2020年威尼斯狂欢节回顾,意大利

2020年威尼斯狂欢节将于2月8日至25日举行。2020年威尼斯狂欢节将围绕“相爱相守(love declined together)”为主题的一系列游戏与疯狂展开。超过 150 场活动、50 项针对儿童和年轻人的倡议,以及 300 多位艺术家参与的许多文化评论。所有传统节目都将得到确认,还有一些新闻,例如情人节在圣马可广场举办的惊喜活动,情人盛宴。

狂欢节期间的威尼斯引人入胜,历史悠久,表演和餐饮融为一体,当然还有华丽的服装,包括威尼斯闻名遐迩的奢华面具。如果您从未在威尼斯有过浪漫的邂逅,或许您将有机会了解为什么无数世代热血沸腾的情人都感叹威尼斯的浪漫是最好的浪漫。由于每年都对威尼斯节日充满期待,它总是吸引着来自意大利和世界各地的大量游客。

在嘉年华期间,街道上挤满了身着豪华喜庆服装的庆祝者;在狂欢节期间体验威尼斯就像时光倒流,没有现代建筑来破坏这种错觉。人们可以在街上闲逛,穿上戏服和街头表演,或者在习惯接待皇室成员的宫殿或酒店之一参加晚会、歌剧或音乐会。

受欢迎和令人兴奋的还有庆祝狂欢节第二个周末的 Corteo delle Marie 和 Flight of the Angel,例如来自世界各地的服装团体参加的最美丽面具竞赛,鹰的飞行),嘉年华玛丽的加冕礼和在忏悔星期二结束派对的表演,在色彩、掌声、五彩纸屑以及女孩主角的优雅和美丽中。

嘉年华迷人的一面是宫廷派对:灰泥、黄金、天鹅绒和蜡烛,体验是压倒性的和身临其境的:在食物和香水之间,仙女和爱慕者、皇后和朝臣、伟大的领袖、总督、红衣主教、喜剧演员和舞者欢迎在几分钟内忘记他们所属时代的客人。

整个晚上,您可能会经历走上烛光宫殿的楼梯,期待着卡萨诺瓦的进步;在波光粼粼的大运河上享用鸡尾酒,尽情享受感官享受;同时只向精心挑选的密友透露您的真实身份。在所有这些奢侈之后,也许你的夜晚以神秘、浪漫、月光幽会结束,让你着迷和喘不过气来,准备好迎接第二天的整个体验。

亮点活动
威尼斯狂欢节包括一系列露天公共活动,这些活动标志着为期两周的狂欢节。最重要和最喜庆的活动是根据威尼斯狂欢节之夜的节奏在宫殿中组织的蒙面舞会和私人派对。

威尼斯狂欢节是一种具有深厚文化底蕴的传统,具有意义和美感。每年这个时候,全世界也都聚集在一起,凝视它的壮丽。每年,威尼斯狂欢节都会将这座城市变成一场盛大的盛会,色彩缤纷,音乐表演,烟花汇演和迷人的威尼斯舞会。如果您想体验威尼斯的异国情调,狂欢节就是您的最佳选择。

一切都随着盛大开幕式的旗帜、船只、音乐和纯粹的能量而开始。被称为 Festa Veneziana 的开幕式在 Cannaregio 运河岸边举行,届时将是一场装饰华丽的船只、舞蹈和音乐表演的盛宴,并伴有耀眼的烟花。

在那之后,威尼斯狂欢节的日程安排充满了活动,例如今年 2 月 15 日的 Festa delle Marie。这个活动会看到从圣彼得罗迪卡斯特罗到圣马可广场的“十二玛丽亚”游行,是观看传统威尼斯服饰的绝佳机会。

同一天,游客可以参观位于 Ca’ Vendramin Calergi Palace 的奇迹画廊,那里有精美的艺术、喜剧表演和美味佳肴,配上狂野的服装,跳舞到深夜。宫殿随后举办了许多类似的活动,所以没有人需要错过。

在整个威尼斯狂欢节期间,游客还可以参加圣马可广场的蒙面服装比赛。在总决赛之前,参赛者将根据他们服装的真实性进行评分。

威尼斯狂欢节将于 2 月 25 日落下帷幕,届时巨大的“Leone di San Marco”——象征威尼斯的狮子旗——升至圣马可钟楼顶部的位置,由十二玛丽亚致敬。当天早些时候,您还可以观看迷人的 Zelarino 青年狂欢节,看到孩子们乘坐五颜六色的手推车游行到威尼斯的主广场。

以下是 2020 版的活动安排:

水上威尼斯节
威尼斯水上派对:2019 年狂欢节庆祝活动正在进行中 2 月 8 日星期六,水上图像和音乐表演将正式拉开威尼斯狂欢节的序幕。里约迪卡纳雷吉奥 (Rio di Cannaregio) 变成了一个真正的水上舞台,每年都会举办一场吸引数千名观众的表演,漂浮的结构将 2020 年威尼斯狂欢节的主题转移到水上“游戏、爱与疯狂”上。

2 月 9 日星期日,Voga alla Veneta 划船协会协调组织的水上游行将从蓬塔德拉多加纳沿着整个大运河离开停泊处,直到它到达受欢迎的里约迪卡纳雷吉奥,在那里它将在拥挤的人群中游行银行。

盛大开幕:Mestre Carnival Street Show 2020
2 月 9 日星期日,嘉年华和 2020 年第四届麦斯特嘉年华街头秀在梅斯特正式庆祝,并在费雷托广场 (Piazza Ferretto) 盛大开幕。(阅读详情)

情人节特别
2 月 14 日星期五晚上 7 点开始:圣瓦伦蒂诺之夜舞会 – 圣马可广场,威尼斯舞蹈学校将在舞蹈、音乐和魔法的爆炸中举办。在辉煌夫妇费德里卡·卡乔拉 (Federica Cacciola) 和汤米·维 (Tommy Vee) 的管理下,以及不拘一格的莫里斯王子 (Prince Maurice) 的闯入。

麦斯特嘉年华街头秀
从 2 月 15 日起:第三年,梅斯特雷在城市街道上庆祝艺术和娱乐活动,通过音乐和街头艺术表演为广场、街道和拱廊增添活力。在费雷托广场 (Piazza Ferretto) 和城市的其他街道上,放飞自我的音乐家、鲁莽的杂技演员和奢侈的艺术家为丰富多彩、有趣且最重要的原创动画注入了活力。

Bici al Bacio – The Astrocicli
Pedalia 的 Astrocicli 与 Circo Patuf 的艺术家们一起骑着大大的旅行吻在爱的街道上旅行。老少皆宜的动画和杂技表演,灵感来自电影院最美丽的吻和糕点店最甜蜜的吻!从 2 月 15 日到 25 日,为期 11 天的节目安排了大约 20 个阶段:Campalto、Tessera、Tarù、Chirignago、Lido、Marghera、Trivignano、Malcontenta、Piraghetto 和 via Piave。

Festa delle Marie 游行
2 月 15 日星期六:传统的“Festa delle Marie”于下午 2.30 左右从圣皮耶罗迪卡斯特罗开始,将沿途经过加里波第和里瓦德利夏沃尼,进行壮观的游行,并于下午 4 点左右到达圣马可广场的舞台, 2020 年威尼斯狂欢节的官方介绍将在那里向公众进行。

恋爱中的官方晚宴
2 月 15 日至 16 日和 2 月 20 日至 25 日在 Ca’Vendramin Calergi 举行。Dinner Show 充满激情,在声音、色彩和风味之间,营造出游戏、娱乐和纯粹乐趣的体验。瓦格纳餐厅主厨提供的丰富菜单、莫里斯王子的欢迎、NuArt 令人兴奋的艺术表演、Dj Oyadi 和 Gloria Fregonese 的音乐、威尼斯工作室 Pietro Longhi 和 Nicolao 的服装。

阿森纳 2020
2 月 15 日和 21 日至 24 日,Tese 93-94:年轻人最期待的地点回归,在军械库 Tese 为威尼斯狂欢节的夜晚增添活力。晚上的设计不仅是为了娱乐,而且是为了激发变相的想象力。现场音乐和 Dj 设置直到 03.30 与国际艺术家。

里亚托狂欢节
2 月 15 日至 25 日:由 Campo Rialto Novo 和毗邻公民委员会、Mattacino 和 Rialto Mio 协会组织的威尼斯狂欢节的众多活动回归,为里亚托地区提供适合所有口味和年龄的建议。

天使的飞行
2 月 16 日星期日:令人兴奋的 2019 年威尼斯狂欢节天使的飞行于 12 点在圣马可广场正式开启狂欢节庆祝活动。今年将是Lina Pani。在拥挤的花坛中受到成群结队的历史重演服装的欢迎,它将在总督和公众的怀抱中化解飞行的紧张气氛。

穆拉诺狂欢节
2 月 16 日星期日:与去年一样,一群母亲组织了 Murano 2020 嘉年华:为岛上的家庭和居民举办游行和派对。他们希望保持活力是社区的传统,并且涉及整个人口,包括企业。

最美面具大赛
从 2 月 20 日星期四到 2 月 23 日星期日:参与者在 T 台上游行,在每日双重约会中用服装、面具和假发互相挑战。比赛在情感、色彩和惊喜方面变得更加丰富。

公牛头被砍下的面具之歌
2 月 20 日星期四:“公牛头的切割”是威尼斯狂欢节的“胖星期四”派对,下午 5 点将在圣马可广场上演一场精彩的表演。由 Compagnia L’Arte dei Mascareri 协会组织的活动。

无敌爱情的故事
2 月 21 日星期五:下午 3 点和下午 5 点在圣马可广场。该节目唤起了尼科洛蒂和卡斯特拉尼之间古老的斗争:在引人入胜的叙事中,两个派系之间的斗争创造了在场观众的情感参与。

布拉诺狂欢节
这一传统任命的庆祝活动策划了
由非独奏嘉年华协会安排在狂欢节的最后一个周末,在忏悔星期二举行寓言花车游行。

威尼斯丽都的花车游行
2 月 21 日星期五:下午 4 点 30 分开始在 Gran Viale S. Maria Elisabetta 举行寓言花车游行,从 Riviera San Nicolò、Gran Viale 的嘉年华市场和运动员的嘉年华出发,并在 Pellestrina 举行晨会。

马格拉花车游行
2 月 22 日星期六:大型蒙面花车和许多当地团体将沿着“花园城市”的街道游行:像往常一样,游行将在广场梅尔卡托进行两个通道,在游行结束时,参与团体将授予。

鹰的飞行
2 月 23 日星期日:按照不可错过的传统,2020 年威尼斯嘉年华还将展示鹰从钟楼飞往圣马可广场的奇观。这个名字和往常一样,只会在嘉年华活动的准备阶段公布,每年都会有一些惊喜!

驴子的飞行
2 月 23 日星期日:Volo dell’Asino,大陆狂欢节计划中最受期待的活动之一。每年 12:00 的精确行程都有惊人的消息,传统的驴飞行被发现。这是 Mestre Carnival Street Show 狂欢节的最后一个星期天,在节日的中心费雷托广场 (Piazza Ferretto) 举行了一场漫长的表演、游戏和表演马拉松。

嘉年华短跑赛舟会
2 月 23 日星期日下午 2 点开始。嘉年华赛舟会,从 Ca’Vendramin Calergi 到 Rialto 的众多船员将在冠军、女性和非常年轻的混合团队之间进行冲刺赛。在里亚托的 Pescheria 举行的最后颁奖典礼。

坎帕尔托的花车游行
2 月 23 日星期日:在 2019 年恢复后,传统的寓言花车游行将于下午 2 点 30 分开始。花车将在城市街道上游行超过一公里,直到圣贝内代托教堂。游行将以颁发最美丽的花车结束。

泽拉里诺儿童嘉年华
2 月 25 日星期二:Zelarino 儿童嘉年华,现已举办到第 53 届,今年将再次为您带来两个欢乐时刻。从 14.45 开始,镇主要街道上的一排寓言花车伴随着来自威尼斯各省的蒙面团体。

“斯沃洛德尔莱昂”
2 月 25 日星期二:我们庆祝对圣马可有翼狮子的最高敬意,圣马可狮子是我们城市的象征,特别是,它将爬上画在大风景布上的钟楼,飞越广场上的公众。从下午 5 点开始,十二位威尼斯少女玛丽将在圣马可广场的舞台上迎接他。

历史
威尼斯狂欢节是一年一度在意大利威尼斯举行的节日。它是世界上最著名和最受欢迎的狂欢节之一。这个节日以其精心制作的面具而闻名于世。它的起源非常古老:第一个证据可以追溯到 1094 年 Doge Vitale Falier 的一份文件,其中讨论了公共娱乐,并且第一次提到了嘉年华这个词。

威尼斯寡头组织的狂欢节制度通常归因于 Serenissima 的需要,就像古罗马已经发生的事情一样(参见 panem et circenses),授予人口,尤其是最卑微的社会阶层,一个完全致力于娱乐的时期和庆祝活动,在此期间,威尼斯人和外国人蜂拥而至整个城市,在狂野的音乐和舞蹈中狂欢。

通过面具和服装保证的匿名性,实现了一种所有社会分化的拉平,甚至当局和贵族的公开嘲笑也得到了授权。这些让步得到了广泛的容忍,并被认为是解决威尼斯共和国内部不可避免地出现的紧张和不满的天赐之道,威尼斯共和国在共同道德和公共秩序等问题上对其公民进行了严格限制。

现代嘉年华
仅在 1979 年,威尼斯狂欢节的百年传统才正式从灰烬中复活,这要归功于一些公民协会的倡议和承诺以及威尼斯市政府、凤凰剧院的后勤和经济贡献。威尼斯双年展和旅游局。

在几个版本中,也得益于为活动和城市保留的媒体曝光度,威尼斯狂欢节重新追寻古老活动的足迹,并取得了巨大成功,尽管方式和氛围不同。

这个新嘉年华的各个年度版本经常被区分并致力于一个基本主题,这激发了他们举办派对和周边文化活动的灵感。一些版本的特点还在于与其他意大利和欧洲城市的组合和结对,从而使该活动在国际层面上得到进一步参与。

目前的威尼斯狂欢节已经成为一个伟大而壮观的旅游盛会,吸引了来自世界各地的成千上万的游客涌入这座城市,参加这个因其历史、氛围和面具而被认为独一无二的节日。

威尼斯狂欢节传统上最重要的日子是星期四忏悔和星期二忏悔,即使最大的涌入肯定是在活动的周末期间记录的。

假期
随着最近的嘉年华第一届,新的重大活动的活动计划和详细的日历同步建立。官方庆祝活动的开始日期与忏悔星期四之前的星期六和忏悔星期二结束一致,总共只有 11 天。与过去很长一段时间官方为期六周的狂欢节不同,现代狂欢节有一个集中的节目,但充满了个人事件。

与过去一样,威尼斯狂欢节仍然是一个深受各个年龄段观众欢迎的盛大节日。街头派对和各种各样的活动使成群的面具和游客的日子充满活力,他们快乐地分散在城市周围。除了在 Campi 和 Campielli 之间的广场举行官方派对外,今天仍然像过去一样在威尼斯的大宫殿中组织各种私人派对和假面舞会。在这些地方,随着时间的推移,丰富的家具和氛围几乎没有变化,可以重温过去的狂欢节的古老辉煌和传统。

玛利亚的盛宴
直到 1999 年,古老的 Festa delle Marie 才终于得以修复,其氛围将古代游行的历史再现与更现代的服装选美女孩相结合。大约六百年后,布鲁诺·托西 (Bruno Tosi) 正式复兴了它

在嘉年华前几周,当地的年轻美女会在庆祝活动中选出注定要游行的十二位玛丽亚作为游行的主角。派对通常在狂欢节的第一个星期六的下午举行,届时十二个圣母玛利亚伴随着由伴娘、挥旗手、音乐家和数百名身着古装的其他人物组成的长队,开始了从 San Pietro di Castello 教堂开始缓慢步行,前往圣马可广场,在一群面具和游客之间。

第二天,在圣马可广场,伴娘们再次游行,等待官方宣布该版本的获胜者,即十二位最美丽的人(所谓的年度玛丽),并颁发丰厚的奖品。

天使的飞行
在现代狂欢节中,它决定以类似于原始狂欢节的形式重新呈现给公众,天使飞行的周年纪念日,在其变种 Volo della Colombina 中。虽然过去这个节目在忏悔星期四庆祝,但在现代版本中,它通常在庆祝活动的第一个星期天中午举行,作为正式宣布狂欢节开始的开幕活动之一。直到 2000 年版,在欢呼的人群上方,目光转向圣马可钟楼,一只鸽子形状的机械鸟像过去一样,在绳索上向总督宫下降。大约进行到一半时,在其下部打开了一个活板门,

自 2001 年以来,即千禧年的第一个版本,天使飞行的旧公式再次得到通过,用真正的艺术家取代了哥伦比亚,并结束了在圣马可广场的下降。2001 年的飞行委托给了 Compagnia dei Folli,后者为此次活动借出了自己的艺术家。对于每一版,嘉年华天使都被固定在金属缆绳上,从钟楼的钟楼上唯一一次下降,慢慢滑向地面,悬浮在虚空中,在填充下方空间的人群上方。

Tags:

Review of Venice Carnival 2020, Italy

The Venice Carnival 2020 last from February 8 to 25. The 2020 edition of the Venice Carnival will revolve around the theme of love declined together with the game and a pinch of madness. More than 150 events, 50 initiatives for children and young people, as many cultural reviews with the participation of over 300 artists. All traditional shows will be confirmed, with some more news such as the surprise event scheduled in Piazza San Marco for Valentine’s Day, the feast of lovers.

Venice during the Carnival is spellbinding, with a historically rich mixture of performance and dining, and, of course, the magnificent costumes, including the extravagant masks for which Venice is so famous. If you have never had a romantic encounter in Venice, perhaps you will have an opportunity to learn why countless generations of impassioned lovers have exclaimed that romance in Venice is the best romance there is. As every year there is great expectation for the Venetian festival, which always attracts a large number of tourists from all over Italy and the world for the occasion.

In the Carnival, the streets are filled with celebrants dressed in luxurious, festive garb; experiencing Venice during the Carnival is like stepping back in time, with no modern buildings to spoil the illusion. One can wander the streets, taking in the costumes and street performances, or attend an evening party, an opera or concert, in one of the palaces or hotels accustomed to hosting royalty.

Popular and exciting are also the Corteo delle Marie and the Flight of the Angel which celebrate the second weekend of Carnival, such as the Competition for the most beautiful mask in which costumed groups from all over the world participate, the Flight of the Eagle (Sunday), the coronation of the Carnival Mary and the shows that close the party on Shrove Tuesday, in a riot of colors, applause, confetti and the grace and beauty of the girls protagonists.

The glamorous side of Carnival is that of the palace parties: stuccos, golds, velvets and candles, the experience is overwhelming and immersive: between food and perfumes couples of fairies and satyrs, queens and courtiers, great leaders, doges, cardinals, comedians and dancers welcome guests who in a few minutes forget the era to which they belong.

All of an evening you might experience walking up the stairs of a candlelit palace, expecting Casanova to make his advances; enjoying cocktails over the glimmering Grand Canal, abandoning your senses to pleasure; all while revealing your true identity only to carefully chosen intimates. After all this extravagance perhaps your night is completed by a mysterious, romantic, moonlight tryst, leaving you entranced and breathless, ready to meet the whole experience again the following day.

Highlight events
The Venice Carnival includes a series of open-air public events that punctuate the two-weeks Carnival. The most important and festive events are masked balls and private parties organised in palaces to the rhythm of the nights of the Venice Carnival.

Venice Carnival is one traditions with strong foundation in culture with the significance and beauty. The whole world also gathers every year around this time gaze on its grandeur. Every year, the Venice Carnival turns the city into a spectacular riot of pageantry, colour, musical performances, fireworks displays and glamorous Venetian balls. If you want to experience the exotic atmosphere of Venice at its best, carnival is the time to go.

Everything kicks off with a blaze of flags, boats, music and sheer energy with the Grand Opening. Known as the Festa Veneziana, the opening takes place on the banks of the Cannaregio canal and will be a feast of gorgeously decorated boats, dance and music shows topped off with dazzling fireworks.

After that, the Venice Carnival’s schedule is packed with events such as the Festa delle Marie on 15th February this year. This event sees the “Twelve Marias” parade from San Pietro di Castello to San Marco Square and is a great chance to see traditional Venetian costumes.

On the same day, visitors could attend the Gallery of Wonders at the Ca’ Vendramin Calergi Palace, where fine art, comedic performances and delicious food combine with wild costumes and dancing long into the night. The palace then hosts a number of similar events, so nobody need to miss out.

Throughout the Carnival of Venice, visitors can also attend masked costume contests in the Piazza San Marco. Contestants are graded on the authenticity of their outfits before the Grand Finale.

Venice Carnival come to the finale on February 25, when the huge “Leone di San Marco” – the lion flag that symbolises Venice – is raised to its place at the top of the bell tower of San Marco to be saluted by the Twelve Marias. Earlier in the day, you could also watch the charming Carnival of Youth of Zelarino, which sees children parade in their colourful carts to Venice’s main square.

The following was the program of the 2020 edition:

The Venetian Festival on the water
Venetian party on the water: the 2019 Carnival celebrations are underwayOn Saturday 8 February the show of aquatic images and music will officially open the Venice Carnival. The Rio di Cannaregio is transformed into a real water stage with a show that enchants thousands of spectators every year, where floating structures transfer the theme of the Venice Carnival 2020 onto the water “The Game, Love and Madness “.

On Sunday 9 February the water parade of the Coordination of Rowing Associations Voga alla Veneta will leave its moorings from Punta della Dogana along the entire Grand Canal until it reaches the popular Rio di Cannaregio, where it will parade in a riot of crowds crowded on the banks.

Grand Opening: Mestre Carnival Street Show 2020
On Sunday 9 February in Mestre the Carnival and the fourth edition of the Mestre Carnival Street Show 2020 are officially celebrated, with an extraordinary Grand Opening in Piazza Ferretto. (READ THE DETAILS)

Valentine’s day special
Friday 14 February from 7 pm: San Valentino Night Ball – Piazza San Marco, will host the Venetian dance schools in an explosion of dance, music and magic. With the management of the splendid couple Federica Cacciola and Tommy Vee, and the intrusions of the eclectic Prince Maurice.

Mestre Carnival Street Show
From February 15: For the third year, Mestre celebrates art and entertainment in the streets of the city, animating squares, streets and arcades with music and street art shows. Widespread shows, where unleashed musicians, reckless acrobats and extravagant artists give life to a colorful, fun and above all original animation, in Piazza Ferretto and in the other streets of the city.

Bici al Bacio – The Astrocicli
Pedalia’s Astrocicli, with the artists of the Circo Patuf, travel the streets of Love riding large traveling kisses. Animation and acrobatic performance for young and old, inspired by the most beautiful kisses of the cinema and the sweetest kisses of the pastry shop! From 15 to 25 February, 11 days of programming for about 20 stages: Campalto, Tessera, Tarù, Chirignago, Lido, Marghera, Trivignano, Malcontenta, Piraghetto and via Piave.

Procession of the Festa delle Marie
Saturday 15 February: the traditional “Festa delle Marie” starts from San Piero di Castello at around 2.30 pm, will travel along via Garibaldi and Riva degli Schiavoni in a spectacular procession, and will arrive on the stage in Piazza San Marco around 4.00 pm, where the official presentation will take place to the public of the Carnival of Venice 2020.

The Official Dinner Ball in Love
From 15 to 16 and from 20 to 25 February at Ca ‘Vendramin Calergi. The Dinner Show intoxicates with passion, between sounds, colors and flavors, creating an experience of games, entertainment and pure fun. Rich menu proposed by the chefs of the Wagner Restaurant, the welcome of Prince Maurice, the exciting artistic performances of NuArt, the music of Dj Oyadi and Gloria Fregonese, the costumes of the Venetian Ateliers Pietro Longhi and Nicolao.

Arsenal 2020
15 and 21-24 February, Tese 93-94: The location most awaited by young people returns to animate the nights of the Venice Carnival in the Tese of the Arsenale. Evenings designed not only to entertain but also to stimulate the imagination in disguise. Live Music and Dj-set until 03.30 with international artists.

Rialto Carnival
From 15 to 25 February: Numerous events of the Venetian carnival, organized by the Campo Rialto Novo and Adjacency Citizens Committee, the Mattacino and Rialto Mio Association return to animate the Rialto area with proposals for all tastes and ages.

The flight of the angel
Sunday 16 February: The exciting Flight of the Angel of the Venice Carnival 2019 officially opens the Carnival celebrations in Piazza San Marco at 12.00. This year it will be Lina Pani. Welcomed in the crowded parterre by the groups of historical re-enactments in costume, it will dissolve the tension of the flight in the embrace of the Doge and the public.

Murano Carnival
Sunday 16 February: a group of mothers, as last year, organize the Murano 2020 Carnival: a parade and a party for families and the inhabitants of the island. It is a tradition of the community that they want to keep alive and that involves the whole population, including businesses.

The most beautiful mask contest
From Thursday 20 February to Sunday 23 February: participants parade on the catwalk, challenging each other with costumes, masks and wigs in the double daily appointment. The competition becomes even richer in emotions, colors and surprises.

Ballad of the Masks with the Cutting of the Bull’s Head
Thursday 20 February: “The Cutting of the Bull’s Head” is the Fat Thursday party of the Venice Carnival which will end with a great show in St. Mark’s Square at 5.00 pm. Event organized by the Compagnia L’Arte dei Mascareri Association.

Story of an Invincible Love
Friday 21 February: 3.00 pm and 5.00 pm in Piazza San Marco. The show evokes the ancient struggles between Nicolotti and Castellani: in a compelling narrative, the fight between the two factions creates an emotional involvement of the audience present.

Carnival of Burano
The celebrations of this traditional appointment curated
by the Non Solo Carnevale Association are scheduled during the last weekend of carnival, with the parade of allegorical floats on Shrove Tuesday.

Parade of floats at the Lido of Venice
Friday 21 February: from 4.30 pm parade of allegorical floats in Gran Viale S. Maria Elisabetta, departing from Riviera San Nicolò, Carnival Market in Gran Viale and Carnival of the sportsman, and with a morning prologue in Pellestrina.

Parade of floats in Marghera
Saturday 22 February: large masked floats and as many local groups will parade along the streets of the “Garden City”: as usual, the procession will make two passages in Piazza Mercato where, at the end of the parade, the participating groups will be awarded.

The Flight of the Eagle
Sunday 23 February: as per unmissable tradition, the 2020 edition of the Venice Carnival will also feature the spectacle of the Eagle’s flight from the Campanile to Piazza San Marco. The name, as usual, will be revealed only in the preparation phases of the Carnival events and which each year holds some great surprises!

The flight of the Donkey
Sunday 23 February: Volo dell’Asino, one of the most anticipated events of the carnival program on the mainland. Every year amazing news at the precise stroke of 12:00 the traditional Donkey Flight to be discovered. It is the last Sunday of Carnival at the Mestre Carnival Street Show with a long marathon of shows, games, performances in Piazza Ferretto, the heart of the festival.

Carnival Sprint Regatta
Sunday 23 February from 2.30pm. The Carnival regatta, numerous crews will compete from Ca ‘Vendramin Calergi to Rialto with sprint regattas between mixed teams of champions, women and very young people. Final award ceremony at the Pescheria in Rialto.

Parade of floats in Campalto
Sunday 23 February: after the resumption in 2019, the traditional parade of allegorical floats is confirmed starting at 2.30 pm. The floats will parade for over a kilometer in the city streets up to the church of San Benedetto. The parade will end with the awarding of the most beautiful floats.

Zelarino Children’s Carnival
Tuesday 25 February: the Zelarino Children’s Carnival, now in its 53rd edition, awaits you again this year with two moments of fun. From 14.45 the row of allegorical floats in the main street of the town accompanied by masked groups from the various Venetian provinces.

The “Svolo del Leon”
Tuesday 25 February: we celebrate the highest tributes to the winged Lion of San Marco, the symbol of our city which, exceptionally, will climb the bell tower painted on a large scenic cloth to fly over the public in the square. The twelve Venetian maidens, the Marie, will welcome him from 5.00 pm on the stage in Piazza San Marco.

History
The Carnival of Venice is an annual festival held in Venice, Italy. It is one of the best known and most popular carnivals in the world. The festival is world-famous for its elaborate masks. Its origins are very ancient: the first evidence dates back to a document of the Doge Vitale Falier of 1094, where there is talk of public entertainment and in which the word Carnival is mentioned for the first time.

The institution of the Carnival by the Venetian oligarchies is generally attributed to the need of the Serenissima, like what already happened in ancient Rome (see panem et circenses), to grant the population, especially the humblest social classes, a period dedicated entirely for fun and celebrations, during which Venetians and foreigners flocked throughout the city to party with wild music and dancing.

Through the anonymity that masks and costumes guaranteed, a sort of leveling of all social divisions was achieved and even the public derision of the authorities and the aristocracy was authorized. These concessions were widely tolerated and considered a providential outlet to the tensions and discontent that inevitably arose within the Republic of Venice, which placed strict limits on its citizens on issues such as common morality and public order.

The Modern Carnival
Only in 1979, the centuries-old tradition of the Venice Carnival officially rose from its ashes, thanks to the initiative and commitment of some citizens’ associations and the logistical and economic contribution of the Municipality of Venice, of the Teatro la Fenice., of the Venice Biennale and tourist boards.

Within a few editions, thanks also to the media visibility reserved for the event and the city, the Venice Carnival has returned to tracing the footsteps of the ancient event with great success, albeit in different ways and atmospheres.

The individual annual editions of this new Carnival have often been distinguished and dedicated to a basic theme, which inspires them for parties and surrounding cultural events. Some editions were also characterized by combinations and twinning with other Italian and European cities, thus providing further involvement of the event at an international level.

The current Carnival of Venice has become a great and spectacular tourist event, which attracts thousands of visitors from all over the world who flock to the city to participate in this festival considered unique for its history, atmosphere and masks.

The traditionally most important days of the Venetian Carnival are Shrove Thursday and Shrove Tuesday, even if the greatest influxes are certainly recorded during the weekends of the event.

The holidays
With the first edition of the recent Carnival, a program of events and a detailed calendar for the new major event are simultaneously established. The date for the start of the official celebrations is established to coincide with the Saturday before Shrove Thursday and the end with Shrove Tuesday, for a total duration of only eleven days. Unlike the Carnival of the past, which for a long time had an official duration of six weeks, the modern one takes place with a concentrated program, but full of individual events.

As in the past, the Carnival of Venice still represents a great popular festival for a large audience of all ages. Street parties and events of all kinds animate the days of the groups of masks and tourists, who happily scatter around the city. In addition to the official parties in the square between campi and campielli, still today as in the past various private parties and masked balls are organized in the great Venetian palaces. In these places, rich in furnishings and atmospheres almost unchanged over time, it is possible to relive the ancient splendors and the tradition of the Carnival of the past.

The Feast of the Marys
Only in 1999 the ancient Festa delle Marie was finally restored, with an atmosphere that combines the historical re-enactment of the ancient procession with the girls with a more modern beauty pageant in costume. It was officially revived about six hundred years later, by Bruno Tosi

In the weeks preceding the Carnival, a sort of selection is held among the young local beauties to choose the twelve Marys destined to parade as protagonists of the procession, during the celebration. The party generally takes place on the afternoon of the first Saturday of the Carnival, when the twelve Marys, accompanied by a long procession made up of a procession of bridesmaids, flag-wavers, musicians and hundreds of other figures in period costume, begins its slow walk starting from the church of San Pietro di Castello and heading towards Piazza San Marco, between the wings of a crowd of masks and tourists.

In Piazza San Marco, the next day, the bridesmaids parade again awaiting the official proclamation of the winner of the edition, the most beautiful of the twelve (the so-called Mary of the year), to whom a substantial prize is awarded.

The Flight of the Angel
In the modern Carnival it was decided to re-present to the public, in a guise similar to the original one of the ancient Carnival, the anniversary of the Flight of the Angel, in its variant of Volo della Colombina. While in the past this show was celebrated on Shrove Thursday, in modern editions it is generally held at noon on the first Sunday of celebration, as one of the opening events that officially decree the beginning of the Carnival itself. Until the 2000 edition, above a cheering crowd, with its gaze turned to the Campanile of San Marco, a mechanical bird with the shape of a dove carried out, as in the past, its descent on the rope towards the Doge’s Palace. Approximately halfway through, a trap door was opened in its lower part,

Since the 2001 edition, the first of the millennium, the old formula of the Flight of the Angel has been passed again, replacing the Colombina with a real artist and ending the descent in Piazza San Marco. The 2001 flight was entrusted to the Compagnia dei Folli, which lent its own artist for the event. For each edition, the Angel of the Carnival, secured to a metal cable, makes his only descent from the belfry of the bell tower, slowly sliding towards the ground, suspended in the void, above the multitude that fills the space below.

Tags: