لو روف ، بوشيه دو رون ، فرنسا

Le Rove (lo Rove in Provencal وفقًا للمعيار الكلاسيكي و lou Rouve وفقًا لمعيار Mistralian) هي بلدية فرنسية في قسم Bouches-du-Rhône ، في منطقة Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur.

تقع البلدة في كتلة Nerthe ، بين L’Estaque (مرسيليا) و Ensuès-la-Redonne. تحتل العاصمة منخفضًا موجهًا تقريبًا من الغرب إلى الشرق ، بين 170 و 110 مترًا فوق مستوى سطح البحر ، وتحيط بها تلال من الحجر الجيري مع نباتات متفرقة ، ومتصلة بساحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​من خلال الوديان الضيقة والمتعرجة ، والتي يسمح لك أحدها (وادي Gipier) للانضمام إلى مرسيليا ، والآخر (وادي ريجادزي) يؤدي إلى اثنين من الجداول المأهولة: Vesse و Niolon. على الجانب الشمالي ، تغطي المدينة جانب الكتلة ، وتتوقف عند حافة السهل.

شجيرة روف هو التخصص لهذا المكان. يتم إنتاج شجيرة روف الحقيقية من حليب الماعز من سلالة روف على أراضي بلدية روف. الماعز روف معروفة بجماليتها وقوتها وصلابتها. إنهم يعطون حليبًا أقل من جبال الألب أو Saanens ، لكن حليبهم أكثر ثراءً ورائحة لأن هذه القطعان لا تتسامح مع الإسطبل وترتفع في منتصف التل. أشهر عائلة مربي الماعز في Rove هي عائلة Gouiran .. The Rove bush هو طبق معروف يمكن العثور عليه في قائمة المطاعم الراقية في المنطقة.

التاريخ
روف ، ولفظ “rouve” ، هو الاسم البروفانسي لبلوط البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​(البلوط) ، والذي يظهر في شعار النبالة في المدينة. Vesso ، وضوحا “Vesse” ، هي الشكل البروفنسالي للبيقية ، وبالتالي فهي تحدد مكان العلف.

يقال أن القرية ولدت عام 1835 ، عندما أصبحت بلدية مستقلة. في الحقيقة ، هو أكبر بكثير من ذلك. يعود تاريخه إلى أعلى العصور القديمة. تم استخدام الكهوف والأماكن الجافة تحت الصخور المتدلية هنا كملاجئ للإنسان في العصر الحجري القديم ، ثم في العصر الحجري الحديث.

أقدم سور معروف حتى الآن في بروفانس على تلالنا. يعود تاريخه إلى بداية العصر البرونزي. وهي المستوطنة المحصنة الوحيدة في جنوب فرنسا ، حيث توجد الهياكل الحجرية في العصر البرونزي المبكر. يعتبر كامب دي لور ، المحمي كنصب تاريخي ، ذا قيمة كبيرة ، لأنه يعني أن أول روفينين عاشوا هنا ، قبل 3500 عام.

كان Le Rove جزءًا من السيادة على Marignane بنفس طريقة Saint-Victoret و Gignac. في ذروتها ، امتدت هذه المجموعة إلى جداول البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

التراث والثقافة

الآثار المدنية
تم بناء مبنى محطة Niolon ، الذي يسيطر على calanque من أعلى ارتفاعه 35 مترًا فوق مستوى سطح البحر ، بأسلوب خاص للغاية لمحطات خط Côte Bleue: ضيق ، وكله في الارتفاع ، مع واجهات من السيراميك ، وروماني سقف مغطى بالقرميد. من المحطة ، منظر الكالانك رائع.

حصن نيولون
حصن نيولون هو مجموعة من البطاريات العسكرية الفرنسية بنيت في السنوات 1860 – 1880 بالقرب من قرية نيولون ، على الساحل بالقرب من مرسيليا. كانت البطاريات مجهزة بمدافع. خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية ، تم احتلالها وتعديلها جزئيًا من قبل الجيش الألماني من عام 1942. مباني القلعة العليا مهجورة حاليًا. كانت ملكا لوزارة الدفاع ، التي باعتها لمعهد الفضاء الساحلي وشواطئ Lacustrine.

حصن فيغيرولس
حصن Figuerolles هو بطارية عسكرية فرنسية بنيت في السنوات 1880-1890 بالقرب من Pointe de Figuerolles ، على ساحل Côte Bleue بالقرب من مرسيليا. يمكن أن يشتق اسم Figuerolles من Fourquerolle بمعنى “المكان الذي تتقاطع فيه المسارات” أو “مسار التين”

نفق روف
تم حفر نفق روف ، وهو قناة نفق تربط مرسيليا بإيتانج دي بيري ، في الغالب تحت إقليم روف ، ومن هنا جاء اسمه ، لكنه غير مرئي من أي مكان في المدينة. ارتفاع Niolon و Figuerolles القوي ، البطاريات العسكرية السابقة الموضوعة في التلال المطلة على البحر ، دمرت جزئيًا.

نفق روف هو قناة نفق بحري اخترقت تحت سلسلة Estaque ، التي تربط شمال ميناء مرسيليا ببركة بيري. تم الانتهاء منه في عام 1926 ، وهو عمل فني رئيسي لقناة مرسيليا رون ، ولكن تم حظره بسبب انهيار أرضي ، فقد انخفض منذ عام 1963.

يسمح النفق ، الذي يبلغ طوله 7،120 مترًا ، وعرضه 22 مترًا ، وارتفاعه 15 مترًا وعمقه 4 أمتار (أي ارتفاعه 11 مترًا تحت حجر الزاوية) بعبور مركبتين يبلغ وزنهما 1500 طن. يعبر صخور الحجر الجيري لمسافة 5 كيلومترات ، ويهبط مارلي لمسافة 2 كيلومتر. تتطلب هذه تعزيز السماكة الأولية للقبة من 1 إلى 2.5 متر ، وتوسيع جدران البناء تحت مستوى الماء.

يقع المدخل الجنوبي للنفق في أقصى شمال بلدة مرسيليا ، في منطقة رياو ، بالقرب من L’Estaque بين ميناء لافا وموقع كوربيير. يهاجم النفق مباشرة جدارًا صخريًا يبلغ ارتفاعه عشرات الأمتار. يقع الجزء الأكبر من مسارها تحت الأرض في بلدية روف – ومن هنا جاء اسمها – ولكن أيضًا تحت تلك المدن من Gignac-la-Nerthe و Marseille. يقع الطرف الشمالي جنوب بلدة Marignane ، في منطقة جبلية قليلاً ، حيث تظهر القناة في خندق ينحدر تدريجياً إلى ميناء Saint-Pierre ، الواقع على حافة بحيرة Bolmon

مخيم لور
لا شك في أن Camp de Laure هو أكثر المواقع غير المعروفة المصنفة من قبل المعالم التاريخية في بلديتنا. يقع بالقرب من Chapelle St Michel. تم إجراء العديد من الحفريات منذ مطلع القرن ، وقد مكنت آخر الحفريات التي يعود تاريخها إلى عام 1975 من تحديث جزء من السور وجرد وفرة من المواد والسيراميك الأصلي تمامًا من تقليد Campaniform.

احتل إقليم روف رجال عصور ما قبل التاريخ من العصر الحجري القديم والعصر الحجري الحديث. ثم Celtoligures في 1000 قبل الميلاد في العصر البرونزي. يقدم Camp de Laure خصوصية ، فهو المستوطنة المحصنة الوحيدة في جنوب فرنسا حيث توجد أسوار حجرية في العصر البرونزي.

كشفت الحفريات عن هيكل دفاعي يقع على رعن يتكون من حاجز حجري جاف يواجهه مزدوج بطول 140 م ؛ مبطنة بجدار أضيق ، ثاني أضيق يشكل ممشى يحيط به أبراج نصف كروية يبلغ قطرها 4 أمتار ، وهذه لها ممر واسع بما يكفي لإفساح المجال لعربة تسحبها الثيران. تحتوي هذه العمارة الدفاعية على تشابه مع المواقع القديمة في اليونان وجنوب إسبانيا والبرتغال ولانغدوك الشرقية. نظرًا لطابعها الفريد في بروفانس ، تم تصنيف Camp de Laure على أنه نصب تاريخي في 15 يناير 1997.

الآثار الدينية

مصلى القديس ميشيل
كنيسة سانت ميشيل جينياك هي كنيسة رومانيسكية من القرن الثالث عشر. كانت القلعة التي اعتمدت عليها ، والتي لم يتبق منها سوى أطلال قليلة ، معقلًا لفرسان الهيكل كان بمثابة تتابع قبل فريوس ، حيث شرع الصليبيون. تم ترميم الكنيسة المصنفة مع أنقاض القلعة كنصب تاريخي في عام 1977. على الرغم من اسمها ، وعلى الرغم من أن الكنيسة على شعار قرية جينياك لا نيرث المجاورة ، إلا أنها جزء من بلدية روف.

تم بناء Chapelle Saint-Michel (القرنين الثاني عشر والثالث عشر) وأطلال القلعة على قطعة أرض مساحتها 5400 متر مربع على أراضي بلدية روف التي تمتلكها. تم تصنيف الموقع على أنه نصب تاريخي في 29 يوليو 1977. تم بناء كنيسة سانت ميشيل بلا شك في القرن الثالث عشر ، وهي تقدم لنا أحد الأمثلة الأولى على الفن القوطي.

تبدو هذه الكنيسة ، المبنية على الصخر ، وكأنها كنيسة صغيرة محصنة في الخارج ، لا تزال أسوارها مرئية جزئيًا على الواجهة الشمالية. تمت إضافة برج الكنيسة في نهاية القرن السابع عشر. البوابة ذات الأعمدة والأرشيف يعلوها أقواس. الكورنيش مدعوم من كل جانب بعمود مرتبط والذي يؤطر عمودين آخرين. تم العثور على تيجان على شكل أوراق الشجر ، منمقة للغاية ، في الداخل وهي شهادة على بقاء الفن الروماني في الإنشاءات القوطية البروفنسالية. يزين السطح العلوي من القوس بزخارف دقيقة للغاية من الزهور والنجوم. يتكون الجزء الداخلي للكنيسة ذات الجناح الواحد من خليتين وجوقة سداسية. الجوقة المنفصلة عن الصحن مغطاة بقبو من ستة أضلاع.

التقاليد والمهرجانات
يتكون هذا الهيكل البلدي من حوالي خمسين متطوعًا نشطًا ، وينظم العديد من الأحداث والمبادرات والأنشطة والرحلات للسكان على مدار العام. هناك شيء لجميع الأذواق وجميع الأعمار. الأرباح التي تم جمعها خلال الأحداث تجعل من الممكن تنظيم مبادرات وأفعال مجانية لصالح السكان (الولائم المقدمة لكبار السن ، والكرنفال ، وأحداث عيد الميلاد ، وما إلى ذلك).

بعض مهرجانات وتقاليد القرية
كرنفال
مهرجان نذري من سانت آن
روف ايام الماعز
تقدم 3 وجبات سنويا للخريجين
نزهة الشباب السنوية
ترفيه عيد الميلاد

التراث الطبيعي
تقع خيول Niolon و La Vesse مقابل ميناء مرسيليا على بعد 5 كيلومترات من العاصمة ، وكل منزل قرية صغيرة للصيد وميناء ، ويزورها مرسيليا الراغبين في الاسترخاء يوم الأحد.

المسار الساحلي (غير المميز ، الدقيق المحلي) ، الذي نشأ في Establon ، على حافة الطريق القديم في ارتفاع نفق Resquilladou ، يتجاوز نقطة Figuerolles ، يمر عبر Calanques من Vesse ثم Niolon ، ومغادرة أراضي البلدية في كهف Érevine ، تتجه نحو Redonne d’Ensuès.

بيئة
مع ما يقرب من 2000 هكتار ، فإن Le Rove لديها أكبر مساحة غير ملوثة في كوت بلو. هناك نباتات وحيوانات “استثنائية” ، بما في ذلك قطيع من 400 رأس من روف الماعز ، ولكن هناك أيضًا أنواع محمية مثل نسر بونلي والدوق الكبير وطيور جارحة أخرى. تعتبر منطقة روف ، التي تم الاعتراف بها في يونيو 2013 ، “الموقع المصنف” من قبل DREAL (المديرية الإقليمية للبيئة والتخطيط والإسكان) ، مساحة طبيعية مميزة ، ورئة خضراء حقيقية عند أبواب مرسيليا. ومع ذلك ، فإنها تظل معرضة بشدة من جغرافيتها لخطر الحرائق. يتم سرد 75 مداخل للموقع وعشرات الكيلومترات من المسارات. تستخدم البلدية ، التي تدير أراضي المعهد الموسيقي ، وسائل مهمة للحفاظ على أراضيها.

تمتلك Le Rove الآن أكبر منطقة طبيعية في الساحل الأزرق مع 87 ٪ من الأراضي المصنفة كموقع مصنّف (أي 2000 هكتار من أصل 2300) بالإضافة إلى أكبر واجهة بحرية ، تتراوح من Resquiadou إلى Erevines عبر Vesse و Niolon.

من المهم أن نتذكر أن هذه البيئة الاستثنائية قد تم الحفاظ عليها من شهية مشغلي العقارات (الذين أرادوا جعلها مدينة ساحلية تضم ما يقرب من 65000 نسمة – مشروع أميروف) بفضل معركة طويلة بدأها جورج روسو في منتصف سنوات. 1970 بدعم من المسؤولين المنتخبين والمقيمين.

اعتاد عمدة روف أن يقول “حماية البيئة معركة مستمرة”. هذا هو السبب في أننا يجب أن نحافظ على بيئتنا بلا كلل للأجيال الحالية والمستقبلية.

اليوم ، يمكن أن تستفيد rovenaines و rovenains ولكن أيضًا زوار الصيف من هذه المساحة الرائعة للمشي الاستثنائي أو ركوب الدراجات في الجبال.

الجداول
قرية روف ، المنفصلة عن ليستاك بجبال شديدة الانحدار يعبرها نفق ، هي الممر الإلزامي عندما يغادر المرسيليا من الغرب. يتجنب الطريق القرية التي تبدو بعيدة عن البحر. لكن طريقًا يؤدي إلى جداول فيسي ونيلون ، التي تواجه مرسيليا وجزر أرخبيل فريول.

الوصول إلى calanque عن طريق طريق يمر عبر scrubland ثم ينقسم إلى قسمين. على جانب واحد ننضم إلى Vesse على الجانب الآخر ، نصل إلى Niolon. الساحل الأزرق.

تتكون قرية Niolon بشكل أساسي من مركز الغوص UCPA (المركز الفيدرالي FFESSM) الذي يحتل حصنًا عسكريًا سابقًا تم بناؤه في عام 1860 وقد احتله الألمان خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية. عدد قليل من المنازل والمحلات التجارية (المطاعم والحانات والنزل …) تكمل الرحلة بأكملها. ويأتي كالانكو دي لا فيسي بداية Côte Bleue. يقع La Vesse في قاع الوادي البري ، وهو ملاذ للهدوء ، حيث يمكن للمرء أن يحلم بينما يراقب تحركات الخطوط البيضاء التي تحرك ميناء مرسيليا.

الماعز روف
ماعز روف هو ماعز أصلي (Capra aégagnus Prisca). هذا الرأس مسلح بقرون رائعة ، ملتوية ، وعلى شكل قيثارة. يمكن أن تصل قرون بعض الماعز إلى جناحيها 1.20 م.

تمنحهم هذه الخصائص حضورًا وأناقة خاصة. المعطف قصير وناعم ، الفساتين متنوعة. يمكن أن تكون حمراء أو سوداء (هذه الألوان هي السائدة في القطعان) ، ولكن هناك أيضًا “blaù” (رمادي رمادي) ، “Cardalines” (أحمر مرقط باللون الأبيض) ، “السردين” (أحمر ممزوج بالرمادي) ، “boucabelles “(أسود مع سمرة في الأذنين ، تحت العينين ، كمامة ونهاية الساقين) ،” Tchaîsses “(أسود في الأمام ، أحمر خلف) ، ومجموعات أخرى ممكنة.

تزن الإناث البالغات حوالي 50 إلى 60 كجم. ذكور 80 إلى 90 كجم ، حتى بالنسبة لبعض المواد. بعض الحيوانات من هذا الصنف لديها جيوب ثنائية الاتجاه ، تحتوي على غدة بين الأديان بشكل عام في القدم الأمامية وبشكل رئيسي عند الذكور. تسمح الصلابة الاستثنائية لهذه الحيوانات بالعيش في الثلج ، وكذلك لتحمل الجفاف الكبير في الصيف.

فيما يتعلق بالماعز روف ، تشرح فرضتان وجودهما في كتلة روف. هذا الماعز الذي له أصل بعيد من بلاد ما بين النهرين والأناضول واليونان بالطبع ، كان يمكن استيرادها من قبل الفينيقيين على متن سفينة كانت ستغرق على طول ساحل Rovenain. كان من الممكن أن يصل جزء كبير من هذه الماعز إلى الساحل عن طريق السباحة ، ثم يتم تدجينه من قبل رعاة روف الذين كانوا موجودين منذ آلاف السنين. بالنسبة للفرضية الثانية ، كان الماعز روف قد وصلوا عن طريق البحر في ميناء مرسيليا بواسطة الفينيقيين واستعادها رعاة روف بفضل المقايضة.

فقط على مر القرون من خلال اختيار طبيعي لا يرحم في تلال روف ، تم تشكيل هذا الماعز وأخذ اسم أرضه التي أصبحت مهدها الأصلي.

نسر بونلي
نسر Bonelli ، Aquila fasciata ، هو رابتور نهاري من عائلة Accipitridae (النسور ، النسور ، الطائرات الورقية ، المهاجرون ، الصقور). كونها قادرة على الوصول إلى ما يصل إلى 180 سم من جناحيها ، فهي واحدة من أكثر الطيور الجارحة المهددة بالانقراض في فرنسا حيث يتم إدراج الأنواع في القائمة الحمراء للحيوانات المهددة بالانقراض في الفئة “المهددة بالانقراض” وتخضع لخطة عمل وطنية للحفظ.

أرض روف محمية في تلالها زوج من نسور بونلي لعدة عقود. تشارك البلدية بقوة في حماية التنوع البيولوجي على أراضيها ، وقد نفذت البلدية العديد من الإجراءات (أوامر من رئيس البلدية لحماية وتأمين منطقة التعشيش ، وإنشاء منطقة حماية محددة ، natura 2000 ، موقع سري ، حظر المركبات الآلية والطائرات …).

منذ 40 عامًا ، يحمي المعهد الشتوي للمساحات الطبيعية نسر بونلي ، وهو أحد أنواع البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​النموذجية.

Tags:

Le Rove, Bouches-du-Rhône, France

Le Rove (lo Rove in Provencal according to the classic standard and lou Rouve according to the Mistralian standard) is a French commune in the Bouches-du-Rhône department, in the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region.

The town is located in the Nerthe massif, between L’Estaque (Marseille) and Ensuès-la-Redonne. The capital occupies a depression oriented approximately from west to east, between 170 and 110 meters above sea level, surrounded by limestone hills with sparse vegetation, and connected to the Mediterranean coast by narrow and winding valleys, one of which (Gipier valley) allows you to join Marseille, and the other (Regadzi valley) leads to two inhabited creeks: Vesse and Niolon. On the north side, the town covers the side of the massif, and stops at the edge of the plain.

The Rove bush is the specialty of this place. The real Rove bush is produced from the milk of goats of the Rove breed on the territory of the commune of Rove. Rove goats are known for their aesthetics, robustness and hardiness. They give less milk than the Alpines or the Saanens, but their milk is richer and more fragrant since these herds do not tolerate stabling and are raised in the middle of the hill. The most famous family of goat breeders in Rove is the Gouiran family.. The Rove bush is a known dish that can be found on the menu of upscale restaurants in the region.

History
Rove, pronounced “rouve”, is the Provencal name for the Mediterranean oak (oak) , which appears in the coat of arms of the town. Vesso, pronounced “vesse”, is the Provencal form of vetch, and by extension designates a place of fodder.

It is said that the village was born in 1835, when it became an independent municipality. In truth, he is much, much older than that. It dates back to the highest Antiquity. Caves, dry places under overhanging rocks were used here as shelters for the hominids at the time of the Paleolithic, then of the Neolithic.

The oldest rampart known to date in Provence is on our hills. It dates from the beginning of the Bronze Age. It is the only fortified settlement, in the South of France, where stone structures are present in the Early Bronze Age. The Camp de Laure, protected as a Historic Monument, is of great value, because it means that the first Rovenains lived here, 3,500 years ago.

Le Rove was part of the seigneury of Marignane in the same way as Saint-Victoret and Gignac. At its peak, this seigneury extended to the Mediterranean creeks.

Culture heritage

Civil monuments
The building of the Niolon station, which dominates the calanque from the top of its 35 meters above sea level, is built in the very particular style of the stations of the Côte Bleue line: narrow, all in height, with ceramic facings, a Roman tiled roof. From the station, the view of the calanque is remarkable.

Fort of Niolon
The fort of Niolon is a set of French military batteries built in the years 1860 – 1880 near the hamlet of Niolon, on the coast near Marseille. The batteries were equipped with cannons. During the Second World War, they were occupied and partially modified by the German military from 1942. The buildings of the Upper Fort are currently abandoned. They were the property of the Ministry of Defense, which sold them to the Conservatory of Coastal Space and Lacustrine Shores.

Fort of Figuerolles
The Fort of Figuerolles is a French military battery built in the years 1880-1890 near the Pointe de Figuerolles, on the coast of the Côte Bleue near Marseille. The name Figuerolles could derive from Fourquerolle meaning “place where paths cross” or “path of figs”

Rove tunnel
The Rove tunnel, a tunnel-canal connecting Marseille to the Étang de Berre, was mostly dug under the territory of Rove, hence its name, but it is not visible from any point in the town. The height of Niolon and strong Figuerolles, former military batteries set in the hills overlooking the sea, partially destroyed.

The Rove tunnel is a maritime tunnel-channel pierced under the Estaque chain, which connects the north of the Marseille harbor with the Berre pond. Completed in 1926, it is the work of art major of Marseille Rhone canal, but blocked by a landslide, it is down since 1963.

The tunnel, 7,120 meters long, 22 meters wide, 15 meters high and 4 meters deep (i.e. 11 meters high under the keystone) allows the crossing of two barges of 1,500 tonnes. It crosses limestone rocks for 5 kilometers, and marly lands for 2 kilometers. These required a reinforcement of the initial thickness of the vault from 1 to 2.5 meters, and an extension of the masonry walls below the water level.

The southern entrance to the tunnel is located at the far north of the town of Marseille, in the Riaux district, near L’Estaque between the port of Lava and the site of Corbières. The tunnel directly attacks a rock wall several tens of meters high. The greater part of its underground route is located in the commune of Rove — hence its name — but also under those of Gignac-la-Nerthe and Marseille. The northern end is located south of the town of Marignane, in a slightly hilly area, where the canal emerges in a trench which gradually descends to the Saint-Pierre port, located on the edge of the Bolmon lake

Laure’s Camp
The Camp de Laure is undoubtedly the most unknown of the sites classified by the Historic Monuments of our municipality. It is located near the Chapelle St Michel. Numerous excavations have been carried out since the turn of the century and the last ones dating from 1975 have made it possible to update part of the rampart and to inventory an abundance of material and quite original Ceramics of the Campaniform tradition.

The territory of Rove was occupied by prehistoric men from the Paleolithic and Neolithic era. Then the Celtoligures in 1000 BC at the Bronze Age. The Camp de Laure presents a particularity, it is the only fortified settlement in the south of France where stone ramparts are present in the Bronze Age.

Excavations have brought to light a defensive structure located on a promontory made up of a dry stone rampart with double facing 140 m long; lined with a second, narrower wall forming a walkway flanked by hemispherical towers with a diameter of 4 m, these having a passage wide enough to make room for a cart pulled by oxen. This defensive architecture has analogies with older sites in Greece, southern Spain, Portugal and Eastern Languedoc. Due to its unique character in Provence, Camp de Laure was classified as a Historic Monument on January 15, 1997.

Religious monuments

The Saint-Michel chapel
The chapel Saint-Michel Gignac is a chapel Romanesque of the xiii th century. The castle on which it depended, and of which only a few ruins remain, was a Templar stronghold serving as a relay before Fréjus, where the Crusaders embarked. The chapel, listed with the ruins of the castle as a historical monument in 1977, was restored in 1997. Despite its name, and although the chapel is on the emblem of the neighboring village of Gignac-la-Nerthe, it is part of the commune of Rove.

The Chapelle Saint-Michel (12th – 13th century) and the ruins of the castle are built on a 5400m2 plot of land on the territory of the Municipality of Rove which owns it. The site was classified as a historic monument on July 29, 1977. Undoubtedly built in the course of the 13th century, the Saint-Michel Chapel offers us one of the very first examples of Gothic Art.

Built on the rock, this chapel looks like a small fortified church on the outside, the battlements of which are still partially visible on the north facade. The steeple was added at the end of the 17th century. The portal with columns and archivolt is surmounted by arches. The cornice is supported on each side by an engaged column which frames two other columns. The capitals in the form of foliage, very stylized, are found inside and are a testimony of the survival of Roman Art in Provencal Gothic constructions.The door has a lintel; the upper surface of the arch is adorned with a very fine motif of flowers and stars. The interior of the single-nave church is made up of two bays and a hexagonal choir. The Choir, separated from the nave is covered with a six-rib vault. The Warheads fall back on supported by flat doubleaux and the crossed ribbed vaults see their ribs resting on consoles, one of which is decorated with a human head and the other with an angel, in which we will be allowed to see Saint-Michel.

Traditions and festivals
Composed of around fifty active volunteers, this municipal structure organizes numerous events, initiatives, activities and outings for the population throughout the year. There is something for all tastes and all ages. The profits collected during the events make it possible to organize free initiatives and actions in favor of the population (banquets offered to elders, carnival and Christmas events, etc.).

Some festivals and traditions of the village
Carnival
Votive festival of Saint-Anne
Rove goat days
3 meals per year offered to alumni
Annual youth outing
Christmas entertainment

Natural heritage
The creeks of Niolon and La Vesse, located opposite the harbor of Marseille some 5 kilometers from the capital, each house a small fishing village and a port, and are visited by Marseillais wishing to relax on Sundays.

The coastal path (unmarked, locally delicate), which originates in Establon, at the edge of the old road at the height of the Resquilladou tunnel, bypasses the point of Figuerolles, passes through the calanques of Vesse then Niolon and, leaving the territory of the municipality at the cove of Érevine, continues towards the Redonne d’Ensuès.

Environment
With nearly 2,000 hectares, Le Rove has the largest unspoiled territory on the Côte Bleue. There is an “exceptional” flora and fauna, including a herd of 400 Rove goats, but also protected species such as the bonelli’s eagle, the grand duke and other birds of prey. Recognized in June 2013, “classified site” by the DREAL (Regional Directorate for the Environment, Planning and Housing), the Rove area is a privileged natural space, a real green lung at the gates of Marseille. It remains nonetheless strongly exposed by its geography to the risk of fires. 75 site entrances and dozens of kilometers of tracks are listed. The municipality, which manages the grounds of the conservatory, employs significant means to preserve its territory. It should be noted that the use of motorized vehicles is strictly prohibited there to guarantee the safety of users but especially the balance of biodiversity.

Le Rove now has the largest natural area of the Blue Coast with 87% of the territory classified as a classified site (i.e. 2,000 hectares out of 2300) as well as the largest seafront, ranging from Resquiadou to Erevines via Vesse and Niolon.

It is important to remember that this exceptional environment has been preserved from the appetite of real estate operators (who wanted to make it a seaside town of nearly 65,000 inhabitants – Amerove project) thanks to a long fight initiated by Georges Rosso in the middle of the years. 1970 with the support of elected officials and residents.

The mayor of Rove is in the habit of saying “protecting the environment is a constant battle”. This is why we must tirelessly preserve our environment for present and future generations.

Today, rovenaines and rovenains but also summer visitors can take advantage of this remarkable space for exceptional walks or mountain biking.

Creeks
Separated from L’Estaque by steep mountains which one crosses by a tunnel, the village of Rove is the obligatory passage when one leaves Marseilles by the west. The road avoids the village which seems far from the sea. But a road leads to the creeks of Vesse and Niolon, which face Marseille and the islands of the Frioul archipelago.

Access to the calanque is via a road that winds through the scrubland and then splits in two. On one side we join the Vesse on the other we reach Niolon.niolon-postcard-sunNiolon is a calanque located in the town of Rove about 20 km northwest of Marseille, between l’Estaque and Carry-le-Rouet in the middle of the Blue Coast.

The village of Niolon is mainly made up of the UCPA diving center (FFESSM federal center) which occupies a former military fort built in 1860 and having been occupied by the Germans during the Second World War. A few homes and shops (restaurants, bars, inn…) complete the whole.la-vesseThe calanque de La Vesse marks the start of the Côte Bleue. Nestled at the bottom of a wild valley, La Vesse is a haven of tranquility, from which one can dream while observing the movements of the white liners that animate the port of Marseille.

The Rove goat
The Rove goat is an original goat (Capra aégagnus Prisca). This caprid is armed with remarkable horns, twisted, and in the shape of a lyre. The horns of some goats can reach a wingspan of 1.20m.

These characteristics give them a particular presence and elegance. The coat is short and soft, the dresses are varied. They can be red or black (these colors are dominant in the herds), but there are also “blaù” (ash gray), “cardalines” (red speckled with white), “sardines” (red mixed with gray), “boucabelles” (black with tan in the ears, under the eyes, the muzzle and the end of the legs), “Tchaîsses” (black in front, red behind), and other possible combinations.

Adult females weigh around 50 to 60 Kg. Males 80 to 90 Kg, even more for some subjects. Some animals of this breed have a biflex sinus, containing an interdigital gland in general in the forelegs and mainly in males. The exceptional hardiness of these animals allows them to live in the snow, as well as to withstand the great droughts of summer.

Regarding the Rove goats, two hypotheses explain their presence in the Rove massif. This goat having as a distant origin Mesopotamia, Anatolia and of course Greece, they would have been imported by the Phoenicians aboard a vessel which would have sunk along the Rovenain coast. A large part of these goats would have reached the coast by swimming, to be then domesticated by the shepherds of Rove who have been present for millennia. For the second hypothesis, the goats of Rove would have arrived by sea at the port of Marseille by the Phoenicians and recovered by the shepherds of Rove thanks to barter.

It was only over the centuries through a natural and ruthless selection in the hills of Rove, that this goat was shaped and took the name of its land which became its original cradle.

Bonelli’s eagle
Bonelli’s eagle, Aquila fasciata, is a diurnal raptor of the Accipitridae family (eagles, vultures, kites, harriers, hawks). Being able to reach up to 180 cm wingspan, it is one of the most endangered birds of prey in France where the species is included on the red list of threatened fauna in the “endangered” category and is subject to a national conservation action plan.

The territory of Rove has sheltered in its hills a pair of Bonelli’s eagles for several decades. Strongly involved in the protection of biodiversity on its territory, the municipality has implemented several measures (orders of the mayor to protect and secure the nesting area, creation of a specific protection area, natura 2000, classified site, prohibition of motorized land and air vehicles…).

For 40 years, the Conservatory of Natural Spaces has been protecting the Bonelli’s eagle, a typically Mediterranean species.

Tags: