可宁布利嘉专题博物馆,旧康迪克斯,葡萄牙

可宁布利嘉(Conímbriga)是葡萄牙最大的罗马人定居点之一,于1910年被列为国家纪念碑。位于Condeixa-a-Nova市Condeixa-a-Velha e Condeixa-a-Nova的民用教区,它距市政府所在地2公里(1.2英里),距科英布拉(罗马城镇Aeminium)16公里(9.9英里)。

Conímbriga是一个有围墙的城市住区,周围环绕着长约1500米(4,900英尺)的石头结构。定居点的入口是由两个门(一个在铰链上)组成的拱形结构,并且一次由两个塔保护。墙壁通过两个通道平行,引导到挖掘,以消除从墙壁渗入的水。城市定居点包括各种结构,如论坛,大教堂和商业商店,温泉,渡槽,岛屿,各种高度的房屋(包括内部庭院)和domus(如Casa dos Repuxos和Casa de Cantaber),此外到古基督教教堂。

建造了一个游客中心(包括餐厅/咖啡馆和礼品店),展示考古学家在挖掘过程中发现的物品,包括硬币,手术工具,器皿和陶瓷。

Conimbriga的废墟
Conimbriga的遗址本来就是新石器时代以来的居住地,在Chalcolithic和青铜时代有一个安全的人类存在,这个时代源于我们最早的见证。确实,凯尔特人一直在这里:以“争吵”结束的地名清楚地证明了这种存在。因此,当公元前138年的罗马人来到这里时,Conimbriga就是一个卡斯特罗。

整个Conimbriga遗址,Monographic博物馆 – 建在其附近 – 和Alcabideque castellum是一个重量考古的复合体,可以重建伟大的罗马帝国的重要单元。它与Mirobriga(SantiagodoCacém)和Tongobriga(Freixo,Marco de Canaveses)一起构成了葡萄牙罗马记忆的三角形。

罗马建筑的风格和实用主义在Conimbriga得到了很好的体现,其文明行动的优越性超越了日常生活中最多样化的细节。因为,正如铭文中的文字阐明的那样,它从很早就有人居住,Conimbriga的基础和那里建立的大部分建筑可以追溯到奥古斯都皇帝时期(公元前1世纪)。

从1928年开始,考古发掘揭示了这座城市布局的一个非常重要的部分,使得废墟的游客可以证明一个费力且关注所有需求的城市规划:论坛,渡槽,商业区,工业和住房,旅馆,几个温泉浴场,圆形剧场,围墙以及城市防御。从这套房子里可以看到一个富丽堂皇的住宅区 – 由于其建筑的复杂性和装饰性的精致 – 与“修复之家”相得益彰,与其他岛屿的岛屿截然相反,大型的peristyle景观美化和铺设多彩马赛克,原位保存,展示神话,几何图案,或简单地代表日常现实。

Conimbriga Monogarphic博物馆
Conimbriga专题博物馆(成立于1962年)展出了一个永久的收藏品,体现了该地区的历史演变,在公元前第二个千年末和基督教时代的六世纪之间。

第一个房间致力于日常生活的各个方面(玻璃,陶器,石雕,旋转,写作,游戏和逍遥时光,重量和措施),而第二个房间通过一个模型,通过帝国的庇护所唤起论坛崇拜。第三个房间旨在通过一些雕塑,马赛克和灰泥和壁画碎片展示最富裕家庭生活的精致氛围。最后,在第四个房间里,您可以找到与宗教(异教徒和基督徒)有关的物品,迷信以及Conimbriga居民对死者的崇拜。

CASA MUSEU FERNANDO NAMORA
1990年6月30日,Fernando Namora House博物馆向公众开放,立即成为Condeixa-a-Nova县的一个文化景点,并向任何想要了解的人发出无可辩驳的邀请。这位杰出的葡萄牙文字和艺术人物的礼仪,生活经历和多面艺术个性。

博物馆之家,除了唤起作家起源的房间外,还展示了大量的手稿,原始笔记,印刷样张,出版和注释未来版本的书籍,4000册私人图书馆和整个个人物品(其中包括奖章,装饰品和奖品,证明了他的作品。

还有两个绘画核心:一个是费尔南多·纳莫拉本人(他的一个鲜为人知的职业),一个包括各种国内外作家的作品,表达了对纳莫拉在这一领域的敏感性和兴趣的证明。

画廊Manuel Filipe
曼努埃尔菲利普画廊于2007年开始建造旧的Conde de Ferreira小学,向1908年出生于Condeixa的杰出艺术家致敬。

费尔南多·纳莫拉的当代和同胞曼努埃尔·菲利普是人类状况的杰出画家,他作为何塞·奥古斯托·弗朗卡(Jose-AugustoFrança),“以他的业余表现主义”成功地将画面转移到了画布上,男人的痛苦与不公正。谴责。从这个斜坡,他将雄辩地讲述他画作的“黑相”。

与国家当代艺术博物馆和Calouste Gulbenkian基金会现代艺术中心合作,画廊在2015年初欢迎曼努埃尔菲利普举办的“黑相(1943-1948)”重要展览,作品从未在中心地区展出,40多年来一般公众都看不到。

Manuel Filipe的作品在该国的18个博物馆中有代表。在画廊中,在常设展览中,可以欣赏到这位艺术家的一系列重要作品。该空间还偶尔举办临时展览。

历史

史前
这个定居点的历史可以追溯到铜器时代和青铜器时代,但它有可能在石器时代之前存在。发现了青铜器时代的痕迹,更具体地说是从公元前九世纪和八世纪开始,我们可以列举出几种陶瓷,腓骨和镰刀。

东方古代
在上个世纪,居住在现在黎巴嫩的人们的腓尼基人在伊比利亚半岛的地中海沿岸建立了几家工厂。在绞尽直布罗陀海峡之后,他们在大西洋沿岸做了同样的事情,其中​​一个是在Montemor-o-Velho和马略卡岛之间的Baixo Mondego地区,Castro de Santa Olaia与Conímbriga交易。在这个市场上销售象牙,梳子,陶器和玻璃器皿,后来开始商业化希腊花瓶。

古典古典
我们参考的罗马人的第一次到来是公元前138年,当时第十届朱尼厄斯·布鲁图斯的军队在他们征服加利西亚人的运动中,穿过了Conímbriga的土地。

普林尼在他对半岛西部部落的人口普查中说,在Vouga之下,已经是“城市”而不是“部落”。这告诉我们Vouga以下的人口较多并且拥有不同的组织形式,不会有如此多的关系部落线,但是,其中我们知道两个:Dovilonici和Pintones。

只有在奥古斯都时期,Conímbriga才会被改革,罗马皇帝派建筑师改造它并使其适应罗马城市主义。该论坛是罗马人建造的第一座建筑。不久之后,这个城市的浴场就是用Alcabideque的水来创造的。人工墙的沉降得到了定居点的自然防御位置的补充,距离为2公里,墙的线为Conímbriga的扩建又增加了23公顷。靠近墙壁的房子,有瓷砖,是2世纪和3世纪。

罗马人带来了土木工程的新元素:大理石,柱子,灰泥,石灰砂浆和方石。这与新概念和方法的到来相结合,加速了定居点的发展,并在古老的地方传统和罗马传统之间建立了建筑融合。

Conímbriga越来越多地在维斯帕西安政府成为一个70到80岁的市政当局。这个城市扩张的结果,77-78岁的Conímbriga公民,M。Junius Lateran被选为该市的牧师。对鲁西塔尼亚的崇拜,这位大师将迫使他住在奥古斯塔的Emerita,现在是该省的首府梅里达。这种指定很可能是作为和解的一个规则。

随后,在第二个和第三个世纪之间,这个城市进入了一个模糊的时期,今天并没有达到我们的目的。在第三世纪中叶,帝国开始被野蛮部落入侵,在262年他们横扫比利牛斯山并夷平了半岛莱万特,他们并不知道他们到达西大西洋沿岸。在这种不稳定的气候下,Conímbriga的防御得到了加强,水系统也得到了加强,包括渡槽。

中世纪
虽然帝国很久以前就已经受到攻击,但威胁仍然相对较远,可能是由于该地区的地理位置,然而,它很快就能完成定居点的平静,409年,这些破坏者和suevos袭击了半岛。在Lusitania的Conímbriga地区,Alans将被修复。这是一个非常不稳定的时期,野蛮人制定并与罗马政府达成协议,在这种动荡的气氛中存在不利的经济形势,城市中最有影响力的家庭掌权并成为他们的主人,在这种情况下Conímbriga的一切似乎都表明它是交付给坎塔布连家族的。

在Suevos的枷锁下,该定居点落在464,该妇女和坎塔布里亚人家族的后代被这些人绑架。四年后,斯瓦比亚人在468年回归,以便将城市和地区夷为平地。这个城市将进入一个没有纪录片信息的时期。

众所周知,这个城市不会被抛弃(尽管它已经在腐朽中),因为在561年它是主教的首都,同一个主教的Lucentius参加了布拉加第一委员会。还观察到他仍然拥有相同的位置,同样的主教在572签署了布拉加第二届理事会的摘要。

在586年,经过长时间的斗争和suevos之后,该地区绝对属于西哥特统治。除了指出Suevi王国的最终失败以及在Visigothic权力下半岛的政治统一之外,Conímbriga是结束,主教和他的大部分邻居离开并去了Emínio(现在的Coimbra),这最后一个地方更肥沃,供应更多的基本水,这一次在Conímbriga开始变得稀缺。

然而,众所周知,至少在一些富裕的家庭中,定居点将继续有人居住,这是在711年罗德里戈统治时期铸造的一枚硬币,恰好是穆斯林入侵伊斯帕尼亚开始的同一年。仍然发现穆斯林时代的一些硬币表明它还没有被完全抛弃,然而,在1086年之前它肯定是无人居住的。仍然居住在其中的少数人将定居在邻近的山谷中,并将找到Vila Cova,Vila Cova后来的Domna Countess Onega,他将成为现在的Condeixa-a-Velha。

建筑
挖掘现场和游客中心位于Condeixa-a-Nova农村社区的郊区,基于两个深凹陷(一个被Ribeira dos Mouros占据)的高原形三角形支撑。

虽然Conimbriga不是葡萄牙最大的罗马城市,但它保存得最好,考古学家估计只有10%的城市被挖掘出来。

公共建筑
只有在奥古斯都时期,Conímbriga才会被改革,罗马皇帝派建筑师改造它并使其适应罗马城市主义。

露天剧场
Conímbriga圆形剧场,以前的土地参考,有一个椭圆形的竞技场,更多或98 x 86米。要进入这个机箱,共有六个隧道,每侧三个。

论坛(旧)
该论坛是罗马人建造的第一座建筑。它成为城市生活的中心,因为当局和商业都在其中。在商人的西侧,有9家商店被分配用于商业活动的开发。另一方面,从源头来看,是库里亚和大教堂;第一个是定居点的两个或四个强人之间的争论地点,称为地方法官;在第二,有法院。

论坛(新)
新论坛的建立是庆祝Conímbriga到市政府的一部分。旧论坛被拆除,并被取代。这个新的将不再是正义或商业的舞台。它被高墙包围,露出了公认的男人的雕像。

众所周知,新论坛将持续到五世纪,当时一个巨大的蓄水池放置在其中一个区域内。

广场
广场的入口是通过挥动拱门,从那里来到寺庙和喷泉,我们可以推断这里是一个礼拜场所;另一方面,从西方来看,由于保存非常差,因此无法确定其用途。柱子上装饰着鱼片,将它们分成半芦苇。

广场上有一个门廊,在三个不同的侧面包围着它。另一个门廊是另一个门廊,作为寺庙门廊的一个广告。

寺庙
Conímbriga的寺庙处于非常糟糕的保护状态,他已经只有少数石头了。寺庙太小了,只有神圣的雕像适合,没有宗教办公室的空间。这栋建筑通过一个小型楼梯连接到广场。

温泉
温泉浴场的历史可以追溯到奥古斯都时期。由于Conímbriga没有可以承受温泉供水的泉水,因此决定寻找外部食物来源。发现一口井能够承受需求的一半多一点。

该建筑的入口处有三个安全部门和服装部门。奥古斯托的热力建筑相对较小,但对于正在发展的城市来说已经足够了。和浴室里的罗马统治一样,有三个游泳池;冷水之一,过渡温暖之一和温水之一。在浴室外,酒店设有健身房。

房屋
Conímbriga的房屋呈长方形,并且与贝拉中央贝拉(Beira alta,Beira alto),Trás-os-Montes,Galicia和Minho等当前地区的旧定居点不同。

Conímbriga专着
Conímbriga专题博物馆是负责公开披露Conímbriga考古遗址调查结果的博物馆,并完全致力于此。它创建于1962年,与废墟中恢复探索活动相似。

根据文化遗产总局(DGPC),Conímbriga专题博物馆旨在:

其使命是保护废墟,促进他们接触公众和进行考古研究;

该博物馆由VirgílioHipólitoCoreia经营,他负责该站的许多考古工作和研究。

2017年,文化部将Conīmbriga专题博物馆重新分类为国家博物馆。关于裁决,部长说:

在博物馆中进行这种分类是最基本的正义,这是一个绝对模范的参考,是考古遗产的范例,也是葡萄牙在这一领域的科学调查。

– LuísFilipeCastro Mendes
凭借这一新的分类,博物馆将能够享受用于勘探和研究Conímbriga遗址的社区资金,这一切都归功于2015年6月与DFPC签署的议定书以及政府与Condeixa市议会之间的合作。 -a-Nova通过Conímbriga博物馆项目的基础设施发展计划。追踪估值的投资总额为300万欧元。

保护
Conímbriga遗址现在被文化遗产总局列为ZEP(特别保护区)。根据DGPC,特殊区域保护给予网站:

该物业的景观及其沉思的视角,涵盖与保护各自背景相关的绿色空间。

– 文化遗产总局
Z71的现状由1971年11月12日的条例授予,该条例于1971年11月25日发布于DG,第II系列,第277号。尽管特殊保护区的状态赋予该地点预留的边界,但IC3进入这个,不符合规定。

这个考古遗址于1910年被确认为国家纪念碑,通过1910年6月16日的法令,DG,No.136,1910年6月23日。

1930年,在第十一届国际考古大会之后,葡萄牙国家在考古站获得了一些土地。

1962年,在废墟调查期间,Conímbriga专题博物馆被创建为向大众传播有关调查结果的新知识的工具。

Tags:

Conimbriga Monographic Museum, Condeixa-a-Velha, Portugal

Conímbriga is one of the largest Roman settlements excavated in Portugal, and was classified as a National Monument in 1910. Located in the civil parish of Condeixa-a-Velha e Condeixa-a-Nova, in the municipality of Condeixa-a-Nova, it is situated 2 kilometres (1.2 mi) from the municipal seat and 16 kilometres (9.9 mi) from Coimbra (the Roman town of Aeminium).

Conímbriga is a walled urban settlement, encircled by a curtain of stone structures approximately 1,500 metres (4,900 ft) long. Entrance to the settlement is made from vaulted structures consisting of two doors (one on hinges), and at one time was defended by two towers. The walls are paralleled by two passages, channelled to excavations, in order to remove water infiltration from the walls. The urban settlement consists of various structures such as a forum, basilica and commercial shops, thermal spas, aqueducts, insulae, homes of various heights (including interior patios) and domus (such as the Casa dos Repuxos and Casa de Cantaber), in addition to paleo-Christian basilica.

A visitors’ centre (which includes restaurant/café and gift-shop) was constructed to display objects found by archaeologists during their excavations, including coins, surgical tools, utensils and ceramics.

Ruins of Conimbriga
The site of Conimbriga, which would have been inhabited since the Neolithic Age, has a safe human presence in the Chalcolithic and Bronze Age, epochs originating from the earliest testimonies that have come to us. It is true that the Celts have been here: the toponyms ending in “quarrel” are clear testimony of this presence. Conimbriga was therefore a castro when the Romans in 138 BC came here and seized the oppidum.

The whole of the Conimbriga Ruins, the Monographic Museum – built in its immediate vicinity – and the Alcabideque castellum consubstantiate an archaeological complex of weight, that allows to reconstitute an important cell of the great Roman Empire. Together with Mirobriga (Santiago do Cacém) and Tongobriga (Freixo, Marco de Canaveses), it forms the great triangle of Roman memory in Portugal.

The imposture and pragmatism of Roman architecture are well represented in Conimbriga, as well as the superiority of its civilizing action, which surpasses the most diverse details of daily life. Since, as the text in the epigraph elucidated, it had been inhabited since very early times, the foundation of Conimbriga and most of the buildings erected there dates back to the time of Emperor Augustus (1st century BC).

Beginning in 1928, the archaeological excavations were revealing a very significant part of the layout of this city, making it possible for the visitor to the Ruins to prove an urban planning that was laborious and attentive to all needs: the forum, the aqueduct, the commercial districts, industry and housing, an inn, several thermal baths, the amphitheater, the walls for circumscription and defense of the city. From this set stands a neighborhood of rich manor houses – which is diametrically opposed to the insulae of the plebs, due to the complexity of its construction and decorative refinement – which stands out “The House of the Repuxos”, large peristyle landscaped and paved with polychrome mosaics, preserved in situ, exhibiting mythological, geometric motifs, or simply representing the daily reality.

Conimbriga Monographic Museum
The Monographic Museum of Conimbriga (founded in 1962) exhibits a permanent collection that materializes the historical evolution of the place, between the end of the second millennium BC and the sixth century of the Christian era.

The first room is dedicated to the varied aspects of everyday life (glass, pottery, stonework, spinning, writing, games and pastimes, weights and measures) while the second room evokes the forum, through a model of what was the sanctuary of the imperial cult. The third room aims to demonstrate, through some sculptures, mosaics and fragments of stucco and frescoes, the exquisite ambiance in which the wealthiest families lived. Finally, in the fourth room you can find objects related to the religion (pagan and Christian), to the superstitions and to the cult of the dead practiced by the inhabitants of Conimbriga.

Casa Museu Fernando Namora
On June 30, 1990, the Fernando Namora House Museum was opened to the public, constituting itself immediately in one of the cultural points of interest in the county of Condeixa-a-Nova and making an irrefutable invitation to anyone who wants to know, with propriety, the life experience and the multifaceted artistic personality of this outstanding figure of Portuguese letters and arts.

The Museum House, in addition to a room that evokes the origins of the writer, displays a considerable collection of manuscripts, original notes, typographic proofs, books published and annotated for future editions, a private library of 4000 volumes and a whole personal objects (among them, medals, decorations and prizes, which attest to the recognition of his work).

There are also two nuclei of painting: one by Fernando Namora himself (one of his lesser known vocations) and one that includes works by various national and foreign authors, expressive testimony to the sensitivity and interest of Namora in this field.

Gallery Manuel Filipe
Inaugurated in 2007, in the building of the old Conde de Ferreira primary school, the Manuel Filipe Gallery pays homage to the outstanding artist, born in Condeixa in 1908.

Manuel Filipe, a contemporary – and compatriot – of Fernando Namora, was an outstanding painter of the human condition, having succeeded, as Jose- Augusto França, “in his amateur expressionism”, transposed to the canvas the misery and injustice to which man was condemned. From this slope he will speak, eloquently, the “Black Phase” of his painting.

In collaboration with the National Museum of Contemporary Art and the Center for Modern Art of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, the Gallery welcomed, at the beginning of 2015, an important exhibition on the “Black Phase (1943-1948)” by Manuel Filipe, integrating works never exhibited in the center region and that for over 40 years were not seen by the general public.

The work of Manuel Filipe is represented in eighteen museums of the country. In the Gallery, in permanent exhibition, a significant set of the work of this artist can be admired. The space also receives occasional temporary exhibitions.

History

Prehistory
The history of this settlement is traced back to the Copper Age and the Bronze Age, but there is a possibility that it existed before, in the Stone Age. Traces of the Bronze Age were found, more specifically from the ninth and eighth centuries BC, among the found objects we can enumerate several ceramics, a fibula and a scythe.

Eastern antiquity
In the last century, the Phoenicians, people inhabiting what is now Lebanon, established several factories along the Mediterranean coast of the Iberian Peninsula. After stranding the Strait of Gibraltar they did the same on the Atlantic coast, one of them, in the area of Baixo Mondego between Montemor-o-Velho and Majorca, Castro de Santa Olaia, who traded with Conímbriga. In this market were sold-ivories, combs, crockery and glassware, later began to commercialize also Greek vases.

Classical Antiquity
The first arrival of the Romans of which we have reference is of 138 BC, when the troops of Tenth Junius Brutus, in their campaign to subjugate the Galicians, passed through the lands of Conímbriga.

Pliny, in his census of the tribes of the West of the Peninsula, speaks, below the Vouga, already oppida “cities” and not populi “tribes.” This tells us that populations below Vouga were larger and possessed a different form of organization, would not have so many ties tribal lines but, of these we know of two: the Dovilonici and the Pintones.

It would be only in the time of Augustus that Conímbriga would be reformed, the Roman emperor sent architects to remodel it and adapt it to the Roman urbanismo. The forum was the first building to be erected by the Romans. Soon after, the baths of the city were created taking water of Alcabideque. The settlement of an artificial wall was complemented by the natural defensive position of the settlement, of two kilometers, the line of the wall gave another twenty-three hectares for the expansion of Conímbriga. Houses that are next to the wall, with tiles, are of the 2nd and 3rd century.

The Romans brought with them new elements of civil engineering: the marble, the column, the stucco, the mortar of lime and squared stone. This, combined with the arrival of new concepts and methods, accelerated the growth of the settlement and created an architectural syncretism between the old local tradition and the Roman tradition.

Conímbriga was swelling up more and more in the government of Vespasian became a municipality between 70 and 80. The result of this expansion of the city, between 77 and 78 a citizen of Conímbriga, M. Junius Lateran, was chosen as a priest of the imperial cult of Lusitania, this master would oblige him to live in Emerita Augusta, present Mérida, the capital of the province. It is probable that such designation was made as a precept to the settlement.

Subsequently, between the second and third centuries, the city entered an obscure period which did not reach us very much today. In the middle of the third century the Empire began to be invaded by barbarian tribes, in 262 they swept the Pyrenees and razed the peninsular Levante, they have not been known to reach the western Atlantic coast. In this climate of instability the defenses of Conímbriga were reinforced and the water system, including the aqueduct, as well.

Middle Ages
Although the Empire was already being assaulted long ago the threats remained relatively far, perhaps due to the geographical position of the region, however, that calm from which it had enjoyed the settlement would finish soon, in 409 the vandals and the suevos attacked the Peninsula. In the region of Conímbriga, Lusitania, the Alans would be fixed. This was a very unstable period in which the barbarians made and broke agreements with the Roman government and there was an unfavorable economic situation in this climate of unrest, the most influential families of the cities took power in these and became their masters, in the case of Conímbriga everything seems to indicate that it was delivered to the family of the Cantabrian.

The settlement falls in 464 under the yoke of the Suevos, the woman and the offspring of the family head of the Cantabrians are kidnapped by these. The Swabians come back four years later, in 468, to raze the city and the region. The city will enter a period with little documentary information.

It is known that the city would not be abandoned this time (although it was already in decay), since in 561 it was capital of a bishopric, the prelate of the same one, Lucentius, took part in the First Council of Braga. It is also observed that he still had the same position, the same prelate signed in 572 the summary of the Second Council of Braga.

In 586, the region fell definitely under Visigothic rule, after a long time of fights between these and the suevos. In addition to pointing out the definitive defeat of the Suevi Kingdom and the political unification of the peninsular under the Visigothic power, Conímbriga was the end, the bishop and the bulk of his neighbors left and went to live in Emínio (present Coimbra), this last location much more fertile and with a better supply of essential water, which was beginning to be scarce by this time in Conímbriga.

It is known, however, that the settlement would continue to be inhabited, at least by some wealthy family, a coin minted in the reign of Rodrigo of the year 711, exactly the same year of the beginning of the Muslim invasion of Hispania. Some coins of the Muslim era were still found suggesting that it had not yet been totally abandoned, however, before 1086 it would have been definitely uninhabited. The few people still living in it would settle in the neighboring valley and would found Vila Cova, Vila Cova later Domna Countess Onega, who would become the current Condeixa-a-Velha.

Architecture
The excavation site and visitors’ centre is located on the outskirts of the rural community of Condeixa-a-Nova, based on a plateau-shaped triangular spur over two deep depressions (one occupied by the Ribeira dos Mouros).

Although Conimbriga was not the largest Roman city in Portugal, it is the best preserved, with archaeologists estimating that only 10 percent of the city has been excavated.

Public buildings
It would be only in the time of Augustus that Conímbriga would be reformed, the Roman emperor sent architects to remodel it and adapt it to Roman urbanism.

Amphitheater
The amphitheater of Conímbriga, formerly land reference, had an oval arena with more or 98 x 86 meters. To enter this enclosure, there were in total six tunnels, three on each side.

Forum (old)
The forum was the first building to be erected by the Romans. It became the center of city life, since it was in it that the authorities and commerce were found. On the western side of the merchants, nine stores were allocated for the development of commercial activities. On the other side, from the source, was the curia and the basilica; the first was the place of debate between the two or four strongmen of the settlement, called magistrates; in the second, there was the court.

Forum (new)
The new forum was erected as part of the celebration of the promotion of Conímbriga to the municipality. The old forum was demolished and it was replaced. This new would no longer be the stage of either justice or commerce. It was surrounded by high walls and exposed the statues of recognized men.

It is known that the new forum would remain standing until the fifth century when a colossal cistern was placed in one of its zones.

Square
The entrance to the square was made by waving an arch, from there came to the temple and a fountain, we can infer that here was a place of worship; on the other side, from the west, given the very poor preservation, it is impossible to determine its use. The pillars were ornamented with fillets that divided them into half-reeds.

The square had a porch that surrounded it on three different sides. Further ahead was another portico, serving as an adit to the porch of the temple.

Temple
The temple of Conímbriga is in very bad state of conservation, of him already only few stones remain. The temple was so small that in it only the divine statues fit, there would be no room for religious offices. This building was connected to the square by a small side staircase.

Spa
The thermal baths also date from the time of Augustus. Since there was no spring in Conímbriga that could withstand the supply of water to the hot springs, it was decided to look for external sources of food. A well was found a little more than half a league long that could withstand the demand.

The building had at the entrance three divisions for the security and the garments. The thermal complex of Augusto is relatively small, but sufficient for the city that was growing. As was Roman rule in the baths, there were three pools; one of cold water, one warm of transition and one of warm water. Outside the baths themselves, the complex had a gym.

Houses
The houses in Conímbriga had a rectangular shape and were aligned, unlike the old settlements of the current regions of the central Beira (Beira alta, Beira littoral), Trás-os-Montes, Galicia and Minho.

Monograph of Conímbriga
The Monographic Museum of Conímbriga is the museum in charge of the public disclosure of the findings of the archaeological site of Conímbriga and is devoted entirely to it. It was created in 1962, parallel to the resumption of exploratory activity in the Ruins.

According to the Directorate General of Cultural Heritage (DGPC), the Monographic Museum of Conímbriga aims to:

its mission is to protect the Ruins, to promote their exposure to the public and to pursue archaeological research;

The Museum is run by Virgílio Hipólito Correia, a person who has been responsible for many of the archaeological works and studies done at the station.

In 2017 the Ministry of Culture reclassified the Monographic Museum of Conímbriga to National Museum. Regarding the ruling, the minister said:

It is of the most elementary justice to advance with this classification, in a museum that is an absolutely exemplary reference, a paradigm of the archaeological heritage but also of the scientific investigation in this domain in Portugal.

-  Luís Filipe Castro Mendes
With this new classification the Museum will be able to enjoy community funds destined to the exploration and study of the Ruins of Conímbriga, all possible thanks to the Protocol signed with the DFPC in June 2015 and the collaboration between the Government and the City Council of Condeixa-a-Nova through the Infrastructure Development program of the Conímbriga Museological Program. Investments in valuation of traces total three million euros.

Conservation
The ruins of Conímbriga are now classified as ZEP (Special Protection Area) by the Directorate General of Cultural Heritage. According to DGPC, the Special Area status Protection gives the site:

the landscape of the property and the perspective of its contemplation, covering the green spaces that are relevant to the defense of the respective context.

-  Directorate General of Cultural Heritage
The current status of ZEP was granted by the Ordinance of November 12, 1971, published in DG, Series II, No. 277, of November 25, 1971. Although the status of Special Protection Zone confers on the site a reserved perimeter, the IC3 goes into this, not complying with the regulation.

This archaeological site was recognized in 1910 as National Monument through the Decree of June 16, 1910, DG, No. 136, June 23, 1910.

In 1930, following the XI International Congress of Archeology, the Portuguese State obtained some land in the archaeological station.

In 1962, during the investigation of the ruins, the Monographic Museum of Conímbriga was created as a vehicle for transmitting the new knowledge about the findings to the general population.

Tags: