克劳德·德彪西博物馆,法国圣日耳曼昂莱

克劳德-德彪西(Claude Debussy)的诞生地,今天也被称为Claude-Debussy博物馆,位于法国伊夫林省圣日耳曼昂莱的rue au Pain 38号。

它的历史可以追溯到17和18世纪。

克劳德 – 德彪西博物馆是一个独特的地方,汇集了他出生的房子里与法国着名作曲家有关的所有物品:Claude Debussy的出生地,位于Saint-Germain-en-Laye市的历史街区。

克劳德·德彪西(Claude Debussy)出生于1862年8月22日出生于17世纪的这座城市,是他的童年时期。 他的父亲实际上在底层有一家精品店。

隐藏在门后,您会发现一个美丽的小内庭院,以及一个华丽的木制楼梯,让您可以进入博物馆。

标有“杰出之屋”的博物馆汇集了物品和照片,可以更好地了解作曲家的创作过程。 他喜欢用能够强烈影响他音乐的各种艺术起源和潮流的物体环绕自己。 例如,来自日本的巴黎豪宅的漆面板 – 两条在柳树下游动的鱼 – 变成了钢琴曲(Pisces d’Or)(1907年)。

克劳德·德彪西于1862年8月22日出生在那里。他的父母在那里经营着一家精品店。 它于1972年放置在历史古迹的清单上,并于1990年向公众开放,它揭示了作曲家的生活和音乐文件。 它汇集了属于作曲家的个人物品,乐谱和图像文件。 房子的庭院包括一个带有xvii世纪栏杆的楼梯。 YvonneLefébure礼堂举办古典音乐会,致力于纪念钢琴家和音乐老师。

克劳德·德彪西
Achille-Claude Debussy(1862年8月22日 – 1918年3月25日)是法国作曲家。 在他的一生中和之后,他被视为第一位印象派作曲家,尽管他强烈反对这个词。 他是19世纪末20世纪初最有影响力的作曲家之一。

Debussy出生于一个谦虚的家庭和少量的文化参与家庭,他表现出足够的音乐才能,在十岁时被法国领先的音乐学院 – 巴黎音乐学院录取。 尽管音乐学院的保守派教授不赞成,但他最初学习钢琴,却发现了他在创新构图方面的使命。 他花了很多年的时间来发展自己的成熟风格,并在1902年以他唯一的歌剧“PelléasetMélisande”获得国际声誉之前将近40岁。

德彪西的管弦乐作品包括Préludeàl’après-midi d’un faune(1894),Nocturnes(1897-99)和Images(1905-1912)。 他的音乐在很大程度上是对瓦格纳和德国音乐传统的反应。 他认为古典交响乐已经过时,并在他的“交响乐素描”中寻找替代品,La mer(1903-1905)。 他的钢琴作品包括两本Préludes和两本Études。 在他的整个职业生涯中,他根据各种各样的诗歌,包括他自己的诗歌创作了mélodies。 他深受19世纪晚期象征主义诗歌运动的影响。 少数作品,包括早期的LaDamoiselleélue和已故的Le Martyre desaintSébastien,都是合唱的重要组成部分。 在他的最后几年里,他专注于室内乐,为不同的乐器组合完成了计划的六首奏鸣曲中的三首。

随着早期影响,包括俄罗斯和远东音乐,德彪西在当时的大部分音乐设施中发展了自己的风格,使用和声和管弦乐着色,嘲笑和不成功抵制。 他的作品深受广大作曲家的影响,包括BélaBartók,Olivier Messiaen,George Benjamin以及爵士钢琴家和作曲家Bill Evans。 德彪西的生命被癌症缩短了。 在30多年的创作生涯之后,他在巴黎的家中去世,享年55岁。

样式
属于Saint-Germain-en-Laye市和着名的房子,我们今天在一个舒适的氛围中发现他的家庭记忆,他的日常生活,他的艺术亲和力和他喜欢的对象(漆与“双鱼座”)或者“,”Arkel“,他的恋物蟾蜍……),有利于他的音乐灵感。

最后,纪念馆,纪念纪念碑(Henry de Groux,Antoine Bourdelle,Aristide Maillol)的集合也展示了20世纪艺术家对这位伟大作曲家的兴趣。

礼堂完成了博物馆。 受音乐沙龙的启发,它可以让你在一年一度的音乐季节中体验这种音乐的“自由艺术”。

德彪西和印象派
对于德彪西而言,“印象派”一词的应用以及他所影响的音乐在作曲家的一生和随后都受到了很多争论。 分析师理查德朗廷史密斯写道,印象派最初是一个用来描述19世纪晚期法国绘画风格的术语,通常是充满反射光的场景,其中强调的是整体印象,而不是轮廓或细节的清晰度,如莫奈,皮萨罗,雷诺阿等人的作品。 朗廷史密斯写道,这个词被转移到了德彪西和其他人的作品中,这些作品“关注景观或自然现象的表现,特别是印象派亲爱的水和光图像,通过带有乐器色彩的细微纹理”。

在画家中,德彪西特别钦佩特纳,同时也从惠斯勒那里汲取灵感。 考虑到后者,作曲家于1894年写给小提琴家EugèneYsaÿe,将管弦乐夜曲描述为“可以从一种颜色中获得的不同组合中的实验 – 在绘画中灰色的研究是什么。”

德彪西强烈反对使用“印象派”这个词来表达他(或其他任何人的)音乐,但自从音乐学院的评估员首次将其应用于他的早期作品“春天百货”以来,它一直与他联系在一起。 朗廷史密斯评论说,德彪西写了许多钢琴作品,其标题令人想起大自然 – “Reflets dans l’eau”(1905),“Les Sons et les parfums tournent dans l’air du soir”(1910)和“Brouillards”(1913) – 并且暗示印象派画家使用笔触和圆点在德彪西的音乐中是平行的。 虽然德彪西说任何使用这个词(无论是关于绘画还是音乐)的人都是愚蠢的,但是一些德彪西的学者采取了较少的绝对主义路线。 Lockspeiser称La mer是“管弦乐印象派作品的最佳典范”,最近在The Cambridge Companion to Debussy Nigel Simeone评论道,“在莫奈的海景中看到平行似乎并不过分。”

在这方面,可能会将德彪西的泛神论悼词置于自然之中,在1911年采访亨利马尔贝:

我把神秘的大自然变成了我的宗教……当我凝视着夕阳的天空,花几个小时思考其奇妙不断变化的美丽时,一种非凡的情感压倒了我。 浩浩荡荡的自然真实地体现在我真诚而虚弱的灵魂中。 在我周围是树木向天空伸展的树枝,草地上的芬芳花朵,草地上温柔的草地,……我的双手在不知不觉中呈现出一种崇拜的态度。

与德彪西音乐的“印象派”特征形成鲜明对比的是,一些作家认为他至少在严格的数学界限上构建了一些音乐。 1983年,钢琴家和学者罗伊·豪亚特(Roy Howat)出版了一本书,主张德彪西的某些作品使用数学模型进行比例,即使在使用明显的经典结构如奏鸣曲形式时也是如此。 Howat表明德彪西的一些作品可以分为反映黄金比例的部分,这些部分近似于斐波纳契数列中连续数字的比率。 西蒙·特雷齐斯(Simon Trezise)在其1994年出版的“德彪西:拉梅尔”一书中发现了内在的证据“显着”,但需要注意的是,没有任何书面或报告的证据表明德彪西故意寻求这样的比例。 Lesure采取了类似的观点,支持Howat的结论,而没有对Debussy的意识意图进行观察。

音乐成语
德彪西写道:“我们必须同意艺术品的美丽永远是一个谜,我们永远无法确定它是如何制造的。”我们必须不惜一切代价保留这种音乐所特有的魔力,以及音乐所特有的它的本质,是所有艺术中最容易接受的“。

然而,德彪西成语的来源和要素有很多指标。 1958年,评论家Rudolph Reti总结了德彪西音乐的六个特征,他断言“在欧洲音乐中建立了一种新的音调概念”:经常使用冗长的踏板点 – “不仅仅是实际意义上的低音踏板,但任何声音持续“踏板”; 闪闪发光的通道和形状网,分散了偶尔没有色调的注意力; 经常使用平行和弦,这些和弦基本上不是和声,而是’和弦旋律’,丰富的联合体“,被一些作家描述为非功能性和声; bitonality,或至少是双色和弦; 使用全音和五声音阶; 毫无准备的调制,“没有任何谐波桥”。 Reti得出的结论是,德彪西的成就是基于谐音的“旋律音调”与和声的合成,尽管与“谐音音调”不同。

1889年,德彪西与他的前任老师吉劳德进行了对话,其中包括探索钢琴的和声可能性。 Guiraud的年轻学生莫里斯·伊曼纽尔(Maurice Emmanuel)指出了讨论和德彪西的键盘即兴创作。 德彪西演奏的和弦序列包括Reti识别的一些元素。 他们也可能表明萨蒂的1887年三河萨拉班德人对德彪西的影响。 德彪西在这次谈话中的进一步即兴创作包括一系列全音调和声,这些和声可能是由Glinka或Rimsky-Korsakov的音乐启发的,而这种音乐此时在巴黎已为人所知。 在谈话中,德彪西告诉吉劳德,“没有理论。你只需要倾听。快乐就是法律!” – 虽然他也承认,“我感到自由,因为我经历过工厂,而且我不会用英语写作,因为我知道它。”

影响

音乐
在法国前辈中,查布里尔对德彪西有重要的影响(因为他在拉威尔和普朗克); Howat写道,Chabrier的钢琴音乐如“Sous-bois”和“Mauresque”在Piècespittoresques中探索了新的声音世界,其中Debussy在30年后得到了有效的使用。 Lesure在Debussy的早期歌曲中发现了Gounod和Massenet的痕迹,并且可能来自俄罗斯人–Tchaikovsky,Balakirev,Rimsky-Korsakov,Borodin和Mussorgsky – 他们对“古代和东方模式以及生动的色彩,以及对学术规则的某种蔑视“。 Lesure还认为Mussorgsky的歌剧Boris Godunov直接影响了Debussy的PelléasetMélisande。 在Palestrina的音乐中,Debussy发现了他所谓的“完美的白色”,他觉得虽然Palestrina的音乐形式有“严格的态度”,但他们的口味比19世纪法国作曲家中的严格规则更具有他的品味。教师。 他从他称之为Palestrina的“旋律创造的和谐”中汲取灵感,在旋律线条中找到了阿拉伯式花纹般的品质。

对于肖邦的钢琴音乐,德彪西表达了他的“恭敬的感激之情”。 他把他自己的Études奉献给肖邦或者弗朗索瓦·库珀林(FrançoisCouperin),他也钦佩他作为一种形式的典范,将自己视为他们掌握这种风格的继承人。 Howat提醒人们反对Debussy的Ballade(1891)和Nocturne(1892)受肖邦影响的假设 – 在Howat看来他们更多地欠Debussy早期的俄罗斯模特 – 但肖邦的影响力在其他早期作品如Deux arabesques(1889- 1891年)。 1914年,出版商A. Durand&fils开始出版主要作曲家作品的学术新版本,德彪西对肖邦音乐的编辑进行了监督。

虽然德彪西对瓦格纳的地位毫无疑问,但在他的作品中,他只是在他的作品中受到了短暂的影响,仅仅是在他的作品之后,在Ladamoiselleélue和CinqpoèmesdeBaudelaire(两者都始于1887年)之后。 根据皮埃尔·路易斯的说法,德彪西“没有看到’除了特里斯坦之外还能做什么’,”尽管他承认有时很难避免“老克林戈尔的鬼魂,别名理查德瓦格纳,出现在酒吧的转弯处”。 在德彪西短暂的瓦格纳阶段之后,他开始对非西方音乐及其不熟悉的作曲方式产生兴趣。 1908年儿童角套装中的钢琴曲“Golliwogg’s Cakewalk”包含了对Tristan介绍的音乐模仿,在音乐学家Lawrence Kramer看来,Debussy逃脱了老作曲家的阴影并“微笑地相对化瓦格纳变得无足轻重“。

根据Nichols Debussy在法国音乐家中“最忠实的朋友”的说法,当代影响力是Erik Satie。 根据音乐学家理查德·塔鲁斯金(Richard Taruskin)的说法,德彪西于1896年对Satie’sGymnopédies(曾于1887年创作)的编曲“将他们的作曲家放在地图上”,而德彪西钢琴演奏的萨拉班德(1901)“表明[德彪西]知道萨蒂的三重奏Sarabandes当时只有作曲家的私人朋友可以认识他们。“ (他们直到1911年才出版)。 德彪西对他那个时代流行音乐的兴趣不仅体现在Golliwogg的Cakewalk和其他钢琴作品中,例如The Little Nigar(Debussy的拼写)(1909年),而是由慢华尔兹La plus que lente(The基于巴黎酒店吉普赛小提琴手的风格(他给了这件作品的手稿)。

除了影响他自己作品的作曲家之外,德彪西还对其他几个人持有强烈的看法。 他在很大程度上热衷于理查德施特劳斯和斯特拉文斯基,尊重莫扎特,并敬畏巴赫,他称之为“音乐的好神”(“le Bon Dieu de la musique”)。 他与贝多芬的关系很复杂; 据说他称他为“le vieux sourd”(老聋人),并要求一名年轻学生不要演奏贝多芬的音乐,因为“就像有人在我的坟墓上跳舞;” 但是他相信贝多芬有着深刻的话要说,却不知道如何说出来,“因为他被关在一个不断重述和德国侵略性的网络中。” 他并不同情舒伯特或门德尔松,后者被描述为“轻松优雅的公证人”。

随着第一次世界大战的到来,德彪西在他的音乐观中变得非常爱国。 在写给斯特拉文斯基时,他问道:“我们怎能不预见到这些人正在密谋破坏我们的艺术,就像他们计划毁灭我们的国家一样?” 1915年,他抱怨说“自拉莫以来我们没有纯粹的法国传统我们容忍夸张的管弦乐队,曲折的形式,当枪声突然停止时,我们即将给予更多可疑归化的批准印章。” 塔鲁斯金写道,有些人认为这是对作曲家古斯塔夫·马勒和阿诺德·勋伯格的提及,他们都是犹太人。 1912年,德彪西曾向(他也是犹太人)作曲家保罗·杜卡斯(Paul Dukas)的歌剧“阿丽亚娜·巴贝布鲁”(Ariane et Barbe-bleue)的出版人发表评论,“你是对的,是一部杰作 – 但它并不是法国音乐的杰作。”

文学
尽管他缺乏正规学校教育,但德彪西广泛阅读并在文学中找到灵感。 Lesure写道,“诗歌中自由诗的发展以及绘画中主体或模型的消失影响了他思考音乐形式的问题。” 德彪西受到了象征主义诗人的影响。 这些作家,包括Verlaine,Mallarmé,Maeterlinck和Rimbaud,反对19世纪70年代普遍存在的现实主义,自然主义,客观性和正式保守主义。 他们赞成诗歌使用建议而不是直接陈述; 文学学者克里斯·巴尔德里克(Chris Baldrick)写道,他们通过使用私人符号唤起“主观情绪,同时避免描述外部现实或表达意见”。 德彪西非常同情象征主义者的愿望,即将诗歌与音乐联系起来,与几位主要代表人士保持友好关系,并在整个职业生涯中设置了许多象征主义作品。

德彪西的文学灵感主要是法国人,但他并没有忽视外国作家。 与PelléasetMélisande的Maeterlinck一样,他借用莎士比亚和查尔斯狄更斯的两首钢琴曲 – La Danse de Puck(Book 1,1910)和HommageàS。Pickwick Esq。 PPMPC(Book 2,1913)。 他在他早期的大合唱LaDamoiselleélue(1888年)中创作了Dante Gabriel Rossetti的The Blessed Damozel。 他为李尔王写了偶然的音乐,并策划了一部基于你喜欢它的歌剧,但是一旦他把注意力转向设置Maeterlinck的戏剧就放弃了。 1890年,他开始创作一部管弦乐作品,灵感来自爱伦坡的“厄舍之家的陨落”,后来为歌剧“La chute de la maison Usher”勾勒出剧本。 另一个受Poe启发的项目 – 一部歌剧版“The Devil in the Belfry”并没有超越草图。 法国作家的话包括Paul Bourget,Alfred de Musset,ThéodoredeBanville,Leconte de Lisle,ThéophileGautier,Paul Verlaine,FrançoisVillon和Mallarmé–他们中的最后一位也为Debussy提供了他最受欢迎的灵感之一管弦乐作品,Préludeàl’après-midi d’un faune。

Tags:

Claude-Debussy Museum, Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France

The birthplace of Claude Debussy, today also known as the Claude-Debussy museum is located at 38, rue au Pain in Saint-Germain-en-Laye in the French department of Yvelines.

It dates from the 17th and 18th centuries.

Claude-Debussy Museum is a unique place, bringing together all objects related to the famous French composer in the house where he was born: the birthplace of Claude Debussy, located in the historic district of the city of Saint-Germain-en-Laye.

It is in this house of the 17th century, property of the city, that Claude Debussy was born on August 22, 1862 and spent his early childhood. His father actually had a faience shop on the ground floor.

Hidden behind a door, you will discover a beautiful little inner courtyard, as well as a sumptuous wooden staircase, allowing you to access the museum.

The museum labeled “House of the illustrious” brings together objects and photographs that allow to better understand the creative process of the composer. He liked to surround himself with objects of various artistic origins and currents that strongly influenced his music. For example, a lacquered panel from Japan from his Paris mansion – two fish swimming under a willow – morphed into Pisces d’Or, a piano piece (1907).

Claude Debussy was born there on August 22, 1862. His parents ran a faience shop there. Placed on the inventory of historical monuments in 1972 and opened to the public in 1990, it exposes the life and musical documents of the composer. It brings together personal objects that belonged to the composer, musical scores and iconographic documents. The courtyard of the house includes a stairway with balustrades of the xvii th century. Classical music concerts are held in the Yvonne Lefébure Auditorium, dedicated to the memory of the pianist and music teacher.

Claude Debussy
Achille-Claude Debussy (22 August 1862 – 25 March 1918) was a French composer. He was seen, during his lifetime and afterwards, as the first Impressionist composer, although he vigorously rejected the term. He was among the most influential composers of the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Born to a family of modest means and little cultural involvement, Debussy showed enough musical talent to be admitted at the age of ten to France’s leading music college, the Conservatoire de Paris. He originally studied the piano, but found his vocation in innovative composition, despite the disapproval of the Conservatoire’s conservative professors. He took many years to develop his mature style, and was nearly 40 before achieving international fame in 1902 with the only opera he completed, Pelléas et Mélisande.

Debussy’s orchestral works include Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (1894), Nocturnes (1897–99) and Images (1905–1912). His music was to a considerable extent a reaction against Wagner and the German musical tradition. He regarded the classical symphony as obsolete and sought an alternative in his “symphonic sketches”, La mer (1903–1905). His piano works include two books of Préludes and two of Études. Throughout his career he wrote mélodies based on a wide variety of poetry, including his own. He was greatly influenced by the Symbolist poetic movement of the later 19th century. A small number of works, including the early La Damoiselle élue and the late Le Martyre de saint Sébastien have important parts for chorus. In his final years he focused on chamber music, completing three of a planned six sonatas for different combinations of instruments.

With early influences including Russian and far-eastern music, Debussy developed his own style in the use of harmony and orchestral colouring, derided, and unsuccessfully resisted, by much of the musical establishment of the day. His works have strongly influenced a wide range of composers, including Béla Bartók, Olivier Messiaen, George Benjamin and the jazz pianist and composer Bill Evans. Debussy’s life was cut short by cancer. He died at his home in Paris at the age of 55 after a composing career of a little more than 30 years.

Style
Belonging to the City of Saint-Germain-en-Laye and illustrious house, we discover today in a cozy atmosphere his family memories, his daily life, his artistic affinities and the objects he loved to surround himself with (lacquer with “Pisces d’Or”, “Arkel”, his fetish toad…), conducive to his musical inspiration.

Finally, a memorial house, the grouping of the commemorative monuments dedicated to it (Henry de Groux, Antoine Bourdelle, Aristide Maillol) also shows the interest of 20th century artists for this great composer.

An auditorium completes the museum. Inspired by music salons, it allows you to live this “free art” that is music through an annual musical season.

Debussy and Impressionism
The application of the term “Impressionist” to Debussy and the music he influenced has been much debated, both in the composer’s lifetime and subsequently. The analyst Richard Langham Smith writes that Impressionism was originally a term coined to describe a style of late 19th-century French painting, typically scenes suffused with reflected light in which the emphasis is on the overall impression rather than outline or clarity of detail, as in works by Monet, Pissarro, Renoir and others. Langham Smith writes that the term became transferred to the compositions of Debussy and others which were “concerned with the representation of landscape or natural phenomena, particularly the water and light imagery dear to Impressionists, through subtle textures suffused with instrumental colour”.

Among painters, Debussy particularly admired Turner, but also drew inspiration from Whistler. With the latter in mind the composer wrote to the violinist Eugène Ysaÿe in 1894 describing the orchestral Nocturnes as “an experiment in the different combinations that can be obtained from one colour – what a study in grey would be in painting.”

Debussy strongly objected to the use of the word “Impressionism” for his (or anybody else’s) music, but it has continually been attached to him since the assessors at the Conservatoire first applied it, opprobriously, to his early work Printemps. Langham Smith comments that Debussy wrote many piano pieces with titles evocative of nature – “Reflets dans l’eau” (1905), “Les Sons et les parfums tournent dans l’air du soir” (1910) and “Brouillards” (1913) – and suggests that the Impressionist painters’ use of brush-strokes and dots is paralleled in the music of Debussy. Although Debussy said that anyone using the term (whether about painting or music) was an imbecile, some Debussy scholars have taken a less absolutist line. Lockspeiser calls La mer “the greatest example of an orchestral Impressionist work”, and more recently in The Cambridge Companion to Debussy Nigel Simeone comments, “It does not seem unduly far-fetched to see a parallel in Monet’s seascapes”.

In this context may be placed Debussy’s pantheistic eulogy to Nature, in a 1911 interview with Henry Malherbe:

I have made mysterious Nature my religion… When I gaze at a sunset sky and spend hours contemplating its marvellous ever-changing beauty, an extraordinary emotion overwhelms me. Nature in all its vastness is truthfully reflected in my sincere though feeble soul. Around me are the trees stretching up their branches to the skies, the perfumed flowers gladdening the meadow, the gentle grass-carpeted earth,… and my hands unconsciously assume an attitude of adoration.

In contrast to the “impressionistic” characterisation of Debussy’s music, several writers have suggested that he structured at least some of his music on rigorous mathematical lines. In 1983 the pianist and scholar Roy Howat published a book contending that certain of Debussy’s works are proportioned using mathematical models, even while using an apparent classical structure such as sonata form. Howat suggests that some of Debussy’s pieces can be divided into sections that reflect the golden ratio, which is approximated by ratios of consecutive numbers in the Fibonacci sequence. Simon Trezise, in his 1994 book Debussy: La Mer, finds the intrinsic evidence “remarkable,” with the caveat that no written or reported evidence suggests that Debussy deliberately sought such proportions. Lesure takes a similar view, endorsing Howat’s conclusions while not taking a view on Debussy’s conscious intentions.

Musical idiom
Debussy wrote “We must agree that the beauty of a work of art will always remain a mystery we can never be absolutely sure “how it’s made”. We must at all costs preserve this magic which is peculiar to music and to which music, by its nature, is of all the arts the most receptive”.

Nevertheless there are many indicators of the sources and elements of Debussy’s idiom. Writing in 1958, the critic Rudolph Reti summarized six features of Debussy’s music, which he asserted “established a new concept of tonality in European music”: the frequent use of lengthy pedal points – “not merely bass pedals in the actual sense of the term, but sustained ‘pedals’ in any voice”; glittering passages and webs of figurations which distract from occasional absence of tonality; frequent use of parallel chords which are “in essence not harmonies at all, but rather ‘chordal melodies’, enriched unisons”, described by some writers as non-functional harmonies; bitonality, or at least bitonal chords; use of the whole-tone and pentatonic scales; and unprepared modulations, “without any harmonic bridge”. Reti concludes that Debussy’s achievement was the synthesis of monophonic based “melodic tonality” with harmonies, albeit different from those of “harmonic tonality”.

In 1889, Debussy held conversations with his former teacher Guiraud, which included exploration of harmonic possibilities at the piano. The discussion, and Debussy’s chordal keyboard improvisations, were noted by a younger pupil of Guiraud, Maurice Emmanuel. The chord sequences played by Debussy include some of the elements identified by Reti. They may also indicate the influence on Debussy of Satie’s 1887 Trois Sarabandes. A further improvisation by Debussy during this conversation included a sequence of whole tone harmonies which may have been inspired by the music of Glinka or Rimsky-Korsakov which was becoming known in Paris at this time. During the conversation, Debussy told Guiraud, “There is no theory. You have only to listen. Pleasure is the law!” – although he also conceded, “I feel free because I have been through the mill, and I don’t write in the fugal style because I know it.”

Influences

Musical
Among French predecessors, Chabrier was an important influence on Debussy (as he was on Ravel and Poulenc); Howat has written that Chabrier’s piano music such as “Sous-bois” and “Mauresque” in the Pièces pittoresques explored new sound-worlds of which Debussy made effective use 30 years later. Lesure finds traces of Gounod and Massenet in some of Debussy’s early songs, and remarks that it may have been from the Russians – Tchaikovsky, Balakirev, Rimsky-Korsakov, Borodin and Mussorgsky – that Debussy acquired his taste for “ancient and oriental modes and for vivid colorations, and a certain disdain for academic rules”. Lesure also considers that Mussorgsky’s opera Boris Godunov directly influenced Debussy’s Pelléas et Mélisande. In the music of Palestrina, Debussy found what he called “a perfect whiteness”, and he felt that although Palestrina’s musical forms had a “strict manner”, they were more to his taste than the rigid rules prevailing among 19th-century French composers and teachers. He drew inspiration from what he called Palestrina’s “harmony created by melody”, finding an arabesque-like quality in the melodic lines.

For Chopin’s piano music Debussy professed his “respectful gratitude”. He was torn between dedicating his own Études to Chopin or to François Couperin, whom he also admired as a model of form, seeing himself as heir to their mastery of the genre. Howat cautions against the assumption that Debussy’s Ballade (1891) and Nocturne (1892) are influenced by Chopin – in Howat’s view they owe more to Debussy’s early Russian models – but Chopin’s influence is found in other early works such as the Deux arabesques (1889–1891). In 1914 the publisher A. Durand & fils began publishing scholarly new editions of the works of major composers, and Debussy undertook the supervision of the editing of Chopin’s music.

Although Debussy was in no doubt of Wagner’s stature, he was only briefly influenced by him in his compositions, after La damoiselle élue and the Cinq poèmes de Baudelaire (both begun in 1887). According to Pierre Louÿs, Debussy “did not see ‘what anyone can do beyond Tristan’,” although he admitted that it was sometimes difficult to avoid “the ghost of old Klingsor, alias Richard Wagner, appearing at the turning of a bar”. After Debussy’s short Wagnerian phase, he started to become interested in non-Western music and its unfamiliar approaches to composition. The piano piece “Golliwogg’s Cakewalk”, from the 1908 suite Children’s Corner, contains a parody of music from the introduction to Tristan, in which, in the opinion of the musicologist Lawrence Kramer, Debussy escapes the shadow of the older composer and “smilingly relativizes Wagner into insignificance”.

A contemporary influence was Erik Satie, according to Nichols Debussy’s “most faithful friend” amongst French musicians. Debussy’s orchestration in 1896 of Satie’s Gymnopédies (which had been written in 1887) “put their composer on the map” according to the musicologist Richard Taruskin, and the Sarabande from Debussy’s Pour le piano (1901) “shows that [Debussy] knew Satie’s Trois Sarabandes at a time when only a personal friend of the composer could have known them.” (They were not published until 1911). Debussy’s interest in the popular music of his time is evidenced not only by the Golliwogg’s Cakewalk and other piano pieces featuring rag-time, such as The Little Nigar (Debussy’s spelling) (1909), but by the slow waltz La plus que lente (The more than slow), based on the style of the gipsy violinist at a Paris hotel (to whom he gave the manuscript of the piece).

In addition to the composers who influenced his own compositions, Debussy held strong views about several others. He was for the most part enthusiastic about Richard Strauss and Stravinsky, respectful of Mozart and was in awe of Bach, whom he called the “good God of music” (“le Bon Dieu de la musique”). His relationship to Beethoven was complex; he was said to refer to him as “le vieux sourd” (the old deaf one) and asked one young pupil not to play Beethoven’s music for “it is like somebody dancing on my grave;” but he believed that Beethoven had profound things to say, yet did not know how to say them, “because he was imprisoned in a web of incessant restatement and of German aggressiveness.” He was not in sympathy with Schubert or Mendelssohn, the latter being described as a “facile and elegant notary”.

With the advent of the First World War, Debussy became ardently patriotic in his musical opinions. Writing to Stravinsky, he asked “How could we not have foreseen that these men were plotting the destruction of our art, just as they had planned the destruction of our country?” In 1915 he complained that “since Rameau we have had no purely French tradition We tolerated overblown orchestras, tortuous forms we were about to give the seal of approval to even more suspect naturalizations when the sound of gunfire put a sudden stop to it all.” Taruskin writes that some have seen this as a reference to the composers Gustav Mahler and Arnold Schoenberg, both born Jewish. In 1912 Debussy had remarked to his publisher of the opera Ariane et Barbe-bleue by the (also Jewish) composer Paul Dukas, “You’re right, is a masterpiece – but it’s not a masterpiece of French music.”

Literary
Despite his lack of formal schooling, Debussy read widely and found inspiration in literature. Lesure writes, “The development of free verse in poetry and the disappearance of the subject or model in painting influenced him to think about issues of musical form.” Debussy was influenced by the Symbolist poets. These writers, who included Verlaine, Mallarmé, Maeterlinck and Rimbaud, reacted against the realism, naturalism, objectivity and formal conservatism that prevailed in the 1870s. They favoured poetry using suggestion rather than direct statement; the literary scholar Chris Baldrick writes that they evoked “subjective moods through the use of private symbols, while avoiding the description of external reality or the expression of opinion”. Debussy was much in sympathy with the Symbolists’ desire to bring poetry closer to music, became friendly with several leading exponents, and set many Symbolist works throughout his career.

Debussy’s literary inspirations were mostly French, but he did not overlook foreign writers. As well as Maeterlinck for Pelléas et Mélisande, he drew on Shakespeare and Charles Dickens for two of his Préludes for piano – La Danse de Puck (Book 1, 1910) and Hommage à S. Pickwick Esq. P.P.M.P.C. (Book 2, 1913). He set Dante Gabriel Rossetti’s The Blessed Damozel in his early cantata, La Damoiselle élue (1888). He wrote incidental music for King Lear and planned an opera based on As You Like It, but abandoned that once he turned his attention to setting Maeterlinck’s play. In 1890 he began work on a orchestral piece inspired by Poe’s The Fall of the House of Usher and later sketched the libretto for an opera, La chute de la maison Usher. Another project inspired by Poe – an operatic version of The Devil in the Belfry did not progress beyond sketches. French writers whose words he set include Paul Bourget, Alfred de Musset, Théodore de Banville, Leconte de Lisle, Théophile Gautier, Paul Verlaine, François Villon, and Mallarmé – the last of whom also provided Debussy with the inspiration for one of his most popular orchestral pieces, Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune.

Tags: