艾菲尔铁塔,法国巴黎

艾菲尔铁塔(法语:tour Eiffel)是法国巴黎的战神广场上的铁格子塔。它是以工程师Gustave Eiffel的名字命名的,该公司设计和建造了塔楼。

艾菲尔铁塔是由古斯塔夫·埃菲尔为1889年世界博览会而建立的,这是为了庆祝法国大革命100周年。 2年零2个月零5天的建设是一个真正的技术和建筑成就。 “乌托邦成就”是技术实力的象征,在19世纪末,这是法国工程学的一个示范,也是工业时代的决定性时刻。作为法国在世界上的象征和巴黎的展示,今天它每年接待近700万名游客,使它成为您在世界上最受欢迎的纪念碑。

建于1887 – 1898年,是1889年世界博览会的入口,最初受到一些法国着名艺术家和知识分子的批评,但它已成为法国的全球文化偶像,是世界上最知名的建筑之一。

塔高324米(1,063英尺),与81层高的建筑高度相同,也是巴黎最高的建筑。它的底部是方形的,每边长125米(410英尺)。艾菲尔铁塔在建造过程中,超过了华盛顿纪念碑,成为世界上最高的人造建筑,这个建筑在纽约克莱斯勒大厦1930年建成之前已经有41年的历史了。由于增加了广播在1957年的塔顶高架,现在比克莱斯勒大厦高了5.2米(17英尺)。不包括发射机,艾菲尔铁塔是米洛高架桥之后法国第二高的建筑。

塔楼有三层,第一层和第二层都有餐厅。顶层的上层平台高出地面276米(906英尺),这是欧盟公众可以使用的最高的观景台。门票可以通过楼梯或升降机(电梯)购买到第一和第二层。从地面到第一层的攀登超过300步,从第一层爬到第二层也是如此。虽然有一个楼梯的顶层,它通常只能通过电梯到达。

历史:
埃菲尔铁塔的设计是两位为埃菲尔铁塔公司工作的高级工程师Maurice Koechlin和ÉmileNouguier的产品,他们讨论了1889年世博会的合适中心,这个世界博览会庆祝法国百周年革命。艾菲尔公开承认,塔的灵感来自于1853年在纽约市建立的拉丁天文台。1884年5月,在家工作,科赫林画了他们的想法,他形容为“一个巨大的塔,由四格大梁在底部分开,在顶部汇合在一起,通过金属桁架定期连接“。艾菲尔最初几乎没有表现出什么热情,但他确实赞成进一步的研究,然后两位工程师问公司建筑部门负责人斯蒂芬·索维斯特(Stephen Sauvestre)为设计做出贡献。索维斯特(Sauvestre)在塔楼底部增加了装饰拱门,第一层玻璃亭子和其他装饰。

新版本获得了艾菲尔的支持:他在Koechlin,Nougier和Sauvestre的设计中获得了专利权,并于1884年秋季在公司名下展出装饰艺术展。 1885年3月30日,埃菲尔向法国兴业公民委员会提出了他的计划;在讨论技术问题,强调塔的实际用途之后,他讲完塔说话,

不仅是现代工程师的艺术,也是我们生活的工业和科学的世纪,十八世纪伟大的科学运动和一千七百八十九年的革命为之奠定了基础,这座纪念碑将作为法国感谢的表达而建立。

直到1886年,儒勒·格雷维重新当选法国总统,爱德华·洛克雷被任命为贸易部长,取得的进展甚微。该展览会的预算已经通过,并于5月1日,洛克罗宣布改变展览中心的公开比赛的条款,有效地使艾菲尔设计的选择成为定局,因为参赛作品必须包括一个在Champ de Mars上的300米(980英尺)的四面金属塔的研究。 (一座300米高的塔被认为是一项艰巨的工程工作)。 5月12日,成立了一个委员会来审查艾菲尔的计划和对手,一个月后,他决定除埃菲尔之外的所有提案都不切实际或缺乏细节。

1887年1月8日签署了一份合同,经过一番辩论后,埃菲尔以自己的身份,而不是他的公司的代表签署了这份合同,并且给了他150万法郎的建筑费用:不到估计的650万法郎的四分之一。艾菲尔将在展会期间和未来20年内从塔楼的商业开发中获得所有收入。后来他建立了一个独立的公司来管理塔楼,自己提供了一半的必要资金。

施工
1887年1月28日,地基工作开始。东侧和南侧的腿很简单,每条腿搁在四块2米(6.6英尺)的混凝土板上,每块腿的主梁各一块。靠近塞纳河的西,北两条腿更加复杂:每块板需要两根长15米(49英尺),直径6米(20英尺)的压缩空气沉箱, 22米(72英尺)以支撑6米(20英尺)厚的混凝土板。每一块石板都支撑着一块顶部倾斜的石灰石,以承载铁制品的支撑鞋。

每只鞋子都用一对直径为10厘米(4英寸),长7.5米(25英尺)的螺栓固定在石雕上。 6月30日完成了基础工作,铁器的架设开始了。现场可见的工作得到了幕后的大量准备工作的补充:绘图室制作了1700个普通图纸和3629个需要的不同零件的详细图纸。由于设计中涉及的复杂角度和所需的精确度,部件的绘制任务变得复杂:铆钉孔的位置规定在0.1毫米(0.0039英寸)内,角度计算到1秒的弧度。成品部件,有些已经铆接成分组件,从附近巴黎郊区勒瓦卢瓦 – 佩雷(Levallois-Perret)工厂的马车到达,首先用螺栓连接在一起,随着施工的进行,螺栓被铆钉取代。现场不进行钻孔或成型:如果有任何部件不合格,则将其送回工厂进行改装。共有18038件使用250万个铆钉连接在一起。

起初,这些腿是悬臂式建造的,但是在第一层的大约一半的时候,建筑就暂停了,以便制造出一个实木的脚手架。这再次引起了人们对塔楼结构完整性的担忧,以及诸如“艾菲尔自杀”等轰动性的头条新闻。和“古斯塔夫·埃菲尔已经疯了:他已经被关进了收容所”出现在小报上。在这个阶段,每条腿上都安装了一个小型“爬山”起重机,用于向上移动塔架。他们利用四条腿上的升降机的导轨。在一级加入腿部的关键阶段已于1888年3月底完成。虽然金属制品已经准备好了对细节的高度重视,但是已经做了小的调整以精确对齐腿部;液压千斤顶安装在每条腿根部的鞋子上,能够施加800吨的力量,并且腿部有意地以比必要的稍微更陡的角度构造,由脚手架上的沙箱支撑。尽管施工涉及300名现场员工,但由于艾菲尔严格的安全措施以及使用可移动的通道,护栏和屏幕,只有一人死亡。

材料
艾菲尔铁塔的铁锅(锻铁)重达7300吨,电梯,商店和天线的加入使总重量达到了10,100吨左右。作为设计经济的一个示范,如果结构中的7300吨金属被熔化,它将填满方底,每边125米(410英尺),深度只有6.25厘米(2.46英寸)假设金属的密度为每立方米7.8吨。此外,塔周围的一个立方体箱(324米x 125米x 125米)将包含6,200吨空气,重量几乎与铁本身相同。根据环境温度的不同,由于面向太阳的一侧的金属热膨胀,塔顶可能会偏离太阳18厘米(7英寸)。

风洞
建成之后,许多人都为这座塔的大胆形式感到震惊。埃菲尔被指责试图创造一些艺术而不考虑工程原理。然而,埃菲尔和他的团队经验丰富的桥梁建设者 – 理解风力的重要性,并知道如果他们要建造世界上最高的结构,他们必须确保它能抵挡住它们。

他用图形方法来确定塔的强度和经验证据来说明风的影响,而不是一个数学公式。塔的仔细检查显示出基本指数形状。塔的所有部分都是过度设计的,以确保最大限度地抵抗风力。上半部分甚至被认为在网格上没有空白。自建成以来,工程师们提出了各种数学假设,试图解释设计的成功。最近的一次是在埃菲尔于1885年向法国土木工程师学会发送的信件中翻译成英文之后,于2004年设计的,被描述为一种非线性积分方程式,基于抵消塔楼任何一点的风压和张力之间的建筑元素之间。

乘客电梯
在塔楼的历史中,电梯的安排已经多次改变。考虑到电缆的弹性以及将轿厢与起落架对齐的时间,在正常的服务中,每个电梯平均需要8分50秒来完成往返,平均花费1分15秒每个级别。平均行程时间为1分钟。原有的液压机构在东西两侧的小型博物馆内公开展示。由于该机制需要频繁的润滑和维护,因此公共访问通常受到限制。北塔的绳索机构可以看作是游客离开电梯。

自1889年建成以来,已有2.5亿多人参观了塔楼。2015年,塔楼有691万人次。塔是世界上访问量最大的付费纪念碑。平均每天有二万五千人登上塔楼,这可能导致长时间的排队。门票可以在线购买,以避免长时间排队。

Tags:

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

The Eiffel Tower (French: tour Eiffel) is a wrought iron lattice tower on the Champ de Mars in Paris, France. It is named after the engineer Gustave Eiffel, whose company designed and built the tower.

The Eiffel Tower was built by Gustave Eiffel for the 1889 Exposition Universelle, which was to celebrate the 100th year anniversary of the French Revolution. Its construction in 2 years, 2 months and 5 days was a veritable technical and architectural achievement. “Utopia achieved”, a symbol of technological prowess, at the end of the 19th Century it was a demonstration of French engineering, and a defining moment of the industrial era. As France’s symbol in the world, and the showcase of Paris, today it welcomes almost 7 million visitors a year, making it the most visited monument that you have to pay for in the world.

Constructed from 1887–89 as the entrance to the 1889 World’s Fair, it was initially criticized by some of France’s leading artists and intellectuals for its design, but it has become a global cultural icon of France and one of the most recognisable structures in the world.

The tower is 324 metres (1,063 ft) tall, about the same height as an 81-storey building, and the tallest structure in Paris. Its base is square, measuring 125 metres (410 ft) on each side. During its construction, the Eiffel Tower surpassed the Washington Monument to become the tallest man-made structure in the world, a title it held for 41 years until the Chrysler Building in New York City was finished in 1930. Due to the addition of a broadcasting aerial at the top of the tower in 1957, it is now taller than the Chrysler Building by 5.2 metres (17 ft). Excluding transmitters, the Eiffel Tower is the second-tallest structure in France after the Millau Viaduct.

The tower has three levels for visitors, with restaurants on the first and second levels. The top level’s upper platform is 276 m (906 ft) above the ground – the highest observation deck accessible to the public in the European Union. Tickets can be purchased to ascend by stairs or lift (elevator) to the first and second levels. The climb from ground level to the first level is over 300 steps, as is the climb from the first level to the second. Although there is a staircase to the top level, it is usually accessible only by lift.

History:
The design of the Eiffel Tower was the product of Maurice Koechlin and Émile Nouguier, two senior engineers working for the Compagnie des Établissements Eiffel, after discussion about a suitable centrepiece for the proposed 1889 Exposition Universelle, a world’s fair to celebrate the centennial of the French Revolution. Eiffel openly acknowledged that inspiration for a tower came from the Latting Observatory built in New York City in 1853. In May 1884, working at home, Koechlin made a sketch of their idea, described by him as “a great pylon, consisting of four lattice girders standing apart at the base and coming together at the top, joined together by metal trusses at regular intervals”. Eiffel initially showed little enthusiasm, but he did approve further study, and the two engineers then asked Stephen Sauvestre, the head of company’s architectural department, to contribute to the design. Sauvestre added decorative arches to the base of the tower, a glass pavilion to the first level, and other embellishments.

The new version gained Eiffel’s support: he bought the rights to the patent on the design which Koechlin, Nougier, and Sauvestre had taken out, and the design was exhibited at the Exhibition of Decorative Arts in the autumn of 1884 under the company name. On 30 March 1885, Eiffel presented his plans to the Société des Ingénieurs Civils; after discussing the technical problems and emphasising the practical uses of the tower, he finished his talk by saying the tower would symbolise,

Not only the art of the modern engineer, but also the century of Industry and Science in which we are living, and for which the way was prepared by the great scientific movement of the eighteenth century and by the Revolution of 1789, to which this monument will be built as an expression of France’s gratitude.

Little progress was made until 1886, when Jules Grévy was re-elected as president of France and Édouard Lockroy was appointed as minister for trade. A budget for the exposition was passed and, on 1 May, Lockroy announced an alteration to the terms of the open competition being held for a centrepiece to the exposition, which effectively made the selection of Eiffel’s design a foregone conclusion, as entries had to include a study for a 300 m (980 ft) four-sided metal tower on the Champ de Mars. (A 300-meter tower was then considered a herculean engineering effort). On 12 May, a commission was set up to examine Eiffel’s scheme and its rivals, which, a month later, decided that all the proposals except Eiffel’s were either impractical or lacking in details.

After some debate about the exact location of the tower, a contract was signed on 8 January 1887. This was signed by Eiffel acting in his own capacity rather than as the representative of his company, and granted him 1.5 million francs toward the construction costs: less than a quarter of the estimated 6.5 million francs. Eiffel was to receive all income from the commercial exploitation of the tower during the exhibition and for the next 20 years. He later established a separate company to manage the tower, putting up half the necessary capital himself.

Construction
Work on the foundations started on 28 January 1887. Those for the east and south legs were straightforward, with each leg resting on four 2 m (6.6 ft) concrete slabs, one for each of the principal girders of each leg. The west and north legs, being closer to the river Seine, were more complicated: each slab needed two piles installed by using compressed-air caissons 15 m (49 ft) long and 6 m (20 ft) in diameter driven to a depth of 22 m (72 ft) to support the concrete slabs, which were 6 m (20 ft) thick. Each of these slabs supported a block of limestone with an inclined top to bear a supporting shoe for the ironwork.

Each shoe was anchored to the stonework by a pair of bolts 10 cm (4 in) in diameter and 7.5 m (25 ft) long. The foundations were completed on 30 June, and the erection of the ironwork began. The visible work on-site was complemented by the enormous amount of exacting preparatory work that took place behind the scenes: the drawing office produced 1,700 general drawings and 3,629 detailed drawings of the 18,038 different parts needed. The task of drawing the components was complicated by the complex angles involved in the design and the degree of precision required: the position of rivet holes was specified to within 0.1 mm (0.0039 in) and angles worked out to one second of arc. The finished components, some already riveted together into sub-assemblies, arrived on horse-drawn carts from a factory in the nearby Parisian suburb of Levallois-Perret and were first bolted together, with the bolts being replaced with rivets as construction progressed. No drilling or shaping was done on site: if any part did not fit, it was sent back to the factory for alteration. In all, 18,038 pieces were joined together using 2.5 million rivets.

At first the legs were constructed as cantilevers, but about halfway to the first level, construction was paused in order to create a substantial timber scaffold. This renewed concerns about the structural integrity of the tower, and sensational headlines such as “Eiffel Suicide!” and “Gustave Eiffel Has Gone Mad: He Has Been Confined in an Asylum” appeared in the tabloid press. At this stage, a small “creeper” crane designed to move up the tower was installed in each leg. They made use of the guides for the lifts which were to be fitted in the four legs. The critical stage of joining the legs at the first level was completed by the end of March 1888. Although the metalwork had been prepared with the utmost attention to detail, provision had been made to carry out small adjustments in order to precisely align the legs; hydraulic jacks were fitted to the shoes at the base of each leg, capable of exerting a force of 800 tonnes, and the legs were intentionally constructed at a slightly steeper angle than necessary, being supported by sandboxes on the scaffold. Although construction involved 300 on-site employees, only one person died thanks to Eiffel’s stringent safety precautions and the use of movable gangways, guardrails and screens.

Material
The puddled iron (wrought iron) of the Eiffel Tower weighs 7,300 tons, and the addition of lifts, shops and antennae have brought the total weight to approximately 10,100 tons. As a demonstration of the economy of design, if the 7,300 tons of metal in the structure were melted down, it would fill the square base, 125 metres (410 ft) on each side, to a depth of only 6.25 cm (2.46 in) assuming the density of the metal to be 7.8 tons per cubic metre. Additionally, a cubic box surrounding the tower (324 m x 125 m x 125 m) would contain 6,200 tons of air, weighing almost as much as the iron itself. Depending on the ambient temperature, the top of the tower may shift away from the sun by up to 18 cm (7 in) due to thermal expansion of the metal on the side facing the sun.

Wind considerations
When it was built, many were shocked by the tower’s daring form. Eiffel was accused of trying to create something artistic with no regard to the principles of engineering. However, Eiffel and his team – experienced bridge builders – understood the importance of wind forces, and knew that if they were going to build the tallest structure in the world, they had to be sure it could withstand them.

He used graphical methods to determine the strength of the tower and empirical evidence to account for the effects of wind, rather than a mathematical formula. Close examination of the tower reveals a basically exponential shape. All parts of the tower were over-designed to ensure maximum resistance to wind forces. The top half was even assumed to have no gaps in the latticework. In the years since it was completed, engineers have put forward various mathematical hypotheses in an attempt to explain the success of the design. The most recent, devised in 2004 after letters sent by Eiffel to the French Society of Civil Engineers in 1885 were translated into English, is described as a non-linear integral equation based on counteracting the wind pressure on any point of the tower with the tension between the construction elements at that point.

Passenger lifts
The arrangement of the lifts has been changed several times during the tower’s history. Given the elasticity of the cables and the time taken to align the cars with the landings, each lift, in normal service, takes an average of 8 minutes and 50 seconds to do the round trip, spending an average of 1 minute and 15 seconds at each level. The average journey time between levels is 1 minute. The original hydraulic mechanism is on public display in a small museum at the base of the east and west legs. Because the mechanism requires frequent lubrication and maintenance, public access is often restricted. The rope mechanism of the north tower can be seen as visitors exit the lift.

More than 250 million people have visited the tower since it was completed in 1889. In 2015, there were 6.91 million visitors. The tower is the most-visited paid monument in the world. An average of 25,000 people ascend the tower every day which can result in long queues. Tickets can be purchased online to avoid the long queues.

Tags: