卡索普之家,澳大利亚红山

位于24 Mugga Way的Calthorpes House于1927年由哈里卡尔索普(WoodCandorpe)的股票和代理商建立。由奥克利和帕克斯建筑公司设计,该房屋展示了西班牙使命风格的许多特点。这两个女孩结婚时,这个家庭(哈利,他的妻子德尔和两个女儿德尔和黎明)在整个大萧条和第二次世界大战期间一起住在房子里。 1950年哈里去世后,他的妻子继续住在房子里,大部分人都是独自一人。当朋友和邻居重新装修房屋时,她从未做过。 1979年她去世后,人们认识到有机会保存与堪培拉早年有关的房屋岌岌可危的完整性,澳大利亚联邦政府于1984年从两个女儿那里购买了房子,花园和房子的内容。

Calthorpes’House是一个几乎被遗忘的世界的窗口。建于1927年的这位真正的幸存者是国内历史的宝库。这座房子是1927年为Calthorpe家庭建造的,这一年联邦议会和公共服务被转移到了堪培拉。哈利和戴尔卡尔索普从昆比恩搬到堪培拉,通过哈里在不断发展的联邦首都的土地拍卖中扮演的角色,看到了这座新城市的潜力。

Calthorpes选择了建筑师Oakley和Parkes来设计他们的家;这家公司曾经赢得过为联邦首都设计合适房屋的全国竞赛,并且还设计了总理官邸洛奇。这栋房子专为干燥堪培拉炎热干燥的夏季设计,并与花园城市理想的大型花园内的独立小屋相一致。像这个时期的许多堪培拉房屋一样,它采用粗土色涂刷的粗糙外墙,带山墙瓦片的瓦屋顶,拱形走廊和百叶窗。

除了从他们的旧房子转移出来的一些珍贵的家具外,Calthorpe太太从悉尼的Beard Watson&Co.选择了新的家具和家居用品。由于大多数家具和配件是同时购买的,并且由Calthorpe太太仔细照顾而不是被替换,所以房子及其内容仍然是当时流行风格的绝佳例子。

澳大利亚建筑师协会在其重要的20世纪建筑注册中说,这座建筑是20世纪20年代澳大利亚房屋的罕见,相对不变的例子。注意到它包含了当时的家庭生活,它也指向了“预示着新社会时代”的厨房和浴室的室内设计和临床外观,

Calthorpes’之家
这座房子是1927年为Calthorpe家庭建造的,这一年联邦议会和公共服务被转移到了堪培拉。哈利和戴尔卡尔索普从昆比恩搬到堪培拉,通过哈里在不断发展的联邦首都的土地拍卖中扮演的角色,看到了这座新城市的潜力。

Calthorpes选择了建筑师Oakley和Parkes来设计他们的家;这家公司曾经赢得过为联邦首都设计合适房屋的全国竞赛,并且还设计了总理官邸洛奇。

这栋房子专为干燥堪培拉炎热干燥的夏季设计,并与花园城市理想的大型花园内的独立小屋相一致。像这个时期的许多堪培拉房屋一样,它采用粗土色涂刷的粗糙外墙,带山墙瓦片的瓦屋顶,拱形走廊和百叶窗。

除了从他们的旧房子转移出来的一些珍贵的家具外,Calthorpe太太从悉尼的Beard Watson&Co.选择了新的家具和家居用品。由于大多数家具和配件是同时购买的,并且由Calthorpe太太仔细照顾而不是被替换,所以房子及其内容仍然是当时流行风格的绝佳例子。

Calthorpe家庭
Harry Calthorpe是Woodgers和Calthorpe的股票,电台和房地产公司的合伙人。 1924年,该公司在堪培拉进行了第一笔租赁交易。哈利曾在第一次世界大战期间服役,在加利波利受伤,看到他返回澳大利亚从事招聘活动。哈利娶了Della Ludvigsen于1917年,他们的两个女儿Del和Dawn出生在Queanbeyan。

这些女孩与新的堪培拉市一起成长,参加了英格兰女子文法学校的教会,这个学校离他们家很近。德尔于1942年与STG科尔曼船长结婚,并于1944年与黎明结婚,CSIRO的昆虫学家道格拉斯沃特豪斯在黎明担任实验室助理。

Harry Calthorpe于1950年去世,他的妻子戴尔直到1979年去世前一直生活在房子里。在20世纪80年代中期,我们社区中有许多人担心堪培拉遗产的丧失,联邦政府购买了Calthorpes House 。它现在被保存为我们城市早年家庭生活的窗口。

房间指南
Calthorpes之家根据功能分为多个区域,公共房间分布在房子的前部,家庭的私人房间由大厅和通道分隔开,家庭工作区域则朝向房子的后部。

室内装饰
大厅内染色的黑木镶板映照在餐厅的天花板横梁和客厅的天花板上。在房子里使用的其他木材已经被沾上了颜色,而墙壁被粗糙地渲染和涂漆。公共房间由一个铁轨环绕,用于装饰摆设。

房间非常舒适,时尚,自从Calthorpes时代以来几乎没有改变。留声机,钢琴,唱片和桥牌反映了家庭的娱乐和消遣。 Calthorpe女士是一位敏锐的桥牌选手,展出的许多物品都在桥牌比赛中获胜。

厨房,储藏室和浴室
20世纪20年代,卫生科学出现了新的焦点,这反映在使用容易清洁的表面如瓷砖和油毡上。 Calthorpes欢迎国内新的烤面包机,铁和风扇技术,但他们仍然依靠需要每日提供块冰的冰柜。炉子燃烧固体燃料,但后来被一个电热早期的炉灶取代。

在20世纪20年代,商人将大部分家庭用品交付到后门。如果房子的居住者不在家,商人的保险柜位于后门廊,货物将放置在后门廊中。在食品室的墙上是杂货商提供的锡制清单。

女仆的房间和洗衣房
当Calthorpes第一次搬到堪培拉时,他们带来了他们的住家女佣。她的房间在洗衣间和厨房之间,与房子的工作间隔开,而不是靠近家庭卧室。尽管家里的所有女人都做了一些家务,但女佣做了繁重的工作。玛丽麦克唐纳女仆从1927年开始工作,直到大萧条时期,当时的Calthorpes’感觉自己再也无法忍受她了。

洗衣房内装有燃木铜管,三个混凝土槽和一台手动绞肉机;全部用于耗时耗力的洗涤任务。相关工具,包括铜棒,用于切割肥皂的刀和用于增亮洗衣液的蓝色包都能够存活下来。

早餐室
这是一间重要的家庭房,白天由Calthorpe太太使用,晚上由Harry Calthorpe作为办公室使用。两次世界大战的回忆装饰房间,包括穿制服的哈利的照片和埃及场景的水彩画。即使是在二战期间强制执行的纸张遮光窗也能存活下来。

卧室
Calthorpe夫人收集的家庭照片装饰主卧室,而Harry Calthorpe的军用狗牌和服务奖章则保存在梳妆台抽屉中。第二间卧室是德尔的,而黎明的卧室里收藏了一些儿童玩具。

花园
Calthorpes之家周围的花园是他们时代的典型。前花园是正式的,包含以成熟的树木和灌木为背景种植的年度季节性展示。

后花园被树篱和栅栏分成几段。带凉亭的灌木丛坐落在果园,菜园和“晾晒绿地”前。花园用于陈列和采摘,菜园提供新鲜使用和保存的农产品。

在木屋后面是一间配有柴炉,椅子和玩具箱的小房子。该建筑最初是堪培拉早期建筑工人临时居住的小屋之一。哈利卡尔索普买了小屋作为他的女儿们的剧场。

花园里还有一个防空洞,足够容纳两个家庭;提醒人们在二战期间,入侵的威胁被认为是非常真实的。

Tags:

Calthorpes’ House, Red Hill, Australia

Calthorpes’ House at 24 Mugga Way was built in 1927 by Harry Calthorpe, stock and station agent with the firm Woodgers & Calthorpe. Designed by the architectural firm of Oakley and Parkes, the house displays many characteristics of the Spanish Mission style. The family (Harry, his wife Del and two daughters, Del and Dawn) lived together in the house throughout the Depression and Second World War, when both girls married. After Harry’s death in 1950, his wife continued to live in the house, mostly alone. While friends and neighbours redecorated their houses, she elder never did. After her death in 1979, it was recognised that an opportunity existed to preserve a house that related to Canberra’s early years in staggering completeness, and the Australian Commonwealth Government bought the house, its garden and the house’s contents from the two daughters in 1984.

Calthorpes’ House is a window into an almost forgotten world. Built in 1927, this genuine survivor is a treasure house of domestic history. This home was built for the Calthorpe family in 1927, the year the Federal Parliament and public service were transferred to Canberra. Harry and Dell Calthorpe moved to Canberra from Queanbeyan, having seen the potential of the new city first hand through Harry’s role in land auctions in the growing Federal Capital.

The Calthorpes chose the architects Oakley and Parkes to design their home; the same firm that had won a national competition to design suitable houses for the Federal Capital, and had also designed the Prime Minister’s residence, the Lodge. The house was designed for the hot, dry Canberra summers and to correspond with the Garden City ideal of a free-standing cottage set within a large garden. Like many Canberra houses of this period it has a roughcast exterior finish painted in earthy colours, a tiled roof with shingled gables, arched verandahs and shuttered windows.

Adding to a few treasured items of furniture transferred from their old house, Mrs Calthorpe selected new furniture and household items from Beard Watson & Co. in Sydney. As most of the furnishings and fittings were purchased at the same time, and were carefully cared for by Mrs Calthorpe rather than being replaced, the house and its contents remain excellent examples of the prevailing style of the time.

The Australian Institute of Architects in its register of significant 20th-century architecture says the building is a rare, relatively unchanged example of a 1920s Australian home. Noting that it encapsulates family life of the time, it also points to the interior design and clinical appearance of the kitchen and bathroom, which “heralded the new social era”

Calthorpes’ House
This home was built for the Calthorpe family in 1927, the year the Federal Parliament and public service were transferred to Canberra. Harry and Dell Calthorpe moved to Canberra from Queanbeyan, having seen the potential of the new city first hand through Harry’s role in land auctions in the growing Federal Capital.

The Calthorpes chose the architects Oakley and Parkes to design their home; the same firm that had won a national competition to design suitable houses for the Federal Capital, and had also designed the Prime Minister’s residence, the Lodge.

The house was designed for the hot, dry Canberra summers and to correspond with the Garden City ideal of a free-standing cottage set within a large garden. Like many Canberra houses of this period it has a roughcast exterior finish painted in earthy colours, a tiled roof with shingled gables, arched verandahs and shuttered windows.

Adding to a few treasured items of furniture transferred from their old house, Mrs Calthorpe selected new furniture and household items from Beard Watson & Co. in Sydney. As most of the furnishings and fittings were purchased at the same time, and were carefully cared for by Mrs Calthorpe rather than being replaced, the house and its contents remain excellent examples of the prevailing style of the time.

The Calthorpe Family
Harry Calthorpe was a partner in the stock, station and real estate agency of Woodgers and Calthorpe. The firm conducted the first sale of leases in Canberra in 1924. Harry had served in WW1, sustaining injuries at Gallipoli which saw him return to Australia to work in the recruiting campaign. Harry married Della Ludvigsen in 1917 and their two daughters, Del and Dawn, were born in Queanbeyan.

The girls grew up alongside the new city of Canberra, attending the Church of England Girls’ Grammar School which was a short walk from their home. Del married Captain STG Coleman in 1942, and in 1944 Dawn married Douglas Waterhouse, an entomologist at the CSIRO where Dawn worked as a laboratory assistant.

Harry Calthorpe died in 1950, and his wife Dell remained living in the house until shortly before her death in 1979. In the mid 1980s, as many in our community were becoming concerned about the loss of Canberra’s heritage, the Federal Government purchased Calthorpes’ House. It is now preserved as a window into a family’s life in our city’s early years.

A guide to the rooms
Calthorpes’ House is divided into areas based on function, with the public rooms grouped at the front of the house, the family’s private rooms are separated by the hall and passage and the domestic work areas are toward the rear of the house.

Interior decoration
The stained blackwood panelling in the hall is mirrored in the ceiling beams of the dining room and the ceiling of the sitting room. Other timber used in the house has been stained to match, while the walls are rough-rendered and painted. The public rooms are encircled by a plate rail for the display of ornaments.

The rooms were very comfortable and fashionable and have altered little since the Calthorpes’ time. The gramophone, pianola, records and bridge cards reflect the family’s entertainment and pastimes. Mrs Calthorpe was a keen bridge player, and many of the items on display were won in bridge competitions.

Kitchen, pantry and bathroom
There was a new focus on the science of hygiene in the 1920s which is reflected in the use of easily cleaned surfaces such as tiles and linoleum. The Calthorpes welcomed the new domestic technology of a toaster, iron and fan, but they still relied on an ice chest which required daily supplies of block ice. The stove burned solid fuel, but was later replaced by an electric Early Kooka stove.

In the 1920s tradesmen delivered most household supplies to the back door. A tradesman’s safe is located on the back porch in which goods would be placed if the house’s occupants were not at home. On the wall in the pantry is a grocer’s reminder list made of tin.

Maid’s room and laundry
When the Calthorpes first moved to Canberra they brought their live-in maid with them. Her room, between the laundry and kitchen, was located with the working rooms of the house, rather than near the family bedrooms. Although all the women in the family did some housework the maid did the heavy work. The maid, Mary McDonald, was employed from 1927 until the Depression years when the Calthorpes’ felt they could no longer afford to keep her on.

The laundry contains the wood-fired copper, three concrete troughs and a hand-wringer; all used for the laborious and time consuming task of washing. Associated tools, including the copper stick, knife for cutting the soap and the blue bag for brightening the wash all survive.

Breakfast room
This was a key family room, used by Mrs Calthorpe during the day and by Harry Calthorpe as an office in the evening. Memories of the two World Wars decorate the room, including a photo of Harry in uniform and a watercolour of an Egyptian scene. Even the paper blackout blinds, which were compulsory during World War II, survive.

Bedrooms
Mrs Calthorpe’s collection of family photographs decorate the master bedroom, while Harry Calthorpe’s military dog-tags and service medals are kept in the dressing table drawer. The second bedroom was Del’s, while Dawn’s bedroom contains a collection of children’s toys.

Gardens
The gardens around Calthorpes’ House are typical of their era. The front garden is formal, containing seasonal displays of annuals planted against a backdrop of mature trees and shrubs.

The back garden is divided into sections by hedges and fences. The shrubbery with its summerhouse sits in front of the orchard, the vegetable garden and ‘drying green’. The flower gardens were used for both display and picking, and the vegetable gardens provided produce for fresh use and preserving.

Behind the woodhouse is a cubby house furnished with a wood stove, chairs and boxes for toys. The building was originally one of many huts built as temporary accommodation for Canberra’s early construction workers. Harry Calthorpe bought the hut to use as a playhouse for his daughters.

The garden also contains an air-raid shelter large enough to house two families; a reminder that during World War II the threat of invasion was considered very real.

Tags: