قلعة Rivau ، الأم ، فرنسا

قلعة Rivau هو حصن فخم يعود تاريخ تأسيسه إلى القرن الثالث عشر. تقع مدينة ريفاو في مدينة تورين في مدينة ليميري في مقاطعة إندر-إي-لوار الفرنسية ، وهي واحدة من قلاع لوار ، وهي عبارة عن موضوع التصنيفات التاريخية منذ عام 1918 (القلعة) وأغسطس 1999 (شائعة) فضلا عن نقش في فبراير 1988 (شركة).

يجمع Rivau بين عناصر العمارة من القرون الوسطى وعمارة عصر النهضة والفن المعاصر.

التاريخ
في xiii e ، Rivau هو منزل قوي.

تم تعزيز قلعة تورين هذه في القرن الخامس عشر وأضفت طابعًا إنسانيًا على عصر النهضة. إنه حصن منيعة ومكان ممتع للعيش فيه.

تقع قلعة Rivau في قلب النزاعات الأنغلو-فرنسية ، وتتمتع بموقع استراتيجي. إنه يهيمن على وادي فيين و فيود ، وبالتالي يجعل من الممكن الإشراف على محاور التواصل الكبيرة.

في القرن السادس عشر ، تم تدمير المبنى المغطى رباعي القلعة. في نفس الوقت ، تم تكبير النوافذ القوطية للواجهة الغربية للقلعة وتزينها بالمنحوتات. اكتسبت الساحة الاسطبلات المرموقة.
في القرن السابع عشر تم إعادة تشييد المباني جنوب الفناء الأمامي وتغطيتها بالبلاطات المجوفة لأسطح المنحدرات المنخفضة ولم تسمح بتركيب ألواح الأردواز ، الأمر الذي يتطلب منحدرًا حادًا. تستخدم التقاليد المحلية تسقيف الأردواز للمباني النبيلة والبلاط للمباني المنفعة.

في القرن الثامن عشر ، لم يكن هناك تحديث للإطار ، لكن حدائق روفاو على الأسطح محاطة بجدران. يبدو أن جسرا ، اختفى الآن ، قد ألقي في ذلك الوقت على الخندق الغربي. تم ملء الخندق. تم غرس الأراضي الهامة جدا في Rivau بأشجار sainfoin و a-gen ، و 45 هكتار من الكروم. هذه الأراضي الغنية كانت مرغوبة وأصبحت القلعة “تقرير القلعة” ، لم تعد تخضع لأية تغييرات. احتفظ بجميع خصائص بنائه.

في القرن التاسع عشر ، تم تدمير كنيسة شمال “الحديقة السرية” (1880). استبدلت النوافذ “الخشبية الصغيرة” النوافذ الممزقة ، مما أدى إلى تدمير الانسجام في القرون الوسطى. أصبحت القلعة مكانًا لتخزين القمح ونسيت روعة الأمس.

مرور جوان دارك
تشتهر Rivau باسطبلاتها من القرن الخامس عشر ، بينما لا تزال في الخشب.

في القرن الخامس عشر ، كانت مملكة فرنسا في صراع تام مع الإنجليز خلال حرب المائة عام. واحدة من الشخصيات اللامع من هذا واحد هو جوان دارك. بعد التعرف على الدلفين في شينون في عام 1427 ، تقاطعت فرنسا للانضمام إلى المقاعد المختلفة.

مع معرفة سمعتها عن خيولها ، سيتوقف جان دارك في Rivau وسوف يأتي لمحاربة الخيول في 1429 قبل الانضمام إلى مقر اورليانز.

تأثير عائلة Beauvau
تحالفت أسرة بيفو مع ملوك فرنسا منذ زواج إيزابو دي بوفو مع كونت فاندوم جان دو بوربون ، أمير الدم.

من عام 1438 ، تم منح Rivau مهرًا إلى Pierre de Beauvau ، أول حراس من الدلفين Charles VII. حصل على إذن من الملك تشارلز السابع لتعزيز القلعة ، وذلك بفضل أعماله في الأسلحة. وهكذا أصبح بيت قلعة Rivau المحصن في القرن الخامس عشر. بدأت أعمال إعادة الإعمار في عام 1443 ، وهو نفس العام الذي تم فيه تشييد فندق جاك كور في بورجيه. أثيرت القلعة الجديدة في شكل رباعي في طائرة واحدة. في موقع “مهد الخضرة” الحالي كانت الكنيسة المستقلة (لا نزال نرى شكل القبو على جدار القلعة). أغلق مبنى الآن البائد الرباعي.

في عام 1510 ، بدأ فرانسوا دي بوفو ، سيد ريفو وكابتن فرانسوا إي إيه ، في بناء إسطبلات ضخمة من شأنها توفير فحلها للملك. توفي في معركة Romagna جنبا إلى جنب مع Bayard في عام 1524.

قرر خليفته ، غابرييل دي بوفو ، حوالي عام 1550 ، إقامة مبنى مبتكر للغاية ، متأثراً بالمباني التي اكتشفها اللوردات العظماء من خلال مرافقة الملك للريف الإيطالي.

من عام 1631 ، تم إعفاء ريفاو من قبل الكاردينال ريشيليو الذي أراد تفكيك كل القلاع بالقرب من بلدة ريتشيليو الحالية لاستعادة الحجارة التي كانت ستستخدم لبناء مدينته (على بعد 10 كم فقط من ريفاو). تزوجت شقيقته فرانسواز دوبليس من جين دي بوفو ، سيد المكان ، نجا ريفاو من عملية التفكيك التي تعرضت لها قلاع الحي.

نسله جاك دي بوفو ، رتب المخيمات وجيوش الملك لويس الرابع عشر غادر قلعة Rivau للذهاب إلى محكمة ملك الشمس. في 1664 ، حصل على انتصاب أرض بيفاو في المركيز. بعد أن أفسد أسلوب حياته في البلاط الملكي ، اقترض 80 ألف جنيه من داموند ماري ، أرملة تشارلز كرواسيت ، وماركيز إتياو ، المستشار الأول للملك. لا يمكن أن يسدد مطالبته ، تنازل جاك دي بوفو عن أرض ريفو في عام 1697. ومع ذلك ، جعل القلعة غير صالحة للسكن بإزالة جميع الأبواب والنوافذ التي أخفاها في كاهن ليميريه.

ابن عمه ، رينيه ، كان مستشارا للملك. بعد بيع القلعة ، غادر Beauvau Touraine ، شارك في خدمة ملك بولندا ، دوق لورين وأصبح أمراء لورين.

على مدى قرنين ، نجح أصحاب مختلفون في بعضهم البعض: فنانين ، وماركيز ، وما إلى ذلك. من القرن التاسع عشر ، ظل ريفاو غير مأهول بالسكان وغرق في النسيان.

في عام 1911 ، تم بيع المشاعات إلى مالك الأرض. نصب الجدار بين القلعة والمشاعات. في عام 1918 ، حصل المالك الجديد ، النحات Moncel de Perrin على تصنيفه إلى المعالم التاريخية.

أصبح الرسام والفنان الملصق بيير لورنت برينو مالك القلعة في فبراير 1961 ويعيش فيه حتى إعادة بيعه إلى المالكين الحاليين ، إريك وباتريشيا لاينيو ، في ديسمبر 1992. ويبدأان على الفور أعمال الترميم اللازمة لترميم القلعة. والمباني الملحقة والحدائق. في عام 2000 ، كان الموقع مفتوحًا للجمهور.

استعادة
عندما تم الحصول على القلعة في عام 1992 ، فإنها تهدد الخراب. تمنى السيد و ام لي لاينيو استعادة الموقع.

الترميم في عدد قليل من الشخصيات:

أكثر من 5000 م 2 من الأسطح المستبدلة
73 م 3 من خشب البلوط ضروري لاستعادة لياقته من إطار القلعة الوحيدة
148 نوافذ جديدة redone متطابقة
في عام 1996 ، الجائزة الكبرى لجمعية التراث الفرنسي تكافئ العمل الذي أنجزه ، يليه سباق الجائزة الكبرى دي لا ديميوري في عام 2001.

هندسة معمارية

قلعة
تم دمج Chateau du Rivau في المناظر الطبيعية لقلعة وادي لوار ، وهو عبارة عن حصن من القرون الوسطى يرجع تاريخ تأسيسه إلى القرن الثالث عشر. كان حينها بيت قوي. من هذا الوقت لا يزال الرباعي التي شكلتها الجدران الأربعة وأبراج الزاوية.

قلعة Rivau هي بناء من 1450s. بعد حرب المائة عام ، أعيد بناء سلسلة أولى من القلاع. تنتمي Rivau إلى هذا الجيل الأول من المباني. لقد أنشأت Beauvau نوعًا جديدًا من المنازل الفخمة التي تتوقع أكثر من عقد من الزمان من خلال خطتها الشاملة وتوزيعها الداخلي ، وهو أكثر المباني حداثة في ذلك الوقت.

قلعة Rivau هي قلعة من القرون الوسطى وقلعة عصر النهضة.

قلعة خارج مع الاحتفاظ بها ، والخندق ، والجسر المتحرك (في العملية) وممرها ، القلعة هي أيضا قلعة المتعة. عند الدخول – تصدرت قمة عائلة Beauvau وشعارها “Beauvau بدون مغادرة” – يصعد الزائر الدرج اللولبي حيث يتم فك الكثير من كتابات الجرافيتي من القرن الخامس عشر.

في غرف واسعة من Rivau يخرج جو دافئ. كل شيء يشارك في هذا الانطباع: المداخن القوطية الضخمة مع الجدران المطلية باللون الأبيض كما نرى في توسكانا ، نسيج بروكسل الفخم إلى الوسائد أمام النوافذ المليئة بالوسائد حيث يتم دعوة الزوار للجلوس للتأمل في الحدائق.

قاعة البيت الكبير
هذه الغرفة الكبيرة للأسلحة والحفلات استُخدِمَت أيضًا من قِبل سيد Beauvau للتحكيم من ناحية النزاعات بين الفلاحين ومن ناحية أخرى بينه وبين اللورد. على رأس سادة واسعة امتدت على أكثر من 1200 هكتار من الأراضي الصالحة للزراعة ، والكروم ، والبساتين والغابات ، فإن سيد بوفو ، سيد الأرض في الواقع من الأرض والعدل العام ، وهذا يعني القول السلطة على الأرض وعلى الرجال. يسكن قاعة البيت الكبير بمجموعة تذكارات تذكارية ، ذكريات عائلية. في ظل النظام القديم ، كان الملك والأباطرة الكبار فقط يتمتعون بالصيد لأنهم كانوا مؤهلين لحمل السلاح. كان على النبلاء أن يحصلوا على إذن من الملك ليصطادوا على أراضيهم.

ورشة عمل لورد بوفاو
هذه الغرفة الجنسانية المقببة المسماة Plantagenet نموذجية من العمارة القوطية Angevin ، تعيد خلق جو مكتب اللورد. غنى ثراء الأقمشة بتواضع الأثاث لأن هذا كان يجب أن يكون فوق كل شيء قابل للنقل. تقدم الشركة مجموعة من الأثاث وصناديق القرنين الخامس عشر والسادس عشر والثامن عشر التي تشكل الجزء الأكبر من المفروشات المنزلية.

قاعة العيد
تتميز هذه الغرفة بعصر النهضة ، لأنها تحافظ على آثار اللوحات الجدارية في ذلك الوقت. في القرن السادس عشر ، كانت جميع جدران القلعة مغطاة بالجص ، كما يقول رئيس الدير Bosseboeuf ، المؤرخ التوريني في القرن التاسع عشر الذي يروي ، في حديقة فرنسا (1902):

“تظهر لنا غرفة الطعام في زخرفتها السابقة. الجدران مزينة بزخارف غريبة جدا من التريسيات من الكروم مع جنيهات جالسة أو مستلقية تحت القرون ، الذي يستلهم إلهامه زخارف أكواخ رافائيل الشهيرة”.

في بداية القرن التاسع عشر ، كانت أزياء الحجر المكشوف في الديكور واضحة للأسف في جميع جداريات Rivau. بقيت اللوحة الجصية الموجودة على سقف قاعة المأدبات بلثار ، مخفية بهذا التبييض الذي تم قطعه بشكل منهجي بمشرط من خلال ورش عمل متخصصة وتم تكريمه أثناء ترميم القلعة. الزخارف من كروم العنب التي تتداخل تتراجع الأربعة فصول السنة. على رف الموقد ، يمكن للمرء أن يكتشف لوحة لسيده الفلمنكي الذي يعيد إقامة وليمة التلتار في الكتاب المقدس.

صالة السيدات
هذه الغرفة هي تحية للسيدات والبطلات من Rivau وأماكن أخرى. هناك وسائد تسمح للنساء بالجلوس بالقرب من النوافذ للتطريز والنسيج والغناء ولعب القيثارة وما إلى ذلك. الكلمة هي بلاط الأرضيات التيراكوتا. يمكن للطاقة الضوئية من الغرب إلى الشرق أن تكشف عن الجدران المغرة باللون القرنفلي ، المطلية بغسول ماء كما هو معتاد في القرن الخامس عشر.

غرفة Jeanne d’Arc
هذه هي الغرفة الوحيدة التي تم إعادة تشكيلها في القرن التاسع عشر. ويحيي تمثيلات مختلفة من جان دارك في القرن التاسع عشر. مع صعود التيارات السياسية المختلفة ، كانت جوان دارك تحتكرها في بعض الأحيان. لذا فإن رؤية جان دارك في القرن التاسع عشر عندما أثارت جنون وطني.

وحتى اليوم ، فهي على حد سواء كأس وطني ورمز للمثابرة والعناد.

اسطبلات اسطبلات
“إن اسطبلات Rivau هي أجمل مثال على تطور المعالجة المعمارية لمباني الفروسية.” (في اسطبلات القلاع الفرنسية “، باسكال لييفو (التي نشرتها Editions du Patrimoine، 2005). خصوصية Rivau كانت لأول مرة في تاريخ عمارة الفروسية ، تم تصميم الاسطبلات من قبل مهندس معماري قام بتطوير أسلوب مبتكر أن تقام في مقابل.

الإسطبلات ، التي تم تشكيلها في L ، مستوحاة من عمارة عصر النهضة الثانية. تقع اسطبلات Rivau في L ، وتقع في الطابق الأرضي حوالي ثلاثين حصانًا ، على الأغلب الأفاعي من جهة والحصان من جهة أخرى. الأرضية ، التي يخدمها درج بني في سماكة الجدران ، خدمت كمخزن وسكن العرسان.

كانت الخيول التي تصطف على طول الجدار الموازي موصولة بحلقات دون فصل. مغذيات منحوتة من الحجر الجيري تقف ضد الجدران.

مثقوب مع العديد من الفتحات ، فرضه بدقة ، فهي متصلة عن طريق شرائط حجرية. كل خليج يعلوه أجراس تعامل في بوس. الرئيس هو الإسقاط المتبقي على واجهة الحجر المقصود ليكون بمثابة زخرفة. كان البرج على الجذع الذي يحيط بالدرج هيكلًا صعبًا جدًا لا يمكن تصميمه إلا من قبل أكثر الصحابة خبرة. كانت جدران الركام مغطاة بالجبس ومخطوطة بمهارة من قبل العصابات الحجرية.

النوافذ الزجاجية في الطابق الأرضي وفي الجانب الشمالي منعت المسودات وسمحت بتهوية الإسطبلات. تشتعل الحشوات العميقة للخلجان المطلة على الفناء ، مما يجعل من السهل تشتيت الضوء.

تم تصميم الخزانات ذات الأوعية الواحدة ذات القاع المستدير ، والموجودة في حجر قطع الحجر ، من خلال ثلاثة أشرطة طولية تم نحت مركزها بخراطيش ذات شكل جلدي. يرتدي البعض شارة ملكية ، وبعضها الآخر لم يكتمل.

ترتفع الأجزاء السفلية في جهاز كبير من الحجر الجيري لدعم الهيكل ، في حين أن الأجزاء العلوية في جهاز صغير لتسهيل تنفيذ المهد وتفتيحه. هذا الاختلاف في العلاج يعزز تأثير حرق في بداية القبو.

لا توجد وثيقة لمعرفة اسم مهندس الاسطبلات ، ومع ذلك ، فإن العديد من أوجه التشابه مع عمل Philibert Delorme قد توحي بأن المهندس المعماري كان مصمم الاسطبلات

الشائع

الخامل والتجديد
تم فصل القلعة عن قومه المشترك في القرن التاسع عشر. في وقت إصدار الحكم في عام 1911 ، كان Rivau يتألف من 63 هكتار ، في حين كان 1200 هكتار خلال فترة المجد. على مر السنين ، وقد تسبب الضرر. من بينها ، تم بناء جدار خرساني بين القلعة والمباني التابعة لها ، وتم ثقب الجدار لاستيعاب الحواجز التي لا يمكن المرور بها عبر البوابة ، حيث تم دفن طريق الحجارة الثابتة ، والذي يسمى أيضًا كاليديل ، تحت 80 سم من الأرض.

بفضل أعمال ترميم الملاك الحاليين ، تجد المشاعات معناها الكامل.

العشره الحظيرة والصحافة
من بين المباني التي تذوب المشاعات ، كانت الحظيرة العشر والصحافة أماكن مهمة في القرون الوسطى لمجتمع القرية الذي عاش على أرض الرب. على اليمين ، تدخل الحظيرة في ريفو ، والحظبة العاشرة والصحافة هما شهود حياة العمل في المجال ، والسمعة الهامة جدا مع فترات العصور الوسطى وعصر النهضة ، ثم مجزأة ثم سقطت تدريجيا في إيسكات ، حتى إعادة توحيد الأخيرة المشترك في القلعة وترميم الجامع.

رويال ستابل
جاء جان دارك إلى Le Rivau لجلب الخيول في 1429. في ذلك الوقت ، تم تربية الخيول الحربية بالفعل في le Rivau ، حيث تقف المشاعات الحالية.

خلال فترة عصر النهضة ، قرر فرانسوا دي بوفو ، كبير ملاك الملك ، بناء اسطبلات (بالتأكيد من الخشب) حيث كانت موجودة في وقت حرب المائة عام. توفي خلال معركة Romagne ، إلى جانب Bayard في عام 1524. قام وريثه ، غابرييل دي Beauvau بجسرة إقامة الاسطبلات الأصلية ، التي كانت مستوحاة مباشرة من خطط الهندسة المعمارية الإيطالية ، واكتشف الفرسان أثناء القتال من أجل الملك.

حتى ذلك الحين كانت اسطبلات ريفو تهدف إلى أن تكون وظيفية وليس لها أي نوع من الزخارف. واحدة من خصوصيات le Rivau الرئيسية تأتي من حقيقة أنه للمرة الأولى في تاريخ عمارة الفروسية ، تم تصميم الاسطبلات من قبل المهندس المعماري الذي طور أسلوبا رائدا.

حدائق
حدائق القصص الخيالية
منذ عام 1992 ، نفذ الملاك الجدد حملة تجديد رئيسية لمنع الخراب من القلعة ، الحظائر والإسطبلات واستعادتها إلى مجدها السابق. اليوم ريفوا يصنف النصب التاريخي يجذب الزوار لتاريخها ولكن خاصة لتلك الحدائق إلى حكايات الجنيات.

وبالفعل ، فإن حدائق شاتو دو ريفا الـ14 (التي تحمل اسم “حديقة رائعة”) تستحضر عالما رائعا ورائعا لإمتاع الزوار. كما أن حدائق شاتو دو ريفو سوف تفرح علماء النبات مع مجموعة من أكثر من 400 وردة أنشأها مربيون مثل ديفيد أوستن وأندريه إيف ونباتاته النادرة ، في أجواء معاصرة للغاية بفضل المنحوتات والمعارض للفنانين الذين يعيشون.

الحدائق الـ14 مستوحاة من القصص والقصص الأسطورية:

لافندر Parterres
حديقة الخضار Gargantua
حديقة بيتيت بوسيت
كاسينينا
حب الخشب
زقاق الروائح
حديقة فلاتر الحب
حديقة الأميرة رابونزيل
الحديقة السرية
متاهة أليس
الغابة المسحورة
بستان الجنة
الكمأة
زقاق الجنية

حديقة غارغانتوا
حديقة المطبخ التي تقع في قلب الفناء هي من إعداد باتريشيا لاينيو. كان يُنظر إليه على أنه وليمة خيالية مستوحاة من المعلم الفرنسي فرانسوا ، وهو من سكان المنطقة ، وكان في غارغانتوا قد قدم لفياتو إلى أحد القباطنة.

نصف القمر من حديقة الخضروات غارغانتوا يقدم الخضار مع التنمية العملاقة المزروعة على plessis من الكستناء. تم استخدام هذه التقنية لمكافحة الخراب الذي تسببه الحياة البرية في العصور الوسطى. يسلط القرع الذي يطلق عليه Gargantua و Etampes و Touraine الضوء على Galeux Eysines المبتلعة و Potimarrons المصقولة والعظام الضامة من Aladin. حديقة الخضروات في Rivau هي حديقة شتوية نباتية في مركز المنطقة وتقدم مجموعة من أكثر من 43 نوعًا من أنواع القرع.

هناك العديد من أنواع الكرنب الملفوف: الملفوف St Saens ، الملفوف Tuscan ، الملفوف الأحمر ، اللفت ، إلخ. Artichokes أحضر من إيطاليا بواسطة Rabelais ، على ما يقال ، يرمز إلى الشمعدانات.

الكرينولين من الكروم تظن Potager دي غارغانتوا. يسكن كل قرينولين من قبل مجموعة قديمة من الكروم من المنطقة ، انقرضت الآن منذ هجوم Phylloxera. يتم تحميل هذه الكرمات في حصص كما وصفها O. de Serres في أبطاله Messager aux في عصر النهضة.

متحف مفتوح للفن المعاصر
أراد Rivau جعل حدائقه متحفًا مفتوحًا للفن المعاصر. وهكذا ، جاء العديد من الفنانين إلى القلعة لإنشاء أعمال دائمة. أعمال فابيان فيرسير 6 ، كات لوراي ، جيروم باسيرود 8 فرانس كراجبرغ أو فيليب راميت موجود في حدائق ريفاو.

استعادة النبات
في نهاية القرن العشرين ، أعادت عملية الترميم التي استمرت عشر سنوات البناء إلى تحصينات القرون الوسطى مع الخندق المجفف والجسر المتحرك والماكولات والثورات.

يمكن الوصول إلى داخل القلعة من الفناء عبر سلم حلزوني. فوق المدخل يمكنك رؤية شعار عائلة Beauvau: Beauvau sans départir. تحتوي العوارض الرئيسية للمبنى على أبعاد 80 × 60 سم وبالتالي تكون أكبر في المقطع العرضي عن كل أقفال Loire الأخرى. كانت الأشجار المطلوبة 300 سنة عندما تم قطعها.

تقع القاعة الكبيرة مع طرزات Touraine. تم توسيع النوافذ للواجهة الغربية بالفعل في عصر النهضة. يمكن الحصول على ديكور فاين الأصلي من الموقد.

الأحداث والمعارض
منذ افتتاحها للجمهور في عام 2000 ، تم إجراء العديد من المعارض في غرف مختلفة في Château du Rivau.

2009: كميل كلاوديل
2013: إذا قيل لي فن الزينة.

كل عام ، يتم تنظيم الحفلات:
Rendez-vous إلى الحدائق
حفل اليقطين
العاب الفروسية
الليالي
بيع النبيذ الخيري

Tags:

Château du Rivau, Lémeré, France

The castle of Rivau is a fortress stately whose first foundations date back to the xiii th century. Located in Touraine in the town of Lémeré in the French department of Indre-et-Loire, the Rivau is one of the castles of the Loire and is the subject of classifications as historical monuments sinceJuly 1918 (castle) and August 1999 (common) as well as an inscription in February 1988(firm).

The Rivau combines elements of medieval architecture, Renaissance architecture, and contemporary art.

History
In xiii e, the Rivau is a strong house.

This castle of Touraine was fortified in the xv th century and humanized the Renaissance. It is both an impregnable fortress and a pleasant place to live.

Located in the heart of the Anglo-French conflicts, the castle of Rivau has a strategic position. It dominates the valley of the Vienne and the Veude, and thus makes it possible to supervise the great axes of communication.

At the xvi th century, the building that enclosed the quadrangle of the castle was destroyed. At the same time, the Gothic windows of the west facade of the castle were enlarged and adorned with sculptures. The forecourt acquired the prestigious stables.
In the xvii th century buildings south of the forecourt were reconstructed and covered with hollow tiles for the low slope roofs did not allow the installation of slate, which requires a steep slope. Local tradition used slate roofing for noble buildings and tile for utility buildings.

In the xviii th century, there was no modernization of the frame but the roof gardens of Rivau were surrounded by walls. A bridge, now disappeared, seems to have been thrown at that time on the west moat. The moat was filled. The very important lands of Rivau were planted with sainfoin and walnut trees, and 45 hectares of vines. These rich lands were coveted and the castle became “castle report”, no longer undergoing any changes. He kept all the characteristics of its construction.

In the xix th century, the chapel north of the “Secret Garden” was destroyed (1880). “Small wood” windows replaced the mullioned windows, destroying the medieval harmony. The castle became a place of storage of wheat and forgot its splendor of yesteryear.

The passage of Joan of Arc
The Rivau is renowned for its stables from the xv th century, while they are still in wood.

In the xv th century, the kingdom of France is in full conflict with the English during the Hundred Years War. One of the illustrious characters of this one is Joan of Arc. After recognizing the dolphin in Chinon in 1427, she crisscrossed France to join different seats.

Knowing its reputation for its steeds, Joan of Arc will stop at the Rivau and will come for fighting horses in 1429 before joining the headquarters of Orleans.

The influence of the Beauvau family
The Beauvau family is allied with the kings of France since the marriage of Isabeau de Beauvau with the Count of Vendome Jean de Bourbon, prince of blood.

From 1438, the Rivau is given in dowry to Pierre de Beauvau, first chamberlain of the dolphin Charles VII. He obtained the authorization of King Charles VII to strengthen the castle, thanks to his feats of arms. The fortified house Rivau castle thus became the xv th century. The reconstruction work began in 1443, the same year as the construction of the Jacques Coeur hotel in Bourges. The new castle in the shape of a quadrilateral was raised in a single jet. On the site of the current “Cradle of Greenery” was the independent chapel (we still see the shape of the vault on the wall of the castle). A now-defunct building closed the quadrilateral.

In 1510 François de Beauvau, lord of Rivau and captain of François I er, began to build monumental stables that will provide its stallions to the King. He died at the Battle of Romagna alongside Bayard in 1524.

His successor, Gabriel de Beauvau, decided, around 1550, to erect a very innovative building, influenced by the buildings that the great lords had discovered by accompanying the King to the Italian countryside.

From 1631, the Rivau was spared by Cardinal Richelieu who wanted to dismantle all the castles near the current town of Richelieu to recover the stones that would be used to build his city (just 10 km from Rivau). His sister Françoise Duplessis being married to Jean de Beauvau, lord of the place, the Rivau escaped the dismantling suffered by the castles of the neighborhood.

His descendant Jacques de Beauvau, marshal of the camps and armies of King Louis XIV left the castle of Rivau to go to the court of the Sun King. In 1664, he obtained the erection of the land of Beauvau in marquisate. Ruined by his lifestyle at the royal court, he borrowed 80,000 pounds Damond Mary, widow of Charles Croisset, Marquis Etiau, 1 st counselor to the king. Can not repay his claim, Jacques de Beauvau ceded the land of Rivau in 1697. However, he made the castle uninhabitable by removing all the doors and windows that he hid in the priest of Lémeré.

His cousin, Rene, was an adviser to the King. After the sale of the castle, the Beauvau left Touraine, engaged in the service of the King of Poland, Duke of Lorraine and became princes of Lorraine.

For two centuries, different owners succeeded each other: artists, marquis, etc. From the xix th century, the Rivau remained uninhabited and sank into oblivion.

In 1911, the commons were sold to the landowner. A wall was erected between the castle and the commons. In 1918, the new owner, the sculptor Moncel de Perrin obtained his classification to the Historical Monuments.

The painter and poster artist Pierre-Laurent Brenot becomes the owner of the castle in February 1961 and lives it until his resale to the current owners, Éric and Patricia Laigneau, in December 1992. They begin immediately the restoration works necessary for the restoration the castle, its outbuildings and gardens. In 2000, the site is open to the public.

Restoration
When the castle was acquired in 1992, it threatened ruin. Mr. and M me Laigneau wished to restore the site.

The restoration in a few figures:

more than 5,000 m 2 of replaced roof surfaces
73 m 3 of oak necessary for the fitness of the frame of the only castle
148 new windows redone identically
In 1996, the French Heritage Society Grand Prize rewards the work done, followed by the Grand Prix de la Demeure Historique in 2001.

Architecture

Castle
Integrated into the landscape of Castles of the Loire Valley, the Chateau du Rivau is a medieval fortress whose first foundations date back to the xiii th century. It was then a strong house. From this time remains the quadrilateral formed by the four walls and corner towers.

The castle Rivau is a construction of the 1450s. After the Hundred Years War, a first series of castles were rebuilt. The Rivau belongs to this first generation of buildings. The Beauvau have created a new type of stately home that anticipates more than a decade by its overall plan and its internal distribution, the most modern buildings of the time.

The Rivau Castle is both a medieval fortress and a Renaissance castle.

Fortress outside with its keep, its moat, its drawbridge (in operation) and its walkway, the castle is also a pleasure castle. Upon entry – topped the crest Beauvau family and their motto ‘Beauvau without departing’ – the visitor climbs the spiral staircase where many graffiti of the xv th century are to decipher.

In the vast rooms of the Rivau emerges a warm atmosphere. Everything takes part in this impression: monumental Gothic chimneys with whitewashed walls as we can see in Tuscany, the sumptuous Brussels tapestry to the cushions in front of the mullioned windows with cushions where visitors are invited to sit down to contemplate the gardens.

The hall of the big house
This great arms and banquet room was also used by the lord of Beauvau to arbitrate on the one hand the conflicts between peasants and on the other hand between them and the lord. At the head of a vast seigniory which extended on more than 1200 ha of arable land, vines, orchards and forests, the lord of Beauvau, master of the ground has in fact of the land and public justice, that is to say to say power over the earth and over men. The hall of the big house is populated by trophies collection, family memories. Under the Old Regime only the King and the great lords had the privilege of hunting because they were entitled to bear arms. The nobles had to obtain the authorization of the King to hunt on their own seigniory.

The workroom of the Lord of Beauvau
This vaulted sexpartite room called Plantagenet typical of Gothic architecture Angevin, recreates the atmosphere of the office of the lord. The richness of the fabrics palliated the modesty of the furniture because this one had to be above all transportable. The firm presents a collection of furniture and boxes of xv th, xvi th and xviii th centuries that constituted the bulk of the manorial home furnishings.

The feast hall
This room is marked by the Renaissance, because it keeps the traces of the frescoes of that time. At the xvi th century, all the castle walls were frescoed, says the abbot Bosseboeuf, Touraine historian of the xix th century that tells, in the garden of France (1902):

“The dining room appears to us in its former adornment. The walls are adorned with a very curious decoration of trellises of vines with genies sitting or lying under the antlers, whose inspiration is reminiscent of the ornaments of Raphael’s famous lodges. ”

At the beginning of xx th century, the fashion of exposed stone in the decor was unfortunately clear all the murals Rivau. Only the fresco on the ceiling of Balthazar’s banquet room survived, concealed by this whitewash, which was methodically cut with a scalpel by specialized workshops and was honored during the restoration of the castle. The motifs of vineyards that intertwine decline the 4 seasons of the year. On the mantelpiece, one can discover the painting of a Flemish master who retraces the Biblical episode Balthazar’s feast.

The Ladies Lounge
This room is a tribute to the ladies and heroines of Rivau and elsewhere. There are cushions that allow women to sit near windows to embroider, weave, sing, play the harp and so on. The floor is terracotta floor tiles. The light power from west to east, can reveal the pink ocher walls, painted with limewash as was customary at the xv th century.

Jeanne d’Arc room
This is the only room remodeled in the xix th. It pays tribute to different representations of Joan of Arc at the xix th century. With the rise of different political currents, Joan of Arc was sometimes monopolized by them. So the vision of Joan of Arc at the xix th century when it sparked a national craze.

Even today, it is both a national trophy and a symbol of perseverance and obstinacy.

Stables stables
“The stables of Rivau are the most beautiful example of the evolution of the architectural treatment of equestrian buildings.” (In The stables of French castles “, Pascal Liévaux (published by Editions du Patrimoine, 2005). The specificity of the Rivau was that for the first time in the history of equestrian architecture, stables were designed by an architect who developed an innovative style. be erected vis-à-vis.

The stables, formed in L, are inspired by the architecture of the Second Renaissance. The stables of Rivau, arranged in L, housed on the ground floor about thirty horses, probably the mares on one side and stallions on the other. The floor, served by a staircase built in the thickness of the walls, served as storage and housed the grooms.

The horses lined up along the facing wall were attached to rings without stall separation. Feeders carved out of limestone stand against the walls.

Pierced with numerous openings, rigorously superimposed, they are connected by stone strips. Each bay is surmounted by bells treated in boss. The boss is the projection left on the facing of a cut stone intended to serve as an ornament. The turret on the trunk that encloses the staircase was a very difficult structure that could only be designed by the most experienced companions. The tufa rubble walls were covered with plaster and skilfully punctuated by the stone bands.

Glazed windows on the ground floor and on the north side prevented drafts and allowed the stables to be ventilated. The deep embrasures of the bays overlooking the courtyard flare inward, thus making it easier to diffuse the light.

The single-vessel, flat-bottom coffered vaults, set in freestone cut stone, are structured by three longitudinal strips whose center is carved with leather-shaped cartridges. Some wear royal insignia, others have not been completed.

The lower parts rise in large limestone apparatus to support the structure, while the upper parts are in small apparatus to facilitate the implementation of the cradle and lighten it. This difference in treatment reinforces the flaring effect at the beginning of the vault.

There is no document to know the name of the architect of the stables, however, several similarities with the work of Philibert Delorme might suggest that the architect was the designer of the stables

The Commons

Dormant and Renewal
The castle was separated from his common to the xx th century. At the time of its adjudication in 1911, the Rivau consisted of 63 ha, whereas it had 1200 ha during its period of glory. Over the years, damage had been caused. Among them, a concrete wall was built between the castle and its outbuildings, the wall was pierced to accommodate the combine too important to pass through the gate, the path of standing stones, also called calade, had been buried under 80 cm of earth.

Thanks to the restoration works of the current owners, the commons find their full meaning.

The tithe barn and the press
Among the buildings that melt the commons, the tithe barn and the press were important places in the Middle Ages for the village community that lived on the land of the lord. On the right entering the enclosure of Rivau, the tithe barn and the press are the witnesses of the life of labor of the domain, very important seigniory with the medieval and Renaissance periods, then fragmented and gradually fallen into escheat, until the recent reunification of the common at the castle and the restoration of the whole.

Royal Stable
Joan of Arc came to Le Rivau to fetch horses in 1429. At that time, war horses were already bred at le Rivau, where the current commons stand.

During the Renaissance period, François de Beauvau, the King’s chief squire, decided to build stables (most certainly in wood) where they had existed at the time of the Hundred-Years War. He died during the battle of Romagne, to the side of Bayard in 1524. His heir, Gabriel de Beauvau daringly undertook the erection of original stables, whose plans were directly inspired from the Italian architectures, knights had discovered while fighting for the King.

Until then the Rivau’s stables were only meant to be functional and had no ornaments whatsoever. One of le Rivau’s main idiosyncrasies comes from the fact that for the first time in the history of equestrian architecture, stables were designed by an architect who developed a pioneer style.

Gardens
Fairytale Gardens
Since 1992, the new owners have implemented a major renovation campaign to prevent the ruin of the castle, barns and stables and restore it to its former glory. Today Rivau classified historic monument attracts visitors for its history but especially for those gardens to tales of fairies.

Indeed, the 14 gardens of Château du Rivau (labeled ” Remarkable Garden “) evoke a wonderful and fantastic world for the delight of visitors. The gardens of the Château du Rivau will also delight botanists with the collection of more than 400 roses created by breeders like David Austin and André Eve and its rare plants, in a very contemporary atmosphere thanks to the sculptures and exhibitions of artists living.

The 14 gardens are inspired by legendary tales and stories:

The Lavender Parterres
The Gargantua vegetable garden
Garden of Petit Poucet
The Cassinina
Loving wood
The alley of scents
Garden of Philters of Love
Garden of Princess Rapunzel
Secret garden
The labyrinth of Alice
The enchanted forest
The Paradise Orchard
The truffle
Fairy alley

The garden of Gargantua
The kitchen garden which is at the heart of the courtyard is a creation by Patricia Laigneau. It was thought of as a fanciful feast inspired by Master François, native of the region and who in Gargantua had offered Le Rivau to one of the captains.

The half-moon of Gargantua vegetable garden presents vegetables with gargantuan development planted on a plessis of raised chestnut. This technique was used to combat the ravages caused by wildlife in the Middle Ages. The pumpkins called Gargantua, Etampes and Touraine, highlight the pustulous Galeux Eysines, polished Potimarrons and debonair Turbans of Aladin. The vegetable garden of Rivau is the vegetable conservatory of the region Center and presents a collection of more than 43 varieties of squash.

There are many varieties of cabbages: Cabbage St Saens, Tuscan cabbage, red cabbage, kale, etc. Artichokes brought back from Italy by Rabelais, it is said, symbolize candlesticks.

The crinolines of vines shade the Potager de Gargantua. Each crinoline is inhabited by an old variety of vines from the region, now extinct since the Phylloxera attack. These vines are carried in stakes as described by O. de Serres in his Messager aux champs in the Renaissance.

Open museum of contemporary art
The Rivau wanted to make its gardens the setting of an open-air museum of contemporary art. Thus, several artists came to the castle to create permanent works. Works by Fabien Verschaere 6, Cat Loray, Jerome Basserode 8 Frans Krajcberg or Philippe Ramette present in the gardens of Rivau.

Restoration of the plant
At the end of the twentieth century, a 10-year restoration restored the building to a medieval fortification with drained moat, drawbridge, machicolations and loopholes.

The interior of the castle can be accessed from the courtyard via a spiral staircase. Above the entrance you can see the motto of the Beauvau family: Beauvau sans départir. The main beams of the building have the dimensions 80 × 60 cm and are thus larger in cross-section than in all other Loire locks. The required trees were 300 years old when they were felled.

The large hall is laid out with Touraine flints. The windows of the west facade were enlarged already in the Renaissance. The original vine leaf decor of the fireplace could be obtained.

Events and exhibitions
Since it opened to the public in 2000, several exhibitions have taken place in the different rooms of the Château du Rivau.

2009: Camille Claudel
2013: If the Art of adornment was told to me.

Every year, parties are organized:
Rendez-vous to the gardens
The pumpkin party
Equestrian games
The nocturnes
Sale of charity wine

Tags: