文森斯城堡,法国

万塞讷城堡(Château de Vincennes)是位于巴黎以东的文森斯镇的一座巨大的14世纪和17世纪的法国皇家堡垒,现在是大都市的郊区。

地理
堡垒位于首都附近,距离Ile delaCité约8公里。 与大多数城堡不同,它不是位于山丘,山丘或悬崖顶部,而是位于石灰岩高原上。 它不是靠近一条河流,只是一条小河,蒙特勒伊路(rue de Montreuil),从蒙特勒伊(Montreuil)高原下降,从护城河流出,然后溢流到巴黎并投入圣曼德湖(Saint-Mandé)。

在中世纪,建设时间,该场地被一个充满游戏的森林覆盖。 自14世纪以来,城堡周围的城市化,Bois de Vincennes的森林遗迹。

建筑
这座堡垒的外观更像是一座巨大的城堡,或者是一座“皇家要塞”,而不是一座城堡。 如果这座城堡一开始只是一个简单的庄园,它在很长一段时间里都有很长时间的庇护所,这个王室有着家庭生活的一部分,是王国管理的一部分,也是他防御的必要军队。

它由一面长墙组成,两侧有三个大门和六个42米高的塔楼,长度超过一公里,保护了几公顷(330×175米)的长方形区域。 受保护的广场被高达52米高的法院,民用,行政和军事建筑以及小教堂所占据。 在中世纪,这个团体可以在现场生活到数万人。 当Jacques Androuet du Cerceau在专辑“法国最优秀的建筑物”的第一卷中绘制城堡时,1576年,这个围墙很拥挤; “它包围了一个真正的城市”。 地牢的设计是为了在遇到危险时容纳法国国王。 他独自是一个据点。 大型护城河,城堡和两个吊桥确保其防御。 最低层是水和食物的储备。 一楼和二楼是皇家公寓。 其他三个更高级别欢迎仆人和军队。

历史
与其他更着名的城堡一样,它起源于一个狩猎小屋,在文森斯森林中为路易七世建造,大约1150年。 在13世纪,菲利普奥古斯都和路易九世建立了一个更为实质性的庄园:据说路易九世已经离开文森斯,因为他没有回来。

中世纪的年龄
这个简单的狩猎小屋由路易七世于1150年左右在文森斯森林中设计,于1180年在菲利普·奥古斯特统治期间成为皇家住所(豪宅)。 城堡在十四世纪主要由查理五世重建。在中世纪中期,文森斯不仅仅是一个军事要塞:菲利普三世(1274年),在他的第二次婚姻中,在那里结婚,两个国王的xiv世纪在那里去世:路易十世(1316年)和查理四世(1328年)。 大约在1337年,瓦卢瓦的菲利普六世决定通过在庄园西边建造一座大道来强化这个地点。 查理五世出生在这个堡垒,成为他的住所,政府所在地和他的高级政府。 他委托菲利普六世决定的作品,此后又增加了其门和塔的巨大外壳。 保护区及其围墙于1371年完工,其人行道,周围地牢,庄园,Sainte-Chapelle和住宅楼的墙壁于1380年完工。这项工作历时两代。

此外,在文森斯保存的荆棘王冠的遗物已被转移到巴黎的圣礼拜堂,建造一座新教堂的工作被委托给雷蒙德杜寺并于1379年开始。圣文森特圣文森教堂(Sainte-Chapelle de Vincennes)是收到文森尼斯遗留下来的一块遗物。 在查理六世于1380年去世时,查理六世下令继续工作,这项工作被中断了几次。 当路易十一将文森斯作为他的住所时,他离开了地牢的皇家公寓,建造了一座新的单层展馆,建于1470年,位于城堡的西南角。 它还重新启动了Sainte-Chapelle的建筑工地。

皇家住所
瓦卢瓦(Valois)继续建造和美化城堡。 FrançoisIst重建了由路易十一建造的展馆,以便在首都逗留期间居住。 将圣米歇尔勋章转移到文森斯的亨利二世委托他完成了圣佩克勒的工作给他最喜欢的建筑师菲利贝尔德洛姆,并于1552年终于落成了教堂。1574年2月,法院在文森斯城堡避难,查理九世遭受严重折磨,于5月30日在威廉皇家公寓中丧生。 Françoisd’Alençon和纳瓦拉国王被分配到法院,成为城堡的强迫客人。

年轻的路易十三在他的父亲亨利四世被暗杀后,在路易十一前亭子的文森斯安装,并在那里度过了他的部分青年。

城堡成为第三个皇家住所。 路易十四在文森斯时,在1655年4月,他按照历史学家的“狩猎诉讼”巴黎议会,到司法官处执行其法令税。

建筑师Louis Le Vau为路易十四建造了国王和女王的翅膀(错误地称为“旗帜”)。 他在1658年建立了女王[母亲]的翼,并在1661年建立了国王的翼,两个翼由门廊连接到皇家宫廷周围的南北。 红衣主教马萨林于1661年3月在那里去世,他的尸体在圣礼拜堂暴露。

它被认为取代了Marie de Medici建造的亭子,但重建工作却被放弃了,因为凡尔赛集中了所有的努力。 然而,城堡保留了大型公寓中早期路易十四风格的一些例子。 园艺师LeNôtre还在法国花园景观和Bois de Vincennes的入口处进行实践,在新的南入口前,在“凯旋门”的巨大门口标记。

监狱和皇家制造
地下城被改为州监狱(高出生囚犯)。 他的能力不允许他容纳超过十四名囚犯。 1648年,奥地利安妮吩咐囚禁的“重要小屋”的首席长官博福特公爵被囚禁。红衣主教德雷兹在查理五世的前卧室冥想着弗朗德。尼古拉斯富克,已经推出了建筑师Le Vau,在他三年(1664年)的审判之后以及在他被转移到皇家据点Pignerol之前,也有权获得Vincennes监狱的荣誉。

当国王搬到凡尔赛宫(1670年左右)时,这座城堡永久地被遗弃作为皇家住所。 路易十五只在那里停留了几个月(1715年9月,他的曾祖父路易十四去世后,他被派往那里,空气被认为比凡尔赛宫更加健康,摄政王 – 菲利普·奥尔良 – 后来带他去了巴黎)。 路易十六没有留在那里。

在18世纪,它设有Vincennes工厂,专门生产瓷器,后来成为Sevres的工厂。 地牢仍然是州监狱。 其中包括伏尔泰,萨德侯爵(1778年9月至1784年2月)和米拉波。 同时狄德罗没有被关押在地牢中,而是在毗邻圣礼拜堂的一座建筑物中,现在已被摧毁。

1788年2月,为了筹集资金,法国国会议员签署路易十六的法令,出售了几个领域,文森斯城堡,布卢瓦城堡,穆特城堡和城堡马德里,授权买家继续拆迁。 只有后者才会被赎回和销毁。

1791年2月28日,Faubourg Saint-Antoine的工人不想要一个新的巴士底狱,试图摧毁地牢以拆除。 但是,拉斐特军队的到来支持巴黎的国民卫队有助于拯救地牢。

尽管政权发生了变化,地牢将在xix世纪找到它的目的地。 只有监狱条件才会急剧变硬。 因此,在1848年2月23日至25日之后,仍有许多左翼共和党人,如巴塞斯,布朗基和拉斯帕尔(他们将支持他在议会当选,并且他的着作证明了他在前查理小教堂的停留V)。

兵工厂
1796年,城堡被改建成军火库,从此成为军队的历史部分。 它在这个时候被重新修改了。 从圣路易斯时代开始的原始狩猎小屋的遗骸被摧毁。 建造了今天仍然存在的新军事建筑。 1804年,根据拿破仑的命令,Duke d’Enghien公爵在城堡的护城河中被射杀。

拿破仑被任命为城堡的州长,皮埃尔·多梅尼将军在1815年俄罗斯和普鲁士军队占领巴黎期间对其进行了激烈的辩护。最后那些想抓住城堡军械库的人遇到了无情的抵抗。 由于人数不足200人,将军拒绝投降,对压力和腐败企图不敏感,勇敢地围攻堡垒超过五个月。 他最终在路易十八的命令下投降,但离开了堡垒,挥舞着三色旗。

城堡的描述
只剩下早期城堡的遗迹和大量的遗迹可以追溯到14世纪。 城堡形成一个矩形,其周长超过一公里(330 x 175米)。 它有六座塔楼和三座大门,每座大厦高13米,周围环绕着深深的石头护城河。 保持高度为52米,其高度占据堡垒的西侧,并与护城河的其余部分分开。 保持是最先知的螺纹钢使用示例之一。 大楼的塔楼现在只停留在墙壁的高度,在19世纪被拆除,除了围墙北侧的Tour du Village。 南端由两个彼此相对的翼组成,Pavillon du Roi和Pavillon de la Reine,由Louis Le Vau建造。

这座城堡是历史上第一批使用钢材加固墙壁的建筑物之一。

今天
ChâteaudeVincennes隶属于文化部(该遗址在1993年和1999年被列为历史古迹,建筑和遗产部门设在那里)和国防部(城堡设有历史防御)服务,SHD)。

自1988年以来,已经开展了广泛的改造计划。 受到破坏威胁,地牢于1995年关闭,经过大规模整体结构的整体工作,其皇家公寓的地下城于2007年重新向公众开放。2008年至2009年,皇家礼拜堂也进行了重大修复,需要到了1999年的风暴。

多年来,当地民选官员一直在努力加快遗址的更新,特别是通过重建目前的城堡治理和发展赞助。 因此,在Vincennes市的倡议下诞生了“Vincennes城堡的辐射协会”,目前由FrançoiseSampermans担任主席。

如果在巴黎发生百年一遇的洪水,“Escale计划”将成为爱丽舍宫的疏散计划。 总统府将在这种可能性的情况下准备对文森斯城堡进行撤退,被视为安全且易于兑换。

Tags:

Château de Vincennes, France

The Château de Vincennes is a massive 14th and 17th century French royal fortress in the town of Vincennes, to the east of Paris, now a suburb of the metropolis.

Geography
The fortress is located near the capital, about eight kilometers from the Ile de la Cité. Unlike the majority of castles, it is not located on a mound, a hill or on the top of a cliff, but on a limestone plateau. It is not near a river, just a small stream, rue de Montreuil, stream descending from the plateau of Montreuil which fed the moat whose overflow then went to Paris and threw itself in the lake of Saint-Mandé.

In the Middle Ages, time of construction, the site was covered by a forest full of game. Since the 14th century, around the castle are urbanized, nothing remains of the forest that the Bois de Vincennes.

Architecture
This fortress has more the appearance of a vast fortified city or a “royal fortified residence” 2 than a castle. If this castle is at the beginning only a simple manor, it has very early vocation to shelter, during long periods, the royal family with all its domesticity, a part of the administration of the kingdom and the necessary army for his defense.

It consists of a long wall, flanked by three gates and six towers 42 meters high, which develops over one kilometer and protects a rectangular area of several hectares (330 × 175 m). The protected square is occupied by the keep 52 meters high above the floor of the court, civil, administrative and military buildings and a chapel. In the Middle Ages, the ensemble allowed to live on the spot to several tens of thousands of people. When Jacques Androuet du Cerceau draws the castle in the album The first volume of the Most excellent buildings of France, in 1576, the enclosure is congested; “It encloses a real city”. The dungeon was designed to house the King of France in case of danger. He alone is a stronghold. Large moats, a castle and two drawbridges ensure its defense. The lowest level serves as a reserve of water and food. The first and second floors are the royal apartments. The other three higher levels welcome servants and the military.

History
Like other more famous châteaux, it had its origins in a hunting lodge, constructed for Louis VII about 1150 in the forest of Vincennes. In the 13th century, Philip Augustus and Louis IX erected a more substantial manor: Louis IX is reputed to have departed from Vincennes on the crusade from which he did not return.

Medieval ages
The simple hunting lodge, designed by Louis VII around 1150 in the forest of Vincennes, became a royal residence (mansion) in 1180 during the reign of Philippe Auguste. The castle was remodeled in the xiv th century mainly by Charles V. In the middle of the Middle Ages, Vincennes was more than a military fortress: Philip III (in 1274), in his second marriage, married there and two kings of the xiv th century died there: Louis X (1316) and Charles IV(1328). Around 1337, Philip VI of Valois decided to fortify the site by building a donjon to the west of the manor. Charles V was born in this fortress, made it his residence, the seat of his government and his high administration. He commissioned the works decided by Philip VI, adding thereafter the monumental enclosure with its doors and towers. The keep and its enclosure were completed in 1371, and the wall with its walkway, surrounding dungeon, manor, Sainte-Chapelle and residential buildings, was completed in 1380. The work lasted two generations.

In addition, the relics of the crown of thorns that were kept in Vincennes having been transferred to the Sainte-Chapelle of Paris, the work of building a new chapel was entrusted to Raymond du Temple and began in 1379. The Sainte-Chapelle de Vincennes was to receive a fragment of the relic remaining in Vincennes. At the death of Charles V in 1380, Charles VI gave the order to continue the work, which was interrupted several times. When Louis XI made Vincennes his residence, he left the royal apartments of the dungeon for a new single-storey pavilion, built in 1470 in the south-west corner of the castle. It also relaunches the construction site of Sainte-Chapelle.

Royal Residence
The construction and beautification of the castle continues under the Valois. François I st was redevelop the pavilion built by Louis XI to reside during his stay in the capital. Henry II, who had transferred the seat of the order of Saint – Michel to Vincennes, entrusted the completion of the work of the Saint – Chapelle to his favorite architect, Philibert Delorme, and the chapel was finally inaugurated in 1552. In February 1574, the court took refuge in the castle of Vincennes where Charles IX, seriously suffering, died May 30 in the royal apartments of thekeep. François d’Alençon and the King of Navarre, assigned in residence to the court, become the forced guests of the castle.

The young Louis XIII was installed, after the assassination of his father Henry IV, in Vincennes in the former pavilion of Louis XI, and spent part of his youth there.

The castle became the third royal residence. Louis XIV was at Vincennes when, on the April, 1655 He went according to historians “in hunting suit” the parliament of Paris, to the bed of justice to enforce its edicts tax.

The architect Louis Le Vau built for Louis XIV the wings (wrongly called “flags”) of the King and the Queen. He erected the wing of the Queen [Mother] in 1658 and the wing of the King in 1661, the two wings connected by a portico to the north and south surrounding the royal court. The Cardinal Mazarin died there on March, 1661 and his body was exposed in the Sainte-Chapelle.

It was considered to replace the pavilions built by Marie de Medici, but the reconstruction work was however abandoned, because Versailles concentrated all efforts. The castle, however, preserved some examples of early Louis XIV style in the large apartments. The gardener Le Nôtre also practiced by landscaping French gardens and the approach of the Bois de Vincennes, in front of the new south entrance marked by a monumental door in ” arc de triomphe “.

Prison and Royal Manufacture
The dungeon was converted into a state prison (for high birth prisoners). His ability did not allow him to house more than fourteen inmates. The Duke of Beaufort, chief chief of the ” Cabal of the Important “, imprisoned on the orders of Anne of Austria, escaped in 1648. The Cardinal de Retz went meditate on the Fronde in the former bedroom of Charles V. Nicolas Fouquet, who had launched the architect Le Vau, was also entitled to the honors of the prison of Vincennes, following his trial three years (1664) and before his transfer to the royal stronghold of Pignerol.

The castle was permanently abandoned as a royal residence when the King moved to Versailles (around 1670). Louis XV stayed there only a few months (he was sent there on the death of his great-grandfather Louis XIV, in September 1715, the air was considered healthier than at Versailles, the regent – Philippe d ‘ Orleans – then took him to Paris). Louis XVI made no stay there.

In the 18th century, it housed the Vincennes factory dedicated to the production of porcelain, which later became that of Sevres. The dungeon remained a state prison. Among them were Voltaire, the Marquis de Sade (from September 1778 to February 1784) and Mirabeau. Diderot meanwhile was not imprisoned in the dungeon but in a building adjoining the Sainte Chapelle and now destroyed.

In February 1788, in order to raise the finances, an edict of the Council of the king of France, signed Louis XVI, puts on sale several domains, with the castle of Vincennes, the castle of Blois, the castle of Muette and the castle of Madrid, by authorizing the buyers to proceed with their demolition. Only the latter will be redeemed and destroyed.

February 28, 1791, the workers of the Faubourg Saint-Antoine not wanting a new Bastille, try to storm the dungeon to demolish. But the arrival of Lafayette troops to support the National National Guard in Paris helps save the dungeon.

Despite the regime change, the dungeon will find its destination in the xix th century. Only penitentiary conditions will radically harden. Thus, following the days of February 23 to 25, 1848, will remain many left-wing Republicans as Barbès, Blanqui and Raspail (which will come out in favor of his election in Parliament and whose writings testify his stay in the former chapel of Charles V).

Arsenal
In 1796, the castle was converted into an arsenal, housing since then the historical section of the army. It was deeply reworked at this time. The remains of the original hunting lodge dating from the time of Saint Louis were destroyed. New military buildings were built that still exist today. In 1804, the Duke d’Enghien was shot in the moat of the castle on the orders of Napoleon.

Appointed governor of the castle by Napoleon, General Pierre Daumesnil defended it fiercely during the occupation of Paris by Russian and Prussian troops in 1815. These last ones, who wanted to seize the arsenal of the castle, met a relentless resistance. With fewer than 200 men, the general refused to surrender, insensitive to pressures and attempts at corruption, braving the siege of the fort for more than five months. He finally surrendered on the orders of Louis XVIII, but left the fortress brandishing the tricolor flag.

Description of the Château
Only traces remain of the earlier castle and the substantial remains date from the 14th century. The castle forms a rectangle whose perimeter is more than a kilometer in length (330 x 175m). It has six towers and three gates, each originally 13 meters high, and is surrounded by a deep stone lined moat. The keep, 52m high, and its enceinte occupy the western side of the fortress and are separated from the rest of the castle by the moat. The keep is one of the first known examples of rebar usage. The towers of the grande enceinte now stand only to the height of the walls, having been demolished in the 1800s, save the Tour du Village on the north side of the enclosure. The south end consists of two wings facing each other, the Pavillon du Roi and the Pavillon de la Reine, built by Louis Le Vau.

The castle was one of the first buildings in history to use steel to reinforce the walls.

Today
The Château de Vincennes falls under both the Ministry of Culture (the site is classified as a historical monument in 1993 and 1999, and the Departmental Service of Architecture and Heritage is located there), and the Ministry of Defense (the Castle houses the Historic Defense Service, SHD).

Since 1988, an extensive renovation program has been undertaken. Threatened with ruin, the dungeon is closed in 1995, and after extensive work of general consolidation of its structure, the dungeon with its royal apartments reopens to the public in 2007. In 2008 – 2009, the Royal Chapel also underwent a major restoration, necessitated by the 1999 storm.

For several years, local elected officials have been trying to speed up the renewal of the site, notably by obtaining a reorganization of the current governance of the castle and by developing patronage. Thus was born, at the initiative of the city of Vincennes, the “Association for the radiation of the castle of Vincennes”, currently chaired by Françoise Sampermans.

The “Escale plan” would be an evacuation plan of the Elysee Palace, in case of a hundred-year flood in Paris. And the presidency would have prepared in this eventuality a retreat on the castle of Vincennes, deemed safe and easily convertible.

Tags: