地下工程旅游

地下工程是许多旅行者感兴趣的旅行目的地。

了解
自史前史以来,人类一直在挖洞和地下建筑。

除了扩大天然洞穴之外,人类还在地下建造或扩建了无数的作品,从史前的早期住宅到支持现代生活方式或处理废弃物的现代管道和隧道。

为战争建造了许多地下建筑物,无论是在敌人阵地下的隧道还是地下堡垒,以及从地下储藏室到为“后天”建造的硬化掩体的任何东西 – 幸好从未到过。

然而,其他地下工程的建造是为了帮助贸易和人员流动,无论是公路,河流还是铁路,当地面通道拥挤或不切实际时,地下工作对历史工程师来说是有意义的。新的地下结构至今仍在建造中,有时它们再次穿过同一座山,但在较低的水平,形成所谓的“基础隧道”。

还有地下的愚蠢行为,以及那些既有钱又有怪癖的人建造的地下石窟。

进入
最容易进入的地下工程是明确设计为公共空间或专门安装旅游设施以帮助游客进入的地下工程。

许多城市拥有广阔的地下公共空间,如日本的地下购物中心或休斯顿的隧道系统。在其他城市,火车站部分或全部在地下。例如,莱比锡最近在其多层购物中心/总站火车站下面开辟了新的地下通道。

城市轨道
许多大型城市都有交通系统,车站和轨道位于地面以下,其公共区域可以以标准票价的价格进入。一些特别值得注意的系统是伦敦,莫斯科和斯德哥尔摩世界上最长的艺术画廊,但其他系统也是运输爱好者感兴趣的。

虽然一些城市轨道交通系统偶尔会在幕后进行有限的爱好者之旅,但是工作铁路的健康和安全考虑,许多地区目前的“安全”环境,加上狭窄的运营环境,意味着这些很少见,通常在运营期之外进行。专业爱好者的出版物可能会宣传这些类型的旅行,但由于数量有限,提前预订是必不可少的。

军事场地
然而,并非所有地下工程都必须对旅行者开放(即使是在有组织的旅行中),应特别注意军事设施(即使看似被遗弃或不使用)通常仍然是高度敏感的地点。意外或未经宣布的访问最多可能导致冗长的审讯,结果会更糟糕,最终取决于您遇到的人员的情绪。一旦您有明确的旅行计划,您应该立即与相关军事当局进行正式联系。如果出于操作和安全原因必须取消或缩减计划或协议的访问,请不要失望。或者如果您在没有任何理由的情况下被拒绝访问。

参见
采矿或采石所产生的无数地下工程见矿业旅游。

另见Nuclear_bunkers的冷战掩体。

澳大利亚

南澳大利亚
库伯佩迪。南澳大利亚内陆的一个蛋白石采矿小镇,几乎完全是地下的,因为这是确保人类在恶劣气候中居住的唯一途径。

西澳大利亚
弗里曼特尔监狱隧道。位于弗里曼特尔监狱下的西澳大利亚隧道系统

波斯尼亚和黑塞哥维那
萨拉热窝战争隧道博物馆,萨拉热窝。一座房子改建成坐在隧道入口处的博物馆,将城市与机场连接起来,从而为萨拉热窝围困期间的城市居民提供了唯一的生命线,在南斯拉夫战争的背景下持续了三年。 20世纪90年代

加拿大
Diefenbunker – 加拿大冷战博物馆,安大略省鲤鱼,免费电话:+ 1-800-409-1965。每日上午11点至下午4点自助游,仅限预约导游。为了保护政府免受核攻击,这个曾经秘密的掩体现在是加拿大的博物馆和国家历史遗址。详情请查看渥太华和核旅游文章14美元成人,13美元老年人,10美元学生,8美元8-18岁青少年,40美元家庭(2名成人加3名青年),5岁及以下儿童免费。
Fort Peninsula(FortPéninsule),Forillon国家公园,Gaspé,魁北克(距离La Penouille以东1.2公里[0.7英里],途经132号公路)。魁北克省唯一保存完好的第二次世界大战时期的海岸线电池,堡垒半岛是三个固定防御之一,包括HMCS Fort Ramsay,一个由加拿大军队于1942年建立的海军基地,用于防御纳粹U-Boat攻击,以确保安全通过该地区的商船,在希特勒成功征服英国的情况下,作为英国皇家海军的避难所。这里的19艘战舰在发动圣劳伦斯战役中发挥了关键作用,其中有23艘盟军号船在加拿大东海岸的德国潜艇上沉没。今天,游客可以穿过防御工事的地下走廊,观察老式枪式迫击炮和其他炮兵仍指向向海,并沿途阅读描述性小组,解释第二次世界大战期间加斯佩半岛的战略军事重要性。外面,有一个愉快的海滨野餐区。

法国
巴黎博物馆(93号对面,阿尔马桥附近的奥赛湖,地铁:Alma-Marceau),☏+33 1 53 68 27 81.如果想要了解巴黎的地下水道,请查看地下水道系统。多年来看到在下水道中发现的剑,并了解如何让巴黎保持运转。全程票价:4.30欧元,学生:3.50欧元。
巴黎矿业经常被错误地称为地下墓穴。

德国
在第二次世界大战期间,不断的盟军轰炸摧毁了几个重要的军事工厂,迫使纳粹深入挖掘并将其军事基础设施隐藏在地下。纳粹建筑师和军备部长阿尔伯特·斯佩尔是这些努力背后的主导力量,他们经常残忍地滥用和彻底谋杀用于这些项目的强迫劳动者。虽然战争期间有许多这些建筑物被故意摧毁,但仍有一些建筑物存活至今,可以参观。

Dora Mittelbau集中营,靠近Nordhausen。V2 / Aggregat4火箭的建造地点在伦敦和其他城市开火,徒劳地努力扭转失去的战争潮流。强迫劳动者的条件是可怕的,建造火箭的人比使用火箭还要多。
Berliner Unterwelten。“柏林地下世界”由柏林历史悠久的建筑组成。同名的Verein提供大量的各种旅游。

意大利
阿尔卑斯山阵线的第一次世界大战使奥地利 – 匈牙利与意大利交锋,并涉及许多地雷和隧道,其中一些在一个世纪之后仍然可见。
Napoli Sotterrano(那不勒斯地下),Piazza San Gaetano(通过San Paolo Maggiore的Tribunali)。市中心下的洞穴是由2000年前第一批希腊殖民者开采的。

埼玉县春日部的日本都会区外地下排水通道是2009年完成的一个巨大的地下防洪系统。它的建造是为了防止因困扰关东平原这一部分的常年洪水造成的破坏。可以预订地下旅游。

韩国
第3隧道(제3땅굴)。在朝鲜之间的非军事化边境地区,朝鲜挖掘了一些隧道,目的是秘密地将部队移到南边界。韩国已经发现了四条这样的隧道,而第三条隧道(或者更确切地说是韩国一侧的一部分)已经变成了一个旅游景点,经常参观DMZ。与DMZ中的许多地方一样,隧道本身不允许摄影,但它太暗而且很窄,无论如何都无法获得任何好照片。

挪威
Fjell festning(Fjell堡垒),卑尔根的索特拉岛。第二个世界大战堡垒主要在山区隧道。山顶上安装了巨大的火炮。现在博物馆。
Andersgrotta避难所,希尔克内斯,芬马克。在第二次世界大战期间,一个临时的防空洞使希尔克内斯人民成为可能。经过大约300次空袭后,小镇希尔克内斯是战争期间被轰炸最多的城镇。
Gausta索道缆车(Gaustabanen),Rjukan。小型火车/缆车通过1000米水平隧道和标志性的Gausta峰顶内倾斜的1000米隧道。在20世纪50年代为军事和电信目的而建,现在对游客开放。
布雷姆斯堡,罗弗敦。在第二次世界大战期间由德国军队建造的堡垒堡垒。炮兵已被移除。可以带导游。

土耳其
大教堂蓄水池(YerebatanSarnıcı),Yerebatan Cad。13,Sultanahmet,伊斯坦布尔。君士坦丁堡的许多地下蓄水池之一,在罗马时期,拜占庭时期和奥斯曼时期(也许是最容易访问的时期)使用。里面是一个令人毛骨悚然的“森林”柱子,站在脚踝深处的水面上。
卡帕多西亚。早期的基督徒在卡帕多西亚地区的软火山土壤中挖掘了许多地下城市 – 包括卧室,食物储藏室,厨房,酿酒厂,甚至是商人的旅馆 – 以逃避袭击和迫害。

英国
Chislehurst Caves,Old Hill,Chislehurst,☏+44 20 8467-3264,✉enquiries@chislehurstcaves.co.uk。W-Su上午10点至下午4点,学校假期七天。一个严重被忽视的景点,洞穴实际上并不是洞穴,而是一条长达20英里的通道网络,由Chislehurst深处的白垩雕刻而成。在第二次世界大战期间,洞穴被用作大规模的防空洞,现在是当地的旅游景点。旅行经常持续一个小时,你会学习迷人的历史,还能听到幽灵和恐怖的故事。它也可以作为场地租用。5英镑,优惠3英镑,5岁以下免费。
内阁战争室和丘吉尔博物馆,克莱夫台阶,查尔斯街国王,伦敦/威斯敏斯特(管:威斯敏斯特)。每日09:30-18:00(最后入场17:00),12月24日至26日关闭。帝国战争博物馆的一个分支,内阁战争室保留了丘吉尔和内阁指挥战争的地下走廊和房间希特勒和纳粹分子几乎完全保留了他们在1945年留下的情况。附属的丘吉尔博物馆于2004年开放,是世界上第一个致力于温斯顿丘吉尔爵士生平和战时成就的永久性博物馆,最近被选为最伟大的英国人。10英镑,16岁以下儿童免费,8岁高年级学生,8英镑学生,5英镑未付,团体优惠。
Kelvedon Hatch秘密地堡,☏+44 1277 364883.周末上午10点至下午4点,周末和银行假日上午10点至下午5点。一个保存良好且保持良好的冷战转子站示例,以及最深的冷战碉堡之一在英国。£7.00。
泰晤士河隧道。虽然由于它被用作伦敦地上铁路网络的一部分而无法直接访问,但布鲁内尔博物馆位于泰晤士河畔Rotherhithe一侧的前发动机房内。最初的入口竖井(可能是第一次注意到的’cassion’,最近经过修改后被改造成了一个“场地空间”,并计划(截至2001年)最终在其中设置一个永久展览。
Williamson’s Tunnels,The Old Stable Yard,Smithdown Lane,L7 3EE,☏+44 151 709-6868,✉enquiries@ williamsontunnels.co.uk。图苏遗产中心。19世纪初,利物浦烟草商约瑟夫·威廉姆森(Joseph Williamson)资助在利物浦边缘山地区建造一个巨大的隧道迷宫。没有人知道他这样做的原因,尽管许多人认为这是一种慈善行为,利用他的财富为成千上万的利物浦工人提供就业和培训。还有一个威廉姆森隧道遗产中心。

Dover Castle
对于不太知名的地下工程,可以考虑加入Subterrana Brittanica这样的专业组织,专门研究这些网站。

越南
古芝隧道,铜池。主要用于军事目的(虽然当镇居民逃离地面爆炸时也有平民生活),这些隧道始于20世纪40年代法国占领期间,后来在越南期间由越共扩建战争。在城镇下方有250公里通道的幽闭恐怖症系统,一些以前的卧室,医院和军事总部都可以参观。
Vinh Moc隧道,非军事区。在越南战争期间,一个村庄的整个人口都在这条隧道中避难两年。

照片
如果您被允许拍摄简单的照片,请拍摄它们。但是,您应该知道在弱光下拍照需要“快速”传感器和/或快速镜头。使用广角镜头可以轻松拍摄许多照片。如果您想使用闪光灯,请寻求适当的本地建议。

保持安全
与明显适合旅游或打算作为无障碍公共场所的地下工程相关的风险很小,如果您对自己的能力或健康状况(包括心理态度)有任何疑问,强烈建议坚持这些。组织正式旅行的网站也将制定既定规则和程序,应遵守这些规则和程序。

为了在访问不太方便的地下工程时保持安全,尽可能多地了解您希望提前访问的特定地点,这样您就可以做出相应的计划。

地下工程,进入,包括入口,涉及紧张爬行; 封闭的空间; 垂直下降; 急剧攀升; 任何扩展或大量的水,或者一般来说,任何设备的故障都将成为一个关键问题,被认为超出了非专业人员的可访问范围。有关参观这些洞穴或工程的安全建议,需要从熟悉特定场地的专用洞穴和地下勘探组织获得专家建议。

对于其他合理无障碍的地下工程,注意前一段,不适合旅游者或旅行者(如果有的话),你应该寻求和听取当地的建议,即使有关的工作似乎很容易粗略地看一眼表面或入口。提前联系现有(或前任)运营商的网站,也可以让潜在的访客知道任何已知的风险。

这个地方有一些关于洞穴安全的详细建议,也适用于地下工程,但有一些常识如下:

在您进入之前了解您想要访问的作品和出口,如果有多个入口或出口,请知道哪些可以安全使用。实际上,只有经过数周或数月的研究才能计划所有负责任的地下探索。

永远不要单独进入地下工程,因为不仅没有人会让你出局,而且没有人会知道你在哪里!

最好按照专业人员的例子进行访问,并至少访问四人。除了提供适当联系的住宿计划外,几乎在所有情况下,表面守望者都是必不可少的,如果事情变坏或表面下的团体未能在指定时间内返回,其责任就是与当局联系。

您的“智能”手机在地下很少或根本没有服务。

地下工程自然是黑暗的,没有人造光(在你必须自己提供的废弃或废弃的作品中),你将难以驾驭它们。不要依赖单个光源,这可能会失败。强烈建议使用备用光源。

先查看天气!许多地下工程都可以淹没。在潮湿的环境中,水位可能会意外地发生变化,限制或切断通道甚至出口。在其他情况下,洪水或雨水的清除是相关工作的主要功能,系统中的水位可在几分钟内自动改变。被水位上升抓住并不值得。

在没有提前寻求适当建议的情况下,请勿在任何情况下进入任何地下区域或大量水域。(深度不仅具有欺骗性,而且水可能不像其外观所暗示的那样纯净)。对于适度的泥浆,应该同样谨慎; 淤泥; 和落下的碎片。

虽然无数废弃的军事设施似乎已被遗弃,但其中许多仍然是名义上受到严格限制的地点,未经授权进入这些设施至少会导致各自的军事当局长时间审讯。出于安全和保障原因,许多民用设施也被其各自的现任或前任运营商视为敏感设施。如有任何疑问,请提前与相关机构,场地所有者或运营商确认您的预定计划。

废弃的设施不能很好地维护,固定的接入设备很可能在放弃时被移除,或者随后在使用之后腐烂。

除了灰尘,当地的野生动物可能不会受到不适当的干扰。

尊重
尊重您正在访问的地下环境。理想情况下,您应该尽可能地尝试离开地下环境。不应留下垃圾和人类垃圾。人类和光的存在也会严重改变地下环境中的微气候,像Lampenflora或植物生长的问题,由于人造光源的光和温暖是一些地下结构中的严重问题。

如果地下工程一般无法进入或不进行正式旅行,请首先谨慎礼貌地征求网站所有者和运营商的同意。这不仅表达了您对任何特定网站的真正兴趣,而且还允许熟悉该网站的人就具体程序,禁忌或禁令提出建议。一些网站所有者和运营商也可能愿意提供额外信息以将网站置于上下文中。也建议加入专家组。

在存在独特的历史(或史前)文化遗产的情况下,必须特别小心,以免后代遗失或退化。其中一些遗址与悲惨的历史事件有关,其他遗址确实是人们死亡或被埋葬的地方。一些地下结构也可能被认为是宗教或世俗意义上的“圣地”,因此表现得相应。

Underground works tourism

Underground works are a travel destination of interest to a number of travellers.

Understand
Humans have been digging holes and underground structures since prehistory.

As well as expanding natural caves, humans have constructed or expanded countless works of their own efforts underground from early residences of prehistory through to contemporary tubes and tunnels that support a modern lifestyle, or for disposal of its wastes.

A number of underground structures were built for warfare, be it tunnels under enemy positions or underground fortresses and anything from subsurface storage rooms through to the hardened bunkers built for a “day after” – which thankfully never arrived.

Other Underground works however were built to aid the flow of trade and people, be it road, river or rail, going underground made sense to the engineers of history when the surface way was congested or impractical to the demands. New underground structures are still being built to this day and sometimes they tunnel through the same mountain again but at a lower level, making for so called “base tunnels”.

There are also the underground follys, and subterranean grottoes built by those with both the money and eccentricity to desire them.

Get in
The easiest underground works to access are those which were clearly designed as public spaces or where tourist facilities have been installed specifically to aid access by visitors.

A number of cites have vast underground public spaces, such as Japan’s underground shopping malls, or Houston’s tunnel system. In other cities railway stations are partly or entirely under ground. Leipzig for instance recently opened new underground through tracks beneath its multilevel shopping mall / terminus railway station.

Urban rail
Many large cites have transit systems where the stations and tracks are below the surface, whose public areas can be accessed for the price of a standard fare. Some systems of particular note are London, Moscow, and the worlds longest art Gallery in Stockholm, but other systems are also of interest to transit fans.

Whilst some Urban Rail systems occasionally run limited enthusiast tours ‘behind the scenes’, the health and safety considerations of a working railway, the current ‘security’ climate in many regions, coupled with the confined operational environment, mean that these are rare, and typically take place outside operational periods. Specialist Enthusiast publications may advertise these type of tours, but booking early is essential owing to limited numbers.

Military sites
However, not all underground works are necessarily open to the traveller (even on an organized tour), It should be especially noted that military facilities (even if seemingly abandoned or out of use) often remain highly sensitive sites. An unexpected or unannounced visit could at best lead to a lengthy interrogation, with considerably worse outcomes depending ultimately on the mood of the personnel you encounter. You should make formal contact in writing with the relevant military authorities as soon as you have firm travel plans. Do not be disappointed if a planned or agreed visit has to be cancelled or curtailed for operational and security reasons. Or if you are denied access without any reason at all being provided.

See
For the countless underground works resulting from mining or quarrying see Mining tourism.

See also Nuclear_bunkers for cold-war bunkers.

Australia

South Australia
Coober Pedy. An opal mining town in the South Australian Outback that is almost fully underground, as this is the only way to ensure human habitation in the harsh climate.

Western Australia
Fremantle Prison Tunnels. A tunnel system in Western Australia underneath the Fremantle Prison

Bosnia and Herzegovina
Sarajevo War Tunnel Museum, Sarajevo. A house converted to a museum sitting at the entrance of the tunnel that linked the city to the airport, thus providing the only lifeline for the inhabitants of the city during the Siege of Sarajevo which lasted for three years in the context of the Yugoslav Wars of the 1990s.

Canada
Diefenbunker – Canada’s Cold War Museum, Carp, Ontario, toll-free: +1-800-409-1965. Self-guided tours 11AM-4PM daily, guided tours by reservation only. Built to protect the government from nuclear attack, this once-secret bunker is now a museum and National Historic Site of Canada. See the Ottawa and nuclear tourism articles for details $14 adults, $13 seniors, $10 students , $8 youth 6-18, $40 families (2 adults plus 3 youth), free for children 5 and under.
Fort Peninsula (Fort Péninsule), Forillon National Park, Gaspé, Quebec (1.2 km [0.7 miles] east of La Penouille via Route 132). Quebec’s only fully preserved World War II-era shoreline battery, Fort Peninsula was one of the three fixed defences that comprised HMCS Fort Ramsay, a naval base established in 1942 by the Canadian military to defend against Nazi U-Boat attacks, to ensure the safety of merchant vessels passing through the region, and to serve as a refuge for the British Royal Navy in the event that Hitler’s forces were to successfully conquer the UK. Nineteen warships based here served a key role in waging the Battle of the St. Lawrence which saw 23 Allied vessels sunk by German subs off Canada’s east coast. Today, visitors can walk through the underground corridors of the fortification and observe the vintage gun mortars and other artillery still pointed seaward, and read descriptive panels along the way that explain the strategic military importance of the Gaspé Peninsula during the Second World War. Outside, there’s a pleasant seaside picnic area.

France
Musée des Égouts de Paris (Entrance opposite 93, quai d’Orsay near the Pont d’Alma, Métro: Alma-Marceau), ☏ +33 1 53 68 27 81. For an interesting take on Paris, check out its underground sewer system. See swords found in the sewers over the years and get an appreciation for what it takes to keep Paris running. Full fare: €4.30, Student: €3.50.
The Mines of Paris often erroneously termed the Catacombs.

Germany
During the second world war, constant allied bombardment which had destroyed several important military factories forced the Nazis to dig deep and hide their military infrastructure underground. Nazi architect and minister of armament Albert Speer was the leading force behind those efforts often brutally abusing and outright murdering the forced laborers used for those projects. While many of those structures were deliberately destroyed after the war, a few survive to this day and can be visited.

Dora Mittelbau concentration camp, Near Nordhausen. Site of the building of the V2/Aggregat4 rocket which was fired on London and later other cities in a futile effort to turn the tide of the lost war. Conditions for the forced laborers were horrific and more people died building the rockets than in their use.
Berliner Unterwelten. The “Berlin Underworlds” consists of various structures built below Berlin throughout its troubled history. The Verein of the same name offers a large amount of various tours.

Italy
The First World War on the Alpine Front pitted Austria-Hungary against Italy and involved a lot of mines and tunnels, some of which are still visible a century later.
Napoli Sotterrano (Napoli Underground), Piazza san Gaetano (Via Tribunali at San Paolo Maggiore). Caves under the city center created by mining from the first Greek settlers 2000 years ago.

Japan
Metropolitan Area Outer Underground Discharge Channel in Kasukabe, Saitama prefecture is a monumental underground flood-control system finished in 2009. It was constructed to prevent damages caused by the perennial floods which have plagued this part of the Kanto plain. It is possible to book a tour underground.

Korea
The 3rd Tunnel (제3땅굴). In the demilitarized border zone between the Koreas there are tunnels dug by North Korea for the purpose of secretly moving troops under the border to the South. South Korea has found four such tunnels and the third one (or rather a section of it on the South Korean side) has been turned into a tourist attraction, often visited on a tour to the DMZ. As with many places in the DMZ, photography is not allowed in the tunnel itself but it’s so dark and narrow you’ll not be able to get any good photos anyway.

Norway
Fjell festning (Fjell fortress), Sotra island at Bergen. A second world war fortress mostly in mountain tunnels. Huge artillery was mounted on the summit. Now museum.
Andersgrotta shelter, Kirkenes, Finnmark. A makeshift bomb shelter made the people of Kirkenes during the second world war. The small town of Kirkenes was the most bombed out town during the war after about 300 air raids.
Gausta funicular (Gaustabanen), Rjukan. Small train/funicular transport through a 1000 meter horizontal tunnel and a sloping 1000 meter tunnel inside iconic Gausta summit. Built for military and telecom purposes in the 1950s, now open for tourists.
Bremnes fort, Lofoten. Fort with bunkers built by German forces during second world war. Artillery has been removed. Guided tours possible.

Turkey
Basilica Cistern (Yerebatan Sarnıcı), Yerebatan Cad. 13, Sultanahmet, Istanbul. One of the many underground cisterns of Constantinople that was in use during the Roman, Byzantine, and Ottoman periods (and perhaps the most easily visitable one). Inside is an eerie “forest” of columns, standing on an ankle deep of water.
Cappadocia. The early Christians dug numerous underground cities — complete with sleeping chambers, food storage, kitchens, wineries, and even an inn for traders — into the soft volcanic soils of the Cappadocia region, to escape raids and persecution.

United Kingdom
Chislehurst Caves, Old Hill, Chislehurst, ☏ +44 20 8467-3264, ✉ enquiries@chislehurstcaves.co.uk. W-Su 10AM-4PM, seven days during school holidays. A seriously underlooked attraction, the caves are not in fact caves but a twenty-mile long network of passageways, carved from the chalk deep under Chislehurst. Used as a massive air-raid shelter during World War II, the Caves are now a local tourist attraction. Tours often last for an hour, were you’ll learn the fascinating history as well as hear ghost and horror stories. It can also be rented as a venue. £5, concessions £3, under 5’s free.
Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum, Clive Steps, King Charles St, London/Westminster (tube: Westminster). 09:30-18:00 daily (last admission 17:00), closed 24-26 Dec. A branch of the Imperial War Museum, the Cabinet War Rooms preserves the underground corridors and rooms from which Churchill and the cabinet directed the war against Hitler and the Nazis, maintained almost exactly as they were left in 1945. Opened in 2004, the attached Churchill Museum is the world’s first permanent museum dedicated to the life and wartime achievements of Sir Winston Churchill, recently voted the Greatest Briton. £10, children under 16 free, seniors £8, students £8, unwaged £5, group concessions available.
Kelvedon Hatch Secret Bunker, ☏ +44 1277 364883. 10am to 4pm during the week and 10am to 5pm weekends & bank holidays.. A well preserved and maintained example of a Cold-war Rotor station, and one of the deepest Cold-war Bunkers in the United Kingdom. £7.00.
The Thames Tunnel. Although this cannot be visited directly owing to it use as part of the London Overground rail network, the Brunel Museum is housed in the former engine house on the Rotherhithe side of the Thames. The original entrance shaft (formed using possibly the first noted ‘cassion’, has with recent modifications been renovated into a “venue space” and it was planned (as of 2001) to eventually house a permanent exhibition in it.
Williamson’s Tunnels, The Old Stable Yard, Smithdown Lane, L7 3EE, ☏ +44 151 709-6868, ✉ enquiries@williamsontunnels.co.uk. Heritage Centre Tu-Su. In the early 1800s, a Liverpool tobacco merchant, Joseph Williamson, funded the construction of an enormous labyrinth of tunnels under the Edge Hill area of Liverpool. Nobody knows his reasons for doing so though many guess it as an act of philanthropy, using his wealth to provide jobs and training for thousands of Liverpool workers. There is also a Williamson’s Tunnels Heritage Centre.

Dover Castle
For less well known Underground works consider joining a specialist organization such as Subterrana Brittanica who specialize in the research of such sites.

Vietnam
Cu Chi Tunnels, Cu Chi. Mainly used for military purposes (although there was also a civilian life going on as the inhabitants of the town escaped the bombings on the ground), these tunnels were started in the 1940s during the French occupation and later expanded by the Viet Cong during the Vietnam War. Amounting to a claustrophobia-inducing system of 250 km of passages below the town, some of the former sleeping chambers, hospitals, and military headquarters are open for visits.
Vinh Moc Tunnel, Demilitarized Zone. Near the border once separating North and South Vietnam from each other, the entire population of a village found refuge in this tunnel for two years during the Vietnam War.

Do

Photos
If you are permitted to take simple photos, take them. You should however be aware that taking photos in low light will require a ‘fast’ sensor and/or a fast lens. Many shots will be easiest with a wide-angle lens. Seek appropriate local advice if you wish to use a flash.

Stay safe
There are few risks associated with underground works clearly adapted for tourism or intended as accessible public spaces, and if you have any doubts as to your ability or fitness (including mental attitude), sticking to these is very strongly recommended. Sites that have organized formal tours will also have established rules and procedures which should be adhered to.

In order to stay safe when visiting less accessible underground works, It is vital to know as much as possible about the specific sites(s) you wish to visit in advance, so you can plan accordingly.

Underground works, where access, up to and including the entrance, involves tight crawls; confined space; vertical drops; sharp climbs; any expanse or mass of water or in general where a failure of any equipment is going to become a critical problem, are considered beyond the scope of accessibility for the non-specialist. For safety advice concerning visiting these caves or works, specialist advice will need to be obtained from dedicated caving and subterranean exploration organizations, familiar with the specific site concerned.

For other reasonably accessible underground works, noting the previous paragraph, which are not as well adapted for the tourist or traveller (if at all), you should seek and heed local advice even if the works concerned seems easy at a cursory glance at the surface or entrance. Contacting the sites current (or former) operator in advance, will also allow them to inform a potential visitor of any known risks.

There is some detailed advice on cave safety at this site which is also applicable to underground works but some common sense follows:

Know the works you wish to visit and your exit(s) before you enter, and if there is more than one entrance or exit, know which ones will be safe to use. Practically all responsible underground explorations are planned only after weeks or months of research.

NEVER enter underground works alone, because not only will there be no-one to get you out, but no-one will know where you are!

It is best practice to follow the example of the professionals and visit in groups of at least four. As well as lodging plans with appropriate contacts, in nearly all circumstances a surface watchman is essential whose responsibility is to contact the authorities if things go bad or a group below the surface fails to return by a specified time.

Your “smart” phone will have little or no service, below ground.

Underground works are naturally dark, and without artificial light (which in disused or abandoned works you will have to provide yourself), you will have a hard time navigating them. Don’t rely on a single light source, which could fail. Spare light sources are strongly recommended.

Check the weather first! A number of Underground works can and have flooded. In wet conditions water levels can change unexpectedly, limiting or cutting off access routes or even exits. In others the removal of flood or storm water is a primary function of the work concerned, and the water level in the system can change automatically within minutes. Getting caught by rising water levels isn’t worth it.

DO NOT under under any circumstances enter any underground expanse or mass of water, without having in advance sought appropriate advice. (Not only can the depth be deceptive, but the water may not be as pure as its appearance suggests). Caution should similarly be exercised in respect of moderate mud; silt; and fallen debris.

Whilst countless disused military facilities may seem abandoned, many of them are still nominally highly restricted sites, and unauthorized access to these will at the very least lead to a lengthy interrogation by the respective military authority. Many civilian facilities, are also considered sensitive by their respective current or former operators, for safety and security reasons. If in any doubt confirm your intended plans with the relevant authorities, site owners or operators well in advance.

Disused facilities are not going to be well maintained, and fixed access equipment may well have been removed at abandonment, or has subsequently decayed beyond use.

In addition to dust, the local wildlife may not appreciate being unduly disturbed.

Respect
Be respectful of the underground environment you are visiting. Ideally you should try to leave the underground environment as you found it as far as possible. No garbage and human waste should be left behind. The very presence of human beings and light can also severely change the micro-climate in the underground environment, issues like Lampenflora or plants growing due to the light and warmth of artificial light sources being a serious problem in some underground structures.

If the Underground works are not generally accessible or don’t operate formal tours, discreetly and politely seek the consent of the site’s owners and operators first. Not only does this express your genuine interest in any given site, but will allow those familiar with the site to advise on specific procedures, taboos or prohibitions. Some site owners and operators may also be willing to provide additional information to place the site in context. Joining a specialist group, is also recommended.

Exceptional care must be exercised where unique historic (or prehistoric) cultural heritage exists, so that it it is not lost or degraded to future generations. Some of these sites are associated with tragic historical events and others are literally the place where people died or were buried. Some underground structures may also be considered “holy ground” in a religious or secular sense, so behave accordingly.