马赛第二区,法国罗讷河口省

马赛第二区位于旧港以北。第二区覆盖了马赛最古老的地区,包括附近的卡特区。只有很少中世纪建筑被保留下来:在19世纪共和国街道的建设中,部分城市被毁。保存下来的旧建筑物包括Maison Diamantée,Hôtel-Dieu和Vieille Charité。马赛Hôtelde ville地点位于老港口的北码头,二战后由建筑师Fernand Pouillon进行了重建。

该区的北部是向二十世纪开放的马赛新港口以及Joliette-Arenc商业区的所在地,该区始建于1990年代,是Euroméditerranée的一部分,特别是在码头和CMA-CGM塔楼。J4号航站楼位于Joliette港口以南,自2013年以来一直举办欧洲和地中海文明博物馆和Villa Méditerranée。

分区
马赛的部门和地区是市内行政区划,共享马赛的领土。因此,该市分为八个部门区和十六个市政区。

这些市政区不应与部门区混淆,后者是部门级的另一种行政分区。在法国,里昂和巴黎的直辖市也细分为市政部门。

马赛第二区分为四个小区:竞技场,大卡梅斯区,市政厅和乔利埃特。它与第三市政区组成第二部门区,其中大部分是城市更新项目Euroméditerranée的一部分。

竞技场
Arenc是马赛第二区的一个地区,其中有渡轮码头。

在奥克西唐(Occitan),阿伦茨(Arnc)指定一个有沙子的地方(奥克西唐(竞技场)。的确,在建造马赛自治港口之前,Arenc是马赛人聚在一起去海滩的地方。

今天的阿伦茨区是Euroméditerranée项目的核心,该项目已宣布具有国家利益,将这个以前的工业区转变为大型的第三产业中心。

莱斯·格兰德·卡姆斯
大卡梅利特人是马赛第二郡的居民区,该地区以大卡梅利特人修道院命名。它包含非官方的Panier区和République街的一部分。

Hôtel-de-Ville
de-Ville酒店是马赛(法国)的行政区,在旧港口的北侧,在第二区。这个地区位于马赛市政厅,Dieu。Panier区就是在这个行政区中。第二次世界大战前占大部分的圣让区在1942年被德国当局炸毁。

它的奥克西唐语名称(LaLòtja)以“ rue de la Loge”的名字出现,用这种语言表示佛陀市的行政机构。

La Joliette
拉乔利埃特(La Joliette)是马赛第二区的居民区,位于老港和购物区以北。该地区位于Euroméditerranée项目的中心,该项目旨在创建一个商务中心。

根据一个非常顽强的传说,拉乔利埃特(La Joliette)的名字来自朱利叶斯·凯撒(Julius),他在与庞培(Pompey)对抗期间在该地区建立了自己的营地。实际上,该地区的名字似乎应归功于AncienRégime下的一处物业。

景点

勒·潘尼尔
Cart指的是位于第二区的马赛区,分为三个行政区:Hôtel-de-Ville,The Great Carmelites和La Joliette。旧港口的北岸是公元前600年希腊马萨利亚殖民地历史悠久的定居点的最古老部分。广告。尽管在19世纪Réde laRépublique街开业时,然后在20世纪,Rue de laRépublique街区的大部分地区遭到破坏,但那里狭窄的街道总是提醒我们这是该市最古老的地区。 1943年2月,德国当局从马赛历史中心圣让区进行爆破。今天,篮子是唯一保留下来的部分。从19世纪下半叶开始,这些地区成为马赛移民人口的门户,尤其是意大利人,科西嘉人,然后是Maghrebians。近年来,在修复和建立文化场所的影响下,Panier已成为一个旅游区,尤其是通过Euroméditerranée项目。

钻石屋
Diamantée房屋(Saboulin Bollena的前身酒店)是马赛的一栋建筑,位于市政厅区市政厅的后面。现在它是欧洲文化之都马赛普罗旺斯2013组织协会的总部所在地。它的名字得益于其外墙的外观,外墙上覆盖着切成点的石头:棱柱形凸台。自1925年11月10日以来,立面和楼梯已被列为历史古迹。

旧慈善
老慈善机构位于大卡梅利特大区官方区域马赛第二郡Panier区中心的rue de la Charité街2号,是一栋建于17世纪的建筑,是Pierre Puget计划修建的城市的穷人和穷人。这与马修·福柯(Michel Foucault)在其著名的《古典时代的疯狂历史》(1962)中强调的“大禁区”的实施相对应。临终关怀医院是17世纪建筑的代表,特别是因为教堂Puget及其卵形圆顶的存在。到二十世纪末期,它逐渐失去了它的使命,在1950年代几乎濒临灭绝,只被生活在悲惨环境中的穷人占据。根据1月29日的法令,小教堂和临终关怀已被列为历史古迹,

Vieille Charité建筑群由冠采石场中的粉红色和白色石头建造而成,由四个向外封闭的建筑翼楼组成,并通过三个层次的画廊通向矩形庭院,这突显了建筑物内部的生命。它是一栋大型建筑,其四个侧翼排列成112×96 m的矩形,外墙没有窗户。这些建筑物的主体由三层重叠的画廊组成,这些画廊的半圆形拱廊通向82×45 m的内部庭院。

在这个四边形的中心,在前门的轴线上,是一个教堂,上面是一个椭圆形的圆顶,具有最佳的巴洛克风格。第二帝国风格的带有科林斯式柱廊的门廊采用了慈善慈善的主题,欢迎有需要的孩子,周围有两只鹈鹕喂养他们。它建于1861年至1863年之间,由马赛招待所的建筑师Blanchet建造。

马赛圣玛丽大教堂
Major大教堂或Sainte-Marie-Majeure大教堂是马赛大主教管区的天主教大教堂。La Major是在建筑师LéonVaudoyer的计划下于1852年至1893年之间以新拜占庭风格建造的。它位于第二区乔利埃特(Joliette)区,坐落在老港和乔利埃特(Joliette)港口之间的滨海大道上,在二十世纪的旧大教堂所在地,因此即将到来的奥克西唐语名称为“主要”。大理石和斑岩的建筑和室内装饰使其成为宗教建筑的特殊方面。Leo XIII于1896年1月24日将其建为小教堂。

主大教堂长142米;门廊的塔高60米;教堂中殿上升至20米;中央圆顶上升到70米,直径为17.5米。合唱团周围环绕着一个很长的门廊,周围是辐射小教堂。其规模可容纳3,000人。

外立面和屋顶的不同高度很好地反映了不同的内部空间,通过它们的划分,进一步突出了塔楼的存在,这些塔楼将建筑物的每个部分分隔开来。外墙和内墙采用带交替多色处理的带子进行处理:卡西斯石和佛罗伦萨绿色大理石为外墙,室内为暖色。这种使用不同颜色的石头和大理石使其具有独特性,但不一定是经典的。外立面两侧是两座顶有圆顶的塔。悬挂在其前面的门廊上方,设有连接两座塔楼的拱形廊。在拱门下,我们可以看到中心排成一排的七个代表基督的高大雕像,周围是使徒彼得和保罗以及拉撒路(Lazarus),根据传说,马赛的第一任主教-和他的同伴(他的姐姐马特,马克西姆,玛丽-玛德琳)是普罗旺斯的传奇圣人。广场上耸立着贝尔松斯大帝的雕像,他在法国经历的上一次大瘟疫中(1720年的瘟疫)脱颖而出。

门廊的拱顶上覆盖着蓝色和金色的马赛克,灵感来自拉文纳的加拉·普拉西迪亚陵墓。该门廊的内壁第一次被马赛圣主教的纪念性雕像所占据,该雕像分为三组。覆盖着三重拱门的鼓室的中央有一扇玫瑰窗,伴随着耶路撒冷和伯利恒等城市的镶嵌风格。门的鼓室上的大理石雕刻在中间:纪尧姆的圣母加冕典礼;向东:复活的象征;西边是Brémond的L’agneau神秘和La Fontaine de vie。

三个巨大的海湾构成了中殿。它由腹股沟穹顶,交叉通道和合唱团覆盖着五个圆顶,第一个在一个喇叭上,喇叭带有一个八角形的鼓,鼓上有两个半圆形的海湾,其他的则在下垂的齿上。大量的大理石柱凸显出这种上升。它们建立在石头和大理石交替呈现红色和浅o石色调的桩上,并由三组高拱形窗户和彩色玻璃窗户与无图形装饰组成的一组照明。侧面的中殿在墩台的厚度中被刺穿,通过由拱廊构成的三重拱廊支撑着画廊,拱廊位于斑岩的整体柱上,顶部用大理石雕刻着叶子。大理石栏杆支撑着青铜烛台。威尼斯人学校的彩色马赛克路面以其设计的独创性而著称。在第三个海湾可以欣赏

长为50米的长途汽车可以通过台阶进入环绕合唱团的门诊室,将其与两个大型礼拜堂分开。在十字路口的中心,四个纪念性拱门支撑着安装在号角上的中央圆顶,从而从方形平面过渡到八边形。八个侧面的墙壁被八个双半圆形窗户照亮,这些窗户被拱形放置,拱形由圆柱柱架住,雕花的大写字母被玫瑰窗所覆盖,从而提供了60米高的光线。在Transept的每个臂上,每个小礼拜堂的入口都带有一个重要性较低的圆顶。马赛雕塑家路易斯·博蒂内利(Louis Botinelly)在每个巨大的桩子形成的四个角度处放着四位传教士的纪念雕像。

从Transept到避难所有七个步骤。在中心,卡拉拉大理石的主要祭坛装饰有亨利·安托万·雷沃伊(Henri AntoineRévoil)的马赛克装饰,被安置在一个带有青铜圆顶的锡伯林下,并由突尼斯的四个on玛瑙柱支撑,这是大理石制造商和雕刻家朱尔斯·坎蒂尼(Jules Cantini)的礼物。祭坛放在中间的院子下面,照亮了长老会,上面摆着摊位和风琴。在每一侧的左侧,您都到达了奉献给圣心的Chapter教堂,在右侧,则是致力于该地区的信徒的周日崇拜的Saint-Lazare教堂。

它绕过避难所,为六个礼拜堂提供服务,其中两个礼拜堂的马赛克覆盖物和彩色大理石装饰。它在其中间通往轴向小教堂的通道,该小教堂仅构成一个自治建筑,其纳特克斯,中殿和后殿的圆顶覆盖着装饰有天使胸像的牛角。该教堂主要供奉圣母,目前设有圣尤金·德·马泽诺德墓(1837年至1861年),马赛主教和玛丽·圣母无原罪的建立者,在世界五个地区都有传教士,由教宗若望保禄任命二1995年12月3日。

港口梯田
Terrasses du Port是马赛第二区的购物中心,拥有171家商店。该建筑有一个2,600平方米的阳台,可欣赏Joliette港口的景致,因此而得名。海边建筑物的屋顶类似于远洋客轮的船体。旅客登机区保留在底楼。在露台上,方向表可告知游客周围的动植物。该建筑是由建筑师MichelPétuaud-Létang与4A Architects公司以及Ingérop和Barbanel设计办公室合作设计的。该项目耗资4.66亿欧元3,由英国汉默森集团资助

船坞
马赛码头(The Docks of Marseille)由五座建筑组成,以前是仓库,如今在马赛Joliette区设有办公室和商店。这些船坞是根据英国船坞模型于1858年至1864年建造的,由五栋七层楼的建筑组成,总长365米。修复工作于1992年开始。马赛码头于2015年10月10日开放,并于2015年12月4日开幕。

乔利埃特广场
乔利埃特广场(Place de la Joliette)位于马赛码头的脚下,位于马赛第二区。

机库J1
机库J1位于Joliette区的马赛中心。它是由Eiffel公司于1923年建造的,以应对港口的强劲发展。

长期被遗弃的它在Euroméditerranée计划的框架内找到了第二生命,更具体地说,是在2013年马赛普罗旺斯活动之际,它具有文化上的吸引力和多次展览。2013年后,马赛大港拥有的这座建筑的未来在很长一段时间内都不确定。这是一个项目征集的主题,该项目于2019年1月作出裁决,J1机库将更名为“ La Passerelle”,从2023年起将举办各种活动(休闲,活动,酒店大楼等)。

欧洲和地中海文明博物馆
欧洲和地中海文明博物馆是位于法国马赛的国家博物馆。该博物馆致力于欧洲和地中海文明。永久性收藏记录了地中海盆地历史和文化的相互影响,它对跨代社会一直到现代都采取了跨学科的方法。

博物馆建于港口入口的填海土地上,毗邻17世纪的圣让堡(Fort Saint-Jean)和一个以前的港口码头J4。通道将新建筑与圣让堡(Fort Saint-Jean)分开,该城堡已作为项目的一部分进行了重组。这两个站点由一条长130 m(430英尺)的高人行天桥相连。另一个人行天桥将圣让堡(Fort Saint-Jean)与Panier街区圣洛朗(St Laurent)教堂附近的图雷特广场(Esplanade de la Tourette)连接。

该博物馆由“石头,水和风”建造,是由建筑师Rudy Ricciotti与建筑师Roland Carta合作设计的。它是一个15,000平方米(160,000平方英尺)的立方体,周围是纤维增强的混凝土格架外壳,分为两层,设有地下礼堂,可容纳400人。永久收藏品和书店位于一楼。大楼顶部的露台上设有一间餐厅,可欣赏马赛湾,滨海路和普拉多的全景。

地中海别墅
地中海别墅(La Villa Mediterranean)是位于马赛第二区(Jseette)沿J4大道的马赛第二区(Euroméditerranée周边)的公共建筑。它旨在容纳会议,会议和展览。

该建筑由意大利建筑师Stefano Boeri设计,属于普罗旺斯-阿尔卑斯-蓝色海岸地区议会,其宗旨是“向所有人提供理解现代地中海的关键”。这座大楼一直受到批评,于2013年4月7日开幕,并于2018年1月关闭。它应该在2022年重新开放,里面有Cosquer洞穴的复制品。

马赛
马赛是法国Bouches-du-Rhône省和普罗旺斯-阿尔卑斯-蔚蓝海岸地区的县。它位于罗纳河口附近的地中海沿岸。马赛是法国第二大城市,占地面积241平方公里(93平方英里),2016年人口为870,018。

马赛历史悠久。它是由Phoceans(来自希腊的Phocea)于公元前600年建立的,是欧洲最古老的城市之一。就人口而言,马赛是法国第二大城市。它的人口是不同文化的真正熔炉。

从色彩缤纷的市场(如Noailles市场),让您仿佛置身于非洲,再到Panier地区(镇上最古老的地方)到Calanques(自然的悬崖峭壁入海-Calanque意味着峡湾)。从历史上讲,新移民到老港口和老街(马赛沿岸)马赛的安装地点肯定有很多。

马赛现在是法国地中海沿岸最大的城市,也是最大的商业,货运和游轮港口。该城市是2013年的欧洲文化之都和2017年的欧洲体育之都; 它在1998年世界杯足球赛和2016年欧洲杯足球赛上举办比赛。它是Aix-Marseille University的所在地。

Tags:

2nd arrondissement of Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhône, France

The 2nd arrondissement of Marseille is located north of the Old Port. The 2nd district covers the oldest part of Marseille, including the neighborhood Cart. There remains little city of the Middle Ages: part was destroyed during the construction of the street of the Republic in the 19th century . Among the old buildings preserved are the Maison Diamantée, the Hôtel-Dieu and the Vieille Charité. The north quay of the Old Port, on which the Hôtel de ville de Marseille is located, was rebuilt after World War II by the architect Fernand Pouillon.

The north of the district is home to the new port of Marseille, open to the xix th century, and the business district of Joliette – Arenc, built from the 1990s as part of Euroméditerranée and where particular lie docks and the CMA-CGM tower. The J4, south of the port of Joliette, has hosted since 2013 the Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilizations and the Villa Méditerranée.

Districts
The sectors and districts of Marseille are intra-municipal administrative divisions that share the territory of Marseille. The city is thus divided into eight sectors and sixteen municipal districts.

These municipal districts should not be confused with the departmental districts, which are another type of administrative subdivision at the departmental level. In France, the municipalities of Lyon and Paris are also subdivided into municipal sectors.

2nd arrondissement of Marseille is divided into four official districts: Arenc, Les Grands Carmes, Hôtel de Ville and La Joliette. It forms, with the 3 th district, the II th sector, much of which is part of the urban renewal project Euroméditerranée.

Arenc
Arenc is a district of the 2nd arrondissement of Marseille which contains the ferry terminal.

In Occitan, Arenc designates a place where there is sand (arena, in Occitan). Indeed Arenc was, before the construction of the Autonomous Port of Marseille, the place where the Marseillais met to go to the beach.

The Arenc district is today at the heart of the Euroméditerranée project, declared an operation of national interest, which transforms this former industrial district into a large tertiary center.

Les Grands-Carmes
The Great Carmelite is a neighborhood of 2nd arrondissement of Marseille, which is named after the Great Carmelite convent. It contains part of the unofficial Panier district and the rue de la République.

Hôtel-de-Ville
The de-Ville Hotel is an administrative district of Marseille (France) on the north side of the Old Port, in the 2nd district. In this district are located the town hall of Marseille, the Hôtel-Dieu. It is in this administrative district that the Panier district is included. The Saint-Jean district, which made up most of it before the Second World War, was dynamited in 1942 by the German authorities.

Its Occitan name (La Lòtja), which in this language designates the administrative establishments of the Phocaean municipality, is found in the name of “rue de la Loge”.

La Joliette
La Joliette is a neighborhood of 2nd arrondissement of Marseille located north of the Old Port and Shopping. This district is at the center of the Euroméditerranée project, which aims to create a business center.

According to a very tenacious legend, the name of La Joliette comes from Julius Caesar (Julius) who, during the rivalry with Pompey, had established his camp in this district. In reality, it seems that the district owes its name to a property located there under the Ancien Régime.

Places of interest

Le Panier
Cart designates a district Marseille located in the 2nd district, divided between three administrative districts: Hôtel-de-Ville, The Great Carmelites and La Joliette. The north shore of the Old Port is the oldest part of the historic settlement site of the Greek colony of Massalia in 600 BC. AD. The narrow streets that can be found there always remind us that it is the oldest part of the city despite the destruction of a large part of these districts in the 19th century when the Rue de la République was opened and then in the 20th century, during the blasting by the German authorities in February 1943 from the Saint-Jean district, historic heart of Marseille. Today, the Basket is the only part preserved. From the second half of the 19th century, these districts became the gateway for immigrant populations to Marseille, especially Italians, Corsicans and then Maghrebians. In recent years, under the effect of the rehabilitations and the establishment of cultural places, the Panier has become a tourist district, notably with the Euroméditerranée project.

Diamond House
The Diamantée house (former hotel of Saboulin Bollena) is a building in Marseille located just behind the town hall, in the town hall district. It now houses the headquarters of the organizing association of Marseille Provence 2013, European capital of culture. It owes its name to the appearance of its facade which is covered with stones cut in points: prismatic boss. The facade and the staircase have been classified as historical monuments since the November 10, 1925.

Old Charity
The Old Charity, located 2, rue de la Charité, in the heart of the Panier district in the 2nd arrondissement of Marseille, in the official area of the Great Carmelites, is a building built in the 17th century, the plans Pierre Puget to shelter the needy and the poor of the city. It corresponds to the Marseille implementation of the “great confinement” that Michel Foucault highlighted in his famous History of Madness in the Classical Age (1962). Hospice is representative of the architecture of the 17th century, especially because of the presence of the chapel Puget and his ovoid dome. Gradually losing its vocation to the end of the xix th century, it was close to extinction in the 1950s, only occupied by poor people living in miserable conditions. The chapel and the hospice have been classified as a historical monument by decree of January 29, 1951. The whole, having undergone a major renovation in the years 1960 to 1980, is today one of the many cultural

Built in pink and white stone from the crown quarry, the Vieille Charité complex consists of four building wings closed to the exterior and opening onto a rectangular courtyard by galleries on three levels which punctuate the life inside the building. It is a large building whose four wings are arranged in a rectangle of 112 × 96 m, with exterior walls without windows. The body of these buildings is made up of three floors of superimposed galleries with semicircular arcades opening onto an interior courtyard of 82 × 45 m.

In the center of this quadrilateral, in the axis of the front door, is a chapel topped with an elliptical dome in the best Baroque taste. The porch with Corinthian columns, in the Second Empire style, takes up the theme of Charity welcoming needy children, surrounded by two pelicans who feed them. It was built between 1861 and 1863 by Blanchet, architect of the hospices of Marseille.

Cathedral of Saint Mary Major of Marseille
The Cathedral of the Major or Sainte-Marie-Majeure Cathedral is the Catholic cathedral of the Archdiocese of Marseille. La Major was built in a Neo-Byzantine style between 1852 and 1893 on the plans of the architect Léon Vaudoyer. Located in the district of Joliette in the 2nd district, it stands on an esplanade between the Old Port and the port of Joliette, on the site of the old cathedral of the xii th century, hence the coming Occitan name for “Major”. Its architecture and interior decoration, in marble and porphyry, give it a particular aspect for a religious building. It was erected as a minor basilica by Leo XIII the January 24, 1896.

The Cathedral of the Major has a length of 142 meters; the towers of the portico are 60 meters high; the nave rises to 20 meters; the central dome rises to 70 meters for a diameter of 17.5 meters. The choir is surrounded by a very long ambulatory bordered by radiating chapels. Its dimensions can accommodate 3,000 people.

The exterior facades and the different heights of the roofs reflect very well, by their divisions, the various interior volumes, further underlined by the presence of turrets which act as a separation for each part of the building. The exterior and interior facades are treated in bands with alternating polychromy: Cassis stone and Florence green marble for the exterior, warm colors for the interior. This use of stones and marbles in different colors makes it unique, but not necessarily classic. The outer facade is flanked by two towers topped with domes. Overhanging the vault of the porch, which precedes it, runs an arched gallery connecting the two towers. Under the arches, we can see a row of seven tall statues representing Christ in the center surrounded by the apostles Peter and Paul, as well as Lazarus – who would have been, according to legend, the first bishop of Marseille – and his companions (his sister Marthe, Maximin, Marie-Madeleine), legendary saints of Provence. On the square stands the statue of Monsignor de Belsunce, who stood out during the last great plague epidemicthat France experienced, the plague of 1720.

The vault of the porch is covered with blue and gold mosaic inspired by the mausoleum of Galla Placidia in Ravenna. The internal faces of this porch are occupied by the monumental statues of the holy bishops of Marseilles of the first times, grouped by three. The tympanum surmounting the triple arch of the archivolt has a rose window in its center, accompanied by the stylization, in mosaic, of the cities of Jerusalem and Bethlehem. On the tympanums of the doors are sculpted in marble, in the center: The coronation of the Virgin by Guillaume; to the east: The symbol of the Resurrection; to the west, L’agneau mystique and La fontaine de vie by Brémond.

Three enormous bays constitute the main nave. It is covered by groin vaults, the transept crossing and the choir by five domes, the first on a horn with an octagonal drum open with twin semicircular bays, the others on pendentives. The rise is punctuated by numerous marble columns. Built on piles where stone and marble alternate their red and light ocher tones, they are lit by groups of three high arched windows with stained glass windows with non-figurative decoration. The side naves, pierced in the thickness of the piers, carry the galleries supported by a triple arcade resting on monolithic columns in porphyry with capitals.of marble carved with foliage. The marble balustrades support bronze candelabra. The multicolored mosaic pavement of the Venetian school is remarkable for the originality of its designs. One can admire, in the third bay, the group sculpted by Auguste Carli representing Véronique wiping the face of Jesus fallen to the ground.

50 meters long, the transept gives access by steps, to the ambulatory which surrounds the choir, separating it from the two large side chapels. At its center, at the crossroads, the four monumental arches support the central dome mounted on horns, thus passing from the square plan to the octagon. The walls on eight sides are lit by eight twin semicircular windows placed in arches framed by columns with carved capitals surmounted by a rose window, thus providing light at a height of 60 meters. At each arm of the transept, a dome of lesser importance accompanies the entrance to each side chapel. At the four angles formed by each enormous pile, are placed the monumental statues of the four evangelists by the Marseille sculptor Louis Botinelly

Seven steps lead from the transept to the sanctuaries. In the center, the main altar in Carrara marble, decorated with mosaics by Henri Antoine Révoil, is housed under a ciborium with a bronze dome supported by four onyx columns from Tunis, a gift from the marble maker and sculptor Jules Cantini. The altar is placed under the middle courtyard which illuminates the presbyterium, furnished with stalls and the organ. On each side, on the left, you reach the Chapter chapel dedicated to the Sacred Heart, and on the right, the Saint-Lazare chapel devoted to Sunday worship for the faithful of the district.

It bypasses the sanctuary and serves six apsidal chapels, two of which have received their mosaic covering and their decoration with polychrome marble. It gives access in its middle to the axial chapel which alone forms an autonomous building, with its narthex, its nave and its apse surmounted by its dome on horns decorated with angel busts. Primarily dedicated to the Virgin, this chapel currently houses the tomb of Saint Eugene de Mazenod (1837 – 1861), bishop of Marseille and founder of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate, missionaries present in five parts of the world, canonized by Pope John- Paul II the December 3, 1995.

Port terraces
The Terrasses du Port is a shopping center in the 2nd arrondissement of Marseille, counting 171 shops. The building has a 2,600 m2 balcony offering a view of the port of Joliette, hence its name. The roof of the sea-side building resembles the hull of an ocean liner. Passenger boarding areas have been retained on ground floor. On the terrace, orientation tables inform visitors about the flora and fauna of the surroundings. The building was designed by architect Michel Pétuaud-Létang in collaboration with the 4A Architects firm and the Ingérop and Barbanel design offices. The project, which cost 466 million euros 3, is financed by the group English Hammerson

Docks
The Docks of Marseille are a series of five buildings, formerly warehouses and today hosting offices and shops in the district of Joliette in Marseille. The docks were built from 1858 to 1864 according to the English docks model, and consist of five buildings of seven floors for a total length of 365 meters. The rehabilitation works started in 1992. The Docks of Marseille are open on October 10, 2015 and inaugurated on December 4, 2015.

Place de la Joliette
The Place de la Joliette, at the foot of the docks of Marseilles, is in the 2nd arrondissement of Marseille.

Hangar J1
Hangar J1 is located in the heart of Marseille, in the Joliette district. It was built in 1923 by the Eiffel company to respond to the strong port activity.

Long abandoned, it finds a second life within the framework of the Euroméditerranée program, and more specifically on the occasion of the Marseille Provence 2013 event, with a cultural vocation and several exhibitions. Beyond 2013, the future of the building, owned by the Grand Port Maritime de Marseille, was uncertain for a long time. It is the subject of a call for projects which gave its verdict in January 2019, the J1 hangar will be renamed “La Passerelle” and from 2023 will host various activities (leisure, events, hotel complex, etc.).

Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilizations
The Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilisations is a national museum located in Marseille, France. The museum is devoted to European and Mediterranean civilisations. With a permanent collection charting historical and cultural cross-fertilisation in the Mediterranean basin, it takes an interdisciplinary approach to society through the ages up to modern times.

The museum is built on reclaimed land at the entrance to the harbour, next to the site of the 17th-century Fort Saint-Jean and a former port terminal called the J4. A channel separates the new building and the Fort Saint-Jean, which has been restructured as part of the project. The two sites are linked by a high footbridge, 130 m (430 ft) long. Another footbridge links the Fort Saint-Jean to the Esplanade de la Tourette, near the church of St Laurent in the Panier quarter.

The museum, built “of stone, water and wind”, was designed by the architect Rudy Ricciotti in collaboration with the architect Roland Carta. A cube of 15,000 square metres (160,000 sq ft) surrounded by a latticework shell of fibre-reinforced concrete, it houses exhibits on two levels, with an underground auditorium seating 400. The permanent collection and bookshop are situated on the ground floor. There is a restaurant on the terrace at the top of the building with panoramic views of the bay of Marseille, the Corniche and the Prado.

Mediterranean Villa
La Villa Mediterranean is a public building in the 2nd arrondissement of Marseille, on the esplanade of the J4, in the district of Joliette (perimeter Euroméditerranée). It was intended to house conferences, meetings and exhibitions.

The building, designed by the Italian architect Stefano Boeri, belongs to the regional council of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur with the aim of “giving everyone the keys to understanding the contemporary Mediterranean”. The building, which has continued to focus criticism, was inaugurated on April 7, 2013 and closed in january 2018; it should reopen in 2022, housing a replica of the Cosquer cave.

Marseille
Marseille is the prefecture of the department of Bouches-du-Rhône and region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur in France. It is located on the Mediterranean coast near the mouth of the Rhône. Marseille is the second largest city in France, covering an area of 241 km2 (93 sq mi) and had a population of 870,018 in 2016.

Marseille has a complex history. It was founded by the Phoceans (from the Greek city of Phocea) in 600 B.C. and is one of the oldest cities in Europe. Marseille is the second largest city in France in terms of population. Its population is a real melting pot of different cultures.

From colourful markets (like Noailles market) that will make you feel like you are in Africa, to the Calanques (a natural area of big cliffs falling into the sea – Calanque means fjord), from the Panier area (the oldest place of the town and historically the place where newcomers installed) to the Vieux-Port (old harbor) and the Corniche (a road along the sea) Marseille has definitely a lot to offer.

Marseille is now France’s largest city on the Mediterranean coast and the largest port for commerce, freight and cruise ships. The city was European Capital of Culture in 2013 and European Capital of Sport in 2017; it hosted matches at the 1998 World Cup and Euro 2016. It is home to Aix-Marseille University.

Tags: