高血压旅行指南

每年有数百万高血压患者前往商务,休闲和家庭活动。高血压患者可以处理其他旅行者所面临的所有问题,也可以处理其他人独特的问题。为了尽可能安全,舒适和愉快地旅行,需要解决这些挑战。

免责声明:本文针对的情况可能是危险的,并试图给读者一些实际的建议,但本文中的任何内容都不应被解释为医学建议。每个患有高血压的人都是独一无二的,为了尽可能安全,你必须寻求医生的具体建议并留意它。

进入/到处看看
如果您需要乘飞机旅行,如果您有高血压,您必须处理特殊问题。首先,你不能指望在飞机上供应低盐食物,但在许多航班上,你可能会吃到一顿饭或小吃,其中包括一份未经加工的沙拉或小吃。但是,将自己的食物带到飞机上对任何人来说都是一个好主意,如果你采用低盐饮食,这一点尤为重要。要么自己煮一些低盐食物,要么包装好,或者购买一些低盐小吃,如新鲜水果或蔬菜,煮鸡蛋或无盐小块。

其次,由于上升时气压的变化,特别是下降时,许多人会经历耳朵或鼻窦疼痛。没有高血压的人可以选择使用各种减充血剂,但最广泛使用的减充血剂都会增加血压。然而,幸运的是,盐水滴鼻剂在保健食品和药店中销售,您可能会发现它们像Afrin一样有效地预防加压疼痛,除非在配方中加入令人讨厌的添加剂(阅读成分表),不太可能因使用它们而遭受任何负面影响。

第三,如果可能的话,每个人都应该在长途飞行中起身并在飞机上走动,但这对于高血压患者尤其如此。

第四个考虑因素涉及您应该计划旅行的地方,如果您有选择的话。如果除高血压外还有心脏病,尤其如此,因为您可能希望避免天气炎热或寒冷或高海拔地区的目的地,以免让您感到紧张。此外,特别是寒冷的天气对于患有高血压的人来说可能是危险的,因此虽然维基导游关于寒冷天气的文章可能是一个有用的一般参考,但在计划到北极的冬季假期之前一定要咨询可信赖的医生,如果你需要在寒冷的天气里闲逛,适当地捆绑并考虑限制你在户外的时间。


根据您的血压控制程度和您的一般健康水平,许多活动可能非常安全,可能对您有益。这可能包括步行和徒步旅行,但最好在出发前咨询您的私人医生或心脏病专家,特别是如果您有任何疑问。虽然某些类型的运动可以在你做这些运动时增加血压,但是经常运动可以随着时间的推移降低血压,并且在医生的照顾和建议下仔细地提高你的健康水平是一个很好的主意。如果您计划进行积极旅行,那么在您出发前通过锻炼计划参加健身水平尤为重要。运动可以指走路,游泳或骑自行车而且不会

在开始活动之前,请务必检查难度。你不想只是在现场发现最后5公里的一次轻松的徒步旅行是陡峭的上坡。有些人不熟悉病情的人可能会忘记这些“细节”。在指导性体育活动中,考虑选择了解您的病情的指南。

如果您想尝试可能对您的身体施加压力而不习惯的活动,请先咨询医生。这里的文章,如水肺潜水,马拉松比赛和高原反应有一些基本信息,但只是表面上解决以前的医疗条件,并不能替代专业建议。

购买
首先,请确保在出发前购买所需的药物。如果您的旅行时间比平时更长,请您的药房提供度假服务。如果您的旅行时间超过了他们可以提供给您的时间,并且您将需要补充药物,那么您将在出国之前了解您需要做些什么以获得更多药物。在某些地方,药剂师可以在没有预约的情况下为您开出新的供应,而在其他地方,您将需要预约并由医生检查以获得处方,而且可能是昂贵的完成所有这些工作非常耗时。

其次,如果你有任何理由相信你的血压控制得不好,你应该购买一台好的数字血压计。把它带到你的医生办公室,测试它的读数是否准确,与他们用自己的专业设备得到的读数相比。为了避免不必要的担心,如果你的手臂有一个很大的周长,请确保你得到一个带有可调节袖带的显示器,这种显示器适用于大手臂的人,即使它可能花费更多(显示器过小)袖口可能会给你不准确的高血压读数)。旅行时,请确保您的显示器配有带电的电池,并随身携带更多电池。

第三,特别是如果你去一个紧急医疗和住院的国家可能非常昂贵并且不在家保险范围内的保险范围内,考虑购买旅游保险,因为你不想面对在度假时突然心脏病发作或脑出血造成数万美元无法偿还的债务。购买旅游保险时,告诉保险公司您的健康状况非常重要 – 否则他们会向您发送小字的报价,而不是医院账单的钱。包裹假期或银行账户中包含的保险可能不合适。

钠摄入
特别是如果你的血压控制不好,你可能必须吃低钠饮食。经常被提及作为每日钠摄入量上限的数字是2-2.4克 – 例如,美国食品和药物管理局建议“一般人群每天摄入不超过2,300毫克的钠”,相当于少于半茶匙盐。但请记住,钠也会在许多食物中自然产生,所以钠的总摄入量不仅仅是你吃的盐的量,而且有些人需要将自己限制在每天远低于2.3克的钠,所以一定要得到来自您的医生的个人建议。

确保低钠饮食的最佳方法是确切地知道您正在吃什么,通过拥有和使用自己的烹饪设施以及其他食物,如新鲜水果和蔬菜以及您仔细检查过钠量的包装商品(酸奶是经常是一种良好的低钠营养来源)。餐馆通常会使用大量的盐,即使你无法品尝它。餐厅制作的汤,沙拉酱和酱料都应默认为含有大量盐,你也应该对面包和其他烘焙食品非常谨慎(尽管在托斯卡纳,面包传统上是在没有盐的情况下制作的,很少有其他地方都是真的)。也就是说,虽然几乎没有餐馆可以从头开始为您制作低盐酱,因为它们已经在您用餐前几小时准备好,很多餐厅都会和你一起为你提供低盐食品,比如没有奶酪或油煎面包块的脱皮沙拉,你可以加入油和醋; 没有酱汁的蒸菜; 在没有盐,酱油,咸味等的情况下炒或炒的菜肴; 或有时,烤蔬菜或其他未添加盐的烤或烤制品。但是,如果您事先未亲自或通过电话(等)与餐馆联系,假设餐厅可以容纳您,这是非常不安全的,特别是如果他们非常忙碌并急于将您的餐桌转到下一个餐厅顾客。或有时,烤蔬菜或其他未添加盐的烤或烤制品。但是,如果您事先未亲自或通过电话(等)与餐馆联系,假设餐厅可以容纳您,这是非常不安全的,特别是如果他们非常忙碌并急于将您的餐桌转到下一个餐厅顾客。或有时,烤蔬菜或其他未添加盐的烤或烤制品。但是,如果您事先未亲自或通过电话(等)与餐馆联系,假设餐厅可以容纳您,这是非常不安全的,特别是如果他们非常忙碌并急于将您的餐桌转到下一个餐厅顾客。

对于低盐饮食的人来说,一些美食特别困难。例如,在东南亚,大多数食物都含有虾酱,鱼露或盐渍虾干(有时是磨碎的),即使你不能单独品尝它们。另外,要注意辣酱,酱油,蚝油,餐馆制作的奶酪以及几乎所有品种的奶酪。当然,不了解当地语言会使您向服务员传达您的健康要求变得更加困难。

糖摄入
越来越多的证据表明,对于许多人来说,过量的膳食糖可能比过量的膳食钠更糟糕,并且可能会使血压升高更多。记住这一点并考虑限制或避免高血糖食物(有许多在线清单显示食物的血糖指数和/或血糖负荷;这是另一种),包括用蔗糖(食糖),白米,白色制成的甜点面包和百吉饼,以及许多加工食品,你可能不会怀疑没有检查成分列表和营养面板。在美国等某些国家,各种各样的餐馆也常常在酱汁中添加大量的糖来满足顾客的甜食。

结论
虽然对于血压控制的人来说,偶尔吃饭可能是好的,特别是如果你在服药期间血压仍然偏高,你最好尽可能多地自己做饭,如果可以的话。

饮酒
高血压患者可考虑限制或避免摄入咖啡因(例如咖啡,茶,热巧克力和可乐),酒精(例如,参见此处)和含糖饮料(包括苏打水和甜味果汁)。就酒精饮料而言,特别注意鸡尾酒几乎都含有糖或其他甜味剂作为主要成分。然而,即使你完全避免所有这些类型的饮料,你可以在旅行中找到许多美味的草药茶和其他类型的饮料。至于其余部分,请咨询您的医生,但很可能适量,偶尔喝一点酒或茶可能对您没有明显的伤害。

睡觉
如果您可以住在至少有一些烹饪设施和冰箱的住宿,您将更容易控制饮食。

保持安全
如果您的血压升至危及生命的水平(作为一般参考,美国心脏协会认为180/120是需要立即就医的高血压急症),请立即到医院急诊室就诊!此外,对于涉及非常高的血压的身体症状(尤其是昏厥,严重的头痛和各种其他类型的持续性疼痛 – 请咨询心脏病专家的特定警告标志)要谨慎,即使您的血压略低于提到的噩梦数字以上。

不要感到被迫不必要地避免所有身体活动; 一如既往,请与您的医生仔细检查,但有机会,他/她会告诉您,在适当的健身水平范围内锻炼对您的健康有益。但是尽量不要过度使用自己。如果您感到呼吸困难或有其他疲惫症状,请停止正在做的事情,坐下来放松,如果您正在做任何可能让您处于危险中的非常费劲的事情,请确保不要自己做,所以在紧要关头,另一个人可以为你寻求帮助。

Tags:

Travelling with high blood pressure

Every year, millions of people with high blood pressure travel for business, leisure and family functions. People with high blood pressure deal with all the issues other travelers contend with, but also others unique to their situations. In order to have as safe, comfortable and enjoyable a trip as possible, these challenges need to be addressed.

Disclaimer: This article addresses a condition that may be dangerous and attempts to give readers some practical suggestions to consider, but in no way should anything in this article be construed to be medical advice. Every person with hypertension is unique, and in order to be as safe as possible, you must seek specific advice from a doctor and heed it.

Get in/Get around
If you need to travel by plane, there are special issues you must deal with if you have high blood pressure. First, you must not count on being served low-salt food on the plane, though on many flights, you might be fed a meal or snack that includes an undressed salad or crudités. But while bringing your own food onto the plane is a good idea for anyone, it’s particularly important if you are on a low-salt diet. Either cook some low-salt food yourself and pack it or purchase some low-salt snack, such as fresh fruit or vegetables, hard boiled eggs or unsalted chips.

Second, many people experience ear or sinus pain, due to the change in air pressure when ascending and especially on descending. People without high blood pressure have a choice of various decongestants to use, but the most widely available decongestants all risk raising your blood pressure. However, fortunately, saline nose drops are sold in health food and drugstores, you may find them just as effective as a drug like Afrin in preventing pain from pressurization, and unless nasty additives are put into the formula (read the ingredients list), you are very unlikely to suffer any negative side effects from using them at will.

Third, everyone should get up and walk around a plane during a long flight, if possible, but this is particularly recommended for people with high blood pressure.

A fourth consideration involves where you should plan to travel, if you have the choice. This is particularly true if you also have a heart condition in addition to high blood pressure, as you may want to avoid destinations with very hot or cold weather or at high altitudes, lest you strain your heart. In addition, cold weather in particular can be dangerous for people with hypertension, so while the Wikivoyage article on cold weather can be a useful general reference, be sure to check with a trusted physician before you plan that winter vacation to the Arctic, and if you do need to get around in cold weather, bundle up appropriately and consider limiting your time outdoors.

Do
Depending on how well-controlled your blood pressure is and your general level of fitness, many activities may be perfectly safe and may be beneficial for you. This likely includes walking and hiking, but it is always best to check with your personal physician or cardiologist before you go, particularly if you have any doubts. Although certain kinds of exercise can increase blood pressure while you’re doing them, regular exercise may lower blood pressure over time, and increasing your fitness level — carefully, and under the care and advice of a physician — is an excellent idea. If you plan to have an active trip, it’s particularly important for you to attend to your fitness level with a program of exercise before you go. Exercise can mean walking, swimming or cycling and doesn’t have to feel like an extremely rigorous workout (or start out as one).

Be sure to check the level of difficulty before you set out on an activity. You do not want to only at the spot find out that the last five kilometres of an otherwise easy hike are steeply uphill. Somebody not used to people with your condition might forget such “details”. On guided physical activities, consider choosing a guide who understands your condition.

If you want to try activities that may put stresses on your body that it is not accustomed to, consult your doctor first. Articles here such as scuba diving, marathon race and altitude sickness have some basic information, but only superficially address prior medical conditions and are no substitute for professional advice.

Buy
First, make sure to buy the medications you need before you go. Should you be traveling for longer than the usual period for a refill of your prescriptions, ask your pharmacy for a vacation supply. If you are traveling for longer than they can supply you and you will be in a foreign country when you will need a refill, find out before you go what you will need to do to get more meds. In some places, a pharmacist may be able to prescribe a new supply for you without an appointment, whereas in others, you will have to make an appointment and be examined by a doctor in order to get a prescription, and it might be expensive and time-consuming to do all of this.

Second, if you have any reason to believe your blood pressure is not well-controlled, you should buy a good digital blood pressure monitor. Bring it into your doctor’s office and test its readings for accuracy against the ones they get with their own professional equipment. In order to save yourself from needless worry, if your arms have a large circumference, make sure you get a monitor with an adjustable cuff that is described as being suitable for people with large arms, even though it may cost more (monitors with overly small cuffs are likely to give you inaccurately high blood pressure readings). When you travel, make sure your monitor has live batteries, and bring additional batteries with you.

Third, particularly if you are going to a country where emergency medical care and hospital stays may be very expensive and not covered by the policy that covers your health care at home, consider buying travel insurance, because you don’t want to be faced with an unpayable debt of tens of thousands of dollars for a sudden heart attack or cerebral hemorrhage while on vacation. When buying travel insurance it is very important to tell the insurer about your medical condition(s) – otherwise they will send you a quote from the small print rather than money for the hospital bill. Insurance included with package holidays or bank accounts is unlikely to be suitable.

Eat

Sodium intake
Especially if your blood pressure is not well-controlled, it may be crucial for you to eat a very low-sodium diet. A figure often mentioned as the upper limit for daily sodium intake is 2-2.4 grams — for example, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration recommends that “the general population consume no more than 2,300 milligrams of sodium a day”, the equivalent of less than half a teaspoon of salt. But remember that sodium occurs naturally in many foods as well, so total sodium intake is more than just the amount of salt you eat, and some people need to limit themselves to far less than 2.3 grams of sodium per day, so be sure to get individual advice on this from your physician.

The best way to ensure a low-sodium diet is to know exactly what you are eating, by having and using your own cooking facilities and otherwise eating items like fresh fruit and vegetables and packaged goods that you have carefully checked for sodium amounts (yogurt is frequently a good low-sodium source of nutrition). Restaurants typically use a lot of salt, even if you cannot taste it. Restaurant-made soups, salad dressings and sauces should all be assumed by default to have a lot of salt, and you should also be very cautious about bread and other baked goods (although in Tuscany, bread is traditionally made without salt, that is seldom true anywhere else). That said, while almost no restaurants will make low-salt sauces for you from scratch, as they were already prepared hours before your meal, quite a few restaurants will work with you to provide you with low-salt items like undressed salads with no cheese or croutons, to which you can add oil and vinegar; steamed items without sauce; dishes that are sauteed or stir-fried without salt, soy sauce, salty stocks, et al.; or sometimes, baked vegetables or other baked or grilled items to which salt has not been added. However, it is quite unsafe to assume a restaurant will accommodate you if you haven’t checked with them beforehand in person or by phone (etc.), especially if they are very busy and in a rush to turn over your table to the next customer.

Some cuisines are particularly difficult for people on low-salt diets. For example, in Southeast Asia, most food has shrimp paste, fish sauce or salted, dried shrimps (sometimes ground up) among the ingredients, even if you can’t taste them separately. Also, beware of hot sauces, soy sauce, oyster sauce, restaurant-made stocks, and almost all varieties of cheese. And of course, not knowing the local language makes it much more difficult to communicate your health imperatives to your waiter.

Sugar intake
There is increasing evidence that for many people, an excess of dietary sugar may be even worse than an excess of dietary sodium and likely to raise your blood pressure by a greater amount. Keep that in mind and consider limiting or avoiding high-glycemic foods (there are many online lists showing the glycemic index and/or glycemic load of foods; here’s another), including sweet desserts made with sucrose (table sugar), white rice, white bread and bagels, and also many processed foods you might not suspect without checking the ingredients list and nutrient panel. In certain countries such as the United States, it’s also very common for all sorts of restaurants to add lots of sugar to sauces to please customers’ sweet teeth.

Conclusion
While it may be OK for people with controlled blood pressure to eat out now and then, especially if your blood pressure remains on the high side while on medication, you are really best off cooking your own food as much as possible, if you can.

Drink
People with high blood pressure might consider limiting or avoiding the intake of caffeine (such as in coffee, tea, hot chocolate and colas), alcohol (see here, for example) and sugary drinks including sodas and sweetened juices. In terms of alcoholic beverages, note in particular that cocktails almost all have sugar or some other sweetener as a major ingredient. However, even if you completely avoid all of these types of beverages, there are many delicious herbal teas and other types of drinks that you may find in your travels. As for the rest, consult your physician, but it’s quite possible that in moderation, a bit of alcohol or tea now and then may not do you appreciable harm.

Sleep
If you can stay in accommodations with at least some cooking facilities and a refrigerator, it will be easier for you to control your diet.

Stay safe
If your blood pressure goes up to a life-threatening level (as a general reference the American Heart Association considers 180/120 a hypertensive emergency requiring immediate medical care), get to an emergency room in a hospital immediately! Also, be cautious about physical symptoms involving very high blood pressure (especially fainting, severe headache and various other kinds of persistent pains — check with a cardiologist for specific warning signs), even if your blood pressure is a bit lower than the nightmare numbers mentioned above.

Do not feel impelled to avoid all physical activity unnecessarily; as always, double-check with your physician, but the chances are, s/he will tell you that exercise, within appropriate limits for your fitness level, is good for your health. But do try not to overexert yourself. If you feel short of breath or have other symptoms of exhaustion, stop what you are doing, sit down and relax, and if you are doing anything very strenuous that could possibly put you in danger, make sure not to do it by yourself, so that in a pinch, another person can get help for you.

Tags: