Melbourne Museum, Carlton, Australien

Museum Victoria ist die größte öffentliche Museumsorganisation in Australien. Es kümmert sich um Victorias wissenschaftliche und kulturelle Sammlungen und bietet Besucher Zugang, Aktivitäten und Veranstaltungen an vier Orten: Melbourne Museum einschließlich IMAX, Immigration Museum, Scienceworks und dem Royal Exhibition Building.

Museen Victoria ist eine Organisation, die drei große staatliche Museen in Melbourne, Victoria, Australien, dem Melbourne Museum, dem Immigration Museum und Scienceworks betreibt. Es verwaltet auch das Royal Exhibition Building und ein Lager in Melbourne City of Moreland.

Museum Victoria überwacht eine breite Palette von Forschungsprogrammen und die Weiterentwicklung der staatlichen Sammlungen. Es verwaltet auch wichtige bildungs- und forschungsbasierte Websites.

Museen Victoria ist Australiens größte öffentliche Museumsorganisation.

Geschichte
Die Ursprünge von Museum Victoria gehen auf das Jahr 1854 zurück, als das Victoria-Nationalmuseum gegründet wurde und 1870 das Industrial and Technological Museum of Victoria (später bekannt als Science Museum of Victoria) gegründet wurde. Mit der Verkündung des Museums Act 1983 (Vic.) Wurden diese beiden Institutionen zu einem Museum zusammengelegt, das heute als Museum Victoria unter der Leitung des Museums Boards von Victoria bekannt ist. Im Jahr 1996 übernahm das Museum Victoria die Bewachung des denkmalgeschützten Royal Exhibition Building.

Sammlungen und Forschung
Im Museum Victoria bauen und erforschen wir seit 1854 unsere Sammlungen.

Unsere unbezahlbaren Sammlungen dokumentieren Australiens Umwelt- und Kulturgeschichte. Sie sind eine unersetzbare Quelle, um die Vergangenheit zu verstehen, über die Gegenwart nachzudenken und in die Zukunft zu blicken.

Forschung hier trägt zum Verständnis kritischer aktueller Fragen in Wissenschaft, Umwelt und Gesellschaft bei. Viele unserer Forscher sind Experten auf ihrem Gebiet. Kooperationen mit Universitäten, Gemeinden, Behörden und internationalen Institutionen erweitern die Aktivitäten des Museums weit über die Mauern unserer Gebäude hinaus.

Geschichte der Sammlungen
Die Forschung und das Sammeln begannen mit der Gründung des Nationalmuseums von Victoria im Jahr 1854, das einen Schwerpunkt auf Naturwissenschaften hatte. Neben der Erforschung und Sammlung viktorianischer und australischer Tiere, Gesteine, Mineralien und Fossilien erwarben die ersten Direktoren bedeutende internationale Sammlungen und etablierten wichtige internationale Forschungsnetzwerke.

Ab dem späten 19. Jahrhundert begann das Museum, die australischen Ureinwohner und -kulturen aktiv zu erforschen und eine bedeutende Sammlung assoziierter Artefakte zu entwickeln.

Im Jahr 1870 wurde das Industrie- und Technologiemuseum (später das Wissenschaftsmuseum von Victoria) gegründet, um wichtige wissenschaftliche und technologische Fortschritte zu erforschen, zu sammeln und zu zeigen.

Als sich die beiden Institutionen 1983 zusammenschlossen, wurde Sozialgeschichte als weiterer Forschungs- und Sammelschwerpunkt hinzugefügt.

Gegenwärtig besitzt das Museum Victoria eine Sammlung von über 17 Millionen Artikeln, die in hochwertigen Lagerräumen im Melbourne Museum, Scienceworks und einem spezialisierten Lager untergebracht sind. Sammlungsmanager, Konservatoren und Kuratoren erforschen, dokumentieren und bewahren die Sammlungen für heutige und zukünftige Generationen.

Forschung
Unsere Forschung in den Bereichen Naturwissenschaften und Geisteswissenschaften nutzt die Sammlungen und das Expertenteam des Museums, um das zu fördern, was wir über die Sozial- und Naturgeschichte von Victoria und darüber hinaus wissen.

Ausstellungen
Wir präsentieren Langzeit- und Wechselausstellungen an drei Orten: Melbourne Museum, Immigration Museum und Scienceworks. Diese Ausstellungen sind der Kern unserer kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen Programme für die Menschen von Victoria und Besucher aus dem In- und Ausland.

Frederick McCoys Prodromus der Zoologie von Victoria wollte die Fauna der Kolonie beschreiben. Caught & Coloured: Zoological Illustrations von Colonial Victoria untersucht anhand der reichhaltigen Archivquellen des Museum Victoria das Vermächtnis dieses großartigen Projekts. Originalzeichnungen, lithografische Proofs und Manuskripte lassen die Arbeit von McCoy und der von ihm beauftragten Künstler lebendig werden.

MV Collections ermöglicht den Benutzern, die Sammlungen der Naturwissenschaften und Geisteswissenschaften mit Sammlungen von Zoologie, Geologie, Paläontologie, Geschichte, indigenen Kulturen und Technologie zu erkunden. Über 1,16 Millionen Datensätze waren Mitte 2016 auf der Website, begleitet von mehr als 150.000 Bildern.

Die Sammlungen zeugen von den Bemühungen und Entscheidungen von Generationen von Kuratoren, die im Museum tätig sind. Sie umfassen viele Gegenstände und einzelne Sammlungen von internationaler, nationaler, staatlicher und lokaler wissenschaftlicher oder kultureller Bedeutung.

Tags:

Melbourne Museum, Carlton, Australia

Museum Victoria is the largest public museums organisation in Australia. It cares for Victoria’s scientific and cultural collections and provides visitor access, activities and events at four venues: Melbourne Museum including IMAX, Immigration Museum, Scienceworks and the Royal Exhibition Building.

Museums Victoria is an organisation which operates three major state-owned museums in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, the Melbourne Museum, the Immigration Museum and Scienceworks. It also manages the Royal Exhibition Building and a storage facility in Melbourne’s City of Moreland.

Museum Victoria oversees a wide range of research programs and the continued development of the state’s collections. It also manages major education and research based websites.

Museums Victoria is Australia’s largest public museum organisation.

History
Museum Victoria’s origins date back to 1854, with the founding of the National Museum of Victoria and the establishment, in 1870, of the Industrial and Technological Museum of Victoria (later known as the Science Museum of Victoria). By proclamation of the Museums Act 1983 (Vic.), these two institutions were amalgamated to form what is known today as Museum Victoria, governed by the Museums Board of Victoria. In 1996, Museum Victoria took over custodianship of the World Heritage listed Royal Exhibition Building.

Collections & Research
At Museums Victoria, we have been building and researching our collections since 1854.

Our priceless collections record Australia’s environmental and cultural history. They are an irreplaceable resource for understanding the past, reflecting on the present and looking into the future.

Research here adds to understanding of critical contemporary issues in science, the environment and society. Many of our researchers are world experts in their fields. Collaborative projects with universities, communities, government agencies and international institutions expand the museum’s activities far beyond the walls of our buildings.

History of the Collections
Research and collecting commenced with the establishment of the National Museum of Victoria in 1854, which had a primary focus on natural sciences. In addition to researching and collecting Victorian and Australian animals, rocks, minerals and fossils, the first Directors also acquired significant international collections and established important international research networks.

From the late 19th century the museum began to actively research Australian Aboriginal people and cultures and to develop a significant collection of associated artefacts.

In 1870, the Industrial and Technological Museum (subsequently the Science Museum of Victoria) was established to research, collect and display important scientific and technological advances.

When the two institutions amalgamated in 1983, social history was added as a further research and collecting focus.

Currently, Museums Victoria holds a collection of over 17 million items, held in high-quality storage facilities at Melbourne Museum, Scienceworks and a specialised storage facility. Collection managers, conservators and curators research, document and preserve the collections for present and future generations.

Research
Our research, in the fields of science and humanities, uses the museum’s collections and expert staff to further what we know about the social and natural history of Victoria and beyond.

Exhibitions
We present long-term and temporary exhibitions at three venues: Melbourne Museum, the Immigration Museum and Scienceworks. These exhibitions are core to our cultural and scientific programs for the people of Victoria and visitors from interstate and overseas.

Frederick McCoy’s Prodromus of the Zoology of Victoria set out to describe the colony’s fauna. Drawing on Museum Victoria’s rich archival sources, Caught & Coloured: Zoological Illustrations from Colonial Victoria explores the legacy of this great project. Original drawings, lithographic proofs and manuscripts bring to life the work of both McCoy and the artists he commissioned.

MV Collections allows users to explore the natural sciences and humanities collections, featuring collections of zoology, geology, palaeontology, history, indigenous cultures and technology. Over 1.16 million records were on the site in mid 2016, accompanied by over 150,000 images.

The collections are testimony to the endeavours and decisions of generations of curators employed at the museum. They include many items and discrete collections of international, national, state and local scientific or cultural significance.

Tags: