和电子显示器。 。

Tags:

Jet lag in travel

Jet lag is a form of disorientation and fatigue caused by abruptly switching to a different sleeping/waking schedule and different daylight hours. It is caused by rapid travel across time zones.

Understand
Some people are affected more than others, but it tends to happen when crossing two or more time zones in a single flight (which first became commonplace with the development of commercial jet air travel, hence the term).

Jet lag is also compounded by the fact that long hours spent on a plane can cause you to sleep too much, or not enough, possibly at the wrong time of day relative to where you departed from. The fatigue from travelling, plus the mismatch with local time, can leave you ready to fall asleep just after lunch, or being wide awake in the middle of the night, knowing that dawn is still several hours away. The length of the flight per se doesn’t cause jet lag, only the difference in time zones does. A flight from Paris to Johannesburg, while it might take you about 11 hours, wouldn’t leave you very jet lagged because there’s only 1 hour time difference. On the other hand, a flight from Paris to New York will take just about 8.5 hours, but the time difference is 6 hours so there’s a good chance for experiencing jet lag.

Flights from east to west, where you gain a few hours, are usually a bit easier, as most people find it easier to stay up a little later than to go to bed earlier. Also medical publications seem to agree on this. But this varies from person to person; if you normally wake up and go to bed early, you might not have much problems when traveling east but feel awful when going the same number of time zones west. It doesn’t always follow that the greater the time difference between your origin and destination, the greater the jet lag. Often a short 4-5 hour difference that causes you to wake at 2AM at local time (or need to get up at 2AM of your home time) can be more fatiguing, and take longer to overcome than a complete reversal of day and night.

The maximum possible jet lag between two points is 12 hours; e.g. between Helsinki and Honolulu in either direction. If you travel across the International Date Line, subtract the time zone difference from 24 to get the correct time difference. For example, an “18-hour time difference” would equal 6 hours of jet lag. Finally it is possible to get a 1 hour difference jetlag — if you live somewhere daylight saving time is observed and have problems adjusting to the change, you’ve experienced this.

If you have yet to choose your destination, you can minimize jetlag by looking within the same or a nearby time zone. This limitation will not trap you on one continent; for instance, travel between Europe and Africa rarely changes the clock more than one hour. Slower methods of long-distance travel, such as by train or boat entirely eliminate jet lag or at least greatly reduces it, but at the cost of more time spent in transit for any given (large) distance.

Nominal time zones set aside, countries can have very different customary schedule for work, dining and store openings. While office workers in countries such as China are used to start the day early as 8 AM, people in Spain and other parts of southern Europe have a justified reputation for late-night dining.

Prepare
You can’t avoid jet lag completely, but you can make things easier on yourself by not fighting it. As soon as you can, forget your origin timezone and live by the destination time. If you should be sleeping during your flight to arrive in the morning, then ignore time zones, movies and entertainment, and just sleep whenever you can. If you will arrive in the evening and should stay awake while traveling, make sure you have activities, entertainment, caffeine, etc., to keep yourself awake during the flight.

Schedule around it
With large time differences (particularly if you’re traveling west), you will probably wake up extremely early after your first night — possibly as early as 3AM! You should do your best to go back to sleep, at least for a few hours, but since you’re going to wake up early anyway, you might as well take advantage of it. Plan activities for your first morning or two that take advantage of being up early. (For example, American travelers can check out the Toyosu Market in Tokyo and get a sushi breakfast, or hike up Diamond Head in Hawaii to watch the sunrise, while someone from Europe can enjoy the sunrise somewhere in the Rocky Mountains).

On the other hand if you’re traveling east, you might find it difficult to fall asleep before it’s already morning. This can be turned to your advantage if you enjoy late-night partying. Nevertheless, during the first few days at the new destination it’s not a smart idea to drink too much alcohol — your head will already be messed up by the time difference! However, if you’ve slept badly during the overnight flight, or if your trip was particularly long or awful, it’s possible that you’re tired enough to easily fall asleep at the local bedtime the very first night, but might have problems during the following ones.

Also, knowing sunrise sunset times in your destination time can help in figuring out when to seek daylight and darkness to help aid in the transition process. In each time zone, sunrise sunset times can occur at significantly different times in different parts of the time zone, depending on time of year and your location within the timezone. As such, the destination’s day/night cycle can be a shock from the day/night cycle you’re used to back home. This is mostly an issue for visitors to Northern Europe and Alaska, where there are common travel destinations at high latitudes (midnight sun or very long days during summer, and correspondingly little daylight during winter).

Jet lag vs. travel fatigue
Traveling is often tiring even if you don’t move at jet speeds and don’t cross any timezones. That long flight across the entire length of Africa is going to leave you tired from being in a crowded, dry, uncomfortable space with hundreds of strangers for most of a day. Travel fatigue is a real problem – just not exactly the same problem as jet lag. The traveller with jet lag usually has both of these problems.

Boeing 787 Dreamliner
Some airlines have been flying the 787 Dreamliner, a new aircraft from Boeing, since 2011. This advanced aircraft has additional features that reduce the effects of jet lag, including an enhanced air filtration system and specialized ambient lighting. If you are able to fly on this aircraft, it may help.

Other tips
If you know that you’ll be getting up earlier or later, try making part of that change before your departure. Can you go to sleep an hour earlier (or sleep in an hour later) every night for the week just before your flight?

Some scientific research suggests that fasting (not eating) can help to overcome jet lag by resetting the body’s circadian rhythm (biological clock). Not eating 24 or more hours prior to arriving at your destination contributes to feeling less tired once arrived. The light/dark cycles of the earth affect our circadian rhythms, but so do our eating patterns. Rebooting our feeding cycles can mitigate the time warp.

Recover
Recovering from jet lag is a process that, well, takes time. A rule of thumb is that you recover about 1 hour difference per day. You may find that on your way out, you are fine after just a couple of days, but you will really notice the recovery period on your way home, particularly if you didn’t stay long enough to fully adjust to the original time difference. At that point your body clock will be really confused and it will take a while for it to sort things out.

You can aid the process a bit by helping to reset your body clock. Sunlight plays a big factor in this and it helps that the sun is out on your first day. Try to operate on your new local time as early as possible. If you’re going to land early in the day, try to sleep on the plane so you arrive refreshed and ready for a full day of activity. Conversely, if you’re going to arrive near the evening, try to stay awake on the plane so that you’ll be tired when you arrive and can get a lengthy sleep. As much as possible, spend the daylight hours first few days in your new time zone outdoors.

Attempt to have a normal day in terms of the time zone you’ve flown into. If you land at 7AM, for example, you will probably have been served breakfast on your flight, so head to your accommodation (ask if they can mind your luggage if you aren’t travelling light), and go and see some of the sights, making sure to get daylight and fresh air. You’ll feel tired, particularly by the mid-afternoon, but keep pushing on until an early dinnertime. Eat dinner and then go to bed. You should be tired enough for a good night’s sleep.

Alternatively, if you don’t sleep well on planes and arrive at your destination early in the morning, consider getting a “day use” hotel room in order to sleep for just a few hours and shower before continuing on the rest of the day. Having only slept a few hours, you will still be tired by evening, so you will have adjusted to the local time by the next day.

It is a lot easier to reset your day/night circle if you eat immediately after getting up. Therefore skipping breakfast is not a healthy option the first couple of days after you arrive in a new timezone.

Melatonin is a hormone secreted by the pineal gland in the brain where it regulates sleep. In the United States, melatonin tablets are widely sold over-the-counter in stores with other supplements such as vitamins and minerals. Many countries require a doctor’s prescription, however. Dosages vary wildly from one-half milligram to ten milligrams, but studies show that melatonin is most effective at around 0.3-0.5 mg. Some people have found it to be helpful in adjusting to jet lag by taking a tablet just before the new and awkward bedtime. More than a few seconds of viewing light destroys your body’s melatonin, including the melatonin taken as a supplement, so especially if you have taken melatonin on an empty stomach, be ready to turn off the room lights and electronic displays for the night after taking it.

Tags: