National Motor Museum, Australie

Le National Motor Museum, Australie, est un musée de l’automobile situé dans les collines d’Adélaïde, dans le canton de Birdwood, en Australie-Méridionale. Créé en 1964 et ouvert au public peu de temps après, c’est le plus grand musée automobile d’Australie, avec près de 400 véhicules exposés.

Le musée a été créé par Jack Kaines et Len Vigar en 1964, et a été acheté par le gouvernement de l’Australie-Méridionale en 1976. Il possède une importante collection historiquement importante de voitures, motos et véhicules commerciaux. Le Musée est installé dans un complexe moderne adjacent à sa maison d’origine, le “Old Mill” sur Shannon Street, Birdwood.

C’est le point final de la baie annuelle à Birdwood, dans lequel les véhicules à moteur vétérans, vintage et classiques (motos et motos) sont conduits par leurs propriétaires de la zone de l’estran d’Adélaïde jusqu’aux collines d’Adélaïde pour finir au Musée où un festival est tenue.

Le National Motor Museum dans les halls d’exposition contemporains d’Australie explore les histoires de personnes et de véhicules qui ont façonné l’histoire de l’automobile en Australie.

Découvrez comment les véhicules à moteur ont ouvert l’Australie, reliant certaines des communautés les plus isolées du monde. Du majestueux à l’absurde, du fabriqué à la main au produit en série, découvrez les véhicules que les gens aimaient et détestaient, fouettaient et choyaient, dans la poursuite de leurs rêves automobiles!

En tant que centre international de collecte, de recherche, de préservation, d’éducation et de présentation de l’histoire du transport routier australien, le National Motor Museum est bien plus qu’une collection de véhicules. C’est une histoire sociale de la façon dont nous étions, de la façon dont nous sommes maintenant et de la voie de l’avenir.

Les collections

Véhicules anciens
Le Musée définit les véhicules anciens comme ceux construits avant 1904. Les véhicules de cette collection sont généralement importés d’Europe en tant que voitures complètes.

Véhicules vétérans
Ces véhicules sont définis comme ceux construits entre 1905 et 1918. Cette collection comprend des véhicules qui démontrent l’essor de l’industrie australienne de la carrosserie.

Véhicules d’époque
Le Musée définit ces véhicules comme ceux construits entre 1919 et 1930. La collection présente quelques premières marques assemblées en Australie.

Véhicules post-vintage
Le post-millésime est défini comme les véhicules construits entre 1931 et 1946.

Véhicules classiques
Ces véhicules sont définis par le Musée comme ceux construits entre 1946 et 1969. Cette collection documente l’âge de la voiture familiale et une période connue pour son style unique.

Véhicules modernes
Les véhicules modernes sont ceux fabriqués de 1970 à nos jours. La collection reflète une période qui représente l’émergence de l’industrie automobile japonaise en tant que concurrent majeur sur le marché occidental.

Véhicules commerciaux
Cette collection comprend des véhicules datant de 1909 spécialement conçus ou adaptés pour une utilisation commerciale.

motocyclettes
Composée d’une centaine de motos, cette collection couvre la plupart des aspects de la moto en Australie.

Collection d’images
La collection d’images comprend environ 30 000 images couvrant une variété de thèmes automobiles, y compris des images historiques, des images de véhicules de collection et certaines publicités connexes.

Jouets et modèles
Cette collection a un attrait important pour les enfants et les collectionneurs sérieux. Sont inclus les modèles moulés sous pression, les jouets en étain, les modèles en plastique les plus récents et les voitures à pédales.

Collection technique
Comprend des exemples de composants de véhicules qui démontrent le développement des véhicules au fil du temps.

Automobilia
Le terme «automobilia» peut être utilisé pour décrire tout artefact historique, souvenirs ou objets de collection liés aux véhicules à moteur et thèmes connexes.

Des expositions

Bugatti Veyron Eb 16.4

L’une des voitures les plus chères et les plus rapides au monde est maintenant exposée: une Bugatti Veyron EB 16.4 2008.

La Bugatti Veyron est un exploit extraordinaire de l’ingénierie automobile. Doté de sept vitesses et de pneus à affaissement spéciaux pouvant coûter jusqu’à 20 000 $ chacun, il est conçu spécifiquement pour gérer les vitesses de pointe. Le Veyron peut atteindre 100 km / h en 2,46 secondes et dispose d’un becquet spécial qui se déploie pour abaisser le véhicule lorsqu’il atteint 220 km / h.

Seulement 71 ont été vendus en 2008, alors en avoir un exposé au Musée est un plaisir rare.

Autres faits sur la voiture:

Les freins utilisent des disques composites renforcés de fibres de carbone, pas de métal.
À pleine vitesse, il consomme 78 litres de carburant par 100 km parcourus.
Le frein à main du véhicule est doté d’un système de freinage antiblocage ABS.
Environ 450 Veyron ont été produites avant la fin de la production en 2015.
La voiture a une traction intégrale (entraînement permanent aux quatre roues).
Il dispose d’un moteur de 8 litres capable de produire 987 ch / 736 kW.
Le poids du véhicule est de 1 888 kilogrammes.
Sa vitesse de pointe serait de 408,47 km / h (performances en course). Cependant, sa vitesse de pointe régulière est de 343 km / h.

Sunburnt Country: Icons Of Australian Motoring

Sunburnt Country rend hommage aux véhicules emblématiques de l’Australie, aux personnages légendaires, à l’innovation et aux voyages aventureux.

De la nouveauté d’une voiture sans chevaux en 1899 à la sortie en 1948 de la “ propre voiture d’Australie ” de Holden, Sunburnt Country célèbre l’histoire d’amour unique de l’Australie avec tout ce qui touche à l’automobile.

Les Australiens ont adopté l’automobile comme une partie fondamentale de nos vies, et pour beaucoup, c’est une obsession. L’exposition comprend le transporteur à vapeur Shearer construit en 1899, le Talbot de 1908 qui a traversé d’Adélaïde à Darwin et le fidèle Leyland Badger de 1936 qui a permis au légendaire facteur sud-australien de l’Outback, Tom Kruse, de livrer du courrier aux communautés rurales. D’autres véhicules et objets exposés capturent des moments importants de l’histoire automobile australienne.

Assemblé: le parcours de fabrication automobile en Australie

assembly explore et célèbre le dernier siècle de l’histoire de la fabrication de moteurs en Australie.

Alors que les portes de l’usine fermaient à l’usine Elizabeth de GM Holden fin 2017, l’Australie a vu la fin de la fabrication automobile dans ce pays. Cette exposition retrace l’histoire de l’automobile en Australie, de l’invention d’un bijoutier sud-australien fabriqué à la main, à la première voiture australienne, la Holden 48-215, aux voitures familiales bien-aimées des Ford Falcon et Holden Commodore.

Une chaîne de montage de l’usine Elizabeth de Holden est suspendue au-dessus de l’exposition et montre les différentes étapes de la construction. La dernière voiture de la chaîne de montage est la célèbre voiture de signature, que le personnel de Holden a signée ces dernières années.

L’exposition regorge d’interactifs numériques que les visiteurs peuvent explorer pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire de la fabrication automobile en Australie.

Comportement du modèle

De Boomeroo à Barbie, pour certains, la joie des jouets d’enfance ne s’estompe jamais.

Model Behavior présente les collections de trois Australiens du Sud passionnés de jouets et de modèles réduits de voitures. Si vous vous souvenez des modèles Corgi («ceux avec les fenêtres») ou si vous avez toujours voulu une voiture à pédales, Model Behavior est sûr de ravir.

Avant l’ère de l’automobile, les enfants ont exploré le monde à dos de cheval à bascule. C’était une progression naturelle vers une voiture modèle, car les voitures remplaçaient les chevaux comme moyen de se déplacer. Comme pour les vraies voitures, les premières voitures à pédales avaient un prix que seuls les riches pouvaient se permettre. Ils ont été fabriqués sur mesure et souvent des répliques précises de voitures à moteur, avec des bottes et des capots ouvrants, des pneus gonflables et une suspension à ressort à lames.

L’exposition présente un certain nombre de voitures à pédales qui ont pris vie dans l’atelier du grand-père d’Adélaïde Bob Phillips, et une impressionnante collection de modèles réduits de voitures Corgi, la passion de toujours d’Eric Hauschild.

Emporiums itinérants: Hawker Vans et le vendeur mobile de l’Australie rurale

Au début du XXe siècle, les colporteurs ont joué un rôle important dans le maintien des communautés rurales australiennes. Cette exposition présente deux véhicules de colporteur sud-australiens de la collection du National Motor Museum.

Les fourgonnettes appartenaient autrefois à Syd Graeber et Hassan Monsoor. Syd et Hassan ont voyagé avec leurs camionnettes dans les villes, les fermes et les élevages de bétail de l’arrière-pays, vendant un assortiment d’articles comme des cigarettes, des graines et des tissus.

Entrelacé avec les histoires des deux véhicules Traveling Emporiums explore l’histoire plus large des colporteurs en Australie. Vivez l’histoire du colporteur en découvrant les trésors inhabituels dans leurs fourgonnettes et en sentant les parfums de leurs marchandises.

Alice Anderson’S Motor Service

Alice Anderson a été la première femme propriétaire d’un garage en Australie.

En 1919, Alice a acheté un bloc de terrain sur Cotham Road à Kew, Victoria et a ouvert «Alice Anderson’s Motor Service». Le garage proposait des ventes d’essence, des réparations de véhicules, une école de conduite, un service de chauffeur 24h / 24 et des fêtes touristiques avec chauffeur organisées lors de voyages interétatiques. C’était une entreprise exclusivement féminine et Alice employait environ neuf chauffeurs et mécaniciens. Son ambition était de faire du travail de garage un métier adapté aux femmes.

Sa mort en 1926 reste un mystère; une nuit, elle nettoyait un pistolet automatique et s’est tiré une balle dans la tête. On spécule toujours si le coup était accidentel. Alice est une figure importante de l’histoire de l’automobile en Australie et son histoire démontre l’expérience d’être une femme dans l’industrie automobile au début du XXe siècle. Cette exposition explore la vie d’Alice et de ses «garagistes».

Moteur de jeu: Digital Legends

Exposition primée – Game Engine: Digital Legends est une exposition qui examine la relation entre et l’histoire de l’automobile et des jeux vidéo.
L’exposition vous permet d’explorer les changements dans la technologie du jeu de la manière la plus amusante: en jouant à certains des jeux automobiles les plus influents de l’histoire. Il comprend un joystick géant pour jouer à l’un des premiers jeux vidéo à moteur, Night Driver (1976) sur un écran géant. Huit autres “ légendes numériques ” sont jouables, notamment Forza Motor Sport 7 (2017), Forza Horizon 3 (2016), Rocket League (2015), Crazy Taxi (1999), Crash Team Racing (1999), Wipeout 2097 (1996), Road Rash (1991), Out Run (1986), Daytona et Sprint 4 (1977). L’exposition découvre également le moteur de jeu lui-même – le cadre sur lequel les jeux modernes sont construits. Jouez à un jeu de conduite sur mesure et voyez comment la modification des paramètres du moteur de jeu affecte le jeu lui-même.

Game Engine: Digital Legends est une excellente introduction au monde des jeux vidéo motorisés, et très amusant pour tous ceux qui sont nostalgiques des grands jeux du passé ou passionnés par les jeux du présent et du futur.

Garage des années 1920
Venez voir à quoi ressemblait l’intérieur d’un atelier mécanique typique dans les années 1920.

Les bénévoles du musée ont créé une réplique d’un garage des années 1920 en utilisant des plaques d’étain, des pompes à essence, des outils originaux, des images publicitaires, un extincteur et même une machine à écrire vintage et un petit bureau. La caractéristique principale est un châssis Ford Model T roulant, conçu pour montrer les différents composants d’un châssis, le train roulant et comment ils s’emboîtent. Toutes les pièces de la Ford Model T ont été aimablement données.

D’autres véhicules de la période sont également proposés, comme un Nash Light Six Tourer de 1927, une Harley-Davidson de 1929 et une Triumph Model W de 1927. Les visiteurs peuvent voir une grande exposition de chapeaux de moyeu et de badges de voiture anciens et anciens, une sélection de boîtiers de direction découpés et de petits moteurs, et une sélection de bougies d’allumage.

Solid Ground: une histoire du moulin Birdwood

Jusqu’en 1998, la collection du National Motor Museum se trouvait dans l’ancien Birdwood Mill. Cette exposition parcourt l’histoire du site.

Solid Ground explore l’histoire du site du Musée depuis ses origines avant que les colons allemands ne fondent la ville et construisent le premier moulin à farine jusqu’à son abandon et sa nouvelle vie de musée.

Entrez dans le sous-sol du magnifique moulin du patrimoine pour voir l’équipement de fraisage d’origine ainsi que la luxueuse moto Brough Superior appartenant au fondateur du musée Jack Kaines, l’un des premiers objets de la collection. L’exposition a été lancée le 20 novembre 2015, exactement 50 ans après la première ouverture du musée.

Vision et valeurs

Le National Motor Museum est un espace social où les visiteurs de tous âges, origines et capacités savent que leur communauté est incluse et que leurs histoires sont appréciées. Depuis 1965, des millions de visiteurs ont découvert le patrimoine automobile de l’Australie au Musée.

En tant que centre international de collecte, de recherche, de préservation, d’éducation et de présentation de l’histoire du transport routier australien, le National Motor Museum est bien plus qu’une collection de véhicules. C’est une histoire sociale de la façon dont nous étions, de la façon dont nous sommes maintenant et de la voie de l’avenir. C’est le tour de nos vies!

Tags:

National Motor Museum, Australia

The National Motor Museum, Australia, is an automobile museum in the Adelaide Hills in the township of Birdwood, South Australia. Established in 1964 and opened to the public soon afterwards, it is Australia’s largest motor museum, with close to 400 vehicles on display.

The Museum was started by Jack Kaines and Len Vigar in 1964, and was purchased by the South Australian Government in 1976. It holds a large and historically important collection of cars, motorcycles and commercial vehicles. The Museum is housed in a modern complex adjacent to its original home, the “Old Mill” on Shannon Street, Birdwood.

It is the endpoint of the annual Bay to Birdwood, in which veteran, vintage and classic motor vehicles (motorcars and motorbikes) are driven by their owners from the foreshore area of Adelaide through to the Adelaide Hills to finish at the Museum where a festival is held.

National Motor Museum in Australia’s contemporary exhibition halls explore the stories of people and vehicles that have shaped Australia’s motoring history.

Discover how motor vehicles have opened up Australia, linking some of the most isolated communities in the world. From the stately to the absurd, from the hand-built to the mass-produced, see the vehicles people loved and loathed, thrashed and pampered, in the pursuit of their motoring dreams!

As an international centre for the collection, research, preservation, education and display of Australian road transport history, the National Motor Museum is much more than a collection of vehicles. It is a social history of the way we were, the way we are now and the way of the future.

Collections

Antique Vehicles
The Museum defines antique vehicles as those built before 1904. The vehicles in this collection are typically imported from Europe as complete cars.

Veteran Vehicles
These vehicles are defined as those built between 1905 and 1918. This collection includes vehicles that demonstrate the rise in the Australian motor body building industry.

Vintage Vehicles
The Museum defines these vehicles as those built between 1919 and 1930. The collection features some early Australian assembled marques.

Post-Vintage Vehicles
Post-vintage is defined as vehicles built between 1931 and 1946.

Classic Vehicles
These vehicles are defined by the Museum as those built between 1946 and 1969. This collection documents the age of the family car and a period known for its unique styling.

Modern Vehicles
Modern vehicles are those manufactured from 1970 to the present. The collection reflects a period that represents the emergence of the Japanese automotive industry as a major competitor in the western market.

Commercial Vehicles
This collection comprises of vehicles dating back to 1909 that are specifically designed or adapted for use in a commercial capacity.

Motorcycles
Comprising of around 100 motorcycles this collection covers most aspects of motorcycling in Australia.

Image Collection
The image collection includes approximately 30,000 images covering a variety of motoring themes, including historic images, images of collection vehicles and some related advertising.

Toys And Models
This collection has significant appeal to both children and serious collectors. Included are die-cast models, tin toys, the more recent plastic models and pedal cars.

Technical Collection
Includes examples of vehicle components that demonstrate the development of vehicles over time.

Automobilia
The term ‘automobilia’ can be used to describe any historical artefact, memorabilia or collectible linked with motor vehicles and related themes.

Exhibitions

Bugatti Veyron Eb 16.4

One of the world’s most expensive and fastest cars is now on display: a 2008 Bugatti Veyron EB 16.4.

The Bugatti Veyron is an extraordinary feat of automotive engineering. Complete with seven gears and special run-flat tyres that cost up to $20,000 each it is designed specifically to handle top speeds. The Veyron can reach 100 km/h in 2.46 seconds and has a special spoiler that deploys to lower the vehicle when it hits 220 km/h.

Only 71 were sold in 2008 so having one on display at the Museum is a rare treat.

Other facts about the car:

The brakes use carbon fibre reinforced composite discs, not metal.
At full speed, it consumes 78 litres of fuel per 100kms travelled.
The vehicle’s handbrake has an ABS antilock braking system.
Around 450 Veyron’s were produced before production ceased in 2015.
The car has all-wheel-drive (permanent drive to all four wheels).
It has an 8-litre engine capable of producing 987bhp/736Kw.
The weight of the vehicle is 1,888 kilograms.
Its top speed is believed to be 408.47 km/h (race performance). However, its regular top speed is 343 km/h.

Sunburnt Country: Icons Of Australian Motoring

Sunburnt Country honours Australia’s iconic vehicles, legendary people, innovation and adventurous journeys.

From the novelty of a horseless carriage in 1899 to the 1948 release of Holden’s ‘Australia’s own car’, Sunburnt Country celebrates Australia’s unique love affair with all things motoring.

Australians have embraced motoring as a fundamental part of our lives, and for many, it is an obsession. The exhibit includes the hand-built 1899 Shearer Steam Carriage, the 1908 Talbot that crossed from Adelaide to Darwin and the faithful 1936 Leyland Badger that enabled the legendary South Australian Mailman of the Outback, Tom Kruse, to deliver mail to rural communities. Other vehicles and objects on display capture significant moments of Australian motoring history.

Assembled: Australia’S Automotive Manufacturing Journey

assembled explores and celebrates the last century of Australia’s motor manufacturing history.

As the factory doors closed at GM Holden’s Elizabeth plant late 2017 Australia saw the end of automotive manufacturing in this country. This exhibition looks back over the history of automobiles in Australia from the hand-built invention of a South Australian jeweler, to the first Australian car the Holden 48-215, to the beloved family cars of the Ford Falcon and Holden Commodore.

An assembly line from Holden’s Elizabeth factory hangs above the exhibition and demonstrates the different stages of construction. The final car of the assembly line is the renowned signature car, which Holden staff have signed over the last few years.

The exhibition is full of digital interactives that visitors can explore to learn more about Australia’s automotive manufacturing history.

Model Behaviour

From Boomeroo to Barbie, for some people, the joy of childhood toys never fades.

Model Behaviour showcases the collections of three South Australians who had a passion for toy and model cars. If you remember Corgi models (‘the ones with the windows’) or you’ve ever wanted a pedal car, Model Behaviour is sure to delight.

Before the automobile age, children explored the world from the back of a rocking-horse. It was a natural progression to a model car, as cars replaced horses as the way to get around. As with real cars, early pedal cars had a price tag that only the wealthy could afford. They were custom made, and often accurate replicas of motor cars, featuring opening boots and bonnets, inflatable tyres and leaf-spring suspension.

The exhibition features a number of pedal cars which came to life in the workshop of Adelaide grandfather Bob Phillips, and an impressive collection of Corgi model cars, the life-long passion of Eric Hauschild.

Travelling Emporiums: Hawker Vans And The Mobile Salesman Of Rural Australia

In the early twentieth century hawkers had an important role in sustaining rural Australian communities. This exhibit features two South Australian hawker vehicles from the National Motor Museum collection.

The hawker vans once belonged to Syd Graeber and Hassan Monsoor. Syd and Hassan traveled with their vans to outback towns, farmhouses, and cattle stations selling an assortment of wares such as cigarettes, seeds and fabrics.

Interwoven with the stories of the two vehicles Travelling Emporiums explores the wider history of hawkers in Australia. Experience the hawker story by discovering the unusual treasures in their vans and smelling the fragrances of their wares.

Alice Anderson’S Motor Service

Alice Anderson was Australia’s first female garage proprietor.

In 1919 Alice purchased a block of land on Cotham Road in Kew, Victoria and opened ‘Alice Anderson’s Motor Service’. The garage offered petrol sales, vehicle repairs, a driving school, 24 hour chauffeur service and organised chauffeured tourist parties on interstate trips. It was an all-women business, and Alice employed approximately nine chauffeurs and mechanics. Her ambition was to turn garage work into a suitable profession for women.

Her death in 1926 remains a mystery; one night she was cleaning an automatic pistol and shot herself in the head. It is still speculated whether the shot was accidental. Alice is a significant figure in Australian motoring history and her story demonstrates the experience of being a woman in the motor industry in the early twentieth century. This exhibition explores the life of Alice and her ‘garage girls’.

Game Engine : Digital Legends

Award winning exhibition – Game Engine : Digital Legends is an exhibition that looks at the relationship between and history of motoring and video gaming.
The exhibition allows you to explore the changes in gaming technology in the most fun way: by playing some of history’s most influential motoring games. It includes a giant joystick to play one of the first motor-influenced video games, Night Driver (1976) on a giant screen. Eight more ‘digital legends’ are playable, including Forza Motor Sport 7 (2017), Forza Horizon 3 (2016), Rocket League (2015), Crazy Taxi (1999), Crash Team Racing (1999), Wipeout 2097 (1996), Road Rash (1991), Out Run (1986), Daytona and Sprint 4 (1977). The exhibition also uncovers the game engine itself – the framework upon which modern games are built. Play a bespoke driving game and see how altering the parameters of the game engine affects the game itself.

Game Engine: Digital Legends is a great introduction to the world of motoring video games, and great fun for anyone who is nostalgic of the great games of the past or excited about the games of the present and the future.

1920s Garage
Come and see what the interior of a typical mechanical workshop looked like in the 1920s.

Museum volunteers have created a replica 1920s garage using tin signs, petrol pumps, original tools, advertising images, a fire extinguisher, and even a vintage typewriter and small office. The main feature is a rolling Ford Model T chassis, designed to show the various components of a chassis, running gear and how they fit together. All parts of the Ford Model T were kindly donated.

Other vehicles of the period also feature, such as a 1927 Nash Light Six Tourer, a 1929 Harley-Davidson and a 1927 Triumph Model W motorcycle. Visitors can see a great display of vintage and veteran hub caps and car badges, a selection of cut-away steering boxes and small engines, and a selection of spark plugs.

Solid Ground: A History Of The Birdwood Mill

Until 1998, the National Motor Museum’s collection was housed in the old Birdwood Mill. This exhibition journeys through the history of the site.

Solid Ground explores the history of the Museum site from its origins before German settlers established the town and built the first flour mill to its abandonment and new life as a museum.

Step into the basement of the beautiful heritage mill to see original milling equipment as well as the luxurious Brough Superior motorbike owned by museum founder Jack Kaines, one of the first objects in the collection. The exhibition was launched on 20 November 2015, exactly 50 years after the museum first opened.

Vision & Values

The National Motor Museum is a social space where visitors of all ages, backgrounds and abilities know their community is included and their stories valued. Since 1965 millions of visitors have enjoyed discovering Australia’s motoring heritage at the Museum.

As an international centre for the collection, research, preservation, education and display of Australian road transport history, the National Motor Museum is much more than a collection of vehicles. It is a social history of the way we were, the way we are now and the way of the future. It is the ride of our lives!

Tags: