الدائرة الثانية لمرسيليا ، بوشيه دو رون ، فرنسا

يقع الدائرة الثانية لمرسيليا شمال الميناء القديم. تغطي الدائرة الثانية أقدم جزء من مرسيليا ، بما في ذلك حي كارت. لا تزال هناك مدينة صغيرة من العصور الوسطى: تم تدمير جزء أثناء بناء شارع الجمهورية في القرن التاسع عشر. من بين المباني القديمة المحفوظة هي Maison Diamantée و Hôtel-Dieu و Vieille Charité. تم إعادة بناء الرصيف الشمالي للميناء القديم ، الذي يقع عليه فندق de ville de Marseille ، بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية من قبل المهندس المعماري فرناند بويلون.

شمال المنطقة موطن لميناء مرسيليا الجديد ، المفتوح للقرن التاسع عشر ، والمنطقة التجارية جولييت – أرينك ، التي بنيت من التسعينيات كجزء من Euroméditerranée وحيث تكمن أرصفة خاصة وبرج CMA-CGM. استضاف J4 ، جنوب ميناء جولييت ، منذ عام 2013 متحف الحضارات الأوروبية والمتوسطية وفيلا البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

المناطق
قطاعات ومناطق مرسيليا هي التقسيمات الإدارية داخل البلدية التي تشترك في أراضي مرسيليا. تنقسم المدينة إلى ثمانية قطاعات وستة عشر منطقة بلدية.

يجب عدم الخلط بين هذه المقاطعات البلدية ومناطق المقاطعات ، والتي هي نوع آخر من التقسيمات الإدارية الفرعية على مستوى المقاطعات. في فرنسا ، تنقسم بلديات ليون وباريس إلى قطاعات بلدية.

تنقسم الدائرة الثانية لمرسيليا إلى أربع مقاطعات رسمية: Arenc و Les Grands Carmes و Hôtel de Ville و La Joliette. وهي تشكل ، مع الدائرة الثالثة ، القطاع الثاني ، وكثير منها جزء من مشروع التجديد الحضري Euroméditerranée.

أرنك
أرينك هي منطقة من الدائرة الثانية لمرسيليا التي تحتوي على محطة العبارات.

في Occitan ، يحدد Arenc مكانًا يوجد فيه رمل (الساحة ، في Occitan). في الواقع كان أرينك ، قبل بناء ميناء مرسيليا المستقل ، هو المكان الذي التقى فيه مرسيليا للذهاب إلى الشاطئ.

تقع منطقة Arenc اليوم في قلب مشروع Euroméditerranée ، الذي أعلن عن عملية للمصلحة الوطنية ، والتي تحول هذه المنطقة الصناعية السابقة إلى مركز ثالث كبير.

ليه غراند كارمس
الكرمل العظيم هو حي من الدائرة الثانية لمرسيليا ، والذي سمي على اسم دير الكرمل العظيم. يحتوي على جزء من منطقة Panier غير الرسمية وشارع la République.

فندق دي فيل
فندق de-Ville هو منطقة إدارية في مرسيليا (فرنسا) على الجانب الشمالي من الميناء القديم ، في الدائرة الثانية. في هذه المنطقة تقع قاعة مدينة مرسيليا ، فندق ديو. يتم تضمين منطقة Panier في هذه المنطقة الإدارية. كانت منطقة سان جان ، التي كانت تشكل معظمها قبل الحرب العالمية الثانية ، في عام 1942 م دينامية من قبل السلطات الألمانية.

تم العثور على اسمها الأوكيتاني (La Lòtja) ، والذي يحدد في هذه اللغة المؤسسات الإدارية لبلدية Phocaean ، باسم “rue de la Loge”.

لا جولييت
لا جولييت هو حي من الدائرة الثانية لمرسيليا يقع شمال الميناء القديم والتسوق. تقع هذه المنطقة في قلب مشروع Euroméditerranée ، الذي يهدف إلى إنشاء مركز أعمال.

وفقًا لأسطورة عنيدة جدًا ، يأتي اسم La Joliette من يوليوس قيصر (يوليوس) الذي أقام معسكره في هذه المنطقة خلال التنافس مع بومبي. في الواقع ، يبدو أن المنطقة تدين باسمها إلى عقار موجود هناك تحت Ancien Régime.

الأماكن ذات الأهمية

لو بانيير
تعين العربة منطقة مرسيليا تقع في الدائرة الثانية ، مقسمة بين ثلاث مناطق إدارية: Hôtel-de-Ville و The Great Carmelites و La Joliette. الشاطئ الشمالي للميناء القديم هو أقدم جزء من موقع الاستيطان التاريخي لمستعمرة ماساليا اليونانية عام 600 قبل الميلاد. ميلادي. تذكرنا الشوارع الضيقة التي يمكن العثور عليها هناك دائمًا بأنها أقدم جزء في المدينة على الرغم من تدمير جزء كبير من هذه المناطق في القرن التاسع عشر عندما تم افتتاح شارع de la République ثم في القرن العشرين ، خلال تفجير السلطات الألمانية في فبراير 1943 من منطقة سان جان ، القلب التاريخي لمرسيليا. اليوم ، السلة هي الجزء الوحيد المحفوظ. من النصف الثاني من القرن التاسع عشر ، أصبحت هذه المناطق بوابة السكان المهاجرين إلى مرسيليا ، وخاصة الإيطاليين ، الكورسيكيون ثم المغاربيون. في السنوات الأخيرة ، تحت تأثير إعادة التأهيل وإنشاء الأماكن الثقافية ، أصبحت بانير منطقة سياحية ، ولا سيما مع مشروع يورومتديريتي.

بيت الماس
منزل Diamantée (فندق Saboulin Bollena سابقًا) هو مبنى في مرسيليا يقع خلف مبنى البلدية مباشرةً ، في حي البلدية. ويضم الآن مقر الجمعية المنظمة لمرسيليا بروفانس 2013 ، عاصمة الثقافة الأوروبية. يعود الفضل في اسمها إلى مظهر واجهتها المغطاة بالحجارة المقطوعة في نقاط: الرئيس المنشوري. تم تصنيف الواجهة والدرج كآثار تاريخية منذ 10 نوفمبر 1925.

الصدقة القديمة
The Old Charity ، يقع في 2 ، rue de la Charité ، في قلب حي Panier في الدائرة الثانية لمرسيليا ، في المنطقة الرسمية لـ Carmelites الكبرى ، وهو مبنى تم بناؤه في القرن السابع عشر ، ويخطط Pierre Puget لإيواء المحتاجين والفقراء في المدينة. وهو يتوافق مع تنفيذ مرسيليا “للحبس العظيم” الذي أبرزه ميشيل فوكو في كتابه الشهير “تاريخ الجنون في العصر الكلاسيكي” (1962). يعتبر التكية ممثلة للهندسة المعمارية للقرن السابع عشر ، خاصة بسبب وجود كنيسة بوجيه وقبته البيضاوية. تفقد دعوتها تدريجيًا حتى نهاية القرن التاسع عشر ، وكانت على وشك الانقراض في الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي ، التي كان يشغلها فقط الفقراء الذين يعيشون في ظروف بائسة. تم تصنيف الكنيسة الصغيرة والكنيسة المقدسة كنصب تاريخي بموجب مرسوم 29 يناير ،

يتكون مجمع Vieille Charité باللون الوردي والأبيض من محجر التاج ، ويتكون من أربعة أجنحة بناء مغلقة من الخارج وتفتح على فناء مستطيل الشكل من خلال صالات العرض على ثلاثة مستويات والتي تبرز الحياة داخل المبنى. إنه مبنى كبير له أجنحةه الأربعة في مستطيل 112 × 96 م ، بجدران خارجية بدون نوافذ. يتكون جسم هذه المباني من ثلاثة طوابق من صالات العرض المتراكبة مع أروقة نصف دائرية تفتح على فناء داخلي 82 × 45 م.

في وسط هذا الرباعي ، في محور الباب الأمامي ، توجد كنيسة تعلوها قبة بيضاوية في أفضل طعم الباروك. الشرفة ذات أعمدة كورنثية ، على طراز الإمبراطورية الثانية ، تتناول موضوع الترحيب بالأطفال المحتاجين المحاطين ، محاطين ببجعين يطعمانهم. تم بناؤه بين عامي 1861 و 1863 من قبل بلانشيت ، مهندس تكية مرسيليا.

كاتدرائية القديسة مريم الرئيسية في مرسيليا
كاتدرائية الرائد أو كاتدرائية سانت ماري هي الكاتدرائية الكاثوليكية لأبرشية مرسيليا. تم بناء لا ميجور بأسلوب بيزنطي جديد بين 1852 و 1893 على خطط المهندس المعماري ليون فودوير. يقع في حي جولييت في الدائرة الثانية ، وهو يقف على ساحة بين الميناء القديم وميناء جولييت ، في موقع الكاتدرائية القديمة في القرن الثاني عشر ، ومن هنا جاء الاسم الأوكسيتي القادم لـ “الرائد”. هندستها المعمارية والديكور الداخلي ، من الرخام والرخام ، تعطيها جانبًا خاصًا لمبنى ديني. أقيم ليو الثالث عشر ككنيسة ثانوية في 24 يناير 1896.

يبلغ طول كاتدرائية الرائد 142 مترًا. يبلغ ارتفاع أبراج الرواق 60 مترا ؛ ترتفع الصحن إلى 20 مترًا ؛ ترتفع القبة المركزية إلى 70 مترا وقطرها 17.5 مترا. ويحيط بالجوقة عربة إسعاف طويلة جداً تحدها كنائس مشعة. يمكن أن تستوعب أبعاده 3000 شخص.

تعكس الواجهات الخارجية والارتفاعات المختلفة للأسقف بشكل جيد للغاية ، من خلال أقسامها ، الأحجام الداخلية المختلفة ، والتي يتم التأكيد عليها أيضًا من خلال وجود الأبراج التي تعمل بمثابة فصل لكل جزء من المبنى. يتم معالجة الواجهات الخارجية والداخلية في شرائط ذات تعدد ألوان متناوب: حجر كاسيس والرخام الأخضر فلورنسا للخارج ، ألوان دافئة للداخل. هذا الاستخدام للحجارة والرخام بألوان مختلفة يجعله فريدًا ، ولكن ليس بالضرورة كلاسيكيًا. يحيط بالواجهة الخارجية برجان يعلوه قباب. يشرف على قبو الشرفة ، الذي يسبقه ، معرضًا مقوسًا يربط بين البرجين. تحت الأقواس ، يمكننا أن نرى صفًا من سبعة تماثيل طويلة تمثل المسيح في المركز محاطًا بالرسل بطرس وبولس ، وكذلك لعازر – الذي كان يمكن أن يكون ، وفقا للأسطورة ، الأسقف الأول لمرسيليا – ورفاقه (أخته مارث ، ماكسيمين ، ماري مادلين) ، القديسين الأسطوريين بروفانس. على الساحة يقف تمثال المونسنيور دي بيلسونس ، الذي برز خلال آخر وباء طاعون كبير شهدته فرنسا ، طاعون 1720.

قبة الشرفة مغطاة بفسيفساء زرقاء وذهبية مستوحاة من ضريح غالا بلاسيديا في رافينا. الوجوه الداخلية لهذه الشرفة مشغولة بالتماثيل الضخمة لأساقفة مرسيليا المقدسة في العصور الأولى ، مجمعة من قبل ثلاثة. تحتوي الطبلية التي تعلو القوس الثلاثي للأرشيف على نافذة وردية في وسطها ، مصحوبة بالتصميم ، في الفسيفساء ، لمدينتي القدس وبيت لحم. على طبلة الأبواب منحوتة من الرخام ، في الوسط: تتويج العذراء بواسطة غيوم. إلى الشرق: رمز القيامة. إلى الغرب ، L’agneau mystique و La fontaine de vie من Brémond.

تشكل الخلجان الثلاثة الهائلة صحن الكنيسة الرئيسي. وهي مغطاة بقباب من الفخذ ، ومعبر متقاطع وجوقة من قبل خمسة قباب ، الأولى في القرن مع طبل مثمن مفتوح مع خلجان نصف دائرية مزدوجة ، والأخرى على زوايا. يتخلل الارتفاع أعمدة رخامية عديدة. بنيت على أكوام حيث يتناوب الحجر والرخام على نغمات المغرة الحمراء والضوء ، وهي مضاءة بمجموعات من ثلاث نوافذ مقوسة عالية مع نوافذ زجاجية ملونة بزخرفة غير رمزية. تحمل الأضلاع الجانبية ، المثقبة بسمك الأرصفة ، صالات العرض المدعومة بأروقة ثلاثية ترتكز على أعمدة متجانسة من الرخام السماقي مع رؤوس كبيرة ، من الرخام المنحوت بأوراق الشجر. الدرابزينات الرخامية تدعم الشمعدانات البرونزية. رصيف الفسيفساء متعدد الألوان للمدرسة البندقية رائع لأصالة تصاميمه. يمكن للمرء أن يعجب ، في الخليج الثالث ،

بطول 50 مترًا ، يمنح جناح الوصول الوصول إلى الدرج المتحرك الذي يحيط بالجوقة ، ويفصلها عن الكنيسة الصغيرة الكبيرة. في وسطها ، عند مفترق الطرق ، تدعم الأقواس الأربعة الضخمة القبة المركزية المركبة على القرون ، وبالتالي تمر من المخطط المربع إلى المثمن. تضاء الجدران على ثمانية جوانب من خلال ثمانية نوافذ نصف دائرية مزدوجة موضوعة في أقواس مؤطرة بأعمدة مع تيجان منحوتة تعلوها نافذة وردية ، مما يوفر ضوءًا على ارتفاع 60 مترًا. عند كل ذراع من الجناح ، قبة أقل أهمية ترافق مدخل كل كنيسة جانبية. في الزوايا الأربع التي شكلتها كل كومة هائلة ، يتم وضع التماثيل الضخمة للمبشرين الأربعة من قبل نحات مرسيليا لويس بوتينيلي

تؤدي سبع خطوات من transept إلى المقدسات. في الوسط ، يقع المذبح الرئيسي في رخام كارارا ، المزخرف بالفسيفساء من قبل هنري أنطوان ريفويل ، تحت سيبيريوم مع قبة برونزية مدعومة بأربعة أعمدة من العقيق التونسي ، وهي هدية من صانع الرخام والنحات Jules Cantini. يوضع المذبح تحت الفناء الأوسط الذي يضيء الكنيسة المشيخية المزودة بأكشاك وأعضاء. على كل جانب ، على اليسار ، تصل إلى كنيسة الفصل المخصصة للقلب المقدس ، وعلى اليمين ، كنيسة Saint-Lazare المكرسة لعبادة الأحد لمؤمني المنطقة.

يتخطى الحرم ويخدم ستة مصليات أبجدية ، اثنان منها قد حصلوا على غطاء من الفسيفساء وزخارفهم بالرخام متعدد الألوان. يتيح الوصول في وسطه إلى الكنيسة المحورية التي تشكل بمفردها مبنى مستقل ، مع رواقه وصحنه وحنيسته يعلوها قبة على قرون مزينة بتماثيل الملاك. هذه الكنيسة المكرسة في المقام الأول للعذراء ، تضم حاليًا قبر القديس يوجين دي مازنود (1837-1861) ، أسقف مرسيليا ومؤسس Oblates of Mary Immaculate ، المبشرين الموجودين في خمسة أجزاء من العالم ، طوبها البابا يوحنا – بول الثاني 3 ديسمبر 1995.

تراسات الميناء
يعد Terrasses du Port مركز تسوق في الدائرة الثانية لمرسيليا ، ويضم 171 متجرًا. يحتوي المبنى على شرفة مساحتها 2600 متر مربع توفر إطلالة على ميناء جولييت ، ومن هنا جاء اسمه. يشبه سطح المبنى المواجه للبحر هيكل بطانة المحيط. تم الاحتفاظ بمنازل داخلية للركاب في الطابق الأرضي. على الشرفة ، تُعلم جداول التوجيه الزوار بالنباتات والحيوانات في المناطق المحيطة. تم تصميم المبنى من قبل المهندس المعماري Michel Pétuaud-Létang بالتعاون مع شركة 4A Architects ومكاتب تصميم Ingérop و Barbanel. تم تمويل المشروع ، الذي كلف 466 مليون يورو 3 ، من قبل مجموعة إنجليش هامرسون

الموانئ
The Docks of Marseille عبارة عن سلسلة من خمسة مبانٍ ، ومستودعات سابقًا ، وتستضيف اليوم مكاتب ومحلات تجارية في منطقة Joliette في مرسيليا. تم بناء الأرصفة من 1858 إلى 1864 وفقًا لنموذج الأحواض الإنجليزية ، وتتكون من خمسة مبانٍ من سبعة طوابق بطول إجمالي يبلغ 365 مترًا. بدأت أعمال إعادة التأهيل في عام 1992. تفتح أحواض مرسيليا في 10 أكتوبر 2015 وافتتحت في 4 ديسمبر 2015.

Place de la Joliette
يقع Place de la Joliette ، عند سفح أحواض مرسيليا ، في الدائرة الثانية لمرسيليا.

حظيرة J1
يقع Hangar J1 في قلب مرسيليا في حي جولييت. تم بناؤه في عام 1923 من قبل شركة إيفل للاستجابة لنشاط الميناء القوي.

منذ فترة طويلة ، وجدت حياة ثانية في إطار برنامج Euroméditerranée ، وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا بمناسبة حدث Marseille Provence 2013 ، مع مهنة ثقافية والعديد من المعارض. بعد عام 2013 ، كان مستقبل المبنى ، المملوك لشركة Grand Port Maritime de Marseille ، غير مؤكد لفترة طويلة. إنه موضوع دعوة للمشاريع التي أصدرت قرارها في يناير 2019 ، وسيتم إعادة تسمية حظيرة J1 “La Passerelle” وستستضيف من عام 2023 أنشطة مختلفة (أوقات الفراغ ، والفعاليات ، ومجمع الفنادق ، وما إلى ذلك).

متحف الحضارات الأوروبية والمتوسطية
متحف الحضارات الأوروبية والمتوسطية هو متحف وطني يقع في مرسيليا ، فرنسا. المتحف مخصص للحضارات الأوروبية والمتوسطية. مع مجموعة دائمة ترسم التلاقح التاريخي والثقافي في حوض البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​، فإنها تأخذ نهجًا متعدد التخصصات للمجتمع عبر العصور حتى العصر الحديث.

تم بناء المتحف على أرض مستصلحة عند مدخل الميناء ، بجوار موقع حصن سان جان من القرن السابع عشر ومحطة ميناء سابقة تسمى J4. قناة تفصل بين المبنى الجديد وقلعة سان جان ، التي أعيدت هيكلتها كجزء من المشروع. الموقعان مرتبطان بجسر مشاة مرتفع بطول 130 مترًا (430 قدمًا). جسر آخر للمشاة يربط حصن سانت جان بإسبلاناد دي لا توريت ، بالقرب من كنيسة سانت لوران في حي بانير.

تم تصميم المتحف ، الذي تم بناؤه “من الحجر والماء والرياح” ، من قبل المهندس المعماري رودي ريتشيوتي بالتعاون مع المهندس المعماري رولاند كارتا. مكعب مساحته 15000 متر مربع (160.000 قدم مربع) محاط بقشرة مشبكة من الخرسانة المسلحة بالألياف ، ويضم معارض على مستويين ، مع قاعة تحت الأرض للجلوس 400. تقع المجموعة الدائمة ومكتبة الكتب في الطابق الأرضي. يوجد مطعم على الشرفة في الجزء العلوي من المبنى مع إطلالات بانورامية على خليج مرسيليا والكورنيش وبرادو.

فيلا البحر الأبيض المتوسط
La Villa Mediterranean هو مبنى عام في الدائرة الثانية لمرسيليا ، على ساحة J4 ، في منطقة Joliette (محيط Euroméditerranée). كان يهدف إلى استضافة المؤتمرات والاجتماعات والمعارض.

المبنى ، الذي صممه المهندس المعماري الإيطالي ستيفانو بوري ، ينتمي إلى المجلس الإقليمي في بروفانس ألب كوت دازور بهدف “إعطاء الجميع مفاتيح فهم البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​المعاصر”. تم افتتاح المبنى ، الذي استمر في تركيز النقد ، في 7 أبريل 2013 وأغلق في يناير 2018 ؛ يجب إعادة فتحه في عام 2022 ، ويضم نسخة طبق الأصل من كهف Cosquer.

مرسيليا
مرسيليا هي محافظة محافظة بوشيه دو رون ومنطقة بروفانس ألب كوت دازور في فرنسا. تقع على ساحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​بالقرب من مصب الرون. مرسيليا هي ثاني أكبر مدينة في فرنسا ، وتغطي مساحة 241 كم 2 (93 ميل مربع) ويبلغ عدد سكانها 870،018 في عام 2016.

مرسيليا لديها تاريخ معقد. تأسست من قبل Phoceans (من مدينة Phocea اليونانية) في 600 قبل الميلاد وهي واحدة من أقدم المدن في أوروبا. مرسيليا هي ثاني أكبر مدينة في فرنسا من حيث عدد السكان. سكانها بوتقة حقيقية للثقافات المختلفة.

من الأسواق الملونة (مثل سوق Noailles) التي ستجعلك تشعر وكأنك في إفريقيا ، إلى Calanques (منطقة طبيعية من المنحدرات الكبيرة التي تقع في البحر – Calanque تعني المضيق البحري) ، من منطقة Panier (أقدم مكان في المدينة) وتاريخيًا المكان الذي تم فيه تثبيت الوافدين الجدد) إلى ميناء بورت (الميناء القديم) والكورنيش (طريق على طول البحر) مرسيليا لديها الكثير لتقدمه.

مرسيليا هي الآن أكبر مدينة في فرنسا على ساحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​وأكبر ميناء للتجارة والشحن والسفن السياحية. كانت المدينة عاصمة الثقافة الأوروبية في عام 2013 والعاصمة الأوروبية للرياضة في عام 2017 ؛ استضافت المباريات في كأس العالم 1998 واليورو 2016. فهي موطن لجامعة إيكس مرسيليا.

Tags:

2nd arrondissement of Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhône, France

The 2nd arrondissement of Marseille is located north of the Old Port. The 2nd district covers the oldest part of Marseille, including the neighborhood Cart. There remains little city of the Middle Ages: part was destroyed during the construction of the street of the Republic in the 19th century . Among the old buildings preserved are the Maison Diamantée, the Hôtel-Dieu and the Vieille Charité. The north quay of the Old Port, on which the Hôtel de ville de Marseille is located, was rebuilt after World War II by the architect Fernand Pouillon.

The north of the district is home to the new port of Marseille, open to the xix th century, and the business district of Joliette – Arenc, built from the 1990s as part of Euroméditerranée and where particular lie docks and the CMA-CGM tower. The J4, south of the port of Joliette, has hosted since 2013 the Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilizations and the Villa Méditerranée.

Districts
The sectors and districts of Marseille are intra-municipal administrative divisions that share the territory of Marseille. The city is thus divided into eight sectors and sixteen municipal districts.

These municipal districts should not be confused with the departmental districts, which are another type of administrative subdivision at the departmental level. In France, the municipalities of Lyon and Paris are also subdivided into municipal sectors.

2nd arrondissement of Marseille is divided into four official districts: Arenc, Les Grands Carmes, Hôtel de Ville and La Joliette. It forms, with the 3 th district, the II th sector, much of which is part of the urban renewal project Euroméditerranée.

Arenc
Arenc is a district of the 2nd arrondissement of Marseille which contains the ferry terminal.

In Occitan, Arenc designates a place where there is sand (arena, in Occitan). Indeed Arenc was, before the construction of the Autonomous Port of Marseille, the place where the Marseillais met to go to the beach.

The Arenc district is today at the heart of the Euroméditerranée project, declared an operation of national interest, which transforms this former industrial district into a large tertiary center.

Les Grands-Carmes
The Great Carmelite is a neighborhood of 2nd arrondissement of Marseille, which is named after the Great Carmelite convent. It contains part of the unofficial Panier district and the rue de la République.

Hôtel-de-Ville
The de-Ville Hotel is an administrative district of Marseille (France) on the north side of the Old Port, in the 2nd district. In this district are located the town hall of Marseille, the Hôtel-Dieu. It is in this administrative district that the Panier district is included. The Saint-Jean district, which made up most of it before the Second World War, was dynamited in 1942 by the German authorities.

Its Occitan name (La Lòtja), which in this language designates the administrative establishments of the Phocaean municipality, is found in the name of “rue de la Loge”.

La Joliette
La Joliette is a neighborhood of 2nd arrondissement of Marseille located north of the Old Port and Shopping. This district is at the center of the Euroméditerranée project, which aims to create a business center.

According to a very tenacious legend, the name of La Joliette comes from Julius Caesar (Julius) who, during the rivalry with Pompey, had established his camp in this district. In reality, it seems that the district owes its name to a property located there under the Ancien Régime.

Places of interest

Le Panier
Cart designates a district Marseille located in the 2nd district, divided between three administrative districts: Hôtel-de-Ville, The Great Carmelites and La Joliette. The north shore of the Old Port is the oldest part of the historic settlement site of the Greek colony of Massalia in 600 BC. AD. The narrow streets that can be found there always remind us that it is the oldest part of the city despite the destruction of a large part of these districts in the 19th century when the Rue de la République was opened and then in the 20th century, during the blasting by the German authorities in February 1943 from the Saint-Jean district, historic heart of Marseille. Today, the Basket is the only part preserved. From the second half of the 19th century, these districts became the gateway for immigrant populations to Marseille, especially Italians, Corsicans and then Maghrebians. In recent years, under the effect of the rehabilitations and the establishment of cultural places, the Panier has become a tourist district, notably with the Euroméditerranée project.

Diamond House
The Diamantée house (former hotel of Saboulin Bollena) is a building in Marseille located just behind the town hall, in the town hall district. It now houses the headquarters of the organizing association of Marseille Provence 2013, European capital of culture. It owes its name to the appearance of its facade which is covered with stones cut in points: prismatic boss. The facade and the staircase have been classified as historical monuments since the November 10, 1925.

Old Charity
The Old Charity, located 2, rue de la Charité, in the heart of the Panier district in the 2nd arrondissement of Marseille, in the official area of the Great Carmelites, is a building built in the 17th century, the plans Pierre Puget to shelter the needy and the poor of the city. It corresponds to the Marseille implementation of the “great confinement” that Michel Foucault highlighted in his famous History of Madness in the Classical Age (1962). Hospice is representative of the architecture of the 17th century, especially because of the presence of the chapel Puget and his ovoid dome. Gradually losing its vocation to the end of the xix th century, it was close to extinction in the 1950s, only occupied by poor people living in miserable conditions. The chapel and the hospice have been classified as a historical monument by decree of January 29, 1951. The whole, having undergone a major renovation in the years 1960 to 1980, is today one of the many cultural

Built in pink and white stone from the crown quarry, the Vieille Charité complex consists of four building wings closed to the exterior and opening onto a rectangular courtyard by galleries on three levels which punctuate the life inside the building. It is a large building whose four wings are arranged in a rectangle of 112 × 96 m, with exterior walls without windows. The body of these buildings is made up of three floors of superimposed galleries with semicircular arcades opening onto an interior courtyard of 82 × 45 m.

In the center of this quadrilateral, in the axis of the front door, is a chapel topped with an elliptical dome in the best Baroque taste. The porch with Corinthian columns, in the Second Empire style, takes up the theme of Charity welcoming needy children, surrounded by two pelicans who feed them. It was built between 1861 and 1863 by Blanchet, architect of the hospices of Marseille.

Cathedral of Saint Mary Major of Marseille
The Cathedral of the Major or Sainte-Marie-Majeure Cathedral is the Catholic cathedral of the Archdiocese of Marseille. La Major was built in a Neo-Byzantine style between 1852 and 1893 on the plans of the architect Léon Vaudoyer. Located in the district of Joliette in the 2nd district, it stands on an esplanade between the Old Port and the port of Joliette, on the site of the old cathedral of the xii th century, hence the coming Occitan name for “Major”. Its architecture and interior decoration, in marble and porphyry, give it a particular aspect for a religious building. It was erected as a minor basilica by Leo XIII the January 24, 1896.

The Cathedral of the Major has a length of 142 meters; the towers of the portico are 60 meters high; the nave rises to 20 meters; the central dome rises to 70 meters for a diameter of 17.5 meters. The choir is surrounded by a very long ambulatory bordered by radiating chapels. Its dimensions can accommodate 3,000 people.

The exterior facades and the different heights of the roofs reflect very well, by their divisions, the various interior volumes, further underlined by the presence of turrets which act as a separation for each part of the building. The exterior and interior facades are treated in bands with alternating polychromy: Cassis stone and Florence green marble for the exterior, warm colors for the interior. This use of stones and marbles in different colors makes it unique, but not necessarily classic. The outer facade is flanked by two towers topped with domes. Overhanging the vault of the porch, which precedes it, runs an arched gallery connecting the two towers. Under the arches, we can see a row of seven tall statues representing Christ in the center surrounded by the apostles Peter and Paul, as well as Lazarus – who would have been, according to legend, the first bishop of Marseille – and his companions (his sister Marthe, Maximin, Marie-Madeleine), legendary saints of Provence. On the square stands the statue of Monsignor de Belsunce, who stood out during the last great plague epidemicthat France experienced, the plague of 1720.

The vault of the porch is covered with blue and gold mosaic inspired by the mausoleum of Galla Placidia in Ravenna. The internal faces of this porch are occupied by the monumental statues of the holy bishops of Marseilles of the first times, grouped by three. The tympanum surmounting the triple arch of the archivolt has a rose window in its center, accompanied by the stylization, in mosaic, of the cities of Jerusalem and Bethlehem. On the tympanums of the doors are sculpted in marble, in the center: The coronation of the Virgin by Guillaume; to the east: The symbol of the Resurrection; to the west, L’agneau mystique and La fontaine de vie by Brémond.

Three enormous bays constitute the main nave. It is covered by groin vaults, the transept crossing and the choir by five domes, the first on a horn with an octagonal drum open with twin semicircular bays, the others on pendentives. The rise is punctuated by numerous marble columns. Built on piles where stone and marble alternate their red and light ocher tones, they are lit by groups of three high arched windows with stained glass windows with non-figurative decoration. The side naves, pierced in the thickness of the piers, carry the galleries supported by a triple arcade resting on monolithic columns in porphyry with capitals.of marble carved with foliage. The marble balustrades support bronze candelabra. The multicolored mosaic pavement of the Venetian school is remarkable for the originality of its designs. One can admire, in the third bay, the group sculpted by Auguste Carli representing Véronique wiping the face of Jesus fallen to the ground.

50 meters long, the transept gives access by steps, to the ambulatory which surrounds the choir, separating it from the two large side chapels. At its center, at the crossroads, the four monumental arches support the central dome mounted on horns, thus passing from the square plan to the octagon. The walls on eight sides are lit by eight twin semicircular windows placed in arches framed by columns with carved capitals surmounted by a rose window, thus providing light at a height of 60 meters. At each arm of the transept, a dome of lesser importance accompanies the entrance to each side chapel. At the four angles formed by each enormous pile, are placed the monumental statues of the four evangelists by the Marseille sculptor Louis Botinelly

Seven steps lead from the transept to the sanctuaries. In the center, the main altar in Carrara marble, decorated with mosaics by Henri Antoine Révoil, is housed under a ciborium with a bronze dome supported by four onyx columns from Tunis, a gift from the marble maker and sculptor Jules Cantini. The altar is placed under the middle courtyard which illuminates the presbyterium, furnished with stalls and the organ. On each side, on the left, you reach the Chapter chapel dedicated to the Sacred Heart, and on the right, the Saint-Lazare chapel devoted to Sunday worship for the faithful of the district.

It bypasses the sanctuary and serves six apsidal chapels, two of which have received their mosaic covering and their decoration with polychrome marble. It gives access in its middle to the axial chapel which alone forms an autonomous building, with its narthex, its nave and its apse surmounted by its dome on horns decorated with angel busts. Primarily dedicated to the Virgin, this chapel currently houses the tomb of Saint Eugene de Mazenod (1837 – 1861), bishop of Marseille and founder of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate, missionaries present in five parts of the world, canonized by Pope John- Paul II the December 3, 1995.

Port terraces
The Terrasses du Port is a shopping center in the 2nd arrondissement of Marseille, counting 171 shops. The building has a 2,600 m2 balcony offering a view of the port of Joliette, hence its name. The roof of the sea-side building resembles the hull of an ocean liner. Passenger boarding areas have been retained on ground floor. On the terrace, orientation tables inform visitors about the flora and fauna of the surroundings. The building was designed by architect Michel Pétuaud-Létang in collaboration with the 4A Architects firm and the Ingérop and Barbanel design offices. The project, which cost 466 million euros 3, is financed by the group English Hammerson

Docks
The Docks of Marseille are a series of five buildings, formerly warehouses and today hosting offices and shops in the district of Joliette in Marseille. The docks were built from 1858 to 1864 according to the English docks model, and consist of five buildings of seven floors for a total length of 365 meters. The rehabilitation works started in 1992. The Docks of Marseille are open on October 10, 2015 and inaugurated on December 4, 2015.

Place de la Joliette
The Place de la Joliette, at the foot of the docks of Marseilles, is in the 2nd arrondissement of Marseille.

Hangar J1
Hangar J1 is located in the heart of Marseille, in the Joliette district. It was built in 1923 by the Eiffel company to respond to the strong port activity.

Long abandoned, it finds a second life within the framework of the Euroméditerranée program, and more specifically on the occasion of the Marseille Provence 2013 event, with a cultural vocation and several exhibitions. Beyond 2013, the future of the building, owned by the Grand Port Maritime de Marseille, was uncertain for a long time. It is the subject of a call for projects which gave its verdict in January 2019, the J1 hangar will be renamed “La Passerelle” and from 2023 will host various activities (leisure, events, hotel complex, etc.).

Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilizations
The Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilisations is a national museum located in Marseille, France. The museum is devoted to European and Mediterranean civilisations. With a permanent collection charting historical and cultural cross-fertilisation in the Mediterranean basin, it takes an interdisciplinary approach to society through the ages up to modern times.

The museum is built on reclaimed land at the entrance to the harbour, next to the site of the 17th-century Fort Saint-Jean and a former port terminal called the J4. A channel separates the new building and the Fort Saint-Jean, which has been restructured as part of the project. The two sites are linked by a high footbridge, 130 m (430 ft) long. Another footbridge links the Fort Saint-Jean to the Esplanade de la Tourette, near the church of St Laurent in the Panier quarter.

The museum, built “of stone, water and wind”, was designed by the architect Rudy Ricciotti in collaboration with the architect Roland Carta. A cube of 15,000 square metres (160,000 sq ft) surrounded by a latticework shell of fibre-reinforced concrete, it houses exhibits on two levels, with an underground auditorium seating 400. The permanent collection and bookshop are situated on the ground floor. There is a restaurant on the terrace at the top of the building with panoramic views of the bay of Marseille, the Corniche and the Prado.

Mediterranean Villa
La Villa Mediterranean is a public building in the 2nd arrondissement of Marseille, on the esplanade of the J4, in the district of Joliette (perimeter Euroméditerranée). It was intended to house conferences, meetings and exhibitions.

The building, designed by the Italian architect Stefano Boeri, belongs to the regional council of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur with the aim of “giving everyone the keys to understanding the contemporary Mediterranean”. The building, which has continued to focus criticism, was inaugurated on April 7, 2013 and closed in january 2018; it should reopen in 2022, housing a replica of the Cosquer cave.

Marseille
Marseille is the prefecture of the department of Bouches-du-Rhône and region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur in France. It is located on the Mediterranean coast near the mouth of the Rhône. Marseille is the second largest city in France, covering an area of 241 km2 (93 sq mi) and had a population of 870,018 in 2016.

Marseille has a complex history. It was founded by the Phoceans (from the Greek city of Phocea) in 600 B.C. and is one of the oldest cities in Europe. Marseille is the second largest city in France in terms of population. Its population is a real melting pot of different cultures.

From colourful markets (like Noailles market) that will make you feel like you are in Africa, to the Calanques (a natural area of big cliffs falling into the sea – Calanque means fjord), from the Panier area (the oldest place of the town and historically the place where newcomers installed) to the Vieux-Port (old harbor) and the Corniche (a road along the sea) Marseille has definitely a lot to offer.

Marseille is now France’s largest city on the Mediterranean coast and the largest port for commerce, freight and cruise ships. The city was European Capital of Culture in 2013 and European Capital of Sport in 2017; it hosted matches at the 1998 World Cup and Euro 2016. It is home to Aix-Marseille University.

Tags: