بورت سان لويس دو رون ، بوشيه دو رون ، فرنسا

Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône هي فرنسية شائعة تقع في قسم منطقة دلتا الرون بروفانس ألب كوت دازور ، التي تم إنشاؤها في عام 1904 من قبل الحاجة إلى آرل وليون ولديها منفذ عند مصب الرون.

Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône هي مدينة صناعية وملحق ميناء مرسيليا عند مصب نهر الرون ، وتشمل العديد من المنتزهات والطرق الكبيرة والمزارع الكبيرة المعروفة باسم camarguais. ينتج Camargue في المقام الأول الملح والزيوت المعدنية. هناك أيضا مصانع للبتروكيماويات ومطاحن الحبوب.

يقع Port-Saint-Louis بين Grand-Rhône إلى الغرب (دلتا رون ، الحد الشرقي من Camargue) وخليج Fos إلى الشرق ، ويفتح على البحر الأبيض المتوسط. وهي مدينة صناعية ومرفأ ملحق لمرسيليا. تقع أراضي البلدة بشكل موحد على حافة المياه ، وهي امتداد لكامارج. هناك أيضًا العديد من المستنقعات والمساحات المزروعة والمستنقعات المالحة الشاسعة.

يوجد في المدينة ثلاثة شواطئ شعبية: شاطئ نابليون وشاطئ أولغا وشاطئ كارتو. هناك العديد من المستنقعات والخطط المزروعة في مكان قريب ، والمستنقعات الشاسعة من المياه المالحة لمستنقع كامارغ. تشمل الحياة البرية المحلية قطعان من الخيول البرية وطيور النحام الوردي في الأهوار.

التاريخ
في عام 1711 ، خلال فصل الشتاء تسبب فيضان كبير في تغيير سرير الرون ، بين شامون والبحر. هذا يعني 25 كيلومترًا من مسارها الحالي. لتعويض المالكين الذين غمرت أرضهم النهر الجديد ، فرض مجلس الملك ضريبة إضافية على كل من Lyonnais و Dauphiné و Languedoc & Provence. تم فرض هذه الضريبة على نقل الملح عن طريق المجرى المائي من عام 1723 ، وبالتالي تم تمويل تغطيس الذراع الجديدة للنهر المسمى Canal des Launes.

في عام 1737 ، تم استخدام الضريبة لبناء طور Saint Louis الموجود في ذلك الوقت عند الفم الرئيسي لرون. تم بناء برج سانت لويس في عام 1737 بواسطة المهندس العسكري ماريشال ، وهو أيضًا مهندس كاتدرائية سانت كريستوف في بلفور ، وحدائق فونتين في نيم أو المسرح السابق في مونبلييه.

في عام 1802: دراسة قناة d’Arles à Bouc بدعم من القنصل الأول ، نابليون بونابرت لتسهيل الاتصال بين الرون والبحر من خلال تجنب الدلتا. سيتم تنفيذ المشروع عام 1834.

في عام 1863: وقع نابليون الثالث على مرسوم المنفعة العامة بشأن أعمال الحفر في قناة سانت لويس ، وستكون شركة Hippolyte Peut. الخطوط التالية مأخوذة من و / أو مستوحاة من الدراسة المنشورة في عام 1983 من قبل MM. إميل بونكور وجان لويس شاريير وجان لويس ماتيي ، مساهمة في تاريخ بورت سانت لويس دو رون: “مرسوم عام 1863 يعلن عن فائدة عامة مشروع إنشاء قناة سانت لويس ، حوض وحوض قفل ، يتم الفصل في الأعمال في عام 1864 ، وسيتم تنفيذها مع تعديلات: إضافات من الأرصفة والسدود ومنطقة حوض أكبر ، تم فتح القناة للملاحة في عام 1871. تم حفر القناة جافة واستخدمت القصاصات لإنشاء السهول الأرضية ، مما يرفع قليلاً المنطقة التي كان ارتفاعها قريبًا من المستوى 0 ”

عام 1864: بداية أعمال الحفر للميناء. في ذلك الوقت ، لم يكن موقع المدينة سوى المستنقعات المليئة بالحمى الملاريا التي تسببت في وفاة مخيفة بين عمال هذا الموقع الهائل. في عام 1871: 15 أغسطس ، تم فتح القناة أمام حركة المرور. سيتم الانتهاء منه بالكامل في 28 سبتمبر 1873. ينبع إنشاء ميناء عند مصب الرون إلى حد كبير من قيود الجغرافيا التي تؤثر على الاحتياجات الاقتصادية. كون الرون غير قابل للسفن لسفن بخلاف تلك ذات الغاطس الضحل للغاية ، فإن تجاوز فوهة الفرع الرئيسي أمر ضروري. كانت قناة الحفريات البحرية (102/103 قبل الميلاد) والقناة من آرل إلى بوك (1834) جزءًا من هذه الفكرة بالفعل. منذ القرن السابع عشر ، كانت المحاولات لتصحيح الفم عن طريق سد النهر لخلق تأثير التنظيف.

في عام 1880: كان هناك بالكاد 300 نسمة في التكتل الجديد ، سيكون عددهم 2500 في تعداد عام 1906. في عام 1881: استقرت شركة Compagnie Générale de Navigation في بورت سانت لويس دو رون وستبني مستودعات بحرية بين الأرصفة والبرج. هذا هو “تاريخ الميلاد” الرسمي للميناء. في عام 1883: افتتاح قناة سانت لويس. في عام 1885: افتتح بول ضاهر مكتبه الأول للنقل والشحن والتفريغ. تم بناء الرعية عام 1886. تخطيط المدينة متجدد الهواء (العديد من المساحات الخضراء والطرق الواسعة). هناك ماس كامارغ كبير. هناك أيضًا خيول تخدم في القطعان على سبيل المثال ، وكذلك طيور النحام في الأهوار. في عام 1887: تم افتتاح خط سكة حديد آرل / بورت سانت لويس دو رون الذي يفتح المدينة حتى ذلك الحين مرتبطًا بآرل بواسطة قارب بخاري صغير يوفر رحلة عودة يومية ، ما عدا الأحد والعطلات … إذا سمحت الرياح والمياه العالية. في عام 1892: يبلغ عدد سكان بورت سانت لويس حوالي 1800 نسمة ، مع “بناء ستين منزلًا بشكل منتظم … ويوجد السكان العاملون في أكواخ متواضعة”.

في عام 1904: امتد بورت سانت لويس دو رون مدينتين: 1/6 في فوس سور مير و 5/6 في آرل. يعتبر قانون 28 مارس 1904 تاريخًا رئيسيًا للمدينة ، وتصبح بلدية وأول رئيس بلدية لها هو السيد أنطوان كالمنت. في عام 1906: المدينة هي عالم الرجال ، في Faubourg Hardon ، هناك ثلاثة رجال لامرأة واحدة. كان الإيطاليون عديدين في ذلك الوقت ، فقط بعد الحرب العالمية الأولى استقر الإغريق في بورت سانت لويس دو رون. يتكون السكان بشكل أساسي من الصيادين والبحارة وعمال المصانع وعمال الملح والموظفين المدنيين. في عام 1907: التصديق على وضعها البلدي من خلال بناء مبنى البلدية. 1908-1909: بناء مطحنة غوتييه. الشقيقان غوتييه هما مطاحن دقيق معروف من مرسيليا. “إن مطحنة الدقيق هي أجمل مؤسسة يمكن أن تفخر بها الإدارة ،

في عام 1930: إمدادات المياه من بيساروت. حتى ذلك الحين ، كنا نشرب الماء من الرون المفلتر من خلال مرشحات الكربون ، وعندما كان الماء مالحًا ، كان علينا جلب المياه من القوارب من آرل (جان دارك) لتزويد السكان بالمياه العذبة. في عام 1932: يبلغ عدد سكان المدينة 4200 نسمة ، وهي ثاني ميناء فرنسي في حركة البضائع بعد مرسيليا وقبل Sète. أصبحت بورت سانت لويس دو رون مقاطعة بموجب قانون 15 نوفمبر ، وهو وضع نادر إلى حد ما بالنسبة لمدينة صغيرة. في عام 1937: قامت غرفة تجارة آرل بتجهيز الميناء بمعدات حديثة مصممة لتلبية احتياجات التجارة البحرية.

في عام 1942: احتلت القوات الألمانية بورت سانت لويس دو رون ، وتحظر الشواطئ. سيتم تحرير المدينة في 25 أغسطس 1944 ولكن سيتم تدمير مرافق الميناء.

في عام 1946: انطلق السكان ونمو بسرعة بحيث تضاعف بين 1954 و 1975 للوصول إلى أكثر من 10000 نسمة. في عام 1958: بناء المعبد البروتستانتي على شكل كوخ الجارديان.

عام 1961: بناء الكنيسة الأرثوذكسية. في عام 1963: إنشاء شركة Ferrigno ، وهي اليوم ناقلة الأسماك الفرنسية الوحيدة على الواجهة البحرية. في عام 1966: تم دمج Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône في Port Autonome de Marseille في امتدادها إلى الغرب. في عام 1977: بناء الساحات ، بداية تربية بلح البحر على أساس تجريبي.

بين عامي 1980 و 1990: فقدت المدينة 18٪ من سكانها مع تراجع الصناعة وتأجيل نشاط الموانئ في فوس سور مير. عام 1983: إنشاء تعاونية منتجي بلح البحر: COOPAPORT

عام 1992: افتتاح ميناء دو باليسانس في الحوض المركزي. في عام 1994: لا يزال افتتاح الجسر المتحرك لا يزال مستخدمًا اليوم ، فهو يحل محل الجسر المتحرك من نوع Scherzer الذي بني في 1924/25 (مطابق لجسر Pegasus في Bénouville – Calvados): في عام 1996: بناء برج الجرس

في عام 2004: الاحتفال بالذكرى المئوية للمدينة.

التراث والثقافة

برج سانت لويس
برج سانت لويس هو أقدم نصب تذكاري في المدينة: يعود تاريخه إلى عام 1737. في تاريخه كان يستخدم كضوء وبرج مراقبة. من الشرفة الخاصة بك لديك إطلالة استثنائية على Camargue ، الرون والمستنقعات المالحة. يضم البرج الآن مكتب السياحة ومجموعة من الطيور. حوالي ثمانية كيلومترات جنوب شرق البرج يبلغ طوله حوالي أربعة كيلومترات وعرض 200 متر ، وهو شاطئ رملي دقيق يمكن الوصول إليه بالسيارة.

البرج سانت لويس ، مبنى من القرن الثامن عشر من قبل جاك فيليب ماريشال ، موطن لأكبر مجموعة من الطيور كامارغ ، مع 168 طائر محشي في الطابق الأول. وهي أيضا مقر مكتب السياحة. يوجد أيضًا ملعب غولف صغير في الحدائق المحيطة.

مواقع أخرى
حظائر ، مساكن ، غالبا ما تكون مصنوعة من الخشب والمواد المعاد تدويرها ، والتي كانت في السابق ملاذا للصيادين والصيادين. لا يزالون مسكونين حتى اليوم.
كوخ جارديان ، المسكن التقليدي لأهالي الأهوار ، الأثاث القديم ، المكالمات ، الأشياء اليومية ، الأدوات.
زيارات لمعلب الأسماك ومحطة لتنقية المحار.
La ferme du Tadorne ، محمية للحيوانات.
الساحة مع 1800 مقعد.
الفضاء الثقافي جيرار فيليب.
Le Citron Jaune ، المركز الوطني لفنون الشارع.

التراث الطبيعي

حديقة كامارغ الإقليمية الطبيعية
منذ عام 2012 ، قامت مدينة بورت سانت لويس دو رون بدمج أراضي الحديقة الطبيعية الإقليمية في كامارغ

حديقة مازيت
اكتسبت مدينة بورت سانت لويس دو رون حديقة جديدة بمفهوم جديد: حديقة بين الأجيال. تقع عند مدخل منطقة مازيت ، بعد جسر القفل مباشرة ، على طول قناة سانت لويس ، سيتم إرجاع ما يقرب من 5 هكتارات إلى السكان من خلال تقديم العديد من الأنشطة: منطقة الحفلات الموسيقية ، نزهة المنطقة ، المعدات الرياضية للصغار والكبار وحديقة النوافير وبالطبع ساحة انتظار سيارات تسمح للجميع بالحضور والالتقاء!

مزرعة الرياح
بقوة 20 ميجاوات ، كان هذا المنتزه يتكون من محاذاة من 25 توربينات رياح ، وهو الأول من نوعه الذي تم تركيبه في منطقة بروفانس ألب كوت دازور في أغسطس 2005. يبلغ ارتفاع كل توربين رياح 48 مترًا ويحمل شفرات بطول 26 م. وبالتالي فإن الارتفاع الكلي للماكينة هو 75 مترًا ، مما يوفر 850 كيلو واط من الطاقة.

يمثل الكل استهلاك أكثر من 21000 أسرة ، أو ما يقرب من 63000 شخص. قدم المشروع الأولي مرحلة ثانية ليصل عدد توربينات الرياح إلى 36 ، لكنه توقف في النهاية. لا تزال خمسة وعشرون توربينات رياح توفر طاقة نظيفة لميناء سانت لويس دو رون اليوم

مشروع التنفس
يعد مشروع Respire (شبكة مراقبة التوظيف) جزءًا من التوجيه الإطاري الأوروبي “استراتيجية البيئة البحرية”. يجب على الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي أن تعمل من أجل تحقيق الوضع البيئي الجيد لجميع المياه البحرية التي تكون مسؤولة عنها بحلول عام 2020. ويهدف إنشاء شبكة مراقبة RESPIRE إلى المساهمة في مراقبة هذا الجهد. تم اختيار ثلاثة وعشرين ميناءًا متوسطيًا لاستقبال “بيوت بايوت” ، وهي موائل اصطناعية تعمل كملاجئ ودعم غذائي لصغار الأسماك. هذا المشروع ، على الرغم من أنه لا يهدف إلى استعادة وظيفة الحضانة في الموانئ ، فهو أداة جديدة لمراقبة جودة الموانئ من حيث التنوع البيولوجي ووفرة المجندين الشباب.

الأحداث والاحتفالات
تطالب المدينة بأكثر من 200 حدث احتفالي كل عام.

السوق: الأربعاء (شارع دو بورت في وسط المدينة).
سوق الخضار والأسماك: السبت (هالي سيسيو في فوبورج هاردون).
معرض: أوائل أغسطس.
معرض Santons: ديسمبر.
مهرجان محلي: الأحد الثالث في يوليو (سباق الثور ، الفولكلور ، التبارز).
مهرجان الجوار: في شهر يونيو لمدينة سانت لويس.
Les Mercredis du Port: أربعة أيام الأربعاء في يوليو: مسرح الشارع والسيرك والموسيقى والأعياد على أرصفة الميناء.
Les Envies Rhônements: مهرجان الفن / الطبيعة كل عامين في العديد من المواقع الطبيعية في كامارغ في الصيف.
Les Deltaïques ، مهرجان على Camargue ودلتا.
مهرجان كامارغ ودلتا الرون ، وكان في السابق مهرجان دي لويزو.
الجذب السياحي مصارعة الثيران.
مدرسة ركوب الأمواج الشراعي والإبحار.
مدرسة الصيد.
مراكز الفروسية.
تشتهر المدينة بظروف الرياح التي تجعلها مكانًا شائعًا لمحاولات السرعة ، كما يتضح من وجود L’Hydroptère في عام 2008.
إنها نقطة ساخنة لركوب الأمواج الشراعي في فرنسا. الكسندر Caizergues ، أصلا من بورت سانت لويس ، حطم الرقم القياسي العالمي للإبحار السريع لجميع الفئات في خريف عام 2008 في Lüderitz (ناميبيا) ، ليصبح الرجل الثاني الذي يعبر حاجز 50 عقدة.

Tags:

Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône, Bouches-du-Rhône, France

Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône is a common French located in the department of the Rhone delta region Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, created in 1904 by need for Arles and Lyon have a port at the mouth of the Rhône.

Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône is an industrial town and port annex of Marseille at the mouth of the Rhône River, and includes many parks, large avenues and large farmhouses known as camarguais. The Camargue produces primarily salt and mineral oil. There are also petrochemical factories and grain mills.

Port-Saint-Louis is located between the Grand-Rhône to the west (Rhône delta, eastern limit of the Camargue) and the Gulf of Fos to the east, opening onto the Mediterranean. It is an industrial city and an annex port of Marseille. The territory of the town is uniformly at the water’s edge, an extension of the Camargue. There are also many swamps and cultivated areas, vast salt marshes.

The town has three popular beaches: Napoleon beach, Olga beach, and Carteau beach. There are many marshes and cultivated plans nearby, and vast salt-water marshes of the Camargue swamp. Local wildlife includes herds of wild horses and pink flamingos being in the marshes.

History
In 1711, during the winter a great flood caused the change of the bed of the Rhône, between Chamone and the sea. That is to say on the 25 kilometers of its current course. To compensate the owners whose land had been submerged by the new bed of the river, the King’s Council had imposed an additional tax on all Lyonnais, Dauphiné, Languedoc & Provence. This tax was levied on the transport of salt by waterway from 1723, and was thus to finance the diking of the new arm of the river called Canal des Launes.

In 1737, the tax is used for the construction of the Tour Saint Louis located at that time at the main mouth of the Rhône. The Saint-Louis tower was built in 1737 by the military engineer Mareschal, also architect of the Saint-Christophe cathedral in Belfort, the gardens of the Fontaine in Nîmes or the former theater in Montpellier.

In 1802: Study of the Canal d’Arles à Bouc with the support of the 1st Consul, Napoleon Bonaparte to facilitate the connection between the Rhône and the Sea by avoiding the delta. The project will be carried out in 1834.

In 1863: The public utility decree concerning the excavation works of the Saint Louis canal is signed by Napoleon III, the promoter will be Hippolyte Peut. The following lines are taken from and / or inspired by the monograph published in 1983 by MM. Émile Boncœur, Jean-Louis Charrière and Jean-Louis Mattéi, Contribution to the history of Port Saint Louis du Rhône: “A decree of 1863 declares of public utility the project of creation of the Saint-Louis canal, of a basin and of a lock, the adjudication of works takes place in 1864, they will be carried out with modifications: additions of jetties, dikes, larger basin area, the canal was opened to navigation in 1871. The canal was excavated dry and the cuttings were used to establish land-plains, slightly raising an area whose altitude was close to level 0 ”

In 1864: Beginning of the excavation works of the port. At that time, the location of the city was nothing but swamps rife with malarial fevers which caused frightening mortality among the workers of this immense site. In 1871: August 15, the canal is opened to traffic. It will be fully completed on September 28, 1873. The creation of a port at the mouth of the Rhône largely stems from the constraints of geography weighing on economic needs. The Rhône being impassable to ships other than those with very shallow draft, bypassing the mouth of the main branch is essential. The canal des fosses mariennes (102/103 BC) and the canal from Arles to Bouc (1834) were already part of this idea. From the xvii th century, attempts have been to correct the mouth by damming the river to create a flushing effect. The concern was also to control the wandering of the river which has changed course several times, as history and geology attest.

In 1880: There are barely 300 inhabitants in the new agglomeration, they will be 2,500 in the 1906 census. In 1881: The Compagnie Générale de Navigation settles in Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône and will build maritime warehouses between the quays and the Tower. This is the port’s official “birth” date. In 1883: Inauguration of the Canal Saint Louis. In 1885: Paul Daher opens his first transit, stevedoring and shipping agency office. The parish was built in 1886. The town planning is airy (many green spaces and vast avenues). There are large Camargue mas. There are also horses serving in herds for example, as well as flamingos in the marshes. In 1887: Inauguration of the Arles / Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône railway line which opens up the city until then linked to Arles by means of a small steamboat which provided a daily return trip, except the Sunday and holidays… if the winds and high water permitted. In 1892: Port Saint Louis has about 1,800 inhabitants, with “about sixty houses regularly built… the working population is housed in modest huts.”

In 1904: Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône straddles two towns: 1/6 on Fos sur Mer and 5/6 on Arles. The law of March 28, 1904 is a key date for the city, it becomes a municipality and its first mayor will be Mr. Antoine Calment. In 1906: The city is a world of men, in the Faubourg Hardon, there are three men for one woman. The Italians were numerous at that time, it was only after the First World War that the Greeks settled in Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône. The population is essentially made up of fishermen, sailors, factory workers, salt workers and civil servants. In 1907: Ratification of its municipal status by the construction of a Town Hall. In 1908- 1909: Construction of the Gautier mill. The two Gautier brothers are well-known flour millers from Marseille. “The flour mill is the most beautiful establishment that the department can be proud of, operating entirely on electricity, the most powerful too, with a daily capacity of 3,000 quintals which puts it in second place among French flour mills”. In 1913: Installation of electricity.

In 1930: Water supply from the Pissarote. Until then we drank water from the Rhône filtered through carbon filters and when it was brackish, we had to bring water from the boats from Arles (the Joan of Arc) to supply the population with fresh water. In 1932: The city counts 4,200 inhabitants, it is the 2nd port of France in traffic of goods after Marseille and before Sète. Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône becomes a canton with the law of November 15, a fairly rare situation for a small town. In 1937: The Arles Chamber of Commerce equips the Port with modern equipment designed to meet the needs of maritime trade.

In 1942: Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône is occupied by German troops, the beaches are prohibited. The city will be liberated on August 25, 1944 but the port facilities will be destroyed.

In 1946: The population takes off and grows with such rapidity that it doubles between 1954 and 1975 to reach more than 10,000 inhabitants. In 1958: Construction of the Protestant Temple in the form of a gardian’s hut.

In 1961: Construction of the Orthodox church. In 1963: Creation of the Ferrigno company, today it is the only French fish tanker on the seafront. In 1966: Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône is integrated into the Port Autonome de Marseille in its extension to the West. In 1977: Construction of the arenas, beginning of the breeding of mussels on an experimental basis.

Between 1980 and 1990: The city lost 18% of its population with the decline of industry and the postponement of port activity in Fos sur Mer. In 1983: Creation of the cooperative of mussel producers: COOPAPORT

In 1992: Inauguration of the Port de Plaisance in the central basin. In 1994: Inauguration of the Mobile Bridge still used today, it replaces a Scherzer type mobile bridge built in 1924/25 (identical to the Pegasus Bridge in Bénouville – Calvados): In 1996: Construction of the Bell Tower

In 2004: Celebration of the city’s Centenary.

Culture heritage

Saint-Louis tower
The Saint-Louis tower is the oldest monument in the city: it dates from 1737. In its history it was used as a light and watchtower. From its terrace you have an exceptional view of the Camargue, the Rhone and the salt marshes. The tower now houses the tourist office and an ornithological collection. About eight kilometers southeast of the tower is an approximately four kilometers long and 200 m wide, fine sandy beach that can be reached by car.

The tower St. Louis, building 18th century high by Jacques Philippe Mareschal, home to the largest collection of bird Camargue, with 168 stuffed birds on the first floor. It is also the seat of the Tourist Office. There is also a mini golf course in the surrounding gardens.

Other sites
Sheds, dwellings, most often made of wood and recycled materials, which were once a refuge for hunters and fishermen. They are still inhabited today.
Gardian’s hut, traditional dwelling of the people of the marshes, old furniture, calls, everyday objects, tools.
Visits to the fish cannery and the shellfish purification station.
La ferme du Tadorne, animal reserve.
Arena with 1,800 seats.
Gérard-Philipe cultural space.
Le Citron Jaune, National Center for Street Arts.

Natural heritage

Camargue Regional Natural Park
Since 2012 the city of Port Saint Louis du Rhône has integrated the territory of the Regional Natural Park of Camargue

Mazet park
The city of Port Saint Louis du Rhône acquire a new park with a new concept: an intergenerational park. Located at the entrance to the Mazet area, just after the lock bridge, along the Saint Louis canal, nearly 5 hectares will be returned to the inhabitants by offering them a multitude of activities: concert area, area picnic, sports equipment for young and old, garden of fountains and of course a parking lot that will allow everyone to come and meet!

The Wind Farm
With a power of 20MW, this park made up of an alignment of 25 wind turbines was the first of its kind installed in the Provence-Alpes-Cote d’Azur region in August 2005. Each wind turbine has a mast height of 48m and carries blades 26m long. Thus the total height of the machine is 75m providing 850kW of power.

The whole represents the consumption of more than 21,000 households, or nearly 63,000 people. The initial project provided for a second phase bringing the number of wind turbines to 36, but ultimately stopped there. Twenty-five wind turbines still provide clean energy to Port Saint Louis du Rhône today

The Breathe Project
The Respire project (Recruitment monitoring network) is part of the European framework directive “strategy for the marine environment”. The member states of the European Union must act in order to achieve the good ecological status of all the marine waters for which they are responsible by 2020. The establishment of the RESPIRE monitoring network aims to contribute to this effort monitoring. Twenty-three Mediterranean ports have been chosen to receive “BioHuts”, artificial habitats serving as shelters and food support for young fish. This project, although it is not intended to restore the nursery function of the ports, is a new tool for monitoring the quality of ports in terms of biodiversity and the abundance of young recruits. The project began experimentally in the spring of 2015 in Port Saint Louis du Rhône and will now take place over several years.

Events and festivities
The city claims more than 200 festive events each year.

Market: Wednesday (Avenue du Port in the city center).
Vegetable and fish market: Saturday (Halle Cessieux at Faubourg Hardon).
Fair: early August.
Santons fair: December.
Local festival: third Sunday in July (bull race, folklore, jousting).
Neighborhood festival: in June, for Saint-Louis.
Les Mercredis du Port: four Wednesdays in July: street theater, circus, music and feasts on the harbor quays.
Les Envies Rhônements: Art / Nature festival every two years in several natural sites of Camargue in summer.
Les Deltaïques, festival on the Camargue and its delta.
Festival of the Camargue and the Rhone Delta, formerly Festival de l’Oiseau.
Bullfighting attractions.
Kitesurfing and sailing school.
Fishing school.
Equestrian centers.
The city is famous for its wind conditions which make it a popular place for speed attempts, as evidenced by the presence of L’Hydroptère in 2008.
It is a hotspot for kitesurfing in France. Alexandre Caizergues, originally from Port-Saint-Louis, broke the world speed sailing record for all categories in the fall of 2008 in Lüderitz (Namibia), becoming the second man to cross the 50 knot barrier.

Tags: