Musée monographique de Conimbriga, Condeixa-a-Velha, Portugal

Conímbriga est l’une des plus grandes colonies romaines découvertes au Portugal. Elle a été classée monument national en 1910. Située dans la paroisse civile de Condeixa-a-Velha et Condeixa-a-Nova, dans la municipalité de Condeixa-a-Nova, Il est situé à 2 kilomètres du siège de la municipalité et à 16 kilomètres de Coimbra (la ville romaine d’Aeminium).

Conímbriga est un établissement urbain fortifié entouré d’un rideau de structures de pierre d’une longueur d’environ 1 500 mètres. L’entrée de la colonie se fait à partir de structures voûtées composées de deux portes (une sur des charnières) et a été défendue par deux tours. Les murs sont parallèles par deux passages, canalisés vers les excavations, afin de supprimer les infiltrations d’eau des murs. Le règlement urbain comprend diverses structures telles qu’un forum, une basilique et des boutiques, des thermes, des aqueducs, des insula, des maisons de hauteurs variées (y compris des patios intérieurs) et des domus (telles que la Casa dos Repuxos et la Casa de Cantaber), basilique paléochrétienne.

Un centre d’accueil des visiteurs (comprenant un restaurant / café et une boutique de souvenirs) a été construit pour exposer les objets trouvés par les archéologues au cours de leurs fouilles, notamment des pièces de monnaie, des outils chirurgicaux, des ustensiles et des céramiques.

Ruines de Conimbriga
Le site de Conimbriga, qui aurait été habité depuis le néolithique, a une présence humaine sûre au chalcolithique et à l’âge du bronze, des époques provenant des premiers témoignages qui nous sont parvenus. Il est vrai que les Celtes sont ici: les toponymes se terminant par “querelle” témoignent clairement de cette présence. Conimbriga était donc un castro lorsque les Romains en 138 avant JC sont venus ici et ont saisi l’oppidum.

L’ensemble des ruines de Conimbriga, le musée monographique – construit à proximité immédiate – et le castellum alcabideque consubstantient un complexe archéologique de poids qui permet de reconstituer une cellule importante du grand empire romain. Avec Mirobriga (Santiago do Cacém) et Tongobriga (Freixo, Marco de Canaveses), il constitue le grand triangle de la mémoire romaine au Portugal.

L’imposture et le pragmatisme de l’architecture romaine sont bien représentés à Conimbriga, de même que la supériorité de son action civilisatrice, qui surpasse les détails les plus divers de la vie quotidienne. Comme, comme le précise le texte de l’épigraphe, il est habité depuis très longtemps, la fondation de Conimbriga et la plupart des bâtiments qui y ont été érigés remontent à l’époque de l’empereur Auguste (Ier siècle avant notre ère).

Dès 1928, les fouilles archéologiques ont révélé une partie très importante du tracé de cette ville, permettant au visiteur des Ruines de prouver un aménagement urbain laborieux et à l’écoute de tous les besoins: le forum, l’aqueduc, quartiers commerçants, industrie et logement, une auberge, plusieurs thermes, l’amphithéâtre, les remparts et la défense de la ville. De cet ensemble se dresse un quartier de riches manoirs – diamétralement opposés aux insula de la plèbe, en raison de la complexité de sa construction et de son raffinement décoratif – qui se démarque de “La Maison des Repuxos”, grand péristyle aménagé et pavé de mosaïques polychromes, conservées in situ, présentant des motifs mythologiques, géométriques ou représentant simplement la réalité quotidienne.

Musée monogarphique de Conimbriga
Le musée monographique de Conimbriga (fondé en 1962) expose une collection permanente qui témoigne de l’évolution historique du lieu, entre la fin du deuxième millénaire avant notre ère et le sixième siècle de l’ère chrétienne.

La première salle est consacrée aux divers aspects de la vie quotidienne (verre, poterie, travail de la pierre, filature, écriture, jeux et passe-temps, poids et mesures) tandis que la seconde salle évoque le forum à travers un modèle de ce qui était le sanctuaire de l’impériale. culte. La troisième salle a pour but de montrer, à travers des sculptures, des mosaïques et des fragments de stuc et des fresques, l’atmosphère exquise dans laquelle vivaient les familles les plus riches. Enfin, dans la quatrième salle, vous trouverez des objets liés à la religion (païenne et chrétienne), aux superstitions et au culte des morts pratiqués par les habitants de Conimbriga.

CASA MUSEU FERNANDO NAMORA
Le 30 juin 1990, le musée de la maison Fernando Namora a été ouvert au public. Il est immédiatement devenu l’un des centres d’intérêt culturel du comté de Condeixa-a-Nova et constitue une invitation irréfutable à tous ceux qui souhaitent connaître, avec propriété, l’expérience de la vie et la personnalité artistique aux multiples facettes de cette figure exceptionnelle des lettres et des arts portugais.

La maison du musée, outre une salle évoquant les origines de l’écrivain, présente une collection considérable de manuscrits, de notes originales, d’épreuves typographiques, de livres publiés et annotés pour les éditions futures, une bibliothèque privée de 4000 volumes et un ensemble d’objets personnels ( parmi eux, des médailles, des décorations et des prix, qui attestent de la reconnaissance de son travail).

Il existe également deux noyaux de la peinture: l’un de Fernando Namora lui-même (une de ses vocations moins connues) et l’autre comprenant des œuvres de divers auteurs nationaux et étrangers, témoignage expressif de la sensibilité et de l’intérêt de Namora dans ce domaine.

Galerie Manuel Filipe
Inaugurée en 2007 dans le bâtiment de l’ancienne école primaire Conde de Ferreira, la galerie Manuel Filipe rend hommage à cet artiste exceptionnel, né à Condeixa en 1908.

Manuel Filipe, contemporain – et compatriote – de Fernando Namora, était un peintre remarquable de la condition humaine. Il avait succédé, comme Jose Augusto França, “dans son expressionnisme amateur”, transposant sur la toile la misère et l’injustice auxquelles l’homme était confronté. condamné. De cette pente, il parlera avec éloquence de la “phase noire” de sa peinture.

En collaboration avec le Musée national d’art contemporain et le Centre d’art moderne de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, la galerie a accueilli, début 2015, une importante exposition sur “La phase noire (1943-1948)” de Manuel Filipe, intégrant des œuvres jamais exposées dans la région centrale et qui pendant plus de 40 ans n’ont pas été vues par le grand public.

Le travail de Manuel Filipe est représenté dans dix-huit musées du pays. Dans la galerie, en exposition permanente, un ensemble significatif du travail de cet artiste peut être admiré. L’espace reçoit également des expositions temporaires occasionnelles.

L’histoire

Préhistoire
L’histoire de ce peuplement remonte à l’âge du cuivre et à l’âge du bronze, mais il est possible qu’elle ait existé auparavant, à l’âge de la pierre. Des traces de l’âge du bronze ont été découvertes, plus précisément des IXe et VIIIe siècles av. J.-C., parmi les objets trouvés, on peut énumérer plusieurs céramiques, un péroné et une faux.

Antiquité orientale
Au siècle dernier, les Phéniciens, des habitants de l’actuel Liban, ont créé plusieurs usines le long de la côte méditerranéenne de la péninsule ibérique. Après avoir bloqué le détroit de Gibraltar, ils ont fait de même sur la côte atlantique, l’un d’eux, dans la région de Baixo Mondego, entre Montemor-o-Velho et Majorque, Castro de Santa Olaia, qui a commercé avec Conímbriga. Sur ce marché ont été vendus ivoires, peignes, vaisselle et verrerie, a ensuite commencé à commercialiser également des vases grecs.

Antiquité classique
La première arrivée des Romains dont nous parlons date de 138 avant JC, lorsque les troupes du dixième Junius Brutus, dans leur campagne pour subjuguer les Galiciens, traversèrent les terres de Conímbriga.

Pline, dans son recensement des tribus de l’ouest de la péninsule, parle, au-dessous de la Vouga, déjà oppida des “villes” et non des “tribus” populi. Cela nous indique que les populations situées au-dessous de Vouga étaient plus grandes et possédaient une forme d’organisation différente, qu’elles n’auraient pas autant de liens tribaux, mais nous en connaissons deux: les Dovilonici et les Pintones.

Ce serait seulement à l’époque d’Auguste que Conímbriga serait réformé. L’empereur romain a envoyé des architectes pour le remodeler et l’adapter à l’urbanisme romain. Le forum fut le premier édifice construit par les Romains. Peu de temps après, les bains de la ville ont été créés en prenant les eaux de Alcabideque. La construction d’un mur artificiel a été complétée par la position défensive naturelle de la ville, de deux kilomètres. La ligne du mur donnait 23 hectares supplémentaires pour l’expansion de Conímbriga. Les maisons adjacentes au mur, avec des carreaux, datent des IIe et IIIe siècles.

Les Romains apportèrent avec eux de nouveaux éléments de génie civil: le marbre, la colonne, le stuc, le mortier de chaux et la pierre carrée. Ceci, combiné à l’arrivée de nouveaux concepts et méthodes, a accéléré la croissance de la colonie et créé un syncrétisme architectural entre l’ancienne tradition locale et la tradition romaine.

Conímbriga se gonflait de plus en plus dans le gouvernement de Vespasian devenu une municipalité entre 70 et 80. Le résultat de cette expansion de la ville, entre 77 et 78 ans, un citoyen de Conímbriga, M. Junius Lateran, fut choisi comme prêtre de la culte impérial de Lusitania, ce maître l’obligerait à vivre à Emerita Augusta, actuelle Mérida, la capitale de la province. Il est probable que cette désignation ait été faite comme précepte du règlement.

Par la suite, entre le deuxième et le troisième siècle, la ville entra dans une période obscure qui ne nous arrivait pas beaucoup aujourd’hui. Au milieu du troisième siècle, l’empire commença à être envahi par les tribus barbares. En 262, ils balayèrent les Pyrénées et rasèrent la péninsule de Levante; ils n’étaient pas connus pour atteindre la côte ouest de l’Atlantique. Dans ce climat d’instabilité, les défenses de Conímbriga ont été renforcées ainsi que le système d’approvisionnement en eau, y compris l’aqueduc.

Moyen Âge
Bien que l’Empire ait déjà été attaqué il y a bien longtemps, les menaces sont restées relativement lointaines, peut-être en raison de la position géographique de la région. Cependant, le calme dont il avait bénéficié grâce à la colonisation allait bientôt prendre fin. . Dans la région de Conímbriga, Lusitania, les Alans seraient fixes. C’était une période très instable pendant laquelle les barbares passaient des accords avec le gouvernement romain et rompaient avec ceux-ci. La situation économique était défavorable. Dans ce climat de troubles, les familles les plus influentes des villes prirent le pouvoir et devinrent leurs maîtres. de Conímbriga tout semble indiquer qu’il a été livré à la famille du Cantabrique.

La colonie tombe en 464 sous le joug des Suevos, la femme et la progéniture du chef de famille des Cantabriens sont kidnappées par ceux-ci. Les Souabes reviennent quatre ans plus tard, en 468, pour raser la ville et la région. La ville entrera dans une période avec peu d’informations documentaires.

On sait que la ville ne serait pas abandonnée cette fois-ci (même si elle était déjà en déclin) puisqu’elle était capitale en 561 d’un évêché, le prélat de celui-ci, Lucentius, participait au Premier concile de Braga. Il est également observé qu’il avait toujours la même position, le même prélat a signé en 572 le résumé du deuxième conseil de Braga.

En 586, la région tomba définitivement sous la domination wisigothique, après une longue lutte entre eux et les suevos. En plus de souligner la défaite définitive du royaume Suevi et l’unification politique de la péninsule sous le pouvoir wisigoth, Conímbriga était la fin, l’évêque et le gros de ses voisins sont partis vivre à Emínio (actuel Coimbra), Dernier endroit beaucoup plus fertile et avec un meilleur approvisionnement en eau essentielle, qui commençait à se faire rare à Conímbriga.

On sait cependant que la colonie continuerait à être habitée, du moins par une famille aisée, une pièce frappée sous le règne de Rodrigo en l’an 711, exactement la même année que le début de l’invasion musulmane d’Hispania. Certaines pièces de monnaie de l’ère musulmane suggèrent toujours qu’elle n’avait pas encore été totalement abandonnée. Cependant, avant 1086, elle aurait été définitivement inhabitée. Les quelques personnes qui y vivaient encore s’établiraient dans la vallée voisine et fonderaient Vila Cova, Vila Cova plus tard, la comtesse One Domga de Domna, qui deviendrait l’actuelle Condeixa-a-Velha.

Architecture
Le site de fouilles et le centre d’accueil des visiteurs sont situés à la périphérie de la communauté rurale de Condeixa-a-Nova, sur la base d’un éperon triangulaire en forme de plateau sur deux profondes dépressions (l’une occupée par Ribeira dos Mouros).

Bien que Conimbriga ne soit pas la plus grande ville romaine du Portugal, elle est la mieux conservée, les archéologues estimant que 10% seulement de la ville a été fouillée.

Bâtiments publiques
Ce ne serait qu’à l’époque d’Augustus que Conímbriga serait réformé. L’empereur romain a envoyé des architectes pour le remodeler et l’adapter à l’urbanisme romain.

Amphithéâtre
L’amphithéâtre de Conímbriga, autrefois référence terrestre, avait une arène ovale de plus ou 98 x 86 mètres. Pour entrer dans cette enceinte, il y avait au total six tunnels, trois de chaque côté.

Forum (ancien)
Le forum fut le premier édifice construit par les Romains. C’est devenu le centre de la vie en ville, puisque c’est là que se trouvaient les autorités et le commerce. Sur le côté ouest des marchands, neuf magasins ont été alloués au développement des activités commerciales. De l’autre côté, de la source, se trouvaient la curie et la basilique; le premier était le lieu de discussion entre les deux ou quatre hommes forts de la colonie, appelés magistrats; dans le second, il y avait la cour.

Forum (nouveau)
Le nouveau forum a été érigé dans le cadre de la célébration de la promotion de Conímbriga auprès de la municipalité. L’ancien forum a été démoli et il a été remplacé. Ce nouveau ne serait plus le stade de la justice ou du commerce. Il était entouré de hauts murs et exposait les statues d’hommes reconnus.

On sait que le nouveau forum resterait en place jusqu’au Ve siècle, quand une citerne colossale fut placée dans l’une de ses zones.

Carré
L’entrée de la place s’est faite en agitant une arche; de ​​là, au temple et à une fontaine, on peut en déduire qu’il s’agissait d’un lieu de culte; de l’autre côté, de l’ouest, compte tenu de la très mauvaise conservation, il est impossible de déterminer son utilisation. Les piliers étaient ornés de filets qui les divisaient en demi-roseaux.

La place avait un porche qui l’entourait de trois côtés différents. Plus loin, un autre portique servait de porte d’accès au porche du temple.

Temple
Le temple de Conímbriga est en très mauvais état de conservation, il ne lui reste que peu de pierres. Le temple était si petit que seules les statues divines y allaient, il n’y aurait pas de place pour des offices religieux. Ce bâtiment était relié à la place par un petit escalier latéral.

Spa
Les thermes datent également d’Auguste. Comme il n’y avait pas de source à Conímbriga capable de supporter l’approvisionnement en eau des sources chaudes, il a été décidé de rechercher des sources externes de nourriture. On a trouvé un puits d’un peu plus d’une demi-lieue de long pouvant supporter la demande.

Le bâtiment avait à l’entrée trois divisions pour la sécurité et les vêtements. Le complexe thermal d’Augusto est relativement petit, mais suffisant pour la ville en croissance. Comme c’était le cas chez les Romains dans les bains, il y avait trois piscines; une d’eau froide, une d’eau chaude de transition et une d’eau chaude. En dehors des bains eux-mêmes, le complexe avait une salle de gym.

Maisons
Les maisons de Conímbriga avaient une forme rectangulaire et étaient alignées, contrairement aux anciennes colonies des régions actuelles du centre de Beira (Beira alta, littoral de Beira), Trás-os-Montes, Galicia et Minho.

Monographie de Conímbriga
Le Musée monographique de Conímbriga est le musée en charge de la divulgation publique des découvertes du site archéologique de Conímbriga et lui est entièrement consacré. Il a été créé en 1962, parallèlement à la reprise des activités d’exploration dans les ruines.

Selon la Direction générale du patrimoine culturel (DGPC), le musée monographique de Conímbriga vise à:

sa mission est de protéger les ruines, de promouvoir leur exposition au public et de poursuivre des recherches archéologiques;

Le musée est dirigé par Virgílio Hipólito Correia, responsable de nombreux travaux archéologiques et études réalisés à la station.

En 2017, le ministère de la Culture a reclassé le musée monographique de Conímbriga en musée national. Au sujet de la décision, le ministre a déclaré:

Il est de la justice la plus élémentaire d’avancer avec cette classification, dans un musée qui est une référence absolument exemplaire, un paradigme du patrimoine archéologique mais aussi de l’investigation scientifique dans ce domaine au Portugal.

– Luís Filipe Castro Mendes
Grâce à cette nouvelle classification, le musée pourra bénéficier de fonds communautaires destinés à l’exploration et à l’étude des ruines de Conímbriga, tout cela grâce au protocole signé avec la DFPC en juin 2015 et à la collaboration entre le gouvernement et le conseil municipal de Condeixa. -a-Nova dans le cadre du programme de développement des infrastructures du programme muséologique de Conímbriga. Les investissements en valorisation des traces s’élèvent à trois millions d’euros.

Préservation
Les ruines de Conímbriga sont maintenant classées ZEP (zone de protection spéciale) par la Direction générale du patrimoine culturel. Selon la DGPC, le statut de zone spéciale Protection confère au site:

le paysage du bien et la perspective de sa contemplation, couvrant les espaces verts qui sont pertinents pour la défense du contexte respectif.

– Direction générale du patrimoine culturel
Le statut actuel de ZEP a été attribué par l’ordonnance du 12 novembre 1971, publiée au DG Série II n ° 277 du 25 novembre 1971. Bien que le statut de zone de protection spéciale confère au site un périmètre réservé, le entre dans cela, ne pas se conformer à la réglementation.

Ce site archéologique a été reconnu monument national en 1910 par le décret du 16 juin 1910, DG, n ° 136 du 23 juin 1910.

En 1930, à la suite du XIe Congrès international d’archéologie, l’État portugais obtint des terres dans la station archéologique.

En 1962, au cours de l’examen des ruines, le Musée monographique de Conímbriga a été créé pour transmettre les nouvelles connaissances sur les découvertes à la population.

Tags:

Conimbriga Monographic Museum, Condeixa-a-Velha, Portugal

Conímbriga is one of the largest Roman settlements excavated in Portugal, and was classified as a National Monument in 1910. Located in the civil parish of Condeixa-a-Velha e Condeixa-a-Nova, in the municipality of Condeixa-a-Nova, it is situated 2 kilometres (1.2 mi) from the municipal seat and 16 kilometres (9.9 mi) from Coimbra (the Roman town of Aeminium).

Conímbriga is a walled urban settlement, encircled by a curtain of stone structures approximately 1,500 metres (4,900 ft) long. Entrance to the settlement is made from vaulted structures consisting of two doors (one on hinges), and at one time was defended by two towers. The walls are paralleled by two passages, channelled to excavations, in order to remove water infiltration from the walls. The urban settlement consists of various structures such as a forum, basilica and commercial shops, thermal spas, aqueducts, insulae, homes of various heights (including interior patios) and domus (such as the Casa dos Repuxos and Casa de Cantaber), in addition to paleo-Christian basilica.

A visitors’ centre (which includes restaurant/café and gift-shop) was constructed to display objects found by archaeologists during their excavations, including coins, surgical tools, utensils and ceramics.

Ruins of Conimbriga
The site of Conimbriga, which would have been inhabited since the Neolithic Age, has a safe human presence in the Chalcolithic and Bronze Age, epochs originating from the earliest testimonies that have come to us. It is true that the Celts have been here: the toponyms ending in “quarrel” are clear testimony of this presence. Conimbriga was therefore a castro when the Romans in 138 BC came here and seized the oppidum.

The whole of the Conimbriga Ruins, the Monographic Museum – built in its immediate vicinity – and the Alcabideque castellum consubstantiate an archaeological complex of weight, that allows to reconstitute an important cell of the great Roman Empire. Together with Mirobriga (Santiago do Cacém) and Tongobriga (Freixo, Marco de Canaveses), it forms the great triangle of Roman memory in Portugal.

The imposture and pragmatism of Roman architecture are well represented in Conimbriga, as well as the superiority of its civilizing action, which surpasses the most diverse details of daily life. Since, as the text in the epigraph elucidated, it had been inhabited since very early times, the foundation of Conimbriga and most of the buildings erected there dates back to the time of Emperor Augustus (1st century BC).

Beginning in 1928, the archaeological excavations were revealing a very significant part of the layout of this city, making it possible for the visitor to the Ruins to prove an urban planning that was laborious and attentive to all needs: the forum, the aqueduct, the commercial districts, industry and housing, an inn, several thermal baths, the amphitheater, the walls for circumscription and defense of the city. From this set stands a neighborhood of rich manor houses – which is diametrically opposed to the insulae of the plebs, due to the complexity of its construction and decorative refinement – which stands out “The House of the Repuxos”, large peristyle landscaped and paved with polychrome mosaics, preserved in situ, exhibiting mythological, geometric motifs, or simply representing the daily reality.

Conimbriga Monographic Museum
The Monographic Museum of Conimbriga (founded in 1962) exhibits a permanent collection that materializes the historical evolution of the place, between the end of the second millennium BC and the sixth century of the Christian era.

The first room is dedicated to the varied aspects of everyday life (glass, pottery, stonework, spinning, writing, games and pastimes, weights and measures) while the second room evokes the forum, through a model of what was the sanctuary of the imperial cult. The third room aims to demonstrate, through some sculptures, mosaics and fragments of stucco and frescoes, the exquisite ambiance in which the wealthiest families lived. Finally, in the fourth room you can find objects related to the religion (pagan and Christian), to the superstitions and to the cult of the dead practiced by the inhabitants of Conimbriga.

Casa Museu Fernando Namora
On June 30, 1990, the Fernando Namora House Museum was opened to the public, constituting itself immediately in one of the cultural points of interest in the county of Condeixa-a-Nova and making an irrefutable invitation to anyone who wants to know, with propriety, the life experience and the multifaceted artistic personality of this outstanding figure of Portuguese letters and arts.

The Museum House, in addition to a room that evokes the origins of the writer, displays a considerable collection of manuscripts, original notes, typographic proofs, books published and annotated for future editions, a private library of 4000 volumes and a whole personal objects (among them, medals, decorations and prizes, which attest to the recognition of his work).

There are also two nuclei of painting: one by Fernando Namora himself (one of his lesser known vocations) and one that includes works by various national and foreign authors, expressive testimony to the sensitivity and interest of Namora in this field.

Gallery Manuel Filipe
Inaugurated in 2007, in the building of the old Conde de Ferreira primary school, the Manuel Filipe Gallery pays homage to the outstanding artist, born in Condeixa in 1908.

Manuel Filipe, a contemporary – and compatriot – of Fernando Namora, was an outstanding painter of the human condition, having succeeded, as Jose- Augusto França, “in his amateur expressionism”, transposed to the canvas the misery and injustice to which man was condemned. From this slope he will speak, eloquently, the “Black Phase” of his painting.

In collaboration with the National Museum of Contemporary Art and the Center for Modern Art of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, the Gallery welcomed, at the beginning of 2015, an important exhibition on the “Black Phase (1943-1948)” by Manuel Filipe, integrating works never exhibited in the center region and that for over 40 years were not seen by the general public.

The work of Manuel Filipe is represented in eighteen museums of the country. In the Gallery, in permanent exhibition, a significant set of the work of this artist can be admired. The space also receives occasional temporary exhibitions.

History

Prehistory
The history of this settlement is traced back to the Copper Age and the Bronze Age, but there is a possibility that it existed before, in the Stone Age. Traces of the Bronze Age were found, more specifically from the ninth and eighth centuries BC, among the found objects we can enumerate several ceramics, a fibula and a scythe.

Eastern antiquity
In the last century, the Phoenicians, people inhabiting what is now Lebanon, established several factories along the Mediterranean coast of the Iberian Peninsula. After stranding the Strait of Gibraltar they did the same on the Atlantic coast, one of them, in the area of Baixo Mondego between Montemor-o-Velho and Majorca, Castro de Santa Olaia, who traded with Conímbriga. In this market were sold-ivories, combs, crockery and glassware, later began to commercialize also Greek vases.

Classical Antiquity
The first arrival of the Romans of which we have reference is of 138 BC, when the troops of Tenth Junius Brutus, in their campaign to subjugate the Galicians, passed through the lands of Conímbriga.

Pliny, in his census of the tribes of the West of the Peninsula, speaks, below the Vouga, already oppida “cities” and not populi “tribes.” This tells us that populations below Vouga were larger and possessed a different form of organization, would not have so many ties tribal lines but, of these we know of two: the Dovilonici and the Pintones.

It would be only in the time of Augustus that Conímbriga would be reformed, the Roman emperor sent architects to remodel it and adapt it to the Roman urbanismo. The forum was the first building to be erected by the Romans. Soon after, the baths of the city were created taking water of Alcabideque. The settlement of an artificial wall was complemented by the natural defensive position of the settlement, of two kilometers, the line of the wall gave another twenty-three hectares for the expansion of Conímbriga. Houses that are next to the wall, with tiles, are of the 2nd and 3rd century.

The Romans brought with them new elements of civil engineering: the marble, the column, the stucco, the mortar of lime and squared stone. This, combined with the arrival of new concepts and methods, accelerated the growth of the settlement and created an architectural syncretism between the old local tradition and the Roman tradition.

Conímbriga was swelling up more and more in the government of Vespasian became a municipality between 70 and 80. The result of this expansion of the city, between 77 and 78 a citizen of Conímbriga, M. Junius Lateran, was chosen as a priest of the imperial cult of Lusitania, this master would oblige him to live in Emerita Augusta, present Mérida, the capital of the province. It is probable that such designation was made as a precept to the settlement.

Subsequently, between the second and third centuries, the city entered an obscure period which did not reach us very much today. In the middle of the third century the Empire began to be invaded by barbarian tribes, in 262 they swept the Pyrenees and razed the peninsular Levante, they have not been known to reach the western Atlantic coast. In this climate of instability the defenses of Conímbriga were reinforced and the water system, including the aqueduct, as well.

Middle Ages
Although the Empire was already being assaulted long ago the threats remained relatively far, perhaps due to the geographical position of the region, however, that calm from which it had enjoyed the settlement would finish soon, in 409 the vandals and the suevos attacked the Peninsula. In the region of Conímbriga, Lusitania, the Alans would be fixed. This was a very unstable period in which the barbarians made and broke agreements with the Roman government and there was an unfavorable economic situation in this climate of unrest, the most influential families of the cities took power in these and became their masters, in the case of Conímbriga everything seems to indicate that it was delivered to the family of the Cantabrian.

The settlement falls in 464 under the yoke of the Suevos, the woman and the offspring of the family head of the Cantabrians are kidnapped by these. The Swabians come back four years later, in 468, to raze the city and the region. The city will enter a period with little documentary information.

It is known that the city would not be abandoned this time (although it was already in decay), since in 561 it was capital of a bishopric, the prelate of the same one, Lucentius, took part in the First Council of Braga. It is also observed that he still had the same position, the same prelate signed in 572 the summary of the Second Council of Braga.

In 586, the region fell definitely under Visigothic rule, after a long time of fights between these and the suevos. In addition to pointing out the definitive defeat of the Suevi Kingdom and the political unification of the peninsular under the Visigothic power, Conímbriga was the end, the bishop and the bulk of his neighbors left and went to live in Emínio (present Coimbra), this last location much more fertile and with a better supply of essential water, which was beginning to be scarce by this time in Conímbriga.

It is known, however, that the settlement would continue to be inhabited, at least by some wealthy family, a coin minted in the reign of Rodrigo of the year 711, exactly the same year of the beginning of the Muslim invasion of Hispania. Some coins of the Muslim era were still found suggesting that it had not yet been totally abandoned, however, before 1086 it would have been definitely uninhabited. The few people still living in it would settle in the neighboring valley and would found Vila Cova, Vila Cova later Domna Countess Onega, who would become the current Condeixa-a-Velha.

Architecture
The excavation site and visitors’ centre is located on the outskirts of the rural community of Condeixa-a-Nova, based on a plateau-shaped triangular spur over two deep depressions (one occupied by the Ribeira dos Mouros).

Although Conimbriga was not the largest Roman city in Portugal, it is the best preserved, with archaeologists estimating that only 10 percent of the city has been excavated.

Public buildings
It would be only in the time of Augustus that Conímbriga would be reformed, the Roman emperor sent architects to remodel it and adapt it to Roman urbanism.

Amphitheater
The amphitheater of Conímbriga, formerly land reference, had an oval arena with more or 98 x 86 meters. To enter this enclosure, there were in total six tunnels, three on each side.

Forum (old)
The forum was the first building to be erected by the Romans. It became the center of city life, since it was in it that the authorities and commerce were found. On the western side of the merchants, nine stores were allocated for the development of commercial activities. On the other side, from the source, was the curia and the basilica; the first was the place of debate between the two or four strongmen of the settlement, called magistrates; in the second, there was the court.

Forum (new)
The new forum was erected as part of the celebration of the promotion of Conímbriga to the municipality. The old forum was demolished and it was replaced. This new would no longer be the stage of either justice or commerce. It was surrounded by high walls and exposed the statues of recognized men.

It is known that the new forum would remain standing until the fifth century when a colossal cistern was placed in one of its zones.

Square
The entrance to the square was made by waving an arch, from there came to the temple and a fountain, we can infer that here was a place of worship; on the other side, from the west, given the very poor preservation, it is impossible to determine its use. The pillars were ornamented with fillets that divided them into half-reeds.

The square had a porch that surrounded it on three different sides. Further ahead was another portico, serving as an adit to the porch of the temple.

Temple
The temple of Conímbriga is in very bad state of conservation, of him already only few stones remain. The temple was so small that in it only the divine statues fit, there would be no room for religious offices. This building was connected to the square by a small side staircase.

Spa
The thermal baths also date from the time of Augustus. Since there was no spring in Conímbriga that could withstand the supply of water to the hot springs, it was decided to look for external sources of food. A well was found a little more than half a league long that could withstand the demand.

The building had at the entrance three divisions for the security and the garments. The thermal complex of Augusto is relatively small, but sufficient for the city that was growing. As was Roman rule in the baths, there were three pools; one of cold water, one warm of transition and one of warm water. Outside the baths themselves, the complex had a gym.

Houses
The houses in Conímbriga had a rectangular shape and were aligned, unlike the old settlements of the current regions of the central Beira (Beira alta, Beira littoral), Trás-os-Montes, Galicia and Minho.

Monograph of Conímbriga
The Monographic Museum of Conímbriga is the museum in charge of the public disclosure of the findings of the archaeological site of Conímbriga and is devoted entirely to it. It was created in 1962, parallel to the resumption of exploratory activity in the Ruins.

According to the Directorate General of Cultural Heritage (DGPC), the Monographic Museum of Conímbriga aims to:

its mission is to protect the Ruins, to promote their exposure to the public and to pursue archaeological research;

The Museum is run by Virgílio Hipólito Correia, a person who has been responsible for many of the archaeological works and studies done at the station.

In 2017 the Ministry of Culture reclassified the Monographic Museum of Conímbriga to National Museum. Regarding the ruling, the minister said:

It is of the most elementary justice to advance with this classification, in a museum that is an absolutely exemplary reference, a paradigm of the archaeological heritage but also of the scientific investigation in this domain in Portugal.

-  Luís Filipe Castro Mendes
With this new classification the Museum will be able to enjoy community funds destined to the exploration and study of the Ruins of Conímbriga, all possible thanks to the Protocol signed with the DFPC in June 2015 and the collaboration between the Government and the City Council of Condeixa-a-Nova through the Infrastructure Development program of the Conímbriga Museological Program. Investments in valuation of traces total three million euros.

Conservation
The ruins of Conímbriga are now classified as ZEP (Special Protection Area) by the Directorate General of Cultural Heritage. According to DGPC, the Special Area status Protection gives the site:

the landscape of the property and the perspective of its contemplation, covering the green spaces that are relevant to the defense of the respective context.

-  Directorate General of Cultural Heritage
The current status of ZEP was granted by the Ordinance of November 12, 1971, published in DG, Series II, No. 277, of November 25, 1971. Although the status of Special Protection Zone confers on the site a reserved perimeter, the IC3 goes into this, not complying with the regulation.

This archaeological site was recognized in 1910 as National Monument through the Decree of June 16, 1910, DG, No. 136, June 23, 1910.

In 1930, following the XI International Congress of Archeology, the Portuguese State obtained some land in the archaeological station.

In 1962, during the investigation of the ruins, the Monographic Museum of Conímbriga was created as a vehicle for transmitting the new knowledge about the findings to the general population.

Tags: