欧内斯特·克里科洛

欧内斯特·克里科洛(Ernest Crichlow 1914年6月19日 – 2005年11月10日)是一名非裔美国人社会现实主义艺术家。

克里洛在1914年生于纽约布鲁克林,加勒比移民。他在纽约和纽约大学的商业画报和广告艺术学院学习艺术。 Crichlow在工程进度管理局联邦艺术项目赞助的工作室开始担任艺术家的作品。奥古斯塔·萨维奇(Augusta Savage)是他早期工作的顾客,就像许多哈莱姆文艺复兴时期的艺术家一样。

他的第一个展览是在1938年在纽约哈勒姆的哈莱姆社区中心。他最着名的作品之一,石版画爱好者III显示一个年轻的黑人女子被Ku Klux Klan的成员在她的卧室骚扰。 Crichlow的作品在第二年在1939年的纽约世界博览会和国会图书馆展出。

在接下来的几十年中,他的作品经常在美国领先的艺术画廊,特别是东北地区,尽管他在二十世纪四十年代在亚特兰大大学举办了两次展览。在他的职业生涯结束时,他的工作得到了卡特总统的荣幸。他1967年的画画白色围栏显示一个年轻的白人女孩与五个黑人女孩的围栏分隔是最重要的从他以后的职业生涯以及在布鲁克林的男孩和女子中学的25个壁画。

Crichlow也被称为儿童文学的插画家,为两个团队,玛丽亚,提升每个声音和魔法镜子提供艺术作品。他于1969年与Norman Lewis和Romare Bearden以及纽约大学和艺术学生联盟的教学艺术创立了Cinque画廊。

作品:
马丁·路德·金杜斯非洲美国历史博物馆
油画布画描绘了三画或拼贴画风格的三个场景,全部围绕着马丁·路德·金,三月三日在华盛顿。中央场景以左侧轮廓显示国王,右手伸出一群人,一些携带标志和美国国旗。在左边,国会大厦出现在蓝天之前,人们在前面带有标志。在右边,有几个黑白孩子可以看到跑步,在绿色的丘陵景观上玩着五颜六色的气球。在中心和右手场景之间,似乎有一个包含十字准线的圆圈在国王胸前训练。

郊区女子哈维B.甘特非洲裔美国艺术+文化中心
一个女人的上身躯干肖像向下看着她的左边,她的手在她的嘴里。黄色,白色和蓝色/灰色三方背景。

简·赖特博士非洲裔美国历史博物馆
丙烯画在描绘简·赖特博士,开创性的非洲裔美国癌症研究员和外科医生。从胸前可见,左侧略微微笑。她的头发很短,穿着一件粉红色的衬衫和白色的实验室外套。在背景中,两名老年妇女面对一名黑头发的年轻女子和一名看起来握着听诊器的白色实验大衣。

街头公主哈维B.甘特非洲裔美国艺术+文化中心
一个女孩的高对比组合在一个短的白色礼服坐在屁股后面。

绿色领域的男孩哈维B.甘特非裔美国艺术+文化中心
一个橙色衬衫和米色短裤的年轻男孩蹲在草地上,右手在他的腿上,左手休息在草地上。

阳台Harvey B.甘特非洲裔美国艺术中心+文化
在一个白色的阳台上,一个穿着蓝色头巾的女人的头部和肩膀上展现出两个行人的urbanscape。

黄色礼服中的女人哈维B.甘特非洲裔美国艺术中心+文化
面向观众左边的女人的上躯干肖像,具有抽象的拼凑背景。

蓝色外套的女人哈维B.甘特非洲裔美国艺术+文化中心
穿着蓝色外套和黄色围巾的女人的上半身画像与双臂交叉并面向她的左边。字母“xra”出现在她的头上。

女孩与花哈维B.甘特非洲裔美国艺术+文化中心
一个三分之一的一个年轻女孩,一件黄色的衣服,拿着一篮子的花朵,抬起头,站在花园里。

白人女士
Ernest T. Crichlow1975
从收藏
非洲美国历史杜塞尔博物馆
一件穿着白色长袖连衣裙,白色帽子和腰带的黑色女士的绘画,内容如下:“圣诞节,今天和…”她双臂站在她的身边。在她旁边,一个穿着蓝色和白色条纹T恤的年轻黑人男孩正在向她看。他把右手食指藏在嘴里,看起来很困惑。在背景中,在红砖建筑前面,是两个穿着白衬衫,一个站立和一个坐着的黑人男子。过了他们,另一个人正站在窗外望着。

Ernest Crichlow

Ernest Crichlow (June 19, 1914 – November 10, 2005) was an African-American social realist artist.

Crichlow was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1914 to Caribbean immigrants. He studied art at the School of Commercial Illustrating and Advertising Art in New York and New York University. Crichlow started work as an artist in a studio sponsored by Works Progress Administration’s Federal Art Project. Augusta Savage was an early patron of his work, as was the case for many of the artists of the Harlem Renaissance.

His first exhibition was in 1938 in the Harlem Community Center in Harlem, New York. One of his best known works, the lithograph Lovers III shows a young black woman being harassed in her bedroom by a member of the Ku Klux Klan. Crichlow’s work was exhibited in the 1939 New York World’s Fair and in the Library of Congress the following year.

Over the next few decades, his work was regularly shown in leading US art galleries especially in the northeast although he held two exhibitions in Atlanta University in the 1940s. By the end of his career, his work had been honored by President Carter. His 1967 painting White Fence showing a young white girl being separated by a fence from five black girls was the most notable from his later career along with a 25 panel mural at Boys and Girls High School in Brooklyn.

Crichlow was also well known as an illustrator for children’s literature providing art work for Two in a Team, Maria, Lift Every Voice and Magic Mirrors. He founded the Cinque Gallery in 1969 with Norman Lewis and Romare Bearden as well as teaching art at New York University and the Art Students League.

Works:
Martin Luther King DuSable Museum of African American History
Oil on canvas painting depicting three scenes in a triptych or collage style, all revolving around Martin Luther King, Jr.’s March on Washington. The center scene shows King in left profile view with his right hand outstretched before a crowd of people, some carrying signs and American flags. At left, the Capitol building appears before a blue sky, with people in front carrying signs. At right, several black and white children can be seen running and playing on a green hilly landscape with colorful balloons. Between the center and right-hand scenes, there appears to be a circle containing crosshairs trained at King’s chest.

Suburban Woman Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts+Culture
Upper torso portrait of a woman looking down and to her left, her hand to her mouth. Tripartite background of yellow, white and blue/gray.

Dr. Jane Wright DuSable Museum of African American History
Acrylic painting on paper depicting Dr. Jane Wright, a pioneering African American cancer researcher and surgeon. She is visible from the chest up, looking slightly to the left and smiling. She has short black hair and wears a pink shirt and white lab coat. In the background, two elderly women face a young woman with black hair and a white lab coat who appears to be holding a stethoscope.

Street Princess Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts+Culture
High contrast composition of a girl in a short white dress sitting alongside newel post.

Boy in a Green Field Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts+Culture
Young boy in an orange shirt and beige shorts squatting down in a field of grass, his right hand in his lap and left hand resting on the grass.

The Balcony Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts+Culture
Scene showing the head and shoulders of a woman wearing a blue head wrap, on a white balcony overlooking an urbanscape with two pedestrians.

Woman in Yellow Dress Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts+Culture
Upper torso portrait of a woman facing the viewer’s left with an abstracted patchwork background.

Woman in a Blue Coat Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts+Culture
Upper body portrait of a woman wearing a blue coat and yellow scarf with her arms crossed and facing to her left. The letters “xra” appear above her head.

Girl with Flowers Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts+Culture
A three-quarter figure of a young girl in a yellow dress holding a basket of flowers and looking up, standing in a flower garden.

Lady in White DuSable Museum of African American History
Painting of a black woman wearing a white long-sleeved dress, white hat, and sash with text that reads, “CHRIST, TODAY AND…” She stands with her arms at her sides. Next to her, a young black boy wearing a blue and white striped t-shirt is looking toward her. He is holding his right index finger to his mouth and looks puzzled. In the background, in front of a red brick building, are two black men wearing white shirts, one standing and one sitting. Past them, another figure is standing in front of a window looking out.