Le centre culturel Carmen de San Cristóbal à Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexique

La Carmen de San Cristóbal à Las Casas, qui servait autrefois de porte d’entrée à la Ciudad Real, est aujourd’hui adoptée comme symbole d’identité. C’est une annexe du temple Carmen. Sa fonction initiale était de servir de clocher à l’église. Une brèche dans sa partie inférieure donnait peut-être accès au couvent, ou servait de passage entre deux parties de la ville; son image est devenue une partie importante de la ville.

Dans le couvent de l’Incarnation des religieuses conceptionnistes, le seul couvent des religieuses de Ciudad Real, construit en 1597, des cours sur les arts féminins de l’époque ont été dispensés. Sa construction a été autorisée par Felipe II par Cédula Real le 30 novembre 1595

Il est considéré comme « l’édifice colonial le plus frappant de la ville » et « l’un des monuments les plus remarquables et uniques du Nouveau Monde ».

Histoire
Érigée en 1677 dans le plus pur style mudéjar de l’époque coloniale, elle appartenait au couvent de La Encarnación. Ce bâtiment servait autrefois de passerelle vers la Ciudad Real, et aujourd’hui il a été adopté comme symbole d’identité.

C’est une annexe du Temple de Carmen, Sa fonction initiale était de servir de clocher à l’église. Un vain dans sa partie centrale supérieure a donné accès au couvent.

Architecture
Cette construction, unique au Mexique, est considérée comme faisant partie de la collection mudéjar du Chiapas en raison de son plan carré de proportions massives, de ses applications ornementales en mortier et de la voûte octogonale en bois avec une étoile à huit branches, qui rappelle la pierre de l’art islamique.

Au début de 1677, José Antonio de Torres, administrateur du couvent, a demandé au conseil municipal de Ciudad Real la permission de construire un clocher, alléguant que le couvent avait besoin d’une tour pour ses cloches; pour ce faire, il avait besoin que ce soit dans la rue de Paso Real, qui va de la place de la ville au but de ce couvent.

Les religieuses du couvent Encarnación ont décidé de lever des fonds pour la construction du clocher du couvent, mais le seul endroit où ce bâtiment pourrait être construit était sur le Paso Real. Cette importante rue va du couvent de l’Encarnación à la place de la ville, de sorte que l’administrateur du couvent a demandé au conseil municipal de San Cristóbal de las Casas la permission de construire le clocher sur la rue principale. Après plusieurs négociations, le conseil municipal a accédé à la demande à la seule condition que le Paso Real ne soit pas obstrué.

Les religieuses ont fait un tel investissement, car la tour servait d’accès aux bâtiments du couvent de l’autre côté de la rue, de sorte que les religieuses pouvaient passer d’un côté à l’autre sans rompre le vœu de clôture. La tour servait d’accès de l’église à l’ancien couvent et de choeur de l’église, au deuxième étage.

C’est ainsi que l’Arco del Carmen a été construit. Le bâtiment colossal avait trois étages: en haut se trouvait le clocher. L’étage du milieu servait de couloir pour que les religieuses traversent d’un côté à l’autre les bâtiments du couvent, sans rompre le vœu de clôture. Au rez-de-chaussée, la célèbre arche a été construite sur la rue principale, afin que les gens puissent continuer à la traverser sans gêner leur passage.

Aux difficultés rencontrées lors de sa construction – la pénurie de main-d’œuvre et de ressources s’est ajoutée aux dommages causés par les inondations et les tremblements de terre. Rénové entre 1753 et 1766, depuis 1869 l’hôpital, l’asile, l’école de filles et les ateliers d’artisanat, l’Institut des sciences et des arts, la caserne et un temple maçonnique ont été installés sur le site. Lorsque les religieuses conceptionnistes ont quitté la ville, le culte du ministère de l’Incarnation a pris fin, celui de Notre-Dame de Carmen a prévalu.

En bas, l’arche principale servait de porte de la ville. Au deuxième niveau, les religieuses pouvaient accéder au temple du couvent en descendant le chœur et il servait de clocher au temple du couvent. Son clocher, la tour El Carmen, est un signe distinctif de la ville.

Légende
L’Arco del Carmen symbolise la porte de l’aventure. Quiconque passait sous lui resterait éternellement à San Cristóbal de las Casas. La légende raconte que tout voyageur qui franchit la porte de Ciudad Real y restera pour toujours. La magie que possédait la porte était très puissante. Le monument majestueux a attiré tous les voyageurs qui traînaient, les faisant tomber amoureux de sa belle architecture et de ses couleurs vives.

Avec le temps, l’Arco del Carmen, situé au bord de San Cristóbal de las Casas, est devenu une référence pour tous ceux qui sont passés. En quelques années, ce bâtiment caractéristique est devenu l’entrée principale et la porte de la Ciudad Real.

Aujourd’hui, le monument est protégé et ne peut plus être passé sous lui.

Temple de Carmen
La construction originale de ce temple date du XVIe siècle. Il abrite la Capilla del Carmen; Cette chapelle est celle qui a provoqué le nouveau nom, qui lui a été attribué au début du XXe siècle; À l’origine, c’était sous la dédicace de Saint-Sébastien Mártir, à qui le temple fut dédié en 1578; Plus tard, il a été changé pour le Mystère de l’Ubilla, quand il a été choisi par l’église moine pour le conseil ecclésiastique, avec l’approbation de la « justice et régiment » de Ciudad Real.

Entre 1753 et 1766, lorsque, à l’initiative de Mgr Moctezuma, une rénovation et une reconstruction complètes du couvent ont été entreprises, certains travaux doivent également avoir été réalisés sur le temple, car la couverture du bras du transept porte la date de 1764. On considère qu’à cette époque, a construit la Capilla del Carmen.

Le matin du 23 mars 1993, un court-circuit dans la librairie à côté du temple a provoqué un incendie qui s’est propagé à l’église et a détruit son intérieur, perdant les plafonds à caissons, les retables, les peintures, les sculptures et les pièces d’or, d’argent et de bronze . des œuvres d’art inestimables; Parmi eux, une sculpture anonyme du XVIe siècle se détache, représentant Saint-Sébastien, considéré comme le nu anatomique le plus parfait d’Amérique latine.

De l’ancien complexe conventuel de La Encarnación, la seule chose qui reste actuellement est le temple à double porte, la tour et la place Carmen.

symbole
Ce n’était pas seulement symbolique, mais fonctionnel, puisque l’Arco del Carmen permettait aux religieuses du couvent d’avoir de nombreuses libertés. Cela leur a permis de traverser le Paso Real pour atteindre les dépendances du couvent sans avoir à rompre leur vœu de fermeture. Au fil du temps, il a été reconnu comme « l’édifice vice-royal le plus frappant de la ville » grâce à sa beauté mudéjar.

De plus, l’Arco del Carmen était considéré à l’époque comme l’un des monuments les plus remarquables du Nouveau Monde. Maintenant, cette porte, clocher et accès au couvent est devenu l’une des cartes postales de San Cristóbal de las Casas. C’est une étape incontournable de votre voyage lors de la visite de la plus magique des villes magiques du Mexique.

Restauration
En 1980, l’ancien couvent de La Encarnación, aujourd’hui maison de la culture, a été restauré. Le cloître est situé sur une place, à l’abri du temple. La façade principale est sobre. À l’intérieur, il conserve sa partie architecturale d’origine.

Ce bâtiment représente le dernier vestige du couvent de l’Incarnation de Ciudad Real, actuellement restauré par FONATUR, depuis que le sommet mondial du tourisme s’est tenu ici. Actuellement, nous pouvons profiter du cloître, avec son patio central, et le centre des congrès est situé à l’arrière. Dans ses espaces, il dispose également d’un jardin épitite et d’ateliers pour enfants et personnes âgées.

Tags:

The Carmen of San Cristóbal Culture Center in Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico

The Carmen of San Cristóbal in Las Casas, formerly served as a gateway to the Ciudad Real, and today it has been adopted as its identity symbol. It is an annex of the Carmen temple. Its initial function was to serve as a bell tower to the church. A gap in its lower part perhaps gave access to the convent, or served as a passage between two parts of the city; his image has become an important part of the city.

In the convent of the Incarnation of Conceptionist nuns, the only convent for religious in Ciudad Real, built in 1597, instruction was given on the feminine arts of the time. Its Construction was authorized by Felipe II by Cédula Real on November 30, 1595

It is considered “The most striking Colonial Building in the City” and “one of the most notable and unique Monuments in the New World”.

History
Erected in 1677 in the purest Mudejar style in Colonial times, it belonged to the Convent of La Encarnación. This building formerly served as a gateway to the Ciudad Real, and today it has been adopted as its identity symbol.

It is an annex of the Temple of Carmen, Its initial function was to serve as a bell tower to the Church. A vain in its upper central part gave access to the Convent.

Architecture
This construction, unique in Mexico, is considered part of the Chiapas Mudejar collection due to its square plan of massive proportions, its ornamental applications in mortar and the octagonal wooden vault with an eight-pointed star, reminiscent of the stonework of Islamic art.

At the beginning of 1677, José Antonio de Torres, administrator of the Convent, asked the City Council of Ciudad Real for permission to build a bell tower, alleging that the convent needed a tower for its bells; in order to do it, he needed it to be on the street in Paso Real, which goes from the town square to the goal of that convent.

The nuns of the Encarnación convent decided to raise funds for the construction of the convent bell tower, but the only place where that building could be built was on the Paso Real. This important street goes from the Encarnación convent to the town square, so the convent administrator asked the San Cristóbal de las Casas City Council for permission to build the bell tower on the main street. After several negotiations, the City Council granted the request on the sole condition that the Paso Real not be obstructed.

The nuns made such an investment, because the tower served as access to the convent buildings on the other side of the street, so that the nuns could go from one side to the other without breaking the closing vow. The tower served as the church’s access to the ex-convent and as the church’s choir, on the second floor.

This is how the Arco del Carmen was built. The colossal building had three floors: at the top was the bell tower. The middle floor served as a corridor for the nuns to cross from one side to the other to the convent buildings, without breaking the closing vow. On the ground floor, the famous arch was built on the main street, so that people could continue to pass through it without obstructing their passage.

To the difficulties suffered during its construction – shortage of manpower and resources were added damages by floods and earthquakes. Renovated between 1753 and 1766, since 1869 the hospital, the asylum, the girls’ school and arts and crafts workshops, the Institute of Sciences and Arts, the barracks and a Masonic temple were established on the site . When the Conceptionist nuns left the city, the worship of the Incarnation Ministry ended, that of Our Lady of Carmen prevailed.

At the bottom, the main Arch served as the City Gate. On the second level, the nuns could access the convent temple by going down the choir and it served as a bell tower to the convent temple. Its bell tower, the El Carmen tower, is a distinctive sign of the city.

Legend
The Arco del Carmen symbolizes the door of adventure. Anyone who crossed under him would stay forever in San Cristóbal de las Casas. Legend has it that any traveler who walks through the Ciudad Real gate will stay there forever. The magic that the door possessed was very powerful. The majestic monument attracted all the travelers who were hanging around, making them fall in love with its beautiful architecture and bright colors.

With the passage of time, the Arco del Carmen, located on the edge of San Cristóbal de las Casas, became a benchmark for all the people who passed by. In a few years, this characteristic building became the main entrance and the door to the Ciudad Real.

Today the monument is protected and can no longer be passed under it.

Carmen Temple
The original construction of this temple dates from the 16th century. It is houses the Capilla del Carmen; This chapel is the one that caused the new name, which was granted to it at the beginning of the 20th century; Originally it was under the dedication of San Sebastián Mártir, to whom the temple was dedicated in 1578; Later it was changed to the Mystery of the Ubilla, when it was chosen by the monk church for the ecclesiastical council, with the approval of the “justice and regiment” of Ciudad Real.

Between 1753 and 1766, when on the initiative of Bishop Moctezuma a complete renovation and rebuilding of the convent was undertaken, some works must also have been carried out on the temple, since the cover of the transept arm has the date 1764 inscribed. It is considered that at that time built the Capilla del Carmen.

On the morning of March 23, 1993, a short circuit in the bookstore next to the temple caused a fire that spread to the Church and destroyed its interior, losing the coffered ceilings, altarpieces, paintings, sculptures and pieces of gold, silver and bronze. priceless works of art; Among them, an anonymous sculpture from the 16th century stands out, representing San Sebastián, considered the most perfect anatomical nude in Latin America.

Of the old convent complex of La Encarnación, the only thing that currently remains is the double-door temple, the tower and the Carmen square.

Symbol
It was not only symbolic, but functional, since the Arco del Carmen allowed the nuns of the convent to have many liberties. It allowed them to cross the Paso Real to reach the convent dependencies without having to break their closing vow. Over time, it was recognized as “the most striking viceregal building in the city” thanks to its Mudejar beauty .

Furthermore, the Arco del Carmen was considered one of the most notable monuments in the New World, at the time. Now this door, bell tower and convent access has become one of the postcards of San Cristóbal de las Casas. It is an unmissable stop on your trip when visiting the most magical of the Magical Towns within Mexico.

Restoration
In 1980 the ex-convent of La Encarnación, today the house of culture, was restored. The cloister is located in a square, exempt from the temple. The main facade is sober. Inside it preserves its original architectural party.

This building represents the last vestige of the Convent of the Incarnation of Ciudad Real , currently restored by FONATUR, since the world tourism summit was held here. Currently we can enjoy the cloister, with its central patio, and the convention center is housed in the back. Within its spaces it also has an epitite garden, and workshops for children and the elderly.

Tags: