Sausset-les-Pins is a French commune located in the department of Bouches-du-Rhône, in the region Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. Very quiet seaside resort in the low season but very busy in summer, there is a marina, beaches, sheltered coves, and many nautical, sporting and cultural activities and the scrubland.
Sausset-les-Pins is located between Marseille, to the east, Martigues and the Etang de Berre to the north-west. It is very close to Carry-le-Rouet, so much so that up until 1924 the two villages were not properly demarcated. Further, it is 35 km away from Marseille, and 42 km away from Aix-en-Provence.
The town is surrounded by Martigues, as well as by the pond of Berre, offering a facade on the Mediterranean Sea. Along the Blue Coast, it reveals its charms to tourists from all over the world.
From 28 to April 30, 1832, the Duchess of Berry was accommodated at the Auberge La Folie in Sausset-les-Pins. In 1855 a castle was built.
In 1915, the Miramas-Marseille railway line opened up Sausset-les-Pins. Many military convoys will use it between 1915 and 1918.
Become independent in 1924, the village of Sausset-les-Pins is a marvelous mix between pinewood and sea, offering a beautiful diversity of landscapes. Former fishing hamlet, it has been classified as a seaside resort over the years, enjoying a family atmosphere and warm. Of modest size, it seduces by its architectural heritage, but especially by its long sunny beaches.
Sausset-les-Pins has been part of the Côte Bleue Marine Park since 1983.
Full of life, the commune of Sausset-les-Pins is also the theater of many cultural festivities or sports organized throughout the year. Specializing in fishing, it regularly attracts fans of fish and other seafood of all kinds.
Sausset les Pins is located on the sea front, along the Blue coast and is a pretty fishing port. surrounded by the aromatic garrigue (scrubland) and pine forests The village lies in an area of exceptional natural beauty between the sea and pine forests.
Charming port, overlooked by a 19th-century castle (Chateau Charles Roux), its little pedestrian streets, its outdoor cafes with views over the harbour, its lively market and its air of simplicity, a far cry from the glamour of the Cote d’Azur.
Surrounded by the garrigue, the port of Sausset-les-Pins does not lack charm. Coffee terraces, you can admire the many boats moored on the spot. The latter is overlooked by the castle Charles Roux, a building of the XIXth century. Around, the pedestrian streets do not lack, allowing to appreciate original and unique shops.
The Charles-Roux castle has existed since 1855.
The Saint-Pierre chapel has existed since 1861.
The hotel-restaurant La Plage has existed since 1870.
The old port is still visible since 1881.
The port pier dates from 1931 and has been renovated several times.
Avenue du Maréchal-Leclerc was inaugurated on June 9, 1984, the same day as the public garden which dominates the port of the city with the sculpture of the flight of the 9 gabians.
The new port was inaugurated on October 3, 1986.
The bronze sculpture of the 2 dolphins which commemorates the 30th anniversary of the creation of the EEC in 1957 in March 1987 to serve as a monument to people who died at sea.
The RD 9 expressway connecting Sausset-les-Pins to Carry-le-Rouet has been used for many film shoots such as Taxi 3 (Samy Naceri), Le Transporteur (Jason Statham) or Bienvenue chez les Ch’tis (Dany Boon) from by its resemblance to a highway.
Avenue Pierre-Matraja was inaugurated onMarch 3, 2019, the same day as the new police station.
There is a 5 km promenade which has been laid out as part of the GR51 coastal path. This is easily accessible and gives the visitor superb panoramas over the bay of Marseille and its islands. Sausset is part of the Parc Marin de la Côte Bleue and divers can explore the depths of the sea and the artificial reefs laid out along Sausset’s coast.
In the surroundings of Sausset, in the hills and the garrigue, you can also make beautiful walks in the middle of the pine forests which dominate the sea. The paths are marked and practicable on foot, by bicycle or on horseback.
Sausset les Pins stretches along the coast in a succession of small creeks, white, shingly beaches and tiny rocky inlets. You can explore them by following the old customs and excise path which winds along the coast between Marseille and Martigues.
The beaches and other coves are not lacking around the calanques of Sausset-les-Pins. You will find them by pacing the old customs path that stretches from Marseille to Martigues. The beaches of Anse du Rouveau, Anse du Petit Nid, Anse du Grand Nid, and the Rives d’Or are not without interest for lazing around, swimming or various different water activities Especially during the summer. Scuba diving in the Blue Coast marine park is also popular for admiring the local flora and fauna. People who like sunbathing and lazing around will enjoy themselves on the pebbly beaches or in a small, peaceful inlet off the beaten track.
Over the years, Sausset has developed from a small fishing village with scarcely 200 inhabitants to become a small, family seaside resort. Little by little, the number of houses has increased and extensive building has taken place on the hills facing the port. Beautiful, sea-facing houses lie along the coast road, shaded by pine trees from the sun and the curiosity of passers-by.
As a stopping-off point between Cap Couronne to the west and Cap Méjean to the east, the port with its 500 moorings shelters both sailing and fishing boats. True to its traditions, fishing provides Sausset’s main focus, from highly competitive tuna fishing on the high seas to traditional coastal fishing for rock fish. Sardine and tuna festivals and fishing competitions enliven the port throughout the summer months and in January there are shellfish and sea urchin festivals.
High fishing place, Sausset-les-Pins allows the practice, depending on the season, from sport fishing to large, or inshore fishing for rockfish. These are then to be tasted at home or in the various restaurants of the village.
Events and festivities
Feast of Saint-Pierre since 1933 on the port with the tribute of the castaways of the sea.
Sea festival during the 3 Sundays of January since 1961 in the port.
Venetian feast that exists all August 14 since 1964 on the harbor pier with fireworks and musicians.
Distribution of gifts to the Saint Pierre circle from 1959 to 1972 and to the arts and culture room from 1973 to 1992.
Christmas lounge at the Alain-Calmat gymnasium since December 17, 1992.
Music festival which has been present every year since 1982 on the port.
Night market every weekend in July and August every year along the port.
Association forum at the Alain-Calmat gymnasium since 6/9/1996.
The Telethon took place in December 1996.