易北河爱乐音乐厅,德国汉堡

易北河爱乐音乐厅(德语:Elbphilharmonie)是位于德国汉堡的港口城区的一座音乐厅,位于易北河的格拉斯布鲁克(德)半岛。它是世界上规模最大,声学最先进的音乐厅之一。它被普遍昵称为Elphi。 Elbphilharmonie于二零一七年一月十一日与NDR Elbphilharmonie乐团的音乐会及灯光表演正式开幕。

在易北河的流动和三面环水的情况下,新的音乐厅将成为所有居住在汉堡和来自世界各地的游客的中心。壮观的建筑物内有三个音乐厅,一个大型的音乐教育区,一系列的吃喝之地,一个酒店和公共广场,为游客提供一个无与伦比的全景。艺术品质,多样性和可达性塑造了汉堡新文化地标的音乐节目。

新的玻璃结构类似于一个悬挂的帆,水波或石英晶体;它坐落在历史悠久的Speicherstadt附近的老仓库建筑(Kaispeicher A,建于1963年),由建筑公司Herzog&de Meuron设计。这是汉堡最高的有人居住的建筑,最终高度为108米(354英尺)。

Elbphilharmonie是一个完整的艺术作品:它结合了创新的建筑与优越的地理位置,卓越的声学和有远见的音乐会节目。

具有令人印象深刻的玻璃幕墙和波浪式屋顶的Elbphilharmonie从HafenCity西端的前Kaispeicher大楼升起。里面有两个音乐厅,一个酒店和住宅公寓。广场 – 一个公共观景区,在老仓库和玻璃结构之间,延伸到整个建筑物。

建造:
该建筑被设计为一个文化和住宅综合体。 Kaispeicher A的原始的1966年砖外观,前仓库,被保留在大厦的基地。在这上面一个足迹匹配的上层建筑在它自己的基础展示玻璃状的外部和波浪屋顶线。大约一千个玻璃窗是弯曲的。该建筑有26个楼层,砖外墙的前八层。在西边108米处达到最高点。建筑面积12万平方米。东侧正门的弧形自动扶梯连接地下一层观景台广场,位于砖楼顶部的八楼。广场可供公众使用。享有汉堡和易北河的景色。从广场可以到达音乐厅的门厅。

建筑师的办公室Herzog&de Meuron的设计在1966年Kaispeicher A砖的现有结构上提供,之前是一种具有突出的弯曲屋顶形状的玻璃包层结构,也被称为“玻璃轴”。目标是在汉堡形成一个明确的轮廓建筑的一个特点。与第一个计划相反的是,这个旧仓库完全被毁坏了。只有列出的立面和部分基础被保留下来。建筑物的荷载分布楼板采用1732根桩,这些桩被夯入易北河地板深处。大型音乐厅的12,500吨重型独立结构与整体建筑完全分离,底部共有342个钢包装,屋顶区域共34个。定制的结构被赋予了一个玻璃幕墙,总共有1100个单独的玻璃元素,每个玻璃元素包括四个玻璃窗格。所有窗格都通过印制的屏蔽膜获得了内置的光线和热量保护。 595个玻璃元件分别弯曲。其中一个玻璃窗花费约72,000欧元。根据建筑师的说法,弧形的立面元素给人一种反映天空,水面和城市的巨大水晶的印象。

该建筑有26层,Kaispeicher A的外墙从底层到八层的广场,在Speicherstadt以南汉堡老港口的一个露天区域,是一个前可可,茶叶和烟草商店。它在Kaispitze的最高点有一个约110米的高度,东面的最低点约为30米。因此,该建筑已经取代了汉堡最高的有人居住的建筑,几米长的雷迪森酒店建筑。由于记忆的楔形,Elbphilharmonie的空间体东部85米,西部22米。

通过一个大约80米长,略弯曲的自动扶梯和一个较短的直门自动扶梯,与地下广场,一个自由和有限的门票限制访问水平在前Kaispeicher獾。乘客最初只能看到他在2.5分钟的旅程中最大的一段时间内正在接近灯光。 21米自动扶梯的台阶不像往常那样通过上面的驱动器移动,而是由四个电子同步的分散驱动器驱动。楼梯的倾斜度从23度开始下降到楼梯结束时的11度左右。起初具有自动扶梯通常高度的台阶在顶部只有几厘米高。称为管子的管子直接通向建筑物狭窄一侧的大型图画窗口,朝向港口。除了管子之外,共有29台电梯和11个楼梯间可以打开整个建筑。

大音乐厅的负担分布很不均衡。这需要八个不规则排列的大内柱和它们的倾斜度。另外,广场上的外柱缺乏在上面两层的斜柱造成的。

Elbphilharmonie有三个音乐会场地。大型音乐厅可容纳2,100名观众,演员在葡萄园风格的安排下,在观众的包围中心。声学设计是由Yasuhisa Toyota设计的,他安装了大约10,000个单独的微型干墙板来驱散声波。大音乐厅包含一个由Klais Orgelbau建造的69个登记管。演奏厅旨在演奏独奏,室内乐和爵士音乐会;它可以容纳550人的观众。此外,还有可容纳170名访客的Kaistudio,旨在为教育活动提供服务。音乐厅的舞台设计顾问是DucksScéno。

威斯汀大厦最东端的部分是2016年11月4日开业的威斯汀汉堡酒店。酒店在9楼和20楼之间提供244间客房。 8楼的大堂可以从广场进入。音乐厅西边的高层可容纳45间豪华公寓。酒店还设有会议室,餐厅,酒吧和水疗中心。 433辆车的停车库也是建筑群的一部分。

音乐厅:
音乐厅的用户是HamburgMusik gGmbH。甚至在就职典礼之前,在Laeiszhalle和汉堡的其他场所组织了这个社团所谓的“Elbphilharmonie音乐会”。 Elbphilharmonie和Laeiszhalle自2007年以来的总经理Christoph Lieben-Seutter。 NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester是住宅管弦乐队Resonanz Residenzensemble的住宅管弦乐队。全面音乐教育的中心是位于Kaispeicher地区的Elbphilharmonie Instrumentenwelt。

有2100个座位的大型音乐厅,550个座位的小厅和第三个大厅,Kaistudio 1,170个座位。大厅周围的门厅设计有橡木镶木地板。

大会堂遵循“葡萄园建筑”的原则,可以追溯到建筑师Hans Scharoun和他设计的柏林爱乐音乐厅(1957)。在这个设计中,舞台在大厅中间略有偏移,而葡萄园般的崛起队伍围绕着它。在Elbphilharmonie的座位上,距离指挥台的地方不超过30米。大厅高25米。

国际知名的声学家Yasuhisa Toyota受聘为这个房间达到最好的声音效果。丰田已经创造了全球五十多个其他音乐厅和音乐厅的概念。为了测试人民大会堂的音响效果,丰田公司以1:10的比例制作了一个五乘五米的模型。根据他的测量结果,人民大会堂共覆盖了10000块数控碾磨的石膏纤维板,面积达6500平方米。每块板都是独一无二的,厚度在35至200毫米之间,基重在30至125公斤/平方米之间。面板的三维表面由凹坑,凹槽和锥体锥体的非重复图案组成,也称为微成形,它们是使用数学算法在计算机上创建的。在大厅的整个墙面上放上一百万个拳头大小的细胞,撒上声音。声学内墙包层也被称为“白皮”,建筑师Jacques Herzog更喜欢这个术语,然而,像甲壳类或贝壳这样的组合。最初为了绝缘已经插入板之间的全长四公里的螺纹不得不再次被硅胶取代。

小礼堂的壁板由卢瓦尔河谷的磨木和拱形橡木制成。它主要用于演奏室内音乐,也可用于爵士音乐会或宴会等其他用途。
器官音乐会

大会堂的器官由器官制造商Johannes Klais Orgelbau(波恩)建造。开发和生产共计八年,冻结期间继续进行。由于这里的乐器(与其他音乐厅相比)放置在礼堂的中间,所以前管必须用特殊的涂层进行保护。该仪器有69个登记4765管道,分布在五个手册和踏板。它可以通过两个四人手动游戏桌,一个固定在管风琴上,一个手机游戏桌在乐团舞台上播放。四个登记册作为望远镜安置在大厅的天花板反射器内,包括冲孔式支架或单簧管;遥控器可以连接到任何手动工作和自由的踏板。器官宽约15米,深约3米,她重约25吨。最大风量约为每分钟180立方米。固定的Spie的Spieltraktur

演奏厅
与大厅相反,演奏厅采用经典的“鞋盒”风格设计。典雅地被碾碎的木镶板提供完善的声音。大厅和Elbphilharmonie的演奏厅都是完全脱离建筑物的声学自主空间。大量的钢制弹簧元件完美地缓冲了外部世界各个大厅的混凝土外壳。没有船只的警笛会穿过这些空间,甚至没有一个响亮的长号合奏的声音也不会逃到外面。

公共空间:广场
在砖块基地和玻璃结构之间,在37米处,有一个公共空间作为音乐厅和酒店门厅的通道层。广场是通过一个约80米长,21米高的自动扶梯(所谓的管道)和第二个较短的自动扶梯进入。广场的一部分是围绕整个建筑的室外游览。从这里您可以看到Norderelbe,港口,HafenCity和市中心的景色,以及对音乐会门厅不同层次的见解。

广场的地面铺有约18.8万个红砖,与建筑师的历史商店的外观相对应。建筑商们正在寻找一座砖瓦建造厂,可以烧掉这些瓷砖 – 即使是像Kaispeicher的模型一样的小缺陷。建筑师给出了关于安装的最准确的信息。

旅馆
四星级酒店“汉堡威斯汀酒店”拥有244间客房,位于大楼第六层至第二十层的东区,由喜达屋酒店集团旗下的威斯汀酒店及度假村连锁酒店经营。开幕式于2016年11月4日举行。在6楼有一个带游泳池,桑拿浴室和健身区的水疗区,在七楼设有一个会议区和一个可容纳170人的餐厅。大堂位于8楼,可从公共广场和地面入口处进入。

美食
在Elbephilharmonie的砖石基地Kaispeicher的西部,有StörtebekerBraumanufaktur和东方酒店餐厅(Hotel&Restaurant GmbH)在三层楼经营的“Störtebeker”餐厅。在五楼有一家餐厅和酒吧共220位客人,在6楼有一家商店和啤酒品尝区。 8楼的Plaza酒店还设有供应小吃和饮料的熟食店。除了Störtebeker美食之外,酒店和Elbphilharmonie音乐区还提供更多美食。

公寓房
除了音乐厅和音乐教育区的文化用途之外,这座大楼还包括45座高档住宅单位,这些单位是该城市中价格最昂贵的,价格高达1000万欧元。

停车场
在前Kaispeicher,旁边有Kaistudio 1和音乐教育场所,还有一个有433个停车位的停车场,其中170个是为酒店客人和公寓所有者预留的。停车场经营者是Apcoa停车场。

城市营销理念
汉堡的Elbphilharmonie早已在HafenCity汉堡有限公司的初期宣传,HafenCity汉堡有限公司负责港口城市的开发和营销,与2008年在汉堡开设的国际海事博物馆和原计划的科学中心一起,作为中央文化港口城市的机构。除了作为音乐厅使用之外,Elbphilharmonie参议院还预计将为汉堡和港口城市创建一个里程碑,尤其是在城市的国际代表方面。官方的广告和形象宣传活动早已开始制定地标的主题。这个城市在开幕式上进行了广泛的宣传,显着增强了汉堡的国际视野。汉堡市场营销有限公司与汉堡文化媒体管理局和汉堡音乐公司联合举办了这场运动的控制和协调。

商业
在2010/2011赛季,在玛丽皇后2号游轮上举行了一场音乐会:Fauré四重奏从2010年8月26日起从汉堡到纽约。在Laeiszhalle,四位居民艺术家分别与Mariss Jansons,Thomas Hampson,Piotr Anderszewski和Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen以及维也纳爱乐乐团,阿姆斯特丹音乐厅交响乐团,Bayerischer Rundfunk交响乐团,纽约爱乐乐团和Budapester节日乐队作为客人。约翰·马尔科维奇(John Malkovich)在音乐剧“贾科莫变奏曲”(The Giacomo Variations)在2011/2012赛季开始了Elbphilharmonie音乐会,其中还有汉堡小提琴家基督教Tetzlaff,Belcea四重奏,德国Kammerphilharmonie不来梅和Simon Rattle爵士。第四季于2012年9月在Laeiszhalle与卢塞恩音乐节开幕。在2013/2014赛季,第一届汉堡国际音乐节将于2016年重演,并将于2018年每年举行一次.2015 / 2016赛季是最后一个赛季, Elbphilharmonie音乐会主要在Laeiszhalle举行,第一季在Elbphilharmonie举行的音乐会是2016/2017赛季。

在新音乐厅开幕后的上半年,紧凑的音乐节目包括各种类型的音乐会 – 从Riccardo Muti等国际指挥的管弦乐演奏会,以及Cecilia Bartoli等独奏家到Brad等爵士乐手Mehldau,EinstürzendeNeubauten和更小的主题节日,如萨拉姆叙利亚。汉堡管弦乐队在这个节目中也扮演了重要角色:NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester,汉堡爱乐乐团Staatsorchester Hamburg和合唱团Resonanz。 2017年1月27日,作为Elbphilharmonie名誉管风琴家的拉脱维亚风琴师Iveta Apkalna在大厅举行了独奏音乐会。 2017年8月底,大会堂播放了几场音乐会,在Elbphilharmonie的前院有一个免费的音乐会电影院。 2017/18赛季的艺术家包括PeterEötvös,Simon Rattle爵士,Daniil Trifonov,Mariss Jansons旗下的巴伐利亚广播交响乐团,Barbara Hannigan和美国摇滚乐队The National。联络点和节日是舒伯特的Liederzyklus A Winterreise,致力于高加索音乐,Georg Philipp Telemann和捷克作曲家的音乐。此外,HamburgMusik gGmbH还在Laeiszhalle举办系列和音乐会。

除了音乐会业务之外,HamburgMusik gGmbH的工作重点之一是提供音乐:截止到2010年,在汉堡各个地区的儿童和婴儿音乐会以及工作坊,艺术家的接触和音乐剧都以Elbphilharmonie Kompass品牌提供。除此之外,Elbphilharmonie基金会和Cyril和Jutta A. Palmer基金会也提供了赠款。随着Elbphilharmonie的开放,各个年龄段的音乐教育服务得到了广泛的延伸。汉堡的克林根德博物馆(Klingende Museum Hamburg)从Laeiszhalle搬到了Elbphilharmonie的Kaispeicher,并更名为Elbphilharmonie Instrumentenwelt。 Elbphilharmonie的教育计划包括儿童音乐会,音乐剧,学校课程和日间护理中心,以及为所有人提供的各种仪器讲习班,五个业余爱好者合唱团和支持性活动音乐会。

除了HamburgMusik gGmbH和Residenz合奏团之外,爱乐乐团汉堡国家交响乐团还使用音乐厅。 在歌剧院的同时,它正在组织爱乐音乐会,并于2017年春天从Laeiszhalle作为Elbphilharmonie大厅的永久场地进行演出。 乐团首席指挥,同时汉堡音乐总监自2015年夏以来一直是Kent Nagano。此外,Elbphilharmonie的房间也租赁给各种各样的演唱会发起人和合奏团,HamburgMusik gGmbH组织了大约三分之一 程序本身。

Tags:

Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg, Germany

The Elbe Philharmonic Hall (German:Elbphilharmonie) is a concert hall in the HafenCity quarter of Hamburg, Germany, on the Grasbrook (de) peninsula of the Elbe River. It is one of the largest and most acoustically advanced concert halls in the world. It is popularly nicknamed Elphi. The Elbphilharmonie was officially inaugurated with concerts of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra and a light show on 11 January 2017.

In the flow of the Elbe and surrounded on three sides by water, the new concert hall will become the centre of attraction for all who live in Hamburg as well as for visitors from all over the world. The spectacular building houses three concert halls, a large music education area, a range of places to eat and drink, a hotel and the public Plaza, which offers visitors an unparalleled panoramic view over the whole city. Artistic quality, variety and accessibility shape the musical programme of Hamburg’s new cultural landmark.

The new glassy construction resembles a hoisted sail, water wave or quartz crystal; it sits on top of an old warehouse building (Kaispeicher A, built 1963) near the historical Speicherstadt and is designed by architecture firm Herzog & de Meuron. It is the tallest inhabited building in Hamburg, with a final height of 108 metres (354 ft).

The Elbphilharmonie is a total work of art: it combines innovative architecture with an exceptional location, outstanding acoustics and a visionary concert programme.

The Elbphilharmonie with its impressive glass facade and wave-like rooftop rises up from the former Kaispeicher building on the western tip of the HafenCity. Accommodated inside are two concert halls, a hotel and residential apartments. Between the old warehouse and the glass structure is the Plaza – a public viewing area that extends around the whole building.

Building
The building is designed as a cultural and residential complex. The original 1966 brick façade of the Kaispeicher A, formerly a warehouse, was retained at the base of the building. On top of this a footprint-matching superstructure rests on its own foundation exhibiting a glassy exterior and a wavy roof line. About one thousand glass windows are curved. The building has 26 floors with the first eight floors within the brick façade. It reaches its highest point with 108 meters at the western side. The footprint of the building measures 120,000 m2. A curved escalator from the main entrance at the east side connects the ground floor with an observation deck, the Plaza, at the 8th floor, the top of the brick section. The Plaza is accessible by the public. It offers a view of Hamburg and the Elbe. From the Plaza the foyer of the concert hall can be reached.

The design of the architect’s office Herzog & de Meuron provided on the then still existing structure of the brick Kaispeicher A of 1966 before a glass-clad structure with a strikingly curved roof shape, which was also called “glass shaft”. The goal was a characteristic feature of the building to form an unmistakable silhouette in Hamburg. Contrary to the very first plans, the former storage building was completely gutted. Only the listed facade and parts of the foundations have been preserved. The load-distributing floor slab of the building is based on 1732 piles , which were rammed deep into the Elbe floor. The 12,500 t heavy, independent structure of the Great Concert Hall is completely decoupled from the overall building with a total of 342 steel spring packages at the bottom and 34 in the roof area. The tailor-made structure was given a glass façade consisting of a total of 1100 individual glass elements, each consisting of four panes of glass. All panes received a built-in light and heat protection by printed screened films. 595 glass elements are individually curved. One of these glass windows cost about 72,000 euros. According to the architects, the curved façade elements give the impression of a huge crystal that reflects the sky, the water and the city again and again.

The building has 26 storeys, with the façade of Kaispeicher A enclosing it from the ground floor to the plaza on the eighth floor, a former cocoa, tea and tobacco store in an exposed area of the old Port of Hamburg south of the Speicherstadt. It has a height of about 110 meters at the highest point on the Kaispitze, the lowest point on the eastern facade is about 30 meters lower. Thus, the building has replaced the rectangular Radisson Hotel building by a few meters as the tallest inhabited building in Hamburg. Due to the wedge shape of the memory, the spatial body of the Elbphilharmonie is 85 meters in the east and 22 meters in the west.

The main entrance to the house via an approximately 80 -meter-long, slightly curved escalator and a shorter, straight escalator, which together the ground floor with the Plaza, a free and limited by tickets regulated access level at the level of the former Kaispeicher Badger . The passenger initially only sees that he is approaching a light over the largest section of the 2.5-minute journey. The steps of the 21-meter escalator are not moved as usual by a drive from above, but by four decentralized drives, which are electronically synchronized. The inclination of the steps drops from the beginning of 23 degrees to about 11 degrees at the end of the staircase. The steps, which initially have the usual height for escalators, are only a few centimeters high at the top. The tube called a tube leads directly to a large picture window on the narrow side of the building towards the harbor. In addition to the tube, a total of 29 elevators and eleven stairwells open up the entire building.

The burdens of the Great Concert Hall are very unevenly distributed. This required eight irregularly arranged large inner columns and their inclination. In addition, the lack of outer columns in the plaza made oblique columns in the two floors above them necessary.

The Elbphilharmonie has three concert venues. The Great Concert Hall can accommodate 2,100 visitors whereby the performers are in the center of the hall surrounded by the audience in the vineyard style arrangement. The acoustics were designed by Yasuhisa Toyota who installed about 10,000 individually microshaped drywall plates to disperse sound waves. The Great Concert Hall contains a pipe organ with 69 registers built by Klais Orgelbau. The Recital Hall is intended for the performance of recitals, chamber music and jazz concerts; it can hold an audience of 550 people. In addition, there is the Kaistudio that allows for 170 visitors and is intended to serve educational activities. The consultant for the scenography of the concert hall was Ducks Scéno.

The easternmost part of the building is rented by Westin as the Westin Hamburg Hotel that opened on 4 November 2016. The hotel offers 244 rooms between the 9th and 20th floors. The lobby in the 8th floor can be accessed from the Plaza. The upper floors west of the concert hall accommodate 45 luxury apartments. The complex also houses conference rooms, restaurants, bars, and a spa. A parking garage for 433 cars is part of the building complex as well.

Concert halls:
Users of the concert halls are HamburgMusik gGmbH. Even before the inauguration ceremony organized this society so-called “Elbphilharmonie concerts” both in the Laeiszhalle and at other venues in Hamburg. General Manager of the Elbphilharmonie and the Laeiszhalle since 2007 Christoph Lieben-Seutter. The NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester is the residence orchestra in the house, the Ensemble Resonanz Residenzensemble. The center of a comprehensive music education offer is the Elbphilharmonie Instrumentenwelt in the former Kaispeicher area of the house.

There is the large concert hall with 2100 seats, a small hall with 550 seats and a third hall, the Kaistudio 1, with 170 seats. The foyer around the large hall is designed with oak parquet.

The Great Hall follows the principle of a “vineyard architecture”, which goes back to the architect Hans Scharoun and his design of the Berlin Philharmonic Hall (1957). In this design, the stage is slightly offset in the middle of the hall, while the vineyard-like rising ranks group around it. In the Elbphilharmonie no seat is more than 30 meters away from the conductor’s podium. The hall is 25 meters high.

The internationally renowned acoustician Yasuhisa Toyota was hired to achieve the best possible sound effect for this room. Toyota has already created the concepts of more than fifty other concert halls and concert halls worldwide. To test the acoustics of the Great Hall, Toyota had a five by five meter model in 1:10 scale. Based on his measurements, the Great Hall was covered with a total of 10,000 CNC-milled gypsum fiberboards covering an area of 6,500 square meters. Each of these plates is unique, between 35 and 200 millimeters thick and has a basis weight between 30 and 125 kg / m². The three-dimensional surface of the panels consists of a non-repeating pattern of pits, grooves, and pyramidal cones, also called microshaping, that were created on the computer using mathematical algorithms. Over the entire wall surface of the hall around one million fist-sized cells, sprinkle the sound. The acoustic interior wall cladding is also called “white skin”, the architect Jacques Herzog prefers this term, however, associations such as crustaceans or shells. Originally for the insulation already inserted threads between the plates with a total length of four kilometers had to be removed again, replaced by silicone.

The Small Hall has wall panels made of milled and arched oakwood from the Loire Valley. It serves primarily for the performance of chamber music and is also open to other uses such as jazz concerts or banquets.
organ concert

The organ in the Great Hall was built by the organ builder Johannes Klais Orgelbau (Bonn). The development and production took a total of eight years and was continued during the construction freeze. Since the instrument here – in contrast to other concert halls – placed in the middle of the auditorium, the front pipes had to be protected with a special coating. The instrument has 69 registers 4765 pipes , distributed on five manuals and pedal. It is playable by two four-manual game tables, one fixed to the organ and one mobile game table on the orchestra stage. Four registers are housed as a telescope in the ceiling reflector of the hall, including punching stentor clarinets; The remote can be coupled to any manual work and to the pedal freely. The organ has a width and a height of about 15 meters each and a depth of about 3 meters; she weighs about 25 t. The maximum wind consumption is about 180 m³ per minute. The Spieltraktur of the fixed Spie

Recital Hall
In contrast to the Grand Hall, the Recital Hall is designed in the classic »shoebox« style. An elegantly milled wooden panelling supplies a perfect acoustic. Both the Grand Hall and the Recital Hall of the Elbphilharmonie are acoustically autonomous spaces that are completely detached from the rest of the building. Massive steel spring elements perfectly buffer the concrete shell of each respective hall from the outside world. No ships’ sirens will ever penetrate these spaces, and not even the sound of a loud trombone ensemble will escape to the outside.

Public Space: The Plaza
Between the brick base and the glass structure, at 37 meters , there is a public space that serves as the access level for the foyer of the concert halls and the hotel. The Plaza is accessed via an approximately 80 meters long and 21 meters high escalator (the so-called tube) and a second, shorter escalator. Part of the Plaza is an outdoor tour around the entire building. From here you have a view over the Norderelbe, the harbor, HafenCity and the city center as well as insights into the different levels of the concert foyer.

The floor of the Plaza is paved with approximately 188,000 red bricks, which correspond to the look of the historic store according to the architects. The builders were looking for a brickyard to be built, which could burn these tiles – even with small defects like the model of the Kaispeicher. The architects gave the most accurate information on the installation.

Hotel
The four-star plus hotel “The Westin Hamburg” with 244 rooms is located in the east section of the building’s 6th to the 20th floor, operated by the Westin Hotels & Resorts hotel chain, part of the Starwood Hotels and Resorts group. The opening took place on 4 November 2016. On the 6th floor there is a spa area with pool, saunas and fitness area and on the 7th floor a conference area and a restaurant for 170 guests. The lobby is located on the 8th floor with access from the public plaza and from the entrance area on the ground floor.

Gastronomy
In the western part of the Kaispeicher, the brick base of the Elbphilharmonie, there is the restaurant “Störtebeker”, which is operated on three floors by the Störtebeker Braumanufaktur together with the east Hotel & Restaurant GmbH. On the 5th floor there is a restaurant and bar for a total of 220 guests, on the 6th floor there is a shop and beer tasting area. The Plaza on the 8th floor also has a deli serving snacks and drinks. In addition to the Störtebeker gastronomy, there are further gastronomic offers in the hotel and in the concert area of the Elbphilharmonie.

Condos
In addition to the cultural use of the concert halls and the music education area, the building comprises 45 upscale residential units, which are among the most expensive in the city with purchase prices of up to 10 million euros.

Car park
In the former Kaispeicher, there is next to the Kaistudio 1 and premises for the music education area also a parking garage with 433 parking spaces, of which 170 are reserved for hotel guests and owners of condominiums. Car park operator is Apcoa Parking.

Urban marketing concept
The Elbphilharmonie Hamburg was already advertised at an early stage by HafenCity Hamburg GmbH, which is responsible for the development and marketing of HafenCity, alongside the International Maritime Museum Hamburg, which opened in 2008, and the formerly planned Science Center as one of the central cultural institutions of HafenCity. In addition to its use as a concert hall, the Senate of the Elbphilharmonie also expected the creation of a landmark for Hamburg and the HafenCity, especially with regard to the city’s international representation. The motif of creating a landmark was taken up early for official advertising and image campaigns. The city has accompanied the opening with an extensive campaign to significantly strengthen Hamburg’s international perception. The control and coordination of the campaign was at the Hamburg Marketing GmbH together with the Hamburg Authority for Culture and Media and the Hamburg Music gGmbH.

business
In the 2010/2011 season there was a concert on the cruise ship Queen Mary 2: The Fauré Quartet played on their journey from 26 August 2010 from Hamburg to New York. In the Laeiszhalle, four resident artists each performed several concerts with Mariss Jansons, Thomas Hampson, Piotr Anderszewski and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, as well as the Vienna Philharmonic, the Amsterdam Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Bayerischer Rundfunk Symphony Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic Orchestra and the Budapester Festival Orchestra as guest. With John Malkovich in the music theater “The Giacomo Variations” started the Elbphilharmonie concerts in the season 2011/2012, in which also the Hamburg violinist Christian Tetzlaff, the Belcea Quartet, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and Sir Simon Rattle were guests. The fourth season was opened in September 2012 Claudio Abbado with the Lucerne Festival Orchestra in the Laeiszhalle. In the 2013/2014 season, the 1st International Music Festival Hamburg, a cooperation of several Hamburg concert promoters, took place, which was repeated in 2016 and will take place annually from 2018. The season 2015/2016 was the last season in which the Elbphilharmonie concerts took place mainly in the Laeiszhalle, the first season with concerts in the Elbphilharmonie was the season 2016/2017.

In the first half of the year following the opening of the new concert hall, the tightly packed musical program included concerts of various genres – from orchestral concerts with international conductors such as Riccardo Muti and soloists such as Cecilia Bartoli, to jazz greats such as Brad Mehldau, to the Einstürzende Neubauten and smaller theme festivals such as Salam Syria. The Hamburg orchestras also played a large part in the program: the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, the Philharmonic Staatsorchester Hamburg and the Ensemble Resonanz. On January 27, 2017, the Latvian organist Iveta Apkalna, as titular organist of the Elbphilharmonie, inaugurated the organ in the Great Hall with a solo concert. Several concerts were transmitted during the season from the Great Hall via livestream , the end of August 2017, there was a free concert cinema on the forecourt of the Elbphilharmonie. Artists of the 2017/18 season include Peter Eötvös, Sir Simon Rattle, Daniil Trifonov, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under Mariss Jansons, Barbara Hannigan and the American rock band The National. Focal points and festivals are Schubert’s Liederzyklus A Winterreise, dedicated to the music of the Caucasus, Georg Philipp Telemann and Czech composers. Furthermore, HamburgMusik gGmbH also organizes series and concerts in the Laeiszhalle.

In addition to the concert business, one focus of HamburgMusik gGmbH’s work is the provision of music: as of 2010, children’s and baby concerts in various Hamburg districts as well as workshops, artist encounters and music theater were offered under the Elbphilharmonie Kompass brand. Among other things, the Elbphilharmonie Foundation and the Cyril and Jutta A. Palmer Foundation helped with grants. After the opening of the Elbphilharmonie, the music education service for all ages was extended extensively. The Klingende Museum Hamburg moved from the Laeiszhalle to the Kaispeicher of the Elbphilharmonie and was renamed the Elbphilharmonie Instrumentenwelt. In keeping with its mission to be a home for all, the Elbphilharmonie’s education program includes children’s concerts, musical theater, school classes and day-care centers, as well as a variety of instrument workshops for everyone, five amateur ensembles and supporting events at selected concerts.

In addition to HamburgMusik gGmbH and the Residenz ensembles, the Philharmonic State Orchestra Hamburg also uses the concert hall. Parallel to the opera house, it is organizing philharmonic concerts, with which it has also moved in the spring of 2017 from the Laeiszhalle as a permanent venue in the Great Hall of the Elbphilharmonie. Chief conductor of the orchestra and at the same time Hamburg music director has been Kent Nagano since summer 2015. Furthermore, the rooms of the Elbphilharmonie are also leased to a wide range of concert promoters and ensembles, with HamburgMusik gGmbH organizing about one third of the program itself.

Tags: