残疾人旅行指南

残疾人无需旅行。近几十年来,大多数高收入国家对法律无障碍实施了严格的要求,美国关于该主题的立法甚至成为联合国协议的典范。话虽这么说,有些地方 – 无论是粗心大意还是缺乏资源或历史限制 – 对于有残疾的人来说都很难获得。常见的问题包括人行道上有坑洼,或者被奇怪的角度突出的杆子阻挡,这使得行走成为一项挑战,即使对于健康而言也极大地限制了轮椅的行动,公共交通基础设施不足或根本不存在,货币设计不明智,不必要的嘈杂餐厅。

无障碍旅游
无障碍旅游是确保所有人都能够获得旅游目的地,产品和服务的持续努力,无论其身体限制,残疾或年龄如何。它包括公共和私人旅游地点。Darcy和Dickson(2009,p34)将该术语定义为:

无障碍旅游通过提供普遍设计的旅游产品,服务和环境,使具有访问要求(包括移动性,视觉,听觉和认知维度)的人员能够独立,公平和有尊严地运作。该定义包括所有人,包括在婴儿车,残疾人和老年人中携带儿童旅行的人。

概述
现代社会越来越意识到残疾人融合的概念。诸如欧洲委员会等机构的国际专题讨论会上介绍了无障碍,全民设计和通用设计等问题。已经采取措施促进指导方针和最佳做法,现在主要资源用于这一领域。

通过欧洲委员会委托进行的研究,促进了对无障碍旅游市场的更多了解,利益相关者分析提供了对无障碍旅游复杂性的深入了解。同样,澳大利亚可持续旅游合作研究中心资助了一项无障碍旅游研究议程,该议程旨在概述一个研究基础,用于开发发展市场细分所需的供应,需求和协调/监管信息。研究议程现在已经看到其他三个资助项目有助于建立一个研究基地,旅游业和政府营销机构可以据此做出更明智的决策。
截至2008年,欧洲有超过5000万残疾人,全世界有超过6亿残疾人。如上所述,当扩大到包括无障碍旅游的所有受益者时,仅在欧洲就有大约1.3亿人受到影响。根据世界卫生组织和世界银行2011年世界残疾人报告,世界上有超过10亿人患有残疾,其中近2亿人在运作方面遇到严重困难。

除了社会效益之外,市场还为新的投资和新的服务需求提供了机会,很少由旅游部门的主要参与者提供。

根据ENAT,欧洲无障碍旅游网络,无障碍旅游包括:

无障碍目的地:基础设施和设施
交通:空中,陆地和海上,适合所有用户
高质量服务:由训练有素的员工提供
活动,展览,景点:允许每个人参与旅游业
营销,预订系统,网站和服务:所有人都可以访问的信息

盲人和视力受损者

进入
在世界上大多数地区,除了快速移动的人群引起的导航问题外,机场和火车站通常是盲人或视障人士可管理的地方,具有合理的行动能力。计划从一个地方到另一个地方的额外时间,让大量的人群过去。对于机场安检,您需要知道您在扫描仪上放置了什么进行X光检查,以及如何在扫描仪的另一端进行描述。如果他们对您的某些手提行李有疑问,那么在他们进行双重检查之前,您将无法触摸它以确认它是您的。因此,如果一名安保人员模糊地问某人是否在你的指示下,“这是你的吗?”,请准备好说你带了一件黑色羊毛外套,一台MacBook Air笔记本电脑,一个黑色皮革公文包,

巴士服务的质量变化很大,您乘坐飞机或火车后的下一站可能是当地巴士或酒店穿梭巴士。有些城市有会说话的公交车,可以下载的可访问的应用程序来规划您的路线,停止按钮上有盲文标签。在其他地方,你必须依靠司机告诉你你正在乘坐哪辆公共汽车,方向是什么,以及什么时候停下来。

如果您有一些视力,那么请以一种让您识别行李的方式标记行李。不会有太多人将他们的手提箱从边缘到边缘覆盖在大X或其他形状的霓虹粉色胶带制成。如果你需要一些不依赖于视觉的东西,那么可以考虑一种专门的电子语音设备或触觉模式,也许是用细绳子打结,非常牢固地缠绕在手柄上。

一旦你在那里
有几家酒店专门为盲人和视障客人提供服务。这些酒店提供高对比度的功能,电梯控制电话,房间钥匙,可以很容易地分辨出哪一端进入,以及其他什么使您的生活更简单。但是,您很可能会到达一家典型的酒店。在这种情况下,请告知酒店您预订时的任何要求。在预订房间之前,请尽可能与当地酒店的工作人员讨论他们的设施,而不是依靠中央呼叫中心。当您到达时,登记过程可能与任何其他交易相同,直到详细说明需要向店员解释如何定位您的签名卡或要求他使用信用卡的上边缘来指示签名行的下边缘。让别人带你到你的房间,至少第一次,这样你就可以找到自己的方向,检查你路线上几乎看不见的玻璃门和其他障碍物,并找出房间钥匙。有些酒店在早上为每个房间提供报纸。根据要求,通常可以在前台停止或保留这种绊倒危险。

如果您使用任何专用计算机工具(如屏幕阅读器或软件进行缩放),请携带自己的笔记本电脑,盲文书记器或其他电子设备。你几乎肯定不会在网吧找到你想要的东西。

如果您正在上班,您可能没有时间做其他事情。但如果你正在度假或者预计会有一些时间,那么请考虑你的选择。请向酒店工作人员寻求帮助,找到您喜欢的交通方式,以及一般建议。如果您对目的地感兴趣,请尝试报名参加导游,以便您可以听到导游描述历史和文化。大型历史和艺术博物馆有时会为盲人和视障人士举办特别的实践考察。一个礼品店出售着名的当地建筑和纪念碑的比例模型可以让你触摸它们,这样你就可以更好地了解你刚去过的地方。

您也可以从目的地的当地失明研究所获得有关目的地的有用建议。


盲犬一般来说,旅游应该在国际旅行时带狗导游提前计划好。由于狗可携带疾病,许多国家,特别是岛国需要进行特殊检测,疫苗接种和文书工作。具有此类要求的国家包括英国和爱尔兰,澳大利亚,新西兰,日本,瑞典,挪威和芬兰。美国夏威夷州的要求非常相似,比美国大陆使用的要求更严格。

许多国家允许狗导游也通常不允许携带狗,而大多数发展中国家没有法律允许在公共场所养狗。

聋人和听力障碍的
游客谁是失聪或有听力障碍(斛)可能受益于一些特定的功能,如火警警报灯。如果您无法听到火灾警报,请在办理登机手续时告知酒店工作人员您的听力情况。

几乎所有的餐馆,特别是在有重要国际旅行的地区,都可以接受食客的订单,他们只是在菜单上指出他们想要的东西。越来越多的休闲餐厅允许在线订购外卖或送货,从而降低了沟通不畅的风险。

一些餐馆和商店的员工使用手语。如果您在聋哑学校和HOH学生附近的大学校附近旅行,您可能会找到更多习惯于听不懂的顾客的场所。例如,如果你在华盛顿特区附近,那么可能值得一游穿越城镇到近东北区,靠近那些迎合着名的加劳德特大学学生和工作人员的企业。

噪音是许多餐馆的问题,它可以影响每个人。大多数餐馆都会尽力满足那些希望能够进行对话的人,因此值得一提的是,是否有一张安静的桌子可供选择。SoundPrint应用程序的制造商表示,美国中餐馆和印度餐馆的噪音比美国其他类型的餐馆要小。

流动性受损
行动不便的基础设施差异很大。

在许多国家,某些类别的机构,包括大多数公共服务,都需要轮椅使用。即便如此,提前打电话可能会很好,因为使用的门可能是一扇锁定的后门,或者可能会被道路工程暂时阻挡。

用于使用专用停车场的许可证部分标准化; 来自国际运输论坛成员国的标签应该在几乎所有欧洲和北美以及其他十几个国家都有效。校验。

尊重
与旅行中遇到残疾的旅行者会面或会面时,请记住以下几点。

如果您需要与残疾人互动,那么请直接与该人交谈,就像您要与任何其他想要给予良好印象的陌生人交谈一样。例如,不要问盲人的孩子他想做什么; 直接问他。
未经首先获得许可,请勿触摸残疾人或其任何设备或其他物品。“我可以帮你吗?” 比抓住他们的东西更有礼貌。准备好拒绝你的帮助。
人们都有不同的兴趣,一旦实践得到照顾,一个人的残疾很少是他们生活中最重要的事情。坐在轮椅上的人可能更喜欢在鸟类保护区度过一天而不是参加轮椅比赛,而盲人可能更愿意讨论当地文化和城镇历史,而不是博物馆展品上没有盲文。
不要问他们如何或何时成为残疾人。他们可能已经厌倦了讲故事了。请问您要问任何非残障人士的相同事项,其中包括与其他旅行者一起探讨您的冒险经历,以及向熟悉您目的地的人询问有关当地景点和餐馆的建议。
不要开玩笑或说出聪明的话。他们已经听过所有这些,从“不要在那个轮椅上跑过我”到“我当然希望我能先登上飞机”,数百次。
没有必要对盲人大声或慢慢地说话。他们可以听得很清楚。
未经主人许可,不得宠爱,喂食或以其他方式分散导盲犬的注意力。
虽然无知,懒惰和傲慢可能被归类为残疾,但它们是自我造成的并且没有资格占用残疾人停车位。这些停车位预留给轮椅上的人或使用拐杖或拐杖的人更容易进出车辆。
同时,如果你看到有人从残疾人的空间独自行走并没有明显的困难,那么就不要妄图这个人没有资格占据这个空间。许多不使用轮椅的人可以使用残疾人停车许可证,但其他条件严重限制了他们的行动能力(例如腿部截肢,某些心脏或呼吸系统疾病或慢性剧烈疼痛)。驾驶员也可能进入内部以接收有权使用该空间的人,并协助该人进入车辆。
大多数人很少再考虑厕所,因为它们总是在那里并且易于使用,但对于行动不便的人来说,使用标准厕所可能非常困难甚至不可能。在计划外出之前检查厕所设施。

国家信息
Wheelmap提供有关许多国家的轮椅无障碍场所的信息。该信息非常基本,有3个级别:所有客房均可通行,部分客房可通行,无法使用。

Lonely Planet创建了一个免费资源,用于按国家/地区查找无障碍信息,称为Accessible Travel Online Resources。无障碍旅游论坛是一个在残疾旅行者之间分享信息的网站。

欧盟/欧元区
欧元纸币和硬币有意设计为易于通过触摸识别。虽然10美分硬币略小于5美分硬币,但它的山脊很容易区分。同样地,五分硬币虽然比一欧元硬币大,但也有不同的脊。欧盟还试图制定共同的无障碍标准,特别是在新建和公共交通方面。大多数公交运营商和许多列车运营商应该能够容纳轮椅使用者,尽管更多的农村车站可能缺少电梯,而传统平台可能没有适合当前车辆的高度。

芬兰
对无障碍问题的普遍认识很高,尽管在实践中仍存在许多问题。大多数公共设施和许多私人设施都安排有轮椅或助听器的人。无论如何,提前打电话检查任何特殊安排(例如通过锁定的后门进入)并让公司可以帮助解决意外问题是个好主意。

设计用于轮椅的厕所在有多个厕所的地方很常见。公共建筑,公共汽车和火车站以及现代购物中心应该是相当安全的赌注。

狗狗指南也被接受,例如商店,一般不允许狗。许多交通信号灯都有声音信号。在公共汽车上,司机后面通常有一个预留的座位,但实际上座位可能没有狗的空间,而是在过道里。询问司机(如果需要,任何乘客都可以帮助翻译)。

在寻找停车场可能很困难的地方,通常会为残疾人士预留停车位。有特殊许可使用这些停车场。如果外国许可证具有国际标志,则予以承认。

在大多数路线上,铁路都可以通过轮椅进入。可以提前订购协助。例如图尔库的当地公共汽车可以使用轮椅(并且使用公共汽车是免费的,也可以是协助的人)。

欧元纸币和硬币可以很容易地相互区分而不会看到。

负责国家公园的Metsähallitus提供每个目的地的无障碍信息,其中许多目的地都有辅助或机动轮椅可以到达的小径。游客中心的展览通常是可以访问的。

对于那些无法通过语音进行通信的人,有特定的区域SMS紧急号码。这些不会在互联网上发布。查询+358 295-480-112。

日本
ACCESSIBLE JAPAN为残疾游客和其他行动不便的问题提供信息,包括一般信息,无障碍酒店数据库,旅游景点评论,设备租赁等。他们还出版了东京,无障碍日本东京的导游书:关于前往残疾人士东京的所有知识。
HEART BARRIER在日本各地收集了一个轮椅无障碍餐厅和商店的数据库。它们包括斜率宽度和坡度等细节,这些细节不包括在Wheelmap中。

秘鲁
提供马丘比丘(Machu Picchu)的轮椅之旅以及印加高地(Inca Highlands)的无障碍之旅。Apumayo Expediciones是该地区最成熟的无障碍旅游运营商。

南非南非全国盲人委员会,514 White Street,Bailey’s Muckleneuk,比勒陀利亚,☏+27 12 452-3811,传真:+27 12 346-4699,✉admin@sancb.org.za。
South African Guide Dogs Association,126 Wroxham Road,Rietfontein,Sandton,☏+27 11 705-3512,传真:+27 11 465-3858,✉info@ guedog.org.za。

英国
皇家国立盲人学院,伦敦,☏+44 20 7388 1266。

美国
虽然美国在很大程度上非常善于为残疾旅行者提供服务,但一个明显的例外是盲人旅行者的钱。虽然盲人可以相对容易地区分硬币,但硬币的物理尺寸并不总是与硬币的价值相关。最值得注意的是,一角钱(10美分)实际上是最小的硬币。对于盲人来说,纸币(纸币)的情况更糟糕。所有面额都是相同的物理尺寸(与欧元不同,随着面额的增加,钞票在物理尺寸上增加),并且没有触觉特征使盲人能够通过感觉容易地区分不同的面额。每个美国笔记的下一次重新设计将包括一个触觉功能,以更好地适应通过触摸识别货币的人。

全国盲人联合会,巴尔的摩,MD,☏+ 1 410 659-9314。
美国盲人理事会,华盛顿特区,☏+ +1 202 467-5081。

Disabilities travel guide

Disabilities do not have to make travel impossible. Most high-income nations have implemented strict requirements for accessibility by law in recent decades, and the US legislation on that topic even served as a model for a UN agreement. That being said, some places – whether through carelessness or lack of resources or historical restrictions – are rather hard to access for people with some disabilities. Common problems include sidewalks marred with potholes and or blocked by poles protruding at odd angles, which make walking a challenge even for the healthy and greatly inhibit mobility in a wheelchair, insufficient or non-existent public transit infrastructure, unthoughtful currency design, and needlessly noisy restaurants.

Accessible tourism
Accessible tourism is the ongoing endeavour to ensure tourist destinations, products and services are accessible to all people, regardless of their physical limitations, disabilities or age. It encompasses publicly and privately owned tourist locations. The term has been defined by Darcy and Dickson (2009, p34) as:

Accessible tourism enables people with access requirements, including mobility, vision, hearing and cognitive dimensions of access, to function independently and with equity and dignity through the delivery of universally designed tourism products, services and environments. This definition is inclusive of all people including those travelling with children in prams, people with disabilities and seniors.

Overview
Modern society is increasingly aware of the concept of integration of people with disabilities. Issues such as accessibility, design for all and universal design are featured in the international symposia of bodies such as the European Commission. Steps have been taken to promote guidelines and best practices, and major resources are now dedicated to this field.

A greater understanding of the accessible tourism market has been promoted through research commissioned by the European Commission where a stakeholder analysis has provided an insight into the complexities of accessible tourism. Similarly, the Australian Sustainable Tourism Cooperative Research Centre funded an Accessible Tourism Research Agenda that sought to outline a research base on which to develop the supply, demand and coordination/regulation information required to develop the market segment. The research agenda has now seen three other funded projects contribute towards a research base on which the tourism industry and government marketing authorities can make more informed decisions.
As of 2008, there were more than 50 million persons with disabilities in Europe, and more than 600 million around the world. When expanded to include all beneficiaries of accessible tourism, as defined above, the number grows to some 130 million people affected in Europe alone. According to the World Report on Disability by World Health Organization and the World Bank in 2011, over 1 billion of people in the world had some disability, of whom nearly 200 million experienced severe difficulty in functioning.

In addition to the social benefits, the market represents an opportunity for new investment and new service requirements, rarely provided by key players in the tourism sector.

According to ENAT, the European Network for Accessible Tourism, accessible tourism includes:

Barrier-free destinations: infrastructure and facilities
Transport: by air, land and sea, suitable for all users
High quality services: delivered by trained staff
Activities, exhibits, attractions: allowing participation in tourism by everyone
Marketing, booking systems, web sites & services: information accessible to all

Blind and visually impaired

Getting in
In most parts of the world, airports and train stations are generally manageable places for a blind or visually impaired person with reasonable mobility skills, except for the navigation problems caused by fast-moving crowds. Plan extra time to get from one place to the other, and let the teeming hordes pass you by. For airport security, you’ll need to know what you’ve put on the scanner to be X-rayed, and how to describe it when it comes out the other end. If they have a question about some of your hand luggage, then you won’t be allowed to touch it to confirm that it’s yours before they’ve double-checked it. So if a security officer vaguely asks someone in your direction, “Is this yours?”, be ready to say that you brought a black wool jacket, a MacBook Air laptop, a black leather briefcase, and an iPhone in a silicone rubber case.

The quality of bus service varies much more, and your next stop after the plane or train may be the local bus or a hotel shuttle bus. Some cities have speaking buses, accessible apps that you can download to plan your route, and braille labels on the stop buttons. In other places, you have to rely on the driver to tell you what bus you’re getting on, which direction it’s going, and when it’s your stop.

If you have some vision, then mark your luggage in a way that will let you identify it. There won’t be too many people with their suitcases covered from edge to edge in a large X or other shape made with neon pink duct tape. If you need something that doesn’t rely on vision, then consider a specialized electronic speaking device or a tactile pattern, perhaps made of knots in thin rope very securely wrapped around the handle.

Once you’re there
There are a few hotels that specialize in blind and visually impaired guests. These hotels provide high-contrast features, talking elevator controls, room keys that make it easy to tell which end goes in first, and otherwise understand what makes your life simpler. However, the odds are that you’ll be arriving at a typical hotel. In that case, tell the hotel about any requests you have when you make your reservation. Whenever possible, speak to the local hotel staff about their facility before reserving your room, rather than relying on a central call center. When you arrive, the check-in process will likely be the same as any other transaction, right down to the detail of needing to explain to the clerk how to position your signature card or asking him to use the top edge of your credit card to indicate the bottom edge of the signature line. Ask someone to walk you to your room, at least the first time, so that you can orient yourself, check for nearly invisible glass doors and other obstacles along your route, and also figure out the room key. Some hotels deliver a newspaper to each room in the morning. This tripping hazard can usually be stopped or held at the front desk for you upon request.

If you use any specialized computer tools, such as a screen reader or software for zooming, then bring your own laptop, braille notetaker, or other electronic devices. You almost certainly won’t find what you want in an internet café.

If you’re traveling for work, you may not have time to do much else. But if you are on holiday or otherwise expect to have some time, then consider your options. Ask the hotel staff for help finding your preferred form of transportation, as well as for general advice. If you’re interested in your destination, try signing up for a guided tour, so that you can hear the tour guide describe the history and culture. Large history and art museums sometimes hold special hands-on tours for blind and visually impaired people. A gift shop that sells scale models of famous local buildings and monuments may let you touch them, so you can better understand the places you’ve just visited.

You may also be able to get useful advice about your destination from the local blindness institute at your destination.

Dog guides
In general, travel should be planned for well in advance when traveling internationally with a dog guide. As dogs can carry diseases, special testing, vaccination and paperwork is required in many countries, especially island countries. Countries with such requirements include the UK and Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Sweden, Norway, and Finland. The US state of Hawaii has very similar requirements, which are more strict than those in use on the US mainland.

Many countries allow dog guides also where dogs are not normally allowed, while most developing countries don’t have laws permitting dog guides in public places.

Deaf and hard of hearing
Travellers who are deaf or hard of hearing (HOH) may benefit from some specific features, such as lights on fire alarms. If you can’t hear fire alarms, then always tell the hotel staff about your hearing situation when you check in.

Almost all restaurants, especially in areas with significant international travel, can take orders from diners who merely point at what they want on the menu. An increasing number of casual restaurants allow ordering online for takeout or delivery, which reduces the risk of miscommunication.

A few restaurants and stores have employees that use sign language. If you’re traveling near a large school for deaf and HOH students, you are likely to find more establishments that are accustomed to patrons who can’t hear well. For example, if you’re near Washington, D.C., then it may be worth a trip across town to its Near Northeast district, to be near the businesses that cater to students and staff from the famous Gallaudet University.

Noise is a problem in many restaurants, and it can affect everyone. Most restaurants will do their best to accommodate people who want to be able to hold a conversation, so it’s worth asking if a quiet table is available. The makers of the SoundPrint app, which aims to crowd-source noise ratings for American restaurants, says that American Chinese and Indian restaurants tend to be less noisy than other types of restaurants in the US.

Mobility impaired
Infrastructure for the mobility impaired vary widely.

In many countries some categories of establishments, including most public services, are required to be accessible by wheelchair. Even so, it may be good to call in advance, as the door to use may be a locked back door, or it may be temporarily blocked by roadworks.

The permits used for getting to use dedicated parking are partly standardised; a tag from a member country of the International Transport Forum should be valid in nearly all of Europe and North America and in a dozen countries elsewhere. Check.

Respect
Keep the following in mind when travelling with or meeting a fellow traveller who happens to be disabled.

If you need to interact with a person with disabilities, then speak directly to that person, in the same manner that you would speak to any other stranger whom you would like to make a favorable impression on. For example, do not ask a blind man’s children what he would like to do; ask him directly.
Do not touch people with disabilities, or any of their equipment or other belongings, without getting their permission first. “May I help you with that?” is more polite than grabbing their things. Be prepared to have your offer of help declined.
People all have varied interests, and once practicalities have been taken care of, a person’s disability is seldom the most important thing in their life. Someone in a wheelchair may prefer to spend the day at a bird sanctuary rather than attend a wheelchair race, and a blind person might prefer discussing the local culture and history of a town rather than the absence of braille on the museum exhibits.
Don’t ask how or when they became disabled. They’re probably bored with telling that story already. Do ask the same things that you would ask any non-disabled person, which includes small talk about your adventures with fellow travellers and requests for advice about local sights and restaurants from people who are familiar with your destination.
Don’t make jokes or say clever things. They have already heard all of them, from “Don’t run over me in that wheelchair” to “I sure wish I could board the plane first”, hundreds of times.
There is no need to talk loudly or slowly to blind people. They can hear you well enough.
Do not pet, feed or otherwise distract a guide dog without first asking the owner’s permission.
Though ignorance, laziness and arrogance probably could be classified as disabilities, they are self-inflicted and do not qualify one to occupy a disabled parking space. These parking spaces are reserved to make it easier for someone in a wheelchair, or who uses crutches or a cane, to enter and exit a vehicle.
At the same time, if you see someone walking from a disabled space alone with no apparent difficulty, don’t jump to the conclusion that the person is not qualified to occupy the space. Disabled parking permits are often available to many people who don’t use wheelchairs, but have other conditions that seriously limit their mobility (such as a leg amputation, certain cardiac or respiratory conditions, or chronic severe pain). The driver may also be going inside to pick up the person who is entitled to use the space, and assist that person in entering the vehicle.
Most people rarely give a second thought to toilets because they are always there and easy to use, but for a person with mobility limitations, using a standard toilet can be very difficult or even impossible. Check on toilet facilities before planning an outing.

Countries information
Wheelmap has information about wheelchair-accessible places in many countries. The information is rather basic with 3 levels: All rooms accessible, some rooms accessible, not accessible.

Lonely Planet created a free resource for finding accessibility information by country called Accessible Travel Online Resources. The Accessible Travel Forum is a website for sharing information among travelers with disabilities.

European Union / Eurozone
The Euro banknotes and coins are intentionally designed to be easily recognizable by touch. While the ten cent coin is slightly smaller than the five cent coin, it is easily distinguished by its ridge. Similarly the fifty cent coin while bigger than the one Euro coin has a different ridge as well. The European Union also tries to set common accessibility standards, especially in new construction and public transit. Most bus operators and many train operators should be able to accommodate people in wheelchairs, though more rural stations may lack elevators and legacy platforms may not have the right height for current rolling stock.

Finland
General awareness of accessibility issues is quite high, although in practice there are still many problems. Most public facilities and many private ones have arrangements for people with wheelchair or hearing aids. Anyhow it is a good idea to call in advance to check any special arrangements (such as entry by a locked back door) and have company that can help with unexpected problems.

Toilets designed for use with wheelchair are common where there is more than one toilet. Public buildings, bus and railway stations and modern shopping centres should be fairly safe bets.

Dog guides are accepted also in e.g. shops, where dogs in general are not allowed. Many traffic lights have audible signals. On buses there is usually a reserved seat behind the driver, but in practice that seat may not have space for the dog but in the aisle. Ask the driver (any fellow passenger can help with translation, if needed).

Where finding a parking lot may be hard, there are often parking space reserved for people with disabilities. There is a special permit to use these parking lots. Foreign permits are recognized, if they have the international symbol.

The railways have cars accessible with wheelchair on most routes. Assistance can be ordered in advance. Local buses in e.g. Turku are equipped for wheelchair access (and using the buses is free, also for a person assisting).

The euro notes and coins are made to be easily distinguished one from another without seeing.

Metsähallitus, responsible for the national parks, gives information on accessibility for each destination, many of which have trails accessible by assisted or motorized wheelchair. The exhibitions at visitor centres are usually accessible.

There are specific regional SMS emergency numbers for those that cannot communicate by voice. These are not posted on the Internet. Enquiries to +358 295-480-112.

Japan
ACCESSIBLE JAPAN offers information for tourists with disabilities and other mobility issues with sections including general information, a database of accessible hotels, tourist attraction reviews, equipment rentals and more. They have also published a tour guide book for Tokyo, Accessible Japan’s Tokyo: All you need to know about traveling to Tokyo with a disability.
HEART BARRIER gathers a database of wheelchair-accessible restaurants and shops all around Japan. They include details like slope width and slope, which are not included in Wheelmap.

Peru
Wheelchair tours of Machu Picchu are available, as are accessible tours of the Inca Highlands. Apumayo Expediciones is the most established accessible tour operator in the area.

South Africa
South African National Council for the Blind, 514 White Street, Bailey’s Muckleneuk, Pretoria, ☏ +27 12 452-3811, fax: +27 12 346-4699, ✉ admin@sancb.org.za.
South African Guide Dogs Association, 126 Wroxham Road, Rietfontein, Sandton, ☏ +27 11 705-3512, fax: +27 11 465-3858, ✉ info@guidedog.org.za.

United Kingdom
Royal National Institute of the Blind, London, ☏ +44 20 7388 1266.

United States
While the U.S. for the most part is very good at accommodating disabled travelers, one glaring exception is money for blind travelers. While coins can be distinguished relatively easily by the blind, the physical sizes of the coins do not consistently relate to the value of the coin. Most notably, the dime (10 cents) is physically the smallest coin. The situation for paper currency (notes) is even worse for the blind. All denominations are the same physical size (unlike the euro, in which the notes increase in physical size as the denomination increases), and there are no tactile features that enable blind people to readily distinguish different denominations by feel. The next redesign of each U.S. note will include a tactile feature to better accommodate people who identify currency by touch. The first denomination to be released will be the $10 note, probably in the year 2020. In the meantime, some devices and apps can identify the value of paper money.

National Federation of the Blind, Baltimore, MD, ☏ +1 410 659-9314.
American Council of the Blind, Washington D.C., ☏ +1 202 467-5081.