墨尔本博物馆,澳大利亚卡尔顿

维多利亚博物馆(Melbourne Museum)是澳大利亚最大的公共博物馆组织。它关心维多利亚的科学和文化收藏,并在四个场地提供访客访问,活动和活动:墨尔本博物馆,包括IMAX,移民博物馆,科学馆和皇家展览大楼。

维多利亚博物馆是一个在墨尔本,维多利亚州,澳大利亚,墨尔本博物馆,移民博物馆和科学工厂经营三大国有博物馆的组织。它还管理皇家展览大楼和墨尔本的Moreland市的一个存储设施。

维多利亚博物馆监督各种各样的研究计划和国家收藏品的持续发展。它还管理主要的教育和研究处。

维多利亚博物馆是澳大利亚最大的公共博物馆。

历史
维多利亚博物馆的起源可以追溯到1854年,随着维多利亚国家博物馆的成立,并于1870年成立了维多利亚工业和技术博物馆(后来被称为维多利亚科学博物馆)。通过宣布1983年博物馆法案(Vic。),这两个机构合并形成了维多利亚博物馆管理的维多利亚博物馆管理局。 1996年,维多利亚博物馆接管世界遗产名录皇家展览大楼的监管。

收藏与研究
维多利亚博物馆自1854年以来一直在建造和研究我们的藏品。

我们的无价收藏记录了澳大利亚的环境和文化史。他们是了解过去的一个不可替代的资源,反映了现在和展望未来。

这里的研究增加了对科学,环境和社会中当代批判性问题的理解。我们的许多研究人员是其领域的世界专家。与大学,社区,政府机构和国际机构的合作项目,使博物馆的活动远远超出了建筑物的墙壁。

集合的历史
研究和收集开始于1854年建立维多利亚国家博物馆,主要关注自然科学。除了研究收集维多利亚州和澳大利亚动物,岩石,矿物和化石之外,第一任董事还获得了重要的国际收藏,并建立了重要的国际研究网络。

从十九世纪末开始,博物馆开始积极研究澳大利亚土着居民和文化,并开发相关文物的重要集合。

1870年,工业技术博物馆(后来是维多利亚科学馆)成立,研究,收集和展示重要的科技进步。

当两个机构在1983年合并时,社会历史被加入作为进一步的研究和收集重点。

目前,维多利亚博物馆收藏了超过1700万件物品,在墨尔本博物馆,科学工厂和专门的仓储设施的高质量存储设施中举行。收藏经理,保管人员和策展人研究,记录和保存今世后代的藏品。

研究
我们在科学和人文科学领域的研究使用博物馆的藏品和专家,进一步了解维多利亚及其以外的社会和自然史。

展览
我们在三个场馆举办长期和临时展览:墨尔本博物馆,移民博物馆和科学馆。这些展览是维多利亚州人民和国际和国外游客的文化和科学计划的核心。

维多利亚动物学家的弗雷德里克·麦考伊(Frederick McCoy)的作品是为了描述殖民地的动物群。利用博物馆维多利亚丰富的档案来源,捕捉和色彩:殖民地维多利亚的动物学插图探索了这个伟大项目的遗产。原始图纸,平版印刷品和手稿使McCoy及其委托的艺术家的工作得以实现。

MV集合允许用户探索自然科学和人文收藏,其中包括动物学,地质学,古生物学,历史,土着文化和技术等。 2016年中期,该网站共有超过116万条记录,共有超过15万张图片。

这些收藏品证明了在博物馆工作的几代策展人的努力和决定。它们包括国际,国家,州和地方科学或文化意义的许多项目和离散的集合。

Tags:

Melbourne Museum, Carlton, Australia

Museum Victoria is the largest public museums organisation in Australia. It cares for Victoria’s scientific and cultural collections and provides visitor access, activities and events at four venues: Melbourne Museum including IMAX, Immigration Museum, Scienceworks and the Royal Exhibition Building.

Museums Victoria is an organisation which operates three major state-owned museums in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, the Melbourne Museum, the Immigration Museum and Scienceworks. It also manages the Royal Exhibition Building and a storage facility in Melbourne’s City of Moreland.

Museum Victoria oversees a wide range of research programs and the continued development of the state’s collections. It also manages major education and research based websites.

Museums Victoria is Australia’s largest public museum organisation.

History
Museum Victoria’s origins date back to 1854, with the founding of the National Museum of Victoria and the establishment, in 1870, of the Industrial and Technological Museum of Victoria (later known as the Science Museum of Victoria). By proclamation of the Museums Act 1983 (Vic.), these two institutions were amalgamated to form what is known today as Museum Victoria, governed by the Museums Board of Victoria. In 1996, Museum Victoria took over custodianship of the World Heritage listed Royal Exhibition Building.

Collections & Research
At Museums Victoria, we have been building and researching our collections since 1854.

Our priceless collections record Australia’s environmental and cultural history. They are an irreplaceable resource for understanding the past, reflecting on the present and looking into the future.

Research here adds to understanding of critical contemporary issues in science, the environment and society. Many of our researchers are world experts in their fields. Collaborative projects with universities, communities, government agencies and international institutions expand the museum’s activities far beyond the walls of our buildings.

History of the Collections
Research and collecting commenced with the establishment of the National Museum of Victoria in 1854, which had a primary focus on natural sciences. In addition to researching and collecting Victorian and Australian animals, rocks, minerals and fossils, the first Directors also acquired significant international collections and established important international research networks.

From the late 19th century the museum began to actively research Australian Aboriginal people and cultures and to develop a significant collection of associated artefacts.

In 1870, the Industrial and Technological Museum (subsequently the Science Museum of Victoria) was established to research, collect and display important scientific and technological advances.

When the two institutions amalgamated in 1983, social history was added as a further research and collecting focus.

Currently, Museums Victoria holds a collection of over 17 million items, held in high-quality storage facilities at Melbourne Museum, Scienceworks and a specialised storage facility. Collection managers, conservators and curators research, document and preserve the collections for present and future generations.

Research
Our research, in the fields of science and humanities, uses the museum’s collections and expert staff to further what we know about the social and natural history of Victoria and beyond.

Exhibitions
We present long-term and temporary exhibitions at three venues: Melbourne Museum, the Immigration Museum and Scienceworks. These exhibitions are core to our cultural and scientific programs for the people of Victoria and visitors from interstate and overseas.

Frederick McCoy’s Prodromus of the Zoology of Victoria set out to describe the colony’s fauna. Drawing on Museum Victoria’s rich archival sources, Caught & Coloured: Zoological Illustrations from Colonial Victoria explores the legacy of this great project. Original drawings, lithographic proofs and manuscripts bring to life the work of both McCoy and the artists he commissioned.

MV Collections allows users to explore the natural sciences and humanities collections, featuring collections of zoology, geology, palaeontology, history, indigenous cultures and technology. Over 1.16 million records were on the site in mid 2016, accompanied by over 150,000 images.

The collections are testimony to the endeavours and decisions of generations of curators employed at the museum. They include many items and discrete collections of international, national, state and local scientific or cultural significance.

Tags: