旅行中的登革热

登革热是由蚊虫叮咬传播的病毒性热带病。2016年报告的新病例超过5000万,约有一千万人住院治疗,一万多人死亡。

登革热是整个东南亚和南亚的主要公共卫生问题。它还发现于澳大利亚昆士兰州,南太平洋热带岛屿,非洲,北美洲和南美洲的热带地区,包括加勒比海和中美洲大陆。根据世界卫生组织的数据,登革热感染近年来一直在增加,世界上一半以上的人口现在都处于危险之中。

登革热在人类之间没有传染性。它主要通过埃及伊蚊(Aedes aegypti)蚊子传播给人类,该蚊子遍布世界各地的热带地区。白纹伊蚊也可携带它; 那个人可以更好地忍受感冒,并且已经参与了这种疾病向欧洲和北美的传播。这些蚊子携带黄病毒,导致登革热。其他黄病毒,也是昆虫传播的,引起黄热病,寨卡病,基孔肯雅病,西尼罗河病和几种类型的脑炎。

有四种确认的病毒株,也许是五分之一。从感染中恢复后,患者对其所具有的菌株具有长期免疫力,但仅对其他菌株进行了几个月的恢复。

主要的预防措施是防止蚊子滋生和避免蚊虫叮咬。直到最近才有疫苗可用,但2016年第一种疫苗上市; 见下文。

登革热的类型
在大多数情况下,登革热具有良性病程。但重要的是要知道有两种类型的疾病:

经典登革热:也称为普通或良性,其症状类似于流感,对健康没有更大的危害。
出血性登革热:然而,这是非常危险的。如果不及时治疗,可能导致死亡。

经典登革热
经典登革热通常表现为强烈流感。但不要被愚弄:特别是如果您所在的地区出现登革热病例,请更加了解以下症状:

高热时
整个身体的全身疼痛
头痛
的眼睛和关节后面的剧烈疼痛
虚弱
食欲缺乏
恶心,呕吐
在皮肤上,这可能类似于风疹常红点,可有瘙痒伴随

大多数患者有两种或三种这些症状。高烧和疼痛是最常见的。然而,有一种轻微的登革热形式,没有症状,只能通过实验室检测确定。

登革热出血热
这是登革热的危险形式。因此,对于经典登革热的常见症状,我看起来更开放,如果出现以下症状高度提示出血性登革热,请立即就医:

腹痛
咳嗽,喉咙发炎,呼吸急促
头晕或昏厥
牙龈出血,皮肤(紫色斑点)和其他身体部位,以及注射部位。在后期阶段,可能有呕吐和粪便伴有血液和鼻腔出血

体征和症状
大约80%感染该病毒的人没有症状,或只有轻度发烧和全身不适。没有皮疹的轻度病例很容易被误诊为流感。登革热也容易与寨卡热或基孔肯雅病相混淆,后者是由同一种蚊子携带的相关病毒引起的,在重叠的地理区域中发现,并且具有相似的症状。

对于不幸的20%左右患有全面登革热的患者,最初的症状通常是突然发烧(通常超过40°C,104°F)伴有强烈的关节和肌肉疼痛; 在19世纪,由于这些疼痛,它被称为断骨热。这通常很快就会出现鲜红色的皮疹,最常见的是从腿部开始,但有时是手臂,它可能会扩散到躯干和脸部。分裂性头痛,恶心,呕吐和腹痛也很常见。疾病的这个阶段不太可能被杀死,但患者可能希望这样做。

症状通常在被感染的蚊子叮咬后出现3-14天(最常见的是4-7天)。急性症状通常持续数天或一周,但较轻微的流感样症状通常持续超过这种症状; 许多患者几周都很痛苦,有些患者需要几个月才能完全康复。死亡率约为千分之一,几乎所有病例都发展为登革热出血热。

少数病例成为登革热出血热(DHF),其中血管变得更多孔并开始泄漏液体; 幸运的是,这是相当罕见的。最常见的症状是鼻子,口腔和牙龈出血,但腹部或肺部积液,肠道出血,阴道出血或皮肤下出血也是可能的。可能会有42°C(107°F)或更高的发烧,这本身就是一种紧急情况。

有四种登革热病毒株,DHF更常发生在从一种病毒感染恢复但随后再次感染不同菌株的人群中。其原因尚不清楚; 一种理论认为,免疫系统,而不是与第二种菌株作斗争,会混淆,只会产生大量抗体。

DHF通过适当治疗的死亡率仅为1%左右,但这是一种危及生命的疾病,通常需要住院治疗,而且往往需要一段时间才能进入重症监护病房。治疗涉及主要干预措施 – 输血,其他静脉输液,有时用氧气来补偿血液或肺部问题,也许用药来减少出血等等。主要目标是防止患者进入登革热休克综合征,这通常可以实现。

最恶劣形式的疾病是登革热休克综合征(DSS),其中流失的液体很多,脉搏率和血压急剧下降。这是一个严重的紧急情况; 除非正确且非常及时地治疗,否则它在90%的病例中是致命的,并且一旦疾病进展到这一点,即使治疗良好也存在死亡风险。

诊断
治疗
没有针对登革热病毒的治疗方法。唯一要做的是将病人隔离在蚊帐的危险区域,持续一周,定期保湿,最后给予基础扑热息痛服用镇痛药和退热药,以对抗体温过高,缓解疼痛。最严重的病例可能是重症,如输血或肝脏透析。幸运的是,最严重的病例可能被迫静脉补液或血小板输注。

没有治疗可以攻击病毒或治愈疾病,只有缓解疼痛,发烧或恶心等症状,或处理脱水和失血。对于轻度病例,休息和补液可能就足够了,但请向医生咨询其他治疗方法。

可能的后果
除了罕见的可能导致死亡的出血或休克的严重登革热病例外,原发感染只会增加新感染时严重程度的风险。

在有登革热的地区,如果你得到上述某些症状(特别是在被蚊子叮咬后),请去看医生。登革热的存在可以通过血液检查确认,并且治疗可以避免许多痛苦。并非所有病例都需要住院治疗,但大多数情况下病情太重,无法从几天到几周内旅行。

登革热患者应:

保持休息
保湿
控制发热和疼痛
,如果出血应该送到医院。

旅行警告:
如果有可能出现登革热,请不要在没有医生建议的情况下自行进行治疗。一些常见的非处方药,如阿司匹林和布洛芬,通常作为头痛药物出售,会增加DHF的风险。应避免使用任何含有乙酰水杨酸或非甾体类抗炎药的药物。

通常使用对乙酰氨基酚(对乙酰氨基酚)来控制发烧和疼痛。

登革热出血热是一种危及生命的疾病; 如果您出现任何DHF症状,请立即就医。如果当地医院有一个良好的急诊室,请直接去那里。

治疗登革热出血热需要现代医院的资源。如果你在外面和登革热下来,考虑立即撤离到这样一家医院的某个地方。如果您的病例确实发展为DHF,那么您将迫切需要治疗,但可能无法旅行。

如果您在长途旅行中感染登革热,请告诉医生您的预后。这种疾病会使一些人在长达数月的时间内变得虚弱(就像流感一样),如果你是不幸的人之一,你可能需要改变你的旅行计划:推迟艰苦的活动,在沙滩上撒谎或放松一下在你完全恢复之前的其他方式。有些人甚至可能需要缩短旅行时间并回家恢复。

预防措施
控制和避免登革热的预防措施侧重于避免蚊虫叮咬,包括:

预防或消除站立水源,例如收集在容器,花盆,废弃轮胎或椰子壳等中的水池。蚊子将在几天内在任何积水中繁殖。
使用氯菊酯处理的织物,杀死落在它们上面的昆虫。
即使蚊子“无法进入”房屋,也要使用蚊帐,特别是在您睡觉的地方。
使用驱虫剂(DEET或picardin是已被证明最有效的主要药剂)以及穿着覆盖暴露皮肤的衣服。
房屋的建造方式可以减少蚊子的进入。(例如窗户上的屏幕a / c而不是打开的窗户/呼吸机……)
由于蚊子不被光吸引,因此大多数电子虫对蚊子没有效果。有些模型会释放二氧化碳或octenol(在哺乳动物的呼吸中发现),因此它们会吸引蚊子。

保护针对载体
避免登革热首先是通过采取一些预防措施,避免蚊虫叮咬:

在网眼尺寸小于1.5毫米的网下休息,如果可能的话,用杀虫剂浸渍,这将保护与蚊帐接触的身体部位。每次睡觉前检查网是否处于完好状态也是必要的;
在里面使用杀虫剂,不要忘记床上用品和家具的下面;
蚊子对空气的运动敏感,风扇的动作,即使房间配备了空调系统,也将成为保护手段的一部分;
在苄氯菊酯服装或皮肤上涂上一种驱虫剂,该驱虫剂含有成人30%避孕药或2至12岁儿童10%相同产品的溶液;
尽可能穿宽松,浅色的衣服,如果可能的话,不要饮酒。
请注意,如果按蚊,登革热传播者的雌性在白天被激活,其他蚊子种类的雌性,疟疾等寄生性疾病的传播者在黄昏和黎明之间活跃。因此,在夜间期间需要相同的预防措施。

疫苗
第一种预防登革热的疫苗于2016年上市; 它对所有四种病毒都有效。它相隔六个月需要三次射击,推荐用于测试中使用的年龄范围,9-45。

开发它的法国公司赛诺菲巴斯德首先在墨西哥,泰国,巴西和菲律宾等国家寻求批准 – 那些需要它并且收入适中的地方 – 并且稍后将获得美国和欧洲的批准,因此旅行者可能需要在他们的目的地拍摄。

该疫苗于2015年12月在巴西,墨西哥和菲律宾获得批准,预计还将获得其他批准。但是,有并发症; 菲律宾政府于2017年撤回批准,赛诺菲不再建议该疫苗可供以前未接触过该病毒的人使用。

Tags:

Dengue fever in travel

Dengue fever is a viral tropical disease transmitted by mosquito bites. In 2016 over 50 million new cases were reported, about ten million were hospitalized, and over ten thousand died.

Dengue is a major public health problem throughout South-East Asia and South Asia. It is also found in Queensland, Australia, the tropical South Pacific islands, Africa, tropical parts of North and South America, including the Caribbean and mainland Central America. According to the World Health Organization, dengue infections have been increasing in recent years and over half the world’s population is now at risk.

Dengue is not infectious between humans. It is transmitted to humans mainly by the Aedes aegypti mosquito, which is found in tropical regions throughout the world. The Aedes albopictus mosquito can also carry it; that one tolerates cold better and has been involved in the spread of the disease to Europe and North America. These mosquitoes carry a flavivirus which causes Dengue fever. Other flaviviruses, also insect-borne, cause Yellow fever, Zika fever, Chikungunya, the West Nile disease, and several types of encephalitis.

There are four confirmed strains of the virus and perhaps a fifth. After recovering from an infection, a patient has long-term immunity to the strain they had but only a few months reststance to other strains.

The main preventive measures are to prevent the breeding of mosquitoes and to avoid mosquito bites. No vaccine was available until recently, but in 2016 the first vaccine came on the market; see below.

Types of dengue
In most cases, dengue has a benign course. But it is important to know that there are two types of the disease:

Classical dengue: also called the common or benign type, its symptoms resemble those of the flu, causing no greater harm to health.
Hemorrhagic dengue: this, however, is very dangerous. If left untreated, it can lead to death.

Classical dengue
Classic dengue fever usually manifests as if it were a strong flu. But do not be fooled: especially if your region is showing cases of dengue, be even more aware of the following symptoms:

High fever
Generalized pain throughout the body
Headache
Severe pain behind the eyes and joints
Weakness
Lack of appetite
Nausea and vomiting
Often red spots on the skin, which may resemble rubella, may be accompanied by itching

Most patients have two or three of these symptoms. High fever and aches are the most frequent. However, there is a mild form of dengue that presents without symptoms and could only be identified through laboratory tests.

Dengue hemorrhagic fever
This is the dangerous form of dengue. Therefore, I look even more open regarding the common symptoms of classical dengue fever and, if the following symptoms appear highly suggestive of hemorrhagic dengue, immediately seek medical attention:

Abdominal pain
Cough, throat inflammation, shortness of breath
Dizziness or fainting
Bleeding gums, skin (purple spots) and other body sites, as well as injection sites. In later stages, there may be vomiting and feces with blood and nasal bleeding

Signs and symptoms
About 80% of people infected with the virus have no symptoms, or only a mild fever and general malaise. Mild cases without rash may be easily misdiagnosed as flu. Dengue is also easily confused with Zika fever or Chikungunya which are caused by related viruses carried by the same genus of mosquito, are found in overlapping geographic regions, and have similar symptoms.

For the unlucky 20% or so who get full-blown dengue fever, the first symptoms are usually a sudden fever (often over 40°C, 104°F) accompanied by strong joint and muscle pains; in the 19th century it was known as breakbone fever due to these pains. This is usually soon followed by a bright red rash, most often starting on the legs but sometimes the arms and it may spread to torso and face. Splitting headaches, nausea, vomiting and abdominal pain are also common. This stage of the disease is quite unlikely to kill, but the patient may wish it would.

Symptoms usually appear 3-14 days (most commonly 4-7 days) after being bitten by an infected mosquito. The acute symptoms typically last a few days or a week, but milder flu-like symptoms often persist beyond that; many patients are miserable for weeks and for some it takes several months to fully recover. Fatality rates are around 1 in 1000, nearly all in cases that progress to dengue hemorrhagic fever.

A few cases become dengue hemorrhagic fever (DHF), in which blood vessels become more porous and start to leak fluids; fortunately this is fairly rare. The most common symptom is bleeding from the nose, mouth, and gums, but accumulation of fluids in the abdomen or lungs, bleeding in the intestinal tract, vaginal bleeding, or bleeding under the skin are also possible. There can be a fever of 42°C (107°F) or higher, which is an emergency in itself.

There are four strains of the dengue virus and DHF occurs more often in people who have recovered from an infection with one strain but then get re-infected with a different strain. The reason for this is not known for certain; one theory is that the immune system, instead of fighting the second strain, gets confused and just makes lots of antibodies against the first.

The fatality rate for DHF with proper treatment is only about 1%, but it is a life-threatening illness which usually requires hospitalization, and often some time in an intensive care ward. Treatment involves major interventions – transfusions, other intravenous fluids, sometimes oxygen to compensate for blood or lung problems, perhaps medication to reduce bleeding, and so on. The main goal is to prevent the patient from progressing to dengue shock syndrome, and this can usually be achieved.

The nastiest form of the disease is dengue shock syndrome (DSS) in which so much fluid is lost that pulse rate and blood pressure drop precipitously. This is a critical emergency; it is lethal in 90% of cases unless correctly and very promptly treated, and once the disease has progressed to this point there is risk of death even with good treatment.

Diagnosis

Treatment
There is no therapy to fight the dengue virus. The only thing to do is isolate the patient under a mosquito net in areas at risk, for a week, to moisturize regularly and eventually to administer medication analgesics and antipyretics to basic paracetamol to fight against hyperthermia and soothe the pains. The most serious cases may be heavy actions such as blood transfusions or liver dialysis. The most serious cases, fortunately rare, can be forced to rehydrate intravenously or to platelet transfusions.

There is no treatment that can attack the virus or cure the disease, only ones to alleviate symptoms such as pain, fever or nausea, or to deal with dehydration and blood loss. For mild cases, rest and fluids may be enough, but check with a doctor about other treatment.

Possible consequences
Except in the rare cases of severe dengue with haemorrhage or shock that can lead to death, the primary infection will only increase the risk of severity in case of new infection.

In areas with dengue, if you get some of the symptoms described above (especially after being bitten by a mosquito) see a doctor. The presence of dengue can be confirmed with a blood test, and much of the misery can be avoided with treatment. Not all cases need hospitalization, but most will be too ill for work or travel for anything from a few days to a few weeks.

The dengue patient should:

stay at rest
moisturize
control fever and pain
in case of bleeding should be taken to the hospital.

Travel Warning:
If dengue fever is a possibility, do not self-medicate without medical advice. Some common over-the-counter medicines such as aspirin and ibuprofen, commonly sold as headache remedies, increase the risk of DHF. Any medication containing acetylsalicyclic acid or nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory agents should be avoided.

Paracetamol (acetominophen) is often used instead to manage the fever and pain.

Dengue hemorrhagic fever is a life-threatening illness; if you show any DHF symptoms, see a doctor immediately. If a local hospital has a good emergency room, go directly there.

Treating dengue hemorrhagic fever requires the resources of a modern hospital. If you are out in the boondocks and come down with dengue fever, consider evacuating immediately to somewhere with such a hospital. If your case does develop into DHF, then you will urgently need treatment but might be in no shape to travel.

If you get dengue fever during a long trip, talk to your doctor about your prognosis. The disease leaves some people debilitated (about like flu) for anything up to several months, and if you are one of the unlucky ones you may need to alter your travel plans: postpone strenuous activities and go lie on a beach or take it easy in some other way until you recover fully. Some people may even need to cut a trip short and go home to recover.

Preventive measures
Preventive measures to control and avoid dengue fever focus on avoiding mosquito bites and include:

Prevention or elimination of standing water sources, such as pools of water that collect in containers, flower pots, discarded tires or coconut shells, etc. Mosquitoes will breed in any standing water in a matter of days.
Use of permethrin-treated fabrics which kill insects that land on them.
Use of mosquito netting especially for the place you sleep in even if mosquitoes “can’t enter” the house.
Use of insect repellent (DEET or picardin are the main agents that have been shown to be most effective) as well as wearing clothing that covers exposed skin.
Houses constructed in such a way as to reduce the entry of mosquitoes. (e.g. screens on the windows a/c instead of open windows/ventilators…)
Most electronic bug zappers are not effective against mosquitoes since mosquitoes are not attracted to light. There are some models which emit carbon dioxide or octenol (found in the breath of mammals) so they do attract mosquitoes.

Protection against the vector
Avoiding dengue fever is first of all to avoid mosquito bites by taking a few precautions:

rest under a net with a mesh size of less than 1.5 mm and, if possible, impregnated with insecticide, which will protect the body parts that come into contact with the mosquito net. It is also imperative to check, every time before bedtime, if the net is in perfect condition;
use an insecticide on the inside, not forgetting the underside of the bedding and furniture;
mosquitoes being sensitive to the movement of air, the action of a fan, even if the room is equipped with an air conditioning system, will also be part of the means of protection;
coat the permethrin garments or the skin with a repellent consisting of a solution containing 30% DEET for adults or 10% of the same product for children between 2 and 12 years of age;
as much as possible, wear loose, long, light colored clothing and, if possible, refrain from consuming alcohol.
Beware that if females of anopheles, dengue propagators, are activated during the day, females of other species of mosquitoes, propagators of parasitic diseases such as malaria are active between dusk and dawn. The same precautions are therefore desirable during the night period.

Vaccine
The first vaccine to prevent dengue fever reached the market in 2016; it is effective against all four strains of the virus. It needs three shots six months apart, and is recommended for the age range used in testing, 9-45.

Sanofi Pasteur, the French company who developed it, are seeking approval first in countries like Mexico, Thailand, Brazil and the Philippines – places that need it and have moderately high incomes – and leaving US and European approval for later, so travellers may need to get the shot at their destination.

The vaccine was approved in Brazil, Mexico and the Philippines in December 2015 and other approvals are expected to follow. However, there are complications; the Philippine government withdrew their approval in 2017 and Sanofi no longer recommend that the vaccine be used by people who have not previously been exposed to the virus.

Tags: