埃玛·戈登·克拉宾文化基金会,巴西圣保罗

埃玛·戈登·克拉宾文化基金会(Fundação Ema Klabin)是一家位于巴西圣保罗市的艺术博物馆。它是于1978年正式成立的非营利性私人机构,依法宣布为联邦公共利益组织。它是由巴西收藏家和慈善家Ema Gordon Klabin(1907–1994)创作的,目的是保存和展示她的艺术收藏,以及促进文化,艺术和科学活动。该基金会总部位于Ema在Jardins区的故居,由建筑师Alfredo Ernesto Becker在1950年代特别设计,以保存其藏品。这座房子被巴西景观设计师罗伯托·伯尔·马克思(Roberto Burle Marx)投影的4,000平方米花园环绕。

基金会的藏品包括1,500多种作品,涵盖了从希腊和伊特鲁里亚文明到欧洲大师的西方艺术史上一些最引人注目的时期,其中包括荷兰,佛兰德,意大利和法国学校的重要作品,以及亚洲艺术家的作品。文化,非洲和前哥伦布时期的艺术。该系列还概述了巴西艺术,其中包括从殖民时期到第一代现代派的例子。基金会的图书馆藏有各种稀有书籍,从手稿到熏制的书籍不等。

历史

埃玛·克拉宾
埃玛·戈登·克拉宾(Ema Gordon Klabin)于1907年出生在里约热内卢,是立陶宛移民赫塞尔·克拉宾(Hesssel Klabin)和法尼·戈登·克拉宾(Fany Gordon Klabin)的女儿,他们于19世纪最后十年来到巴西。他的父亲和叔叔毛里西奥(Maurício),萨洛芒(Salomão)和米格尔(Miguel)于1899年创立了KlabinIrmãose Cia公司,该公司在该国的制浆,造纸和包装行业发展中举足轻重。

她在欧洲度过了童年的大部分时光,经常回国旅行。第一次世界大战使这个家庭感到惊讶,自1913年以来一直住在德国的这个家庭被迫搬到瑞士,在那里他们一直待到1919年。在此期间,埃玛获得了唯一的正规教育。回到巴西后,她只和私人老师一起学习,因为那时没有任何妇女学习的条件,除了在天主教学校外,由于犹太血统,她不能参加。她成长为音乐和艺术的鉴赏家,狂热的读者,并经常参加音乐会,戏剧,歌剧和芭蕾舞。她很快对收集产生了极大的兴趣。她的第一笔生意是东方地毯,瓷器和银器。

除了担任女商人的角色外,Ema Klabin在城市文化生活中也发挥了重要作用,除促进艺术家,音乐家和管弦乐队外,还参与了多个机构的董事会。在父亲去世后的1940年代后期,他开始购买重要的艺术品,形成了全面而多样的收藏。与艺术史学家或策展人不同,他用超过1600种来自不同时期,技术和起源的作品充实了他的家庭环境。

赫塞尔·克拉宾(Hessel Klabin)于1946年去世后,埃玛(Ema)和她的妹妹伊娃(Eva)成为家庭财富的继承人。埃玛还成为了她父亲在公司理事会的继任者。她从未结过婚,也没有孩子,专门从事商务,慈善和文化活动。作为姐姐,埃玛(Ema)继续扩大她的艺术收藏,经常去欧洲和美国旅行以获取新物品。 1948年,她委托建筑师阿尔弗雷多·埃内斯托·贝克尔(Alfredo Ernesto Becker)在她从父亲继承的Jardins区继承的一块土地上为其投影新房子,以保存她不断增长的收藏。一段时间后,她将命令在坎普斯-杜若丹(Campos doJordão)建造一栋冬季乡间别墅,当时没有足够的空间来进行频繁的收购。

埃玛(Ema)极大地参与了圣保罗的文化生活。她是圣保罗艺术博物馆,圣保罗现代艺术博物馆和圣保罗艺术双年展的董事会成员。她参与了Lasar Segall博物馆和Magda Tagliaferro基金会的创建工作,并且还是文化艺术协会和圣保罗爱乐乐团的成员和支持者。在她的慈善活动中,她最重要的工作是捐赠了必要的款项,用于购买将建造爱因斯坦爱因斯坦医院的地段,并组织了筹款活动以帮助其建设。她还与圣保罗残疾人家长协会(APAE),对有出生缺陷儿童的援助协会(AACD)和癌症医院合作。

1970年代,艾玛(Ema)开始关注自己收藏的未来。她的第一个想法是将其中的大部分捐赠给巴西博物馆。但是在1978年悲惨的大火烧毁了里约热内卢现代艺术博物馆的几乎所有藏品之后,她决定作为姐姐创建一个基金会,目的是将藏品收藏在一起并将她的房子变成一个开放的博物馆她去世后接受公众访问。埃玛(Ema)于1994年去世,享年86岁。

基金会
该基金会于1978年正式注册。Ema去世后,她的房子关闭了三年,直到1996年底,建筑师Paulo de Freitas Costa被邀请成立一个团队开始活动,后来被任命为该基金会的策展人。该机构。该系列的研究和分类工作始于1997年,是通过与巴西国内外的专家和机构进行磋商而进行的,旨在解决与艺术品鉴定,归因和真实性有关的问题,同时确定其艺术品和历史价值。还通过其他机构的协议或合作在许多方面采取了恢复行动。最适合Ema Klabin基金会的定义是“房屋博物馆”的定义,其中“封闭收藏”根据其创建者的品味和意愿永久性地排列,​​从而保留了原始的特征,特质和个性。集电极。

近年来,埃玛·克拉宾基金会(Ema Klabin Foundation)一直在努力努力传播有关藏品的信息,包括借借在圣保罗,里约热内卢和阿雷格里港博物馆举行的临时展览的作品。该系列的作品还曾在国外展览中展出,例如在伦敦举行的“通过欧洲眼的巴西”,在巴黎小宫殿举行的BrésilBaroque,在塞雷特现代艺术博物馆和犹太人中举行的Chaim Soutine。维也纳博物馆,以及回顾展《拉萨尔·塞加尔:表达主义的巴西人》在墨西哥城现代艺术博物馆和布宜诺斯艾利斯拉丁美洲艺术博物馆举行。

建筑
Ema Klabin基金会的总部位于Jardim Europa区4,000平方米的地段,该区域是HipólitoPujolJúnior在1920年代末根据毗邻地区的英式花园城市的模型设计的高档分区英国城市规划师Richard Barry Parker在过去十年中对JardimAmérica的规划。这所房子的建筑面积为900平方米,由建筑师阿尔弗雷多·埃内斯托·贝克尔(Alfredo Ernesto Becker)在1940年代后期设计。其花园由罗伯托·伯尔·马克思(Roberto Burle Marx)设计。

这座房子是为收藏系列量身定制的,其灵感来自德国的无忧宫,内部采用现代材料制成。意大利的Terri Della Stuffa是圣保罗室内设计的先驱,负责房子的折衷装饰,Roberto Burle Marx负责了大花园的最初设计。

这所房子展现了折衷主义的风格,融合了现代和古典元素。它似乎受到欧洲宫殿凉亭的启发,尤其是受到Ema在童年和少年时代访问的波茨坦无忧宫的启发。这是一幢单层建筑,由一个长的半圆形长廊组成,面向花园,所有房间都分布在花园周围。从近五米高的天花板可以看出,尽管它的规模令人印象深刻,但它的房间相对较少。

主卧室
在她的房间里,Ema尝试使用洛可可式的色彩和装饰形状,再现无忧宫的Frederico II房间以及18世纪的法国公寓的装饰。

大厅
沙龙计划接待许多客人,以帆布的颜色为装饰,以暖色调装饰。壁炉上方布置着Bacchus和Ariadne的胜利,在伟大的Ersari地毯上重复了织物和地毯的色调。 ,最初来自阿富汗。

饭厅
饭厅的装饰以巴西巴洛克风格为标志,在现代主义者的论述中,这被视为我们历史的真正艺术体现。

画廊
画廊将房屋中的所有房间都连接起来,并提到了欧洲宫殿的大型美术馆,展出了来自艺术品收藏的珍贵作品。

图书馆
在这个环境中,Ema一天中大部分时间都在听音乐和看书,并经常与她的家人和最亲密的朋友进行长时间的交谈。圆形格式的灵感来自无忧宫的腓特烈二世图书馆

埃玛·克拉宾基金会图书馆藏有3,000多本书。尽管尺寸很小,但它包含一组重要的稀有作品,例如手稿,incunabula和Aldine版本。它还收集了16至19世纪在巴西的欧洲旅行者的报告,其中包括安德烈·塞维特,阿诺德·蒙塔努斯,罗伯特·索斯,威廉·布莱,玛丽亚·格雷厄姆,冯·斯皮克斯,冯·马蒂乌斯等的作品。收藏品是巴西一百个藏书爱好者协会出版的一组豪华书籍,其中一些最重要的巴西现代派画家也对此进行了说明。

音乐房
这座新房子的几乎所有项目都包括一个为音乐保留的空间,这是埃玛(Ema)的极大热情之一,在那里她可以容纳1912年父亲购买的法国钢琴Érard。

蓝色房间
客房的氛围源于房间的接受性:玫瑰木中的葡萄牙-巴西家具存在(18世纪)以及Tarsila do Amaral的画作

圆形大厅
圆形大厅小规模地重复了无忧宫大理石画廊的设计,地板上使用了相同的材料。此处展出的作品汇集了不同的材料,时期和技术,它们的形状,颜色和纹理相得益彰。

主要入口
前厅或主要入口是接待客人的地方,侧面可进入头饰和洗手间。

主花园
在画廊中,我们可以看到房子的花园,这是景观设计师,建筑师和艺术家罗伯托·伯尔·马克思(Roberto Burle Marx)的项目,在其中我们可以看到其一些最引人注目的功能,例如布局和使用巴西物种。

内部花园
由于餐厅不俯瞰主花园,因此创建了一个内部庭院,以丰富的植被和意大利大理石喷泉(18世纪)为标志,该喷泉是在房屋建造过程中在罗马购买的。

馆藏

非洲艺术
非洲艺术收藏品包括宗教和仪式物品,由西非不同的民族以木材,象牙和青铜器执行,如阿散蒂,班巴拉,约鲁巴,摩西,丹,包乌莱,巴孔戈和巴库巴,其中大部分可追溯至19世纪末20世纪初。

亚洲艺术
亚洲艺术品的收藏包括从近东到太平洋群岛(包括土耳其,波斯,印度,中国,日本和东南亚)在内的许多不同文化的艺术品。它包括地毯,雕塑,绘画,版画,家具,装饰和仪式用装饰品。其中,中国艺术品无论在质量还是数量上都脱颖而出。藏品包括重要的礼仪青铜器,其历史可追溯至商(公元前14至9世纪)和周朝(公元前10至3世纪),唐代(8世纪)生产的陶瓷丧葬人物和明代的彩色木雕。王朝(14至17世纪)。

巴西艺术
巴西殖民时期的艺术以一组24张巴洛克式神圣图像以及许多彩色木雕(列,门道,饰物等)为代表。特别重要的是Valentim da Fonseca e Silva(大师Valentim)从里约热内卢已拆毁的SãoPedro dosClérigos教堂出发的作品。该收藏品来自现代主义巴西艺术家,其中包括Lasar Segall,Candido Portinari,Emiliano Di Cavalcanti和Tarsila do Amaral的重要画作,以及Victor Brecheret,Bruno Giorgi和Bella Prado的雕塑。另外还有克洛维斯·格拉西亚诺(ClóvisGraciano),伊比雷·卡马戈(IberêCamargo),玛丽亚·波诺米(Maria Bonomi),马塞洛·格拉斯曼(Marcelo Grassmann),波蒂·拉扎罗托(Poty Lazzarotto)等的素描和版画。

古典古代
埃玛·克拉宾基金会(Ema Klabin Foundation)的古物收藏包括希腊,伊特鲁里亚和罗马文明的陶瓷,兵马俑,青铜和大理石作品,其中大部分是在公元前4世纪至公元1世纪之间生产的。它包括雕塑,aryballos,安培,塔纳格拉雕像等。雕塑中最杰出的是宙斯(公元前5世纪)的希腊大理石头像。

装饰艺术和应用艺术
装饰艺术和应用艺术的收藏包括相对大量的作品,例如灯具,地毯,小雕像,壁炉饰物,镜子和一般的装饰物。这里有大量的餐具,包括瓷器(塞夫尔,里摩日,迈森)和水晶玻璃器皿(百家乐,波西米亚)。

家具系列主要由16至19世纪的意大利和法国作品组成,包括桌子,橱柜和其他家具。然而,该系列中最重要的作品是由Jacaranda生产的葡萄牙-巴西血统的作品,这是最著名的例子,葡萄牙游戏桌办公桌由葡萄牙皇室委托创作,上面有几个象牙镶嵌。该系列还包括Terry Della Stuffa生产的许多室内装饰品实例,以及中国的桌子和橱柜等。

博物馆还收藏有富有表现力的银器收藏,由150多个作品组成。其中最杰出的是来自英国,德国和俄罗斯的古董礼仪酒杯,19世纪的葡萄牙牙签筒,英国和葡萄牙的烛台,香船和枝形吊灯以及巴西的宗教银器(包括烛台) ,游行灯笼等。银色餐具的收藏主要由英国作品组成,并由重要的银匠雕塑家执行,例如Paul de Lamerie,Paul Storr和John Wakelin。

欧洲艺术
藏品包括16至18世纪的许多意大利绘画。其中最杰出的是拉斐尔·德尔·嘉宝(Raffaellino del Garbo),贾科莫·弗朗西亚(Giacomo Francia),乔瓦尼·巴蒂斯塔·高利(Giovanni Battista Gaulli)和塞巴斯蒂亚诺·里奇(Sebastiano Ricci)的宗教和神话场景,以及亚历山德罗·阿利里(Alessandro Allori)和庞培·巴托尼(Pompeo Batoni)的肖像。

该收藏品展示了从15世纪到17世纪的佛兰德和荷兰学校的全景图,重点是巴洛克绘画。它包括艺术家的风俗作品,狩猎场景,风景,肖像和静物画,如扬·布鲁格赫尔(Jan Brueghel the Elder),扬·范·高恩(Jan van Goyen),年轻的大卫·特尼耶尔(David Teniers the Younger),杰拉德·泰尔·伯奇(Gerard ter Borch),亚伯拉罕·布鲁格尔(Abraham Brueghel),飞利浦·伍维尔曼(Philips Wouwerman)和亚伯拉罕·洪都斯(Abraham Hondius)德克·布特斯。该收藏还包括Frans Post的两幅山水画,其中包括View of Olinda,可能是博物馆中最有价值的画布。

让-巴蒂斯特·格鲁兹(Jean-Baptiste Greuze)创作的帆布Ariadne在法国绘画中表现最为出色。除了两个重要的地方,还有克劳德·洛兰(Claude Lorrain),加布里埃尔·布里亚德(Gabriel Briard),尼古拉斯·安托万·陶耐(Nicolas-Antoine Taunay)的风景和神话场景,皮埃尔·奥古斯特·雷诺阿(Pierre-Auguste Renoir)的静物画以及巴黎学院画家的作品,如Chaim Soutine和Maurice de Vlaminck,以及两个重要的地方。马克·夏加尔(Marc Chagall)创作的帆布画:《拉坎帕涅》和《夫妇与鲜花和一只公鸡》。

欧洲收藏品还包括阿尔布雷希特·丢勒(AlbrechtDürer),伦勃朗(Rembrandt),弗朗西斯科·德·戈雅(Francisco de Goya),巴勃罗·毕加索(Pablo Picasso)等的版画,以及一些东方的标志。

前哥伦布时期的艺术
这个小型收藏品由16世纪之前生产的物品组成,这些物品取材于当今玻利维亚,秘鲁和墨西哥的相关考古遗址,例如Tiwanaku,Chuncay和Nazca。它包括由查文,莫切,奇穆,托尔特克和纳斯卡等文明产生的兵马俑,石头,木材和织物制成的作品。

有趣的事实
Ema Klabin House-Museum由工程师建筑师Alfredo Ernesto Becker签名,灵感来自柏林附近波茨坦的Sanssouci宫,Ema青年时代经常光顾。豪宅花了十多年才完成。

这些作品被Ema Klabin在世界各地的画廊和古董店中收购。 1948年,根据彼得罗·玛丽亚·巴迪(Pietro Maria Bardi)的推荐进行了首次购买,后者随后开始组建MASP系列。

Ema Klabin的花园蜿蜒曲折,带有迷人的锦鲤池,由20世纪最重要的景观设计师之一Roberto Burle Marx设计。

在基金会的收藏中,有一些具有重大历史价值的作品,例如弗朗斯·波斯特(Frans Post)创作的“维斯塔·德·奥林达(Vista de Olinda)”(1650年),这是第一批有关巴西的画作。这幅画是毛里西奥·德·拿骚伯爵(CountMauríciode Nassau)送给法国国王路易十四的一系列礼物的组成部分,纳苏尔伯爵在1637年至1644年之间统治荷兰荷兰。

埃玛·克拉宾(Ema Klabin)还收集了兰花,并在其苗圃中拥有400多个盆栽,并从世界各地引进了该物种。他在笔记本上记录了所有的花朵,甚至在展览中都有获奖的花瓶。

Ema在一个特殊的笔记本上记录了她所有精美的晚餐,在其中写下了从所用的瓷器和银器到菜单,毛巾,葡萄酒和插花的所有东西(取自她自己的花园)。他一直接待着著名的来访者,例如阿西斯·夏特布里安,玛格达·塔格里亚费罗,若昂·卡洛斯·马丁斯和何塞·明德林。目前,每学期,博物馆楼内的餐桌仍将重现其中一种晚餐。

为了建立自己的图书馆(共3,000册),Ema最初得到了藏书人何塞·明德林(JoséMindlin)的指导。该系列藏有珍贵书籍,从带照明的手稿和印刷书籍的第一版(烟壶和艾尔丁版)到16世纪至19世纪的欧洲旅行者在巴西的报道,以及几本插图豪华版,例如巴西百种藏书家的收藏。

埃玛(Ema)献身于众多慈善和援助活动,其中捐赠土地用于在圣保罗建设以色列艾伯塔·爱因斯坦医院(Israelta Albert Einstein)的捐赠尤为突出。
埃玛·克拉宾(Ema Klabin)的收藏具有全景和历史特色,并带有许多宝石。最古老的作品是公元前14世纪的中国青铜杯,最近的作品是Renina Katz的1987年版画。在它们之间,有近3,400年的历史和艺术。

1970年代,在没有直系继承人且不关心其藏品命运的情况下,藏家开始咨询专家,以协助她选择能够接受藏品的机构。然而,在MAM,里约热内卢现代艺术博物馆(MAM)发生的大火(1978),使他选择在自己的房屋中创建一个向公众开放的博物馆。

Tags:

Ema Gordon Klabin Cultural Foundation, São Paulo, Brazil

The Ema Gordon Klabin Cultural Foundation is an art museum located in the city of São Paulo, Brazil. Officially established in 1978, it is a not-for-profit private institution, legally declared as an organization of federal public interest. It was created by the Brazilian collector and philanthropist Ema Gordon Klabin (1907–1994), with the purpose of preserving and displaying her art collection, as well as promoting cultural, artistic and scientific activities. The foundation is headquartered in Ema’s former house in Jardins district, specially designed by architect Alfredo Ernesto Becker in the 1950s to hold her collection. The house is surrounded by a 4,000 square meters garden projected by Brazilian landscape architect Roberto Burle Marx.

The Foundation’s collection includes more than 1,500 pieces, covering some of the most compelling periods of Western art history, from Greek and Etruscan civilizations to European masters, with important works from the Dutch, Flemish, Italian and French schools, as well as works from Asian cultures, African and pre-Columbian art. Brazilian art is also outlined in the collection, which includes examples ranging from colonial period to the first generations of modernists. The Foundation’s library holds an assemblage of rare books, ranging from illuminated manuscripts to incunables.

History

Ema Klabin
Born in Rio de Janeiro in 1907, Ema Gordon Klabin was the daughter of Hessel Klabin and Fany Gordon Klabin, Lithuanian immigrants who came to Brazil in the last decade of the 19th century. His father and his uncles Maurício, Salomão and Miguel created, in 1899, the company Klabin Irmãos e Cia, which had great prominence in the development of the pulp, paper and packaging industry in the country.

She spent a great part of her childhood in Europe, making frequent travels to her homeland. Taken by surprise by the World War I, the family, which had been living in Germany since 1913, was forced to move to Switzerland, where they stayed until 1919. During this period, Ema obtained her only formal education. After returning to Brazil, she only studied with private teachers, since at that time there were no conditions for women to study, except at the Catholic schools, which she could not attend due to her Jewish origin. She grew as a great appreciator of music and art, an avid reader, and frequenter of concerts, theater, opera and ballet. She soon developed great interest in collecting. Her first acquisitions were oriental rugs, porcelain and silverware.

In addition to her role as a businesswoman, Ema Klabin played a significant role in the cultural life of the city, with participation on the boards of several institutions, in addition to promoting artists, musicians and orchestras. In the late 1940s, after his father’s death, he began to acquire important works of art, forming a comprehensive and diverse collection. With a different vision from that of an art historian or curator, he filled his home environments with more than 1600 pieces from different periods, techniques and origins.

After Hessel Klabin’s death in 1946, Ema and her sister, Eva, became heiresses of the family’s fortune. Ema also became her father’s successor at the company council. She never married nor had children, dedicating herself exclusively to business affairs, philanthropic and cultural activities. As her sister, Ema also continued to expand her art collection, making frequent travels to Europe and the United States to acquire new items. In 1948, she commissioned the architect Alfredo Ernesto Becker to project her a new house in a plot of land she inherited from her father, located in the Jardins district, in order to hold her growing collection. Some time later, she would order the construction of a winter country house in Campos do Jordão, when there was no space left to hold her frequent acquisitions.

Ema became significantly involved in the cultural life of São Paulo. She served as a member of the boards of trustees of the São Paulo Museum of Art, the São Paulo Museum of Modern Art and the São Paulo Art Biennial. She collaborated at the creation of the Lasar Segall Museum and the Magda Tagliaferro Foundation, and was also a member and supporter of the Sociedade de Cultura Artística and of the São Paulo Philarmonic Orchestra. Among her philanthropic activities, her most significant work was the donation of the amount necessary to buy the lot where the Albert Einstein Hospital would be built, as well as organizing fund-raising activities to help finance its construction. She also collaborated with the Association of Parents and Friends of the Handicapped of São Paulo (APAE), the Association for Assistance to Children with Birth Defects (AACD) and the Cancer Hospital.

In the 1970s, Ema began to concern herself about the future of her collection. One of her first ideas was to donate major part of it to Brazilian museums. But after the tragic fire which destroyed almost the entire collection of the Rio de Janeiro Museum of Modern Art in 1978, she decided, as her sister, to create a foundation with the purpose of keeping the collection together and turning her house into a museum open to public visitation after her death. Ema died in 1994, aged 86.

The Foundation
The Foundation was officially registered in 1978. After Ema’s death, her house remained closed for three years, until the end of 1996, when the architect Paulo de Freitas Costa was invited to set up a team to begin the activities and was later named curator of the institution. The work of researching and cataloging the collection began in 1997, conducted through consultations with specialists and institutions within Brazil and abroad, aiming to solve questions related to identification, attribution and authenticity of the pieces, beside determining their artistic and historic value. Restoration actions were also carried out in many pieces through agreements or collaboration of other institutions. The definition that best applies to the Ema Klabin Foundation is that of a “house-museum”, where a “closed collection” is permanently arranged according to the taste and wish of its creator, thus preserving the original character, idiosyncrasy and personality of the collector.

In recent years, the Ema Klabin Foundation has been making efforts at disseminating information about the collection, including by lending pieces for temporary exhibitions held in museums of São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro and Porto Alegre. Pieces of the collection have also been shown in foreign exhibitions, such as Brazil through European Eyes, held in London, Brésil Baroque, held at the Petit Palais in Paris, Chaim Soutine, held in the Musée d’Art Moderne de Céret and the Jewish Museum Vienna, and the retrospective exhibition Lasar Segall: un expressionista brasileño held at Museo de Arte Moderno in Mexico City and the Latin American Art Museum of Buenos Aires.

The house
The headquarters of the Ema Klabin Foundation is located in a 4,000 square meters lot at Jardim Europa district, an upscale subdivision designed by Hipólito Pujol Júnior at the end of the 1920s, following the model of the British-style garden-cities in the adjoining district of Jardim América, projected by the English urban planner Richard Barry Parker in the previous decade. The house has a floor space of 900 square meters and was projected in the late 1940s by architect Alfredo Ernesto Becker. Its gardens were designed by Roberto Burle Marx.

The house, tailor-made to house the collection, inspired by the Sanssouci Palace in Germany, with materials modern finishes in the interiors. The Italian Terri Della Stuffa, pioneer of interior design in São Paulo, was responsible for the eclectic decoration of the house, and Roberto Burle Marx carried out the initial project of the large garden.

The house presents an eclectic style, blending modern and classic elements. It seems to be inspired by European palace pavilions, particularly by the Sanssouci Palace in Potsdam, visited by Ema in her childhood and teenage years. It is a single floor building organized in a long semicircular gallery, facing the garden, around which all the rooms are distributed. Although it presents an impressive scale, as seen by the nearly five-meter-high ceilings, it possesses relatively few rooms.

Master Bedroom
In her room, Ema tried to reproduce the decoration of Frederico II’s rooms in Sanssouci, as well as French apartments from the 18th century, using Rococo colors and decorative shapes.

Hall
Planned to receive many guests, the Salon is decorated in warm colors, guided by the colors of the canvas The triumph of Bacchus and Ariadne, arranged over the fireplace, which are repeated in the tones of the fabrics and carpet, on the great Ersari rug, originally from Afghanistan.

Dining Room
The decoration of the dining room is marked by the Brazilian Baroque, which, in the discourse of the modernists, was seen as a genuine artistic manifestation of our history

Gallery
Connecting all rooms in the house, the gallery makes reference to the great galleries of European palaces, where valuable pieces from an art collection were exhibited.

Library
This was the environment where Ema spent most of the day, listening to music and enjoying her books, and used to receive her family and closest friends for long conversations. The circular format was inspired by the library of Frederick II in Sanssouci

The Ema Klabin Foundation Library holds a collection of more than 3,000 books. Though small in size, it includes an important set of rare works, such as illuminated manuscripts, incunabula and Aldine editions. It also holds a collection of reports of European travelers in Brazil, ranging from 16th to 19th century, including works by André Thévet, Arnoldus Montanus, Robert Southey, Willem Blaeu, Maria Graham, von Spix, von Martius, etc. Another highlight of the collection is the set of luxury books published by the Society of the One Hundred Bibliophiles of Brazil, illustrated by some of the most important Brazilian modernist artists.

Music Room
Almost all of the projects for the new home included a space reserved for music – one of Ema’s great passions – where she could accommodate the French piano Érard, purchased by her father in 1912.

Blue Room
The ambience of the guest room stems from the receptive nature of the room: the presence of Portuguese-Brazilian furniture in rosewood (18th century), along with the painting by Tarsila do Amaral

Circular Hall
The circular hall repeats, on a small scale, the design of the Marble Gallery of the Palace of Sanssouci, with the same material on the floor. The pieces exhibited here, bringing together different materials, periods and techniques, are harmonized by their shapes, colors and textures.

Main Entrance
The vestibule, or main entrance, was the place where the guests were received, with access to the headgear and the toilet on the side.

Main Garden
From the Gallery we can see the garden of the house, a project by the landscaper, architect and artist Roberto Burle Marx, in which we can see some of its most striking features such as the layout and the use of Brazilian species.

Internal Garden
As the dining room does not overlook the main garden, an internal courtyard was created, marked by rich vegetation and the Italian marble fountain (18th century), purchased in Rome during the construction of the house.

Collection

African art
The collection of African art comprises religious and ritual objects, executed in wood, ivory and bronze by distinct Ethnic groups of Western Africa, such as Ashanti, Bambara, Yoruba, Mossi, Dan, Baoulé, Bakongo and Bakuba, most of which dating back to the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Asian art
The collection of Asian art includes objects proceeding from many different cultures, from Near East to the Pacific Islands, including Turkey, Persia, India, China, Japan and Southeastern Asia. It comprises rugs, sculptures, paintings, prints, furniture and decorative and ritual itens. Among these, Chinese artworks stand out, both in quality and quantity. The collection includes an important assemblage of ritual bronzes dating back to Shang (14th to 9th century BC) and Zhou dynasties (10th to 3rd century BC), ceramic funerary figures produced during the Tang Dynasty (8th century) and polychromed wood sculptures of the Ming Dynasty (14th to 17th century).

Brazilian art
The Colonial Brazilian art is represented by a group of 24 Baroque sacred images, as well as by a number of polychromed wood carvings (columns, doorways, finials etc.). Of particular importance are those made by Valentim da Fonseca e Silva (Master Valentim), proceeding from the demolished church of São Pedro dos Clérigos, in Rio de Janeiro. From modernist Brazilian artists, the collection includes important paintings by Lasar Segall, Candido Portinari, Emiliano Di Cavalcanti and Tarsila do Amaral, as well as sculptures by Victor Brecheret, Bruno Giorgi and Bella Prado. There are also drawings and prints by Clóvis Graciano, Iberê Camargo, Maria Bonomi, Marcelo Grassmann, Poty Lazzarotto, etc.

Classical antiquity
The collection of antiquities at the Ema Klabin Foundation consists of works in ceramic, terracotta, bronze and marble from Greek, Etruscan and Roman civilizations, most of which produced between the 4th century BC and the 1st century AD. It comprises sculptures, aryballos, amphorae, Tanagra figurines, etc. Outstanding among the sculptures is a Greek marble head of Zeus (5th century BC).

Decorative and applied arts
The collection of decorative and applied arts includes a relatively large number of pieces, such as light fixtures, rugs, small statuettes, fireplace pediments, mirrors and decorative objects in general. There is a large collection of tableware, including porcelain (Sèvres, Limoges, Meissen) and crystal glassware (Baccarat, Bohemia).

The furniture collection is mainly composed by Italian and French pieces, ranging from 16th to 19th century, including tables, cabinets and other itens. The most important works in the collection, however, are those of Portuguese-Brazilian origin, produced with Jacaranda, being the most noticeable example a Portuguese games table desk with several ivory marquetry covers, commissioned by the Portuguese royalty. The collection also includes many examples of upholstery produced by Terry Della Stuffa, as well as Chinese tables and cabinets, etc.

The museum also holds an expressive silverware collection, composed by over 150 pieces. Outstanding among these are the assemblage of antique ceremonial chalices, proceeding from England, Germany and Russia, the collection of 19th-century Portuguese toothpick holders, the collection of English and Portuguese candlesticks, incense boats and chandeliers and the Brazilian religious silverware, which includes candlesticks, processional lanterns, etc. The collection of silver tableware is mainly composed by British pieces, executed by important silversmith sculptors, such as Paul de Lamerie, Paul Storr and John Wakelin.

European art
The collection includes a number of Italian paintings dating from 16th to 18th century. Outstanding among them are the religious and mythological scenes by Raffaellino del Garbo, Giacomo Francia, Giovanni Battista Gaulli and Sebastiano Ricci, besides the portraits by Alessandro Allori and Pompeo Batoni.

The collection presents a wide panorama of Flemish and Dutch schools, ranging from 15th to 17th century, with a strong emphasis in Baroque paintings. It includes genre works, hunting scenes, landscapes, portraits and still lifes by artists as Jan Brueghel the Elder, Jan van Goyen, David Teniers the Younger, Gerard ter Borch, Abraham Brueghel, Philips Wouwerman and Abraham Hondius, beside two small panels attributed to Dirk Bouts. The collection also includes two landscape paintings by Frans Post, including View of Olinda, probably the most valuable canvas in the museum.

Outstanding among the French paintings is the canvas Ariadne by Jean-Baptiste Greuze. There are also landscapes and mythological scenes by Claude Lorrain, Gabriel Briard, Nicolas-Antoine Taunay, a Still-life by Pierre-Auguste Renoir and works by the painters of the School of Paris, like Chaim Soutine and Maurice de Vlaminck, beside two important canvases by Marc Chagall: À la campagne and Couple with flowers and a rooster.

The European collection also include prints by Albrecht Dürer, Rembrandt, Francisco de Goya, Pablo Picasso, among others, as well as a number of Eastern icons.

Pre-Columbian art
This small collection is composed by objects produced prior to the 16th century, proceeding from relevant archaeological sites in present-day Bolivia, Peru and Mexico, such as Tiwanaku, Chancay and Nazca. It comprises works in terracotta, stone, wood and fabric produced by civilizations like Chavín, Moche, Chimú, Toltec, and Nazca.

Interesting facts
Signed by the engineer-architect Alfredo Ernesto Becker, the Ema Klabin House-Museum was inspired by the Sanssouci Palace in Potsdam, near Berlin, frequented by Ema in his youth. The mansion took more than ten years to complete.

The works were acquired by Ema Klabin in galleries and antique shops around the world. One of the first purchases, in 1948, was made on the recommendation of Pietro Maria Bardi, who then started to form the MASP collection.

In a sinuous shape and with a stunning koi pond, Ema Klabin’s garden was designed by one of the most important landscape architects of the 20th century, Roberto Burle Marx.

In the Foundation’s collection, there are pieces of great historical value such as ´Vista de Olinda´ (1650), by Frans Post, one of the first paintings made about Brazil. The painting was part of a series of gifts given by Count Maurício de Nassau, who ruled Dutch Brazil between 1637 and 1644, to the French king Louis XIV.

Ema Klabin also collected orchids and had more than 400 pots in her nursery, with species brought in from all over the world. He recorded all the blooms in his notebooks and even had award-winning vases at exhibitions.

Ema recorded all of her exquisite dinners in a special notebook, where she wrote down everything from the porcelain and silverware used, to the menu, towels, wines and flower arrangements (taken from her own garden). He has always received distinguished visitors such as Assis Chateaubriand, Magda Tagliaferro, João Carlos Martins and José Mindlin, among others. Currently, each semester, the table in the museum house is still set to reproduce one of these dinners.

To set up his library, with 3,000 volumes, Ema initially received guidance from bibliophile José Mindlin. The collection has rare books, ranging from illuminated manuscripts and the first copies of the printed book (incunabula and aldine editions), to reports by European travelers in Brazil, dating from the 16th to the 19th century, as well as several illustrated luxury editions, such as the collection of the Hundred Bibliophiles of Brazil.

Ema dedicated herself to numerous philanthropic and assistance activities, among which the donation of land for the construction of Hospital Israelita Albert Einstein, in São Paulo, stands out.
Ema Klabin’s collection has a panoramic and historical character, with many gems. The oldest piece is a Chinese bronze cup from the 14th century BC, and the most recent is an engraving by Renina Katz from 1987. Between them, there are almost 3,400 years of history and art.

In the 1970s, without having direct heirs and concerned with the fate of her collection, the collector began to consult specialists to assist her in the choice of institutions capable of receiving a collection. The fire at the Museum of Modern Art in Rio, MAM (1978), however, made him choose to create in his house a museum open to the public.

Tags: