La Tour-de-Peilz, Canton de Vaud, Suisse

La Tour-de-Peilz est une commune suisse du canton de Vaud. Située au cœur de la Riviera vaudoise, La Tour-de-Peilz est une ville de près de 12 000 habitants adossée aux Préalpes, les pieds dans l’eau. Elle bénéficie d’un environnement privilégié et offre à ses habitants une riche gamme d’activités sportives, sociales et culturelles. Le territoire de la commune, qui s’étale entre lac et vignoble, alterne quartiers résidentiels, centre-ville, ville historique et quartiers plus denses dans un ensemble harmonieux. Bénéficiant d’infrastructures de premier ordre, La Tour-de-Peilz occupe également une position enviable entre ses deux communes voisines, Vevey et Montreux.

La ville recèle également quelques trésors du patrimoine régional, comme son château, situé à proximité du port et qui abrite aujourd’hui le Musée Suisse des Jeux. Ce Port, justement, est un véritable joyau, à la fois lieu de détente et de rencontre, face aux Dents-du-Midi. Le peintre Gustave Courbet, qui vécut à proximité immédiate entre 1874 et 1877 ne dira pas le contraire. De là, un quai bordé d’arbres centenaires, le Quai Roussy, conduit le promeneur à Vevey, au-delà de l’Oyonne, cette frontière «rivière». A l’autre bout de la ville, la plage du Maladaire, et son ruisseau du même nom, marquent le début du territoire de Montreux. Plus au nord, le paysage est presque rustique et les vignes sont souveraines.

La Tour-de-Peilz est située à 385m d’altitude, à 1,5 km au sud-est de la capitale du district Vevey (ligne aérienne). La ville s’étend sur la rive nord-est du lac Léman, également connu sous le nom de Riviera vaudoise, et sur les pentes adjacentes, au pied de la montagne des Pléiades, dans la région touristique de Vevey-Montreux. La superficie de la zone municipale de 3,3 km² comprend une section sur la rive nord-est du lac Léman (environ 3 km de la ligne des rives du lac). La presqu’île de La Becque s’avance dans le lac au sud de la vieille ville. Le sol de la communauté s’étend de la rive du lac sur un bord relativement plat de la rive jusqu’aux pentes en pente douce sous Blonay. Sur la terrasse de Villard se trouve à 506m d’altitude. le point culminant de La Tour-de-Peilz atteint.

La Tour-de-Peilz comprend l’ancien hameau de Burier (390 m d’altitude) et plusieurs domaines viticoles. Les communes voisines de La Tour-de-Peilz sont Montreux, Blonay, Saint-Légier-La Chiésaz et Vevey. La zone est délimitée au sud-est par le ruisseau Burier, au nord-est par l’autoroute A9 et au nord par le ruisseau Ognona. Le Crêt Richard (486 m d’altitude M.) au nord de l’Ognona appartient toujours à La Tour-de-Peilz. En 1997, 61% de la superficie municipale était constituée de colonies, 4% de forêts et de terres boisées, 34% d’agriculture et un peu moins de 1% de terres improductives.

Histoire
La Tour-de-Peilz a une longue histoire. Gaulois, Romains et Bourguignons y passèrent, laissant quelques vestiges et sépultures, comme au Clos-d’Aubonne. Plus tard, les comtes de Savoie remirent à la ville ses premières lettres de franchise en 1282. Si l’époque savoyarde eut ses années heureuses, elle connut aussi ses heures sombres. En 1476, les montagnards du Haut-Simmental, sous les ordres d’un aristocrate bernois, y massacrent la population et mettent le feu à la ville. Cet épisode fut probablement le plus douloureux de l’histoire des Boéland. Les Boélands d’aujourd’hui donnent vie à une ville qui se veut accueillante, sereine et conviviale.

Le domaine de la Tour-de-Peilz appartenait au XIIe siècle à l’évêque de Sion, qui enfonça les comtes de Genève. Ils font construire la tour de fortification et le fief administré par une famille de serviteurs qui prend le nom du lieu. En 1251, Pierre de Savoie a pris part pour la première fois, puis toute la région. Le comte Philippe de Savoie a donné à la place des droits de ville en 1282. La Tour-de-Peilz était l’un des ports de commerce les plus importants du lac Léman et un point de transbordement important du transport maritime au transport terrestre. En conséquence, la ville a atteint un certain niveau de prospérité dès le début. Le 8 juin 1476, la ville et le château sont pillés par les Bernois.

Le sol de la Tour-de-Peilz a livré des vestiges celtiques, romains et bourguignons. On peut retracer l’origine des premières habitations à Becque. Vers le milieu du XIIe siècle, cette région dépend de l’évêque de Sion, qui la céda en fief aux comtes de Genevois. Ces derniers subjuguent la partie nord aux seigneurs de Fruence, et la partie sud aux fonctionnaires ministériels qui prennent le nom de La Tour (mentionnée pour la première fois en 1160). Le Traité de Burier [archive] y est signé le 3 juillet 1219 établissant la présence de la Maison de Savoie dans le Pays de Vaud. Vers 1250, Pierre II de Savoie acquiert le château et son territoire. Son successeur, le comte Philippe Ier de Savoie, y fonda en 1282 une ville nouvelle à franchises, confirmée en 1288 par son successeur Amédée V.Pour renforcer sa position,

Dans le cadre des guerres de Bourgogne le 8 juin 1476, la ville est prise et pillée par les troupes confédérées. Avec la conquête de Vaud par Berne en 1536, La Tour-de-Peilz passa sous l’administration du bailliage de Vevey. Après l’effondrement de l’Ancien Régime, la ville a appartenu au canton du Léman de 1798 à 1803 pendant la République helvétique, qui est ensuite devenue une partie du canton de Vaud avec l’entrée en vigueur de la constitution de médiation. En 1798, la ville est affectée au quartier de Vevey. Grâce à sa situation sur la Riviera vaudoise entre Vevey et Montreux, La Tour-de-Peilz connaît également un boom économique à la fin du XIXe siècle et la ville se développe en une destination touristique.

Économie
Jusqu’à la fin du XIXe siècle, La Tour-de-Peilz était une ville agricole et viticole. Au début du XXe siècle, grâce à son climat doux et à son emplacement attrayant sur le lac Léman, il s’est développé en une station balnéaire et une destination de vacances. Dans le même temps, il est devenu une banlieue résidentielle privilégiée de Vevey.

Aujourd’hui, la ville offre environ 2500 emplois. Sur ce total, environ 4% sont affectés au secteur primaire, 11% au secteur industriel et 85% au secteur des services (en 2001). Sur le versant sud de la terrasse de Villard et du Crêt Richard ainsi qu’entre les hauts quartiers d’habitation de La Tour-de-Peilz, la viticulture se pratique sur de nombreux espaces déconnectés. Le sol fertile et le climat favorable conviennent également à l’agriculture et à la culture maraîchère.

La ville compte un certain nombre de sociétés commerciales et commerciales, dont le spécialiste de l’horticulture Brunner Frères, la Société de gestion EVGE SA et les laboratoires et bureaux de Nestlé AG. L’industrie est fortement orientée vers le tourisme. La Tour-de-Peilz est également l’emplacement du Centre d’enseignement secondaire supérieur de l’est vaudois (école et centre d’éducation), ainsi que de nombreuses autres écoles.

Au cours des dernières décennies, La Tour-de-Peilz s’est développée en une communauté résidentielle avec de vastes quartiers résidentiels et unifamiliaux. De nombreux collaborateurs se rendent au travail à Vevey, Montreux ou Lausanne.

Sites touristiques
Le noyau de l’église paroissiale réformée de Saint-Théodule date du XIVe siècle, mais a été remodelé entre 1792 et 1796. Le clocher de l’église était autrefois la porte de la ville. De plus, une partie de l’ancien mur d’enceinte du XIIIe siècle est intégrée à l’église et forme aujourd’hui le mur nord de la nef et de la sacristie; les fenêtres en verre ont été fabriquées dans les années 1960. La fontaine de la liberté (Fontaine de la liberté) se dresse devant l’église.

Le château de la Tour-de-Peilz a été construit en 1251-1257 sous Pierre de Savoie. Il se dresse directement au bord du lac, du côté nord de l’ancien port de commerce. Après sa destruction par les confédérés, le château resta longtemps en ruine et ne fut réparé qu’au milieu du XVIIIe siècle. Il a été acquis par la commune de La Tour-de-Peilz en 1979, est classé monument historique avec ses deux tours rondes, l’enceinte et l’aile résidentielle depuis 1973 et abrite le Musée Suisse du Jeu.

La maison Hugonin, ancien manoir, qui abrite aujourd’hui l’administration municipale, date principalement du XVIIIe siècle. Le château de Sully (construit en 1882), actuellement détenu par Shania Twain, se dresse sur une colline près du lac. Sur le versant au-dessus de La Tour-de-Peilz se trouve le manoir du Domaine de la Doges (du nom de la famille Doges), construit en 1711. Dans le jardin se trouve une tour probablement plus ancienne que la propriété être une tour de veille et de signalisation ou un moulin à vent.

L’écrivain britannique Bryher, son partenaire, le poète HD (Hilda Doolittle) et le mari de Bryher, l’écrivain Kenneth Macpherson ont vécu à partir de 1929 dans la Villa Kenwin, Chemin de Vallon 19, construite par Alexander Ferenczy et Hermann Henselmann dans le style Bauhaus, qui est un idéal Il devrait y avoir un espace pour vivre et travailler, pour le travail créatif, les concerts et les fêtes.

L’épave de l’Hirondelle devant la Tour-de-Peilz se situe à environ 40 à 60 mètres sous la surface de l’eau. Le bateau à aubes a coulé après avoir heurté une formation rocheuse le 10 juin 1862. Aujourd’hui, l’épave est une destination populaire pour les plongeurs d’épaves.

Héritage historique

Château de La Tour-de-Peilz.
Villa Karma à Burier
Domaine de Burier, maison de maître
Domaine de La Doges, Hôtel particulier avec sa campagne, sa tour, ses pavillons d’entrée et son parc, aujourd’hui siège de la section vaudoise du Patrimoine Suisse.
La Villa Kenwin, Suisse culturelle d’importance nationale.

Biens culturels d’importance régionale

Château de la Becque avec écurie
Château de Sully
Église Saint-Théodule, aujourd’hui temple protestant
Complexe résidentiel de Bellaria
La Faraz. Hôtel particulier et son parc
Résidence Rive-Reine avec annexe
Villa Ma Maison avec parc et dépendance

Église de La Tour-de-Peilz
Clocher avec une élégante flèche en pierre, un type commun dans la région entre Villette et le haut de la vallée du Rhône, ainsi que dans la vallée d’Aoste et les Alpes françaises. Nef claire et vaste dans l’esprit protestant, avec des galeries à colonnades superposées sur trois côtés, élément architectural très élaboré retrouvé dans le temple de Morges et l’église de Gimel, inspiré du prestigieux exemple du temple de la Fusterie à Genève (1713 1715 ). La chapelle Saint Théodule ne semble être mentionnée qu’en 1307, contrairement à ce qui a souvent été écrit. Il s’appuie contre le mur nord de l’enceinte médiévale, dont une porte a été récupérée pour le clocher; celui-ci a conservé son passage public sous forme de clocher. L’église est affectée au culte protestant à partir de 1536. La Tour de Peilz ne devient paroisse indépendante qu’en 1783.

Début 14ème siècle: choeur et gros œuvre de la nef. 14ème ou 15ème siècle: clocher avec flèche pouvant être modifié au 17ème siècle. 1740: forage des quatre grandes baies semi-circulaires de la façade sud de la nef, et probablement aussi celles du nord, modifiées en 1961; galerie ouest, achevée en 1750. 1792-1796: nouvelle charpente, galeries, plafond, salle des archives; reconstruction du portail ouest et nouvelle porte nord, datée 1793 sur sa clé. 1740: Pierre Bole, architecte maçon de La Tour de Peilz; le charpentier Abram de la Chaux; puis en 1750 le menuisier Moïse Nicole. 1792-1796: projet du secrétaire du conseil municipal, repris par l’entrepreneur maçon Jacob Gunthert; les maçons Frédéric et Jacob Gunthert, frères; menuisier Vincent Franel.

Nef rectangulaire prolongée à l’est par un choeur plus étroit, avec une abside voûtée plate dans un berceau brisé. A l’ouest, un clocher avec une flèche de pierre de plan octogonal muni de petites lucarnes élancées; stade de cloches percées sur chaque face d’une baie dans un arc brisé en tuf d’entrelacs, avec support souligné par une corde. Portail occidental en anse de panier, à évasement concave orné de bossages. De grandes fenêtres semi-circulaires éclairant l’intérieur de la nef. Sur trois côtés, galerie à colonnes toscanes superposées. Plafond en bois recouvert de plâtre, type courant dans les nouveaux bâtiments de cette période, voûté sur l’allée centrale et plat sur les galeries.

Chaise de 1710, de Jean Baptiste Lemp, de Vevey, avec des colonnes torsadées d’inspiration baroque aux angles. Table de communion de 1734, portant l’inscription «La Table du Seigneur». Quatre stalles très sobres dans le choeur, probablement du XVIIIe siècle. Pour le reste, mobilier renouvelé en 1900 et 1961. Orgue de 1991, par la manufacture d’orgue lausannoise Jean François Mingot; buffet par l’ébéniste Andersson SA, à Vevey.

Vitrail de 1961/1962/1967, dessiné par le peintre Jean Pierre Kaiser et exécuté par le verrier Robert Schmit, de Lausanne. En 1845, pour remplacer deux anciennes, trois cloches sont fabriquées par la fonderie Treboux à Corsier-près-Vevey. Restaurations en 1900 (intérieur, avec avancement de la galerie d’orgue); 1961 (retour à un aspect plus médiéval en libérant le chœur: suppression de la travée est des galeries et relocalisation de la chaire; transformation de la fenêtre axiale en style gothique, etc.).

Musées

Le château de la Tour-de-Peilz et le musée suisse des jeux
Construit au XIIIe siècle par les comtes de Savoie, le château de La Tour-de-Peilz servait de refuge défensif, de poste de surveillance du trafic lacustre sur le lac Léman et de bureau de douane. Ravagé pendant les guerres de Bourgogne en 1476, il fut acquis et reconstruit en 1747 par Jean Grésier, Français de Guadeloupe. Le Château, resté entre des mains privées, est racheté en 1979 par la commune de La Tour-de-Peilz à la suite d’un vote populaire. Les deux tours d’angle, l’enceinte, les remparts et les fossés sont classés monuments historiques en 1973. En 1987, le Musée Suisse des Jeux est inauguré. Il occupe l’étage supérieur et les combles du Château. Les salles du rez-de-chaussée accueillent divers événements. Conçu par Michel Etter. Dès sa fondation, il a été soutenu par l’Association des Amis du Musée et en 2004 une Fondation a été créée. Jusqu’en 2017, pas moins de 27 expositions temporaires se sont succédées. Le Musée n’a pas perdu sa place de seul musée consacré à l’histoire culturelle des jeux en Suisse. Il bénéficie désormais d’une influence internationale.

Musée Gustave Courbet
Le bicentenaire de la naissance du peintre et sculpteur français Gustave Courbet (1819-1877) est célébré en 2019. La ville a décidé de créer un itinéraire thématique «Gustave Courbet» dans la ville, qui retracerait, entre autres, le dernier du peintre années, celles qu’il a passées à la Tour-de-Peilz, de 1874 à sa mort en 1877. Ce musée à ciel ouvert, qui allie la présentation d’œuvres aux nouvelles technologies, propose une découverte saisissante des lieux fréquentés par le peintre ville.

Espace naturel

Parcs et jardins
Le secteur des parcs et jardins relève de la direction de l’urbanisme et des travaux publics. Il est composé de 17 personnes dont 4 apprentis fleuristes et paysagistes. Le Secteur s’occupe, entre autres, de l’entretien et de l’embellissement des parcs et espaces verts municipaux, 8 terrains de jeux, 2 terrains de sport et le cimetière. Il s’efforce d’améliorer la biodiversité des parcelles communales et met en œuvre divers moyens pour réduire l’utilisation de produits de synthèse.

Plage et camping du Maladaire
Situé au bord du lac Léman, à la sortie de La Tour-de-Peilz, en direction de Montreux, la plage et le camping sont dans un cadre idyllique, avec une vue imprenable sur la Savoie. Le camping peut accueillir tentes et caravanes dans une ambiance conviviale. Cependant, il est à noter que le camping est entouré par la plage publique de La Maladaire qui est ouverte 24h / 24.

port
Le port offre 259 places dans l’eau et 41 places à terre. Il est considéré comme l’un des plus beaux du lac Léman par les marins et les visiteurs.

Tags:

La Tour-de-Peilz, Canton of Vaud, Switzerland

La Tour-de-Peilz is a town and municipality in Switzerland in the canton of Vaud. Located in the heart of the Vaud Riviera, La Tour-de-Peilz is a town of nearly 12,000 inhabitants leaning against the Prealps, with its feet in the water. It benefits from a privileged environment and offers its inhabitants a rich range of sports, social and cultural activities. The territory of the municipality, which spreads out between lake and vineyard, alternates residential areas, downtown, historic town and denser districts in a harmonious whole. Benefiting from first-class infrastructure, La Tour-de-Peilz also occupies an enviable position between its two neighbors community, Vevey and Montreux.

The city also conceals some regional heritage treasures, such as its castle, located near the Port and which now houses the Swiss Museum of Games. This Port, precisely, is a real gem, both a place of relaxation and meeting, facing the Dents-du-Midi. The painter Gustave Courbet, who lived in the immediate vicinity between 1874 and 1877 would not say the opposite. From there, a quay lined with hundred-year-old trees, the Quai Roussy, leads the walker to Vevey, beyond the Oyonne, this border “river”. At the other end of the city, the Maladaire beach, and its stream of the same name, mark the beginning of Montreux territory. Further north, the landscape is almost rustic and the vines are sovereign.

La Tour-de-Peilz is located at 385m above sea level, 1.5 km southeast of the district capital Vevey (air line). The city extends on the north-eastern shore of Lake Geneva, also known as the Riviera vaudoise, and on the adjacent slopes, at the foot of the Les Pléiades mountain, in the tourist region of Vevey-Montreux. The area of the 3.3 km² municipal area comprises a section on the north-eastern shore of Lake Geneva (around 3 km of the lakeshore line). The La Becque peninsula juts out into the lake to the south of the old town. The community soil extends from the lakeshore over a relatively flat edge of the bank to the gently sloping slopes below Blonay. On the terrace of Villard is 506m above sea level. the highest point of La Tour-de-Peilz reached.

La Tour-de-Peilz includes the former hamlet of Burier (390 m above sea level) and several wineries. The neighboring municipalities of La Tour-de-Peilz are Montreux, Blonay, Saint-Légier-La Chiésaz and Vevey. The area is bounded in the southeast by the Burier stream, in the northeast by the A9 motorway and in the north by the Ognona stream. The Crêt Richard (486 m above sea level M.) north of the Ognona still belongs to La Tour-de-Peilz. In 1997, 61% of the municipal area was in settlements, 4% in forests and woodlands, 34% in agriculture and a little less than 1% was unproductive land.

History
La Tour-de-Peilz has a long history. Gauls, Romans and Burgundians passed there, leaving some vestiges and burials, as in Clos-d’Aubonne. Later, the Counts of Savoy delivered to the city its first letters of franchise in 1282. If the Savoyard era had its happy years, it also had its dark hours. In 1476, the mountain people of Haut-Simmental, under the orders of a Bernese aristocrat, massacred the population there and set fire to the town. This episode was probably the most painful in the history of the Boélands. Today’s Boélands give life to a city that aims to be welcoming, serene and convivial.

The area of La Tour-de-Peilz belonged in the 12th century to the Bishop of Sion, who enfeoffed the Counts of Geneva. They had the fortification tower built and the fiefdom administered by a family of servants who took the name of the place. In 1251 Peter of Savoy first took part and later the whole area. Count Philip of Savoy gave the place city rights in 1282. La Tour-de-Peilz was one of the most important trading ports on Lake Geneva and an important transshipment point from ship to land transport. As a result, the city achieved a certain level of prosperity early on. On June 8th 1476 the town and the castle were sacked by the Bernese.

The soil of La Tour-de-Peilz has yielded Celtic, Roman and Burgundian remains. We can trace the origin of the first dwellings to Becque. By the middle of the XII century, this area depends on the bishop of Zion, who gave it in fief to the counts of Genevois. The latter subjugate the northern part to the Lords of Fruence, and the southern part to ministerial officials who take the name of La Tour (first mentioned in 1160). The Treaty of Burier [ archive ] is signed there inJuly 3, 1219establishing the presence of the House of Savoy in the Pays de Vaud. Around 1250, Pierre II of Savoy acquired the castle and its territory. His successor, Count Philippe I of Savoy, founded there in 1282 a new city with franchises, confirmed in 1288 by his successor Amédée V. To strengthen his position, he started an expansion of the castle (1282-1288) and contributed to the construction of an urban wall (from 1284 in wood, 1288 in masonry).

As part of the Burgundy Wars theJune 8, 1476, the city is taken and plundered by the Confederate troops. With the conquest of Vaud by Bern in 1536, La Tour-de-Peilz came under the administration of the Bailiwick of Vevey. After the collapse of the Ancien Régime, the city belonged to the canton of Léman from 1798 to 1803 during the Helvetic Republic, which then became part of the canton of Vaud when the mediation constitution came into force. In 1798 the city was assigned to the district of Vevey. Thanks to its location on the Vaudois Riviera between Vevey and Montreux, La Tour-de-Peilz also experienced an economic boom at the end of the 19th century and the city developed into a tourist destination.

Economy
Until the end of the 19th century, La Tour-de-Peilz was a farming and wine-growing town. At the beginning of the 20th century, thanks to its mild climate and attractive location on Lake Geneva, it developed into a resort and holiday destination. At the same time, it became a preferred residential suburb of Vevey.

Today the city offers around 2500 jobs. Of this, around 4% are assigned to the primary sector, 11% to the industrial sector and 85% to the service sector (as of 2001). On the southern slopes of the terrace of Villard and Crêt Richard as well as between the upper residential areas of La Tour-de-Peilz, viticulture is practiced on numerous disconnected areas. The fertile soil and the favorable climate are also suitable for agriculture and vegetable growing.

The city has a number of commercial and trading companies, including the horticultural specialist Brunner Frères, the Société de gestion EVGE SA and laboratories and offices of Nestlé AG. The industry is heavily geared towards tourism. La Tour-de-Peilz is also the location of the Center d’enseignement secondaire supérieur de l’est vaudois (a school and education center), as well as numerous other schools.

In the last few decades, La Tour-de-Peilz has developed into a residential community with extensive residential and single-family quarters. Many employees commute to work in Vevey, Montreux or Lausanne.

Sights
The core of the reformed parish church of Saint-Théodule dates from the 14th century, but was remodeled between 1792 and 1796. The church tower used to be the city gate. Furthermore, part of the former city wall from the 13th century is integrated into the church and today forms the north wall of the nave and the sacristy; the glass windows were made in the 1960s. The fountain of freedom (Fontaine de la liberté) stands in front of the church.

La Tour-de-Peilz Castle was built in 1251–1257 under Peter of Savoy. It stands directly on the lake shore, on the north side of the former trading port. After its destruction by the Confederates, the castle remained in ruins for a long time and was not repaired until the middle of the 18th century. It was acquired by the municipality of La Tour-de-Peilz in 1979, has been a listed building with its two round towers, the surrounding wall and the residential wing since 1973 and houses the Swiss Game Museum.

The Hugonin House, a former manor house, which today houses the municipal administration, dates mainly from the 18th century. Sully Castle (built in 1882), currently owned by Shania Twain, stands on a hill near the lake. On the slope above La Tour-de-Peilz is the Domaine de la Doges manor house (named after the Doges family), which was built in 1711. In the garden there is a tower that is probably older than the country estate and used to be a watch and signal tower or a windmill.

The British writer Bryher, her partner, the poet HD (Hilda Doolittle) and Bryher’s husband, the writer Kenneth Macpherson lived from 1929 in the Villa Kenwin, Chemin de Vallon 19, built by Alexander Ferenczy and Hermann Henselmann in the Bauhaus style, which is an ideal There should be space for living and working, for creative work, concerts and parties.

The wreck of the Hirondelle in front of La Tour-de-Peilz lies at around 40 to 60 meters below the surface of the water. The paddle steamer sank after it hit a rock formation on June 10, 1862. Today the wreck is a popular destination for wreck divers.

Historical heritage

Castle of La Tour-de-Peilz.
Villa Karma in Burier
Domaine de Burier, mansion
Domaine de La Doges, Mansion with its countryside, its tower, its entrance pavilions and its park, today the headquarters of the Vaud section of Swiss Heritage.
The Villa Kenwin, cultural Switzerland of national importance.

Cultural properties of regional importance

Château de la Becque with stable
Sully castle
Saint-Théodule church, today a Protestant temple
Residential complex of Bellaria
La Faraz. Mansion and its park
Residence Rive-Reine with annex
Villa Ma Maison with park and outbuilding

Church of La Tour-de-Peilz
Bell tower with an elegant stone spire, a type common in the region between Villette and the top of the Rhône valley, as well as in the Aosta valley and the French Alps. Clear and vast nave in the Protestant spirit, with galleries with colonnades superimposed on three sides, a very elaborate architectural feature found in the temple of Morges and the church of Gimel, inspired by the prestigious example of the temple of Fusterie in Geneva (1713 1715). The Saint Théodule chapel does not seem to be mentioned until 1307, contrary to what has often been written. It leans against the north wall of the medieval enclosure, a door of which was recovered for the bell tower; this one has retained its public passage as a bell tower. The church was assigned to Protestant worship from 1536. La Tour de Peilz only became an independent parish in 1783.

Beginning of the 14th century: choir and structural work of the nave. 14th or 15th century: bell tower with spire can be modified in the 17th century. 1740: drilling of the four large semicircular bays of the south facade of the nave, and probably also those to the north, modified in 1961; western gallery, completed in 1750. 1792-1796: new framework, galleries, ceiling, archive room; reconstruction of the western portal and new north door, dated 1793 on its key. 1740: Pierre Bole, mason architect of La Tour de Peilz; carpenter Abram de la Chaux; then in 1750 carpenter Moïse Nicole. 1792-1796: project by the secretary of the City Council, taken over by the mason-entrepreneur Jacob Gunthert; masons Frédéric and Jacob Gunthert, brothers; carpenter Vincent Franel.

Rectangular nave extended to the east by a narrower choir, with a flat vaulted apse in a broken cradle. To the west, a steeple with a stone spire with an octagonal plan fitted with small slender dormers; stage of bells pierced on each face of a bay in a broken arch in tracery tuff, with support underlined by a cord. Western gate in basket handle, with concave splay decorated with bosses. Large semicircular windows illuminating the interior of the nave. On three sides, gallery with superimposed Tuscan columns. Wooden ceiling covered with plaster, a type common in new buildings of this period, vaulted on the central aisle and flat on the galleries.

Chair from 1710, by Jean Baptiste Lemp, from Vevey, with baroque-inspired twisted columns at the corners. Communion table from 1734, bearing the inscription “La Table du Seigneur”. Four very sober stalls in the choir, possibly from the 18th century. For the rest, furniture renewed in 1900 and 1961. Organ from 1991, by the Lausanne organ factory Jean François Mingot; buffet by the cabinetmaker Andersson SA, in Vevey.

Stained glass from 1961/1962/1967, designed by the painter Jean Pierre Kaiser and executed by the glassmaker Robert Schmit, from Lausanne. In 1845, to replace two old ones, three bells were made by the Treboux foundry in Corsier-près-Vevey. Restorations in 1900 (interior, with advancement of the organ gallery); 1961 (return to a more medieval aspect by releasing the choir: removal of the eastern span of the galleries and relocation of the pulpit; transformation of the axial window into Gothic style, etc.).

Museums

The castle of La Tour-de-Peilz and The Swiss Museum of Games
Built in the 13th century by the Counts of Savoy, the Château de La Tour-de-Peilz served as a defensive retreat, a monitoring post for lake traffic on Lake Geneva and a customs office. Ravaged during the Burgundy Wars in 1476, it was acquired and rebuilt in 1747 by Jean Grésier, French from Guadeloupe. The Château, which remained in private hands, was bought in 1979 by the municipality of La Tour-de-Peilz following a popular vote. The two corner towers, the enclosure, the ramparts and the ditches were classified as historical monuments in 1973. In 1987, the Swiss Museum of Games was inaugurated. It occupies the upper floor and the attic of the Château. The rooms on the ground floor host various events. Designed by Michel Etter. From its foundation, it was supported by the Association of Friends of the Museum and in 2004 a Foundation was created. Until 2017, no less than 27 temporary exhibitions followed one another. The Museum has not lost its place as the only museum devoted to the cultural history of games in Switzerland. It now enjoys international influence.

Gustave Courbet museum
The bicentenary of the birth of the French painter and sculptor Gustave Courbet (1819-1877) is celebrated in 2019. The city decided to create a thematic route “Gustave Courbet” in the city, which would retrace, among other things, the painter’s last years, those he spent at La Tour-de-Peilz, from 1874 to his death in 1877. This open-air museum, which combines the display of works with new technologies, offers a striking discovery of the places frequented by the painter in the city.

Natural space

Parks and gardens
The Parks and Gardens Sector comes under the Urban Planning and Public Works Department. It is made up of 17 people including 4 apprentice flower growers and landscapers. The Sector takes care, among other things, of the maintenance and embellishment of parks and municipal green areas, 8 playgrounds, 2 sports fields and the cemetery. It strives to improve the biodiversity of municipal plots and implements various means to reduce the use of synthetic products.

Maladaire beach and campsite
Located on the shores of Lake Geneva, at the exit of La Tour-de-Peilz, towards Montreux, the beach and the campsite are in an idyllic setting, with a breathtaking view of Savoie. The campsite can accommodate tents and caravans in a friendly atmosphere. However, it should be noted that the campsite is surrounded by the public beach of La Maladaire which is open 24 hours a day.

Harbor
The port offers 259 berths in the water and 41 berths on land. It is considered one of the most beautiful in Lake Geneva by sailors and visitors.

Tags: