Musée Roerich, succursale du Musée d’Etat de l’Est, Moscou, Russie

Le musée Roerich est un musée de Moscou consacré à la vie et à l’art de la famille Roerich. L’ouverture du musée a eu lieu en 2016 dans le domaine Lopukhins, construit aux XVIIe et XIXe siècles. C’est une branche du Musée d’Etat de l’Est. Il possède l’une des plus grandes collections de peintures de Nikolay et de Svyatoslav Roerichs en Russie, ainsi que le plus grand fonds d’archives en Russie sur les activités de la famille Roerich.

Vue d’ensemble
Le musée Roerich (une branche du musée d’État de l’Est) a été créé en février 2016 par décision du ministère de la Culture de la Fédération de Russie. Avec sa création, Svyatoslav Nikolaevich Roerich souhaite depuis longtemps transmettre l’héritage de la famille Roerich à l’ensemble du peuple de l’URSS, dont le successeur est la Russie moderne, est exaucé.

Le musée remplit de nombreuses tâches, dont les principales sont la préservation et la présentation de la diversité du patrimoine artistique, culturel et philosophique de la famille Roerich.

Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich et des membres de sa famille ont apporté une contribution inestimable à la culture russe et mondiale (art, science, philosophie).

La collection du musée comprend plus de 800 peintures et dessins de Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich et de son fils Svyatoslav Nikolaevich Roerich, une vaste collection d’œuvres d’art décoratif de Russie, d’Inde, de Chine, de Mongolie, d’Égypte et d’autres pays, ainsi que des objets commémoratifs de la famille Roerich. . Le musée stocke un fonds d’archives étendu du patrimoine littéraire de toute la famille Roerich, ainsi que des documents sur la vie et le travail de ces personnalités remarquables, y compris des matériaux provenant du travail de nombreuses institutions et organisations Roerich.

Le musée organise des expositions, organise des séminaires et des conférences scientifiques, ainsi que des tables rondes sur des sujets d’actualité concernant les études de Roerich, l’histoire de l’art, la préservation des monuments culturels, l’écologie. Le musée dispose d’une salle de conférence dans laquelle non seulement le personnel du musée parlera, mais aussi des conférenciers invités, dont les performances peuvent intéresser un large public.

Une bibliothèque est en préparation pour son ouverture; elle comportera des livres sur les sujets de Roerich et sur l’art de l’Est, principalement sur l’art hindou et bouddhiste, ainsi que sur l’histoire de la religion.

L’une des tâches du musée est de créer une version électronique moderne des archives les plus riches de la famille Roerich et de leur donner un accès gratuit.

Le musée cherche à établir un contact avec les jeunes visiteurs, à les attirer par des excursions spéciales, à inculquer un goût de créativité pour les classes de maître.

Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich a répété à plusieurs reprises que le musée devait être un organisme vivant dont l’activité devait viser l’illumination. Dans notre travail, nous entendons suivre la législation de la Fédération de Russie relative aux musées et les principes légués par Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich.

Histoire
Le musée Roerich (une branche du musée d’État de l’Est) a été créé en février 2016 par décision du ministère de la Culture de la Fédération de Russie. Depuis mi-2017, il est situé dans le manoir des Lopukhins. La collection du musée comprend plus de 800 peintures de Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich et de son fils Svyatoslav Nikolaevich Roerich, une vaste collection d’œuvres d’art décoratif de Russie, d’Inde, de Chine, de Mongolie, d’Égypte et d’autres pays, ainsi que des objets commémoratifs de la famille Roerich.

Bâtiment
Le musée est situé dans le domaine des XVII-XIX siècles, qui appartenait auparavant aux Lopukhins. Il est basé sur un bâtiment érigé par décret de Fedor Lopukhin en 1689 sur des terres qui lui ont été données pour service. Après l’exécution d’Evdokia Lopukhina en 1718, le domaine fut confisqué et utilisé pour contenir des officiers captifs de la guerre du Nord. En 1721, le bâtiment fut transféré à l’homme d’affaires Ivan Tames, qui installa une fabrique de lin sur le territoire. En 1728, Pierre II a rendu la propriété des bâtiments à la famille Lopukhins.

Après la révolution de 1917, le domaine fut nationalisé puis utilisé comme lieu de travail. Dans les années 1920, une succursale du musée Karl Marx et Friedrich Engels était située dans les salles et, après le début de la politique de compactage, des appartements collectifs. De 1965 à 1990, la maison était une fiducie du ministère de l’Ingénierie lourde. En 1990, le bâtiment a été transféré à la Fondation soviétique Roerich et au musée de Nicholas Roerich. De 1991 à 2017, le bâtiment abritait le centre international des Roerich.

Musée
En 1987, Svyatoslav Roerich a soulevé pour la première fois la question de la nécessité de créer un musée dans lequel le patrimoine artistique de sa famille serait conservé. Ayant reçu l’approbation des autorités de Moscou, en 1989, il choisit le manoir Lopukhins, situé dans Maly Znamensky Lane, comme plate-forme pour l’exposition. La même année, la «Fondation soviétique Roerich» est créée. De nombreuses personnes morales sont à sa fondation, ce qui entraîne par la suite un litige concernant le patrimoine des artistes. En 1990, l’héritier de la famille a remis à la fondation un ensemble de peintures, de documents d’archives et d’objets personnels.

Après la mort de Svyatoslav Roerich en 1993, son épouse Devik Rani Roerich a demandé au gouvernement russe d’organiser le musée Roerich dans le domaine des Lopukhins en tant que branche du musée de l’Est. Le 4 novembre de cette année, le Premier ministre Viktor Chernomyrdin a signé un décret «sur la création du musée national de NK Roerich», aux termes duquel le musée de l’Est ouvrira sa succursale dans les locaux du domaine de Lopukhins.

En raison de problèmes de financement et de l’instabilité du pouvoir politique, le musée n’a pas pu être ouvert au bon moment et l’organisation publique Centre international des Roerichs était située dans le domaine. Le patron, Boris Bulochnik, est devenu le propriétaire du centre, à l’initiative duquel une reconstruction complète du bâtiment principal a été réalisée. Une partie de l’argent pour la restauration de l’intérieur a été collectée par le public. En 1997, le musée Nicholas Roerich a été ouvert au centre, dont le premier directeur était Orientalist Lyudmila Shaposhnikova.

Litige
À partir des années 2000, une action en justice a été intentée entre le Musée de l’Est et le centre pour contester le droit de posséder une collection de peintures de Nikolai et Svyatoslav Roerichs et d’occuper le manoir des Lopukhins. Les deux organisations ont été les cofondateurs de la Fondation soviétique Roerich, qui leur a permis de postuler pour une collection d’artistes. Ainsi, le centre a contesté les 282 peintures incluses dans le musée, exposées dans une exposition itinérante de Svyatoslav Roerich dans les années 1980. Après le décès de l’artiste, la collection est restée sans propriétaire et la collection d’œuvres a été transférée au musée pour stockage.

Le musée Roerich a été fondé en 2016 par ordre du ministère de la Culture de la Fédération de Russie en tant que branche du musée de l’Est. Fin 2016 – début 2017, le Centre international des Roerichs a quitté les lieux du domaine des Lopukhins. En 2017, par décision de justice, le Musée de l’Est a saisi environ deux cents œuvres du Centre international des Roerich, qui ont ensuite été arrêtées pendant environ un an et non exposées. Selon les dernières décisions judiciaires, le centre a perdu depuis 2018 le droit de réclamer l’héritage de la Fondation soviétique Roerich. Parallèlement à cela, il a perdu le droit de posséder des peintures.

Des collections
La collection comprend plus de 800 œuvres d’art et graphiques de Nicholas et Svyatoslav Roerichs. Le musée présente une collection d’objets d’art décoratif de la Russie, de la Mongolie, de l’Égypte et de l’Inde, des objets commémoratifs, ainsi qu’un fonds d’archives important du patrimoine littéraire de la famille Roerich, comprenant des documents d’institutions et d’organisations roerich.

La collection a été constituée à partir de plusieurs sources: un don au historien de l’art Katherine Campbell (1977, 1979), une collection de peintures de Nikolai et Svyatoslav Roerichs entrées au Musée de l’Est en 1993, ainsi ainsi qu’une collection de l’ancienne Fondation soviétique Roerich est entrée au musée en 2017.

Expositions et événements

«Lumière de l’Orient» (2017) – une exposition présentant plus de 60 œuvres de Nikolai et Svyatoslav Roerichs.

«L’héritage des Roerich et le vecteur oriental de la culture russe» (2017) est une conférence scientifique réunissant environ 200 personnes originaires de Moscou, Saint-Pétersbourg, Astrakhan Oblast, Vladivostok, Kaliningrad, Kemerovo, Novossibirsk, Penza, Rostov-sur-le-Don, Ryazan a pris part à la conférence: Sochi, Ufa, région de Tcheliabinsk, ainsi que Biélorussie, Israël, États-Unis, Suisse et Suède.

«Nicolas Roerich. Ascent ”(2018) – une exposition de 190 œuvres de Nicholas Roerich du Musée russe, de la Galerie Tretyakov, du Musée de l’Est. Le musée Nicholas Roerich de New York était composé de dix tableaux, parmi lesquels deux œuvres phares, telles que “Madonna Oriflame” et “Saint François d’Assise”.

“L’Inde. Mon pays est beau” (2018) – une exposition de 30 œuvres de Svyatoslav Roerich.

«Créativité de Nicholas et Svyatoslav Roerichs» (mai 2018) est une nouvelle exposition permanente comprenant le cabinet commémoratif de Nicholas Roerich.

Tags:

Roerich Museum, branch of the State Museum of the East, Moscow, Russia

The Roerich Museum is a museum in Moscow dedicated to the life and art of the Roerich family. The opening of the museum took place in 2016 in the Lopukhins estate, built in the XVII – XIX centuries. It is a branch of the State Museum of the East. He has one of the largest collections of paintings by Nikolay and Svyatoslav Roerichs in Russia, as well as the largest archive fund in Russia on the activities of the Roerichs’ family.

Overview
The Roerich Museum (a branch of the State Museum of the East) was created in February 2016 by decision of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation. With its creation, the long-standing desire of Svyatoslav Nikolaevich Roerich to convey the heritage of the Roerich family to the entire people of the USSR, whose successor is modern Russia, is fulfilled.

The museum has many tasks, among which the main ones are the preservation and presentation of the diverse artistic, cultural and philosophical heritage of the Roerich family.

Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich and members of his family made an invaluable contribution to Russian and world culture (art, science, philosophy).

The museum’s collection includes more than 800 paintings and drawings by Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich and his son Svyatoslav Nikolaevich Roerich, a large collection of various works of decorative art from Russia, India, China, Mongolia, Egypt and other countries, memorial items of the Roerich family. The museum stores an extensive archive fund of the literary heritage of the entire Roerich family, as well as documents on the life and work of these remarkable people, including materials from the work of numerous Roerich institutions and organizations.

The museum holds exhibitions, organizes scientific seminars and conferences, round tables on current topics of Roerich studies, art history, preservation of cultural monuments, ecology. The museum has a lecture hall in which not only museum staff will speak, but guest lecturers, whose performances may be of interest to a wide audience.

A library is being prepared for opening, in which there will be books on Roerich subjects and on the art of the East, primarily on Hindu and Buddhist art, as well as on the history of religion.

Among the tasks facing the museum is to make a modern electronic version of the richest archive of the Roerich family and provide free access to it.

The museum seeks to find contact with young visitors, attract them with special excursions, instill a love of creativity in master classes.

Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich has repeatedly said that the museum should be a living organism, the activity of which should be aimed at enlightenment. In our work, we intend to be guided by the museum legislation of the Russian Federation and the principles that Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich bequeathed.

History
The Roerich Museum (a branch of the State Museum of the East ) was created in February 2016 by decision of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation. Since mid-2017, it has been located in the Lopukhins Manor. The museum’s collection includes more than 800 paintings by Nikolai Konstantinovich Roerich and his son Svyatoslav Nikolaevich Roerich, a large collection of various works of decorative art from Russia, India, China, Mongolia, Egypt and other countries, memorial items of the Roerich family.

Building
The museum is located in the estate of the XVII-XIX centuries, previously owned by the Lopukhins. It is based on a building erected by decree of Fedor Lopukhin in 1689 on lands donated to him for service. After the execution of Evdokia Lopukhina in 1718, the estate was confiscated and used to contain captive officers of the Northern War. In 1721, the building was transferred to the businessman Ivan Tames, who placed a linen factory on the territory. In 1728, Peter II returned the ownership of buildings to the Lopukhins family.

After the 1917 revolution, the estate was nationalized, and then used as work premises. In the 1920s, a branch of the Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels Museum was located in the rooms, and after the compaction policy began, communal apartments. From 1965 to 1990, the house was a trust of the Ministry of Heavy Engineering. In 1990, the building was transferred to the Soviet Roerich Foundation and the Museum of Nicholas Roerich. From 1991 to 2017, the building housed the International Center of the Roerichs.

Museum
In 1987, Svyatoslav Roerich first raised the question of the need to create a museum where his family’s artistic heritage will be kept. Having received the approval of the Moscow authorities, in 1989, he chose the Lopukhins mansion in Maly Znamensky Lane as a platform for the exposition. In the same year, the “Soviet Roerich Foundation” was created, the founders of which were many legal entities, which subsequently caused litigation over the heritage of artists. In 1990, the heir to the family handed over to the foundation a collection of paintings, archival documents and personal belongings.

After the death of Svyatoslav Roerich in 1993, his wife Devik Rani Roerich submitted a request to the Russian government to organize the Roerich Museum in the Lopukhins estate as a branch of the Museum of the East. On November 4 of that year, Prime Minister Viktor Chernomyrdin signed a decree “On the Creation of the State Museum of N. K. Roerich,” according to which the Museum of the East will open its branch in the premises of the Lopukhins estate .

Due to funding problems and the instability of political power, the museum could not be opened at the right time, and the public organization International Center of the Roerichs was located in the estate. The patron Boris Bulochnik became the owner of the center, on the initiative of which a complete reconstruction of the mansion building was carried out. Part of the money for the restoration of the interior was collected by the public. In 1997, the Nicholas Roerich Museum was opened at the center, the first director of which was Orientalist Lyudmila Shaposhnikova .

Litigation
Beginning in the 2000s, a lawsuit began between the Museum of the East and the center to challenge the right to own a collection of paintings by Nikolai and Svyatoslav Roerichs and occupy the Lopukhins mansion. Both organizations were co-founders of the Soviet Roerich Foundation, which allowed them to apply for a collection of artists. So, the center disputed the 282 paintings included in the museum, exhibited in a traveling exhibition of Svyatoslav Roerich in the 1980s. After the artist’s death, the collection remained ownerless and the collection of works was transferred to the museum for storage.

The Roerich Museum was founded in 2016 by order of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation as a branch of the Museum of the East. In late 2016 – early 2017, the International Center of the Roerichs left the premises of the Lopukhins estate. In 2017, by a court order, the Museum of the East seized about two hundred works from the International Center of the Roerichs, which after that were arrested for about a year and not exhibited. According to the latest court decisions, since 2018 the center has lost the right to claim the legacy of the Soviet Roerich Foundation. Along with this, he lost the right to own paintings .

Collections
The collection consists of more than 800 art and graphic works of Nicholas and Svyatoslav Roerichs. The museum presents a collection of objects of decorative art of Russia, Mongolia, Egypt and India, memorial items, as well as an extensive archival fund of the literary heritage of the Roerich family, which includes documents of Roerich institutions and organizations.

The collection was formed on the basis of several sources: a gift to the Museum of the East by art historian Katherine Campbell (1977, 1979), a collection of paintings by Nikolai and Svyatoslav Roerichs that entered the Museum of the East in 1993, as well as a collection of the former Soviet Roerich Foundation entered the museum in 2017.

Exhibitions and events

“Light from the East” (2017) – an exhibition in which more than 60 works by Nikolai and Svyatoslav Roerichs were presented.

“The Roerichs Legacy and the Oriental Vector of Russian Culture” (2017) is a scientific conference in which about 200 people from Moscow, St. Petersburg, Astrakhan Oblast, Vladivostok, Kaliningrad, Kemerovo, Novosibirsk, Penza, Rostov-on-Don, Ryazan took part, Sochi, Ufa, Chelyabinsk region, as well as from Belarus, Israel, USA, Switzerland, Sweden.

“Nicholas Roerich. Ascent ”(2018) – an exhibition of 190 works by Nicholas Roerich from the Russian Museum, the Tretyakov Gallery, the Museum of the East. Ten paintings gave Nicholas Roerich Museum in New York, among whom were two landmark works as “Madonna Oriflame” and “Saint Francis of Assisi “.

“India. My country is beautiful ”(2018) – an exhibition of 30 works by Svyatoslav Roerich.

“Creativity of Nicholas and Svyatoslav Roerichs” (May 2018) is a new permanent exhibition, which included the memorial cabinet of Nicholas Roerich.

Tags: