متحف موجين للفن الكلاسيكي ، فرنسا

متحف Mougins للفنون الكلاسيكية (MACM) هو متحف فني يقع في قرية Mougins ، في منطقة Alp-Maritimes في فرنسا. يبعد 30 دقيقة عن مطار نيس و 15 دقيقة عن وسط مدينة كان. وقد فاز المتحف بالعديد من الجوائز الدولية وأعار عشرات القطع الأثرية للمتاحف والمعارض الجامعية الأخرى في جميع أنحاء العالم.

اكتشف ، عند مدخل قرية موجين القديمة ، كيف أثر جمال العالم القديم على الفن الكلاسيكي الحديث والحديث والمعاصر. تضم المجموعة الكبيرة والمتنوعة من الآثار في المتحف النحت الروماني واليوناني والمصري والمزهريات والعملات المعدنية والمجوهرات وأكبر مجموعة خاصة في العالم من الأسلحة والدروع القديمة.

تضم المجموعة الكبيرة والمتنوعة من الآثار في المتحف النحت الروماني واليوناني والمصري والمزهريات والعملات المعدنية والمجوهرات ، وكذلك أكبر مجموعة خاصة في العالم من الأسلحة والدروع القديمة. تتخلل هذه الأعمال الفنية القديمة لوحات ورسومات ومنحوتات مستوحاة بشكل كلاسيكي من قبل فنانين مثل بيكاسو ، ماتيس ، شاغال ، دوفي ، سيزان ، رودين ، دالي ، آندي وارهول ، مارك كوين ، أنتوني جورملي ، وداميان هيرست ، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر .

تتخلل الأعمال الفنية القديمة اللوحات والرسومات والمنحوتات من قبل فنانين مثل Henri Matisse و Marc Chagall و Raoul Dufy و Paul Cézanne و Auguste Rodin و Salvador Dalí و Andy Warhol و Marc Quinn و Antony Gormley و Damien Hirst وغيرهم. تتضمن المجموعة أيضًا أعمالًا لفنانين أمضوا بعض الوقت في موجينس ، مثل فرانسيس بيكابيا ، وجان كوكتو ، ومان راي ، وبابلو بيكاسو (الذي قضى آخر 12 عامًا من حياته في قرية موجينس).

مفهوم
على الرغم من أن معظم الأشياء المعروضة هي من الآثار ، إلا أن المتحف يحتضن مفهوم عرض الفن القديم والكلاسيكي الحديث والحديث والمعاصر جنبًا إلى جنب لإظهار التأثير المنتشر والدائم للعالم القديم. وهكذا يتم تضمين أعمال السير بيتر بول روبنز ومارك شاغال وهنري ماتيس وداميان هيرست وغيرهم في المتحف إلى جانب الإلهام القديم.

هذا الحوار والاندماج بين القديم والحديث واضح بشكل خاص في المتحف حيث ، على سبيل المثال ، تصاحب صور الإلهة اليونانية أفروديت من قبل وارهول ودالي وإيفز كلاين صور القرن الأول والثاني بعد الميلاد للإلهة بالرخام والبرونز.

التاريخ
في عام 2008 ، كان لدى كريستيان ليفيت ، تاجر وجامع إنجليزي فكرة بناء متحف لمشاركة مجموعته الفنية مع عامة الناس. تستثمر 8 مليون يورو في المشروع.

مؤسس المتحف كريستيان ليفيت ، مدير استثمار بريطاني شغوف بالتاريخ والفن. جامع متعصب ولكن أخلاقي للغاية منذ الطفولة. في عام 2009 ، قرر تشكيل متحف لعرض مجموعته الفنية القديمة والتقليدية على العرض العام ، وافتتح متحف موجينز للجمهور في يونيو 2011. ومنذ ذلك الحين ، انتقل المتحف من قوة إلى قوة ، وفاز بجوائز دولية وإقراض عشرات من أشياء للمتاحف والمعارض الجامعية الأخرى في جميع أنحاء العالم.

كريستيان نفسه هو فاعل خير في هذا المجال ، يرعى معارض متعددة في المتحف البريطاني ، والأكاديمية الملكية ، والمعرض الوطني ، ومتحف السير جون سوان ومتحف أشموليان في أكسفورد. قام بتمويل الأعمال الأثرية في المملكة المتحدة وإيطاليا ومصر وإسبانيا.

قام برعاية المنح الدراسية الأكاديمية في كلية ولفسون وكلية روسكين للفنون في أكسفورد وساعد في تمويل الإشراف في متحف أشموليان والمتحف البريطاني والمدرسة البريطانية في روما. قام بتمويل أعمال التجديد في متحف تشارترهاوس لندن ، وشارع تشارترهاوس ساري ، والمعرض الوطني ومتحف L’Eglise de Notre Dame de Vie Mougins ، وقام برعاية المؤتمرات في King’s College London ، ومجلس الشيوخ في جامعة كاليفورنيا ، ومتحف Mougins.

وهو عضو في لجنة الأسلحة والدروع في متحف متروبوليتان في نيويورك وعضو مجلس زوار متحف أشموليان أكسفورد وعضو سابق في مجلس إدارة جدار هادريان. كريستيان هو أيضًا زميل فخري في متحف أشموليان ، وزميل فخري في كلية ولفسون أوكسفورد وعضو في محكمة المستشارين بجامعة أكسفورد.

مجموعة
ينتشر MACM على أربعة طوابق ترتيبًا زمنيًا من سرداب إلى الطابق الثاني على النحو التالي: يصور المعرض المصري ، في سرداب ، موضوع الحياة الآخرة بأقنعة جنائزية ، والعديد من القطع الأثرية القديمة الأخرى والتابوت ، تتخللها أعمال من شاغال ، كالدر وروبنز وكوكتو. يقدم معرض الأشخاص والشخصيات في الطابق الأرضي تماثيل نصفية وتماثيل لشخصيات تاريخية من اليونان القديمة وروما ، وأبرز تأثيرها من خلال منحوتات سوسنو وأرمان وكوين وهيرست. يعرض معرض الآلهة والإلهات ، في الطابق الأول ، تماثيل برونزية ورومانية يونانية ورومانية ، ورؤوس وتماثيل نصفية ، وصناعة الفخار والزجاج والفضيات ، ومجموعة واسعة من العملات المعدنية وعلبة عرض المجوهرات العتيقة. أعمال الفنانين الكلاسيكيين الحديثين مثل رينوار ورودين وكلين ووارول وبيكاسو وموديجلياني ، كما يتم عرض براك ودالي في المتحف. يعرض مخزن الأسلحة ، في الطابق الثاني ، أكبر مجموعة خاصة من الأسلحة والدروع اليونانية والرومانية في العالم.

معرض دائم
يتكون MACM من أربعة طوابق مرتبة ترتيبًا زمنيًا من الطابق السفلي إلى الطابق الثاني. تتطور المجموعة الدائمة في MACM باستمرار. يتم الحصول على قطع جديدة بهدف دعم وتطوير مفهوم المتحف لدمج الفن القديم والحديث وتأثير العصور القديمة على الإبداع الفني اللاحق. استضاف المتحف أيضًا وشارك في العديد من المعارض المؤقتة:

الفن الكلاسيكي
مستوحاة بشكل واضح من العوالم القديمة. كان لمعارضنا الرائعة للمواد المصرية واليونانية والرومانية تأثير عميق عبر التاريخ بحيث ألهمت هذه الحضارات العظيمة أجيالًا لا حصر لها من الفنانين لتسجيل وإعادة تفسير أفكارهم عن العالم القديم.

في المعرض المصري ، يتم عرض هذا بشكل رسومي من خلال اللوحات الحديثة لألكسندر كالدر ومارك شاغال وجان كوكتو وهنري نيومان وهوبرت روبرت.

يستمر هذا الاتجاه التكميلي والمواضيعي بمعنى أن اليونان القديمة أعيد إنشاؤها من خلال المهارة الفنية لجورج براكز ، كيث هارينغ ، أندريه ماسون وبابلو بيكاسو.

يتم التعبير عن تجاور الفن القديم والكلاسيكي الحديث والمعاصر بشكل كبير وأنيق في سلسلة من الترتيبات العبقرية التي تجمع بين التماثيل القديمة لفينوس مع إيف فينوس الأزرق فينوس ، ولادة فينوس بواسطة آندي وارهول ونحت سلفادور دالي فينوس كزرافة. ؛ رأس من الرخام الروماني للإمبراطور كركلا ورسم التمثال النصفي من قبل هنري ماتيس ؛ مشاهد وشخصيات أسطورية تم تصويرها في أعمال فنية كتبها رينوار أو روبنز أو هيرست على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ، والعديد من الترتيبات الجديدة في علم المتاحف.

بدروم: مصر
اكتشف القبو وكنوزه في موجينس. في الطابق السفلي هو المعرض المصري. مخصص لموضوع Beyond ، تم تصميمه في شكل سرداب. ويشمل النقوش المقابر والأقنعة والألواح الجنائزية وتماثيل الآلهة والإلهات التي يرجع تاريخها من المملكة القديمة إلى العصر البطلمي وكذلك الأعمال الحديثة لألكسندر كالدر وجان كوكتو.

معرض MACM المصري ، The Crypt ، يستحضر العالم السفلي المصري والجوفية بشكل مناسب على شكل مقبرة لاستيعاب القطع الأثرية ذات الارتباط الخاص بالحياة الآخرة.

وتشمل هذه مجموعة رائعة من النقوش المقبرة والأقنعة والألواح الجنائزية والآلهة الأصغر والآلهة من البرونز والخشب ، وبلغت ذروتها في تابوت خشبي مدهون مدهش.

تمثل المادة المدى الكامل لعلم المصريات ، من المملكة القديمة (2686 قبل الميلاد – 2181 قبل الميلاد) إلى العصر البطلمي (332 – 330 قبل الميلاد) ، تكملها رسومات ولوحات كلاسيكية حديثة.

الطابق الأرضي
في الطابق الأرضي ، يقدم المتحف معرض المشاهير وفن البورتريه. الرخام العتيقة والتماثيل البرونزية لكبار السن مثل سقراط والإسكندر الأكبر ونيرون وأغسطس تقف جنبًا إلى جنب مع الأعمال الفنية لأليساندرو تورتشي وجيوفاني باولو بانيني وهنري دي تولوز لوتريك وهنري مور وبابلو بيكاسو أو حتى هنري ماتيس.

الطابق الأول: اليونان وروما
ينبوع الحضارة الغربية. الطابق الأول مخصص للآلهة والإلهات اليونانية الرومانية والعادات الاجتماعية. تحتل المكان تماثيل من الرخام والبرونز من الفترات اليونانية والرومانية ، والعملات الذهبية ، وأدوات المائدة الفضية والزجاجية ، والمجوهرات اليونانية والرومانية. Mythology ، مصدر لا ينضب من الإلهام للعديد من الفنانين ، يتمثل أيضًا في الأعمال الحديثة والمعاصرة التي تتفاعل مع التحف التي تحيط بهم في هذا المعرض. إن لوحات Oedipus by Auguste Renoir و Leda و The Swan by Émile-Antoine Bourdelle أو Persephone by Georges Braque ليست سوى أمثلة قليلة.

يُنظر إلى العالمين اليوناني والروماني القديم على أنهما جذر الحضارة الغربية ، التي تضمنت ابتكاراتها الفن والدراما والأدب والرياضيات والفلسفة والحكومة الديمقراطية والقانون والحرب التكنولوجية.

تقع أشياءنا اليونانية والرومانية في الطابقين الأول والأول ، ترسم صورة عريضة للحياة اليومية: من الحفلات والأساطير ، كما هو موضح في الفخار الرائع باللونين الأحمر والأسود ، إلى عرضنا الدقيق للرؤوس والكسور الرخامية ، النحت بالحجم الطبيعي وأكثر من التماثيل بالحجم الطبيعي والتماثيل البرونزية والفسيفساء واللوحات الجدارية والمجوهرات الذهبية والعملات المعدنية.

الطابق الثاني: مخزن الأسلحة
أكبر مجموعة خاصة من الدروع والخوذ القديمة في العالم. في الطابق الثاني ، يحتوي معرض الأسلحة على أكبر مجموعة خاصة من الأسلحة والدروع اليونانية الرومانية في العالم: يتم تقديم خوذات الدروع والمعارك والتماثيل والتماثيل العتيقة إلى جانب أعمال سلفادور دالي وجورجيو دي شيريكو ومان راي و إليزابيث فرينك.

ربما أكثر من أي قطعة أثرية أخرى ، فإن الاهتمام التاريخي لهذا التجمع الاستثنائي لخوذات الحرب والدروع اليونانية – خالقيديان وكورنثيان وإليريان وفريجيان وبيلوس – لا مثيل له: عاش الجنود وقاتلوا وماتوا في هذه المعدات ، ومعظمها تحمل ندوب المعارك من أعظم الحملات العسكرية في التاريخ.

يجلس هذا إلى جانب رئيس أعظم قائد عسكري في كل العصور: الإسكندر الأكبر ، ومجموعة من الفن العسكري ، بما في ذلك المزهريات واللوحات الجدارية ؛ تتداخل مع الأعمال الفنية الحديثة التي تصور الموضوعات العسكرية ، مثل Achille Sulle Sponde del Mare Egeo بواسطة جورجيو دي شيريكو والإسكندر الأكبر لفريدريك فان فالكنبورج.

عملات يونانية ورومانية
اكتشف الأساطير من خلال العملات. يميل الأسلوب إلى أن يكون أكثر ثباتًا في عملة الإمبراطورية الرومانية ، لكن الأمثلة الجميلة على الذهب أوري في Mougins ليست أقل إيديولوجية في نواياها التصويرية والنصية.

الأسطورة والدين والرمزية. في النصف الثاني من القرن السادس قبل الميلاد ، استخدمت جميع مدن سك العملات في آسيا الصغرى تقريبًا (تركيا الحديثة) عملات فضية وانتشرت هذه العملة بسرعة عبر بحر إيجه ، وإلى البر الرئيسي ، وجنوب إيطاليا وصقلية.

جاء إنتاج العملات الذهبية في العالم اليوناني في وقت لاحق ، خاصة في الفترة الهلنستية في عهد فيليب الثاني والإسكندر الأكبر. تختلف العملات اليونانية اختلافًا كبيرًا في الطابع ، ولكنها كانت عادة دينية ، تمثل آلهة المستفيد لإصدار المدن كصور ، وشخصيات الآلهة والإلهات ، أو رمز توصيف أو سمة مرتبطة بالإله ، على سبيل المثال: بومة أثينا أو نسر زيوس .

كانت الصور أسطورية أيضًا ، مرتبطة بأساطير المؤسسة ؛ على سبيل المثال Ajax على عملات Lokris و Pegasos على عملات Corinth و Leukippos في Metapontion. يمكن أن تكون الزخارف مرتبطة بمنتج محلي أو تحتفل بشيء تشتهر به المدينة. على سبيل المثال ، شعير Metapontum ، المشهور بإمداداته الغنية من الحبوب ، الدروع على العملات المعدنية Boeotian.

تم تطوير البورتريه الملكي في الفترة الهلنستية بعد وفاة الإسكندر ، ولا سيما في عهد البطالمة في مصر. خلال فترة الممالك الهلنستية استمرت العديد من المدن اليونانية في ضرب عملاتها المدنية المدنية. بحلول القرن الأول قبل الميلاد ، حل توسع روما محل العملات اليونانية المعروفة.

عند انضمام إمبراطور جديد ، كانت العملة هي الوسيلة الأكثر فعالية وسرعة لتداول هويته عبر الإمبراطورية. يقدم عكس عملة أغسطس بيانًا مثيرًا للاهتمام في حد ذاته ، حيث تم تصويره على عكسه هو تتويج للتفاوض الناجح على المعايير العسكرية المفقودة أمام الفرثيين. على عكس عملة تراجان ، فإن صورة أعظم منتدى يتم تشييده بشكل لا لبس فيه تساوي جاذبية الإمبراطور. كانت التعبيرات القوية من هذه الطبيعة نموذجية حتى حلت الأباطرة المسيحيون بشكل عام محل ذلك بصور Globus Cruciger. هذا يتألف من جرم يعلوه صليب ، وهذا في الأساس يمنح القاعدة الإلهية للإمبراطور الروماني ، وخلق أيديولوجية عالمية بهذه الطريقة.

المعارض المؤقتة
دوريك ، شون سكالي. 12 يوليو – 29 سبتمبر 2013
السفن ، غاري كومارين. 1 مايو – 29 يونيو 2014
طبقات الوقت ، ألكسندر ميهايلوفيتش. 10 أبريل – 14 يونيو 2015
بومبي في الصور ، جورجيو سومر. 19 يونيو – 2 أغسطس 2015
حيوان ، مجموعة Levett Bestiary. فبراير – يونيو 2016
الماضي حاضر ، ليو كيلارد. 16 مارس – 27 مايو 2018
Bleu-Topique ، Johan Van Mullem. 16 نوفمبر 2018-17 مارس 2019
دوفي ديسين لو سود (دوفي يصور الجنوب) ، راؤول دوفي. 23 مارس – 1 سبتمبر 2019

المنشورات
أنتج MACM العديد من المنشورات ، بما في ذلك:

متحف موجين للفن الكلاسيكي ، 2011 ، حرره م. ميروني
La Collection Famille Levett ، 2012 ، حرره M.Merrony وترجمه C. Dauphin
الحيوانات في العالم القديم ، 2014 ، C. Dauphin
بومبي في صور ، 2015 ، K. Schörle
Les Animaux dans le Monde Antique، 2016، C. Dauphin
دوفي ديسين لو سود ، 2019 ، F. Guillon Laffaille

Tags:

Mougins Museum of Classical Art, France

The Mougins Museum of Classical Art (MACM) is an art museum located in the village of Mougins, in the Alpes-Maritimes region of France. It is 30 minutes from Nice airport and 15 minutes from the centre of Cannes. The museum has won several international awards and has loaned dozens of objects to other museums and university exhibitions all over the world.

Discover, at the entrance of the old village of Mougins, how the beauty of the ancient world has influenced neoclassical, modern and contemporary art. The museum’s large and diverse collection of antiquities includes Roman, Greek and Egyptian sculpture, vases, coins, and jewellery, and the world’s largest private collection of ancient arms and armour.

The museum’s large and diverse collection of antiquities includes Roman, Greek and Egyptian sculpture, vases, coins, and jewellery, and also the world’s largest private collection of ancient arms and armour. These ancient artworks are interspersed with classically inspired paintings, drawings, and sculptures by artists such as Picasso, Matisse, Chagall, Dufy, Cézanne, Rodin, Dali, Andy Warhol, Marc Quinn, Antony Gormley, and Damien Hirst, to name but a few.

The ancient artworks are interspersed with paintings, drawings, and sculptures by artists such as Henri Matisse, Marc Chagall, Raoul Dufy, Paul Cézanne, Auguste Rodin, Salvador Dalí, Andy Warhol, Marc Quinn, Antony Gormley, and Damien Hirst, and others. The collection also includes works by artists who spent time in Mougins, such as Francis Picabia, Jean Cocteau, Man Ray, and Pablo Picasso (who spent the final 12 years of his life in Mougins village).

Concept
Although the majority of objects on display are antiquities, the museum embraces a concept of displaying ancient, neo-classical, modern and contemporary art side by side to show the pervasive and lasting influence of the ancient world. Thus works by Sir Peter Paul Rubens, Marc Chagall, Henri Matisse, Damien Hirst and others are included in the museum alongside their ancient inspirations.

This dialogue and fusion between ancient and modern is particularly clear in the museum where, for example, depictions of the Greek Goddess Aphrodite by Warhol, Dalí and Yves Klein accompany 1st and 2nd Century AD depictions of the Goddess, in marble and in bronze.

History
In 2008, Christian Levett, English trader and collector, had the idea of building a museum to share his art collection with the general public. It invests 8 million euros in project.

The founder of the museum is Christian Levett, a British investment manager with a passion for history and art. A fanatical, but highly ethical collector since childhood. In 2009 he decided to form a museum to place his antiquity and classical art collection on public display, and the Mougins Museum opened to the public in June 2011. Since then the museum has gone from strength to strength, winning international awards and loaning dozens of objects to other museums and university exhibitions all over the world.

Christian himself is a keen philanthropist in the field, sponsoring multiple exhibitions at The British Museum, Royal Academy, National Gallery, Sir John Soane’s Museum and the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford. He has funded archaeological works in the UK, Italy, Egypt and Spain.

He has sponsored academic scholarships at Wolfson College and The Ruskin School of Art in Oxford and has aided curatorial funding at The Ashmolean, The British Museum and The British School at Rome. He has funded renovation works at The Charterhouse Museum London, Charterhouse School Surrey, The National Gallery and Musée L’Eglise de Notre Dame de Vie Mougins, and has sponsored conferences at King’s College London, Senate House UCL and at The Mougins Museum.

He is a member of the Arms and Armour Committee at The Metropolitan Museum of New York and member of The Visitors Board of The Ashmolean Museum Oxford and is a past board member of The Hadrian’s Wall Trust. Christian is also an Honorary Fellow of The Ashmolean Museum, an honorary fellow of Wolfson College Oxford and a member of the Oxford University Chancellors Court of Benefactors.

Collection
The MACM is spread over four floors chronologically from the crypt to the second floor as follows: The Egyptian Gallery, in the crypt, depicts the theme of the afterlife with funerary masks, numerous other ancient artefacts and a sarcophagus, punctuated with works from Chagall, Calder, Rubens and Cocteau. The People and Personalities Gallery on the ground floor presents busts and statues of historical figures from ancient Greece and Rome, their influence highlighted by sculptures of Sosno, Arman, Quinn and Hirst. The Gods and Goddesses Gallery, on the first floor, displays Greek and Roman bronze and marble statues, heads and busts, pottery, glass and silverware, an extensive collection of coins and an antique jewellery display case. Works by neo-classical and modern artists such as Renoir, Rodin, Klein, Warhol, Picasso, Modigliani, Braque and Dalí are also exhibited in the museum. The Armoury, on the second floor, displays the largest private collection of Greek and Roman arms and armour in the world.

Permanent exhibition
The MACM is made up of four floors ordered chronologically from the basement to the second floor. The permanent collection at the MACM is constantly evolving. New pieces are acquired with a view to sustaining and developing the museum’s concept of the fusion of ancient and modern art and the influence that Antiquity has had on subsequent artistic creation. The Museum has also hosted and been otherwise involved in many temporary exhibitions:

Classical Art
Visibly inspired by the ancient worlds. Our splendid galleries of Egyptian, Greek and Roman material have had such a profound impact through history that these great civilisations have inspired countless generations of artists to record and reinterpret their ideas of the ancient world.

In the Egyptian gallery this is graphically demonstrated by the more recent paintings of Alexander Calder, Marc Chagall, Jean Cocteau, Henry Newman and Hubert Robert.

This complementary and thematic trend continues in the sense that ancient Greece has been recreated through the artistic skill of George Braques, Keith Haring, Andre Masson and Pablo Picasso.

The juxtaposition of ancient, neoclassical, modern and contemporary art is dramatically and elegantly expressed in a series of ingenious arrangements that combine ancient statues of Venus with Yves Klein’s Blue Venus, The Birth of Venus by Andy Warhol and Salvador Dalí’s sculpture of Venus as a giraffe; a Roman marble head of emperor Caracalla and a drawing of the ancient bust by Henri Matisse; mythological scenes and characters portrayed in artworks by Renoir, Rubens or Hirst to mention but a few, and many more novel arrangements in museology.

Basement: Egypt
Discover the crypt and its treasures in Mougins. In the basement is the Egyptian Gallery. Dedicated to the theme of the Beyond, it is designed in the form of a crypt. It includes reliefs of tombs, masks and funerary panels, statuettes of gods and goddesses dating from the Old Kingdom to the Ptolemaic period as well as modern works by Alexander Calder and Jean Cocteau.

MACM’s Egyptian gallery, ‘The Crypt’, is evocative of the Egyptian underworld and appropriately subterranean in the manner of a tomb to accommodate artefacts of special association with the afterlife.

These include a splendid range of tomb reliefs, funerary masks and panels, smaller gods and goddesses in bronze and wood, culminating in a spectacular painted wooden sarcophagus.

The material represents the complete span of Egyptology, from the Old Kingdom (2686 BC – 2181 BC) to the Ptolemaic period (332 – 330 BC), complemented by neoclassical and modern drawings and paintings.

Ground floor
On the ground floor, the museum presents the Celebrity Gallery and the art of portraiture. Antique marble and bronze busts of our elders such as Socrates, Alexander the Great, Neron and Augustus stand alongside works of art by Alessandro Turchi, Giovanni Paolo Panini, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, Henry Moore, Pablo Picasso or even Henri Matisse.

First floor: Greece & Rome
The fountainhead of Western civilisation. The first floor is dedicated to the Greco-Roman gods and goddesses and to social customs. Marble and bronze sculptures from the Greek and Roman periods, gold coins, silver and glass tableware, and Greek and Roman jewelry occupy the space. Mythology, an inexhaustible source of inspiration for many artists, is also represented in modern and contemporary works that interact with the antiques that surround them in this gallery. The panels for Oedipus by Auguste Renoir, Leda and the Swan by Émile-Antoine Bourdelle or Persephone by Georges Braque are just a few examples.

The Ancient Greek and Roman worlds are viewed as the root of western civilisation, whose innovations included art, drama, literature, mathematics, philosophy, democratic government, law and technological warfare.

Housed on the ground and first floors, our Greek and Roman objects paint a broad picture of everyday life: from banqueting and mythology, as expressed in the exquisite red-and-black figure pottery, to our fine display of marble heads, busts, and life-size and over life-size sculpture, bronze figurines, mosaics, wall-paintings, gold jewellery and coins.

Second floor: Armoury
The largest private collection of ancient armour and helmets in the world. On the second floor, the armory gallery contains the largest private collection of Greco-Roman weapons and armor in the world: armor, battle and parade helmets, statuettes and antique busts are presented alongside works by Salvador Dali, Giorgio de Chirico, Man Ray and Elisabeth Frink.

Perhaps more than any other artefact, the historical interest of this extraordinary assemblage of Greek war helmets and armour – Chalcidian, Corinthian, Illyrian, Phrygian, and Pilos – is unparalleled: soldiers lived, fought, and died in this equipment, and much of it bears the scars of battle from some of the greatest military campaigns in history.

This sits alongside a head of the greatest military leader of all time: Alexander the Great, and a range of military themed art, including vases, wall-paintings; intermingled with more recent artworks depicting military subjects, such as Achille Sulle Sponde del Mare Egeo by Giorgio de Chirico and Alexander the Great by Frederick van Valkenborch.

Greek and Roman Coins
Discover the Mythology through currency. Style tended to be more fixed in the coinage of the Roman Empire, but the beautiful examples of gold aurei at Mougins are no less ideological in their pictorial and textual intent.

Myth, religion and symbolism. In the second half of the sixth century BC, almost all the minting cities of Asia Minor (modern Turkey) used silver coins and this currency rapidly spread across the Aegean, to the mainland, and to Southern Italy and Sicily.

The production of gold coins in the Greek world came later, especially in the Hellenistic period under Philip II and Alexander the Great. Greek coins vary greatly in character, but were commonly religious, representing patron deities of issuing cities as portraits, figures of gods and goddesses, or the characterising symbol or attribute associated with the deity, for instance: the owl of Athena or the eagle of Zeus.

Imagery was also mythological, linked to the foundation legends; for example Ajax on the coins of Lokris, Pegasos on the coins of Corinth, and Leukippos at Metapontion. Motifs could also be related to a local product or celebrate something the city was famous for. For example, the barley of Metapontum, renowned for its rich supply of grain, the shields on Boeotian coins.

Royal portraiture developed in the Hellenistic period after the death of Alexander, notably under the Ptolemies in Egypt. During the period of the Hellenistic kingdoms many Greek cities continued to strike their own civic coins. By the first century BC the expansion of Rome replaced recognisably Greek coinage.

On the accession of a new emperor, coinage was the most effective and rapid means of circulating his identity across the Empire. The reverse of the coin of Augustus provides an interesting statement in its own right, since depicted on its reverse is the culmination of the successful negotiation of the military standards lost to the Parthians. On the reverse of the coin of Trajan the image of the greatest forum every constructed is unambiguous equates with the gravitas of the emperor. Potent expressions of this nature were typical until the Christian emperors commonly supplanted this with images of the Globus Cruciger. This comprised an orb surmounted by a cross, essentially this granted divine rule to a Roman emperor, and created a universal ideology in this way.

Temporary exhibitions
Doric, Sean Scully. 12 July – 29 September 2013
Vessels, Gary Komarin. 1 May – 29 June 2014
Layers of Time, Alexander Mihaylovich. 10 April – 14 June 2015
Pompeii in pictures, Giorgio Sommer. 19 June – 2 August 2015
Animal, The Levett Bestiary collection. February – June 2016
Past is present, Léo Caillard. 16 March – 27 May 2018
Bleu-Topique, Johan Van Mullem. 16 November 2018 – 17 March 2019
Dufy dessine le Sud (Dufy depicts the South), Raoul Dufy. 23 March – 1 September 2019

Publications
The MACM has produced several publications, including:

Mougins Museum of Classical Art, 2011, edited by M. Merrony
La Collection Famille Levett, 2012, edited by M. Merrony and translated by C. Dauphin
Animals in the Ancient World, 2014, C. Dauphin
Pompeii in Pictures, 2015, K. Schörle
Les Animaux dans le Monde Antique, 2016, C. Dauphin
Dufy Dessine le Sud, 2019, F. Guillon Laffaille

Tags: