蒸汽动力旅游

蒸汽动力是英国和美国工业革命的主要推动力。到19世纪末,它在商业轮船和铁路乘客的带领下,在世界各地旅行了八十天,同时推动了世界许多地区的运输和工业化的扩张。

了解
虽然朝圣之旅和大旅游之类的教育之旅是在蒸汽时代之前建立的,但是蒸汽车让旅行变得愉快,并使休闲旅游成为可能,让普通人可以参观附近的城市和度假村,中产阶级可以穿越非洲大陆,也是世界上最富有的人。Grand Old Hotels通常将他们的历史追溯到蒸汽时代。

大多数往复式蒸汽发动机在20世纪被内燃机或电动机取代,特别是在第二次世界大战后的几十年中。由于普遍的柴油化或现有铁路服务的电气化以及通过公路旅行取代铁路旅行,蒸汽火车的数量急剧下降。蒸汽轮机仍然普遍用于少数应用,例如发电。蒸汽机车长期以来一直保留在西方国家,因为它们能够运行几乎任何燃料,但其中许多已经出售给爱好者或在2000年代和2010年废弃。

蒸汽机
早期实验
第一个记录的基本的蒸汽驱动的“引擎”是由亚历山大的英雄(Hero of Alexandria)描述的aeolipile,他是公元一世纪罗马埃及的数学家和工程师。在接下来的几个世纪中,已知的少数蒸汽动力“发动机”与发电机一样,基本上是发明人用来证明蒸汽性质的实验装置。1751年,Taqi al-Din在奥斯曼埃及和1629年在意大利的Giovanni Branca描述了一种基本的汽轮机装置.JerónimodeAyanz y Beaumont在1606年获得了50项蒸汽动力发明的专利,其中包括用于排放淹没矿井的水泵。胡格诺派难民丹尼斯·帕潘(Denis Papin)于1679年在蒸汽消化器上做了一些有用的工作,并于1690年首次使用活塞来增加重量。

泵送发动机
第一台商用蒸汽动力装置是一台水泵,由Thomas Savery于1698年开发。它使用冷凝蒸汽产生真空,从下面升起水,然后用蒸汽压力将其升高。虽然较大的模型存在问题,但小型引擎仍然有效。它们的升力高度有限,容易发生锅炉爆炸。Savery的发动机用于矿井,泵站以及为驱动纺织机械的水轮供水。Savery发动机成本低廉。正如John Smeaton在1751年出版的“哲学交易”中所描述的那样,Bento de Moura Portugal对Savery的建筑进行了改进,以“使其能够自行工作”。它继续制造直到18世纪末。据称还有一台发动机于1820年投入运行。

活塞蒸汽发动机
第一个能够将持续动力传递给机器的商业上成功的发动机是由大约1712年由Thomas Newcomen发明的大气发动机。它改进了Savery的蒸汽泵,使用了Papin提出的活塞。Newcomen的发动机效率相对较低,主要用于抽水。它通过在汽缸内的活塞下冷凝蒸汽来产生局部真空。它被用于在迄今为止不可能的深度处排放矿井工作,并且用于在远离合适的“头部”的工厂中提供用于驱动水轮的可重复使用的水。通过车轮的水被泵送到车轮上方的储存容器中。

1720年Jacob Leupold描述了一种双缸高压蒸汽发动机。该发明发表在他的主要着作“Theatri Machinarum Hydraulicarum”中。发动机使用两个重型活塞为水泵提供运动。每个活塞通过蒸汽压力升高并通过重力返回其原始位置。两个活塞共用一个通用的四通旋转阀,直接连接到蒸汽锅炉。

詹姆斯·瓦特(James Watt)(1763-1775)开发了一种改进版的纽科门发动机(带有一个单独的冷凝器),这是下一个重要步骤。Boulton和Watt的早期发动机使用的煤量是John Smeaton改进版Newcomen的一半。Newcomen和Watt的早期发动机都是“大气”。它们由气压驱动,将活塞推入由冷凝蒸汽产生的部分真空中,而不是膨胀蒸汽的压力。发动机气缸必须很大,因为作用在它们上的唯一可用力是大气压力。

瓦特进一步开发了他的发动机,修改它以提供适合驱动机械的旋转运动。这使工厂远离河流,加快了工业革命的步伐。

高压发动机高压
的含义以及高于环境温度的实际值取决于使用该术语的时代。对于早期使用的术语,Van Reimsdijk指的是蒸汽处于足够高的压力下,它可以排放到大气中而不依靠真空使其能够执行有用的工作。尤因1894年,p。22个州表示瓦特的冷凝式发动机在当时已知为与同期高压非冷凝式发动机相比的低压。

Watt的专利阻止了其他人制造高压和复合发动机。在Watt的专利于1800年到期后不久,Richard Trevithick和1801年的Oliver Evans分别引入了使用高压蒸汽的发动机; Trevithick在1802年获得了他的高压发动机专利,而Evans在此之前已经制造了几种工作模型。对于给定的气缸尺寸,它们比以前的发动机更强大,并且可以做得足够小以用于运输应用。此后,技术发展和制造技术的改进(部分通过采用蒸汽机作为动力源)导致设计更高效的发动机,可以更小,更快或更强大,这取决于预期的应用。

Cornish发动机是由Trevithick和其他人在19世纪10年代开发的。它是一种复合循环发动机,它使用高压蒸汽膨胀,然后冷凝低压蒸汽,使其相对有效。康沃尔发动机在循环过程中具有不规则的运动和扭矩,主要限制为泵送。康沃尔发动机用于矿山和供水直到19世纪末。

水平固定发动机
固定式蒸汽发动机的早期建造者认为水平气缸会受到过度磨损。因此,它们的发动机布置成活塞轴垂直。随着时间的推移,水平布置变得越来越流行,允许紧凑但功能强大的发动机安装在较小的空间内。

水平发动机的极致是Corliss蒸汽机,于1849年获得专利,这是一款四气门逆流发动机,带有独立的蒸汽进气和排气阀以及自动变量蒸汽切断装置。当Corliss获得Rumford奖章时,委员会表示“自瓦特时代以来没有一项发明能够提高蒸汽机的效率”。除了使用少30%的蒸汽外,由于可变蒸汽切断,它提供了更均匀的速度,使其非常适合制造,尤其是棉纺。

道路车辆
第一条试验性的道路蒸汽动力车是在18世纪晚期建造的,但直到1800年左右,Richard Trevithick开发出使用高压蒸汽后,移动式蒸汽机才成为一个实用的主张。19世纪上半叶,蒸汽车设计取得了很大进展,到19世纪50年代,在商业基础上生产它们变得可行。限制或禁止在道路上使用蒸汽动力车辆的立法削弱了这一进展。从19世纪60年代到20世纪20年代,车辆技术的改进持续不断。蒸汽道路车辆用于许多应用。在20世纪,内燃机技术的迅速发展导致蒸汽机作为商用车辆推进源的消亡,在第二次世界大战之后剩余使用的相对较少。许多这些车辆被爱好者收购保存,并且仍有许多例子。在20世纪60年代,加利福尼亚州的空气污染问题引发了对开发和研究蒸汽动力汽车的短暂兴趣,作为减少污染的可能手段。除了蒸汽爱好者的兴趣,偶尔的复制车和实验技术,目前还没有生产蒸汽车。在20世纪60年代,加利福尼亚州的空气污染问题引发了对开发和研究蒸汽动力汽车的短暂兴趣,作为减少污染的可能手段。除了蒸汽爱好者的兴趣,偶尔的复制车和实验技术,目前还没有生产蒸汽车。在20世纪60年代,加利福尼亚州的空气污染问题引发了对开发和研究蒸汽动力汽车的短暂兴趣,作为减少污染的可能手段。除了蒸汽爱好者的兴趣,偶尔的复制车和实验技术,目前还没有生产蒸汽车。

船用发动机
近19世纪末,复合发动机得到广泛使用。复合发动机将蒸汽排出到相继较大的汽缸中以在减压下容纳更高的体积,从而提高效率。这些阶段被称为扩展,双膨胀和三膨胀发动机是常见的,特别是在运输中,效率对减轻煤炭重量很重要。直到20世纪初,当蒸汽轮机,电动机和内燃机的设计进步逐渐导致往复式(活塞式)蒸汽机的更换时,蒸汽机仍然是主要的动力源,20世纪的航运依靠汽轮机。

蒸汽机车
随着蒸汽机的发展进展到18世纪,各种尝试将它们应用于公路和铁路使用。1784年,苏格兰发明家威廉·默多克(William Murdoch)建造了一个原型蒸汽机车。蒸汽轨道机车的早期工作模型由汽船先驱John Fitch在美国设计和建造,可能在1780年代或1790年代。他的蒸汽机车使用由轨道或轨道引导的内部叶片轮。

第一辆全面工作的铁路蒸汽机车由Richard Trevithick在英国建造,1804年2月21日,世界上第一次铁路旅程发生,因为Trevithick的无名蒸汽机车从Pen-y-darren沿着电车轨道划了一列火车。炼铁厂,靠近Merthyr Tydfil到南威尔士的Abercynon。该设计融合了许多重要创新,包括使用高压蒸汽,这减少了发动机的重量并提高了效率。特雷维西克于1804年后期访问了纽卡斯尔地区,英格兰东北部的煤矿铁路成为蒸汽机车试验和开发的主要中心。

特雷维西克继续他自己的实验,使用三个机车,最后与1808年的Catch Me Can Can结束。仅仅四年之后,马修默里成功的双缸机车萨拉曼卡被边缘栏杆齿条和小齿轮米德尔顿铁路使用。1825年,乔治·斯蒂芬森为斯托克顿和达灵顿铁路建造了运动。这是世界上第一条公共蒸汽铁路,然后在1829年,他建造了火箭,进入并赢得了Rainhill试验。利物浦和曼彻斯特铁路于1830年开通,专门为客运和货运列车提供蒸汽动力。

直到二十世纪后期,中国和前东德(生产DR类52.80)的地方继续生产蒸汽机车。

蒸汽轮机
蒸汽机设计的最后一个主要演变是从19世纪后期开始使用蒸汽轮机。蒸汽涡轮机通常比往复式活塞式蒸汽发动机(对于高于几百马力的输出)更有效,具有更少的运动部件,并且直接提供旋转动力而不是通过连杆系统或类似装置。蒸汽涡轮机在20世纪早期几乎取代了发电站中的往复式发动机,其效率,适合发电机服务的更高速度和平稳旋转是优点。今天,大多数电力由蒸汽轮机提供。在美国,90%的电力是以这种方式使用各种热源生产的。

目前的发展
尽管往复式蒸汽发动机不再广泛用于商业用途,但各种公司正在探索或利用发动机的潜力作为内燃机的替代品。瑞典Energiprojekt AB公司在利用现代材料利用蒸汽动力方面取得了进展。Energiprojekt蒸汽机的效率在高压发动机上达到约27-30%。它是一个单级,5缸发动机(没有化合物),带有过热蒸汽,消耗大约。每千瓦时4千克(8.8磅)蒸汽。

蒸汽铁路
虽然蒸汽被怀旧或甚至渴望在过去几十年发生最后一次蒸汽服务的地方过去的“美好时光”,但许多发展中国家或新兴经济体认为任何蒸汽机车仍然存在“倒退”和尴尬。在最后一架官方蒸汽机车撤离后,西德在主线上完全禁止使用蒸汽。在一些国家,今天仍然存在类似的态度。也就是说,在边缘或其他被遗弃的线路上,仍然经常看到蒸汽,与“常规”柴油列车相比,蒸汽机车运行时有时甚至会对车票征收附加费。

蒸汽船,船只和船只
在第二次世界大战后广泛采用商业航空旅行之前,强大的海洋航行器在海上航行。RMS泰坦尼克号时代的皇家邮轮船在争夺当天的百万富翁时,在速度和奢侈品方面展开激烈竞争。

在密西西比河等内陆河流上,独特的桨轮蒸汽船曾经是常见的景象。少数仍然作为历史修复或复制品运作,模仿不同的准确性。

加拿大
RMS Segwun,Gravenhurst是一艘全面运营的修复轮船。她建于1887年,最初将度假者运送到马斯科卡(Muskoka)的小屋并运送货物和邮件。
PS Trillium,多伦多,是一种侧轮明轮船,从1910年至1957年起作为多伦多群岛的渡轮。她于1976年恢复并重返多伦多岛渡轮系统。

英格兰
少数小型蒸汽动力船继续在英格兰湖区的温德米尔运营。

苏格兰
轮船沃尔特斯科特爵士,特罗萨克斯码头,卡特琳湖,卡伦德,斯特林。
PS Waverley是世界上最后一艘海上双桨蒸笼。她建于1946年,在克莱德湾(Firth of Clyde)航行多年。自恢复以来,Waverley在夏季定期游览。大部分都是从克莱德出发,但也有一些沿着西海岸和苏格兰的赫布里底群岛,以及布里斯托尔海峡,泰晤士河和英格兰南部海岸的旅行。

美利坚合众国美国
肯塔基州路易斯维尔的路易斯维尔贝尔是最古老的密西西比河式汽船和国家历史地标。
Ticonderoga,谢尔本(佛蒙特州)是一艘明轮船,直到1969年作为尚普兰湖渡轮。保存并运往陆地上的谢尔本博物馆,她现在开放参观。

静态蒸汽发动机
最早使用蒸汽动力用于工业(最初来自矿井),但大型蒸汽发动机后来成为各种工业机械(从纺织品到供水)的动力。一些城市(包括日本小樽,加拿大温哥华和圣赫利尔泽西岛)声称运行一个蒸汽动力时钟 – 或一个启动蒸汽动力哨子的时钟 – 作为村庄中心点的当地地标。

加拿大
泵房和蒸汽博物馆,金斯敦(安大略省),前蒸汽动力的市政水泵站在20世纪70年代恢复

英格兰
邱桥,蒸汽博物馆。
博尔顿蒸汽博物馆。
Forncett Industrial Steam Museum,Forncett St Mary,Norfolk,England NR16 1JJ,☏+44 1508 488277,✉forncettsteammuseum@gmail.com。

位于悉尼的澳大利亚鹦鹉岛是一个工作蒸汽起重机的家园,曾经用于装载船只。
蒸汽旋转木马,gallopers和游乐场设备

荷兰
蒸汽旋转木马,Efteling。

英格兰
卡特是一个巡回演出的游乐场,其中一些老式设备(特别是它的Gallopers)是蒸汽操作的。按照旅游时间表进行季节性运营,因此场地各不相同。

牵引发动机和蒸汽车

英格兰
Hollycombe蒸汽系列

安全性
蒸汽机具有锅炉和其他组件,这些组件是包含大量潜在能量的压力容器。过去蒸汽逃逸和锅炉爆炸(通常是BLEVE)可能造成巨大的生命损失。虽然不同国家可能存在标准差异,但应采用严格的法律,测试,培训,制造,操作和认证,以确保安全。

失败模式可能包括:

锅炉的过压使锅炉中的
水不足导致过热和
沉积物和水垢的容器故障积累,引起局部热点,特别是在使用
由于施工或维护不充分而导致的锅炉脏水压力容器故障的河船中。
从管道/锅炉中排出蒸汽导致烫伤

蒸汽机通常具有两个独立的机构,以确保锅炉中的压力不会过高; 一个可以由用户调整,第二个通常被设计为最终的故障安全。这种安全阀传统上使用简单的杠杆来限制锅炉顶部的旋塞阀。杠杆的一端带有重量或弹簧,以限制阀门抵抗蒸汽压力。早期的阀门可以由发动机驱动器调节,当驾驶员将阀门向下固定以允许更大的蒸汽压力和来自发动机的更多动力时,导致许多事故。最近类型的安全阀使用可调节的弹簧加载阀,该阀被锁定,使得操作员不会篡改其调整,除非非法密封被破坏。这种安排相当安全。

锅炉燃烧室的顶部可能存在铅易熔塞。如果水位下降,使得火箱顶部的温度显着增加,则铅熔化并且蒸汽逸出,警告操作员,然后操作员可以手动抑制火灾。除了最小的锅炉外,蒸汽逸出对减轻火灾几乎没有影响。塞子的面积也太小,不能显着降低蒸汽压力,使锅炉减压。如果它们更大,那么逃逸的蒸汽量本身就会危及船员。

Steam power tourism

Steam power was the driving force for much of the Industrial Revolution in the United Kingdom and United States. It brought travel around the world in eighty days within reach of commercial steamship and rail passengers by the late 1800s, while driving the expansion of both transport and industrialization in many parts of the world.

Understand
While pilgrimages and educational journeys such as the Grand Tour were established before the Age of Steam, it was steam vehicles which made travel a pleasure, and made recreational tourism possible, allowing common people to visit nearby cities and resorts, the middle class to cross the continent, and the wealthiest to travel around the world. The Grand Old Hotels usually trace their history to the Age of Steam.

Most reciprocating steam engines were supplanted by internal combustion engines or electric motors during the 20th century, especially in the decades following World War II. The number of steam trains dropped precipitously, due both to widespread dieselization or electrification of existing rail service and replacement of rail travel by highway travel. Steam turbines remain in common use for a few applications, such as electric power generation. Steam locomotives were held in reserve even in Western countries for a long time due to their ability to run on practically any fuel, but many of those have been sold to enthusiasts or scrapped in the 2000s and 2010s.

Steam engine

Early experiments
The first recorded rudimentary steam-powered “engine” was the aeolipile described by Hero of Alexandria, a mathematician and engineer in Roman Egypt in the first century AD. In the following centuries, the few steam-powered “engines” known were, like the aeolipile, essentially experimental devices used by inventors to demonstrate the properties of steam. A rudimentary steam turbine device was described by Taqi al-Din in Ottoman Egypt in 1551 and by Giovanni Branca in Italy in 1629. Jerónimo de Ayanz y Beaumont received patents in 1606 for 50 steam powered inventions, including a water pump for draining inundated mines. Denis Papin, a Huguenot refugee, did some useful work on the steam digester in 1679, and first used a piston to raise weights in 1690.

Pumping engines
The first commercial steam-powered device was a water pump, developed in 1698 by Thomas Savery. It used condensing steam to create a vacuum which raised water from below and then used steam pressure to raise it higher. Small engines were effective though larger models were problematic. They had a limited lift height and were prone to boiler explosions. Savery’s engine was used in mines, pumping stations and supplying water to water wheels that powered textile machinery. Savery engine was of low cost. Bento de Moura Portugal introduced an improvement of Savery’s construction “to render it capable of working itself”, as described by John Smeaton in the Philosophical Transactions published in 1751. It continued to be manufactured until the late 18th century. One engine was still known to be operating in 1820.

Piston steam engines
The first commercially-successful engine that could transmit continuous power to a machine, was the atmospheric engine, invented by Thomas Newcomen around 1712. It improved on Savery’s steam pump, using a piston as proposed by Papin. Newcomen’s engine was relatively inefficient, and mostly used for pumping water. It worked by creating a partial vacuum by condensing steam under a piston within a cylinder. It was employed for draining mine workings at depths hitherto impossible, and for providing reusable water for driving waterwheels at factories sited away from a suitable “head”. Water that passed over the wheel was pumped up into a storage reservoir above the wheel.

In 1720 Jacob Leupold described a two-cylinder high-pressure steam engine. The invention was published in his major work “Theatri Machinarum Hydraulicarum”. The engine used two heavy pistons to provide motion to a water pump. Each piston was raised by the steam pressure and returned to its original position by gravity. The two pistons shared a common four way rotary valve connected directly to a steam boiler.

The next major step occurred when James Watt developed (1763–1775) an improved version of Newcomen’s engine, with a separate condenser. Boulton and Watt’s early engines used half as much coal as John Smeaton’s improved version of Newcomen’s. Newcomen’s and Watt’s early engines were “atmospheric”. They were powered by air pressure pushing a piston into the partial vacuum generated by condensing steam, instead of the pressure of expanding steam. The engine cylinders had to be large because the only usable force acting on them was atmospheric pressure.

Watt developed his engine further, modifying it to provide a rotary motion suitable for driving machinery. This enabled factories to be sited away from rivers, and accelerated the pace of the Industrial Revolution.

High-pressure engines
The meaning of high pressure, together with an actual value above ambient, depends on the era in which the term was used. For early use of the term Van Reimsdijk refers to steam being at a sufficiently high pressure that it could be exhausted to atmosphere without reliance on a vacuum to enable it to perform useful work. Ewing 1894, p. 22 states that Watt’s condensing engines were known, at the time, as low pressure compared to high pressure, non-condensing engines of the same period.

Watt’s patent prevented others from making high pressure and compound engines. Shortly after Watt’s patent expired in 1800, Richard Trevithick and, separately, Oliver Evans in 1801 introduced engines using high-pressure steam; Trevithick obtained his high-pressure engine patent in 1802, and Evans had made several working models before then. These were much more powerful for a given cylinder size than previous engines and could be made small enough for transport applications. Thereafter, technological developments and improvements in manufacturing techniques (partly brought about by the adoption of the steam engine as a power source) resulted in the design of more efficient engines that could be smaller, faster, or more powerful, depending on the intended application.

The Cornish engine was developed by Trevithick and others in the 1810s. It was a compound cycle engine that used high-pressure steam expansively, then condensed the low-pressure steam, making it relatively efficient. The Cornish engine had irregular motion and torque though the cycle, limiting it mainly to pumping. Cornish engines were used in mines and for water supply until the late 19th century.

Horizontal stationary engine
Early builders of stationary steam engines considered that horizontal cylinders would be subject to excessive wear. Their engines were therefore arranged with the piston axis vertical. In time the horizontal arrangement became more popular, allowing compact, but powerful engines to be fitted in smaller spaces.

The acme of the horizontal engine was the Corliss steam engine, patented in 1849, which was a four-valve counter flow engine with separate steam admission and exhaust valves and automatic variable steam cutoff. When Corliss was given the Rumford Medal, the committee said that “no one invention since Watt’s time has so enhanced the efficiency of the steam engine”. In addition to using 30% less steam, it provided more uniform speed due to variable steam cut off, making it well suited to manufacturing, especially cotton spinning.

Road vehicles
The first experimental road going steam powered vehicles were built in the late 18th century, but it was not until after Richard Trevithick had developed the use of high-pressure steam, around 1800, that mobile steam engines became a practical proposition. The first half of the 19th century saw great progress in steam vehicle design, and by the 1850s it was becoming viable to produce them on a commercial basis. This progress was dampened by legislation which limited or prohibited the use of steam powered vehicles on roads. Improvements in vehicle technology continued from the 1860s to the 1920s. Steam road vehicles were used for many applications. In the 20th century, the rapid development of internal combustion engine technology led to the demise of the steam engine as a source of propulsion of vehicles on a commercial basis, with relatively few remaining in use beyond the Second World War. Many of these vehicles were acquired by enthusiasts for preservation, and numerous examples are still in existence. In the 1960s the air pollution problems in California gave rise to a brief period of interest in developing and studying steam powered vehicles as a possible means of reducing the pollution. Apart from interest by steam enthusiasts, the occasional replica vehicle, and experimental technology no steam vehicles are in production at present.

Marine engines
Near the end of the 19th century compound engines came into widespread use. Compound engines exhausted steam in to successively larger cylinders to accommodate the higher volumes at reduced pressures, giving improved efficiency. These stages were called expansions, with double- and triple-expansion engines being common, especially in shipping where efficiency was important to reduce the weight of coal carried. Steam engines remained the dominant source of power until the early 20th century, when advances in the design of the steam turbine, electric motors and internal combustion engines gradually resulted in the replacement of reciprocating (piston) steam engines, with shipping in the 20th-century relying upon the steam turbine.

Steam locomotives
As the development of steam engines progressed through the 18th century, various attempts were made to apply them to road and railway use. In 1784, William Murdoch, a Scottish inventor, built a prototype steam road locomotive. An early working model of a steam rail locomotive was designed and constructed by steamboat pioneer John Fitch in the United States probably during the 1780s or 1790s. His steam locomotive used interior bladed wheels guided by rails or tracks.

The first full-scale working railway steam locomotive was built by Richard Trevithick in the United Kingdom and, on 21 February 1804, the world’s first railway journey took place as Trevithick’s unnamed steam locomotive hauled a train along the tramway from the Pen-y-darren ironworks, near Merthyr Tydfil to Abercynon in south Wales. The design incorporated a number of important innovations that included using high-pressure steam which reduced the weight of the engine and increased its efficiency. Trevithick visited the Newcastle area later in 1804 and the colliery railways in north-east England became the leading centre for experimentation and development of steam locomotives.

Trevithick continued his own experiments using a trio of locomotives, concluding with the Catch Me Who Can in 1808. Only four years later, the successful twin-cylinder locomotive Salamanca by Matthew Murray was used by the edge railed rack and pinion Middleton Railway. In 1825 George Stephenson built the Locomotion for the Stockton and Darlington Railway. This was the first public steam railway in the world and then in 1829, he built The Rocket which was entered in and won the Rainhill Trials. The Liverpool and Manchester Railway opened in 1830 making exclusive use of steam power for both passenger and freight trains.

Steam locomotives continued to be manufactured until the late twentieth century in places such as China and the former East Germany (where the DR Class 52.80 was produced).

Steam turbines
The final major evolution of the steam engine design was the use of steam turbines starting in the late part of the 19th century. Steam turbines are generally more efficient than reciprocating piston type steam engines (for outputs above several hundred horsepower), have fewer moving parts, and provide rotary power directly instead of through a connecting rod system or similar means. Steam turbines virtually replaced reciprocating engines in electricity generating stations early in the 20th century, where their efficiency, higher speed appropriate to generator service, and smooth rotation were advantages. Today most electric power is provided by steam turbines. In the United States 90% of the electric power is produced in this way using a variety of heat sources. Steam turbines were extensively applied for propulsion of large ships throughout most of the 20th century.

Present development
Although the reciprocating steam engine is no longer in widespread commercial use, various companies are exploring or exploiting the potential of the engine as an alternative to internal combustion engines. The company Energiprojekt AB in Sweden has made progress in using modern materials for harnessing the power of steam. The efficiency of Energiprojekt’s steam engine reaches some 27–30% on high-pressure engines. It is a single-step, 5-cylinder engine (no compound) with superheated steam and consumes approx. 4 kg (8.8 lb) of steam per kWh.

Steam railways
While steam is seen with nostalgia or even longing for the “good old days” in places where the last steam service happened some decades past, many developing or emerging economies see the continued existence of any steam locomotives as “backwards” and an embarrassment. West Germany had a next-to-total ban of steam on mainline after the last official steam locomotives were withdrawn. Similar attitudes prevail today in some countries. That said, on marginal or otherwise abandoned lines, steam is still frequently to be seen and there is sometimes even a surcharge on tickets when steam locomotives operate compared to “regular” diesel trains.

Steamers, ships and boats
Before the widespread adoption of commercial air travel in the post-World War II era, mighty ocean liners plied the seas. The Royal Mail Ships of the RMS Titanic era, vying to transport the millionaires of the day, competed aggressively on both speed and luxury.

On inland rivers such as the Mississippi, the distinctive paddle wheel steamboat was once a common sight. A few still operate either as historic restorations or as replicas, imitations of varying accuracy.

Canada
RMS Segwun, Gravenhurst is a fully-operational restored steamship. Built in 1887, she originally transported vacationers to Muskoka cottages and delivered cargo and mail.
PS Trillium, Toronto, is a sidewheel paddle steamer which served as a Toronto Islands ferry from 1910-1957. She was restored and returned to service in the Toronto Island Ferry system in 1976.

England
A small number of small steam powered boats continue to operate on Windermere in the English Lake District.

Scotland
Steamship Sir Walter Scott, Trossachs Pier, Loch Katrine, By Callander, Stirling.
PS Waverley is the last sea-going paddle steamer in the world. Built in 1946, she sailed on the Firth of Clyde for many years. Since restoration, Waverley has operated regular excursions over the summer. Most are sailing from the Clyde, but there are also some trips up the west coast and Hebrides of Scotland, as well as around the Bristol Channel, Thames and south coast of England.

United States of America
Belle of Louisville, Louisville, Kentucky is the oldest operating Mississippi River-style steamboat and a National Historic Landmark.
Ticonderoga, Shelburne (Vermont) is a paddle steamer which served as a Lake Champlain ferry until 1969. Preserved and transported overland to the Shelburne Museum, she is now open for tours.

Static steam engines
The earliest use of steam power for industry was pumping (originally from mines), but large steam engines later become the motive power for all manner of industrial machinery, from textiles, to water supply. A few cities (including Otaru Japan, Vancouver Canada and Saint Helier Jersey) purport to operate a steam-powered clock – or a clock actuating a steam-powered whistle – as a local landmark in some central point in the village.

Canada
Pump House and Steam Museum, Kingston (Ontario), former steam-powered municipal water pumping station restored in the 1970s

England
Kew Bridge, Steam museum.
Bolton Steam Museum.
Forncett Industrial Steam Museum, Forncett St Mary, Norfolk, England NR16 1JJ, ☏ +44 1508 488277, ✉ forncettsteammuseum@gmail.com.

Australia
Cockatoo Island in Sydney is home to a working steam crane that used to be used loading boats.
Steam carousels, gallopers and fairground equipment

Netherlands
Steam Carousel, Efteling.

England
Carter’s is a touring funfair, with some of the vintage equipment (notably its Gallopers) being steam operated. Operates seasonally, on a touring schedule, so venues vary.

Traction engines and steam cars

England
Hollycombe Steam Collection

Safety
Steam engines possess boilers and other components that are pressure vessels that contain a great deal of potential energy. Steam escapes and boiler explosions (typically BLEVEs) can and have in the past caused great loss of life. While variations in standards may exist in different countries, stringent legal, testing, training, care with manufacture, operation and certification is applied to ensure safety.

Failure modes may include:

over-pressurisation of the boiler
insufficient water in the boiler causing overheating and vessel failure
buildup of sediment and scale which cause local hot spots, especially in riverboats using dirty feed water
pressure vessel failure of the boiler due to inadequate construction or maintenance.
escape of steam from pipework/boiler causing scalding

Steam engines frequently possess two independent mechanisms for ensuring that the pressure in the boiler does not go too high; one may be adjusted by the user, the second is typically designed as an ultimate fail-safe. Such safety valves traditionally used a simple lever to restrain a plug valve in the top of a boiler. One end of the lever carried a weight or spring that restrained the valve against steam pressure. Early valves could be adjusted by engine drivers, leading to many accidents when a driver fastened the valve down to allow greater steam pressure and more power from the engine. The more recent type of safety valve uses an adjustable spring-loaded valve, which is locked such that operators may not tamper with its adjustment unless a seal illegally is broken. This arrangement is considerably safer.

Lead fusible plugs may be present in the crown of the boiler’s firebox. If the water level drops, such that the temperature of the firebox crown increases significantly, the lead melts and the steam escapes, warning the operators, who may then manually suppress the fire. Except in the smallest of boilers the steam escape has little effect on dampening the fire. The plugs are also too small in area to lower steam pressure significantly, depressurizing the boiler. If they were any larger, the volume of escaping steam would itself endanger the crew.