莫卧儿花园,香格里拉伊斯兰艺术,文化和设计博物馆

莫卧儿花园是香格里拉在整个印度次大陆发现的皇家园林的缩影。酒店位于入口庭院对面,沿着酒店占主导地位的东西轴线,拥有一个纯白色的外观,拱形入口类似于通往主屋门厅的相邻入口。在1935年在印度度蜜月旅行期间,多丽丝·杜克(1912-93)在高莫卧儿时期的广阔而华丽的花园中露面,特别是那些在“伟大的”莫卧儿王朝统治时期建在阿格拉,德里和拉合尔等城市的花园。皇帝阿克巴(1556-1605),贾汉吉尔(1605-27)和沙贾汗(r.1628-58)。这些花园通常包括小型大理石凉亭,带有尖拱和镶嵌花卉表面; 几何设计的砖砌路径; 长形水道,莲花形喷泉头; 大理石水瀑布与众所周知的chinikhana(波斯语:瓷器房子); 和几何种植床(花坛)与芳香的树木和五颜六色的鲜花。

早在香格里拉的历史上,c。1938年至1941年,莫卧儿花园被称为“allée”。在这个原始的化身中,它有莫卧儿花园标准的几个元素 – 水道与莲花式喷泉头,chinikhana级联,大型四叶池(西端) – 在1935年的印度旅行中,杜克会看到这一点。二十年后,在参观了巴基斯坦拉合尔的Shalimar花园(1637年)之后,Duke决定将allée变成一个更完全实现的莫卧儿花园的缩影。为此,她要求该网站的考古负责人在Shalimar Gardens中绘制砖砌路径的图纸和照片。然后,这些设计引导了香格里拉(48.513)类似砖砌路径的建立,这些路径安装在水道的长度上,并且在中心处纵横交错,从而暗示了莫卧儿花园共有的四部分计划(chahar bagh,波斯语:四个花园)。在路径的两侧,交替形状的花坛以白色石头建造,种植有塞浦路斯树,柑橘,贝母和一品红。在1966年的Vogue杂志上,现在完整的花园被描述为“拉合尔着名的Mogul花园的缩影版”。

剧场
香格里拉剧院位于酒店的西端,毗邻大洋,是一个池畔凉亭,灵感来自1598年至1722年伊朗首都伊斯法罕的Chehel Sutun(约1647-50)宫殿。

香格里拉剧院位于酒店的西端,毗邻大洋,是一个池畔凉亭,灵感来自1598年至1722年伊朗首都伊斯法罕的Chehel Sutun(约1647-50)宫殿。剧院大型中央起居室,小厨房以及山腰两侧的两卧室套房。它的外观有一个大型的阳台,有一个彩绘木天花板,由14根柱子支撑,面向游泳池。Doris Duke(1912-93)以及她的建筑师可能会受到Chehel Sutun类似安排的启发,在Safavid宫殿前面的游泳池反映了18个细长的柱子。门廊(talar),从而创造了更多列的幻觉(chehel sutun在波斯语中意为“四十列”)。

当多丽丝·杜克和她的丈夫詹姆斯·克伦威尔于1938年3月离开中东巡回演出时,剧场基本上已经完成了。然而,还有待完成的是它的阳台装饰,包括屋顶和下面的柱子的设计。在这种情况下,Cromwells希望仔细复制波斯原型Chehel Sutun的talar。在1938年的伊斯法罕,他们精心拍摄并拍摄了萨法维宫的门廊。这份文件被传递给香格里拉的建筑师,他们创造了模板,然后将剧场的阳台绘制成与Chehel Sutun(64.118)相同的颜色。大约两年后,马赛克瓷砖在1938年的旅行期间在伊斯法罕投入使用,并受到伊斯法罕的Masjid-i Shah入口门户(Shah Mosque,1612-c。

剧院的起居室在香格里拉历史的过程中经历了无数次的变革。在其最早的幌子,c。1938年,它被认为是一个帐篷空间。平纹织物形成垂褶天花板,而20世纪30年代后期在印度定制的印花棉布构成了下面的“墙”。1935年在克伦威尔的蜜月期间购买了许多中亚苏珊,进一步围住了墙壁,一块大的中亚地毯覆盖在地板上。Divans(低沙发)位于房间的角落,众所周知Duke坐在这里与朋友一起演奏音乐。到1941年,帐篷天花板已被拆除,取而代之的是带有大胆几何图案(64.89)的彩绘天花板,与17世纪波斯宫殿的天花板(如Chehel Sutun)相似。这个房间进一步“波斯化”,包括一些19世纪的Qajar伊朗艺术品,包括一个带有精英欢乐场景的瓷砖面板(48.429),几套漆器门,上面有类似的宫廷休闲描绘(64.88a) -b),镶嵌彩色玻璃(64.90a-f)的几何形状的雕刻屏幕,一对彩色玻璃拱形窗户(46.14,46.15),以及女性宫廷艺人的大型绘画的几个例子(音乐家,舞者)(34.7,34.3)。在20世纪80年代,海边卧室成为杜克的Qajar艺术收藏品的两个亮点 – 画布上的天花板画(34.9)和画布上的墙画(34.10) – 分别安装在天花板和北墙上。包括一个带有精英欢乐场景的瓷砖面板(48.429),几套具有类似宫廷休闲装饰的漆门(64.88a-b),镶嵌有彩色玻璃几何形状的雕刻屏幕(64.90a-f),一对彩色玻璃拱形窗户(46.14,46.15),以及女性宫廷艺人(音乐家,舞者)大型绘画的几个例子(34.7,34.3)。在20世纪80年代,海边卧室成为杜克的Qajar艺术收藏品的两个亮点 – 画布上的天花板画(34.9)和画布上的墙画(34.10) – 分别安装在天花板和北墙上。包括一个带有精英欢乐场景的瓷砖面板(48.429),几套具有类似宫廷休闲装饰的漆门(64.88a-b),镶嵌有彩色玻璃几何形状的雕刻屏幕(64.90a-f),一对彩色玻璃拱形窗户(46.14,46.15),以及女性宫廷艺人(音乐家,舞者)大型绘画的几个例子(34.7,34.3)。在20世纪80年代,海边卧室成为杜克的Qajar艺术收藏品的两个亮点 – 画布上的天花板画(34.9)和画布上的墙画(34.10) – 分别安装在天花板和北墙上。以及女性宫廷艺人(音乐家,舞者)的大型绘画的几个例子(34.7,34.3)。在20世纪80年代,海边卧室成为杜克的Qajar艺术收藏品的两个亮点 – 画布上的天花板画(34.9)和画布上的墙画(34.10) – 分别安装在天花板和北墙上。以及女性宫廷艺人(音乐家,舞者)的大型绘画的几个例子(34.7,34.3)。在20世纪80年代,海边卧室成为杜克的Qajar艺术收藏品的两个亮点 – 画布上的天花板画(34.9)和画布上的墙画(34.10) – 分别安装在天花板和北墙上。

自2002年以来,剧场一直是多丽丝杜克伊斯兰艺术基金会支持的公共项目空间。鉴于其海滨位置,剧场仍然是持续保护工作的重点,包括在其立面上保留定制的伊朗瓷砖。

香格里拉伊斯兰艺术,文化与设计博物馆
香格里拉是一个伊斯兰艺术和文化博物馆,为学者和艺术家提供导游,住宿和计划,旨在提高对伊斯兰世界的了解。香格里拉建于1937年,是美国女继承人和慈善家多丽丝·杜克(1912-1993)的檀香山之家,其灵感来自杜克在北非,中东和南亚的广泛旅行,反映了印度,伊朗,摩洛哥等地的建筑传统。叙利亚。

伊斯兰艺术
“伊斯兰艺术”一词通常指的是穆斯林世界的产品,历史上从西班牙延伸到东南亚的各种文化。从先知穆罕默德的生平(d.632)开始,一直延续至今,伊斯兰艺术具有广泛的历史范围和广泛的地理分布,包括北非,中东,中亚以及南亚和东南亚的部分地区。以及东部和撒哈拉以南非洲。

伊斯兰艺术的视觉元素。伊斯兰艺术涵盖了广泛的艺术生产,从陶瓷盆和丝绸地毯到油画和瓷砖清真寺。鉴于伊斯兰艺术的巨大多样性 – 跨越许多世纪,文化,朝代和广阔的地理 – 共享什么艺术元素?通常,书法(美丽的书写),几何和花卉/植物设计被视为伊斯兰艺术的统一视觉组成部分。

书法。在伊斯兰文化中写作的优越性源于在七世纪早期口头传播上帝(真主)的话语给先知穆罕默德。这个神圣的启示随后被编成一本用阿拉伯语写成的圣书,古兰经(阿拉伯语朗诵)。美丽的写作成为抄写上帝的话语和创造神圣的古兰经的必要条件。书法很快出现在其他形式的艺术创作中,包括照明手稿,建筑,便携式物品和纺织品。虽然阿拉伯文字是伊斯兰书法的关键,但除了阿拉伯文之外,它还被用来编写多种语言,包括波斯语,乌尔都语,马来语和奥斯曼土耳其语。

伊斯兰艺术作品的内容因背景和功能而异; 它可以包括古兰经(总是阿拉伯语)或着名诗歌(通常是波斯语),制作日期,艺术家签名,所有者的名字或标记,提出对象的机构作为慈善捐赠(waqf),赞美统治者,并赞美对象本身。书法也用不同的文字书写,有点类似于字体或今天的计算机字体,伊斯兰传统中最知名的艺术家是那些发明并擅长各种剧本的人。

几何与花艺设计。在伊斯兰艺术的许多例子中,书法叠加在几何图案,花卉图案和/或植物设计的背景上,其中弯曲的叶子形式被称为“蔓藤花纹”。这种表面装饰的外观根据物体的位置和时间而不同。制作; 例如,十七世纪的莫卧儿印度,奥斯曼土耳其和萨法维伊朗的鲜花形式完全不同。此外,某些设计在某些地方比其他地方更受青睐; 在北非和埃及,大胆的几何形状通常优于精致的花卉图案。

图。也许伊斯兰艺术中最不了解的视觉元素是形象形象。虽然古兰经禁止崇拜图像(偶像崇拜) – 一种源于伊斯兰教在麦加多神教部落社会中崛起的禁令 – 但它并未明确排除对生物的描绘。然而,人物形象通常局限于世俗的建筑环境 – 例如宫殿或私人住宅(而不是清真寺) – 古兰经从未被说明过。

伊斯兰历史上最早的一些宫殿包括真人大小的动物和人类壁画,到了十世纪,人物是陶瓷器皿上的标准图像,包括在伊拉克制造的最早的光泽例子(见例子)以及后来制作的那些。伊朗卡尚。在中世纪时期,微缩尺度的人物形象成为宗教,历史,医学和诗歌文本插图的组成部分。

关于日期的说明。伊斯兰历法始于公元622年,即先知穆罕默德及其追随者从麦加到麦地那的移民(hijra)年。日期呈现如下:Hijra(AH)的663,共同时代(CE)的1265,或简称663/1265。

多样性和多样性。伊斯兰艺术的首次观众往往被其技术的复杂性和美感所吸引。吹制玻璃,照明手稿,镶嵌金属制品和高耸的瓷砖圆顶通过其颜色,形状和细节令人惊叹。然而,并非所有伊斯兰艺术的例子都同样奢侈,并且许多情况促成了“伊斯兰艺术”这一广义术语所涵盖的多样性和多样性。

顾客的财富是一个关键因素,日常使用的功能对象 – 洗涤盆,储存箱,照明烛台,覆盖地毯 – 可能会有很大差异,具体取决于它们是为国王,商人制造的,还是一个农民。艺术品的质量与其制作者同等重要,虽然大部分伊斯兰艺术都是匿名的,但许多大师级艺术家签署了他们的作品,希望因其成就而受到赞誉,并且确实仍然是众所周知的。最后,原材料的供应也决定了伊斯兰艺术品的外观。由于伊斯兰世界(沙漠,山脉,热带)的广阔地形,可以确定强大的区域特征。覆盖着瓷砖的砖瓦建筑对伊朗和中亚来说很常见,

区域性和艺术作品的语言起源也决定了它的外观。学者和博物馆经常将广泛的术语“伊斯兰艺术”解构为分支领域,如阿拉伯土地,波斯世界,印度次大陆和其他地区或王朝。伊斯兰艺术在博物馆中的呈现通常被进一步细分为王朝生产(例子),这导致强调宫廷生产和最高质量的赞助(例子)。

该领域的现状。伊斯兰艺术史领域正在经历一段自我反思和修正的时期。在公开场合,这在过去十年中发生的一些重要的博物馆重新安装(大都会艺术博物馆,卢浮宫,布鲁克林博物馆,大卫收藏)中最为明显,其中一些仍在进行中。中心关注的是“伊斯兰艺术”这一短语用于描述有关视觉文化的有效性。一些策展人和学者拒绝这种宗教名称,支持区域特异性(考虑大都会艺术博物馆的新名称),并批评其单片,欧洲中心和宗教的起源。事实上,虽然伊斯兰艺术和建筑的一些例子是出于宗教目的(古兰经在清真寺进行朗诵),其他人服务于世俗需求(装饰房屋的窗户)。此外,还有许多非穆斯林创作艺术品的例子,这些艺术品被归类为为非穆斯林顾客创作的“伊斯兰”甚至“伊斯兰”艺术品。这些现实得到承认,一些学者和机构选择强调“伊斯兰艺术”的伊斯兰教组成部分(考虑卢浮宫翻新的画廊的名称,“伊斯兰艺术”,于2012年秋季重新开放)。

多丽丝杜克伊斯兰艺术基金会(DDFIA)的收藏及其在香格里拉的演讲,为这些正在进行的全球对话做出了很多贡献。在“伊斯兰艺术”这一名称受到激烈争论的那一刻,DDFIA系列挑战了现有的分类法(民族志工艺与美术;世俗与宗教,中心与外围),同时激发了思考,定义和欣赏视觉的新方式。文化。

Share

Mughal Garden, Shangri La Museum of Islamic Art, Culture & Design

The Mughal Garden is Shangri La’s microcosm of the royal gardens found throughout the Indian subcontinent. Located off the entry courtyard and oriented along the property’s dominant east-west axis, it features a plain white façade with an arched entrance similar to the adjacent entrance leading into the foyer of the main house. During her 1935 honeymoon travels in India, Doris Duke (1912–93) was exposed to the expansive and sumptuous gardens of the high Mughal period, particularly those built in the cities of Agra, Delhi and Lahore during the reigns of the “great” Mughal emperors Akbar (r. 1556–1605), Jahangir (r. 1605–27), and Shah Jahan (r. 1628–58). These gardens typically included small marble pavilions with cusped arches and inlaid floral surfaces; brickwork pathways with geometric designs; long water channels with lotus-shaped fountain heads; marble water cascades with niches known as chinikhana (Persian: porcelain house); and geometric planting beds (parterres) with scented trees and colorful flowers.

Early on in Shangri La’s history, c. 1938–41, the Mughal Garden was known as the “allée.” In this original incarnation, it featured several elements standard to Mughal gardens—water channel with lotus-style fountain heads, chinikhana cascade, large four-lobed pool (west end)—which Duke would have seen during her 1935 travels in India. Two decades later, after a visit to Shalimar Gardens (1637) in Lahore, Pakistan, Duke resolved to transform the allée into a more fully realized microcosm of a Mughal garden. Toward this end, she requested drawings and photographs of the brickwork pathways in Shalimar Gardens from the site’s superintendent of archaeology. These designs then guided the creation of similar brickwork pathways at Shangri La (48.513), which were installed down the length of the water channel and also crisscrossed in the center, thereby suggesting the four-part scheme (chahar bagh, Persian: four gardens) common to Mughal gardens. On either side of the pathway, parterres in alternating shapes were constructed in white stone and planted with cyprus trees, citrus, caladium, and poinsettia. In a 1966 article for Vogue magazine, the now complete garden was described as a “miniature version of the famous Mogul gardens at Lahore.”

Playhouse
Located on the west end of the property and adjacent to the ocean, the Playhouse at Shangri La is a poolside pavilion inspired by the Chehel Sutun (c. 1647–50) palace in Isfahan, the capital of Iran from 1598 to 1722.

Located on the west end of the property and adjacent to the ocean, the Playhouse at Shangri La is a poolside pavilion inspired by the Chehel Sutun (c. 1647–50) palace in Isfahan, the capital of Iran from 1598 to 1722. The Playhouse features a large central living room, small kitchen, and two bedroom suites on its mountain and ocean sides. Its façade has a large lanai with a painted wood ceiling supported by 14 columns and facing a pool. In positioning Shangri La’s pool directly in front of the Playhouse, Doris Duke (1912–93) and her architects were likely inspired by a similar arrangement at the Chehel Sutun, where the pool in front of the Safavid palace reflects the 18 slender columns on its porch (talar), thereby creating an illusion of many more columns (chehel sutun means “forty columns” in Persian).

By the time Doris Duke and her husband James Cromwell departed for their Middle East tour in March 1938, the Playhouse was largely complete. What remained to be done, however, was the decoration of its lanai, including the designs of its roof and the columns below. In this instance, the Cromwells desired that the Persian prototype, the Chehel Sutun’s talar, be carefully copied. While in Isfahan in 1938, they meticulously photographed and filmed the Safavid palace’s porch. This documentation was passed on to Shangri La’s architects, who created stencils, and then painted the Playhouse’s lanai to parallel that of the Chehel Sutun (64.118). Approximately two years later, mosaic tilework commissioned in Isfahan during the 1938 trip and inspired by that on the entrance portal of Isfahan’s Masjid-i Shah (Shah Mosque, 1612–c. 1630) was installed on the building’s façade, thereby completing the overall Persian aesthetic.

The living room in the Playhouse has undergone numerous transformations over the course of Shangri La’s history. In its earliest guise, c. 1938, it was conceived as a tented space. Plain fabric created a draped ceiling, while printed cottons custom-made in India in the late 1930s constituted the “walls” below. Central Asian suzanis, many of which were purchased during the Cromwells’ honeymoon in 1935, further sheathed the walls, and a large Central Asian carpet covered the floor. Divans (low couches) were located in the corners of the room, and Duke was known to have sat here and played music with friends. By 1941, the tented ceiling had been removed and replaced with a painted one with bold geometric designs (64.89) echoing those found on the ceilings of seventeenth-century Persian palaces, like the Chehel Sutun. The room was further “Persianized” by the inclusion of a number of nineteenth-century Qajar Iranian works of art, including a tile panel with scenes of elite merriment (48.429), several sets of lacquer doors with similar depictions of courtly leisure (64.88a–b), a carved screen inset with geometric shapes of colored glass (64.90a–f), a pair of colored-glass arched windows (46.14, 46.15), and several examples of large-scale paintings of female court entertainers (musicians, dancers) (34.7, 34.3). In the 1980s, the oceanside bedroom became home to two highlights of Duke’s Qajar art collection—a ceiling painting on canvas (34.9) and a wall painting on canvas (34.10)—which were installed on the ceiling and north wall, respectively.

Since 2002, the Playhouse has functioned as a space for public programs supported by the Doris Duke Foundation for Islamic Art. Given its oceanside location, the Playhouse remains the focus of ongoing conservation efforts, including the preservation of the custom-made Iranian tilework on its façade.

Shangri La Museum of Islamic Art, Culture & Design
Shangri La is a museum for Islamic arts and cultures, offering guided tours, residencies for scholars and artists, and programs with the purpose of improving understanding of the Islamic world. Built in 1937 as the Honolulu home of American heiress and philanthropist Doris Duke (1912-1993), Shangri La was inspired by Duke’s extensive travels throughout North Africa, the Middle East, and South Asia and reflects architectural traditions from India, Iran, Morocco and Syria.

Islamic Art
The phrase “Islamic art” generally refers to arts that are products of the Muslim world, diverse cultures that historically extended from Spain to Southeast Asia. Beginning with the life of the Prophet Muhammad (d. 632) and continuing to the present day, Islamic art has both a wide historical range and broad geographical spread, including North Africa, the Middle East, Central Asia and part of South and Southeast Asia as well as eastern and sub-Saharan Africa.

Visual Elements of Islamic Art. Islamic art covers a wide range of artistic production, from ceramic pots and silk carpets to oil paintings and tiled mosques. Given the tremendous diversity of Islamic art – across many centuries, cultures, dynasties and vast geography – what artistic elements are shared? Often, calligraphy (beautiful writing), geometry, and floral/vegetal design are seen as unifying visual components of Islamic art.

Calligraphy. The preeminence of writing in Islamic culture stems from the oral transmission of the word of God (Allah) to the Prophet Muhammad in the early seventh century. This divine revelation was subsequently codified into a holy book written in Arabic, the Qur’an (recitation in Arabic). Beautiful writing became imperative for transcribing the word of God and for creating sacred Qur’ans. Calligraphy soon appeared in other forms of artistic production, including illuminated manuscripts, architecture, portable objects and textiles. Although the Arabic script is the crux of Islamic calligraphy, it was (and is) used to write a number of languages in addition to Arabic, including Persian, Urdu, Malay and Ottoman Turkish.

The content of the writing found on Islamic art varies according to context and function; it can include verses from the Qur’an (always Arabic) or from well-known poems (often Persian), the date of production, the signature of the artist, the names or marks of owners, the institution to which an object was presented as a charitable gift (waqf), praises to the ruler, and praises to the object itself. Calligraphy is also written in different scripts, somewhat analogous to type fonts or today’s computer fonts, and the most renowned artists in the Islamic tradition were those who invented, and excelled in, various scripts.

Geometry and Floral Design. In many examples of Islamic art, calligraphy is superimposed upon backgrounds covered in geometric patterns, floral motifs, and/or vegetal designs with curved leaf forms known as “arabesques.” The appearance of this surface decoration differs according to where and when an object was made; the forms of flowers in seventeenth-century Mughal India, Ottoman Turkey and Safavid Iran are quite different, for example. In addition, certain designs were favored in some places more than others; in North Africa and Egypt, bold geometry is often preferred over delicate floral patterns.

The Figure. Perhaps the least understood visual component of Islamic art is the figural image. Although the Qur’an prohibits the worship of images (idolatry)—a proscription stemming from the rise of Islam within a polytheistic tribal society in Mecca—it does not explicitly preclude the depiction of living beings. However, figural imagery is generally confined to secular architectural contexts—such as the palace or private home (rather than the mosque)—and the Qur’an is never illustrated.

Some of the earliest palaces in Islamic history include life-size frescoes of animals and human beings, and by the tenth century, figures were standard iconography on ceramic vessels, including the earliest luster examples made in Iraq (see example) and later those made in Kashan, Iran. During the medieval period, human figures in miniature scale became integral to the illustration of religious, historical, medical and poetic texts.

Note on Dates. The Islamic calendar begins in 622 CE, the year of the emigration (hijra) of the Prophet Muhammad and his followers from Mecca to Medina. Dates are presented as follows: 663 of the Hijra (AH), 1265 of the Common Era (CE), or simply 663/1265.

Diversity and Variety. First-time viewers of Islamic art are often captivated by its technical sophistication and beauty. Blown glass, illuminated manuscripts, inlaid metalwork, and soaring tiled domes astound through their color, forms, and details. Not all examples of Islamic art are equally luxurious, however, and a number of circumstances contribute to the diversity and variety encompassed under the broad term “Islamic art.”

The wealth of the patron is a critical factor, and functional objects for everyday use—basins for washing, chests for storing, candlesticks for lighting, carpets for covering—can differ significantly depending on whether they were made for a king, a merchant, or a peasant. The quality of a work of art is equally tied to its maker, and while the majority of Islamic art is anonymous, a number of master artists signed their works, desiring to be credited for their achievements, and indeed remain well known. Finally, the availability of raw materials also determines the look of an Islamic work of art. Due to the vast topography of the Islamic world (deserts, mountains, tropics), strong regional characteristics can be identified. Brick buildings clad with ceramic tiles are common to Iran and Central Asia, whereas sandstone and marble architecture is ubiquitous in India.

The regional—and by extension, linguistic—origins of a work of art also determines its appearance. Scholars and museums often deconstruct the broad term “Islamic art” into sub-fields such as the Arab lands, Persian world, the Indian subcontinent and other regions or by dynasty. The presentation of Islamic art in museums is often further segmented into dynastic production (example), which results in an emphasis on courtly production and patronage of the highest quality (example).

Status of the Field. The field of Islamic art history is currently experiencing a period of self-reflection and revision. Publicly, this is most evident in a number of major museum reinstallations (Metropolitan Museum of Art, Louvre, Brooklyn Museum, David Collection) that have transpired over the last decade and some of which are still in progress. Of central concern is the validity of the phrase “Islamic Art” to describe the visual culture in question. Some curators and scholars have rejected this religious designation in favor of regional specificity (consider the new name of the galleries at the Metropolitan Museum of Art) and have criticized its monolithic, Eurocentric, and religion-based origins. Indeed, although some examples of Islamic art and architecture were made for religious purposes (a Qur’an for recitation in a mosque), others served secular needs (a window to decorate a home). Moreover, there are many examples of non-Muslims creating works of art categorized as “Islamic,” or even “Islamic” works of art created for non-Muslim patrons. These realities acknowledged, some scholars and institutions have opted to stress the Islam component of “Islamic art” (consider the name of the Louvre’s renovated galleries, “Arts of Islam,” that reopened in the fall of 2012).

The collection of the Doris Duke Foundation for Islamic Art (DDFIA), and its presentation at Shangri La, has much to contribute to these ongoing global dialogues. At a moment when the designation “Islamic art” is being fiercely debated, the DDFIA collection challenges existing taxonomies (ethnographic artifact versus fine art; secular versus religious; central versus periphery), while stimulating new ways of thinking about, defining and appreciating the visual culture.

Share