奥斯威辛犹太博物馆,波兰

奥斯威辛犹太教中心(The Auschwitz Jewish Center AJC)是唯一的犹太人在奥斯维尼的存在 – 德国人称之为奥斯维辛集中营,这个城市主要被称为20世纪最黑暗的悲剧。目前在犹太教堂(Jewish Museum and Synagogue Oświęcim),有一个奥斯威辛犹太中心,一个博物馆和一个文化中心,专注于犹太遗产,通过艺术和文化间的对话进行和解。

在这个Oświęcim镇的中心,这个机构在第二次世界大战前的几年里,就有关奥斯维基的兴起的犹太社区进行了永久的展览。在恢复的犹太教堂(1913年)内,是2004年在镇上的伟大犹太教堂下面发现的照片和犹太教教堂。很难忘记你正在看着波兰犹太人的最后一个残余,这是一个除了灭绝的文化。

Oświęcim犹太教堂也被称为奥斯威辛犹太教堂,是波兰Oświęcim镇唯一的活跃犹太教堂。它现在是奥斯威辛犹太中心的一部分,其中包括犹太博物馆和教育中心。

Oświęcim犹太教堂是根据波兰政府的后共产主义法向犹太社区恢复的第一座建筑,其中规定了二战期间由德国占领者夺取的犹太社区财产的归还,并由战后共产党政府保留。该建筑物由附近的Bielsko-Biala的犹太社区声称并现在拥有。

犹太教堂建于1913年左右。二次大战期间,纳粹拆毁了内部,并将该建筑作为弹药库。战争结束后,一小群犹太幸存者将会堂恢复正常的功能。不过,保管人很快就离开了波兰和犹太教堂不再运作。

在20世纪70年代,在共产主义波兰,空的建筑被用作地毯仓库。犹太教堂于2000年9月11日重新开放,由纽约奥斯威辛犹太中心基金会完全恢复了战前状态,费用为一百万美元。它是一个积极的犹太教堂,用于团体和个人访问奥斯维辛集体的祷告。毗邻的房子由基金会购买,并变成一个当代博物馆,称为奥斯威辛犹太中心(ŻydowskieCentrum Edukacyjne)。它描绘了战争前的犹太人的生活。犹太教堂和犹太教中心都隶属于纽约犹太遗产博物馆。

奥斯威辛犹太教堂不是奥斯维基最大的犹太教堂。更好的知名的奥斯维奇的犹太教堂在1939年11月29日被纳粹摧毁,其遗体被拆毁。在纳粹入侵时,奥斯维尼奇的一半以上人口是犹太人。这个社区已经有四百多年历史,那里还有20多个犹太教堂。 Oświęcim有一个老犹太公墓向游客开放。

最后一位Oświęcim的当地犹太人在2000年去世。Szymon Kluger(1925年1月19日 – 2000年5月26日),Symcha Kluger的儿子和Fryda Weiss,出生在Oświęcim,是最后一个居民的犹太人。大屠杀唯一幸存者在二次大战后返回该镇。他于2000年去世,结束了旧犹太社区Oświęcim。

在第二次世界大战期间,克鲁格被驱逐到邦德堡(Bęzzin)的贫民窟,并于1942年向其中一个Blechhammer强迫劳改营,他被标记为179539号(在此期间,他的父母被带到奥斯维辛集中区营地,他们死了)。从Blechhammer他被带到KZGroß-Rosen;后来到布什瓦尔德集中营,在那里他是一名强制劳动者在飞机上建造的。

1945年4月,Szymon Kluger被美军在哈尔伯施塔特附近救出。他在瑞典红十字会和UNRRA的帮助下,七月来到瑞典。直到1946年,他在马尔默和卡尔马的医院。他参加了瑞典乌普萨拉的一所技术学校,并学习了一名专业技工和电工。 Kluger与Radio Svenska AB一起工作。

1962年,Szymon Kluger回到波兰,开始在Oświęcim化学工厂工作,住在Wyspiański街的工人酒店。他最终回到了父母家,在切沃拉洛美帝族犹太教堂旁边,他独自一人居住,被称为“最后一个在犹太人的犹太人”,他通常在他的手臂上展示纹身,向人们介绍自己。搬到那里后不久,他因健康状况不佳而退休,直到2000年去世。

Szymon Kluger的房子现在设有一间咖啡厅。它曾经作为一个博物馆,保留了他的状态,因为克鲁格的死亡。

目前,来自比利时的一个单身犹太妇女生活在营地附近,致力于纪念大屠杀。

2000年9月,奥斯威辛犹太中心开辟了奥斯维基的前居民,并向后代教授了大屠杀造成的破坏。

自2006年起,该中心隶属于犹太遗产博物馆 – 生活纪念馆

Tags:

Jewish Museum and Synagogue Oświęcim, Poland

The Auschwitz Jewish Center (AJC) is the only Jewish presence in Oświęcim – the town the Germans called Auschwitz – which is primarily known as the site of the darkest tragedy of the 20th century. Presently at the Synagogue, there is an Auschwitz Jewish Center, a museum and a cultural center, focused on Jewish heritage, reconciliation through art and intercultural dialogue.

In the centre of the town of Oświęcim, this institution has permanent exhibitions about Oświęcim’s thriving Jewish community in the years before WWII. Within the restored synagogue (1913) are photos and Judaica found beneath the town’s Great Synagogue in 2004. It’s hard to forget you’re looking at the last remnants of Polish Jewry, an all but exterminated culture.

The Oświęcim Synagogue, also called the Auschwitz Synagogue, is the only active synagogue in the town of Oświęcim, Poland. It is now part of the Auschwitz Jewish Center, which includes a Jewish Museum and an Education Center.

The Oświęcim synagogue was the first building restored to the Jewish community under the Polish government’s post-Communism law governing the restitution of Jewish communal property seized by German occupiers during World War II, and retained by the post-war Communist government. The building was claimed by, and is now owned by, the Jewish community of nearby Bielsko-Biala.

The synagogue was built circa 1913. During World War II, the Nazis demolished its interior and used the building as a munitions depot. After the end of war, a small group of Jewish survivors restored the synagogue to its proper function. However, the custodians soon left Poland and the synagogue ceased to operate.

In the 1970s, under communist Poland, the empty building was used as a carpet warehouse. The synagogue reopened on September 11, 2000, completely restored to its pre-war condition by the Auschwitz Jewish Center Foundation of New York, at the cost of one million dollars. It is an active synagogue used for prayers by groups and individuals visiting Auschwitz. The adjoining house was purchased by the foundation and turned into a contemporary museum called the Auschwitz Jewish Center (Żydowskie Centrum Edukacyjne). It depicts the life of Jews in pre-war Oświęcim. Both the synagogue and the Jewish center are affiliated with the Museum of Jewish Heritage in New York.

The Auschwitz synagogue was not the largest synagogue in Oświęcim. The better known Great Synagogue of Oświęcim was destroyed by the Nazis on November 29, 1939, and its remains were demolished. At the time of the Nazi invasion, more than half the population of Oświęcim was Jewish. The community was over 400 years old and there were then more than 20 synagogues in the city. Oświęcim has an old Jewish cemetery open to visitors.

The last native Jew of Oświęcim died in 2000. Szymon Kluger (January 19, 1925 – May 26, 2000), son of Symcha Kluger and Fryda Weiss, was born in Oświęcim and was the last resident Jew there; the only survivor of the Holocaust to return to the town after World War II. His death in 2000 brought to an end the old Jewish community of Oświęcim.

During World War II, Kluger was deported to the Ghetto in Bendsburg (Będzin) and to one of the Blechhammer forced labor camps in 1942, and he was marked with the number 179539. (During this time, his parents were taken to the Auschwitz concentration camp, where they died). From Blechhammer he was brought to the KZ Groß-Rosen; later to the Buchenwald concentration camp, where he was a forced laborer in aircraft construction.

In April 1945 Szymon Kluger was rescued by the American Army near Halberstadt. Through the help of the Swedish Red Cross and the UNRRA, he came to Sweden in July. Until 1946 he was in hospitals in Malmö and Kalmar. He attended a technical school in Uppsala, Sweden, and learned a profession as a mechanic and electrician. Kluger worked with Radio Svenska AB as a piece worker.

In 1962, Szymon Kluger returned to Poland and started work at the Oświęcim chemical factory, living in a hotel for workers on Wyspiański Street. He eventually returned to his parental home next to the Chevra Lomdei Mishnayot Synagogue, where he lived alone and was known as the “last Jew in Oświęcim,” often introducing himself to people by showing the tattoo on his arm. Soon after moving there, he retired due to bad health and remained there until his death in 2000.

The house of Szymon Kluger now houses a cafe. It served previously as a museum, preserving its state as of Kluger’s death.

At present, a lone Jewish woman from Belgium lives near the camp, dedicating her life to memorializing the Shoah.

In September 2000, the Auschwitz Jewish Center opened its doors to honor the former residents of Oświęcim and to teach future generations about the destruction caused by the Holocaust.

Since 2006, the Center has been affiliated with the Museum of Jewish Heritage – A Living Memorial

Tags: