2012年威尼斯狂欢节回顾,意大利

2012年威尼斯狂欢节从2月4日持续到2月21日。2012 年的狂欢节让人们预尝世界上最迷人的活动之一的壮观能量。在历史建筑、田野和街道以及剧院中,有丰富的节目、音乐会、独奏会和表演节目。嘉年华期间举办了许多活动,盛大的化装舞会、激烈的面具比赛、高耸的假发和盛装打扮和迷人的面具游行。从马戏到音乐,从文学到戏剧,今年威尼斯城的狂欢是一场盛大的狂欢。

2012年威尼斯狂欢节以“生活就是戏剧!是时候戴上面具了”为主题,正如标题所暗示的那样,以威尼斯为戏剧之都的生活戏剧化。威尼斯狂欢节,从十六世纪到威尼斯共和国末期,恰逢戏剧季的高峰期,不仅在剧院里,在一些广场上也有很多演出。

今年的注意力集中在城市的增值上,通过丰富的表演节目、音乐会、独奏会和在历史悠久的宫殿、小广场、小街和小巷中的表演,开辟了许多与威尼斯表演业历史相关的地方。在剧院里。

嘉年华是关于盛装的衣着和变换的装扮,也是对自己的另一种诠释。戴面具的人总是丢弃另一个:日常生活的面具。戴上面具意味着给自己一个新的角色,一个新的形象:这是一个再生,一个创造过程。

嘉年华是自由区,让你成为你想要的。文艺复兴的文化内容是对普遍危机的回应,它贬低、贫困、甚至在价值层面上也使我们软弱。狂欢节可以成为摆脱消极、愤怒、焦虑、恐惧、偏见和让自己焕然一新的机会。

这座城市变成了一个伟大的剧院,在那里所有的市民都是新的角色,被召唤去展现新的自我。嘉年华希望回归其作为城市发生的本质,一种持续而广泛的表现形式,远远超出最近的传统,侵入新的地方,在城市的文化空间中找到新的阶段。一场集体表演,确实是最伟大的世界表演,每个参与者都有自己的角色、表演和观众。

狂欢节期间的威尼斯引人入胜,历史悠久,表演和餐饮融为一体,当然还有华丽的服装,包括威尼斯闻名遐迩的奢华面具。如果您从未在威尼斯有过浪漫的邂逅,也许您有机会了解为什么无数世代热血沸腾的情人都曾感叹威尼斯的浪漫是最好的浪漫。由于每年都对威尼斯节日充满期待,它总是吸引着来自意大利和世界各地的大量游客。

在嘉年华期间,街道上挤满了身着豪华喜庆服装的庆祝者;在狂欢节期间体验威尼斯就像时光倒流,没有现代建筑来破坏这种错觉。人们可以在街上闲逛,穿上戏服和街头表演,或者在习惯接待皇室成员的宫殿或酒店之一参加晚会、歌剧或音乐会。

受欢迎和令人兴奋的还有庆祝狂欢节第二个周末的 Corteo delle Marie 和 Flight of the Angel,例如最美丽面具竞赛,来自世界各地的服装团体参加,鹰的飞行,嘉年华玛丽的加冕礼和在忏悔星期二结束派对的表演,在色彩、掌声、五彩纸屑以及女孩主角的优雅和美丽中度过。

嘉年华迷人的一面是宫廷派对:灰泥、黄金、天鹅绒和蜡烛,体验是压倒性的和身临其境的:在食物和香水之间,仙女和崇拜者、皇后和朝臣、伟大的领袖、总督、红衣主教、喜剧演员和舞者欢迎在几分钟内忘记他们所属时代的客人。

整个晚上,您可能会经历走上烛光宫殿的楼梯,期待着卡萨诺瓦的进步;在波光粼粼的大运河上享用鸡尾酒,尽情享受感官享受;同时只向精心挑选的密友透露您的真实身份。在所有这些奢侈之后,也许你的夜晚以神秘、浪漫、月光幽会结束,让你着迷和喘不过气来,准备好迎接第二天的整个体验。

主要活动
威尼斯狂欢节是一种具有深厚文化底蕴的传统,具有意义和美感。每年这个时候,全世界也都聚集在一起,凝视它的壮丽。每年,威尼斯狂欢节都会将这座城市变成一场盛大的盛会,色彩缤纷,音乐表演,烟花汇演和迷人的威尼斯舞会。如果您想体验威尼斯的异国情调,狂欢节就是您的最佳选择。

“生活就是戏剧!是时候戴上面具了”,这是一个主题,艺术和文化活动、表演、活动,尤其是许多派对都围绕着这个主题展开。泻湖中的活动具有历史意义,从 16 世纪到 Serenissima 共和国末期,恰逢剧院季节,因此今年的主题是,因为在古代人们戴着面具去剧院。

主舞台在圣马可广场,“大剧院”(Greaty Theatre)就设在那里:一个壮观的景观结构,重现了过去的大型戏剧机器,这是一些主要活动的布景。事件,如天使飞行、玛丽亚斯游行和最佳蒙面服装比赛游行。

嘉年华是让城市所有文化机构参与进来的大好机会。节目的质量是在公众面前剪辑的基础。我们希望创建一个活动,让每个人,从游客到威尼斯人,都应该表达自己的创造力并成为活动的主角。在这种精神的感染下,这座城市充满了节日的人群,从圣马可广场的大舞台到最小的马路,每一个角落都变成了一个神奇的地方,你可以毫不畏惧地诠释真实的自我。

特别或传统的面具,在古老的作坊中制作,面部化妆,最重要的是世界上最大的表演艺术,总之,这是一个令人惊讶的地方,有很多不容错过的活动。

嘉年华迷人的一面是宫廷派对:灰泥、黄金、天鹅绒和蜡烛,体验是压倒性的和身临其境的:在食物和香水之间,仙女和崇拜者、皇后和朝臣、伟大的领袖、总督、红衣主教、喜剧演员和舞者欢迎在几分钟内忘记他们所属时代的客人。

游客可以参观 Ca’ Vendramin Calergi Palace 的奇迹画廊,那里有精美的艺术、喜剧表演和美味佳肴,再加上狂野的服装和舞蹈直至深夜。宫殿随后举办了许多类似的活动,所以没有人需要错过。在整个威尼斯狂欢节期间,游客还可以参加圣马可广场的蒙面服装比赛。在总决赛之前,参赛者将根据他们服装的真实性进行评分。

以下是 2012 版的活动安排:

2012 年威尼斯水上节
狂欢节的第一个星期天,所有威尼斯人的盛宴,献给泻湖城市的市民和客人。划船协会协调的水上游行沿着整个大运河航行,直到到达受欢迎的里约迪卡纳雷吉奥,在那里它在拥挤在河岸上的人群中游行。当船只抵达时,美食和葡萄酒摊位开放,提供公共 cicheti、威尼斯特色菜和卓越的传统嘉年华糖果:fritole 和 galani。

2012年度最美面具大赛
嘉年华最受期待的比赛又在圣马可大剧院举行,并获得了极大的赞誉。数百名选手在舞台上游行,用服装、面具和假发互相挑战。

天使的飞行 2012
“天使的飞行”Giulia Selero(2011 年度的玛丽亚)更名为“锐步天使飞行”,具有真正冠名赞助的所有特征。事实上,“Maria”Giulia Selero 身上,除了Atelier Nicolao 特制的漂亮服装外,还有一双闪闪发光的Reebok RealFlex!

圣马可广场的玛丽和玛丽节游行
传统的玛丽游行于下午 2 点从圣彼得堡城堡开始,并于下午 4 点左右到达圣马可广场,12 名选定的女孩在历史游行的陪同下游行。布鲁诺·托西导演。由 CERS 与威尼斯狂欢节之友和威尼斯狂欢节国际协会合作组织的历史游行。

Casinoʼ 滑稽戏 2012
一个难忘的滑稽和精致的夜晚,在一个独特的地方,有在 Ca’Vendramin Calergi 表演的国际级艺术家。

驴的飞行 2012
梅斯特的传统活动是对圣马可广场天使飞行的模仿,今年再次看到了从市政厅塔楼上下来的驴的角色中的“明星”。

鹰的飞行 2012
是体操运动员Fabrizia D’Ottavio,2012年拉奎拉。1985年出生于基耶蒂,艺术体操世界冠军,2004年雅典奥运会获得银牌。

斯沃洛德尔莱昂 2012
问候旨在庆祝对圣马可翼狮的最高敬意,圣马可翼狮是我们城市的象征,特别是从画在大风景布上的钟楼下降,飞越广场上的公众。为了在大剧院的舞台上欢迎他,威尼斯合唱团演唱了圣马可的赞美诗,十二位威尼斯少女玛利亚,伴随着许多身着制服迎接威尼斯旗帜的学员。

寂静之行 2012
狂欢节象征性地结束,第二年,“寂静之行”,从里亚托桥通过航行到达圣马可盆地的无声贡多拉游行。当游行队伍到达 Punta della Dogana 时,象征性的 Toro,一台令人惊叹的风景机器,乘坐驳船驶向盆地,庆祝公牛的象征性牺牲。

文化节目
在剧院、博物馆和城市研究所举办的文化活动。2012年威尼斯狂欢节的文化回顾通过打开宫殿、图书馆和档案馆、博物馆和音乐厅的大门,将这座城市置于舞台上,以混合、即兴的项目,适合比狂欢节气氛更辉煌和喜庆的环境。一个基本上免费或非常受欢迎的节目,每天都有数十场活动,勾勒出一个充满艺术活力和活力的城市。

通过连接城市的文化现实,从市政博物馆到国家博物馆中心,在整个活动期间组织的时间表,包括在宝贵的活动日历中的独立私人基金会(音乐会、会议、展览、戏剧和电影评论)以狂欢节为主题,证明威尼斯艺术和手工艺文化的作品;以艺术为重点的肖像行程也在神圣的地方;戏剧和喜剧表演;儿童童话故事和剧院,以及手工艺艺术工作坊。

历史
威尼斯狂欢节是一年一度在意大利威尼斯举行的节日。它是世界上最著名和最受欢迎的狂欢节之一。这个节日以其精心制作的面具而闻名于世。它的起源非常古老:第一个证据可以追溯到 1094 年 Doge Vitale Falier 的一份文件,其中讨论了公共娱乐,并且首次提到了嘉年华这个词。

威尼斯寡头组织的狂欢节制度通常归因于 Serenissima 的需要,就像古罗马已经发生的事情一样(参见 panem et circenses),授予人口,尤其是最卑微的社会阶层,一个完全致力于娱乐的时期庆祝活动期间,威尼斯人和外国人蜂拥而至整个城市,在狂野的音乐和舞蹈中狂欢。

通过面具和服装保证的匿名性,实现了一种所有社会分化的拉平,甚至当局和贵族的公开嘲笑也得到了授权。这些让步得到了广泛的容忍,并被认为是解决威尼斯共和国内部不可避免地出现的紧张和不满的天赐之道,威尼斯共和国在共同道德和公共秩序等问题上对其公民进行了严格限制。

现代嘉年华
仅在 1979 年,威尼斯狂欢节的百年传统才正式从灰烬中复活,这要归功于一些公民协会的倡议和承诺以及威尼斯市政府、凤凰剧院的后勤和经济贡献。威尼斯双年展和旅游局。

在几个版本中,也得益于为活动和城市保留的媒体知名度,威尼斯狂欢节重新追寻古老活动的足迹,并取得了巨大成功,尽管方式和氛围不同。

这个新嘉年华的各个年度版本经常被区分并致力于一个基本主题,这激发了他们举办派对和周围文化活动的灵感。一些版本的特点还在于与其他意大利和欧洲城市的结合和结对,从而使该活动在国际层面上得到进一步参与。

目前的威尼斯狂欢节已经成为一个伟大而壮观的旅游盛会,吸引了来自世界各地的成千上万的游客涌入这座城市,参加这个因其历史、氛围和面具而被认为独一无二的节日。

威尼斯狂欢节传统上最重要的日子是星期四忏悔和星期二忏悔,即使最大的涌入肯定是在活动的周末期间记录的。

假期
随着最近的嘉年华第一届,新的重大活动的活动计划和详细的日历同步建立。官方庆祝活动的开始日期被确定为与忏悔星期四之前的星期六和忏悔星期二结束,总共只有 11 天。与过去很长一段时间官方为期六周的狂欢节不同,现代狂欢节有一个集中的节目,但充满了个人事件。

与过去一样,威尼斯狂欢节仍然是一个深受各个年龄段观众欢迎的盛大节日。街头派对和各种各样的活动使成群的面具和游客的日子充满活力,他们快乐地分散在城市周围。除了在 Campi 和 Campielli 之间的广场举行官方派对外,今天仍然像过去一样在威尼斯的大宫殿中组织各种私人派对和假面舞会。在这些地方,随着时间的推移,丰富的家具和氛围几乎没有改变,可以重温过去的狂欢节的古老辉煌和传统。

玛利亚的盛宴
直到 1999 年,古老的 Festa delle Marie 终于得以修复,其氛围将古代游行的历史再现与更现代的服装选美女孩相结合。大约六百年后,布鲁诺·托西 (Bruno Tosi) 正式复兴了它

在狂欢节前的几周,当地的年轻美女会在庆祝活动中选出注定要游行的十二位玛丽亚作为游行的主角。派对通常在狂欢节的第一个星期六的下午举行,届时十二个玛丽将在由伴娘、挥旗手、音乐家和数百名身着古装的其他人物组成的长队陪同下开始从 San Pietro di Castello 教堂开始缓慢步行,前往圣马可广场,在一群面具和游客之间。

第二天,在圣马可广场,伴娘再次游行,等待官方宣布该版本的获胜者,十二位中最美丽的(所谓的年度玛丽),并颁发丰厚的奖品。

天使的飞行
在现代狂欢节中,它决定以类似于古代狂欢节的原始形式重新呈现给公众,天使飞行的周年纪念日,在其变种 Volo della Colombina 中。在过去,这个节目在忏悔星期四庆祝,而在现代版本中,它通常在庆祝活动的第一个星期天中午举行,作为正式宣布狂欢节开始的开幕活动之一。直到 2000 年版,在欢呼的人群上方,目光转向圣马可钟楼,一只鸽子形状的机械鸟像过去一样,在绳索上向总督宫下降。大约进行到一半的时候,下半部的活板门被打开了,

自 2001 年以来,即千禧年的第一个版本,天使飞行的旧公式再次通过,用真正的艺术家取代了哥伦比亚,并结束了圣马可广场的下降。2001 年的飞行委托给了 Compagnia dei Folli,后者为此次活动借出了自己的艺术家。对于每一版,嘉年华天使都被固定在金属缆绳上,从钟楼的钟楼上唯一一次下降,慢慢滑向地面,悬浮在虚空中,在填充下方空间的人群上方。

Tags:

Review of Venice Carnival 2012, Italy

The Venice Carnival 2012 last from February 4 to February 21. The 2012 edition, gives a foretaste of the spectacular energy of one of the most fascinating events in the world. with a rich program of shows, musical concerts, recitals and performances spread in the historic buildings, in the fields and in the streets, as well as in the theaters. Many events that was held during the carnival, grand costume balls, fierce mask contests, towering wigs and a parade of preening, enriched with sumptuous costumes and fascinating masks. From circus to music, from literature to drama, the carnival of the Venetian city this year was a generous carnival staging.

The 2012 edition of the Venice Carnival revolve around the theme of “Life is theatre! It’s time to get masked”, as suggested by the title, dramatization of life with Venice as the capital of theatre. The Carnival in Venice, from the XVI century to the end of the Venetian Republic, coincided with the peak of the theatre season, with many performances not only in the theatres but also in some squares.

This years the attention is focused into the valorization of the city, opening many places connected to the history of the Venetian show business, through a rich program of shows, music concerts, recitals and performances in historic palaces, fields, lanes, as well as in the theatres.

Carnival is about dress disguise and outward appearance transgression, but also another way of interpreting oneself. Whoever wears a mask always discards another: the mask of everyday life. Wearing a mask means giving yourself a new character, a new image: it is a regeneration, a creative process.

Carnival is the free zone that allows you to be what you want. A re-generative cultural content is a response to the general crisis, which demeans, impoverishes, makes us weak even at the value level. Carnival can become an opportunity to get rid of negativity, anger, anxiety, fear, prejudice and make yourself new.

The city becomes a great theater, where all citizens are new characters, called to reveal a new self. Carnival wants to return to its nature as a city happening, a continuous and widespread representation that lasts well beyond the days of recent tradition, invades new places, finds new stages in the cultural spaces of the city. A collective performance, indeed the greatest world performance, where each participant has his part, his show, his audience.

Venice during the Carnival is spellbinding, with a historically rich mixture of performance and dining, and, of course, the magnificent costumes, including the extravagant masks for which Venice is so famous. If you have never had a romantic encounter in Venice, perhaps you have an opportunity to learn why countless generations of impassioned lovers have exclaimed that romance in Venice is the best romance there is. As every year there is great expectation for the Venetian festival, which always attracts a large number of tourists from all over Italy and the world for the occasion.

In the Carnival, the streets are filled with celebrants dressed in luxurious, festive garb; experiencing Venice during the Carnival is like stepping back in time, with no modern buildings to spoil the illusion. One can wander the streets, taking in the costumes and street performances, or attend an evening party, an opera or concert, in one of the palaces or hotels accustomed to hosting royalty.

Popular and exciting are also the Corteo delle Marie and the Flight of the Angel which celebrate the second weekend of Carnival, such as the Competition for the most beautiful mask in which costumed groups from all over the world participate, the Flight of the Eagle, the coronation of the Carnival Mary and the shows that close the party on Shrove Tuesday, in a riot of colors, applause, confetti and the grace and beauty of the girls protagonists.

The glamorous side of Carnival is that of the palace parties: stuccos, golds, velvets and candles, the experience is overwhelming and immersive: between food and perfumes couples of fairies and admirer, queens and courtiers, great leaders, doges, cardinals, comedians and dancers welcome guests who in a few minutes forget the era to which they belong.

All of an evening you might experience walking up the stairs of a candlelit palace, expecting Casanova to make his advances; enjoying cocktails over the glimmering Grand Canal, abandoning your senses to pleasure; all while revealing your true identity only to carefully chosen intimates. After all this extravagance perhaps your night is completed by a mysterious, romantic, moonlight tryst, leaving you entranced and breathless, ready to meet the whole experience again the following day.

Highlight events
Venice Carnival is one traditions with strong foundation in culture with the significance and beauty. The whole world also gathers every year around this time gaze on its grandeur. Every year, the Venice Carnival turns the city into a spectacular riot of pageantry, colour, musical performances, fireworks displays and glamorous Venetian balls. If you want to experience the exotic atmosphere of Venice at its best, carnival is the time to go.

“Life is theatre! It’s time to get masked”, a theme around which artistic and cultural events, shows, events and, above all, a lot of party revolve. The event in the lagoon is historic and from the sixteenth century to the end of the Serenissima Republic coincided with the theater season, hence the theme of this year, since in ancient times people went to the theater in masks.

The main stage was in Piazza San Marco, where the “Gran Teatro” (Greaty Theatre) was set up: a spectacular scenic structure that reproduces the big theatrical machines of the past, and that was the set of some of the main event of the event like The Flight od the Angel, the Parade of the Marias and the Parade for the best masked costume contest.

The Carnival is a big opportunity to involve all the cultural institutions of the city. The quality of the shows is basic to cut in the public. We want to create an event where everyone, from the tourist to the Venetian, should express his own creativity and become the protagonist of the event. Infected by this spirit, the city is filled with a festive crowd and from the large stage of Piazza San Marco to the smallest calle, every corner becomes a magical place where you can interpret your authentic self without fear or hesitation.

Particular or traditional masks, made in the ancient workshops, make-up on the face and above all the largest set of performing arts in the world, in short, a surprising place with a program full of events not to be missed.

The glamorous side of Carnival is that of the palace parties: stuccos, golds, velvets and candles, the experience is overwhelming and immersive: between food and perfumes couples of fairies and admirer, queens and courtiers, great leaders, doges, cardinals, comedians and dancers welcome guests who in a few minutes forget the era to which they belong.

Visitors could attend the Gallery of Wonders at the Ca’ Vendramin Calergi Palace, where fine art, comedic performances and delicious food combine with wild costumes and dancing long into the night. The palace then hosts a number of similar events, so nobody need to miss out. Throughout the Carnival of Venice, visitors can also attend masked costume contests in the Piazza San Marco. Contestants are graded on the authenticity of their outfits before the Grand Finale.

The following was the program of the 2012 edition:

The Venetian Festival on Water 2012
The first Sunday of Carnival, the feast of all Venetians, dedicated to citizens and guests of the lagoon city. The water parade of the Rowing Association Coordination sails along the entire Grand Canal until it reaches the popular Rio di Cannaregio, where it parades in a riot of crowds crowded on the banks. When the boats arrive, the food and wine stands open up, offering the public cicheti, Venetian specialties and traditional Carnival sweets par excellence: fritole and galani.

Competition for the Most Beautiful Mask 2012
The most awaited competition of the Carnival is back, at the Gran Teatro di San Marco, with great acclaim. Hundreds of competitors parade on stage, challenging each other with costumes, masks and wigs.

The Flight of the Angel 2012
The “Flight of the Angel” Giulia Selero (Maria of the year 2011) renamed the “Reebok Angel Flight”, with all the characteristics of a real title sponsorship. In fact, the “Maria” Giulia Selero wears, in addition to a beautiful costume specially made by Atelier Nicolao, a pair of sparkling Reebok RealFlex!

Parade of the Marie and Festa delle Marie in Piazza San Marco
The traditional Parade of the Marie starts from San Pietro di Castello at 2.00 pm and arrives in Piazza San Marco at around 4.00 pm, where the 12 selected girls parade accompanied by the historical procession. Directed by Bruno Tosi. Historical parade organized by the CERS with the collaboration of the Friends of the Venice Carnival and International Association for the Venice Carnival.

Casinoʼ Burlesque 2012
An unforgettable evening of burlesque and refinement, in an exclusive location, with the presence of international level artists who perform at Ca ‘Vendramin Calergi.

The Flight of the Donkey 2012
The traditional event from Mestre, a parody of the Flight of the Angel in Piazza San Marco, again this year sees a “star” in the role of the donkey descending from the Town Hall tower.

The Flight of the Eagle 2012
It is the gymnast Fabrizia D’Ottavio, L’Aquila 2012. Born in Chieti in 1985, she was world champion in artistic gymnastics and won the silver medal at the 2004 Athens Olympics.

The Svolo del Leon 2012
The greeting is intended to celebrate the highest tributes to the Winged Lion of San Marco, the symbol of our city which, exceptionally, descend from the bell tower painted on a large scenic cloth to fly over the public in the square. To welcome him on the stage of the Gran Teatro the verses of the hymn of San Marco sung by a Venetian choir, twelve Venetian maidens, the Marys, accompanied by as many cadets in full uniform who greet the banner of Venice.

The Row of Silence 2012
The Carnival ends symbolically, for the second year, with the “Row of Silence”, with a procession of silent gondolas that from the Rialto Bridge reach the San Marco Basin by sailing. When the procession reaches Punta della Dogana the symbolic Toro, a stunning scenic machine, takes off on a barge heading towards the basin celebrating the symbolic sacrifice of the bull.

Cultural Program
Cultural events that take place in theaters, museums and city institutes. The cultural review of the Venice Carnival 2012 puts the city on stage by opening the doors of palaces, libraries and archives, museums and music halls to hybrid, impromptu projects, suitable for the more brilliant and festive context than the atmosphere of the Carnival induces. A largely free or very popular programming with dozens of daily events that outline an artistically vital and exuberant city.

A schedule that is organized for the entire period of the event by connecting the cultural realities of the city, from the Civic Museums to the State Museum Center, including the independent private foundations in a precious calendar of events (concerts, conferences, exhibitions, theatrical and film reviews) on the theme of the Carnival, works that testify to the culture of art and crafts in Venice; iconographic itineraries focused on the arts also in places of the sacred; theatrical and comedy performances; fairy tales for children and theaters, as well as workshops of the art of craftsmanship.

History
The Carnival of Venice is an annual festival held in Venice, Italy. It is one of the best known and most popular carnivals in the world. The festival is world-famous for its elaborate masks. Its origins are very ancient: the first evidence dates back to a document of the Doge Vitale Falier of 1094, where there is talk of public entertainment and in which the word Carnival is mentioned for the first time.

The institution of the Carnival by the Venetian oligarchies is generally attributed to the need of the Serenissima, like what already happened in ancient Rome (see panem et circenses), to grant the population, especially the humblest social classes, a period dedicated entirely for fun and celebrations, during which Venetians and foreigners flocked throughout the city to party with wild music and dancing.

Through the anonymity that masks and costumes guaranteed, a sort of leveling of all social divisions was achieved and even the public derision of the authorities and the aristocracy was authorized. These concessions were widely tolerated and considered a providential outlet to the tensions and discontent that inevitably arose within the Republic of Venice, which placed strict limits on its citizens on issues such as common morality and public order.

The Modern Carnival
Only in 1979, the centuries-old tradition of the Venice Carnival officially rose from its ashes, thanks to the initiative and commitment of some citizens’ associations and the logistical and economic contribution of the Municipality of Venice, of the Teatro la Fenice., of the Venice Biennale and tourist boards.

Within a few editions, thanks also to the media visibility reserved for the event and the city, the Venice Carnival has returned to tracing the footsteps of the ancient event with great success, albeit in different ways and atmospheres.

The individual annual editions of this new Carnival have often been distinguished and dedicated to a basic theme, which inspires them for parties and surrounding cultural events. Some editions were also characterized by combinations and twinning with other Italian and European cities, thus providing further involvement of the event at an international level.

The current Carnival of Venice has become a great and spectacular tourist event, which attracts thousands of visitors from all over the world who flock to the city to participate in this festival considered unique for its history, atmosphere and masks.

The traditionally most important days of the Venetian Carnival are Shrove Thursday and Shrove Tuesday, even if the greatest influxes are certainly recorded during the weekends of the event.

The holidays
With the first edition of the recent Carnival, a program of events and a detailed calendar for the new major event are simultaneously established. The date for the start of the official celebrations is established to coincide with the Saturday before Shrove Thursday and the end with Shrove Tuesday, for a total duration of only eleven days. Unlike the Carnival of the past, which for a long time had an official duration of six weeks, the modern one takes place with a concentrated program, but full of individual events.

As in the past, the Carnival of Venice still represents a great popular festival for a large audience of all ages. Street parties and events of all kinds animate the days of the groups of masks and tourists, who happily scatter around the city. In addition to the official parties in the square between campi and campielli, still today as in the past various private parties and masked balls are organized in the great Venetian palaces. In these places, rich in furnishings and atmospheres almost unchanged over time, it is possible to relive the ancient splendors and the tradition of the Carnival of the past.

The Feast of the Marys
Only in 1999 the ancient Festa delle Marie was finally restored, with an atmosphere that combines the historical re-enactment of the ancient procession with the girls with a more modern beauty pageant in costume. It was officially revived about six hundred years later, by Bruno Tosi

In the weeks preceding the Carnival, a sort of selection is held among the young local beauties to choose the twelve Marys destined to parade as protagonists of the procession, during the celebration. The party generally takes place on the afternoon of the first Saturday of the Carnival, when the twelve Marys, accompanied by a long procession made up of a procession of bridesmaids, flag-wavers, musicians and hundreds of other figures in period costume, begins its slow walk starting from the church of San Pietro di Castello and heading towards Piazza San Marco, between the wings of a crowd of masks and tourists.

In Piazza San Marco, the next day, the bridesmaids parade again awaiting the official proclamation of the winner of the edition, the most beautiful of the twelve (the so-called Mary of the year), to whom a substantial prize is awarded.

The Flight of the Angel
In the modern Carnival it was decided to re-present to the public, in a guise similar to the original one of the ancient Carnival, the anniversary of the Flight of the Angel, in its variant of Volo della Colombina. While in the past this show was celebrated on Shrove Thursday, in modern editions it is generally held at noon on the first Sunday of celebration, as one of the opening events that officially decree the beginning of the Carnival itself. Until the 2000 edition, above a cheering crowd, with its gaze turned to the Campanile of San Marco, a mechanical bird with the shape of a dove carried out, as in the past, its descent on the rope towards the Doge’s Palace. Approximately halfway through, a trap door was opened in its lower part,

Since the 2001 edition, the first of the millennium, the old formula of the Flight of the Angel has been passed again, replacing the Colombina with a real artist and ending the descent in Piazza San Marco. The 2001 flight was entrusted to the Compagnia dei Folli, which lent its own artist for the event. For each edition, the Angel of the Carnival, secured to a metal cable, makes his only descent from the belfry of the bell tower, slowly sliding towards the ground, suspended in the void, above the multitude that fills the space below.

Tags: