旅行中的疟疾

疟疾是一种严重的,有时甚至是致命的热带病。四种疟疾寄生虫可以感染人类:恶性疟原虫,间日疟原虫,卵形疟原虫和疟原虫; 恶性疟原虫感染如果不及时和正确治疗,可能会在短短一两天内致命。

来自最新信息来源的主管建议,如大医院的热带病部门,是至关重要的。

了解
负责的寄生虫是一种原生动物dixene(也就是说,需要一个中间宿主,在这种情况下是一个人,一个确定的宿主,在这种情况下是蚊子,在它的生命周期中)称为疟原虫,其中只有5个150种现有物种参与人类病理学。四种物种是这种疾病的良性形式,另一种是恶性形式的恶性疟原虫(恶性疟原虫),可以导致未经治疗导致死亡。但要注意,不应轻视这些良性形式,因为有时它会导致死亡,特别是如果患者也患有其他病变。

这种寄生虫病的人类形式几乎与人类一样古老,并且已经影响了它超过5万年。此外,对他的木乃伊进行的分析证明,法老图坦卡蒙在他去世时患有疟疾。

有些人将疟疾归类为热带疾病,这并不完全准确。混淆源于它已从欧洲和北美根除。她在十七世纪在英格兰享有盛名,威廉莎士比亚在其八个部分中讲述。它在比利时和荷兰的圩田中肆虐至1958年,科西嘉岛最后一次流行病发生在1970年至1973年之间。

当受感染的蚊子叮咬人类时传播疟疾。可以携带疟原虫寄生虫的蚊子在黄昏,黎明和夜晚都很活跃。避免感染的最佳方法是首先不要被咬伤。

正如疾病预防控制中心所述,疟疾在中美洲和南美洲的大片地区,伊斯帕尼奥拉岛(包括海地和多米尼加共和国),非洲,亚洲(包括印度次大陆,东南亚和中东)传播,南太平洋的一些地区。

一般而言,农村地区罹患疟疾的风险较高,而城市地区则较低。通常情况下,与蚊子种群有关,雨季会产生停滞不前的水池,蚊子可以繁殖。热带地区的许多城市都建立在蚊子较为罕见的海拔高度; 然而,随着气候变化,一些地方的情况开始发生变化。

诊断
确定疟原虫存在并了解它属于哪种物种的唯一有效方法是在显微镜下进行血液检查。

症状
疟疾的症状模仿普通流感,感染者通常在蚊虫叮咬后10至15天内发烧,头痛和呕吐。这意味着当你已经回到家时,你可能会生病。

疟疾危及生命,需要立即治疗。截至2018年,没有商业上可获得的疫苗,但预防方法包括避免蚊虫叮咬和预防性药物(预防)。有些药物对所有领域都无效。如果访问疟疾风险区的人在一年内发烧,应告知其医生疟疾的可能性。不太严重的形式(例如间日疟原虫)可以模仿流感的症状。很少(如果有的话)检查疟疾患者的医生可能需要提醒这一事实。疟疾的标准实验室测试是在显微镜下观察的玻璃载玻片上的厚而薄的血涂片。自检套件非常不可靠。

这种发热复发的周期性是第一种了解疟原虫的最佳方式,就疟疾而言只有这一点。

“季度发烧”,因为每三天有一个发烧状态的周期性:
疟原虫,它会导致温和的形式,但可以持久或甚至慢性;
“第三次发烧”,因为每两天有一个发烧状态的周期性:
恶性疟原虫,它是导致恶性形式的
疟原虫椭圆形,导致温和的形式。它比其他地区更常见,只发现在热带非洲的某些地区,
间日疟原虫引起良性形态;
“持续发烧”,因为每天都有发烧的状态:
引起轻微形态的诺氏疟原虫。然而,它仅在亚洲,特别是在东南亚地区。

虽然P. knowlesi仅发生在亚洲,但在世界所有地区都可以观察到持续的发烧。这可能意味着雌性蚊子同时接种了两种不同的疟原虫物种或疟疾寄生虫和病毒,或者患者同时患有疟疾和伤寒或副伤寒。

咯血不是疟疾的症状。这是由于重复的咳嗽努力主要发生在哮喘患儿或儿童身上,这些患者对其一般健康状况不良产生心身反应。

临床症状
主要临床症状为:发热超过40°C,间歇性震颤,关节疼痛,红细胞破坏引起的贫血症状,尿液中存在血红蛋白,大脑动脉血供减少(解释头痛),肾功能受损,癫痫发作和黄疸。其他不太常见的体征是脾脏和/或肝脏的体积增加(在肝脏的情况下,增加在右肋缘下容易触及)以及低血糖症。

预防
疟疾的最佳预防是为了防止由蚊子叮咬,特别是在夜间,当按蚊是活动的。不是每个疟疾区域的住宿都提供蚊帐,所以最好带上自己的网。如果下一个合适的医院不比一天的旅程更远,那么服用预防性药物可能不值得冒副作用。然而,疟疾可以在数小时内使一个人失去能力,因此如果只有一个人可以开车,则应该考虑预防。

任何疟疾预防必须在前往疟疾风险区之前,期间和(尤其)之后进行。抗疟疾药物在预防疟疾方面非常有效。由于对某些药物具有抗性的疟疾菌株,建议不同的药物去不同地区旅行。与专业医生交谈或使用可靠的来源验证信息。与所有药物一样,抗疟药可能会引起副作用。疟疾很少是唯一的健康问题,医生将需要评估旅行者将面临的所有健康风险。在您离开之前在家中获得可靠来源的药物,或者从高端或旅游区的可靠化学家/药剂师那里获得药物。有时,出售的药丸可能是安慰剂。

含有甲氟喹的医疗预防可能会产生严重的心理和神经副作用(焦虑,头痛,失眠,头晕),使某些程度上约有11-17%的旅行者丧失能力。孕妇应特别小心,因为怀孕期间不得服用一些抗疟疾药物。怀孕期间的疟疾通常更严重,并且一直被认为是严重的紧急情况。与大多数预防一样,抗疟疾并非100%有效; 然而,研究表明,当按照指示服用时,最常见的药物(例如多西环素,Malarone)的有效性约为98-99%。考虑到旅行者目的地的耐药性,应该与医生一起仔细选择疟疾预防措施; 可能的副作用,相互作用和禁忌症;

除了预防性药物外,还应采用重要的防蚊措施。避免蚊虫叮咬,使用含有DEET,网,屏幕,长衣服的驱虫剂,避免在黄昏时暴露。经氯菊酯处理的织物杀死蚊子。空调和风扇也可以帮助室内。对于那些对DEET敏感或不喜欢其气味的人,含有Picaridin(例如Natrapel)的驱虫剂可在有限的区域内使用。已显示20%的浓度与DEET一样有效。

最常见的抗疟药包括:

强力霉素非常有效,而且非常便宜。可能的缺点包括增加阳光敏感度(晒伤更容易),恶心和胃痛; 一些消息来源警告说,它可能会降低避孕药的有效性。
Lariam(甲氟喹)或其通用药物Mefliam非常有效,每周剂量简单,可长期服用。它确实有许多禁忌症,必须由医生开处方,并且已知其具有非常罕见但严重的神经副作用。更常见的副作用包括恶心,胃痉挛和清醒的梦。如果您计划进行水肺潜水或高海拔攀登,请勿使用。您的医生可能会建议您在出发前几周开始使用它,以检查可能的副作用。东南亚,西非和东非都有抗性蚊子。购买前,请向专业人士了解该药物的最新信息。
Malarone(atovaquone + proguanil)非常有效,副作用发生率极低,离开危险区域后只需服用一周; 但它是最贵的。
有时可推荐氯喹(Daramal,Nivaquine或Promal)与氯胍(Paludrine)联合使用,并且通常耐受性良好。问题包括由于其复杂性而难以遵守规定制度的人和广泛的抵抗。

关于旅行前预防疟疾是否足够早开始存在争议。例如,甲氟喹通常在旅行前一周服用。有些人认为如果这个人不幸在抵达后很快就会接触疟疾,这是不够的。有疑虑的人可能希望与他们的医生讨论将旅行前预防疟疾的时间段(而不是剂量)加倍的选择。除了提供更好的保护外,如有必要,还有更多时间换用另一种抗疟疾药物。

当疟疾或登革热有可能时,绝不能将阿司匹林作为退热药(退烧药)。(在第三次世界旅行期间和之后继续每日低剂量81mg阿司匹林治疗应与您的医生讨论。)如果观察到所有预防措施,对乙酰氨基酚(对乙酰氨基酚)和布洛芬被认为是安全的替代品。疟疾,登革热和伤寒一开始往往都有一些相似的症状,不应该是自我诊断的。

治疗
目前唯一有效的治疗方法是联合青蒿素联合治疗(ACT)。这种药物结合了青蒿素的衍生物,它可以很快地对抗寄生虫,但也很快从体内消失,而另一种被认为是抗疟疾的分子,它反应较慢,应该能够消除青蒿素的衍生物所不能做到的。它以片剂形式或作为静脉内注射(对于患者不能摄取的情况)发生并且治疗持续三天。

市场上有数十种药物结合了不同的组合。它们是通用的并且可在全世界范 是医生和他一个人决定使用最合适的组合。

该疗法的主要禁忌症是对9个月以下的孕妇和婴儿的治疗。

ACT – 世卫组织批准的ACT清单。
如果没有直接获得ACT,那么服用预防性药物是完全足够的,但新剂量应由医生确定,并在ACT可用后立即停用。

旅行
与大城市相比,前往农村地区的疟疾风险总是更大。(这与登革热相反,城市存在更大的风险。)例如,菲律宾,泰国和斯里兰卡的首都城市基本上没有疟疾。然而,这些国家的许多其他地方(特别是农村地区)都存在疟疾。相比之下,在西非,加纳和尼日利亚在整个国家都有疟疾。但是,大城市的风险要低得多。始终使用最新信息,了解您将要访问的区域是否存在疟疾,以及当地发生的预防性耐药性。世界上的一张小地图(上图)无法显示小型无疟疾区(可能是主要的旅游区和/或较大的城市)。反过来,

旅行者不应该假设他们将要访问的国家/地区可以选择疟疾预防措施。许多第三世界国家仅储存氯喹和可能的强力霉素,并且还存在购买假药的风险。奎宁(一种天然药物,已知有几个世纪)也可能有,但不推荐用作预防性抗疟疾药物。抵抗它是非常常见的。

对病媒的保护
避免疟疾意味着首先采取一些预防措施来避免蚊虫叮咬。

睡在网眼尺寸小于1.5毫米的蚊帐下,如果可能的话,用杀虫剂浸渍,这将保护与蚊帐接触的身体部位。如果蚊帐处于完美状态,每天晚上睡前检查也是必要的;
在里面使用杀虫剂,不要忘记床上用品和家具的下面。因此,冈比亚按蚊(Anopheles gambiae)是疟疾的主要传播者之一,被脚和脚踝吸引到Kairomones(由生命产生的挥发性或流动的化学信息素),并用于低空飞向地面;
蚊子对空气的运动敏感,风扇的动作,即使房间配备了空调系统,也将成为保护手段的一部分;
在日落时,在苄氯菊酯服装或皮肤上涂上一种驱虫剂,该驱虫剂含有成人30%避孕液或2至12岁儿童10%相同产品的溶液;
日落之后,穿宽松,长而浅的衣服,如果可能的话,不要饮酒。按蚊也被深色,特别是黑色吸引,而不是酒精蒸气。

请注意,如果按蚊,疟疾传播者的女性在黄昏和黎明之间活跃,其他蚊子的女性,寨卡病,基孔肯雅病,登革热或黄热病等病毒传播者在白天活跃。因此在白天需要相同的预防措施。

防止寄生虫
自2015年7月起,GSK开发的Mosquirix TM为6周至17个月的儿童提供疫苗。然而,这种疫苗,也是抗乙型肝炎,目前仅在疟疾流行的地区可用。

对寄生虫的唯一全球保护是在用餐时服用足以抵抗寄生虫化学抗性区的预防药物:

3区国家:
Malarone®每日一片,出发前一天和返回后七天。盒装12片 – 比利时:成人30,9欧元,初级18,48欧元 – 法国:成人平均免费价格35,38欧元。 – 有关药物的信息。
Lariam®每周一片,出发前两到三周,返回后四周。盒装8粒 – 比利时:34,26€ – 法国:免费价格,平均38,47€。 – 有关药物的信息。
2区国家:
氯喹和氯胍
Nivaquine® 的组合每日一片,出发前一周和返回后一个月。盒装100粒 – 比利时:4,66€ – 法国:9,14€。 – 有关药物的信息。
Paludrine®每日两片,出发前一周和返回后一个月。一盒56片。 – 有关药物的信息。
1区国家:
Nivaquine®标识表示每日一片,出发前一周和返回后一个月。标志显示100片的费率盒 – 比利时:4,66€ – 法国:9,14€。
这些药物必须由医生开处方,医生也将根据旅行者的体重和正在进行的怀孕状况确定要服用的剂量。他还可以根据您所访问国家/地区的新闻,向您推荐其他推荐的药物和疫苗。如果您想有时间接种疫苗,必须在旅行前两个月进行体检。

备注
如果您从有风险的区域返回后8天至数周内出现头痛,间歇性发热(38°C或更高),呕吐,腹泻或血尿,请咨询医生。医生的护理必须快速。
由于社会保障不涵盖预防性治疗,因此应制定预算。
前往有疟疾风险的地区暂时不允许您捐献血液。
小心如果你接种过活菌株(特别是对抗伤寒),服用抗疟疾预防药物可以在接种疫苗后至少三天开始。
请注意,如果与人类免疫缺陷病毒(HIV)共同感染不会增加死亡风险,它们各自会促成它们的相互传播:疟疾会增加HIV的病毒载量,而HIV感染会增加疟疾感染的可能性。

了解更多
WHO – 疟疾。来自世界卫生组织的关于疟疾的全球信息。
MAP(疟疾地图集项目)
MARA(绘制非洲疟疾风险图),非洲疟疾地图集。需要注册。
南非
卫生部苏格兰国家卫生局发布了显示疟疾热点的地图
IAMAT(国际旅行者医疗援助协会)疟疾信息,白皮书和旅行者风险表

Tags:

Malaria in travel

Malaria is a serious and sometimes fatal tropical disease. Four kinds of malaria parasites can infect humans: Plasmodium falciparum, P. vivax, P. ovale, and P. malariae; infection with P. falciparum, if not promptly and correctly treated, can be fatal in as little as one or two days.

Competent advice from an up-to-date source of information, such as the tropical diseases department of a major hospital, is essential.

Understand
The parasite responsible is a protozoan dixene (that is to say, requiring an intermediate host, in this case the man, and a definitive host, in this case the mosquito, during its life cycle) called Plasmodium and of which only 5 of the 150 existing species are involved in human pathology. Four species are responsible for a benign form of the disease and one species ( Plasmodium falciparum ) of the malignant form that can lead, without treatment, to death. Be careful however that the benign forms should not be taken lightly because sometimes it can lead to death especially if the patient also suffers from another pathology.

The human form of this parasitosis is almost as old as humanity and has been affecting it for more than 50,000 years . Analyzes performed on his mummy have, moreover, proved that Pharaoh Tutankhamun was suffering from malaria at the time of his death.

Some classify malaria as tropical diseases, which is not entirely accurate. The confusion stems from the fact that it has been eradicated from Europe and North America. She was so well known in England in the xvii th century, William Shakespeare speaks in eight of its parts. It raged until 1958 in the polders of Belgium and the Netherlands and the last epidemic experienced by Corsica took place between 1970 and 1973.

Transmission
Malaria is transmitted when an infected mosquito bites a human. The mosquitoes that can carry Plasmodium parasites are mostly active during dusk and dawn as well as at night. The best way to avoid infection is not getting bitten in the first place.

As stated by the CDC, malaria is transmitted in large areas of Central and South America, the island of Hispaniola (which includes Haiti and the Dominican Republic), Africa, Asia (including the Indian subcontinent, Southeast Asia and the Middle East), and a few areas of the South Pacific.

In general, the risk of contracting malaria is higher in rural areas and lower in urban areas. Often there is also a correlation to the mosquito population, with the rainy season creating stagnant pools of water where mosquitoes can breed. Many cities in tropical areas were founded at elevations where mosquitoes are or rather were rare; however, with climate change, this is beginning to change in some places.

Diagnosis
The only really effective way to determine the presence of Plasmodium and to know what species it belongs to is a blood test under a microscope.

Symptoms
Symptoms of malaria mimic common flu, with an infected person suffering fever, headache, and vomiting usually within 10 to 15 days after the mosquito bite. This means that you may become sick when you’re already back at home.

Malaria is life-threatening, and requires immediate treatment. No vaccine is commercially available as of 2018, but methods of prevention include avoiding mosquito bites and preventative drugs (prophylaxis). Some drugs are not effective for all areas. If a person who has visited a malaria risk zone contracts a fever within one year, their physician should be informed of the possibility of malaria. Less serious forms (such as P. vivax) can mimic symptoms of the flu. Physicians who rarely, if ever, examine malaria patients may need to be reminded of this fact. The standard laboratory test for malaria is a thick and thin blood smear on a glass slide viewed under the microscope. Self-test kits are highly unreliable.

This periodicity of febrile recrudescences is the best way to make a first sort to know what Plasmodium you have to do, as far as malaria is concerned and only this one.

“Quarter fever” because having a periodicity of feverish states every three days:
Plasmodium malariae which causes a mild form but which can be durable or even chronic;
“Third fever” because having a periodicity of feverish states every two days:
Plasmodium falciparum , it is he who causes the malignant form,
Plasmodium oval that causes a mild form. Rarer than the others, it is only found in certain areas of tropical Africa,
Plasmodium vivax which causes a benign form;
“Continuous fever” because having a periodicity of feverish states every day:
Plasmodium knowlesi that causes a mild form. However, it is only found in Asia and more particularly in Southeast Asia.

Although P. knowlesi only occurs in Asia, continuous fevers can be observed in all regions of the world. This may mean that the female mosquito has simultaneously inoculated two different Plasmodium species or a malaria parasite and a virus or that the patient has both malaria and typhoid or paratyphoid fever.

A hemoptysis is not a symptom of malaria. This is due to the repetitive coughing effort that occurs mainly in asthmatics or children who produce a psychosomatic reaction to their general poor health.

Clinical signs
The main clinical signs are: fever over 40 ° C , intermittent tremor, joint pain, signs of anemia caused by the destruction of red blood cells, the presence of hemoglobin in the urine, a decrease in arterial blood supply to the brain (explaining headache), impaired renal function, seizures and jaundice. Other less common signs are increased volume of the spleen and / or liver (in the case of the liver, the increase is easily palpable under the right rib margin) as well as hypoglycemia.

Prophylaxis
The best prophylaxis against malaria is to prevent being bitten by mosquitoes, particularly at night when the Anopheles mosquitoes are active. Not in every malaria area does accommodation offer mosquito nets, so best bring your own net. If the next proper hospital is not further away than a day’s journey, taking preventive medicine might not be worth the risk of side effects. However, malaria can incapacitate a person within hours, so if only one person can drive a car, prophylaxis should be considered for them.

Any malaria prophylaxis must be taken before, during, and (especially) after travelling to a malaria-risk zone. Anti-malarial drugs are highly effective in preventing malaria. Different drugs are recommended for travel to different areas due to malarial strains resistant to certain drugs. Talk to a specialist doctor or verify the information with a reliable source. As with all drugs, anti-malarials may cause side-effects. Seldom will malaria be the sole health concern, and the physician will need to assess all the health risks the traveller will face. Obtain medications from a reliable source, either at home before you leave or from a reliable chemist/pharmacist in a high-end or tourist area. Sometimes, the pills sold might be placebos.

Medical prophylaxis that contains mefloquine can have serious psychological and neurological side effects (anxiety, headaches, insomnia, dizziness) that incapacitates about 11-17% of travelers to some degree. Pregnant women should be especially careful, as some anti-malarials must not be taken during pregnancy. Malaria during pregnancy is usually more severe, and it’s always considered to be a serious emergency. As with most prophylaxis, anti-malarials are not 100% effective; however, studies have shown that, when taken as directed, the most common drugs (e.g. doxycycline, Malarone) are about 98-99% effective. The choice of a malaria prophylaxis should be made carefully with one’s physician, taking into account drug resistance in the traveller’s destination; possible side effects, interactions, and contra-indications; and finally the preferred frequency per dose (daily, weekly, etc.)

As well as prophylactic medications, there are important anti-mosquito measures that should be used. Avoiding mosquito bites by using repellent containing DEET, netting, screens, long clothing, and avoid being exposed around dusk. Permethrin-treated fabrics kill mosquitoes. Air-conditioning and fans can also help indoors. For those sensitive to DEET, or who dislike its smell, repellents containing Picaridin (e.g. Natrapel) are available in limited areas. Concentrations of 20% have been shown to be as effective as DEET.

The most common anti-malarials include:

Doxycycline is highly effective and can be very inexpensive. Possible disadvantages include increased sun sensitivity (sunburning easier), and nausea and stomach pain; some sources caution that it may reduce the effectiveness of birth control pills.
Lariam (mefloquine) or its generic, Mefliam, is highly effective, has a simple weekly dose and can be taken for extended periods. It does have a number of contra-indications and must be prescribed by a doctor, and has also been known to have very rare but severe neurological side effects. More common side effects include nausea, stomach cramps and lucid dreams. Not to be used if you plan on scuba diving or high-altitude climbing. Your doctor may advise starting using it several weeks before departure, in order to check for possible side effects. There are resistant mosquitoes in Southeast Asia, and West and East Africa. Find out the latest information on this drug from a professional before purchase.
Malarone (atovaquone + proguanil) is highly effective, has a very low incidence of side effects, and only needs to be taken for one week after leaving the risk area; however it is the most expensive.
Chloroquine (Daramal, Nivaquine, or Promal) in combination with proguanil (Paludrine) may sometimes be recommended, and is generally well tolerated. Problems include people having difficulty adhering to the prescribed regime due to its complexity, and widespread resistance.

There has been some debate over whether pre-travel malaria prophylaxis is being started early enough. For example, mefloquine is normally taken one week prior to travel. Some feel this is inadequate if the person is unfortunate enough to be exposed to malaria shortly upon arrival. Those who have concerns may wish to discuss with their physician the option of doubling the time period (not the dosage) that their malaria prophylaxis will be taken prior to travel. In addition to providing better protection, there will be more time to switch to another anti-malaria medication, if necessary.

Aspirin must never be taken as an antipyretic (fever reducer) when malaria or dengue fever is a possibility. (Continuing daily low-dose 81mg aspirin therapy during and after third-world travel should be discussed with your physician.) Acetaminophen (paracetamol) and ibuprofen are considered safe alternatives provided all of their precautions are observed. Malaria, dengue fever, and typhoid fever all tend to have somewhat similar symptoms at first, and should not be self-diagnosed.

Therapy
The only currently valid treatment is a combination artemisinin-based combination therapy ( ACT ). This drug combines a derivative of artemisinin, which acts very quickly against the parasite but also quickly disappears from the body, and another molecule deemed antimalaric, which slower to react, is supposed to eliminate what the derivative of artemisinin would not have done. It occurs either in tablet form or as an intravenous injection (for cases where the patient is unable to ingest) and the treatment lasts for three days.

There are dozens of drugs on the market that combine different combinations. They are generic and available worldwide. It is the doctor, and he alone, who decides on the most appropriate combination to use.

The main contraindication to this therapy is the treatment of pregnant women and infants under nine months of age.

ACT – List of ACTs approved by WHO.
If an ACT is not available directly, taking the prophylactic drug in your possession is entirely adequate but the new doses should be determined by a doctor and discontinued as soon as an ACT is available.

Travel
Travel to rural areas always involves more potential exposure to malaria than in the larger cities. (This is in contrast to dengue fever where cities present the greater risk.) For example, the capital cities of the Philippines, Thailand and Sri Lanka are essentially malaria-free. However, malaria is present in many other places (especially rural areas) of these countries. By contrast, in West Africa, Ghana and Nigeria have malaria throughout the entire country. However, the risk is much lower in the larger cities. Always use up-to-date information as to whether malaria is present in the areas you will be visiting, and what prophylactic resistance occurs locally. A small map of the world (above) cannot show small pockets of malaria-free zones (which are likely to be prime tourist areas and/or larger cities). Conversely, sometimes malaria spreads into new territory—especially higher elevations near endemic zones.

Travellers should never assume that their choice of malaria prophylaxis is available in the country that they will be visiting. Many third-world countries stock only chloroquine and possibly doxycycline and there is also a risk of buying fake drugs. Quinine (a natural drug, and known for centuries) might also be available, but is not recommended as a prophylactic anti-malarial. Resistance to it is extremely common.

Protection against the vector
Avoiding malaria means first avoiding mosquito bites by taking a few precautions.

sleeping under a mosquito net with a mesh size of less than 1.5 mm and, if possible, impregnated with insecticide, which will protect the body parts that come into contact with the mosquito net. It is also imperative to check, every evening before bedtime, if the mosquito net is in perfect condition;
use an insecticide inside not forgetting the underside of the bedding and furniture. Thus Anopheles gambiae , which is one of the main propagators of malaria, is attracted to Kairomones (volatile or mobile semiochemicals produced by a living) from the feet and ankles and used to fly low to the ground;
mosquitoes being sensitive to the movement of air, the action of a fan, even if the room is equipped with an air conditioning system, will also be part of the means of protection;
at sunset, coat the permethrin garments or the skin with a repellent consisting of a solution containing 30% DEET for adults or 10% of the same product for children between 2 and 12 years of age;
after sunset, wear loose, long, light colored clothing and, if possible, refrain from drinking alcohol. Anopheles are also attracted by dark colors, especially black, than by alcohol vapors.

Beware that if females of anopheles, malaria spreaders, are active between dusk and dawn, females of other mosquito species, propagators of viruses such as Zika fever , chikungunya , dengue fever or yellow fever are active during the day. The same precautions are therefore desirable in the daytime.

Protection against the parasite
Since July 2015, there is a vaccine for children aged between six weeks and seventeen months, the Mosquirix TM developed by GSK . However, this vaccine, also anti- hepatitis B , is currently available only in areas where malaria is endemic.

The only global protection against parasites is the taking, at the time of a meal, of a prophylactic drug adequate to the zone of chemo-resistance of the parasite:

zone 3 countries:
Malarone® one tablet daily, one day before departure and up to seven days after return . box of 12 tablets – Belgium: 30,9 € for adult and 18,48 € for junior – France: free price with an average of 35,38 € for adult . – Information about the medicine .
Lariam® one tablet a week, two to three weeks before departure and up to four weeks after return . box of 8 tablets – Belgium: 34,26 € – France: free price with an average of 38,47 € . – Information about the medicine .
zone 2 country:
a combination of chloroquine and proguanil
Nivaquine® one tablet daily, one week before departure and up to one month after return . box of 100 tablets – Belgium: 4,66 € – France: 9,14 € . – Information about the medicine .
Paludrine® two tablets daily, one week before departure and up to one month after return . box of 56 tablets . – Information about the medicine .
Zone 1 country :
Nivaquine® Logo indicating schedules one tablet daily, one week before departure and up to one month after return . Logo indicating rates box of 100 tablets – Belgium: 4,66 € – France: 9,14 € .
These medications must be prescribed by a doctor who will also determine the doses to be taken according to the weight of the traveler and according to a state of pregnancy in progress. He can also advise you other recommended medications and vaccinations recommended according to the news of the country you are visiting. If you want to have the time to vaccinate, the medical check-up must be done two months before the trip.

Remarks
If you have headache, intermittent fever ( 38 ° C or higher), vomiting, diarrhea, or bloody urine , within 8 days to several weeks after returning from an at-risk area , see doctor. The care by a doctor must be fast.
As preventive treatment is not covered by Social Security, plan a budget accordingly.
A trip to an area at risk of malaria temporarily excludes you from donating blood.
Be careful that if you have received a live strain vaccine (especially against typhoid ), taking an antimalarial prophylactic drug can start at least three days after vaccination.
Beware that if a co-infection with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) does not increase the risk of mortality, they each contribute to their mutual spread: malaria increases the viral load of HIV and HIV infection increases the probability of a malaria infection.

Find out more
WHO – Malaria. World wide information on malaria from the World Health Organisation.
MAP (Malaria Atlas Project)
MARA (Mapping Malaria Risk in Africa), a malaria atlas for Africa. Requires registration.
South African Department of Health
The National Health Service in Scotland publishes maps showing malarial hotspots
IAMAT (International Association for Medical Assistance to Travellers) Malaria information, white paper, and risk chart for travellers

Tags: