شاتو أرنو سان أوبان ، ألب دي هوت بروفانس ، فرنسا

Château-Arnoux-Saint-Auban هي بلدية فرنسية ، تقع في قسم ألب دي هوت بروفنس في منطقة بروفانس ألب كوت دازور. المدينة الخامسة في Alpes de Haute-Provence ، ويبلغ عدد سكانها 5500 نسمة. عاصمة الكانتون التي تحمل الاسم نفسه ، وهي مركز مدينة Pays Durance Provence ومجتمع Agglomeration Provence Alpes Agglomeration. تم إدراج القلعة ، التي تضم حاليًا مبنى البلدية ، عدة مرات.

يقع Château-Arnoux-Saint-Auban في Haute Provence على الضفة اليمنى من Durance في قلب قسم Alpes de Haute-Provence. يمكن الوصول من Aix Marseille بواسطة A 51 ومن Grenoble بطريق Napoléon و A 51 ، يقع Château-Arnoux-Saint-Auban على مفترق طرق لهذا المحور Durancian وطريق Napoleon المؤدي إلى Nice.

أراضي البلدية مشغولة بكثافة في العصور القديمة. حفز موقعها المفضل على ضفاف نهر ديورانس وعلى طريق مزدحم إنشاء قلعة ، سميت على اسم أحد أسيادها الأوائل. لا يزال Château-Arnoux منطقة ريفية واحدة حتى بداية القرن العشرين. موقعه بعيدًا عن الحدود ، المحمي من غزوات جبال الألب ، ومجهزًا بخط سكة حديد ، حفز على إنشاء مصنع رئيسي لتصنيع الأسلحة الكيميائية في قرية سانت أوبان خلال الحرب العالمية الأولى ، مما يغير وجهه.

اليوم ، يأخذ اسم البلدة هذه الازدواجية في الاعتبار ، قرية من القرون الوسطى من جهة ، بلدة صناعية من جهة أخرى ، يواجه مصنع أركما العديد من المخاطر منذ التلوث الأول للديورانس ، ولكنه يجلب الرخاء إلى الكل مدينة.

التاريخ
كان دورانس بشكل خاص في العصر الحجري الحديث مكانًا نشطًا للتجارة والاستيطان. الموقع بالقرب من Aubignosc يشهد على ذلك. جعل عصر جالو-رومانس دورانس محورًا رئيسيًا للتواصل. عن طريق البر ، مع طريق دوميتيا المجاور للمنطقة ، عن طريق الماء ، كان Durance قابلًا للملاحة. ميناء بورغيه القديم ، في إسكال على الضفة الأخرى ، شاهد رائع.

العصور القديمة
تقع منطقة البلدية في موقع جيد في وادي Durance ، وهي مشغولة بكثافة خلال العصور القديمة. أراضيها هي جزء من أراضي Sogiontiques (Sogiontii) ، التي تمتد أراضيها من جنوب البارونيين إلى دورانس. ال Sogiontiques متحد مع الفوكنس ، وبعد الفتح الروماني ، يتم إرفاقهم معهم إلى مقاطعة ناربونيز الرومانية. في القرن الثاني ، يتم فصلهم عن Voconces وتشكيل سيفيتاس متميزة ، مع عاصمتها Segustero (Sisteron).

العصور الوسطى
في العصور الوسطى ، احتلت القرية مرتفعات سانت جان ، محمية من الممر اللعين للقوات المسلحة وتقلبات وإزعاج النهر.

في حين كان الجنوب الشرقي من بلاد الغال أرضًا بورغندية ، غزا ملك القوط الشرقيين ثيودوريك الكبير المنطقة الواقعة بين دورانس ورون والإيزير في عام 510. لذلك تعتمد البلدية لفترة وجيزة مرة أخرى على إيطاليا حتى عام 526. في الواقع ، التوفيق مع ملك بورغوندي جونديمار الثالث ، الوصي القوط الشرقي أمالاسونتي يعيد هذه الأرض إليه.

تظهر المنطقة لأول مرة في المواثيق في 1182 (Castrum Arnuphum) ، ثم تقع القرية على تلة Saint-Jean.

في عام 1129 ، استولى عدد Forcalquier Bertrand I من Forcalquier على القسطرة ، التي كانت تنتمي إلى Entrevennes-Mison. رفض السكان دفع البرج ، مستفيدين من حروب باوسنكي للمطالبة بالخضوع لكونت برشلونة. في القرن الثاني عشر ، يمتلك دير Saint-André de Villeneuve-lès-Avignon Saint-Pierre-de-la-Durance ، والدخول المتصورة.

في 29 يونيو 1220 ، تم توقيع اتفاقيات Meyrargues بين Guillaume de Sabran و Raymond Bérenger IV de Provence ، حول مقاطعة Forcalquier التي كانوا يتنازعون عليها. شمال المقاطعة ، من Forcalquier المدرجة بقدر ما ذهب Buëch إلى حساب Provence ، ناقص عدد قليل من الجيوب مثل Château-Arnoux التي بقيت إلى Guillaume de Sabran.

اعتمد الإقطاع على Agoult القرن الرابع عشر ، قبل الانتقال إلى Glandevès (القرن الخامس عشر) والغابة (القرن السادس عشر) ، وأخيرًا إلى لومبارد (التي تضيف Château-Arnoux باسمهم). وقع المجتمع تحت حراسة سيسترون.

العصور الحديثة
التنمية الاقتصادية والتجارية تؤدي إلى انتقال القرية إلى الوادي ووضعها الحالي. كان Château-Arnoux أحد مساكن إحدى أقوى العائلات البروفنسالية ، GLANDEVES ، التي بنت قلعتهم.

خلال حروب الدين ، التقى دوقات Lesdiguières و Lavalette هناك في عام 1588 ، من أجل تهدئة المنطقة.

الثورة والإمبراطورية
خلال الثورة الفرنسية ، لمتابعة مرسوم اتفاقية 25 Vendémiaire السنة الثانية التي تدعو البلديات بأسماء قد تتذكر ذكريات الملوك أو الإقطاع أو الخرافات ، لاستبدالها بأسماء أخرى ، تغير البلدية اسم Roche-Arnoux.

في عام 1793 ، تم وضع القلعة للهدم ، حتى لو لم يكتمل العمل.

ومع ذلك ، تم تخفيض الأبراج الخمسة في هذا الوقت.

القرن ال 19
وضع السكك الحديدية ، الجسر فوق Durance الذي حل محل نظام العبارات ، وضع Château-Arnoux في العصر الصناعي.

في عام 1829 ، كان القصد من بناء جسر معلق هو مضاعفة جسر بوم دي سيسترون القديم ، أعلى المنبع. تم الانتهاء من بنائه في عام 1833 ، لكن سلاسل التعليق اندلعت أثناء اختبار الحمل (مع وضع 10 م 3 من الحصى المعبأ على سطح السفينة). تم وضعه في النهاية في الخدمة عام 1836 ؛ مئزرها بطول 114 م.

مثل العديد من البلديات في القسم ، كان لدى Château-Arnoux مدرسة قبل قوانين Jules Ferry بوقت طويل: في عام 1863 ، كان لديها بالفعل مدرسة توفر التعليم الابتدائي للبنين ، في العاصمة. يتم إعطاء نفس التعليمات للفتيات ، على الرغم من أن قانون فالوكس (1851) يتطلب فقط فتح مدرسة للبنات في البلديات التي يزيد عدد سكانها عن 800 نسمة. تستفيد المدينة من إعانات قانون دوروي الثاني (1877) لتجديد مدرستها.

القرن ال 20
إنشاء في البلدة في مكان يسمى Saint-Auban في عام 1916 للمؤسسة الكيميائية ALAIS-FROGES-CAMARGUE. مخصص لصناعة الحرب في هذه الحرب العالمية الأولى. وهكذا ولدت واحدة من المواقع الصناعية الرئيسية في جبال الألب مع ما يصل إلى 2500 عامل في مطلع السبعينيات.

في الحرب العالمية الثانية ، للتحضير للهبوط في بروفانس ، يطلق فوج المشاة الأمريكي رقم 143 المدن والقرى في طريقه ، بما في ذلك سانت أوبان ، ونتيجة لذلك ، Château-Arnoux.

حتى منتصف القرن العاشر ، كانت الكرمة تزرع في Château-Arnoux-Saint-Auban. كان النبيذ المنتج بجودة متواضعة مخصصًا للاستهلاك المنزلي. تم التخلي عن هذه الثقافة الآن.

في عام 1959 ، تم إغلاق الجسر المعلق البالغ من العمر 123 عامًا ، بعد أن خضع لإصلاحات كبيرة في عامي 1899 و 1919. وتم استبداله بجسر سد إسكال.

أنتج تركيب المدينة مجمعًا صناعيًا مستقلًا واسع النطاق ومصنعًا ومدينة للعمال. بوتقة لا تصدق من الجنسيات ، الممنوحة بجميع خدمات الأبوة الصناعية المنتصرة ، كانت مدينة سانت أووبان العمالية لسنوات عديدة نموذجًا في هذا المجال. هذا النموذج هو في الواقع نموذج للتراث الصناعي في القرن العشرين. حدائق المدينة ، تقوم ببناء المشهد الحضري والعلاقات الاجتماعية لعصر. وهكذا يعيش شعبان جنبًا إلى جنب على نفس المنطقة. مدينة العمال سانت أووبان وقرية شاتو أرنو الريفية. شارك اثنان من السكان ذوي التطلعات والتقاليد المتباينة في مزيج اقتصادي واجتماعي. تم تأكيد هذا التكافل من خلال تغيير الاسم من Château-Arnoux إلى Château-Arnoux-Saint-Auban خلال الثمانينيات.

واليوم ، تعمل البلدية ضمن مجتمع بلديات مجتمع الشرق الأوسط ودورانس بروفانس على ظهور نموذج اقتصادي جديد يجمع بين الصناعة التقليدية والتنمية السياحية. لذلك ، تعتمد على الجودة الاستثنائية لبيئتها. أصبحت دورانس وبحيرتها ، وتلال هوت بروفانس وجهة معترف بها لممارسة الرياضة في الهواء الطلق ومراقبة النباتات والحيوانات.

التراث التاريخي
على حافة البحيرة ، يوجد منتزه تصطف على جانبيه الأشجار. موقع طيور هام. القلعة موقع سري.

قلعة
تقع قاعة المدينة في قلعة من عصر النهضة ولكن على الطراز القوطي ، وهي مدرجة جزئيًا ومدرجة جزئيًا كنصب تاريخي. تم بناؤه من قبل Pierre de Glandevez ، حوالي 1510-1515 ، تم الانتهاء من القلعة قبل 1530 ، في قلعة قديمة محصنة. من القلعة القديمة ، لا تزال هناك ثغرات مسدودة ومدفعي في أحد الأبراج. يتألف من خمسة أبراج ، دورتين ، مربعين وسداسي يتكشف فيه درج ضخم من 84 درجة مزينة بمنحوتات عصر النهضة تمثل الشخصيات الأسطورية ، باستثناء الطابق الأول ، حيث الزوجان التكميليان (بيير دي جلانديفيز ومادلين دي Villemus) ممثلة ؛ يتم تحريك النوافذ. بعضها يعلوه طبلات نصف دائرية ، وأسلوب عصر النهضة ، والبعض الآخر بقمم بسيطة بزهور. وهي تابعة للبلدية منذ عام 1947. تم تزيين المدفأة الأثرية وباب القاعة الكبرى بشكل غني للغاية بالأعمال الجصية. تم ترميمه في 1966 و 1979.

مثال نادر للهندسة المعمارية في عصر النهضة ، تم بناء القلعة من قبل بيير دي غانديفيس من عام 1515. لا تزال تتمتع بخصائص المعقل: آثار الماكولات ، والثغرات المختلطة ، والخيوط والأسلحة النارية.

أبراج الدفاع الأربعة وسلمها الرائع يجعلها تبدو رائعة. تم تزيين الدرج الضخم بمنحوتات أسطورية. باب الوصول إلى قاعة الشرف مؤرخ. يمكن زيارة الدرج المصنف على أنه نصب تاريخي عند الطلب.

تتميز واجهات عصر النهضة بنوافذ رائعة. نلاحظ أيضًا جذوع المداخن المدهشة بالإضافة إلى الجرغول المثيرة للغاية. منذ عام 1947 ، تضم القلعة الخدمات البلدية في واحدة من أجمل قاعات المدينة في هوت بروفانس.

يتم تنظيم الحديقة حول مسارات اللجام. تزينها نافورة تدعمها منحدرة الأرض في هذا الموقع. يتم ترتيب التراسات بفضل التراسات ، وهي مشجرة بأشجار البلوط والقيقب والجير والكستناء. مع منتزهها ، تم تصنيفها كموقع مسجل منذ عام 1951.

العمارة المدنية
في Petites Fillières ، توجد مزرعة يرجع تاريخها إلى عام 1667 ، مقنطرة بأقواس منخفضة مقوسة. في Font-Robert ، أسقف المزرعة الكبيرة على منحدر واحد ، مؤرخ في القرن السابع عشر: تضم حاليًا قاعة.

تم بناء المنازل الخشبية ذات الهيكل المحمل الداخلي على شكل بوصلة في عام 1943 من قبل جان بروفي وبيير جانيرت في عقار سكني. اثنان منهم ، يقعان في شارع دي لا كولين ، وهما من المعالم التاريخية المدرجة. طاحونة جسر السد.

مرور قناة أوريسون. السد بطول 445 م.

تم بناء جسر معلق فوق Durance في ثلاثينيات القرن التاسع عشر: تم اتخاذ القرار في عام 1829 ، واستمر الموقع حتى عام 1833. كان طول السطح 114 م ؛ لكن سلاسل التعليق تنكسر أثناء اختبار الحمل. أعيد بناؤها أكثر صلابة ودخلت الخدمة في عام 1836 أو 1837 مع ساحة 118 م في فترة واحدة اتخذتها RN 85. وخضعت لإصلاحات كبيرة في عام 1899 و 1919 ، ولم يتم إغلاقها حتى عام 1959 مع بناء إسكال سد الجسر.

تحتوي المدينة على أحد المعالم النادرة للقتلى المسالم في فرنسا.

قرية Château-Arnoux-St Auban
تقع على الضفة اليمنى لمدينة دورانس ، وهي المدينة الخامسة للقسم ويبلغ عدد سكانها 5500 نسمة. تشكل القريتان ، شاتو أرنو من الشرق وسان أوبان من الغرب ، بلدية واحدة. ربما كان Castrum Arnulphi اسم باني القلعة المحصنة الأولى الواقعة على تلة سانت جون.

يمكن الوصول إلى La Chapelle Saint-Jean (1667-1668) على ارتفاع 665 مترًا من المكتب السياحي عبر مسار ملحوظ. أثاث معاصر ونوافذ من الزجاج الملون للفنان العالمي الشهير برنار فينيت. تفتح الكنيسة أيام الأربعاء في شهري يوليو وأغسطس من الساعة 4 مساءً إلى الساعة 7 مساءً كل صباح أحد أيام الأحد ، يوجد سوق بروفنسالي كبير في سانت أوبان في Place Pechiney. بعد ظهر الخميس من الساعة 3 بعد الظهر إلى الساعة 7 مساءً ، سوق عضوي صغير في ساحة المقاومة في Château-Arnoux.

تم بناء القلعة المرموقة من قبل Pierre de Glandevès بين 1510 و 1530. وهي الآن تضم مباني مجلس المدينة. الدرج اللولبي ، المصنف على أنه نصب تاريخي ، مزين بأشكال أسطورية رائعة. تم تصنيف منتزه القلعة منذ عام 1951 على أنه “موقع طبيعي ونصب تذكاري” ، وبعض البلوط قديمة قدم القلعة.

التراث الديني
ال دير سانت بيير إي لينس ، القرن الحادي عشر ، تم بناء النصب التاريخي المصنف بالقرب من المقبرة. تبقى بعض جدران الحنية والباب من الدولة الأولى. حاليا ، تم دمج هذه البقايا في فيلا.

تم بناء الكنيسة الرعوية تحت اسم القديس برنارد ، وترعاها روابط القديس بيير إيسي ، وتم بناؤها عام 1634. وتقبع الصحن بأضلاع ويحدها ممرات. برج الجرس هو برج تم بناؤه ضد الجوقة ، مع سهم إلى جانب أربعة أهرامات.

تحتوي كنيسة Saint-Jean-Baptiste ، التي تم بناؤها في 1667-1668 ، على خليج مغطى وخزانان. يوفر إطلالة بانورامية جميلة على وادي Durance وجبال الألب.

تم بناء كنيسة يسوع العامل في سانت أوبان في 1938-1939 من قبل Bénézech ، حيث تم إعادة طلاء الجوقة في عام 2007 في 3 لوحات مستوحاة محليًا.

التراث الثقافي

سوق عضوي
كل يوم خميس من الساعة 3 بعد الظهر حتى الساعة 7 مساءً في ساحة المقاومة ، يقوم المنتجون المحليون ببيع المنتجات العضوية أو المنتجات من الزراعة المستدامة.

المهرجانات والفعاليات
هذه المدينة الصغيرة هي مكان مناسبات مختلفة.

حدث ثقافي: “Festives de Font Robert” في يوليو.
حدث رياضي: ركوب الدراجة الجبلية “لا جارلاندين” في مايو.
فعالية تذوق الطعام: عيد صديق الخبز ، الأحد الأول من سبتمبر ، العديد من الأحداث ، معارض الفنانين الإقليميين ، وجبات …
سوق البرغوث: كل يوم سبت آخر ، Esplanade de la Resistance ، منظمة رسمية ومهنية
صباح الأحد ، سوق بروفنسال كبير وتقليدي في Saint-Auban.

الفضاء الطبيعي

الزراعة والسياحة الزراعية
هضبة زراعية متجانسة نسبيًا في قطاع الخطة. إنها المنطقة الزراعية الأكثر أهمية في البلدة ، والتي تتمتع بملاءمة جيدة للتربة (منحدرات منخفضة ، محملة بالحجارة وخصوبة عالية إلى حد ما) ، ذات جودة زراعية جيدة ومروية. إن إمكاناتها الزراعية القوية وقيمتها الطبيعية تجعل الخطة منطقة زراعية يجب الحفاظ عليها.

تمثل منطقة زراعية في Les Salettes ، داخل السهل الغريني في Durance ، حصة سياحية قوية. هذه المنطقة الزراعية ، التي تهتم جزئياً بمشروع السياحة البيئية الذي تقوم به بروفانس ألب آجلوميريشن.

التنزه
تقع قاعدة Val de Durance لركوب الدراجات الجبلية في المكتب السياحي في Château-Arnoux ، وتوفر أكثر من 600 كم من المسارات ذات العلامات. 28 دائرة حلقات من جميع المستويات ، دائرة تطور ، ورش عمل للقدرة على المناورة … هناك أيضًا العديد من مسارات المشي لمسافات طويلة المتوفرة في المنطقة. أدلة Topo معروضة للبيع في مكتب السياحة.

طريقة أخرى لاكتشاف الطبيعة وممارسة الرياضة: التوجيه: الانضباط الرياضي أو النشاط الترفيهي ، يتكون التوجيه من إيجاد علامات باستخدام خريطة وبوصلة. توجد طرق دائمة في Château-Arnoux. خريطة معروضة للبيع في مكتب السياحة.

كما سيتم اكتشاف العديد من مسارات تفسير التراث ، المتاحة للجميع.

ركوب الدراجات
يأخذك هذا الطريق من Château-Arnoux إلى Peyruis من خلال مسار جميل جدًا في وسط الطبيعة. المغادرة من Château-Arnoux ، إنها دائرة جميلة للغاية مع بعض الصعوبات التقنية ، وجسور المشاة ، والجسور ، والحافلات الطويلة ، خاصة في المسارات ذات المسار الواحد ، وركوب الدراجات الجبلية النقية.

تسلق الصخور
تتكون الصخرة من الحجر الجيري وتتطور على جوانب مختلفة: لوح ، عمودي ، غير قادر. الارتفاع الأدنى 15 م والحد الأقصى 40 م.

Tags:

Chateau-Arnoux-Saint-Auban, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, France

Château-Arnoux-Saint-Auban is a French commune, located in the department of Alpes-de-Haute-Provence in the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region. 5th city of the Alpes de Haute-Provence, it has 5500 inhabitants. Capital of the Canton of the same name, it is the center town of the Pays Durance Provence and of the Community of Agglomeration Provence Alpes Agglomeration. The castle, which currently houses the town hall, has been listed multiple times.

Château-Arnoux-Saint-Auban is located in Haute Provence on the right bank of the Durance in the heart of the Alpes de Haute-Provence department. Accessible from Aix Marseille by the A 51 and from Grenoble by the Route Napoléon and the A 51, Château-Arnoux-Saint-Auban is at the crossroads of this Durancian axis and the Napoleon road leading to Nice.

The territory of the municipality is densely occupied in ancient times. Its favorable position on the banks of the Durance and on a busy road motivated the establishment of a castle, named after one of its first lords. Château-Arnoux remains a single rural district until the beginning of xx th century. Its location far from the borders, protected from invasions by the Alps, and equipped with a rail link, motivated the installation of a major chemical weapons manufacturing plant in the village of Saint-Auban during the First World War., which changes its face.

Today, the name of the town takes this duality into account, a medieval village on one side, an industrial town on the other, whose Arkema factory has been running many risks since the first pollution of the Durance, but brings the prosperity to the whole town.

History
The Durance was notably in the Neolithic period an active place of trade and settlement. The site near Aubignosc bears witness to this. The Gallo-Roman era made the Durance a major axis of communication. By land, with the Via Domitia which adjoins the territory, by water, the Durance was then navigable. The ancient port of Bourguet, at Escale on the other bank, is a remarkable witness.

Antiquity
Well located in the valley of the Durance, the territory of the municipality is densely occupied during Antiquity. Its territory is part of that of the Sogiontiques (Sogiontii), whose territory extends from the south of the Baronnies to the Durance. The Sogiontiques are federated with the Voconces, and after the Roman conquest, they are attached with them to the Roman province of Narbonnaise. In the ii th century, they are detached from Voconces and form a civitas distinct, with its capital Segustero (Sisteron).

Middle Ages
In the Middle Ages, the village occupied the heights of Saint-Jean, sheltered from the dreaded passage of armed troops and the vagaries and nuisances of the river.

While the south-east of Gaul was a Burgundian land, the king of the Ostrogoths Theodoric the Great conquered the region between the Durance, the Rhône and the Isère in 510. The municipality therefore depends briefly again on Italy, until 526. Indeed, to be reconciled with the Burgundian king Gondemar III, the Ostrogothic regent Amalasonthe returns this territory to him.

The locality appears for the first time in the charters in 1182 (Castrum Arnuphum), the village being then located on the hill Saint-Jean.

In 1129, the count of Forcalquier Bertrand I of Forcalquier seized the castrum, which belonged to Entrevennes-Mison. The inhabitants had refused to pay the albergue, taking advantage of the Baussenque wars to claim to be subservient to the Count of Barcelona. In the xii th century, the abbey Saint-André de Villeneuve-lès-Avignon are possessed the Saint-Pierre-de-la-Durance, and perceived incomes.

On June 29, 1220, the Meyrargues agreements were signed between Guillaume de Sabran and Raymond Bérenger IV de Provence, about the county of Forcalquier that they were disputing. The north of the county, from Forcalquier included as far as Buëch went to the count of Provence, minus a few enclaves like Château-Arnoux which remained to Guillaume de Sabran.

The fief depended Agoult the xiv th century, before moving to Glandevès (xv th century) and the Foresta (xvi th century), and finally to Lombard (which add Château-Arnoux in their name). The community came under the vigil of Sisteron.

Modern times
Economic development and trade lead to the transfer of the village to the valley, its current situation. Château-Arnoux was one of the residences of one of the most powerful Provencal families, the GLANDEVES, who built their castle.

During the wars of religion, the Dukes of Lesdiguières and Lavalette met there in 1588, in order to pacify the region.

Revolution and Empire
During the French Revolution, to follow the decree of the Convention of 25 Vendémiaire Year II inviting the municipalities with names that may recall memories of royalty, feudalism or superstitions, to replace them with other names, the municipality changes name for Roche-Arnoux.

In 1793, the castle was put up for demolition, even if the work was not completed.

However, the five towers were lowered at this time.

19th century
The establishment of the railway, the bridge over the Durance which replaced the ferry system, put Château-Arnoux in the industrial era.

In 1829, the construction of a suspension bridge was intended to double the ancient Baume de Sisteron bridge, further upstream. Its construction was completed in 1833, but the suspension chains broke during the load test (with 10 m 3 of bagged gravel placed on the deck). It was finally put into service in 1836; its apron is 114 m long.

Like many municipalities in the department, Château-Arnoux had a school long before the Jules Ferry laws: in 1863, it already had one which provided primary education for boys, in the capital. The same instruction is given to girls, although the Falloux law (1851) only requires the opening of a girls’ school in municipalities with more than 800 inhabitants. The town benefits from the subsidies of the second Duruy law (1877) to renovate its school.

20th century
The establishment in the town at a place called Saint-Auban in 1916 of the chemical establishment ALAIS-FROGES-CAMARGUE. Intended for the war industry in this First World War. Thus was born one of the main Alpine industrial sites with up to 2,500 workers at the turn of the 1970s.

In WWII, to prepare for the landing in Provence, the 143th US Infantry Regiment releases the towns and villages in its path, including Saint-Auban and, as a result, Château-Arnoux.

Until the middle of the xx th century, the vine was cultivated in Château-Arnoux-Saint-Auban. The wine produced, of mediocre quality, was intended for home consumption. This culture is now abandoned.

In 1959, the 123-year-old suspension bridge was closed, after having undergone major repairs in 1899 and 1919. It was replaced by the L’Escale dam-bridge.

The town installation produced a large-scale autonomous industrial complex, factory and workers’ city. Incredible melting pot of nationalities, endowed with all the services of triumphant industrial paternalism, the workers’ city of Saint-Auban was for many years a model in this field. This exemplary actually a model of the industrial heritage of the XX th century. City gardens, it structures the urban landscape and the social relationships of an era. Two populations thus lived side by side on the same territory. The workers’ city of Saint-Auban and the rural village of Château-Arnoux. Two populations with divergent aspirations and traditions participated in an economic and social mix. This symbiosis was confirmed by the name change from Château-Arnoux to Château-Arnoux-Saint-Auban during the 1980s.

Today, the municipality is working within the Community of Middle Durance and Pays Durance Provence municipalities on the emergence of a new economic model combining traditional industry and tourism development. For this, it relies on the exceptional quality of its environment. The Durance and its lake, the hills of Haute-Provence have become a recognized destination for the practice of outdoor sports and the observation of flora and fauna.

Historical heritage
At the edge of the lake, there is a tree-lined promenade. Important ornithological site. The castle is a classified site.

Castle
The town hall is located in a Renaissance castle but in Gothic style, partly listed and partly listed as a historic monument. It was built by Pierre de Glandevez, around 1510-1515, the castle being completed before 1530, on an old fortified castle. From the old castle, there are still blocked loopholes and a gunner in one of the towers. It is accosted by five towers, two rounds, two square and a hexagonal in which a monumental staircase unfolds, of 84 steps decorated with Renaissance sculptures representing mythological characters, except on the first floor, where the commissioning couple (Pierre de Glandevès and Madeleine de Villemus) is represented; the windows are mullioned. Some are surmounted by semicircular tympanums, Renaissance style, others by simple pinnacles with florets. It has belonged to the municipality since 1947. The monumental fireplace and the door to the Great Hall are very richly decorated with plasterwork. It was restored in 1966 and 1979.

A rare example of Renaissance architecture, the castle was built by Pierre de Glandeves from 1515. It still has the attributes of a stronghold: traces of machicolations, mixed loopholes, string and firearms.

Its four defense towers and its magnificent staircase make it look great. The monumental staircase is decorated with mythological sculptures. The access door to the hall of honor is historiated. The staircase, classified as a historical monument, can be visited on request.

The Renaissance facades have magnificent mullioned windows. We also observe the astonishing corbelled stumps of chimneys as well as the particularly evocative gargoyles. Since 1947, the castle has housed municipal services in one of the most beautiful town halls in Haute-Provence.

The park is organized around bridle paths. It is adorned with a fountain backing onto the slope of the land at this location. Terraces are arranged thanks to terraces, and wooded with oaks, maple, lime and chestnut trees. With its park, it is classified as a registered site since 1951.

Civil architecture
At Petites Fillières, there is a farmhouse dating from 1667, vaulted with low arched arches. At the Font-Robert, the large farmhouse roofs to a single slope, dated xvii th century: it currently houses an auditorium.

Wooden houses with an internal bearing structure in the shape of a compass were built in 1943 by Jean Prouvé and Pierre Jeanneret in a housing estate. Two of them, located rue de la Colline, are historic monuments listed. Windmill; dam bridge.

Passage of the Oraison canal. Dam 445 m long.

A suspension bridge was built over the Durance in the 1830s: the decision was taken in 1829, and the site lasted until 1833. The deck was 114 m long; but the suspension chains break during load test. It was rebuilt more solid and put into service in 1836 or 1837 with an apron of 118 m in a single span taken by the RN 85. It underwent major repairs in 1899 and 1919, and was not closed until 1959 with the construction of the Escale bridge-dam.

The town has one of the rare monuments to the pacifist dead in France.

Village of Château-Arnoux-St Auban
Located on the right bank of the Durance, it is the 5th city of the department with 5500 inhabitants. The two villages, Château-Arnoux to the east and Saint-Auban to the west, form a single commune. Castrum Arnulphi was probably the name of the builder of the 1st fortified castle located on the hill of St John.

La Chapelle Saint-Jean (1667-1668) at an altitude of 665 meters is accessible from the tourist office by a marked path. Contemporary furniture and stained glass windows by the world famous artist Bernar Venet. The chapel is open on Wednesdays in July and August from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. Every Sunday morning, there is a large Provençal market in Saint-Auban on Place Pechiney. Thursday afternoon from 3 p.m. to 7 p.m., a small organic market on Place de la Resistance in Château-Arnoux.

The prestigious castle was built by Pierre de Glandevès between 1510 and 1530. It now houses the premises of the Town Hall. The spiral staircase, classified as a historical monument, is decorated with remarkable mythological figures. The Castle park has been classified since 1951 as a “natural site and monument”, some oaks being as old as the castle.

Religious heritage
The priory of Saint-Pierre-es-Liens, the xi th century, classified historic monument is built near the cemetery. Some walls of the apse and door remain from the first state. Currently, these remains are integrated into a villa.

The parish church, placed under the name of Saint-Bernard, and patronized by Saint Pierre ès ties, was built in 1634. The nave is vaulted with ribs, and bordered by aisles. The bell tower is a tower, built against the choir, with an arrow alongside four pyramidions.

The Saint-Jean-Baptiste chapel, built in 1667-1668, has a capped bay and two vaults. It offers a beautiful panorama over the Durance valley and the Alps.

The Church of Jesus the Worker in Saint-Auban was built in 1938-1939 by Bénézech, where in 2007 the choir had just been repainted in 3 locally inspired paintings.

Cultural heritage

Organic market
Every Thursday from 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. On the Place de la Resistance, local producers, sale of organic products or products from sustainable agriculture.

Festivals and events
This small town is the setting for various events.

Cultural event: “Les Festives de Font Robert” in July.
Sporting event: mountain bike ride “La Jarlandine” in May.
Gastronomic event: the feast of the Friend of bread, 1 st Sunday of September, numerous events, exhibitions of regional artists, meals…
Flea market: every other Saturday, Esplanade de la Resistance, official and professional organization
Sunday morning, large and traditional Provençal market in Saint-Auban.

Natural space

Agriculture and agro-tourism
A relatively homogeneous agricultural plateau in the Plan sector. It is the most important agricultural area of the town, which has very good soil suitability (low slopes, quite loaded with stones and fairly high fertility), of good agronomic quality and irrigated. Its strong agricultural potential and its landscape value make the Plan an agricultural area to be preserved.

An agricultural area in Les Salettes, within the alluvial plain of the Durance, presents a strong tourist stake. This agricultural area, which is partly concerned by the eco-tourism project carried by Provence Alpes Agglomeration.

Hiking
The Val de Durance mountain biking base is located at the Tourist Office in Château-Arnoux, it offers more than 600 km of marked trails. 28 loop circuits of all levels, an evolution circuit, maneuverability workshops… There are also many hiking trails available in the area. Topo guides are on sale at the Tourist Office.

Another way of discovering nature and playing sports: orientation: Sporting discipline or leisure activity, orientation consists of finding markers using a map and a compass. Permanent routes are in place at Château-Arnoux. Map on sale at the Tourist Office.

Several heritage interpretation trails, accessible to all, are also to be discovered.

Cycling
This route takes you from Château-Arnoux to Peyruis by a very beautiful path in the middle of nature. Departure from Château-Arnoux, it’s a very beautiful circuit with some technical difficulties, footbridges, bridges, long buses, mainly on single-track trails, pure mountain biking.

Climbing rock
The Rock is made of limestone and evolves on different profiles: slab, vertical, cant. The minimum height is 15m and the maximum is 40m.

Tags: