澳大利亚国家博物馆,澳大利亚阿克顿

澳大利亚国家博物馆(National Museum of Australia)保留和解释澳大利亚的社会历史,探索形成国家的关键问题,人物和事件。它由1980年澳大利亚国家博物馆正式成立。

博物馆对新技术的创新使用对其在外展计划中的国际声誉日益增长至关重要,特别是与区域社区。 2003年至2008年,博物馆举办了一个学生政治论坛Talkback Classroom。

澳大利亚国立博物馆是一个社会历史博物馆。它的使命是通过引人入胜的对象,想法和计划,为澳大利亚带来丰富多彩的故事。

博物馆介绍自1788年以来的5万年土着遗产,定居点以及联合会和2000年悉尼奥运等重要活动。博物馆拥有世界上最大的土着树皮绘画作品和石材工具,冠军赛马德里·法拉和冠军的原型1号车。

博物馆还开发和旅行展览,从丛林人到冲浪救生。澳大利亚国家博物馆出版社出版了各种书籍,目录和期刊。博物馆研究中心采取跨学科的方法处理历史,确保博物馆是一个关于澳大利亚过去,现在和未来的想法和辩论的热闹论坛。

博物馆的成立是为了收集,记录,研究和传播澳大利亚的历史,重点关注三个主题:

•原住民和托雷斯海峡岛民的文化;
•自1788年以来的澳大利亚社会和历史;和
•人与环境。

国家博物馆的愿景是成为一个公认的世界级博物馆探索澳大利亚的过去,照亮现在,想象未来。

土着和托雷斯海峡岛民告诫这个网站包含死者的图像,可能会造成悲伤或痛苦。澳大利亚国家博物馆照顾确保使用这些图像咨询社区。

博物馆在2001年3月11日之前没有一个永久性住所,当时在国家首府堪培拉正式开放了一座专门的博物馆大楼。

由建筑师Howard Raggatt(设计设计师和项目设计总监)设计,博物馆建筑基于打结绳索的主题,象征性地汇集了澳大利亚人的故事。这些延伸中最明显的形成一个大循环,然后成为一条走道,延伸到相邻的AIATSIS大楼,以大卷曲结尾,仿佛巨大的丝带沿着地面随意展开。由于它与澳大利亚中部的自然地标一致,所以被誉为“乌鲁木”,这个丝带象征性地将该地点与瓦尔特·伯利·格里芬(Walter Burley Griffin)的堪培拉城市计划和土着澳大利亚的精神心脏整合在一起。

主入口大厅的形状延续了这个主题:就好像其他的矩形建筑已经建成了一个复杂的结,不适合建筑物内的结,然后被结了。完全非对称的复合体被设计成不像博物馆,具有令人惊叹的颜色和角度,不寻常的空间和不可预测的投影和纹理。

建筑物的外部被阳极氧化铝板覆盖。许多面板包括用盲文和其他装饰设备写的单词。其中的消息是“伴侣”和“她会是对的”。还包括有争议性的词语和短语,如“抱歉”和“原谅我们我们的种族灭绝”。这些更有争议的消息被银色光盘附着在表面上变得模糊不清,使得盲文难以辨认。盲文中的短语是“复活城”。这个短语可以指清理前堪培拉医院为博物馆铺路,也可以提及土着澳大利亚人和欧洲定居者之间的和解。该短语用作Raggett建筑物的另一个瓷砖上的标签,即墨尔本的Storey Hall。拉格特特对这个消息说:“我猜这个建筑物也试图成为一些大型的主题,还有一些这样的回忆。”

作为社会历史博物馆,澳大利亚国家博物馆展览探索澳大利亚的土地,民族和人民。

街景展示的一些物品是借给澳大利亚国家博物馆的。

Tags:

National Museum of Australia, Acton, Australia

The National Museum of Australia preserves and interprets Australia’s social history, exploring the key issues, people and events that have shaped the nation. It was formally established by the National Museum of Australia Act 1980.

The Museum’s innovative use of new technologies has been central to its growing international reputation in outreach programming, particularly with regional communities. From 2003 to 2008, the Museum hosted Talkback Classroom, a student political forum.

The National Museum of Australia is a museum of social history. Its mission is to bring to life the rich and diverse stories of Australia through compelling objects, ideas and programs.

The Museum profiles 50,000 years of Indigenous heritage, settlement since 1788 and key events including Federation and the Sydney 2000 Olympics. The Museum holds the world’s largest collection of Aboriginal bark paintings and stone tools, the heart of champion racehorse Phar Lap and the Holden prototype No. 1 car.

The Museum also develops and travels exhibitions on subjects ranging from bushrangers to surf lifesaving. The National Museum of Australia Press publishes a wide range of books, catalogues and journals. The Museum’s Research Centre takes a cross-disciplinary approach to history, ensuring the museum is a lively forum for ideas and debate about Australia’s past, present and future.

The Museum was established to collect, document, research and communicate the history of Australia, focusing on three key themes:

• Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and cultures;
• Australian society and history since 1788; and
• People and the environment.

The National Museum’s vision is to be a recognised world-class museum exploring Australia’s past, illuminating the present, imagining the future.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this site contains images of deceased persons, which may cause sadness or distress. The National Museum of Australia takes care to ensure that communities are consulted over the use of such images.

The Museum did not have a permanent home until 11 March 2001, when a purpose-built museum building was officially opened in the national capital Canberra.

As designed by architect Howard Raggatt (design architect and design director for the project), the museum building is based on a theme of knotted ropes, symbolically bringing together the stories of Australians. The most obvious of these extensions forms a large loop before becoming a walkway which extends past the neighbouring AIATSIS building ending in a large curl, as if a huge ribbon has haphazardly unrolled itself along the ground. Known as the “Uluru Axis” because it aligns with the central Australian natural landmark, the ribbon symbolically integrates the site with the Canberra city plan by Walter Burley Griffin and the spiritual heart of indigenous Australia.

The shape of the main entrance hall continues this theme: it is as though the otherwise rectangular building has been built encasing a complex knot which does not quite fit inside the building, and then the knot taken away. The entirely non-symmetrical complex is designed to not look like a museum, with startling colours and angles, unusual spaces and unpredictable projections and textures.

The exterior of the building is covered in anodised aluminium panels. Many of the panels include words written in braille and other decorative devices. Among the messages are “mate” and “she’ll be right”. Also included were such controversial words and phrases as “sorry” and “forgive us our genocide”. These more controversial messages have been obscured with silver discs being attached to the surface making the braille illegible. Among the phrases in braille are the words “Resurrection city”. The phrase may refer to the clearing of the former Canberra Hospital to make way for the museum or it could be a reference to reconciliation between Indigenous Australians and European settlers. The phrase is used as a label in tiles on another of Raggett’s buildings, the Storey Hall in Melbourne. Raggett says of that message: “I guess that tries to be some big sort of theme for this building as well and its sort of set of memories.”

As a social history museum, National Museum of Australia exhibitions explore the land, nation and people of Australia.

Some objects on display in Street View are on loan to the National Museum of Australia.

Tags: