吉姆汤普森故居博物馆,泰国曼谷

吉姆·汤普森故居(Jim Thompson House)是位于泰国曼谷市中心的一家博物馆,收藏着美国商人和建筑师吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)的艺术收藏品,吉姆·汤普森是博物馆的设计师和前所有者。博物馆建于1959年,横跨一个矩形的土地(约半英亩)。

汤普森(Thompson)移居曼谷并于1948年成立泰国丝绸有限公司(Thai Silk Company Limited)之后,也成为东南亚艺术品的主要藏家,而当时东南亚艺术品在国际上并不为人所知。他精湛的手工艺和表现力吸引了他,收集了大量历史悠久的佛教雕像和传统的泰国绘画,这些绘画用木头,布料和纸制成,描绘了佛陀的生活和维森塔拉·贾塔卡(Vessantara Jataka)的传说。他不仅从泰国而且从缅甸,柬埔寨和老挝收集世俗艺术,并经常前往这些国家进行购买旅行。他的收藏还包括来自中国的白色和蓝色瓷器,这些瓷器在16世纪和17世纪左右进入了泰国。

1958年,他开始了自己的建筑成就的顶峰,成为了一个新的居住地并展示他的艺术收藏品。博物馆计划由六种传统的泰式风格房屋(主要是木制建筑)和各种古老的泰式建筑(由1950年代和1960年代从泰国各地收集的建筑)组成的复杂组合组成。他的家位于邦克拉(Bangkrua)对面的一条运河(运河)上,之后是他公司的织布工所在的地方。 19世纪的大多数房屋是从大城府拆除并搬迁的,但最大的房屋是织布工的房屋(现为起居室),来自Bangkrua。

汤普森(Thompson)于1967年失踪后,这座房子由詹姆斯·H·汤普森(James H. W. Thompson)基金会控制,得到了国王的皇家赞助。玛哈·查克里·诗琳通公主。位于Pathumwan Rama 1 Road的Soi Kasemsan 2 2,离曼谷国家体育场仅一个街区,每天提供导游带领。

总览
曼谷的吉姆·汤普森之家(Jim Thompson House)建于1959年,是城市中最繁忙的部分游客的宁静,半英亩的休养所。吉姆汤普森故居是零售业超载的旅行者的艺术和文化绿洲。风景优美的庭园和宁静的花园与曼谷繁忙的心脏形成鲜明对比。

汤普森(Thompson)在他住所对面的运河边,最可能是在班克鲁(Ban Krua)村里检查丝绸。汤普森深信泰国丝绸的美丽和品质会在泰国以外吸引人,因此他成功地将其丝绸出口到国际市场。

吉姆汤普森
吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)是一位美国企业家,以修复泰国丝绸业而闻名。在开始作为建筑师的职业生涯后,汤普森辞职并加入了特拉华国民警卫队。第二次世界大战期间,吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)被招募为战略服务办公室(现为中情局的前身)的特工。日本投降后,他抵达日本占领的泰国,并在曼谷建立了OSS办公室。

退役后,汤普森和他的合伙人于1948年成立了泰国丝绸有限公司。汤普森的父亲在纺织工业上很成功。吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)广泛地前往东南亚旅行,建立了对该地区的深入了解,因此泰国丝绸公司开始变得非常有利可图。他还沿途收集了艺术品和稀有古董,并最终建造了一座豪宅(现为曼谷的吉姆·汤普森故居)来展示它们。

1967年3月26日,现年61岁的吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)住在马来西亚金马仑高原(Cameron Highlands)的一栋简易别墅中,短暂的复活节周日漫步,却再也没有回来。

房子和花园
访客在一条狭窄的曼谷小道上找到了吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)的老住所和热带花园,距离繁华的购物区仅一个街区。

这座名为“吉姆·汤普森故居博物馆”的泰国房屋由吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)设计和建造(1958年9月至1959年4月)。该住宅建在整个地面上方的柚木柱子上。

汤普森(Thompson)从大城府(Ayutthaya)购入了几套泰国房屋,但最古老,最令人印象深刻的日期是1800年左右,并且是查姆(Cham)村庄班·克鲁(Bahn Krua)的房屋。

汤普森在建筑工地上。他从大城府(Ayutthaya)带了一批熟练的木匠,将棉条重新组装在湛邦(Bahn Krua)对面的一处房产上,该村庄是编织丝绸的湛村。

在施工期间的房子。该物业面对着250岁的Bahn Krua村庄对面的运河(或运河),该村庄是吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)的Cham丝织工的故乡。

吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)用“密林”来形容他密密麻麻的花园,上面种着高大的棕榈树,金色的竹子和爬山虎。总的来说,种植与吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)时期的种植相同。

两栋小型建筑,以前是仆人的住所,已经变成了额外的博物馆展示空间。在这张照片上,现在是陈列着绘画和手稿的老园丁的房子。

花园在不断变化,但是由于专业的照顾,氛围已经从不受控制的混乱转变为受控制的混乱。在这里,红姜(Alpinia)生长在后花园小池塘附近。

艺术收藏
汤普森(Thompson)是一位建筑师和设计师,因此他有目的地用木板和墙壁从泰国各地的旧建筑物上建造房屋。 Finished属性表示多个样式和区域。

尽管房屋本身的设计令人印象深刻,但真正的珍品仍在里面等待着。吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)在东南亚旅行期间,收集了古董佛像和稀有艺术品,包括绘画和瓷器。甚至很多家具都是精美雕刻和精美的。当然,您还将看到老式织布机和彩色丝绸的陈列。

东南亚艺术
汤普森(Thompson)自1946年以来一直是泰国古董的收藏者。在他的新家中,他精美地展示了他收藏的泰国老画,佛像雕塑,中国青花瓷和各种艺术品。通常,该系列的展示与Jim Thompson时期的展示相同。只有旧的食品储藏室和仆人宿舍被改建成展览馆,以展示本杰荣的瓷器,小物件和绘画。

佛像系列
德瓦拉瓦迪,华富里和大城府风格

亮点

站立佛像,未知,600/700
“佛陀穿着和尚的衣服,左手握住了衣服的襟翼。臀部的柔和轮廓给人以动感十足的印象。”德瓦拉瓦迪学校。

站立佛像,未知,700/800
菩萨胸象棕色石灰石的。 “ Dvaravadi派的特点是,宽阔的脸庞,浓密的鼻子,丰满的嘴唇,圆圆的眼睛,拱形的眉毛。”

佛头,未知,1250/1300
“发型是小卷发,上面有火焰装饰的装饰品……宽脸,下巴结实,嘴巴张大,眉毛微拱,双眼紧闭。”大城府学校,U-Thong风格。

冥想纳迦的佛陀,未知,1200/1300
“闭着眼睛的周到面孔表明这是Bayon艺术的典范。”

其他雕塑系列
Srivijaya,大城府,华富里和缅甸风格

亮点

Surya负责人,未知,700/800
印度教太阳神苏里亚(Surya)头,头戴大圆锥形头饰;脸是平坦的,周围是铁饼,上面刻有代表太阳光线的线。

未知的Ardhanari负责人,900/1000
“婆罗门神阿德哈纳里以一半男性,一半女性的形式代表西瓦,象征着男性和女性能量的结合。”

缅甸精神人物,未知,1750/1850
缅甸烈酒的四个木制人物之一,即Nat,来自缅甸的Amarapura附近。这些数字是汤普森在1950年代以正式客人身份前往缅甸时提供的。

佛陀生平系列
Phra Bot,神圣的布料和绘画,曼谷学校。

亮点

佛陀生平,未知,1825/1875年
佛陀的诞生;玛哈玛雅(Mahamaya)皇后站在一棵树下,抱着树枝,在隆比尼生下释迦牟尼佛。在右侧,新出生的王子被绿色的Indra和一个天使包围。

佛陀生平,未知,1850/1900年
佛陀回到卡皮拉瓦图;坐着的佛陀正在向他的父亲宣讲,并处于冥想姿势;在国王和朝廷面前,他被门徒所包围。

泰国宗教系列
Vessantara Jataka和Phra Malai。

亮点

维萨塔拉·贾塔卡(Vessantara Jataka),未知,1800/1850年
维桑塔拉(Vessantara Jataka),那空坎(Nakhonkan)的第三十集插图,或胜利者从维桑塔拉亲王流放到西瓦王国的胜利返回。这幅画来自古老的北部王国兰纳,即现在的清迈省。

帕玛莱(Phra Malai)参观地下世界,未知,1850/1900年
佛教圣人帕玛拉(Phra Malai)的传说以他到天堂和地狱的旅行而闻名,在泰国宗教论文中占有重要地位。传统上,他身穿藏红花长袍,手持风扇。在这幅画上,他参观了黑社会,以寻求拯救人类脱离罪恶和地狱。

泰国民俗,乡村风光,星座运势

亮点

1880/1920年,未知村庄的斗鸡
星座运势,未知,1850/1900

婆罗门贾蒂(Brahman Jati),暹罗星座;这是狗年。博物馆展示了十二个星座的完整集合。

Benjarong&Lainamthong系列
中国制造的泰国陶瓷

1963年,吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)购买了重要的本杰隆或中泰瓷器。在这里,一个带有黑色背景的有盖碗装饰着Thepanom和神话中的动物。

三个“ toh”罐子的集合,在红橙色背景上带有彩色花卉图案,黄色和灰色的带子在边缘处有花卉卷轴。

有金瘤边缘和绿色脚外缘,金花,绿色叶子和鸟的大被盖的碗在白色背景。

“ 19世纪上半叶,金背景的中泰瓷器Lai Nam Thong。它被精美地装饰着花朵,叶子和鸟类。”

青花瓷系列
来自中国和安南

Annamese蓝色和白色的集合。

装饰艺术收藏
中国和暹罗艺术

亮点

老鼠屋:“由19世纪的中国雕刻师建造的奇特的小结构,用来收容宠物白老鼠。”

基础理念与目标
詹姆斯·汤普森(James H. W. Thompson)基金会致力于保护和传播泰国丰富的文化遗产。通过对研究,研讨会,会议,展览和出版物的支持,基金会致力于更好地理解和欣赏泰国传统艺术形式,例如雕塑,绘画,文学,舞蹈,歌曲,木偶和纺织品。

正是这种文化遗产是泰国身份的核心。但是,泰国的身份以及赋予它的文化是动态的,而不是静态的。他们在不断发展。阐明和颂扬过去及其传统不应以欣赏和鼓励那些在传统文化的基石中找到自己的灵感而非局限的新兴文化表现形式为代价。同样,拥抱泰国艺术形式的变化和创新不应意味着拒绝或否认泰国文化过去的价值。有人说“过去是未来最好的先知。”但是,过去及其传统不应该控制未来,而应该为变化的根源和意义,变化的形式和步伐提供指南。

吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)在建立泰国丝绸国际市场的同时,赞赏过去的价值,同时拥抱创新变革的创造力。詹姆士·汤普森基金会(James H. W. Thompson Foundation)以他的名字建立,并因他对泰国及其艺术的热爱而得到巩固,并将继续珍惜过去并欢迎未来。

基金会活动

博物馆
该基金会经营着吉姆·汤普森故居博物馆,这是曼谷最受欢迎的旅游景点之一。博物馆每天开放,每天接待数百名游客。提供泰语,英语,法语和日语的导览游。近年来,为了游客的安全和便利,基金会对房屋中的收藏品和房间进行了稍微的重新布置。但是,基金会一直维持不买卖的一般政策,因此,吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)拥有的藏品几乎完好无损。两栋小型建筑,以前是仆人的住所,已经变成了额外的博物馆展示空间。

赠款
参观者的入场费和其他捐款使基金会能够提供与保存和传播泰国艺术和文化有关的赠款。赠款申请必须以书面形式向基金会董事会提出。赠款申请应包括有关提出请求的个人或机构的背景信息,赠款的目的以及使用赠款资金的拟议预算。要求所有受赠方在完成时提供进度报告和最终摘要,包括财务报告。基金会还发起选定的研讨会,展览和出版项目。此外,基金会还为新成立的泰国纺织协会提供了行政支持。

纺织艺术中心
吉姆·汤普森(Jim Thompson)纺织和艺术中心的建设于2003年11月完成。这座两层楼的钢结构和水泥结构,加上传统的木质立面,可提供220平方米的安全,气候和光控博物馆和展览空间。中心举办展览,重点是东南亚的纺织品,服饰,艺术和文化传统。基金会邀请顶尖的艺术史学家和学者担任各种展览的客座策展人,其中包括来自公共和私人收藏的贷款。

Tags:

Jim Thompson House Museum, Bangkok, Thailand

The Jim Thompson House is a museum in central Bangkok, Thailand, housing the art collection of American businessman and architect Jim Thompson, the museum designer and former owner. Built in 1959, the museum spans one rectangular rai of land (approximately half an acr).

Following his relocation to Bangkok and the establishment of the Thai Silk Company Limited in 1948, Thompson also became a major collector of Southeast Asian art, which at the time, was not well-known internationally. Attracted by the subtlety of their craftsmanship and expression, he built a large collection of historical Buddhist statues and traditional Thai paintings made of wood, cloth, and paper that depicted the life of Buddha and the legend of Vessantara Jataka. He collected secular art not only from Thailand but from Burma, Cambodia, and Laos, frequently travelling to those countries on buying trips. His collection also consisted of white and blue porcelain from China, which made its way into Thailand around the 16th and 17th centuries.

In 1958, he began what was to be the pinnacle of his architectural achievement, a new home to live in and to showcase his art collection. The museum was planned to consist of a complex combination of six traditional Thai-style houses, primarily constructed of wood, and various old Thai structures that were collected from all parts of Thailand in the 1950s and 1960s. His home sits on a klong (canal) across from Bangkrua, where his company’s weavers were then located. Most of the 19th-century houses were dismantled and moved from Ayutthaya, but the largest, a weaver’s house (now the living room), came from Bangkrua.

After Thompson’s disappearance in 1967, the house came under the control of The James H. W. Thompson Foundation under the royal patronage of H.R.H. Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn. At 6 Soi Kasemsan 2, Rama 1 Road, Pathumwan, only a block away from Bangkok National Stadium, guided tours are available daily.

Overview
Built in 1959, the Jim Thompson House in Bangkok is a peaceful, half-acre respite in the busiest part of the city for tourists. The Jim Thompson House serves as an oasis of art and culture for travelers with accidental retail overload. The landscaped grounds and tranquil garden are in sharp contrast to Bangkok’s hectic heart.

Thompson inspecting silk pieces at the canal side, most probably in the village of Ban Krua, across from his residence. Convinced that the beauty and quality of Thai silk would have an appeal outside Thailand, Thompson successfully exported his silks internationally.

Jim Thompson
Jim Thompson was an American entrepreneur credited with repairing the Thai silk industry. After beginning his career as an architect, Thompson quit and joined the Delaware National Guard. During World War II, Jim Thompson was recruited to serve as an operative for the Office of Strategic Services—the predecessor of the modern-day CIA. He arrived in Japanese-occupied Thailand right after Japan’s surrender and set up the OSS office in Bangkok.

After leaving service, Thompson and his partner founded the Thai Silk Company Limited in 1948. The move was logical; Thompson’s father had been successful in the textile industry. The Thai Silk Company became very profitable as Jim Thompson traveled Southeast Asia extensively, building an intimate knowledge of the region. He also amassed artwork and rare antiques along the way, eventually constructing a mansion (now the Jim Thompson House in Bangkok) to showcase them.

On March 26, 1967, while staying in a bungalow in Malaysia’s Cameron Highlands, 61-year-old Jim Thompson went for a short Easter Sunday stroll and never returned.

The House and the Garden
The visitor finds the Jim Thompson’s old residence and tropical garden down a narrow Bangkok lane, just a block away from the bustling shopping districts.

The Thai house which is named “The Jim Thompson House Museum” was designed and built by Jim Thompson (September 1958 – April 1959). The residence is built on teak pillars a full floor above the ground.

For his new home, Thompson acquired several Thai houses from the Ayutthaya region, but the oldest and the most impressive dates from around 1800 and was a weaver’s house from the Cham village of Bahn Krua.

Thompson on the building site. He brought a group of skilled carpenters down from Ayutthaya to reassemble the woodwork on a property across from Bahn Krua, the Cham village that wove his silk.

The house during construction. The property is facing the canal, or klong, across from the 250-year old Bahn Krua village, home to Jim Thompson’s Cham silk weavers.

“Jungle” is how Jim Thompson described his densely-planted garden, with lofty palms, golden bamboos and creepers. In general outline, the planting is the same as it was in Jim Thompson’s time.

Two small buildings, formerly servant’s quarters, have been turned into additional museum display space. On this photograph, the old gardener’s house where paintings and manuscripts are now displayed.

The garden is constantly changing but the ambience has shifted from uncontrolled chaos to controlled chaos thanks to professional care. Here, the red ginger (Alpinia) grows nearby the small pond in the rear garden.

The Art Collection
Thompson was an architect and designer, so he purposefully constructed his house from wooden panels and walls taken from old structures throughout Thailand. The finished property represents multiple styles and regions.

While the design of the house itself is impressive, the real treasures await inside. During his travels in Southeast Asia, Jim Thompson collected antique Buddha statues and rare artwork including paintings and porcelain. Even much of the furniture is intricately carved and beautiful. Of course, you will also see displays of old looms and colorful silk.

Southeast Asian art
Thompson has been a collector of Thai antiques since 1946. In his new home, he displayed beautifully his collection of old Thai paintings, Buddhist sculpture, Chinese blue and white and various objets d’art. In general, the display of the collection remains the same as it was in Jim Thompson’s time. Only the old pantry and servants quarters have been converted into exhibition pavilions in order to display benjarong porcelains, small objects and paintings.

Buddha Images Collection
Dvaravadi, Lopburi and Ayutthaya Styles

Highlights

Standing Buddha image, Unknown, 600/700
“Clothed in the robe of a monk, the Buddha held a flap of the robe in his left hand. The gentle outline of the hips give a remarkable impression of movement.” Dvaravadi School.

Standing Buddha image, Unknown, 700/800
Bust of Buddha in brown limestone. “The wide face with a strong nose and fleshy lips, round eyes and arched and joined eyebrows are very characteristic of the Dvaravadi school.”

Head of Buddha, Unknown, 1250/1300
“The hairstyle is of small curls topped by a flame-decorated ornament… A wide face with a strong chin, a wide mouth, slightly arched brows, and half-closed eyes.” Ayutthaya school, U-Thong style.

Buddha Meditating on the Naga, Unknown, 1200/1300
“The thoughtful face, with closed eyes, reveals this to be an example of the Bayon art.”

Other Sculptures Collection
Srivijaya, Ayutthaya, Lopburi and Burmese Styles

Highlights

Head of Surya, Unknown, 700/800
Head of Surya, the Hindu sun-god, with large conical headdress; the face is flat and surrounded by a discus incised with lines representing the sun rays.

Head of Ardhanari, Unknown, 900/1000
“Ardhanari, a Brahmin god representing Siva in half-male, half female form, symbolizes the union of masculine and feminine energies.”

Burmese spirit figure, Unknown, 1750/1850
One of the four wooden figures of Burmese spirits, or Nat, which came from near Amarapura in Burma. These figures were given to Thompson when he went to Burma as an official guest in the 1950s.

The Life of Buddha Collection
Phra Bot, sacred cloth, and paintings, Bangkok School.

Highlights

The Life of Buddha, Unknown, 1825/1875
The Birth of Buddha; Queen Mahamaya is standing under a tree and holding on a branch, giving birth to Gautama Buddha, in Lumpini. On the right side, the new born prince is surrounded by Indra, colored in green, and an angel.

The Life of Buddha, Unknown, 1850/1900
Buddha returns to Kapilavatthu; the seated Buddha is preaching to his father and is in a meditative pose; he is surrounded by his disciples before the King and the court.

Thai religious Tales Collection
Vessantara Jataka and Phra Malai.

Highlights

The Vessantara Jataka, Unknown, 1800/1850
An illustration of the thirtieth episode of the Vessantara Jataka, Nakhonkan, or the triumphant return from exile of Prince Vessantara to the Kingdom of Siva. This painting comes from the ancient northern kingdom of Lanna, now Chiang Mai province.

Phra Malai Visits the Underworld, Unknown, 1850/1900
The legend of Phra Malai, a buddhist saint known for his travels to heaven and hell, figures prominently in Thai religious treatises. He is traditionally represented wearing the saffron robe, and holding a fan. On this painting, he visits the underworld in his quest for saving the mankind from sin and hell.

Thai Folklore, Village scenes, Horoscope Collection

Highlights

Cockfight at the Village, Unknown, 1880/1920
Horoscope, Unknown, 1850/1900

Brahman Jati, the Siamese horoscope; here the year of the dog. A complete set of twelve astrological signs is displayed at the museum.

Benjarong & Lainamthong Collection
Ceramics made in China for the Thai royalties

In 1963, Jim Thompson purchased an important collection of benjarong or Sino-Thai porcelains. Here, a covered bowl with a black background decorated with Thepanom and mythical animals.

A collection of three “toh” jars, with polychrome floral designs on a red-orange background, yellow and grey bands with floral scrolls around the rims.

Large covered bowl with gold knob rim and green foot rim, gold flowers, green foliage and birds on white background.

“Lai Nam Thong, Sino-Thai porcelain with gold background, first half of 19th century. It is delicately ornamented with flowers, leaves and birds”.

Blue & White Ceramics Collection
From China and Annam

A collection of Annamese blue and white.

Decorative Arts Collection
Chinese & Siamese artistry

The Mouse House: “A fanciful little structure that was made by 19th-century Chinese carvers to house pet white mice.”

Foundation Philosophy And Objectives
The James H. W. Thompson Foundation is dedicated to the conservation and dissemination of Thailand’s rich cultural heritage. Through its support of research, seminars, conferences, exhibitions and publications, the Foundation has endeavored to create a better understanding and appreciation of such traditional Thai art forms as sculpture, painting, literature, dance, song, puppetry and textiles.

It is this cultural patrimony which is at the core of Thai identity. However, Thai identity, and the culture which imbues it, are dynamic, not static. They are constantly evolving. Articulating and extolling the past and its traditions should not be at the expense of appreciating and encouraging those emergent forms of cultural expression which find their inspiration, but not their limits, in the bedrock of traditional culture. Similarly, embracing change and innovation in Thai art forms should not entail a rejection or denial of the value of Thailand’s cultural past. It has been said that “the past is the best prophet of the future.” However, the past and its traditions should not control the future but rather provide a guide to the roots and meaning, the shape and pace of change.

Jim Thompson, in creating an international market for Thai silk, appreciated the value of the past while embracing the creative energy of innovative change. The James H. W. Thompson Foundation, established in his name and infused with and fortified by his love for Thailand and its arts, will continue to both cherish the past and welcome the future.

Foundation Activities

Museum
The Foundation operates the Jim Thompson House museum, one of Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions. The museum, open every day, welcomes hundreds of visitors daily. Guided tours are provided in Thai, English, French, and Japanese. In recent years the Foundation has slightly rearranged the collection and rooms in the house in the interest of security and convenience of visitors. However, the Foundation has maintained a general policy of neither buying nor selling, and, thus, the collection owned by Jim Thompson has remained virtually intact. Two small buildings, formerly servants’ quarters, have been turned into additional museum display space.

Grants
Visitors’ entrance fees and other donations enable the Foundation to provide grants related to the preservation and dissemination of Thai art and culture. Grant applications must be made in writing to the Foundation’s Board of Trustees. The grant request should include background information about the person or institution making the request, the purpose of the grant and a proposed budget for the use of grant funds. All grantees are asked to provide progress reports and a final summary, including a financial report, upon completion. The Foundation also initiates selected seminar, exhibition and publication projects. In addition, the Foundation has provided administrative support to the newly created Thai Textile Society.

Center For Textiles And The Arts
Construction of the Jim Thompson Center for Textiles and the Arts was completed in November 2003. The two-story steel and cement structure, with its traditional wooden façade, provides 220 square meters of secure, climate and light controlled museum and exhibition space. The Center stages exhibitions focusing on Southeast Asian textiles, costumes, art and cultural traditions. Leading art historians and academics are invited by the Foundation to serve as guest curators for the various exhibits which include loans from public and private collections.

Tags: