المتحف الإمبراطوري للبرازيل ، ريو دي جانيرو

متحف Museu Imperial de Petrópolis هو متحف في المركز التاريخي لمدينة Petrópolis ، في ريو دي جانيرو ، البرازيل ، ويقع في قصر Petrópolis Imperial Palace الصيفي السابق للإمبراطور بيدرو الثاني (1831–1889) ، وتم بناؤه عام 1845.

يضم المتحف القصر نفسه ، وقطع من الماضي الملكي من البرازيل وقاعة عرض مؤقتة مخصصة للفن المعاصر. وهو واحد من الأكثر زيارة وتم التصويت كأفضل متحف في البلاد.

التاريخ

المبنى
في عام 1822 ، سافر الإمبراطور بيدرو الأول ، الذي كان يسافر إلى فيلا ريكا ، ميناس جيرايس ، للحصول على الدعم لحركة استقلال البرازيل ، مع غابة الأطلسي والمناخ المعتدل في المنطقة الجبلية. وبقي في عزبة بادري كوريا ، وحتى قدم عرضا لشرائه. وفي مواجهة رفض المالك ، اشترى بيدرو عقار Córrego Seco في عام 1830 مقابل 000 20 روبية روبية ، ظنا منهم أنه تم تحويله في يوم من الأيام إلى قصر كونكورديا.

بعد التنازل عنه والمغادرة إلى البرتغال ، تركت الحوزة كميراث لابنه ، الإمبراطور بيدرو الثاني ، الذي سيبني مسكنه الصيفي المفضل هناك.

بناء على طلب من بيدرو الثاني ، تم بناء المبنى النيوكلاسيكي الجميل ، الذي بدأ في عام 1845 واكتمل في عام 1862. لبدء البناء ، وقع بيدرو الثاني مرسومًا في 16 مارس 1843 ، ليخلق مدينة بتروبوليس. تم تكليف مجموعة كبيرة من المهاجرين الأوروبيين ، معظمهم من الألمان ، تحت قيادة المهندس والمشرف على الخزانة الإمبراطورية ، الميجور يوليوس فريدريش كولر ، برفع المدينة وبناء القصر واستعمار المنطقة.

تم تشييد المبنى بموارد من الهبة الشخصية للإمبراطور ، وكان التصميم الأصلي من تصميم كولر نفسه ، وبعد وفاته ، تم تعديله بواسطة كريستوفو بونيني ، الذي أضاف رواق الجرانيت إلى الجسم المركزي. ولإتمام العمل ، تم التعاقد مع مهندسين مهمين مرتبطين بالأكاديمية الإمبراطورية للفنون الجميلة: Joaquim Cândido Guillobel و José Maria Jacinto Rebelo ، بالتعاون مع Manuel de Araújo Porto Alegre في الزخرفة.

تم إثراء المجمع ، لا يزال في 1850s ، مع حديقة المخطط لها وتنفيذها من قبل المهندس المعماري جان بابتيست بينوت ، بتوجيه من الإمبراطور الشاب. تم وضع أرضية الدهليز ، في رخام كارارا والرخام الأسود من بلجيكا ، في عام 1854 ، والطوابق والإطارات في الأخشاب الصلبة ، مثل الجاكاراندا والأرز والباو-الساتان والورد والممصورة ، من مختلف محافظات الإمبراطورية.

يساهم الجص من غرف الطعام وغرف الموسيقى والزيارات للإمبراطورة والدولة وغرفة النوم لأصحاب الجلالة في إعطاء النعمة والجمال لبيئات القصر ، وهي واحدة من أهم المعالم المعمارية في البرازيل.

عندما تم وضع حجر الأساس ، كان هناك تسوية للمنطقة ، التي كانت تعرف باسم “مورو دا سانتا كروز” ، لبدء الأعمال ، والتي تم تمويلها كلها من خلال الإشراف على البيت الإمبراطوري ، كما قال بيدرو الثاني ، في خاصته الملكية ، لا ينبغي لأحد استخدام أموال الدولة.

في مصنع بتروبوليس ، الذي أدلى به Koeler ، يشار إلى مكان القصر في رباعي الأطراف بين شارع الإمبراطور وشارع الإمبراطورة. لا تزال هناك مبان أخرى على الأرض نفسها ، من المستحيل تحديد هويتها. بدأت الأعمال في الجناح الأيمن من القصر ، وجاءت الأسس من محجر قريب. واستخدمت الثيران في “سحب الأرض والحجر والخشب”. استمر العمل في الجناح الأيسر (الذي كان ينظر إليه في البداية على أنه أوسع من اليمين ثم تم ترتيبه فيما بعد) في سوبرادو ، حيث كانت المداخل الرئيسية للقصر ، إلى جانب الغرف ، جاهزة. جميع الغرف مزينة ومؤثثة بالجص والأثاث الجميل.

الحدائق
كان تحت القيادة الشخصية للإمبراطور أن الحدائق المحيطة بالقصر قد تم بناؤها من قبل المهندس المعماري الباريسي جان بابتيست بينوت في عام 1854.

مع حوالي 100 نوع من الأشجار والزهور ، من أكثر من 15 منطقة في العالم (المكسيك ، اليابان ، الأرجنتين ، الهند ، الإكوادور ، الصين ، أستراليا ، مدغشقر ، وغيرها) والعشب الفرنسي ، لا تزال الحدائق تحتفظ بخطوط المناظر الطبيعية ، فيما يتعلق بأسرة وترتيب الأنواع النباتية.

يتميز الحزام الأخضر المحيط بالقصر بأشجار غريبة مثل أشجار الموز في مدغشقر وأشجار البخور والأزهار مثل الكاميليا والياسمين والماناكة وزهور الإمبراطور. كمكمل ، ورافعات الجرانيت حيث تم وضع تمثال نصفي من الشخصيات الأسطورية ، كما فازت ثلاث نوافير وأربعة نوافير. من بينها ، نافورة الضفدع ، من حيث استقطب السكان المياه ، معتقدين أنها كانت ذات نوعية أفضل.

كان أول مشروع قدم من جلازيو ، هذا المخطط الرسمي للإمبراطور ، الذي صمم حدائق كينتا دا بوا فيستا والعديد من المتنزهات الأخرى ، ولكن تم رفضه. تم تصميم الحدائق من بينوت ، الفرنسية أيضًا. يمكن للمرء أن يرى التصميم البدائي للحدائق ، من الباندا الأفريقية ، وأشجار أستراليا ، وأشجار البخور ، وغيرها. وقد تم تعديل الحدائق وتقليصها بمرور الوقت ، ولكن لا يزال من الممكن رؤيتها وتقديرها.

العصر الجمهوري
مع الانقلاب الجمهوري ، في 15 نوفمبر 1889 ، تم إقصاء العائلة الإمبراطورية ونفيها في أوروبا. في ديسمبر من نفس العام ، توفيت الإمبراطورة تيريزا كريستينا في البرتغال ، وبعد عامين ، في عام 1891 ، توفي الإمبراطور بيدرو الثاني في باريس. بين عامي 1893 و 1908 ، قامت إيزابيل ، الأميرة الإمبراطورية البرازيلية ، بوصفها وريثة وحيدة ، بتأجير قصر Petrópolis إلى مدرسة Notre Dame de Sion Schoolhouse.

ثم بين عامي 1909 و 1939 ، عملت كلية سانت فنسنت بول في المبنى. في تلك الفترة ، تم بيع أو مصادرة الكثير من الأثاث والأشياء الأخرى. في سانت فنسنت بول ، درس شغوفًا بالتاريخ: Alcindo de Azevedo Sodré. الشكر له ، الذي كان يحلم منذ الطفولة مع تحول كليته إلى متحف تاريخي ، أنشأ الرئيس Getúlio Vargas ، في 29 مارس 1940 ، بموجب المرسوم بقانون رقم 2096 ، المتحف الإمبراطوري.

ومنذ ذلك الحين ، قام فريق تقني بقيادة سوديريه نفسه ، الذي سيصبح أول مدير للمتحف ، بدراسة تاريخ المبنى وتحديد القطع التي تنتمي إلى العائلة الإمبراطورية في قصور مختلفة ، لتوضيح القرن التاسع عشر واليوم من اليوم. أعضاء في البيت البرازيلي من Braganza. انضم جامعيون وطنيون مهمون للمشروع ، وتبرعوا بأشياء ذات أهمية تاريخية وفنية. ونتيجة لذلك ، افتتح المتحف الإمبراطوري في 16 مارس 1943 ، مع مجموعة كبيرة من القطع المتعلقة بالفترة الإمبريالية البرازيلية ، بما في ذلك أعضاء العائلة الإمبراطورية. على مدى العقود السبعة الماضية ، جمعت مجموعات وثائقية هامة ، ومجموعات ببليوجرافية (الكثير من Château d’Eu) وأشياء بفضل التبرعات السخية لمئات من المواطنين ، وبلغ مجموعها ما يقرب من 300،000 عنصر. لا يزال يتم الحفاظ على الكثير من الديكورات الداخلية ، مثل الأرضيات في الحجارة النبيلة ، والجص والثريات والأثاث ، وإعادة بناء البيئات.

متحف
تتكون مجموعة المتحف من قطع مرتبطة بالملكية البرازيلية ، بما في ذلك الأثاث والوثائق والأعمال الفنية والأشياء الشخصية لأعضاء العائلة الإمبراطورية. في مجموعة من اللوحات ، يمكننا تسليط الضوء على “Fala do Trono” من قبل بيدرو أميريكو ، ممثلا للامبراطور بيدرو الثاني في افتتاح الجمعية العامة ، وآخر صورة للامبراطور بيدرو الأول ، رسمها Simplício Rodrigues de Sá.

ومن الأهمية بمكان الجواهر الإمبراطورية ، مع تاج بيدرو الثاني ، التي أنشأها كارلوس مارين خاصة لتكريس وتزوج الإمبراطور الشاب ، ثم 15 سنة ، وتاج بيدرو الأول ، بالإضافة إلى العديد من القطع النادرة والثمينة الأخرى. مثل تمثال الذهب البرونزي والخزف الذي قدمه ملك فرنسا لويس فيليب الأول لابنه فرانسوا أمير جوينفيل ، بمناسبة زواجه من الأميرة فرانسيسكا من البرازيل ؛ القلادة الذهبية والزمرد والياقوت مع شارات الإمبراطورية التي تنتمي إلى الإمبراطورة ليوبولدينا وقلادة جمشت دوميتيلا دي كاسترو ، ماركيونيس سانتوس ، هدية بيدرو الأول.

يتم توزيع المجموعة في المجالات الرئيسية التالية:
غرفة الطعام ، مع مجموعة غنية من الأثاث موقعة من قبل F. Léger Jeanselme Père & Fils ، والأواني الفخارية.
قاعة الموسيقى ، التي تحافظ على الآلات الموسيقية مثل القيثارة الذهبية التي صنعها Pleyel Wolff ، وهي مزامير من القرن الثامن عشر صنعت في ريو دي جانيرو و Pianooforte من إنتاج برودوود الإنجليزية الصنع ، والتي من شأنها ، وفقًا للتقاليد ، أن تنتمي إلى الإمبراطور بيدرو الأول ، والفرقة spinet المصنّعة by Mathias Bosten في عام 1788 ، وهو الوحيد الموجود في عالم هذا المؤلف. استكمال غرفة الأثاث مبلطة في خشب الورد.
قاعة الدولة ، أهمها القصر ، حيث استقبل دوم بيدرو الزوار الرسميين. جاء العرش ، الذي كان في الأصل في قصر كينتا دا بوا فيستا ، في وقت لاحق فقط إلى المتحف الإمبراطوري ، إلى جانب أشياء من الزينة مثل المزهريات ، وبورسلان من Sèvres ، ولوحات المفاتيح والمرايا المزخرفة.
مكتب الإمبراطور بيدرو الثاني ، حيث قضى الإمبراطور معظم اليوم وسط الأدوات والكتب العلمية. هناك كان يحتفظ ، من بين أشياء أخرى ، بمؤشره ، أول هاتف في البرازيل ، والذي أحضره من الولايات المتحدة ، وكرسيته الطويلة والعديد من صوره المرسومة لأسرته.
يحافظ على الأميرات ، ويحافظ على البيئات الأصلية التي تحتلها الأميرة إيزابيل والأميرة ليوبولدينا ، مع الأثاث في أسلوب الملك جوزيف الأول من البرتغال.
غرفة المعيشة في الإمبراطورة ، حيث استقبلت تيريزا كريستينا صديقاتها بشكل خاص ، لإجراء محادثات وجلسات تطريز ، مع أثاث مناسب.

مكتبة
تحتفظ المكتبة الغنية للمتحف الإمبراطوري بمجموعة كبيرة من المراجع تحتوي على حوالي 50 ألف مجلد ، وهي متخصصة في التاريخ (بشكل رئيسي من البرازيل في الفترة الإمبراطورية) ، وتاريخ Petrópolis والفنون بشكل عام.

يحتوي قسم الأعمال النادرة على عناصر ثمينة مثل الطبعات من القرن السادس عشر إلى القرن التاسع عشر ، الدوريات ، الدرجات ، إضاءات ، مخطوطات ، كتب سابقة ، تقارير من المقاطعات والوزارات ، ومجموعة من قوانين الإمبراطورية يبلغ مجموعها حوالي 8 آلاف مجلد. من بين هذه القطع ، ينتمي العديد منهم إلى العائلة الإمبراطورية ويأتون بملاحظات مكتوبة بخط اليد ، والرسومات والتوضيحات الفاخرة.

إن قسم كتب المسافرين الأجانب الذي مرّ عبر البرازيل في القرنين الثامن عشر والتاسع عشر مهم أيضًا ، يوثّق العديد من جوانب الحياة الاجتماعية والمناظر الطبيعية البرازيلية في ذلك الوقت ، مع أعمال جان بابتيست ديبريت ، روغينداس ، سان هيلير ، ماريا غراهام ، هنري كوستر ، لويس أغاسيز ، تشارلز داروين ، سبيكس ومارتيوس.

أرشيف التاريخ
يحتوي المتحف على مجموعة من الوثائق الأصلية التي يزيد عددها عن 250،000 والتي يرجع تاريخها إلى القرن الثالث عشر والذهاب إلى القرن العشرين. من المثير للاهتمام بشكل خاص جمع الصور الفوتوغرافية التي توثق تاريخ وتطور الجوانب الحضرية والمناظر الطبيعية في ولاية ريو دي جانيرو ومدينة بتروبوليس.

العديد من المجموعات الخاصة تثري هذا القسم ، مثل João Lustosa da Cunha Paranaguá ، 2nd Marquis of Paranaguá؛ أما Ambrósio Leitão da Cunha، Baron Mamoré؛ مجموعة Barral-Monteferrat ، مع المراسلات بين Emperos Pedro II و Countess of Barral؛ الأرشيف المهم للبيت الامبراطوري البرازيلي ، والعديد من الآخرين.

مشاريع
يسعى برنامج الفنون البصرية ، بالشراكة مع FUNARTE ، إلى إقامة المعارض والندوات والدورات وورش العمل المتعددة التخصصات ، من أجل تدريب المهنيين وتدريب جماهير جديدة وتوسيع نطاق معرفة الجمهور العام. كما يسعى إلى مناقشة القضايا المتعلقة بعلم المتاحف والمجموعات الوطنية وتطور الفنون البصرية المعاصرة.
التعليم التربوي ، وهو مشروع دائم للمتحف ، ويهدف إلى تثقيف الكبار والأطفال حول الاستحواذ الواعي والتقييم النقدي لتراثهم الثقافي ، وتعزيز الشعور بالهوية والمواطنة. يقوم المتحف ، من خلال دعمه لهذا المشروع ، بتنظيم جولات مصحوبة بمرشدين وورش عمل مسرح عرائس للأطفال ، إلى جانب حفلات موسيقية في القرن التاسع عشر ، تعيد تشكيل روح الأريستوقراطية الأرستقراطية ، وغيرها من الأنشطة التعليمية.
DAMI Imperial Museum Collection Digitization Project يقدم هذا العمل صورًا مجانية لمجموعة كاملة من المتحف الإمبراطوري على الإنترنت. يتم فحص الكتب والوثائق والأشياء من جميع الأنواع وعرضها على صفحة المشروع. هناك بالفعل الآلاف من الكائنات والوثائق المتاحة للتنزيل.

Tags:

Imperial Museum of Brazil, Rio de Janeiro

The Museu Imperial de Petrópolis is a museum in the historic center of Petrópolis, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, housed in the Petrópolis Imperial Palace former summer palace of Emperor Pedro II (1831–1889), built in 1845.

The museum includes the palace itself, pieces of the monarchical past of Brazil and a temporary exhibition hall dedicated to contemporary art. It is one of the most-visited and was voted the best museum in the country.

History

The building
In 1822 Emperor Pedro I, traveling to Vila Rica, Minas Gerais, to seek support for the movement of the Independence of Brazil, was enchanted with the Atlantic Forest and the mild climate of the mountainous region. He stayed at Padre Correia’s Estate and even made an offer to buy it. Faced with the owner’s refusal, Pedro bought the Córrego Seco Estate in 1830 for Rs 20.000$000, thinking of transforming it one day into the Palace of Concordia.

After his abdication and departure to Portugal, the estate was left as an inheritance for his son, Emperor Pedro II, who would build his favorite summer residence there.

At the behest of Pedro II, the beautiful neoclassical building was constructed, beginning in 1845 and was completed in 1862. To begin construction, Pedro II signed a decree on 16 March 1843, creating the city of Petrópolis. A large contingent of European immigrants, mainly Germans, under the command of the engineer and superintendent of the Imperial Treasury, Major Julius Friedrich Koeler, was commissioned to raise the city, build the palace and colonize the region.

Constructed with resources from the Emperor’s personal endowment, the building had the original design elaborated by Koeler himself and, after his death, was modified by Cristoforo Bonini, who added the granite portico to the central body. To conclude the work, important architects linked to the Imperial Academy of Fine Arts were hired: Joaquim Cândido Guillobel and José Maria Jacinto Rebelo, with the collaboration of Manuel de Araújo Porto Alegre in the decoration.

The complex was enriched, still in the 1850s, with the garden planned and executed by the landscaper Jean-Baptiste Binot, under the guidance of the young Emperor. The vestibule floor, in Carrara marble and black marble from Belgium, was laid in 1854, and the floors and frames in hardwoods, such as jacaranda, cedar, pau-satin, rose and vignette, from the various provinces of the Empire.

The stuccoes of the dining rooms, music rooms, visits of the Empress, state and bedroom of their majesties contribute to give grace and beauty to the environments of the Palace, one of the most important architectural monuments in Brazil.

When the foundation stone was laid, there was leveling of the area, which was known as “Morro da Santa Cruz”, to start the works, all of which were financed by stewardship of the Imperial House, as Pedro II said, in his private property, one should not use state money.

In the Petrópolis plant, made by Koeler, it is indicated the place of the palace in a quadrilateral between the Emperor Street and the Empress Street. There were still other buildings on the same land, whose identification is impossible to make. The works began in the right wing of the palace, and the foundations came from a nearby quarry. Oxen were used for “Pulling earth, stone and wood”. Work was continued on the left wing (which at the beginning was seen to be wider than the right and later was arranged) the Sobrado, where the main entrances to the palace, besides the rooms, were ready. All the rooms were decorated and furnished with beautiful stucco and furniture.

The gardens
It was under the personal guidance of the Emperor that the gardens surrounding the Palace were built by the Parisian landscaper Jean Baptiste Binot in 1854.

With around 100 species of trees and flowers, from more than 15 regions of the world (Mexico, Japan, Argentina, India, Ecuador, China, Australia, Madagascar, among others) and French grass, the gardens still maintain the landscape lines, both in relation to the beds and the arrangement of plant species.

The green belt surrounding the Palace features exotic trees such as Madagascar’s banana trees and incense trees, flowers like camellias, jasmins, manacas and emperor flowers. As a complement, granite pedestals where busts of mythological figures were placed, also won three fountains and four fountains. Among them, the Fountain of the Frog, from where the inhabitants drew water, believing that it was of better quality.

The first project presented was from Glaziou, this official landscaper of the Emperor, who designed the gardens of Quinta da Boa Vista and several other parks, but was refused. The gardens were designed by Binot, also French. One can still see the primitive layout of the gardens, from pandals of Africa, palms of Australia, incense trees, among others. The gardens have been modifying and diminishing over time, but they can still be seen and appreciated.

Republican era
With the Republican coup d’état, on 15 November 1889, the Imperial Family was banished and exiled in Europe. In December of the same year, the Empress Teresa Cristina passed away in Portugal and, two years later, in 1891, Emperor Pedro II passed away in Paris. Between 1893 and 1908, Isabel, Princess Imperial of Brazil, as sole heiress, rented the Palace of Petrópolis to the Notre Dame de Sion Schoolhouse.

Then between 1909 and 1939, St. Vincent of Paul College functioned in the building. In that period, much of the furniture and other objects were sold or expropriated. In St. Vincent of Paul,studied a passionate about History: Alcindo de Azevedo Sodré. Thanks to him, who had dreamed since childhood with the transformation of his college into a historical museum, President Getúlio Vargas created, on 29 March 1940, by Decree-Law No. 2,096, the Imperial Museum.

From then on, a technical team led by Sodré himself, who would become the first director of the Museum, studied the history of the building and locate pieces belonging to the Imperial Family in different palaces, to illustrate the nineteenth century and day to day of members of the Brazilian House of Braganza. Important national collectors joined the project, donating objects of historical and artistic interest. As a result, the Imperial Museum was inaugurated on March 16, 1943, with a significant collection of pieces related to the Brazilian imperial period, including members of the Imperial Family. Over the last seven decades, it has accumulated significant documentary collections, bibliographical collections (many from Château d’Eu) and objects thanks to the generous donations of hundreds of citizens, totaling a collection of almost 300,000 items. Much of the interior decoration is still preserved, such as the floors in noble stones, stuccos, chandeliers and furniture, rebuilding the environments.

Museum
The collection of the museum consists of pieces linked to the Brazilian monarchy, including furniture, documents, works of art and personal objects of members of the Imperial Family. In the collection of paintings, we can highlight the “Fala do Trono” by Pedro Américo, representing Emperor Pedro II at the opening of the General Assembly, and the last portrait of EmperorPedro I, painted by Simplício Rodrigues de Sá.

Particularly important are the imperial jewels, with the crown of Pedro II, created by Carlos Marin especially for the consecration and coronation of the young Emperor, then 15 years old, and the crown of Pedro I, as well as several other rare pieces and precious, such as the gold-bronze and porcelain vault offered by the King of France Louis Philippe I to his son François, Prince of Joinville, on the occasion of his marriage to the Princess Francisca of Brazil; the gold necklace, emeralds and rubies with insignia of the Empire that belonged to the Empress Leopoldina, and the necklace of amethysts of the Domitila de Castro, Marchioness of Santos, gift of Pedro I.

The collection is distributed in the following main areas:
Dining Room, with rich set of furniture signed by F. Léger Jeanselme Père & Fils, and crockery.
Music Hall, preserving instruments such as a golden harp made by Pleyel Wolff, an eighteenth-century psalter made in Rio de Janeiro and the Broadwood English-made pianoforte, which would, according to tradition, belong to Emperor Pedro I, and the manufactured spinet by Mathias Bosten in 1788, the only one existing in the world of this author. Complete the furniture room tiled in rosewood.
State Hall, the most important of the palace, where Dom Pedro received official visitors. The throne, originally in the Palace of Quinta da Boa Vista, came only later to the Imperial Museum, along with objects of adornment such as vases, porcelains of Sèvres, consoles and decorated mirrors.
Emperor Pedro II’s Office, where the Emperor spent most of the day amidst scientific instruments and books. There he preserves, among other objects, his lunette, the first telephone of Brazil, which he brought from the United States, his chaise longue and several painted portraits of his family.
Preserves of the Princesses, preserving the original environments occupied by the Princess Isabel and Princess Leopoldina, with furniture in the style of the King Joseph I of Portugal.
Living room of the Empress, where Teresa Cristina received her friends privately, for conversations and embroidery sessions, with corresponding furniture.

Library
The rich library of the Imperial Museum preserves an important bibliographic collection with about 50 thousand volumes, specialized in History (mainly of Brazil in the Imperial period), history of Petrópolis and Arts in general.

The Rare Works section features precious items such as 16th-19th century editions, periodicals, scores, illuminations, manuscripts, ex-libris, reports from Provinces and Ministries, and a collection of Laws of the Empire totaling about 8,000 volumes. Of these pieces, several belonged to the Imperial Family and bring handwritten notes, luxurious bindings and illustrations.

The section of books of foreign travelers that passed through Brazil in the 18th and 19th centuries is also important, documenting several aspects of social life and the Brazilian natural landscape of the time, with works by Jean-Baptiste Debret, Rugendas, Saint-Hilaire, Maria Graham, Henry Koster, Louis Agassiz, Charles Darwin, Spix and Martius.

History archive
The museum has a collection of over 250,000 original documents dating from the 13th century and going into the 20th century. Especially interesting is the gathering of photographs documenting the history and evolution of the urban and landscape aspects of the state of Rio de Janeiro and the city of Petrópolis.

Several private collections enrich this section, such as João Lustosa da Cunha Paranaguá, 2nd Marquis of Paranaguá; that of Ambrósio Leitão da Cunha, Baron Mamoré; the Barral-Monteferrat Collection, with the correspondence between Emperos Pedro II and the Countess of Barral; the important Archive of the Brazilian Imperial House, and several others.

Projects
Visual Arts Program, in partnership with FUNARTE, seeks to hold exhibitions, multidisciplinary seminars, courses and workshops, in order to train professionals, train new audiences and broaden the knowledge of the general public. It also seeks to discuss issues relating to museology, national collections and the evolution of contemporary visual arts.
Patrimonial Education, a perennial project of the museum, which aims to educate adults and children about the conscious appropriation and critical valuation of their cultural heritage, strengthening the sense of identity and citizenship. Subsidizing this project, the museum conducts guided tours, puppet theater workshops for children, nineteenth-century music recitals reconstituting the spirit of aristocratic serenades, and other educational activities.
DAMI Imperial Museum Collection Digitization Project This work provides free images of the entire collection of the Imperial Museum on the internet. Books, documents, and objects of all types are scanned and have their information displayed on the project page. There are already thousands of objects and documents available for download.

Tags: