2010年威尼斯狂欢节回顾,意大利

2010年威尼斯狂欢节将于2月6日至16日举行。威尼斯狂欢节是威尼斯一年中最受期待的活动:为期十天的化妆舞会、表演、音乐、游戏和色彩。这座城市变得疯狂,充满了欢呼的人群。在圣马可广场的起居室和其他数千个领域,您可以自由参加文艺演出和古装游行、音乐会和历史重演、儿童娱乐和狂野舞蹈之夜、美食品尝和其他感官体验。

2010 年威尼斯狂欢节以“6种感官 x 6个分区 (6 senses x 6 sestieri)”为主题,活动和表演的主题是将 5 种传统感官与 5 种 sestieri(威尼斯划分的地区)相结合:圣十字教堂的气味, 在卡纳雷吉欧 (Cannaregio) 品尝美食,在圣波罗 (San Polo) 看风景,在卡斯特罗 (Castello) 触摸,在多尔索杜罗 (Dorsoduro) 听听,这为圣马可区增添了心灵。

在前几届成功的基础上,狂欢节通过视觉、触觉、听觉、味觉、嗅觉这 5 种感官来丰富我们对世界的了解。世界主要是在我们的第六感中,在我们的脑海中。威尼斯狂欢节的形式已经在标题中体现了新颖性和变化的承诺:Sensation, 6 senses x 6 sestieri。

通过道具的存在、剧团和艺术家的表演、音乐会和照明设计装置的存在,感官被削弱。 San Polo 是视觉区,Santa Croce 区是嗅觉区,Dorsoduro 区是听觉区,Castello 区是触觉区,Cannaregio 区是味觉区。 Saint Markit 成为这座城市的感官、想象力和思维中心,欢迎心灵,真正的所有感官和所有感官的十字路口。因此,圣马可代表了一切的跳动中心、精神场所和感官支点,并举办了音乐团体、戏剧和艺术表演交替进行的主舞台,为新的 2010 年威尼斯狂欢节举办了盛大的活动。

演出在圣马可广场举行,那里是一座以最著名的童话故事为灵感的梦幻花园。一条绿树成荫的小路,有修剪整齐的雕塑和一个大型门户,上一版雄伟的狮子在那里脱颖而出,今年重新审视了以 Arcimboldo 画作为灵感的装饰。一个公众可以走路的地方,最重要的是可以作为主角游行,展示他们的伪装。

2010 年威尼斯狂欢节吸引了大量来自意大利和世界各地的游客。威尼斯狂欢节包括一系列的露天公共活动,这些活动是狂欢节的亮点。最重要和最喜庆的活动是根据威尼斯狂欢节之夜的节奏在宫殿中组织的蒙面舞会和私人派对。

威尼斯狂欢节拥有丰富的历史、传统和迷人的建议,是让自己沉浸在充满魅力的城市的巴洛克氛围中的难得机会。威尼斯充满了庆祝活动,将游客拖入情绪的万花筒。古老的威尼斯宫殿,建筑瑰宝,举办豪华的蒙面派对,唤起人们穿越的气氛,这是狂欢节庆祝活动的黄金时代,威尼斯人自豪地穿着特殊形状的服装就证明了这一点。

威尼斯狂欢节是一种具有深厚文化底蕴的传统,具有意义和美感。每年这个时候,全世界也都聚集在一起,凝视它的壮丽。每年,威尼斯狂欢节都会将这座城市变成一场盛大的盛会,色彩缤纷,音乐表演,烟花汇演和迷人的威尼斯舞会。如果您想体验威尼斯的异国情调,狂欢节就是您的最佳选择。

“体验”威尼斯狂欢节,顾名思义,就是细细品味节日的每一刻。威尼斯提供丰富的表演、表演和与其卓越产品相关的活动。国内和国际的文学、音乐和戏剧传统提供了一些启发艺术和风景选择的建议。

致力于戏剧和音乐的节目丰富多样。蒙面艺术在威尼斯是其最伟大的表现之一。因此,2010 年狂欢节不仅在剧院内,而且在户外、圣马可广场的舞台、空地和街道上重新发现了戏剧、歌剧和喜剧。一场精彩的表演,将现实世界和艺术幻觉结合在一起,增强了威尼斯文明的所有艺术和手工艺文化传统。

在“胖”周,活动、派对、游行的爆炸式增长:最后一个星期天在圣马可广场,狂欢节最美丽的面具比赛的决赛,圣钟楼的鹰飞翔马可;在威尼斯的Arsenale,派对一直持续到深夜。忏悔星期二的压轴演出,威尼斯狂欢节在 Svolo del Leon 庆祝圣马可的荣耀,圣马可的雄伟旗帜,红色田野上的带翼狮子,使威尼斯共和国在地中海和世界上不朽。

嘉年华迷人的一面是宫廷派对:灰泥、黄金、天鹅绒和蜡烛,体验是压倒性的和身临其境的:在食物和香水之间,仙女和崇拜者、皇后和朝臣、伟大的领袖、总督、红衣主教、喜剧演员和舞者欢迎在几分钟内忘记他们所属时代的客人。

游客可以参观 Ca’ Vendramin Calergi Palace 的奇迹画廊,那里有精美的艺术、喜剧表演和美味佳肴,再加上狂野的服装和舞蹈直至深夜。宫殿随后举办了许多类似的活动,所以没有人需要错过。在整个威尼斯狂欢节期间,游客还可以参加圣马可广场的蒙面服装比赛。在总决赛之前,参赛者将根据他们服装的真实性进行评分。

主要活动
狂欢节期间的威尼斯引人入胜,历史悠久,表演和餐饮融为一体,当然还有华丽的服装,包括威尼斯闻名遐迩的奢华面具。如果您从未在威尼斯有过浪漫的邂逅,或许您有机会了解为什么无数世代热血沸腾的情人都曾感叹威尼斯的浪漫是最好的浪漫。由于每年都对威尼斯节日充满期待,它总是吸引着来自意大利和世界各地的大量游客。

在嘉年华期间,街道上挤满了身着豪华喜庆服装的庆祝者;在狂欢节期间体验威尼斯就像时光倒流,没有现代建筑来破坏这种错觉。人们可以在街上闲逛,穿上戏服和街头表演,或者在习惯接待皇室成员的宫殿或酒店之一参加晚会、歌剧或音乐会。

受欢迎和令人兴奋的还有庆祝狂欢节第二个周末的 Corteo delle Marie 和 Flight of the Angel,例如来自世界各地的服装团体参加的最美丽面具竞赛、鹰的飞行、嘉年华玛丽的加冕礼和在忏悔星期二结束派对的表演,在色彩、掌声、五彩纸屑以及女孩主角的优雅和美丽中度过。

嘉年华迷人的一面是宫廷派对:灰泥、黄金、天鹅绒和蜡烛,体验是压倒性的和身临其境的:在食物和香水之间,仙女和崇拜者、皇后和朝臣、伟大的领袖、总督、红衣主教、喜剧演员和舞者欢迎在几分钟内忘记他们所属时代的客人。

整个晚上,您可能会经历走上烛光宫殿的楼梯,期待着卡萨诺瓦的进步;在波光粼粼的大运河上享用鸡尾酒,尽情享受感官享受;同时只向精心挑选的密友透露您的真实身份。在所有这些奢侈之后,也许你的夜晚以神秘、浪漫、月光幽会结束,让你着迷和喘不过气来,准备好迎接第二天的整个体验。

以下是 2010 版的活动安排:

天使的飞行 2010
最受关注和期待的传统活动是 2010 年的一位杰出天使:比安卡·布兰多里尼·达达 (Bianca Brandolini D’Adda)。欧洲历史重演联盟 CERS 的历史游行,威尼斯狂欢节之友和威尼斯狂欢节国际协会的参与。

驴的飞行 2010
情人节那天驴在梅斯特的飞行。天使飞行的有趣模仿将女演员 Monica Zuccon 视为主角,她从市政塔下降到费雷托广场。

玛丽的盛宴 2010
玛丽和 12 名威尼斯女孩的游行伴随着历史游行。该活动由莫里斯王子主持,Chiarastella Serravalle 参加。布鲁诺·托西导演。由欧洲历史重演联盟 CERS 组织,威尼斯狂欢节之友和威尼斯狂欢节国际协会参加。

2010 年威尼斯水上节
丰富多彩的水游行和 sestiere 的风味使里约迪卡纳雷吉奥 (Rio di Cannaregio) 的传统威尼斯节日充满生机。这个节日因音乐、舞蹈和该地区餐馆老板提供的著名威尼斯特色菜而备受喜爱。

2010年嘉年华最美面具
2010年嘉年华最美丽面具的决赛。获奖者由艺术家 Fabrizio Plessi 和嘉年华艺术总监 Marco Balich 等行业专家组成的评审团选出,并由 Angela Missoni 担任主席。由莫里斯王子领导,Chiarastella Serravalle 参与。

文化节目
在剧院、博物馆和城市研究所举办的文化活动。 2010 年威尼斯狂欢节的文化回顾通过打开宫殿、图书馆和档案馆、博物馆和音乐厅的大门,使混合、即兴项目适合比狂欢节气氛更辉煌和喜庆的环境,从而使这座城市登上舞台。一个基本上免费或非常受欢迎的节目,每天都有数十场活动,勾勒出一个充满艺术活力和活力的城市。

通过连接城市的文化现实,从市政博物馆到国家博物馆中心,在整个活动期间组织的时间表,包括在宝贵的活动日历中的独立私人基金会(音乐会、会议、展览、戏剧和电影评论)以狂欢节为主题,证明威尼斯艺术和手工艺文化的作品;以艺术为重点的肖像行程也在神圣的地方;戏剧和喜剧表演;儿童童话故事和剧院,以及手工艺艺术工作坊。

历史
威尼斯狂欢节是一年一度在意大利威尼斯举行的节日。它是世界上最著名和最受欢迎的狂欢节之一。这个节日以其精心制作的面具而闻名于世。它的起源非常古老:第一个证据可以追溯到 1094 年 Doge Vitale Falier 的一份文件,其中讨论了公共娱乐,并且首次提到了嘉年华这个词。

威尼斯寡头组织的狂欢节制度通常归因于 Serenissima 的需要,就像古罗马已经发生的事情一样(参见 panem et circenses),授予人口,尤其是最卑微的社会阶层,一个完全致力于娱乐的时期和庆祝活动,在此期间,威尼斯人和外国人蜂拥而至整个城市,在狂野的音乐和舞蹈中狂欢。

通过面具和服装保证的匿名性,实现了一种所有社会分化的拉平,甚至当局和贵族的公开嘲笑也得到了授权。这些让步得到了广泛的容忍,并被认为是解决威尼斯共和国内部不可避免地出现的紧张和不满的天赐之道,威尼斯共和国在共同道德和公共秩序等问题上对其公民进行了严格限制。

现代嘉年华
仅在 1979 年,威尼斯狂欢节的百年传统才正式从灰烬中复活,这要归功于一些公民协会的倡议和承诺以及威尼斯市政府、凤凰剧院的后勤和经济贡献。威尼斯双年展和旅游局。

在几个版本中,也得益于为活动和城市保留的媒体知名度,威尼斯狂欢节重新追寻古老活动的足迹,并取得了巨大成功,尽管方式和氛围不同。

这个新嘉年华的各个年度版本经常被区分并致力于一个基本主题,这激发了他们举办派对和周围文化活动的灵感。一些版本的特点还在于与其他意大利和欧洲城市的结合和结对,从而使该活动在国际层面上得到进一步参与。

目前的威尼斯狂欢节已经成为一个伟大而壮观的旅游盛会,吸引了来自世界各地的成千上万的游客涌入这座城市,参加这个因其历史、氛围和面具而被认为独一无二的节日。

威尼斯狂欢节传统上最重要的日子是星期四忏悔和星期二忏悔,即使最大的涌入肯定是在活动的周末期间记录的。

假期
随着最近的嘉年华第一届,新的重大活动的活动计划和详细的日历同步建立。官方庆祝活动的开始日期被确定为与忏悔星期四之前的星期六和忏悔星期二结束,总共只有 11 天。与过去很长一段时间官方为期六周的狂欢节不同,现代狂欢节有一个集中的节目,但充满了个人事件。

与过去一样,威尼斯狂欢节仍然是一个深受各个年龄段观众欢迎的盛大节日。街头派对和各种各样的活动使成群的面具和游客的日子充满活力,他们快乐地分散在城市周围。除了在 Campi 和 Campielli 之间的广场举行官方派对外,今天仍然像过去一样在威尼斯的大宫殿中组织各种私人派对和假面舞会。在这些地方,随着时间的推移,丰富的家具和氛围几乎没有改变,可以重温过去的狂欢节的古老辉煌和传统。

玛利亚的盛宴
直到 1999 年,古老的 Festa delle Marie 终于得以修复,其氛围将古代游行的历史再现与更现代的服装选美女孩相结合。大约六百年后,布鲁诺·托西 (Bruno Tosi) 正式复兴了它

在狂欢节前的几周,当地的年轻美女会在庆祝活动中选出注定要游行的十二位玛丽亚作为游行的主角。派对通常在狂欢节的第一个星期六的下午举行,届时十二个圣母玛利亚伴随着由伴娘、挥旗手、音乐家和数百名身着古装的其他人物组成的长队,开始了从 San Pietro di Castello 教堂开始缓慢步行,前往圣马可广场,在一群面具和游客之间。

第二天,在圣马可广场,伴娘们再次游行,等待官方宣布该版本的获胜者,即十二位最美丽的人(所谓的年度玛丽),并颁发丰厚的奖品。

天使的飞行
在现代嘉年华中,它决定以类似于古代嘉年华的原始形式(天使飞行周年纪念日)在其变体 Volo della Colombina 中重新呈现给公众。在过去,这个节目在忏悔星期四庆祝,而在现代版本中,它通常在庆祝活动的第一个星期天中午举行,作为正式宣布狂欢节开始的开幕活动之一。直到 2000 年版,在欢呼的人群之上,目光转向圣马可钟楼,一只鸽子形状的机械鸟像过去一样,在绳索上向总督宫下降。大约进行到一半的时候,下半部的活板门被打开了,

自 2001 年以来,即千禧年的第一个版本,天使飞行的旧公式再次得到通过,用真正的艺术家取代了哥伦比亚,并结束了在圣马可广场的下降。2001 年的飞行委托给了 Compagnia dei Folli,后者为此次活动借出了自己的艺术家。对于每一版,嘉年华天使都被固定在金属缆绳上,从钟楼的钟楼上唯一一次下降,慢慢滑向地面,悬浮在虚空中,在填充下方空间的人群上方。

Tags:

Review of Venice Carnival 2010, Italy

The Venice Carnival 2010 last from February 6 to 16. The Venice carnival is the most anticipated event of the year in Venice: ten days of masquerade, shows, music, games and colors. The city goes crazy and fills with a cheering crowd. In the living room of Piazza San Marco and in the thousands of other fields you can freely attend theatrical performances and costume parades, concerts and historical re-enactments, entertainment for children and nights of wild dancing, gastronomic tastings and other sensory experiences.

The 2010 edition of the Venice Carnival revolve around the theme of “6 senses x 6 sestieri”, the leitmotif of events and shows are the 5 traditional senses combined each with the 5 sestieri (districts into which Venice is divided): smell in Santa Croce, taste in Cannaregio, sight in San Polo, touch in Castello, hearing in Dorsoduro, to which adds the mind in the San Marco district.

Building on the success of the previous editions, we enrich our knowledge of the world through 5 senses: sight, touch, hearing, taste, smell. The world is mostly in our 6th sense, in our mind. The format for the Venice Carnival already bears in the title the promise of a novelty and a change: Sensation, 6 senses x 6 sestieri.

The senses are declined through the presence of props, performances by theater groups and artists, concerts and installations of lighting design. San Polo is the district intended for sight, Santa Croce for smell, Dorsoduro for hearing, Castello for touch, Cannaregio for taste. Saint Markit becomes the sensory, imaginative and thinking center of the city, welcoming the mind, a true crossroads of all senses and in all senses. San Marco therefore represents the beating center of everything, mental place and sensorial fulcrum, and hosts the main stage on which musical groups, theatrical and artistic performances alternate, great events for the new 2010 Venice Carnival.

The show take place in Piazza San Marco where a fantastic garden inspired by the most famous fairy tales was created. A path of greenery and mirrors, with topiary sculptures and a large portal, where the majestic Lion of the last edition stand out, revisited this year with decorations inspired by Arcimboldo’s paintings. A place where the public can walk and, above all, can parade as a protagonist, showing their disguise.

The Venice Carnival 2010 attracts a large number of tourists from all over Italy and the world for the occasion. The Venice Carnival includes a series of open-air public events that punctuate the Carnival. The most important and festive events are masked balls and private parties organised in palaces to the rhythm of the nights of the Venice Carnival.

The Carnival of Venice, rich in history, traditions and enchanting suggestions, is a rare opportunity to immerse yourself in the baroque atmosphere of a city full of charm. Venice is full of celebrations that drag the visitor into a kaleidoscope of emotions. The ancient Venetian palaces, architectural jewels, host luxurious masked parties that evoke the transgressive atmospheres, a golden age for carnival celebrations as evidenced by the particular shapes of the costumes worn with pride by the Venetians.

Venice Carnival is one traditions with strong foundation in culture with the significance and beauty. The whole world also gathers every year around this time gaze on its grandeur. Every year, the Venice Carnival turns the city into a spectacular riot of pageantry, colour, musical performances, fireworks displays and glamorous Venetian balls. If you want to experience the exotic atmosphere of Venice at its best, carnival is the time to go.

“Experiencing” the Carnival in Venice mean to savour every moment of the festival by definition. Venice offer a rich calendar of performances, shows and evens linked to its products of excellence. Literary, musical and theatrical tradition, both national and international, offers several suggestions that inspire the artistic and scenic choices.

The program dedicated to theater and music is rich and varied. The art of masking had one of its greatest expressions in Venice. The 2010 Carnival therefore rediscovers theater, opera and comedy not only inside the theaters but also outdoors, on the stage of Piazza San Marco, in the fields, in the streets. A great show in which the world of reality and artistic illusion come together, enhancing all the traditions of the culture of art and crafts of the Venetian civilization.

In the “fat” week, an explosion of events, parties, parades: in Piazza San Marco, the last Sunday, with the final of the competition for the most beautiful mask of the Carnival, the Flight of the Eagle from the Campanile of San Marco; at the Arsenale in Venice the party lasts until late at night. Grand finale on Shrove Tuesday, when the Venice Carnival celebrate the glories of San Marco in the Svolo del Leon, the majestic banner of San Marco, the winged lion on a red field that made the Serenissima Republic immortal in the Mediterranean and in the world.

The glamorous side of Carnival is that of the palace parties: stuccos, golds, velvets and candles, the experience is overwhelming and immersive: between food and perfumes couples of fairies and admirer, queens and courtiers, great leaders, doges, cardinals, comedians and dancers welcome guests who in a few minutes forget the era to which they belong.

Visitors could attend the Gallery of Wonders at the Ca’ Vendramin Calergi Palace, where fine art, comedic performances and delicious food combine with wild costumes and dancing long into the night. The palace then hosts a number of similar events, so nobody need to miss out. Throughout the Carnival of Venice, visitors can also attend masked costume contests in the Piazza San Marco. Contestants are graded on the authenticity of their outfits before the Grand Finale.

Highlight events
Venice during the Carnival is spellbinding, with a historically rich mixture of performance and dining, and, of course, the magnificent costumes, including the extravagant masks for which Venice is so famous. If you have never had a romantic encounter in Venice, perhaps you have an opportunity to learn why countless generations of impassioned lovers have exclaimed that romance in Venice is the best romance there is. As every year there is great expectation for the Venetian festival, which always attracts a large number of tourists from all over Italy and the world for the occasion.

In the Carnival, the streets are filled with celebrants dressed in luxurious, festive garb; experiencing Venice during the Carnival is like stepping back in time, with no modern buildings to spoil the illusion. One can wander the streets, taking in the costumes and street performances, or attend an evening party, an opera or concert, in one of the palaces or hotels accustomed to hosting royalty.

Popular and exciting are also the Corteo delle Marie and the Flight of the Angel which celebrate the second weekend of Carnival, such as the Competition for the most beautiful mask in which costumed groups from all over the world participate, the Flight of the Eagle, the coronation of the Carnival Mary and the shows that close the party on Shrove Tuesday, in a riot of colors, applause, confetti and the grace and beauty of the girls protagonists.

The glamorous side of Carnival is that of the palace parties: stuccos, golds, velvets and candles, the experience is overwhelming and immersive: between food and perfumes couples of fairies and admirer, queens and courtiers, great leaders, doges, cardinals, comedians and dancers welcome guests who in a few minutes forget the era to which they belong.

All of an evening you might experience walking up the stairs of a candlelit palace, expecting Casanova to make his advances; enjoying cocktails over the glimmering Grand Canal, abandoning your senses to pleasure; all while revealing your true identity only to carefully chosen intimates. After all this extravagance perhaps your night is completed by a mysterious, romantic, moonlight tryst, leaving you entranced and breathless, ready to meet the whole experience again the following day.

The following was the program of the 2010 edition:

The Flight of the Angel 2010
The most followed and awaited traditional event sees in 2010 an exceptional Angel: Bianca Brandolini D’Adda. Historical parade of the CERS, European Consortium of Historical Reenactments, with the participation of the Friends of the Venice Carnival and the International Association for the Venice Carnival.

The Flight of the Donkey 2010
The flight of the Donkey in Mestre on Valentine’s Day. The amusing parody of the flight of the Angel sees as the protagonist the actress Monica Zuccon who descends from the civic tower to Piazza Ferretto.

Feast of the Marie 2010
The parade of the Marys with the 12 Venetian girls who parade accompanied by the historical parade. The event is presented by Prince Maurice, with the participation of Chiarastella Serravalle. Directed by Bruno Tosi. Organized by the CERS, European Consortium of Historical Reenactments, with the participation of the Friends of the Venice Carnival and the International Association for the Venice Carnival.

Venetian Festival 2010
The colorful water procession and the flavors of the sestiere give life in Rio di Cannaregio to the followed and traditional Venetian Festival. This festival is loved for music, dances and the famous Venetian specialties offered by the restaurateurs of the district.

The Most Beautiful Mask of the 2010 Carnival
Final competition for the most beautiful mask of the 2010 Carnival. The winners are chosen by a jury of industry experts such as the artist Fabrizio Plessi and the Artistic Director of the Carnival Marco Balich and chaired by Angela Missoni. Led by Prince Maurice, with the participation of Chiarastella Serravalle.

Cultural Program
Cultural events that take place in theaters, museums and city institutes. The cultural review of the Venice Carnival 2010 puts the city on stage by opening the doors of palaces, libraries and archives, museums and music halls to hybrid, impromptu projects, suitable for the more brilliant and festive context than the atmosphere of the Carnival induces. A largely free or very popular programming with dozens of daily events that outline an artistically vital and exuberant city.

A schedule that is organized for the entire period of the event by connecting the cultural realities of the city, from the Civic Museums to the State Museum Center, including the independent private foundations in a precious calendar of events (concerts, conferences, exhibitions, theatrical and film reviews) on the theme of the Carnival, works that testify to the culture of art and crafts in Venice; iconographic itineraries focused on the arts also in places of the sacred; theatrical and comedy performances; fairy tales for children and theaters, as well as workshops of the art of craftsmanship.

History
The Carnival of Venice is an annual festival held in Venice, Italy. It is one of the best known and most popular carnivals in the world. The festival is world-famous for its elaborate masks. Its origins are very ancient: the first evidence dates back to a document of the Doge Vitale Falier of 1094, where there is talk of public entertainment and in which the word Carnival is mentioned for the first time.

The institution of the Carnival by the Venetian oligarchies is generally attributed to the need of the Serenissima, like what already happened in ancient Rome (see panem et circenses), to grant the population, especially the humblest social classes, a period dedicated entirely for fun and celebrations, during which Venetians and foreigners flocked throughout the city to party with wild music and dancing.

Through the anonymity that masks and costumes guaranteed, a sort of leveling of all social divisions was achieved and even the public derision of the authorities and the aristocracy was authorized. These concessions were widely tolerated and considered a providential outlet to the tensions and discontent that inevitably arose within the Republic of Venice, which placed strict limits on its citizens on issues such as common morality and public order.

The Modern Carnival
Only in 1979, the centuries-old tradition of the Venice Carnival officially rose from its ashes, thanks to the initiative and commitment of some citizens’ associations and the logistical and economic contribution of the Municipality of Venice, of the Teatro la Fenice., of the Venice Biennale and tourist boards.

Within a few editions, thanks also to the media visibility reserved for the event and the city, the Venice Carnival has returned to tracing the footsteps of the ancient event with great success, albeit in different ways and atmospheres.

The individual annual editions of this new Carnival have often been distinguished and dedicated to a basic theme, which inspires them for parties and surrounding cultural events. Some editions were also characterized by combinations and twinning with other Italian and European cities, thus providing further involvement of the event at an international level.

The current Carnival of Venice has become a great and spectacular tourist event, which attracts thousands of visitors from all over the world who flock to the city to participate in this festival considered unique for its history, atmosphere and masks.

The traditionally most important days of the Venetian Carnival are Shrove Thursday and Shrove Tuesday, even if the greatest influxes are certainly recorded during the weekends of the event.

The holidays
With the first edition of the recent Carnival, a program of events and a detailed calendar for the new major event are simultaneously established. The date for the start of the official celebrations is established to coincide with the Saturday before Shrove Thursday and the end with Shrove Tuesday, for a total duration of only eleven days. Unlike the Carnival of the past, which for a long time had an official duration of six weeks, the modern one takes place with a concentrated program, but full of individual events.

As in the past, the Carnival of Venice still represents a great popular festival for a large audience of all ages. Street parties and events of all kinds animate the days of the groups of masks and tourists, who happily scatter around the city. In addition to the official parties in the square between campi and campielli, still today as in the past various private parties and masked balls are organized in the great Venetian palaces. In these places, rich in furnishings and atmospheres almost unchanged over time, it is possible to relive the ancient splendors and the tradition of the Carnival of the past.

The Feast of the Marys
Only in 1999 the ancient Festa delle Marie was finally restored, with an atmosphere that combines the historical re-enactment of the ancient procession with the girls with a more modern beauty pageant in costume. It was officially revived about six hundred years later, by Bruno Tosi

In the weeks preceding the Carnival, a sort of selection is held among the young local beauties to choose the twelve Marys destined to parade as protagonists of the procession, during the celebration. The party generally takes place on the afternoon of the first Saturday of the Carnival, when the twelve Marys, accompanied by a long procession made up of a procession of bridesmaids, flag-wavers, musicians and hundreds of other figures in period costume, begins its slow walk starting from the church of San Pietro di Castello and heading towards Piazza San Marco, between the wings of a crowd of masks and tourists.

In Piazza San Marco, the next day, the bridesmaids parade again awaiting the official proclamation of the winner of the edition, the most beautiful of the twelve (the so-called Mary of the year), to whom a substantial prize is awarded.

The Flight of the Angel
In the modern Carnival it was decided to re-present to the public, in a guise similar to the original one of the ancient Carnival, the anniversary of the Flight of the Angel, in its variant of Volo della Colombina. While in the past this show was celebrated on Shrove Thursday, in modern editions it is generally held at noon on the first Sunday of celebration, as one of the opening events that officially decree the beginning of the Carnival itself. Until the 2000 edition, above a cheering crowd, with its gaze turned to the Campanile of San Marco, a mechanical bird with the shape of a dove carried out, as in the past, its descent on the rope towards the Doge’s Palace. Approximately halfway through, a trap door was opened in its lower part,

Since the 2001 edition, the first of the millennium, the old formula of the Flight of the Angel has been passed again, replacing the Colombina with a real artist and ending the descent in Piazza San Marco. The 2001 flight was entrusted to the Compagnia dei Folli, which lent its own artist for the event. For each edition, the Angel of the Carnival, secured to a metal cable, makes his only descent from the belfry of the bell tower, slowly sliding towards the ground, suspended in the void, above the multitude that fills the space below.

Tags: