حصن، بسبب، كلوس، Lucé، أمبويز، فرنسا

و كلوس Lucé (Château du Clos Lucé) هو قصر صغير في مدينة أمبواز، فرنسا. تم تصميمه أصلا في عام 1471 كمعقل سابق تحت قلعة أمبواز، يمر في عدة أيدي قبل أن يشتريها تشارلز الثامن ويصبح مقر صيفي لملوك فرنسا. وقال انه سوف تبقى هذه الوظيفة حتى 1516 عندما يضع فرانسيس الأول تحت تصرف ليوناردو دا فينشي، الذي سيعيش هناك ثلاث سنوات، حتى وفاته في 2 مايو 1519.

يقع فندق كلوس Lucé على بعد 500 متر من قصر تشاتيو d’أمبويز الملكي، الذي يرتبط به بواسطة ممر تحت الأرض. بنيت من قبل هيوز d’أمبويز في منتصف القرن الخامس عشر، تم الحصول عليها في عام 1490 من قبل تشارلز الثامن من فرنسا لزوجته، آن دي بريتاجن. في وقت لاحق، كان يستخدم من قبل فرانسيس الأول، وكذلك شقيقته مارغريت دي نافار، التي بدأت في كتابة كتابها بعنوان L’هيبتاميرون أثناء وجودهم هناك.

في عام 1516، دعا الملك فرانسيس الأول من فرنسا ليوناردو دا فينشي إلى أمبواز وقدم له كلوس Lucé، ثم دعا شاتو دي كلوكس، كمكان للبقاء والعمل. وصل ليوناردو، الرسام والمخترع الشهير، مع ثلاث لوحات له، وهي الموناليزا، سانت آن، والقديس جان بابتيست. عاش ليوناردو في كلوس لوسيه على مدى السنوات الثلاث الأخيرة من حياته، وتوفي هناك في 2 مايو 1519.

اليوم، كلوس Lucé هو متحف ليوناردو دا فينشي الذي يعكس التاريخ المرموق في المنطقة، ويشمل أربعين نماذج من الآلات المختلفة التي صممها ليوناردو. تشاتيو دو كلوس Lucé هو اليوم مكان للتفسير والمعرفة والتوليف الذي يهدف إلى السماح للجمهور على نطاق أوسع لاكتشاف عالم ليوناردو دا فينشي. يتضمن المتحف أيضا نسخة من الموناليزا، رسمها بنفسه. ”

التاريخ
من العصور الوسطى إلى عصر النهضة
وخلال منتصف العمر (1214 – 1417) المجال ينتمي إلى أسرة امبواز، الذي أعطى أرض كلو كهدية لترتيب سسترسن الديني Moncé، الدير تأسست في Limeray، تحت حماية اقطاب أمبواز.

الملحمة لهذا المجال الطوب الوردي والحجر المنحوت، الذي بني على أسس-جالو الروماني، تبدأ في عهد لويس الحادي عشر، في 1471. وبالنظر من قبل الملك لالمفضلة لديه اتيان لو لوب، مطبخ رجل يسمو، وكان يحيط شاتو دو كلو من الجدران المحصنة. المكان ثم يتم شراؤها من قبل شارل الثامن في يوليو 2 الثانية 1490 لتصبح المقر الصيفي لملوك فرنسا.

الملك يتحول القلعة إلى القلعة متعة ويبني على الخطابة، جوهرة حقيقية من العمارة القوطية، لزوجته الملكة آن دي بريتان. الدوق الشاب من أنغولم، ملك المستقبل فرانسيس الأول، يقضي الكثير من الوقت في هذا القصر.

في نهاية القرن السابع عشر، واسمه شاتو دو Clouxis شاتو دو كلوس لوسي. لقد تعافى من قبل أمبواز الأسرة الذي يحفظ من التدمير خلال الثورة، وبعد ذلك، في عام 1854، يصبح جزءا من سانت بريس الأسرة.

في 1471، الملك لويس الحادي عشر يعطي المجال لكلو، يعرف اليوم باسم شاتو دو كلوس لوسي، لصبي المطبخ يسمو سابق يدعى اتيان لو لوب. وبنى شاتو دو كلو لوس بالطوب والحجر المنحوت، فضلا عن واحدة من dovecotes فرنسا أجمل، لم يمسها حتى اليوم. داخل ستسمع ترفرف من ألف طائر أنها تستخدم لإيواء.

في 1490، وكلوس لوسي يصبح صيفيا للملوك فرنسا. شارل الثامن يسأل عن الكنيسة التي سيتم بناؤها لزوجته الشابة، الملكة آن دي بريتان، الذي يأتي حدادا على فقدان أطفالها الصغار. زينت الكنيسة مع أربع لوحات جدارية، بما في ذلك البشارة، التي تم رسمها من قبل التلاميذ ليوناردو. العذراء الضوء، «العذراء Lucis»، فوق الباب، ربما نظرا لاسم الموقع الحالي: شاتو دو كلوس لوسي.

في 1516-1519، الملك فرانسيس الأول ولويز دي سافوا دعوة ليوناردو دا فينشي إلى أمبواز.

الملك فرانسيس الأول، عاطفي من قبل المواهب ليوناردو دا فينشي، أسماء له “رئيس الوزراء الرسام والمهندس المعماري والملك”، ويقدم له التمتع شاتو من كلوس لوسي، وتقع فقط على بعد أمتار قليلة من قلعة أمبواز. المحفوظات الوطنية في باريس تملك شهادة لpayement بالذكر المعاش من فرانسيس الأول ليوناردو دا فينشي «لماستر Lyenard دي فينس، رسام إيطالي، ومبلغ 2000 ecussoleil، على معاشه التقاعدي من عامين».

ليوناردو يقضي السنوات الثلاث الأخيرة من حياته في شاتو من كلوس لوسي ويعمل على عدة مشاريع لملك فرنسا، وتحيط بها طلابه. وترحب بالزوار المرموقة مثل الكاردينال أراغون، الرجال العظماء من المملكة والسفراء الإيطالية وزملائه الفنانين الحاضرين في ملعب الملك، مثل دومينيكو دا كورتونا، والمعروفة باسم BOCCADOR ومهندس تشامبورد في المستقبل.

ممر تحت الأرض بين القلاع اثنين allowsboth الرجال لتلبية كثير من الأحيان. اليوم، سوى متر الأولى لا تزال مرئية.

بعد علاقة رائعة بين ليوناردو دا فينشي وثلاثة ملوك الفرنسية (شارل الثامن، لويس الثاني عشر، وفرانسيس الأول)، ويمر الايطالي ماستر بعيدا في مايو 2 الثانية 1519 في غرفته في شاتو دو كلوس لوسي.

ليوناردو دا فينشي في كلوس لوسي القلعة
في عام 1516، عن عمر يناهز 64 عاما، ترك ليوناردو دا فينشي روما، عبرت إيطاليا، ليصل في الحقائب الجلدية له كل ما قدمه من أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة من الرسومات وثلاث لوحات شهيرة: لوحة الموناليزا، العذراء، الطفل يسوع والقديس آن وسانت جون بابتيست. يتم الاحتفاظ هذه اللوحات الثلاث الآن في متحف اللوفر. تلاميذه فرانشيسكو ميلزي وسالاي مرافقته إلى فرنسا، وكذلك عبده، باتيستا دي Vilanis. ووفقا لبينفينوتو سيليني، الملك يعطي له معاش من 700 التيجان الذهبية، والتي يدفع أيضا للأعمال يكمل، ويضع تحت تصرفه شاتو دو كلوس لوسي. وهو يدعو له “الرسام الأول، مهندس ومهندس الملك” 8. وفي كلوس لوسي القلعة، ليوناردو دا فينشي هو وافرة جدا. وهو يعمل على العديد من المشاريع: تنظم الاحتفالات المحكمة في امبواز، تصاميم خطط للمدينة مثالية من رومورانتا والثورة مزدوجة سلم Chambord9. وتخطط الشركة لربط وادي لوار ليون عن طريق نظام من القنوات. ويعتبر واحدا من أفضل الرسامين من وقته.

في 10 أكتوبر 1517، ليوناردو دا فينشي يتلقى زيارة الكاردينال لويس أراغون. يصف سكرتيره أنطونيو دي Beatis، هذه الزيارة في Itinerario له:

“ميسر ليوناردو دا فينشي، أكثر من 70 سنة، رسام ممتاز في عصرنا، الذي أظهر ثلاث لوحات لدينا ربوبيته، واحدة لسيدة فلورنسا، التي أدخلت على الطبيعية، بناء على طلب من الراحل العظيم جوليان II، وآخر من سانت جون المعمدان الشباب، والعذراء مع الطفل، الذين هم على الركبتين سانت آن. كل ثلاثة هي الكمال نادرة. صحيح أن نتيجة لشلل في اليد اليمنى، لا يمكننا الانتظار للحصول على تحفة منه.

في 19 يونيو 1518، تنظم ليوناردو دا فينشي طرف في شاتو دو كلوس لوسي أن أشكر الملك للحصول على إعانات له. انها تأخذ بعض من الأفكار التي ليوناردو دا فينشي المستخدمة في عيد الجنة في ميلانو، 13 يناير 1490 (فيستا ديل paradisio، مسرحية للشاعر برناردو بيلينسيوني (في)). أثارت A ماكينات سباق النجوم: وأقامت رأس المال وأقامت زرقاء رسمت قماش، تمثل قبو السماوية مع الكواكب والشمس والقمر واثني عشر علامات من البرج.

ذكرت السفير جالياتسو فيسكونتي في بريد إلكتروني أن “معظم المسيحيين الملك جعل مأدبة في الاحتفال الرائع […]. كان المكان كلو، القصر جميل جدا والكبير. وتمت تغطية المحكمة مع أوراق أزرق السماء، ثم كانت هناك كواكب الرئيسية، والشمس على جانب واحد والقمر على الجانب الآخر […]. كان هناك 400 الشمعدانات مع فرعين، وهكذا مضيئة أنه يبدو أن ليلة كان يقودها بعيدا.

توفي ليوناردو دا فينشي في غرفة نومه في شاتو دو كلوس لوسي في 2 مايو 1519، توريث مخطوطاته، كراسات الرسم والرسومات لتلميذه الحبيب، فرانشيسكو ميلزي. المشهد اخترع حيث توفي الرسام في أحضان فرانسيس الأول كانت موضوع العديد من اللوحات، بما في ذلك وفاة ليوناردو دا فينشي جان أوغست دومينيك آنغر، والحفاظ عليها الآن في قصر بيتي.

من عصر النهضة إلى يومنا هذا
وبعد وفاة ليوناردو دا فينشي، لويز دي سافوا يأخذ حيازة المبنى. فيليبيرت بابو لا Bourdaisière وزوجته، الملقب بابو جميل (وجهة مفضلة للفرانسيس الأول)، أقام هناك من 1523. ميشيل دي جاست، قائد الحرس هنري الثالث، الذي شارك في اغتيال الكاردينال ستار يصبح المالك من دومين دو كلوس لوسي في 1583.

القلعة ثم يعود إلى البيت امبواز في 1632، عن طريق الزواج من أنطوان أمبواز مع حفيدة ميشيل دي جاست. وخلال الثورة الفرنسية، القلعة نجا بأعجوبة من النهب بفضل معارضة هنري ميشيل أمبواز. لا تزال القلعة في الأسرة من أمبواز حتى 1832. ومنزل ليوناردو دا فينشي، هو موضوع تصنيف كما المعالم التاريخية التي ائحة 1862.

القلعة وهي مملوكة من قبل عائلة سانت بريس يوم 30 يوليو، 1855. هوبير سانت بريس تقرر فتحه للجمهور في عام 1954.

وصف القلعة اليوم
وتقع القلعة في قلب حديقة 7 هكتار التي يجتازها Amasse، أحد روافد صغيرة لوار. واجهة، في الطوب الوردي والحجارة البيضاء، تغير بالكاد منذ Renaissance18. يبقى الممر القديم من الوقت. في القلعة، نكتشف الغرفة ليوناردو دا فينشي، مطبخه، وغرفة المجلس، والخطابة آن من بريتاني وغرفة من مارغريت دي نافارا. الغرفة حيث توفي ليوناردو دا فينشي وغرفة مارغريت دي نافار، واستعادة في عام 2011 ومزينة بأثاث والأشياء، في الطابق الأول.

في عام 1492، الذي بني الملك شارل الثامن لزوجته المصلى آن بريتاني، القوطي توفا كنيسة الحجر. ويزين الخطابة مع الجداريات المصنوعة في وقت لاحق من قبل التلاميذ ليوناردو دا فينشي: والبشارة، ويوم القيامة والعذراء النور، ودعا العذراء Lucis، وتقع فوق الباب، والذي من شأنه أن يعطي اسمها في كلوس لوسي.

وتعرض أربعين النماذج التي IBM وفقا للرسومات ليوناردو دا فينشي في أربع غرف الطابق السفلي. يتم عرض الرسوم المتحركة 3D أيضا في قاعات نموذجية. أنها تسمح لفهم عمل اختراعات ليوناردو وان نراهم يأتون إلى الحياة.

نجد في الحديقة وبرج الحمام الذي بني في القرن الخامس عشر قبل استين لو لوب، مأمور من أمبواز. إيواء برج الحمام ألف منافذ للالحمام. تم تعيين دورة الثقافي حتى في شاتو دو كلو لوس الحديقة في عام 2003 من قبل جان سانت بريس، مع أجراس الصوت و 20 آلات عملاقة مستوحاة من رسوماته. تقدم حديقة عمل ليوناردو على النباتات، فضلا عن جسر من مستويين، مصنوعة من رسم للفنان.

معرض:
مواجهة الفنانين الشباب في عصر النهضة الإيطالية، رافائيل ومايكل أنجلو، على سقوط 1516، ليوناردو دا فينشي يقبل دعوة من الملك في 64 سنة وtravelsthrough جبال الألب على ظهر بغل مع بعض من تلاميذه، بما في ذلك فرانشيسكو Melzi وباتيستا دي Villanis عهده الأمين خادم ميلانو. انه يجلب معه أيضا لوحاته رئيسية هي: Monna ليزا، والعذراء والطفل وجوهن المعمدان وكذلك ملاحظاته والرسومات والمخطوطات وجمعها في وقت لاحق في مخطوطة، تنتشر اليوم في جميع أنحاء العالم.

الدستور أروندل، لندن، والمكتبة البريطانية
مخطوطة أتلانتيكس، ميلان، مكتبة الأمبروزيانا
الدستور فورستر، لندن، متحف فيكتوريا وألبرت
الدستور Trivulzianus، ميلانو، كاستيللو Sforzesco
الدستور مدريد، مدريد، المكتبة الوطنية
لهيئة الدستور الغذائي تورينو، أو الدستور حول رحلة الطيور، تورينو، الببليوتيكا ريالي
المخطوطات A، B، C، D، E، F، G، H، I، K، L، M، باريس، معهد فرنسا
مخطوطة ليستر، بيل غيتس مجموعة خاصة

وتأتي الابتسامة الغامضة الموناليزا إلى شاتو دو كلوس لوسي

وفقا لحساب من قبل سكرتير الكاردينال أراغون، الذي كان في زيارة شاتو دو كلوس لوسي، رأوا “اللوحة امرأة فلورنسا، القيام به من الحياة، على سبيل المثال من جوليانو دي ميديشي.” رسمت بين 1503 و1514، وهذا العمل هو مثال على تقنية المزج التدريجي للالوان الشهيرة ليوناردو دافنشي، الذي حواف غير واضحة وخففت.

الغرف:
بدا حجرة النوم ليوناردو بها على شاتو رويال أمبواز. وكان في هذا البيت الذي كتب وصيته، توريث مخطوطاته وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة من رسومات واسكتشات لتلميذه الحبيب Franceso Melzi. وافته المنية في حجرة النوم له في 2 مايو 1519.

حجرة النوم من مارغريت دي نافار، وشقيقتها الكبرى فرانسيس الأول، استعيد بالكامل ومؤثثة على طراز القرن ال16. صورة لها من قبل فرانسوا كلويت، الرسام الرسمي للملك، هو على العرض في واحدة من خزائن العرض.

المصلى آن بريتاني، زوجة شارل الثامن، وزينت مع أربعة جدارية، بما في ذلك واحدة من البشارة التي رسمها تلاميذ ليوناردو. فوق الباب، العذراء النور، برج العذراء Lucis، ويعتقد أنه كان مصدر إلهام لاسم جديد للقصر و: لو كلوس لوسي.

في الطابق الأرضي من المبنى، والعثور على عمل المعيشة ليوناردو دا فينشي. اكتشاف أجواء bottegas التي كانت نموذجية من عصر النهضة في استوديو الفنان بلاده. في المكتبة، يتم محاذاة الفاكس من معهد فرنسا والنصوص القديمة جنبا إلى جنب مع مجلس الوزراء مذهل من الفضول. جرفت، ومن المتوقع في الإنتاج السمعي البصري الذي يستخدم “تكنولوجيا الأشباح”.

في منزل هذا الفنان، من ورشته، ليوناردو دا فينشي يعتقد، يخترع وتتصور طلبات الملكية:

المدينة المثالية من رومورانتا متجهة لتصبح عاصمة للمملكة.
الدرج الحلزوني المزدوج للقلعة شامبور أنه وحي.
وهناك شبكة من الأقفال والقنوات التي تربط فال دو لوار إلى ليون، على وصول أسرع إلى إيطاليا.
تجفيف المستنقعات SOLOGNE في
التدريج للاحتفالات الملكية مذهلة، وقال انه يتصور العديد من إنسان آلي مثل «اليس زهرة البصق الأسد».
منازل المنقولة للمحكمة المتجولين.

«لأن الحساء هو الحصول على البارد، etcaetera. »هذه الجملة قد عثر في واحدة من كتابات ليوناردو. تخيل دخول المطبخ دون تغيير، وانظر ليوناردو الحصول الدافئ بجانب الموقد whileMathurine الحجر عالية، عبده من جولات، ويعد له وجبة نباتية.

ليوناردو لديه التغذية الصحية، وفقا له «الرصانة، وجبات صحية والنوم السليم سوف تبقى لكم في صحة جيدة».

الغرف الزوار أربعة في الطابق السفلي توفر نظرة ثاقبة في معرفة شاملة ليوناردو دا فينشي المهندس. الرسوم المتحركة 3D و 40 نماذج تظهر مجموعة متنوعة من فهم ليوناردو دا فينشي بديهية الهندسة: طائرة، والسيارات، وطائرات الهليكوبتر والدبابات، وأكثر من ذلك.

الحديقة:
رجل العصاميين، ليوناردو دا فينشي هو واحد من أول مرة لابتكار العلم التجريبي. ويضيف لطريقة جديدة للتعلم، بعيدا عن كتبه، من خلال مراقبة الطبيعة وإيجاد الحلول له في ذلك.

في لو كلوس لوسي، كان يتصور حديقة ليوناردو بنفس الطريقة: كل الإجابات على الأسئلة حول ماستر هنا، في متناول الأطفال والكبار.

الأشجار والنباتات وحتى المياه تتحرك موضح في الدستور واللوحات تعود إلى الحياة في هذه الحديقة مخصصة للطبيعة. الصخور والكهوف والجداول والشلالات، والآثار الضبابية تذكير تقنية المزج التدريجي للالوان … وهنا، يتم جلب حتى أدنى تفاصيل عمله في الحياة.

المشي حول بركة وتحيط بها منذ قرون أشجار الصنوبر، السرو الإيطالية واليو. هناك، معجب الزنابق مادونا، قزحية العين الصفراء، البنفسج مقرن، alders الأوروبية، repandums بخور مريم، وبطبيعة الحال، فإن منى Lisarose الشهير.

كما تستخدم ليوناردو يقول: «كل شيء هنا. »

يولد هذا المتحف في الهواء الطلق فريدة من نوعها بفضل المنافسة من الأبحاث عامين على المثول العلم جمع كل من عمل ليوناردو دا فينشي على الطبيعة.

ليوناردو دا فينشي بارك:
في حديقة ليوناردو دا فينشي، تجربة الكون الإبداعي للماجستير
وأنت تمشي، عليك ان يلتقي ليوناردو المهندس، ليوناردو البصيرة وليوناردو الرسام والمهندس المعماري. في الحديقة، وتسلق على متن عربة الاعتداء، والعمل المسمار الجوي، والتعامل معها البندقية ماسورة متعددة، الشراع على قارب مجداف والسير على الجسر الدوار وارتفاع عشرين مترا جسر مزدوج تمتد، وكلها وضعت الطريقة الأصلية. لأن النماذج هي من الحجم الفعلي، وأنها توفر تجربة أصيلة في كل من الأطفال والبالغين. نظرة على أربعين canvasses شفافة مع وقف التنفيذ إلى الأشجار، كل واحد 03:57 مترا.

اكتشاف وجوه مشرقة، والهيئات الجميلة، وميكانيكا الحياة، والمشاريع التقنية في المدينة المثالية … دع صوت جان بيات، من المسرح الوطني الفرنسي، إرشادك كما انه يلعب دور المعلم في جميع أنحاء زيارتك.

الحديقة ليوناردو دا فينشي هي رحلة فريدة من نوعها بين قطع العبقرية في العمل.

Tags:

Castle of Clos Lucé, Amboise, France

The Château du Clos Lucé (or simply Clos Lucé) is a small château in the city of Amboise, France. Originally designed in 1471 as a former stronghold under the castle of Amboise, it passes in several hands before being purchased by Charles VIII and become a summer residence of the kings of France. He will keep this function until 1516 when Francis I puts it at the disposal of Leonardo da Vinci, who will live there three years, until his death on May 2, 1519.

Clos Lucé is located at 500 metres from the royal Château d’Amboise, to which it is connected by an underground passageway. Built by Hugues d’Amboise in the middle of the fifteenth century, it was acquired in 1490 by Charles VIII of France for his wife, Anne de Bretagne. Later, it was used by Francis I, as well as his sister Marguerite de Navarre, who began writing her book entitled L’Heptaméron while living there.

In 1516, King Francis I of France invited Leonardo da Vinci to Amboise and provided him with the Clos Lucé, then called Château de Cloux, as a place to stay and work. Leonardo, a famous painter and inventor, arrived with three of his paintings, namely the Mona Lisa, Sainte Anne, and Saint Jean Baptiste. Leonardo lived at the Clos Lucé for the last three years of his life, and died there on 2 May 1519.

Today, the Clos Lucé is a Leonardo da Vinci museum that reflects the prestigious history of the region and includes forty models of the various machines designed by Leonardo. The Château du Clos Lucé is today a place of interpretation, knowledge and synthesis that aims to allow the wider public to discover the world of Leonardo da Vinci. The museum also includes a copy of the Mona Lisa, painted by himself.”

History
From the Middle Ages to the Renaissance
During the middle age (1214 – 1417) the domain belongs to the Amboise family, who gave the land of Cloux as a gift to the religious Cistercian order of Moncé, an abbey founded in Limeray, under the protection of the lords of Amboise.

The saga of this pink bricks and freestone domain, built over gallo-roman foundations, begins under the reign of Louis XI, in 1471. Given by the king to his favourite Etienne le Loup, an ennobled kitchen man, the Château du Cloux was surrounded by fortified walls. The place is then bought by Charles VIII on July the 2 nd 1490 to become the summer residence of the kings of France.

The king turns the fortress into a pleasure castle and builds an oratory, true jewel of the gothic architecture, for his wife Queen Anne de Bretagne. The young duke of Angoulême, future king Francis I, spends a lot of time in this château.

At the end of the XVII century, the Château du Clouxis named Château du Clos Lucé. It’s recovered by the Amboise Family who saves it from destruction during the revolution, and then, in 1854, it becomes part of the Saint Bris Family.

In 1471,King Louis XI gives the domain of Cloux, known today as the Château du Clos Lucé, to a former ennobled kitchen boy named Etienne le Loup. He built the Château du Clos Lucé with bricks and freestone, as well as one of France’s most beautiful dovecotes, untouched until today. Inside you’ll hear the flapping of the thousand birds it used to shelter.

In 1490, The Clos Lucé becomes the summerhouse of the kings of France. Charles VIII asks for a chapel to be built for his young wife, Queen Anne de Bretagne, who comes to mourn the loss of her young children. The chapel is decorated with four frescos, including the Annunciation, which was painted by Leonardo’s pupils. The Virgin of light, « Virgo Lucis », above the door, may have given the site its current name: Château du Clos Lucé.

In 1516-1519, King Francis I and Louise de Savoie invite Leonardo da Vinci to Amboise.

King Francis I, passionate by Leonardo da Vinci’s talent, names him “ Premier Painter and Engineer and Architect of the King” and offers him the enjoyment of the Château of Clos Lucé, located only a few meters away from the Château d’Amboise. The national archives in Paris own a certificate for payement mentioning the pension from Francis I to Leonardo da Vinci « To Master Lyenard de Vince, Italian painter, the sum of 2000 ecussoleil, for his pension of two years ».

Leonardo spends the last three years of his life at the Château of Clos Lucé and works on several projects for the king of France, surrounded by his students. He welcomes prestigious visitors like the Cardinal of Aragon, great men of the kingdom, Italian ambassadors and fellow artists present in the king’s court, like Domenico da Cortona, known as the Boccador and Chambord’s future architect.

An underground passage between the two castles allowsboth men to meet frequently. Today, only the first meters are still visible.

After a fascinating relationship between Leonardo da Vinci and three French Kings(Charles VIII, Louis XII and Francis I), the Italian Master passes away on May the 2 nd 1519 in his room at the Château du Clos Lucé.

Leonardo da Vinci at the Clos Lucé Castle
In 1516, at the age of 64, Leonardo da Vinci left Rome, crossed Italy, bringing in his leather satchels all his notebooks of drawings and three famous paintings: The Mona Lisa, The Virgin, the Infant Jesus and St. Anne and Saint Jean Baptiste. These three paintings are now preserved in the Louvre Museum. His disciples Francesco Melzi and Salai accompany him to France, as well as his servant, Batista de Vilanis. According to Benvenuto Cellini, the king gives him a pension of 700 gold crowns, which also pays for the works he completes, and puts at his disposal the Château du Clos Lucé. He calls him “First Painter, Engineer and Architect of the King” 8. At Clos Lucé Castle, Leonardo da Vinci is very prolific. He works on many projects: organizes the court festivities in Amboise, designs plans for the ideal city of Romorantin and the staircase double revolution Chambord9. It plans to connect the Loire Valley to Lyonnais by a system of canals. He is considered one of the best painters of his time.

On October 10, 1517, Leonardo da Vinci receives the visit of Cardinal Louis of Aragon. His secretary Antonio de Beatis, describes this visit in his Itinerario:

“Messer Leonardo da Vinci, over 70 years old, excellent painter of our time, who showed three paintings to Our Lordship, one of a Florentine lady, made to the natural, at the request of the late Magnificent Julien II, another of Saint John the Baptist young, and a Virgin with the Child, who are on the knees of Saint Anne; all three are of rare perfection. It is true that due to a paralysis of the right hand, we can not wait for a masterpiece from him.

On June 19, 1518, Leonardo da Vinci organizes a party at the Château du Clos Lucé to thank the king for his benefits. She takes up some of the ideas that Leonardo da Vinci used for the Feast of Paradise in Milan, January 13, 1490 (Festa del paradisio, play of the poet Bernardo Bellincioni (in)). A machinery evoked the race of the stars: a capital was erected and a blue painted canvas was erected, representing the celestial vault with the planets, the sun, the moon and the twelve signs of the zodiac.

Ambassador Galeazzo Visconti reported in a letter that “the Most Christian King made banquet in an admirable celebration […]. The place was the Cloux, very beautiful and grand palace. The court was covered with blue-sky sheets, then there were the main planets, the sun on one side and the moon on the opposite side […]. There were 400 candelabra with two branches, and so illuminated that it seemed that the night was driven away.

Leonardo da Vinci died in his bedroom at the Château du Clos Lucé on May 2, 1519, bequeathing his manuscripts, sketchbooks and sketches to his beloved disciple, Francesco Melzi. The invented scene where the painter died in the arms of Francis I was the subject of many paintings, including The Death of Leonardo da Vinci Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres, now preserved at the Petit Palais.

From the Renaissance to the present day
After the death of Leonardo da Vinci, Louise de Savoie takes possession of the premises. Philibert Babou La Bourdaisière and his wife, nicknamed the beautiful Babou (a favorite of Francis I), resided there from 1523. Michel de Gast, captain of the Guards of Henry III, who participated in the assassination of the Cardinal of Guise becomes the owner of the Domaine du Clos Lucé in 1583.

The castle then returns to the House of Amboise in 1632, by the marriage of Antoine d’Amboise with the grand-daughter of Michel de Gast. During the French Revolution, the castle narrowly escaped looting thanks to the opposition of Henri-Michel d’Amboise. The castle remains in the family of Amboise until 1832. As a house of Leonardo da Vinci, it is the subject of a classification as historical monuments by the list of 1862.

The castle is owned by the Saint Bris family on July 30, 1855. Hubert Saint Bris decides to open it to the public in 1954.

Description of the castle today
The castle is located in the heart of a 7-hectare park crossed by the Amasse, a small tributary of the Loire. The facade, in pink bricks and white stones, has hardly changed since the Renaissance18. An old walkway remains of the time. In the castle, we discover the room of Leonardo da Vinci, his kitchen, the council room, the oratory of Anne of Brittany and the room of Marguerite de Navarre. The room where Leonardo da Vinci died and Marguerite de Navarre’s room, restored in 2011 and decorated with period furniture and objects, are on the first floor.

In 1492, King Charles VIII built for his wife the oratory of Anne of Brittany, Gothic chapel stone tufa. The oratory is decorated with murals subsequently made by Leonardo da Vinci’s disciples: an Annunciation, a Last Judgment and a Virgin of Light, called Virgo Lucis, located above the door, which would have given its name at Clos Lucé.

Forty models made by IBM according to the drawings of Leonardo da Vinci are presented in four rooms of the basement. 3D animations are also presented in the model rooms. They allow to understand the functioning of Leonardo’s inventions and to see them come to life.

We find in the park a dovecote built in the fifteenth century by Estienne le Loup, bailiff of Amboise. The dovecote housed a thousand niches for the pigeons. A cultural course was set up in the Château du Clos Lucé park in 2003 by Jean Saint Bris, with sound bells and 20 giant machines inspired by his sketches. A garden presents Leonardo’s work on plants, as well as a two-level bridge, made from a sketch by the artist.

Exhibition:
Facing the young artists of the Italian Renaissance, Raphael and Michelangelo, on fall 1516, Leonardo da Vinci accepts the invitation of the king at 64 years old and travelsthrough the Alps on the back of a mule with some of his pupils, including Francesco Melzi and Battista de Villanis his faithful Milanese servant. He also brings with him his major paintings: Monna Lisa, the Virgin and the Child and St.John the Baptist as well as his notes, sketches and manuscripts, later gathered in the codex, today spread throughout the world.

Codex Arundel, London, British Library
Codex Atlanticus, Milan, Biblioteca Ambrosiana
Codex Forster, London, Victoria and Albert Museum
Codex Trivulzianus, Milano, Castello Sforzesco
Codex of Madrid, Madrid, Biblioteca Nacional
Codex of Turin, or Codex about bird’s flight, Turin, Biblioteca Reale
Manuscripts A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K, L, M, Paris, Institut de France
Codex Leicester, Bill Gates private collection

Mona Lisa’s enigmatic smile comes to the Château du Clos Lucé

According to an account by the secretary to the Cardinal of Aragon, who was visiting the Château du Clos Lucé, they saw, “the painting of a Florentine woman, done from life, at the instance of Giuliano de’ Medici.” Painted between 1503 and 1514, this work is an example of Leonardo da Vinci’s famous sfumato technique, in which the edges are blurred and softened.

Rooms:
Leonardo’s bedchamber looked out on the Château Royal d’Amboise. It was in this house that he wrote his will, bequeathing his manuscripts and notebooks of drawings and sketches to his beloved disciple Franceso Melzi. He passed away in his bedchamber on 2 May 1519.

The bedchamber of Marguerite de Navarre, the elder sister of Francis I, has been fully restored and furnished in the 16th-century style. Her portrait by François Clouet, official painter to the king, is on show in one of the display cabinets.

The oratory of Anne of Brittany, the wife of Charles VIII, is decorated with four frescoes, including one of the Annunciation painted by disciples of Leonardo. Above the door, the Virgin of Light, Virgo Lucis, is thought to have been the inspiration for the château’s new name: Le Clos Lucé.

On the ground floor of the building, find the Leonardo Da Vinci’s living workshops. Discover the ambiance of the bottegas that were typical of the Renaissance in his artist’s studio. In the library, facsimiles from the Institut de France and ancient texts are aligned alongside an astonishing cabinet of curiosities. Swept away, an audiovisual production that uses “ghost technology” is projected.

In this artist’s house, from his workshop, Leonardo da Vinci thinks, invents and conceives royal requests:

The ideal city of Romorantin destined to become the capital of the kingdom.
The double helix staircase of the Château de Chambord that he inspired.
A network of locks and canals connecting the Val de Loire to Lyon,for a swifter access to Italy.
The draining of Sologne’s swamps
The staging for spectacular royal celebrations, he imagines many automatons like the « Lys flower spitting lion ».
Movable houses for the itinerant court.

« Because the soup is getting cold, etcaetera. » this sentence would have been found in one of Leonardo’s writings. Imagine entering the unchanged kitchen and see Leonardo getting warm next to the high stone hearth whileMathurine, his servant from Tours, prepares his vegetarian meal.

Leonardo has a healthy nutrition, according to him « sobriety, healthy meals and a proper sleep will keep you in good health».

The four visitor rooms in the basement provide insight into the comprehensive knowledge of Leonardo da Vinci the engineer. 3D animations and 40 models show the diverse range of Leonardo da Vinci’s intuitive grasp of engineering: aeroplane, automobile, helicopter, tank, and more.

Garden:
Self-taught man, Leonardo da Vinci is one of the firsts to invent experimental science. He elaborates a new way of learning, away from his books, by observing nature and finding his answers in it.

At Le Clos Lucé, Leonardo’s garden was imagined the same way: all the answers to the questions about the Master are here, accessible to children and grown ups.

The trees, plants and even the moving water described on the codex and paintings come back to life in this garden dedicated to nature. Rocks, caves, streams, waterfalls, misty effects reminding the sfumato technique… Here, even the slightest details of his work are brought to life.

Walk around the pond surrounded by centuries-old pines, Italian cypresses and yews. There, admire madonna lilies, yellow irises, horned violets, European alders, cyclamen repandums, and of course, the famous Mona Lisarose.

As Leonardo used to say: « It’s all here. »

This unique open-air museum is born thanks to the competition of a two years research on a corpus of science collecting all of Leonardo da Vinci’s work on nature.

Leonardo da Vinci park:
In the Park Leonardo da Vinci, experience the creative universe of the Master
As you walk, you meet Leonardo the engineer, Leonardo the visionary and Leonardo the painter and architect. In the park, climb aboard the assault chariot, action the aerial screw, manipulate the multi-barrelled gun, sail on the paddle boat and walk on the revolving bridge and the twenty meters high double-span bridge, all crafted the original way. Because the models are the actual size, they offer an authentic experience to both children and adults. Look at the forty translucent canvasses suspended to the trees, each one three to four meters tall.

Discover the bright faces, the beautiful bodies, the mechanics of life, the technical projects of the ideal city… Let the voice of Jean Piat, from the ComédieFrançaise, guide you as he plays the role of the Master throughout your visit.

The Leonardo da Vinci park is a unique journey among the genius’s pieces of work.

Tags: