2013年威尼斯狂欢节回顾,意大利

2013年威尼斯狂欢节从1月26日持续到2月13日。从马戏到音乐,从美食到科学,今年威尼斯城的狂欢节似乎是一场尽管危机重重的狂欢节。浪漫的水城有时被浓雾笼罩,充满故事和奥秘。嘉年华期间举办了许多活动,盛大的化装舞会、激烈的面具比赛、高耸的假发和盛装打扮和迷人的面具游行。2013年的版本预示着世界上最引人入胜的事件之一的壮观能量。

2013年威尼斯狂欢节以“色彩生活”为主题,一种压倒性的色彩成为威尼斯牵引事件的主角:来自Corteo和Festa delle Marie,天使的飞行和忏悔岛上的斯沃洛德尔莱昂也有各种各样的颜色。

威尼斯是色彩发明之前唯一的彩色城市:卡纳莱托、瓜迪、贝洛托、蒂齐亚诺、乔尔乔内、贝里尼、委罗内塞完善了泻湖中透视和彩色绘画的艺术。不可能不是这样:世界上没有哪个城市的色谱表现最好,反映在运河的水和泻湖上。

这座在贝利尼、委罗内塞和瓜迪时代就已经成为色彩研究重要的城市,再次将色彩主题视为泻湖的主角。以色彩的名义准备了完整的活动日历:圣马可广场的音乐会、历史悠久的舞蹈和田野表演,还有音乐和小型活动的开胃酒。

2013年威尼斯狂欢节是色彩的狂欢节,因为每一种颜色都传达和唤起一种情感,而我们每个人都将一种情绪与之联系起来。色彩是最主观的东西,与狂欢节的精神共享着面具的无限变化和数量,反过来又对应着我们无限不同的态度。

颜色是感知刺激和神经学特征综合的结果,在此基础上身体对我们周围的物理性质做出反应。被囚禁在视网膜内的颜色传感器将颜色视觉传递给大脑,对光线的波长做出反应,光线照射到物体或人后,到达我们的眼睛。

颜色理论告诉我们,我们所看到的一切并不完全取决于其性质(材料、表面等),而最重要的是我们对视觉刺激的反应方式。美丽确实在旁观者的眼中。嘉年华也是如此,在那里一切都以暂停角色的名义被允许,在这种情况下,观察者有权利和义务不定义穿着服装的人的角色,而只定义他们戴的面具。蒙面,狂欢节的一个象征性动作,是这种解放的综合。

狂欢节期间的威尼斯引人入胜,历史悠久,表演和餐饮融为一体,当然还有华丽的服装,包括威尼斯闻名遐迩的奢华面具。如果您从未在威尼斯有过浪漫的邂逅,也许您有机会了解为什么无数世代热血沸腾的情人都曾感叹威尼斯的浪漫是最好的浪漫。由于每年都对威尼斯节日充满期待,它总是吸引着来自意大利和世界各地的大量游客。

在嘉年华期间,街道上挤满了身着豪华喜庆服装的庆祝者;在狂欢节期间体验威尼斯就像时光倒流,没有现代建筑来破坏这种错觉。人们可以在街上闲逛,穿上戏服和街头表演,或者在习惯接待皇室成员的宫殿或酒店之一参加晚会、歌剧或音乐会。

受欢迎和令人兴奋的还有庆祝狂欢节第二个周末的 Corteo delle Marie 和 Flight of the Angel,例如最美丽面具竞赛,来自世界各地的服装团体参加,鹰的飞行,嘉年华玛丽的加冕礼和在忏悔星期二结束派对的表演,在色彩、掌声、五彩纸屑以及女孩主角的优雅和美丽中度过。

嘉年华迷人的一面是宫廷派对:灰泥、黄金、天鹅绒和蜡烛,体验是压倒性的和身临其境的:在食物和香水之间,仙女和崇拜者、皇后和朝臣、伟大的领袖、总督、红衣主教、喜剧演员和舞者欢迎在几分钟内忘记他们所属时代的客人。

整个晚上,您可能会经历走上烛光宫殿的楼梯,期待着卡萨诺瓦的进步;在波光粼粼的大运河上享用鸡尾酒,尽情享受感官享受;同时只向精心挑选的密友透露您的真实身份。在所有这些奢侈之后,也许你的夜晚以神秘、浪漫、月光幽会结束,让你着迷和喘不过气来,准备好迎接第二天的整个体验。

主要活动
威尼斯狂欢节是一种具有深厚文化底蕴的传统,具有意义和美感。每年这个时候,全世界也都聚集在一起,凝视它的壮丽。每年,威尼斯狂欢节都会将这座城市变成一场盛大的盛会,色彩缤纷,音乐表演,烟花汇演和迷人的威尼斯舞会。如果您想体验威尼斯的异国情调,狂欢节就是您的最佳选择。

这一切都始于1月26日在跨高山公司 Ilotopie 水上的“Meta MorPhosiS Aquaticae”巡游。Cannaregio运河上的一条小径,位于 Tre Archi 桥和 Guglie 桥之间,唤醒游客对冬季涟漪水运动的热情。

2013 年威尼斯狂欢节是色彩狂欢节,因为它向威尼斯伟大的艺术家 Tiziano 和 Canaletto 以及他们使用的颜色致敬。在色彩变化和乐谱的旋风中,威尼斯狂欢节在圣马可广场举办了“圣马可大剧院”,这是与 Expovenice 合作创建的宏伟建筑。

每天晚上在圣马可广场都会举办一场音乐会,音乐会采用不同的色彩主题和音乐风格。例如,“Purple Rain”专注于80年代的音乐,“Yellow Submarine”向披头士致敬,而“Black is Back”则以70年代的灵魂音乐为中心。

2013 年威尼斯狂欢节期间还有许多其他活动。该活动包括晚宴、游行、舞蹈、假面舞会、巧克力品尝和戏剧表演。 Campo San Polo 还为儿童和内心的年轻人安装了一个溜冰场。游客和当地人都穿着优雅的服装漫步在威尼斯的街道上,在威尼斯的贡多拉和宫殿中拍照,这也是传统。

天使的飞行,威尼斯狂欢节虽然威尼斯狂欢节的亮点当然是在整个狂欢节期间在圣马可广场大剧院举行的最佳蒙面服装大赛,参赛者在舞台上游行,每个人都通过展示他们最好的假发来争夺比赛冠军、 面具和服装。参加游行的还有街头艺术家和传统舞者,为比赛增添了气氛。

Vogata del Silenzio,威尼斯狂欢节威尼斯狂欢节的其他突出传统是“Il Volo dell’Aquilla”(鹰的飞行)和“Volo dell’Angelo”(天使的飞行),人们装扮成鹰和天使分别通过悬挂在圣马可大教堂钟楼上的绳索降落在圣马可广场。天使的飞行是在 2 月 3 日星期日,鹰的飞行是在 2 月 10 日星期日。

嘉年华迷人的一面是宫廷派对:灰泥、黄金、天鹅绒和蜡烛,体验是压倒性的和身临其境的:在食物和香水之间,仙女和崇拜者、皇后和朝臣、伟大的领袖、总督、红衣主教、喜剧演员和舞者欢迎在几分钟内忘记他们所属时代的客人。

游客可以参观 Ca’ Vendramin Calergi Palace 的奇迹画廊,那里有精美的艺术、喜剧表演和美味佳肴,再加上狂野的服装和舞蹈直至深夜。宫殿随后举办了许多类似的活动,所以没有人需要错过。在整个威尼斯狂欢节期间,游客还可以参加圣马可广场的蒙面服装比赛。在总决赛之前,参赛者将根据他们服装的真实性进行评分。

以下是2013年版的活动安排:

威尼斯水上节 – 2013年嘉年华开幕
威尼斯狂欢节在卡纳雷吉欧开幕,一场前所未有的非凡水上表演,由法国 Ilotopie 公司的“​​Metamorphosis Aquaticae”,以前所未有的威尼斯表演带我们进入一个梦想和诗意的世界,一切都在水上。之后,Rio di Cannaregio 的 Dixie Funk Parade 音乐会充满了节奏和音乐。为开启这个神奇的夜晚,Circateatro公司将宾客带入梦幻般的氛围中,高跷表演“梦幻之夜 strampolata”。

天使的飞行 2013
2013 年天使奖是 2012 年玛丽节的获胜者玛丽玛尔塔·菲诺托 (Marta Finotto)。

鹰的飞行 2013
第二次飞行Fat Sunday的主角是意大利国家队的排球运动员Francesca Piccinini,身着19世纪骠骑兵服装,由Pietro Longhi Atelier的大师Francesco Briggi创作。

玛丽的盛宴 2013
12 位玛丽亚回到广场参加颁奖典礼和本届嘉年华的获奖玛丽亚 Julia Nasi 的加冕典礼。

斯沃洛德尔莱昂 2013
2012年狂欢节成功后,威尼斯的象征——翼狮从钟楼上空飞翔,伴随着Orchextrana乐队演奏的圣马可圣歌的音符。

驴的飞行 2013
梅斯特的传统活动,模仿圣马可广场天使飞行表演,魔术吹笛手让老少皆宜,随着班达贝林堡的节奏等待飞行的友好客人。

2013年最美丽的面具
参赛者穿着嘉年华服装,在创造力、色彩和想象力方面展开较量。在游行中,Overdream Association 的历史舞蹈、Murga“Saltimbranco”的音乐和“Moriss ei Pic”的表演。

文化节目
在剧院、博物馆和城市研究所举办的文化活动。2013 年威尼斯狂欢节的文化回顾通过打开宫殿、图书馆和档案馆、博物馆和音乐厅的大门,将这座城市置于舞台上,以混合、即兴的项目,适合比狂欢节气氛更辉煌和喜庆的环境。一个基本上免费或非常受欢迎的节目,每天都有数十场活动,勾勒出一个充满艺术活力和活力的城市。

通过连接城市的文化现实,从市政博物馆到国家博物馆中心,在整个活动期间组织的时间表,包括在宝贵的活动日历中的独立私人基金会(音乐会、会议、展览、戏剧和电影评论)以狂欢节为主题,证明威尼斯艺术和手工艺文化的作品;以艺术为重点的肖像行程也在神圣的地方;戏剧和喜剧表演;儿童童话故事和剧院,以及手工艺艺术工作坊。

历史
威尼斯狂欢节是一年一度在意大利威尼斯举行的节日。它是世界上最著名和最受欢迎的狂欢节之一。这个节日以其精心制作的面具而闻名于世。它的起源非常古老:第一个证据可以追溯到 1094 年 Doge Vitale Falier 的一份文件,其中讨论了公共娱乐,并且首次提到了嘉年华这个词。

威尼斯寡头组织的狂欢节制度通常归因于 Serenissima 的需要,就像古罗马已经发生的事情一样(参见 panem et circenses),授予人口,尤其是最卑微的社会阶层,一个完全致力于娱乐的时期庆祝活动期间,威尼斯人和外国人蜂拥而至整个城市,在狂野的音乐和舞蹈中狂欢。

通过面具和服装保证的匿名性,实现了一种所有社会分化的拉平,甚至当局和贵族的公开嘲笑也得到了授权。这些让步得到了广泛的容忍,并被认为是解决威尼斯共和国内部不可避免地出现的紧张和不满的天赐之道,威尼斯共和国在共同道德和公共秩序等问题上对其公民进行了严格限制。

现代嘉年华
仅在 1979 年,威尼斯狂欢节的百年传统才正式从灰烬中复活,这要归功于一些公民协会的倡议和承诺以及威尼斯市政府、凤凰剧院的后勤和经济贡献。威尼斯双年展和旅游局。

在几个版本中,也得益于为活动和城市保留的媒体知名度,威尼斯狂欢节重新追寻古老活动的足迹,并取得了巨大成功,尽管方式和氛围不同。

这个新嘉年华的各个年度版本经常被区分并致力于一个基本主题,这激发了他们举办派对和周围文化活动的灵感。一些版本的特点还在于与其他意大利和欧洲城市的结合和结对,从而使该活动在国际层面上得到进一步参与。

目前的威尼斯狂欢节已经成为一个伟大而壮观的旅游盛会,吸引了来自世界各地的成千上万的游客涌入这座城市,参加这个因其历史、氛围和面具而被认为独一无二的节日。

威尼斯狂欢节传统上最重要的日子是星期四忏悔和星期二忏悔,即使最大的涌入肯定是在活动的周末期间记录的。

假期
随着最近的嘉年华第一届,新的重大活动的活动计划和详细的日历同步建立。官方庆祝活动的开始日期被确定为与忏悔星期四之前的星期六和忏悔星期二结束,总共只有 11 天。与过去很长一段时间官方为期六周的狂欢节不同,现代狂欢节有一个集中的节目,但充满了个人事件。

与过去一样,威尼斯狂欢节仍然是一个深受各个年龄段观众欢迎的盛大节日。街头派对和各种各样的活动使成群的面具和游客的日子充满活力,他们快乐地分散在城市周围。除了在 Campi 和 Campielli 之间的广场举行官方派对外,今天仍然像过去一样在威尼斯的大宫殿中组织各种私人派对和假面舞会。在这些地方,随着时间的推移,丰富的家具和氛围几乎没有改变,可以重温过去的狂欢节的古老辉煌和传统。

玛利亚的盛宴
直到 1999 年,古老的 Festa delle Marie 终于得以修复,其氛围将古代游行的历史再现与更现代的服装选美女孩相结合。大约六百年后,布鲁诺·托西 (Bruno Tosi) 正式复兴了它

在狂欢节前的几周,当地的年轻美女会在庆祝活动中选出注定要游行的十二位玛丽亚作为游行的主角。派对通常在狂欢节的第一个星期六的下午举行,届时十二个玛丽将在由伴娘、挥旗手、音乐家和数百名身着古装的其他人物组成的长队陪同下开始从 San Pietro di Castello 教堂开始缓慢步行,前往圣马可广场,在一群面具和游客之间。

第二天,在圣马可广场,伴娘再次游行,等待官方宣布该版本的获胜者,十二位中最美丽的(所谓的年度玛丽),并颁发丰厚的奖品。

天使的飞行
在现代狂欢节中,它决定以类似于古代狂欢节的原始形式重新呈现给公众,天使飞行的周年纪念日,在其变种 Volo della Colombina 中。在过去,这个节目在忏悔星期四庆祝,而在现代版本中,它通常在庆祝活动的第一个星期天中午举行,作为正式宣布狂欢节开始的开幕活动之一。直到 2000 年版,在欢呼的人群上方,目光转向圣马可钟楼,一只鸽子形状的机械鸟像过去一样,在绳索上向总督宫下降。大约进行到一半的时候,下半部的活板门被打开了,

自 2001 年以来,即千禧年的第一个版本,天使飞行的旧公式再次通过,用真正的艺术家取代了哥伦比亚,并结束了圣马可广场的下降。2001 年的飞行委托给了 Compagnia dei Folli,后者为此次活动借出了自己的艺术家。对于每一版,嘉年华天使都被固定在金属缆绳上,从钟楼的钟楼上唯一一次下降,慢慢滑向地面,悬浮在虚空中,在填充下方空间的人群上方。

Tags:

Review of Venice Carnival 2013, Italy

The Venice Carnival 2013 last from January 26 to February 13. From circus to music, from gastronomy to science, the carnival of the Venetian city this year seems to be, despite the crisis, a generous carnival staging. The romantic water city sometimes covered by dense fog, full of stories and mysteries. Many events that was held during the carnival, grand costume balls, fierce mask contests, towering wigs and a parade of preening, enriched with sumptuous costumes and fascinating masks.

The 2013 edition, gives a foretaste of the spectacular energy of one of the most fascinating events in the world. The 2013 edition of the Venice Carnival revolve around the theme of “Life in color”, an overwhelming color becomes the protagonist of the events of the Venetian traction: from the Corteo and Festa delle Marie, there is a riot of colors also for the Flights of the Angel and the Svolo del Leon on Shrove.

Venice is the only city in color before the invention of color: Canaletto, Guardi, Bellotto, Tiziano, Giorgione, Bellini, Veronese perfected the art of perspective and color painting in the lagoon. It could not be otherwise: there is no city in the world where the color spectrum gives its best, reflecting on the water of the canals and on the lagoon.

The city, which became important for color studies already at the time of the Bellini, Veronese and Guardi, once again sees the theme of colors as protagonist in the lagoon. A full calendar of events is being prepared in the name of color: concerts in Piazza San Marco, historical dances and performances in the fields, without forgetting the aperitifs with music and smaller events.

The 2013 Carnival of Venice is the Carnival of color because each color communicates and arouses an emotion and each of us associates a mood with this. Colors are the most subjective thing there is, and share with the spirit of Carnival the infinite variety and number of masks, in turn corresponding to our infinite different attitudes.

Color is the result of a synthesis of perceptual stimuli and neurological characteristics on the basis of which the body reacts to the physical nature that surrounds us. Imprisoned inside the retina, color sensors transfer color vision to the brain, reacting to the wavelength of a ray of light that, after hitting an object or a person, reaches our eye.

The theories of color tell us that everything we see does not depend exclusively on its nature (the material, the surface, etc.) but above all on the way we react to visual stimuli. Beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder. And so is Carnival, where everything is allowed in the name of a temporary suspension of roles in which the observer has the right and duty not to define the characters of the people who wear a costume but only the mask they wear. Masking, a symbolic action of the Carnival, is the synthesis of this liberation.

Venice during the Carnival is spellbinding, with a historically rich mixture of performance and dining, and, of course, the magnificent costumes, including the extravagant masks for which Venice is so famous. If you have never had a romantic encounter in Venice, perhaps you have an opportunity to learn why countless generations of impassioned lovers have exclaimed that romance in Venice is the best romance there is. As every year there is great expectation for the Venetian festival, which always attracts a large number of tourists from all over Italy and the world for the occasion.

In the Carnival, the streets are filled with celebrants dressed in luxurious, festive garb; experiencing Venice during the Carnival is like stepping back in time, with no modern buildings to spoil the illusion. One can wander the streets, taking in the costumes and street performances, or attend an evening party, an opera or concert, in one of the palaces or hotels accustomed to hosting royalty.

Popular and exciting are also the Corteo delle Marie and the Flight of the Angel which celebrate the second weekend of Carnival, such as the Competition for the most beautiful mask in which costumed groups from all over the world participate, the Flight of the Eagle, the coronation of the Carnival Mary and the shows that close the party on Shrove Tuesday, in a riot of colors, applause, confetti and the grace and beauty of the girls protagonists.

The glamorous side of Carnival is that of the palace parties: stuccos, golds, velvets and candles, the experience is overwhelming and immersive: between food and perfumes couples of fairies and admirer, queens and courtiers, great leaders, doges, cardinals, comedians and dancers welcome guests who in a few minutes forget the era to which they belong.

All of an evening you might experience walking up the stairs of a candlelit palace, expecting Casanova to make his advances; enjoying cocktails over the glimmering Grand Canal, abandoning your senses to pleasure; all while revealing your true identity only to carefully chosen intimates. After all this extravagance perhaps your night is completed by a mysterious, romantic, moonlight tryst, leaving you entranced and breathless, ready to meet the whole experience again the following day.

Highlight events
Venice Carnival is one traditions with strong foundation in culture with the significance and beauty. The whole world also gathers every year around this time gaze on its grandeur. Every year, the Venice Carnival turns the city into a spectacular riot of pageantry, colour, musical performances, fireworks displays and glamorous Venetian balls. If you want to experience the exotic atmosphere of Venice at its best, carnival is the time to go.

It all start on January 26 with the “MetaMorPhosiS Aquaticae” parade on the water of the transalpine company Ilotopie. A path on the Cannaregio canal, between the Tre Archi bridge and the Guglie bridge, which awaken in visitors the passion for the rippling water movements in winter.

Venice Carnival 2013 was the Carnival of colours since it pay homage to Venice’s great artists Tiziano and Canaletto and the colours they used. In a whirlwind of chromatic variations and scores over the top, the Venice Carnival host the “Gran Teatro di San Marco” in Piazza San Marco, a majestic structure created in collaboration with Expovenice.

Every night in the Piazza San Marco a concert was held with a different colour theme and style of music. For example “Purple Rain” was dedicated to 80’s music, “Yellow Submarine” pay homage to the Beatles and “Black is Back” was centred on soul music from the 70’s.

There are many other things to do during the Venice Carnival 2013. The program includes gala dinners, parades, dances, masked balls, chocolate tasting and theatre performances. An ice skating rink also be installed in the Campo San Polo for children and the young at heart. It is also tradition for visitors and locals alike to stroll through the streets of Venice in their elegant costumes taking photos of themselves amongst the gondolas and palaces of Venice.

Flight of the Angel, Venice carnivalSurely though the highlight of Venice Carnival is the Best Masked Costume Contest occurring throughout the carnival at the Gran Teatro of Piazza San Marco where competitors parade on stage each vying to be the contest winner by exhibiting their very best period wigs, masks and costumes. Joining the parades are street artists and traditional dancers adding to the atmosphere of the contest.

Vogata del Silenzio, Venice CarnivalOther standout traditions of the Venice Carnival are the “Il Volo dell’Aquilla” (flight of the Eagle) and the “Volo dell’Angelo”(flight of the angel) in which people dressed as an eagle and angel respectively, land in the Piazza San Marco via a rope suspended from the bell tower of St Mark’s Basilica. The Flight of the Angel is on Sunday the 3rd of February and the Flight of the Eagle is on Sunday the 10th of February.

The glamorous side of Carnival is that of the palace parties: stuccos, golds, velvets and candles, the experience is overwhelming and immersive: between food and perfumes couples of fairies and admirer, queens and courtiers, great leaders, doges, cardinals, comedians and dancers welcome guests who in a few minutes forget the era to which they belong.

Visitors could attend the Gallery of Wonders at the Ca’ Vendramin Calergi Palace, where fine art, comedic performances and delicious food combine with wild costumes and dancing long into the night. The palace then hosts a number of similar events, so nobody need to miss out. Throughout the Carnival of Venice, visitors can also attend masked costume contests in the Piazza San Marco. Contestants are graded on the authenticity of their outfits before the Grand Finale.

The following was the program of the 2013 edition:

The Venetian Water Festival – Inauguration of the 2013 Carnival
The Venice Carnival opens in Cannaregio with an unprecedented and extraordinary show on the water, “Metamorphosis Aquaticae” by the French company Ilotopie, which takes us into a world of dreams and poetry with an unprecedented show for Venice, all set on the water. Afterwards, Rio di Cannaregio is filled with rhythm and music with the concert of the Dixie Funk Parade. To open this magical evening, the Circateatro company takes guests into a dreamlike atmosphere, with the show on stilts “Dream of a night strampolata”.

The Flight of the Angel 2013
The Angel 2013 is the winner Mary of the 2012 Feast of the maries, Marta Finotto.

The Flight of the Eagle 2013
The protagonist of the second flight, Fat Sunday, is the volleyball player of the Italian national team Francesca Piccinini with a nineteenth-century hussar costume, created by maestro Francesco Briggi of the Pietro Longhi Atelier.

Feast of the Marie 2013
The 12 Marys are back in the square for the Award Ceremony and the coronation of the winning Maria of this edition of the Carnival, Julia Nasi.

The Svolo del Leon 2013
After the success of the 2012 Carnival, the Winged Lion, symbol of Venice, descends from the bell tower to fly above the public, accompanied by the notes of the Hymn of San Marco performed by the Orchextrana group.

The Flight of the Donkey 2013
The traditional event from Mestre, a parody of the Flight of the Angel in Piazza San Marco, with magic pipers who enchant young and old alike, waiting for the friendly guest of the Flight with the rhythms of the Banda Berimbau.

The Most Beautiful Mask 2013
Competitors compete in creativity, colors and imagination with their Carnival costumes. Within the parade, the historical dances by the Overdream Association, the music of the Murga “Saltimbranco” and the show of “Moriss ei Pic”.

Cultural Program
Cultural events that take place in theaters, museums and city institutes. The cultural review of the Venice Carnival 2013 puts the city on stage by opening the doors of palaces, libraries and archives, museums and music halls to hybrid, impromptu projects, suitable for the more brilliant and festive context than the atmosphere of the Carnival induces. A largely free or very popular programming with dozens of daily events that outline an artistically vital and exuberant city.

A schedule that is organized for the entire period of the event by connecting the cultural realities of the city, from the Civic Museums to the State Museum Center, including the independent private foundations in a precious calendar of events (concerts, conferences, exhibitions, theatrical and film reviews) on the theme of the Carnival, works that testify to the culture of art and crafts in Venice; iconographic itineraries focused on the arts also in places of the sacred; theatrical and comedy performances; fairy tales for children and theaters, as well as workshops of the art of craftsmanship.

History
The Carnival of Venice is an annual festival held in Venice, Italy. It is one of the best known and most popular carnivals in the world. The festival is world-famous for its elaborate masks. Its origins are very ancient: the first evidence dates back to a document of the Doge Vitale Falier of 1094, where there is talk of public entertainment and in which the word Carnival is mentioned for the first time.

The institution of the Carnival by the Venetian oligarchies is generally attributed to the need of the Serenissima, like what already happened in ancient Rome (see panem et circenses), to grant the population, especially the humblest social classes, a period dedicated entirely for fun and celebrations, during which Venetians and foreigners flocked throughout the city to party with wild music and dancing.

Through the anonymity that masks and costumes guaranteed, a sort of leveling of all social divisions was achieved and even the public derision of the authorities and the aristocracy was authorized. These concessions were widely tolerated and considered a providential outlet to the tensions and discontent that inevitably arose within the Republic of Venice, which placed strict limits on its citizens on issues such as common morality and public order.

The Modern Carnival
Only in 1979, the centuries-old tradition of the Venice Carnival officially rose from its ashes, thanks to the initiative and commitment of some citizens’ associations and the logistical and economic contribution of the Municipality of Venice, of the Teatro la Fenice., of the Venice Biennale and tourist boards.

Within a few editions, thanks also to the media visibility reserved for the event and the city, the Venice Carnival has returned to tracing the footsteps of the ancient event with great success, albeit in different ways and atmospheres.

The individual annual editions of this new Carnival have often been distinguished and dedicated to a basic theme, which inspires them for parties and surrounding cultural events. Some editions were also characterized by combinations and twinning with other Italian and European cities, thus providing further involvement of the event at an international level.

The current Carnival of Venice has become a great and spectacular tourist event, which attracts thousands of visitors from all over the world who flock to the city to participate in this festival considered unique for its history, atmosphere and masks.

The traditionally most important days of the Venetian Carnival are Shrove Thursday and Shrove Tuesday, even if the greatest influxes are certainly recorded during the weekends of the event.

The holidays
With the first edition of the recent Carnival, a program of events and a detailed calendar for the new major event are simultaneously established. The date for the start of the official celebrations is established to coincide with the Saturday before Shrove Thursday and the end with Shrove Tuesday, for a total duration of only eleven days. Unlike the Carnival of the past, which for a long time had an official duration of six weeks, the modern one takes place with a concentrated program, but full of individual events.

As in the past, the Carnival of Venice still represents a great popular festival for a large audience of all ages. Street parties and events of all kinds animate the days of the groups of masks and tourists, who happily scatter around the city. In addition to the official parties in the square between campi and campielli, still today as in the past various private parties and masked balls are organized in the great Venetian palaces. In these places, rich in furnishings and atmospheres almost unchanged over time, it is possible to relive the ancient splendors and the tradition of the Carnival of the past.

The Feast of the Marys
Only in 1999 the ancient Festa delle Marie was finally restored, with an atmosphere that combines the historical re-enactment of the ancient procession with the girls with a more modern beauty pageant in costume. It was officially revived about six hundred years later, by Bruno Tosi

In the weeks preceding the Carnival, a sort of selection is held among the young local beauties to choose the twelve Marys destined to parade as protagonists of the procession, during the celebration. The party generally takes place on the afternoon of the first Saturday of the Carnival, when the twelve Marys, accompanied by a long procession made up of a procession of bridesmaids, flag-wavers, musicians and hundreds of other figures in period costume, begins its slow walk starting from the church of San Pietro di Castello and heading towards Piazza San Marco, between the wings of a crowd of masks and tourists.

In Piazza San Marco, the next day, the bridesmaids parade again awaiting the official proclamation of the winner of the edition, the most beautiful of the twelve (the so-called Mary of the year), to whom a substantial prize is awarded.

The Flight of the Angel
In the modern Carnival it was decided to re-present to the public, in a guise similar to the original one of the ancient Carnival, the anniversary of the Flight of the Angel, in its variant of Volo della Colombina. While in the past this show was celebrated on Shrove Thursday, in modern editions it is generally held at noon on the first Sunday of celebration, as one of the opening events that officially decree the beginning of the Carnival itself. Until the 2000 edition, above a cheering crowd, with its gaze turned to the Campanile of San Marco, a mechanical bird with the shape of a dove carried out, as in the past, its descent on the rope towards the Doge’s Palace. Approximately halfway through, a trap door was opened in its lower part,

Since the 2001 edition, the first of the millennium, the old formula of the Flight of the Angel has been passed again, replacing the Colombina with a real artist and ending the descent in Piazza San Marco. The 2001 flight was entrusted to the Compagnia dei Folli, which lent its own artist for the event. For each edition, the Angel of the Carnival, secured to a metal cable, makes his only descent from the belfry of the bell tower, slowly sliding towards the ground, suspended in the void, above the multitude that fills the space below.

Tags: