钟咏杨刺绣博物馆,韩国

位于淑明女子大学的钟咏杨刺绣博物馆(The Chung Young Yang Embroidery Museum)是一个展览,教育和研究设施,致力于提高刺绣和纺织艺术的知识和欣赏。 该博物馆于2004年5月落成,收藏了大量不同时期和地区的刺绣和编织纺织品。

该博物馆的永久收藏品主要集中在东亚服装和装饰艺术上,是亚洲最全面的收藏品之一。 其广泛的范围阐明了丰富纺织艺术的技术和风格的跨文化对话。 通过展览和教育工作,博物馆力图突出刺绣在不同时间和地点的技术和艺术成就; 扩大对纺织品在全球范围内实现的社会和文化角色的理解; 并将刺绣艺术确立为对世界文化的重大贡献。 该博物馆位于一幢新建筑内,包括展览馆,信息中心,图书馆,保护工作室,教室以及配有带同声翻译耳机的300个座位的礼堂,旨在成为刺绣和其他纺织品奖学金的领先中心艺术。

馆藏品
Chung Young Yang刺绣博物馆的永久收藏品包括传统纺织品,教士长袍,军服,折叠屏风,婚礼服装,椅子和桌布,等级徽章,以及各种社会使用的各种服装,服装配件和家居用品。类。 该系列包含来自世界各地的各种实例以及现存古代文物的复制品。 该博物馆旨在鼓励对刺绣纺织品的审查作为产生它们的技术,社会和文化环境的主要文件,并强调刺绣作为重要的文化遗产和表现力,动态和不断发展的艺术形式的地位。

Young Yang Chung博士
钟咏杨女士是纺织历史学家和刺绣师。 她获得了博士学位。 1976年在纽约大学获得了关于刺绣起源和中国,日本和韩国历史发展的博士论文,并在全球范围内就东亚刺绣问题进行了演讲。 通过她的作品的讲座,示范,着作,教学,研讨会和展览,她努力培养对经常被诬蔑为“女性作品”的艺术形式的欣赏,并挑战纺织品作为“小艺术”的概念。

Chung于2001年获得韩国首尔Sookmyung大学荣誉博士学位,并于2013年博士大学获得纽约大学Steinhardt文化,教育和人类发展学院颁发的杰出校友成就奖。

Chung一直致力于纺织艺术,不仅是这种艺术形式的刺绣师和教师,也是传统东亚纺织品的历史学家和杰出典范的收藏家。 她的刺绣包括在世界众多博物馆的藏品中,包括史密森学会和总统府。

她的遗产包括一系列突破性的出版物,如“东方刺绣艺术”(1979)和“丝绸之线:中国,韩国,日本和越南的刺绣历史”(2005),以及中央杨刺绣博物馆(CEM) ),她于2004年5月在韩国首尔淑明女子大学开设的展览,教育和研究设施。

Chung是The Chung Young Yang刺绣博物馆的首次展览的策展人,该展览追溯了中国丝绸刺绣的起源及其在整个东亚的传播,她将作为导演和策展人留在博物馆,除了担任教授之外。艺术与设计研究生院。

淑明女子大学
淑明女子大学校(韩语:숙명여자대학교)是一所位于韩国首尔龙山区的私立大学。 淑明成立于1906年,是韩国第一家女性私立皇家教育机构。 淑明的名字来自古代人物,意思是“优雅”和“明亮”。

淑明女子大学拥有备受好评的ROTC计划。 2009年,韩国国防部选择了淑明女子大学作为韩国第一所为女性开展后备军官训练团计划的大学。 此外,Sookmyung的ROTC计划在2012年全国军事训练演习中被评为女性最高ROTC计划。

自2007年以来,Sookmyung Hospitality Business School因其卓越的教育科学和技术部而获得认可。哥顿布鲁酒店管理MBA课程与哥顿布鲁合作,专门教育女性未来在酒店等酒店行业中的角色。 /餐厅(H1),旅游/交通(H2),文化/娱乐/体育/医院(H3)和服务管理(H4)。

辉煌的线程

CEM
韩国首尔淑明女子大学的Chung Young Yang刺绣博物馆(CEM)于2004年落成,旨在提高公众对刺绣和纺织艺术的认识和欣赏。 博物馆馆长Young Yang Chung博士是绣花大师,纺织历史学家,作家,策展人和教师。 这是一个专门从事刺绣的博物馆,这是一个重要的文化遗产,拥有广泛的刺绣作品和纺织品。

钟咏杨刺绣博物馆收集,展示和进行与东亚刺绣和纺织品有关的调查和研究。

辉煌的线程
CEM系列概述了中国刺绣技术,服装形式和装饰图案的发展,以及东亚各国人民对这些文化模式的采用和转变。 对这些刺绣的研究加深了对东亚历史,艺术和文化的理解,相比之下,他们展示了整个东亚的凝聚力,同时也突出了地方表达在地域风格和审美偏好中的独特性。

来自不同文化和时期的杰作告诉我们长达数千年的东亚刺绣故事及其在当今世界中的持续相关性。

收集亮点

龙袍
龙代表了整个东亚时间力量的最重要象征。 可能最初用作图腾符号,龙被视为雨的使者,这是农业人民之间非常有利的联系。 在晚期王朝时期,社会最高级别的成员穿着龙纹长袍作为其社会地位的象征,因此这些服装的创作需要最高质量的材料和工艺。

龙纹图案丝绸编织金色…(1600 – 1700)
民族中国明代拒绝了他们的骑马蒙古族前辈所喜欢的紧身服装,并回到汉,唐,宋两代流动的宽袖中国式长袍。

在rit期间穿的十二符号半正式长袍…(中国清朝(1644-1911))
龙袍的窄袖配有马蹄袖,反映了游牧,非中国传统。

金线编织的深红色龙袍(1644 – 1911)
长袍底部上升的水用金线编织而成,形成精细的折痕。 波浪中有一个装有三叉戟的花瓶,这种模式标志着政府三级晋升的愿望。

因此宫廷服装分为冬季和夏季服装。 夏季龙袍由透明纱布制成,可以充分通风。

作为一种实用的措施,加强了最大磨损的区域:在袖子的袖口上贴上丝绸贴片,并且衣领由双层丝绸制成。

在长袍下摆的“站立水”之间描绘的“珍贵珠宝”中有一头犀牛角,象征着胜利; 钻石形状,代表耐力; 和“法轮”,生死的象征,表达对不朽的祝福。

在东亚传统中,龙被视为神圣的神话生物,带来丰富,繁荣和好运。 人们认为龙会制造云,控制雨水,并能够随意改变自己的大小和长度。

东亚和满族长袍
到了明清两代,服装的形式,图案和颜色使得各种社会阶层都能够被帝国法规严格划定。 在此期间,丝绸刺绣艺术经过数千年的发展,取得了技术精湛的巅峰,中国最成功的刺绣师在为贵族创造长袍和家具方面付出了最大的努力。 关于服饰装饰的社会功能以及中国宫廷服饰中使用的形式,图案和技术的中国观念传播到接受中国文明影响的邻近地区,如韩国和越南,并在这些非中国家 – 中国人民。

中国和满族妇女的非正式长袍经常装饰着吉祥和象征性的图像,其中最流行的图案是对季节性鲜花的自然主义描绘。

蒙古女人的长袍
蒙古男女的基本服装是del,长袍,前面有翻盖。 这个del提供了一个由喀尔喀部落的已婚妇女穿着的正式长袍的例子。 通过在褶皱袖子的顶部插入竹子或柳树枝条来创造独特雕刻的肩部。

奥斯曼土耳其长袍
当奥斯曼土耳其人在14世纪和15世纪征服拜占庭帝国时,他们继承了一个生产奢侈丝绸已有一千多年历史的蚕桑和丝织工业。 在奥斯曼帝国的赞助下,纺织艺术家发展出一种独特的风格,将土耳其饰品的元素与波斯,意大利,中国和其他来源的影响结合起来。

和服是日本纺织艺术中最美丽,最富有表现力的表现。

东亚服饰配件
在清朝时期,时尚男士穿着腰带,他们悬挂着许多小装饰袋,里面装着扇子,眼镜,筷子,香,刀,手表,钱和其他小件物品。 虽然中国人携带小钱包和香水袋已有数千年历史,但穿着装有实用器具的皮带源于最初由辽,蒙古和维吾尔族引入的游牧传统,然后由满族推广。 这些服饰配饰成为突出的地位象征,到了晚清时期,它们是用相配的套装创作的,通常绣有吉祥的图像。

两侧密镶刺绣的流苏吊坠每平方厘米有100多个种子针迹,描绘了一只背着佛像的白色大象。

Tags:

The Chung Young Yang Embroidery Museum, South Korea

The Chung Young Yang Embroidery Museum at Sookmyung Women’s University is an exhibition, educational, and research facility dedicated to advancing the knowledge and appreciation of embroidery and textile arts. Inaugurated in May 2004, the museum houses an extensive collection of embroidered and woven textiles representing various periods and regions.

The museum’s permanent collection, primarily focused on East Asian costume and decorative arts, is among the most comprehensive of its kind in Asia. Its wide scope illuminates the cross-cultural dialogues in technique and style that have enriched textile arts. Through exhibition and education efforts, the museum seeks to highlight the technical and artistic achievement of embroiderers across time and place; expand understanding of the social and cultural roles that textiles have fulfilled globally; and establish the art of embroidery as a significant contribution to world culture. Housed in a new building that includes exhibition galleries, an information center, a library, conservation studios, classrooms, and a 300-seat auditorium equipped with earphones for simultaneous translation, the museum aims to become a leading center for scholarship in embroidery and other textile arts.

The collection
The permanent collection of the Chung Young Yang Embroidery Museum includes votive textiles, ecclesiastical robes, military uniforms, folding screens, wedding garments, chair and table coverings, rank insignia, and various types of clothing, costume accessories, and household furnishings used by all social classes. The collection encompasses a broad range of examples from around the world as well as replicas of extant ancient artifacts. The museum seeks to encourage the examination of embroidered textiles as primary documents of the technological, social, and cultural environments that produced them as well as to emphasize embroidery’s position as an important cultural inheritance and an expressive, dynamic, and continually evolving art form.

Dr. Young Yang Chung
Young Yang Chung is a textile historian and embroiderer. She earned a Ph.D. at New York University in 1976, with a doctoral dissertation on the origins of embroidery and its historical development of China, Japan, and Korea, and has lectured worldwide on the topic of East Asian embroidery. Through lectures, demonstrations, writings, teaching, workshops, and exhibitions of her work, she has endeavored to foster appreciation of an art form often stigmatized as “women’s work” and to challenge the notion of textiles as “minor arts”.

Chung received an honorary doctorate degree from Sookmyung University, Seoul, South Korea in 2001 and she was awarded a Distinguished Alumna Achievement Award by New York University’s Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development at the 2013 Doctoral Convocation.

Chung has dedicated her life to the textile arts, not only as an embroiderer and teacher of this art form but also as a historian of traditional East Asian textiles and a collector of outstanding examples. Her embroideries are included in the collections of numerous museums in the world including the Smithsonian Institution and the presidential palaces.

Her legacy includes a body of groundbreaking publications such as The Art of Oriental Embroidery (1979) and Silken Threads: A History of Embroidery in China, Korea, Japan, and Vietnam (2005), as well as the Chung Young Yang Embroidery Museum (C.E.M.), an exhibition, educational, and research facility she inaugurated in May 2004 at Sookmyung Women’s University in Seoul, South Korea.

Chung was the curator of The Chung Young Yang Embroidery Museum’s inaugural exhibition, which traces the origins of silk embroidery in China and its dissemination throughout East Asia, and she will remain at the Museum as a director and curator, in addition to being a professor of graduate school of arts and designs.

Sookmyung Women’s University
Sookmyung Women’s University (Korean: 숙명여자대학교 (淑明女子大學校)) is a private university in Yongsan-gu, Seoul, South Korea. Founded in 1906, Sookmyung is Korea’s first royal private educational institution for women. Sookmyung’s name comes from ancient characters with meaning “elegant” and “bright”.

Sookmyung Women’s University has a highly acclaimed ROTC program. In 2009, The Republic of Korea’s Defense Ministry chose Sookmyung Women’s University as South Korea’s first university to operate a Reserve Officers’ Training Corps program for women. In addition, Sookmyung’s ROTC program has been evaluated as the highest ranking ROTC program for women in the 2012 national military training exercises.

Sookmyung Hospitality Business School has been recognized for its excellence by the Ministry of Education Science and Technology since 2007. Le Cordon Bleu Hospitality MBA course, which has a partnership with Le Cordon Bleu, specializes in educating women for future roles in hospitality industries such as Hotel/Restaurant (H1), Travel/ Transportation (H2), Culture/Entertainment/Sports/Hospital (H3), and Service Management (H4).

Threads of Splendor

C.E.M
The Chung Young Yang Embroidery Museum(C.E.M.) at Sookmyung Women’s University in Seoul, Korea, was inaugurated in 2004 with the goal of advancing public knowledge and appreciation of embroidery and the textile arts. The museum’s director, Dr. Young Yang Chung, is a master embroiderer, textile historian, writer, curator, and teacher. It is a museum specializing in embroidery, a significant cultural heritage, housing a broad collection of embroidery work and textiles.

The Chung Young Yang Embroidery Museum are numerous activities in collecting, exhibiting and conducting surveys and research related to embroidery and textile relics of East Asia.

Threads of Splendor
The CEM collection outlines the development of embroidery techniques, costume forms, and decorative motifs in China, as well as the adoption and transformation of these cultural patterns by peoples across East Asia. The study of these embroideries deepens understanding of East Asian history, art, and culture, and viewed comparatively they illustrate great cohesion throughout East Asia while also highlighting the distinctiveness of local expressions in regional styles and aesthetic preferences.

Masterpieces from various cultures and time periods tell us the millennia-long story of East Asian embroidery and its ongoing relevance in today’s world.

Collection highlights

Dragon Robe
The dragon represented the foremost symbol of temporal power throughout East Asia. Probably used originally as a totemic symbol, the dragon came to be viewed as a bringer of rain, a highly favorable association among agricultural peoples. In the late dynastic period, the highest-ranking members of society wore dragon-patterned robes as symbols of their social status, so the creation of these garments required the highest quality of materials and workmanship.

Robe of dragon patterned silk woven with gold a… (1600 – 1700)
The ethnically Chinese Ming rejected the tight-fitting clothing preferred by their horse-riding Mongol predecessors, and returned to the flowing, wide-sleeved Chinese style robes of the Han, Tang, and Song dynasties.

Twelve-symbol semiformal robe worn during a rit… (China Qing dynasty(1644-1911))
The dragon robe’s narrow sleeves with horsehoof cuffs reflect nomadic, non-Chinese traditions.

Crimson dragon robe woven from gold thread (1644 – 1911)
The rising water on the bottom portion of the robe was woven with gold thread, making fine creases. Among the waves is a vase holding a trident, a pattern signifying the wish for a three-rank promotion in the government.

Court costume thus was divided into winter and summer wear. Summer dragon robes were made of transparent gauze, allowing sufficient ventilation.

As a practical measure, areas that received the greatest wear were reinforced: silk patches were attached to the cuffs of the sleeves, and the collar was made of two-ply silk.

Among the ‘precious jewels’ depicted between the ‘standing water(入水)’ at the hem of the robe are a rhinoceros horn, symbolizing victory; a diamond shape, representing endurance; and the ‘wheel of law’, and emblem of life and death, expressing wishes for immortality.

In the East Asian tradition, dragons are viewed as divine mythical creatures that bring abundance, prosperity and good fortune. Dragon were thought to create clouds, govern rain, and to be able to transform their own size and length at will.

East Asian and Manchu Robes
By the Ming and Qing dynasties, the forms, patterns, and colors of garments allowed the various social classes to be strictly delineated by imperial statutes. During this period, the art of silk embroidery achieved its pinnacle of technical refinement after many thousands of years of development, and China’s most accomplished embroiderers expended their greatest effort on the creation of robes and furnishings for the aristocracy. Chinese ideas regarding the social function of costume decoration as well as the forms, motifs, and techniques utilized in Chinese court costume spread to the neighboring regions receptive to the influence of Chinese civilization, such as Korea and Vietnam, and became firmly established among these non-Chinese peoples.

Chinese and Manchu women’s informal robes were often lavishly ornamented with auspicious and symbolic imagery, and among the most popular motifs were naturalistic depictions of seasonal flowers.

Mongolian woman’s robe
The basic garment for Mongolian men and women was the del, a long robe with an over flap in the front. This del provides an example of a formal robe worn by married woman of the Khalkha tribe. The distinctively sculpted shoulders are created by inserting a bamboo or willow twig into the top of the pleated sleeve.

Ottoman Turkish Robe
When the Ottoman Turks conquered the Byzantine empire in the 14th and 15th centuries, they inherited a sericulture and silkweaving industry that had been producing luxury silks for over a thousand years. Under the Ottoman patronage, textile artists developed a distinctive style that combined elements of Turkish ornaments with influences from Persia, Italy, China, and other sources.

Kimono rank among the most beautiful and expressive manifestations of Japanese textile art.

East Asian Costume Accessories
During the Qing dynasty, fashionable men wore belts from which they suspended numerous small decorative bags holding fans, eyeglasses, chopsticks, incense, knives, watches, money, and other small personal objects. Although the Chinese had carried small purses and scent bags for millennia, the wearing of belts fitted with practical utensils stemmed from nomadic traditions initially introduced by the Liao, Mongols, and Uighurs and then popularized by the Manchus. These costume accessories became prominent status symbols, and by the late Qing period, they were created in matched sets, typically embroidered with auspicious imagery.

The tasseled pendant densely embroidered on both sides with over 100 seed stitches per square centimeter, depicts a white elephant carrying the almsboul of the Buddha on its back.

Tags: