新客观主义电影

新客观主义(德语Neue Sachlichkeit的翻译,或者翻译为“新清醒”或“新事实”)是一种艺术运动,在20世纪20年代早期出现在德国,是对表现主义的反击。 该术语适用于许多艺术形式,包括电影。

在电影中,新客观性在1929年左右达到了它的高点。它转化为现实的电影设置,直接的摄影作品和编辑,倾向于将无生命的物体作为一种解释人物和事件的方式,缺乏明显的情感主义和社会主题。

与运动最相关的导演是Georg Wilhelm Pabst。 帕布斯特20世纪20年代的电影集中在诸如堕胎,卖淫,劳资纠纷,同性恋和成瘾等主题上。 他酷酷而富有挑战性的1925年Joyless Street是客观风格的标志性建筑。 Pabst 1930年的和平主义音乐电影“Westfront 1918”以凄凉,实事求是的方式看待第一次世界大战的经历。 由于明显谴责战争,它很快被禁止不适合公众观看。

其他风格的导演包括ErnőMetzner,Berthold Viertel和Gerhard Lamprecht。 随着魏玛共和国的垮台,这场运动基本上于1933年结束。

20世纪20年代的德国电影中出现了新客观性的电影,作为风格主义电影表现主义的风格主义隐喻的一种方式。 他们在动作主题中尝试了现实主义,演员的剧本以及真实电影的选择,所以在某些情况下也是由电影讲的事实。 这种新风格的前身,客观性的道路和描绘现实的人们理解命运,是由鲁尔矿工电影Green Was My Valley(1923)的卡尔格鲁恩的电影制片人组成的。 德国和英国的评论家们注意到这部电影的现实主义是一种与众不同的新事物。 然而,只有格奥尔格·威廉·帕布斯特(George Wilhelm Pabst)的Joyless Street(1925),预计将成为新客观性的第一个,才开始大量退出表现主义,并制作了许多具有社会批判性和现实性问题的电影。

在奥地利,以故事主持人埃米尔·克莱格(EmilKläger)的社会报道为基础,早在1920年就出现了新的客观性的第一个先行者。 在随后的几年中,出版了一些关于第一次世界大战后受通货膨胀影响的奥地利沉闷局面的作品:来自维也纳郊区的妇女(1925年),战后时期的鲨鱼(1926年),在阴影中电椅(1927年),其他女性(1928年)或妓女被谋杀(1930年)。

重点是20世纪20年代后半期的电影新客观性。 除了Pabst之外,Gerhard Lamprecht还是新客观性的重要代表之一。 1925年,他转向了声名狼借的第一部关于社会下层社会问题的三部曲的电影,其中有1,926个非婚生子女和另外一个人继续存在。 其他重要影片是Berthold Viertel的“十大标记”(1926年),柏林普罗米修斯电影和Leo Mittler的Beyond the Road制作的电影Phil Jutzi,以及Werner Hochbaum兄弟风格的汉堡SPD电影。 与周日人(1930年),帕布斯特的同志(1931年),还有维克托·特里瓦斯的“无人之地”(1931年)以及无产阶级电影Kuhle Wampe的经典或者:谁拥有这个世界? (1932年,Slatan Dudow),20世纪30年代早期的新客观性流程终结了新的国家社会主义电影政策。 在电影史上,新客观性被视为国家社会主义的审美先驱,尤其是山地电影。

例:
具有新客观主题和视觉风格的电影包括:

Joyless Street,1925
灵魂的秘密,1926年
珍妮奈的爱,1927年
警察报告:拘留,短期主题,1928年
1928年十大标记笔记的冒险
人们在1930年的星期天

Tags:

New Objectivity film

New Objectivity (a translation of the German Neue Sachlichkeit, alternatively translated as “New Sobriety” or “New matter-of-factness”) was an art movement that emerged in Germany in the early 1920s as a counter to expressionism. The term applies to a number of artistic forms, including film.

In film, New Objectivity reached its high point around 1929. It translated into realistic cinematic settings, straightforward camerawork and editing, a tendency to examine inanimate objects as a way to interpret characters and events, a lack of overt emotionalism, and social themes.

The director most associated with the movement is Georg Wilhelm Pabst. Pabst’s films of the 1920s concentrate on subjects such as abortion, prostitution, labor disputes, homosexuality, and addiction. His cool and critical 1925 Joyless Street is a landmark of the objective style. Pabst’s 1930 pacifist sound film Westfront 1918 views the World War I experience in a bleak, matter-of-fact way. With its clear denunciation of war, it was soon banned as unsuitable for public viewing.

Other directors in the style included Ernő Metzner, Berthold Viertel, and Gerhard Lamprecht. The movement ended essentially in 1933 with the fall of the Weimar Republic.

Films of the New Objectivity emerged in the German film of the 1920s as a way out of the mannerist metaphor of the stylistic prevailing film expressionism. They tried to realism in its action theme, the play of the actors but also the selection of authentic film sets, so in some cases also by the fact the film is spoken. A precursor of this new style that the road of objectivity and portrayed real people understand fates, was formed out of the film studios in the Ruhr miners movie Green Was My Valley (1923) ofKarl Grune. German and English critics noted the realism of this film as something out of the ordinary and new. However, only since Georg Wilhelm Pabst’s Joyless Street (1925), which is expected to be the first of the New Objectivity, began an extensive withdrawal from Expressionism, and made numerous films with socially critical and realistic issue.

In Austria, with the feature film Based on the social reports of the journalist Emil Kläger through the districts of misery and crime as early as 1920, a first forerunner of the New Objectivity emerged. In the following years a number of productions were published dealing with the dreary situation of inflation-stricken Austria after the First World War: women from the Vienna suburbs (1925), sharks of the post-war period (1926), in the shadow of the electric chair (1927), Other women (1928) or A Whore Has Been Murdered (1930).

The highlight was the New Objectivity in Film in the second half of the 1920s. In addition to Pabst, Gerhard Lamprecht was one of the important representatives of the New Objectivity. In 1925 he turned to the disreputable the first film of a trilogy about problems of social underclass, with 1,926 illegitimate and people with one another was continued. Other significant films were The Adventures of a Ten Mark (1926) by Berthold Viertel, the films Phil Jutzi produced by the Berlin Prometheus Film and Leo Mittler’s Beyond the Road, but also Hamburger SPD films in the style of Werner Hochbaum’s brothers. With People on Sunday (1930), Pabst’s Comradeship (1931), but also Victor Trivas ‘ No Man ‘s Land (1931) and the classic of the proletarian film Kuhle Wampe or: Who owns the world? (1932, Slatan Dudow ), the flow of New Objectivity in the early 1930s came to an end with the new National Socialist film policy. In terms of film history, the New Objectivity is seen in places as an aesthetic forerunner of National Socialism, especially with regard to mountain films.

Example:
Films with New Objectivity themes and visual style include:

Joyless Street, 1925
Secrets of a Soul, 1926
The Love of Jeanne Ney, 1927
Police Report: Hold-Up, short subject, 1928
Adventures of a Ten-Mark Note, 1928
People on Sunday, 1930

Source from Wikipedia

Tags: