圣马可国立图书馆,意大利威尼斯

圣马可国立图书馆(Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana)是意大利北部威尼斯的一座图书馆和文艺复兴时期的建筑。 它是该国最早存活的公共手稿存放处之一,拥有世界上最伟大的古典文献收藏之一。 图书馆以威尼斯的守护神圣马克命名。 不要与威尼斯共和国国家档案馆混淆,后者位于城市的不同地区。

历史
图书馆设有Jacopo Sansovino设计的建筑。 他的设计的前16个拱廊海湾建于1537年至1553年,壁画和其他装饰工作一直持续到1560年.Sansovino于1570年去世,但在1588年,Vincenzo Scamozzi承担了另外五个海湾的建造,仍然是Sansovino的设计将建筑物带到了莫洛(Molo)或堤岸,在Sansovino的威尼斯薄荷建筑Zecca旁边。 从1530年开始,早期的图书馆员之一是Pietro Bembo。 但是,图书馆库存开始在建筑物建造之前收集。 例如,图书馆藏品的细菌是由拜占庭人文主义者,学者,赞助人和收藏家,红衣主教Bessarion组装的手稿集合的Serenissima的礼物; 他于1468年5月31日赠送了他的藏品:大约750份拉丁文和希腊文的抄本,并加入了另外250份手抄本和一些印刷书籍(incunabula),构成了威尼斯学者开放的第一个“公共”图书馆。 (1362年,彼得拉克的图书馆被捐赠给了威尼斯,但这些手稿,古籍和个人信件的集合已经丢失或散去。)

诞生的原因:十四 – 十六世纪
在威尼斯创建公共图书馆的想法首次成为Francesco Petrarca在泻湖城的逗留。 1362年,他决定将他的书捐赠给共和国,以形成向学者和文化爱好者开放的更大收藏品的第一个核心。

在考虑接受诗人的提议时,Maggior Consiglio设想了为保护书籍创造一个合适场所所需的费用。 然而,Francesco Petrarca的设计没有遵循。

在接下来的一个世纪里,捐赠了1468件希腊红衣主教贝萨里奥(Bessarione)雄伟而珍贵的书籍,从1469年开始抵达威尼斯并被安置在公爵宫,由参议院管理并置于圣检察官的照料下。马克思给了建立国家图书馆的想法一个真正的冲动。

然而,只有在总督安德里亚·格里蒂(Andrea Gritti)和他的振兴城市的项目下,它才具体成型。
公共图书馆大楼的建设,托管Bessarione系列以及未来的收购和S. Marco的检察官办公室(或减少),委托Jacopo Sansovino于1537年开始工作。
完成这项工作后,他于1570年去世,这是Vincenzo Scamozzi的作品。

1560年,提交给帕多瓦工作室改革者司法部门的圣马克图书馆正在运作:大厅配有胡桃木长凳供阅读,这些长凳是链式码和一些储藏书籍的壁橱,并点缀配有丰富的装饰设备。

前庭被用作Scuola di S. Marco的座位和学术会议。

1596年,共和国公共雕像在改建的图书馆前厅落成,以容纳红衣主教乔瓦尼·格里马尼捐赠的希腊和罗马雕像,并由费德里科·康塔里尼的其他作品补充。

从那时起,图书馆和雕像馆的生活交织在一起,直到二十世纪初考古博物馆成立。

图书馆在十七和十八世纪的生活
随着时间的推移,图书馆的丰富主要得益于捐赠和遗赠,以及由于1603年威尼斯法律(意大利第一个关于此主题)的要求,印刷商有义务存放每本出版图书的副本。 。

对于由帕多瓦研究改革者选出的贵族图书管理员,他随后由一名监护人或学者加入,负责书籍的重组,目录的编辑和学者的开放,由一名士兵帮助。

大约在1624年,出版了第一本图书馆目录,描述了代码和印刷书籍。 在十七世纪末,带有链条的plutei被4个大型阅读桌所取代。

在十八世纪初,图书馆的图书馆遗产大约有一万卷,从1722年开始,它们都有一个前图书馆。
这种增长需要扩大空间,参议院于1725年批准在大厅旁边使用一个检察院翼楼的房间,该房间用于保存和阅读手稿。

该图书馆还获得了购买新书的年度预算,1740年和1741年出版的希腊,拉丁和意大利手稿目录的印刷资金。

同年,对编码的编码进行了大量的重建,所有编码都装有皮革装订,印在前板上的行军狮子。
数量的增加使得必须在天花板上建造搁架并将绘画转移到公爵宫。

在本世纪末,由于帕多瓦的S. Giovanni di Verdara和SS等一些修道院的部分图书馆的迁移,Marciana也增加了收藏。 威尼斯的乔瓦尼和保罗。 威尼斯地方法官场所的代码,印刷品和文件集也被没收,包括十人理事会和参议院,并安排了另一个检察室的图书馆。

在威尼斯共和国沦陷后,法国第一次统治后,图书馆被剥夺了203份手稿和两份印刷的音乐作品以及Girolamo Zulian捐赠的珍贵客串,其余部分则从修道院图书馆中删除,并带到法国。

在拿破仑垮台后,1816年恢复原状得以成功。 其他作品的请求虽然有限,但随后的奥地利统治也随之恢复。

从1812年到1904年,在总督府的图书馆的生活
在那些年里,图书馆成功地增加了两个房间,并在1801年交付了着名的Breviary Grimani,以及一组装饰有非常丰富的连字的代码。

当法国人于1806年返回时,图书馆将在宗教机构被镇压之后化身为其他修道院基金。 其中包括在Zattere(Gesuati)观察的多米尼加人图书馆的选择,其中收藏了丰富的Apostolo Zeno藏品,以及在S. Michele di Murano图书馆保存的作品Mappamondo di Fra Mauro。

保留在原始位置直至1811年,Marciana与雕像一起,根据意大利王国的法令被转移到公爵宫。
Maggior Consiglio的房间,Scrutinio的房间以及毗邻它的其他房间被分配给图书管理员的办公室和卷的存放,然而这些房间只能占据墙壁上众多画作留下的空间。

隔离室改为适应阅览室。 图书馆遗产的一致性约为50,000张印刷品和4556份手稿。
图书馆的房间,1848年至1849年共和国临时政府国民议会的席位,1866年10月21日至18日,公民投票的一票,批准了威尼托的兼并。 ‘意大利。

二十世纪的图书馆
小空间,书籍遗产的增加,对建筑物的破坏,说服政府在1900年为图书馆分配新的总部。
这是前威尼托州造币厂的Sansovinian建筑:为了这个目的,庭院被重新调整并覆盖以容纳阅览室,其中放置了十二个用于读者的新桌子,而真正的井被放置在其他地方。

在码头,最大的房间被保留用于阅读手稿和稀有和准备的房间,以咨询各种类型的材料。
转移发生在1904年,由威尼斯市委托雕塑家Carlo Lorenzetti雕塑的弗朗切斯科·佩特拉卡雕像在1905年4月27日的开幕式上被放置在阅览室里。

1924年,除了造币厂之外,Marciana也回归了Sansovian图书馆,该图书馆经过三年的修复后于1929年落成,其中哲学家的画布被重新定位。

今天
从那以后,图书馆已经开发了两种服务,用于向公众开放的服务,以及阅读室和部分书籍存款,在十六世纪的薄荷建筑中。

书籍收藏和其他办公室由Procuratie Nuove大楼和Sansoviniana图书馆建筑组成,而Vestibule和Sansovino沙龙主要用于展览和活动。
门面
Jacopo Sansovino被要求建造一个重要的工件,其重要的任务是在广场上标记一个强大的标记,总是由他设计,但也不会削弱它的意义和价值:它还必须与先前存在对话。

该项目显着,重要的结构。 装饰位于图书馆的基础,分为两层。 建筑顺序,明确地定义了人工制品的装饰,是叠加的,也就是说,我们在底层发现了一个富有的三维多立克体,由支柱(罗马)支撑,上面有三角形和墙面,在上面平衡离子。 一个伟大创新的例子是非常紧凑的serlianas,是一楼建筑的特色。

图书馆的装饰丰富装饰有雕塑作品(不要忘记Sansovino本人是雕塑家,在这种情况下,他的能力得到充分利用)。 水果的花香,一个巨大的檐口与重要的雕像相对应的柱子表征了明显的文艺复兴时期的冠冕。 我们第一次注意到皇冠上的栏杆被清空,图书馆绝对是新奇的。

除了创新,一切都是参考罗马模型设计的,例如罗马葬礼中使用的花彩。

帕拉迪奥将图书馆定义为“古人有史以来制作的最富有,最华丽的建筑”。

外观分为两个层次:

底层的拱门是多利安的命令。 在他们身上有一个多立克人的交易,交替使用triglifi和metope;
在第二层有一个离体顺序的凉廊,由一个丰富的楣带来支配,其中有花和水果的花边和花彩。 在sottarchi,丰富的雕塑装饰。 在加冕仪式上,一个由古典神像雕刻而成的栏杆,由Alessandro Vittoria,Tommaso Minio,Tommaso和Girolamo Lombardo,Danese Cattaneo和Bartolomeo Ammannati创作的作品(后者归功于靠近凉廊和神Phanes的六条河流) 。
在立面,光线和明暗对比中,空隙占据了整个空间。 它是一个多价生物,在广场上的高度由罗马式拱门的双重顺序解决,灵感来自Teatro di Marcello和Palazzo Farnese庭院的sangalleschi项目,但比例的变化显示出对解释的渴望这超出了学术引文。 第一个订单,门廊,采用双罗马系统的柱子支撑拱门和柱子支撑拱门,第二个(这里盛行的风格主义者的减损)呈现不连续的栏杆,柱子支持非常丰富的楣和serliane如此承包取消他们的三件套价值。

图书馆
Bessarione把书放在一个有价值的地方作为条件。 但是Serenissima花了很长时间来完成这个条件。 图书馆首先放在Riva degli Schiavoni的一座建筑物上,然后放在San Marco,最后放在Palazzo Ducale。

仅在1537年建造的Palazzo della Libreria位于圣马可广场,由Jacopo Sansovino设计。

1545年,阅览室的天花板倒塌,Sansovino发现自己被关进监狱。 然而,由于有影响力的朋友的建议,他很快就被释放并且能够恢复他的工作,但他不得不用自己的钱偿还损失。 图书馆于1553年迁至旧图书馆。 然而,该建筑仅在1588年由Vincenzo Scamozzi完成,他在1570年Sansovino去世后接管了这项工作。

其中,Tiziano,Paolo Veronese,Alessandro Vittoria,Battista Franco,Giuseppe Porta,Bartolomeo Ammannati和Tintoretto为其装饰做出了贡献。

遗产
马尔恰纳国家图书馆专门从事古典文献学和威尼斯历史。 它的书籍遗产包括:

622,804卷按
2,887 incunabula
13,113份手稿
24.069 cinquecentine
Marciana最重要的例子是两个最杰出的伊利亚德代码,Homerus Venetus A(10世纪)和Homerus Venetus B(11世纪)。

值得一提的还有Fra Paolino的年代表,Fralin的Naturalis Historia的手稿,由Giovanni Pico della Mirandola于1481年复制,第一本在威尼斯印刷的书的副本,1481年的西塞罗的Epistulae ad familiares和四个consilium手稿Bartolomeo Capodivacca在十四世纪。

图书馆还拥有56卷Marin Sanudo的期刊,这是1496年至1533年间威尼斯历史上最重要的资源之一。 特定的图书馆宝藏是Aldines的完整集合。

图书馆还收藏了大量的地图和地图集,包括历史和当前。 Fra Mauro(1459年)的世界地图和Jacopo de’Barbari(1500)的威尼斯城市地图脱颖而出。 自1996年以来,图书馆的遗产一直是书目检索,复制,数字化和编目的一系列干预措施的主题。 根据法律662/96的规定,这些干预措施中的一部分也得益于Gioco del Lotto的资金。

巨型纪念馆 Monumental rooms
图书馆纪念馆让您有机会了解古老的圣马克图书馆的美丽,该图书馆主要由Jacopo Sansovino制作,由Vincenzo Scamozzi完成:配备了一个非凡的荣誉楼梯,一个前庭,然后转变为公共雕像,作为图书馆的大厅,装饰非常丰富,构成了一个具有相当大的兴趣和价值的历史艺术路线。

Tags:

Biblioteca Marciana, Venice, Italy

The Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana (English: National Library of St Mark’s) is a library and Renaissance building in Venice, northern Italy; it is one of the earliest surviving public manuscript depositories in the country, holding one of the greatest classical texts collections in the world. The library is named after St. Mark, the patron saint of Venice. It is not to be confused with the State Archive of the Republic of Venice, which is housed in a different part of the city.

History
The library was provided with a building designed by Jacopo Sansovino. The first sixteen arcaded bays of his design were constructed during 1537 to 1553, with work on frescoes and other decorations continuing until 1560. Sansovino died in 1570, but in 1588, Vincenzo Scamozzi undertook the construction of the additional five bays, still to Sansovino’s design, which brought the building down to the molo or embankment, next to Sansovino’s building for the Venetian mint, the Zecca. One of the early librarians, from 1530, was Pietro Bembo. However, the library stock began to be collected before the construction of the building. For example, the germ of the collections in the library was the gift to the Serenissima of the manuscript collection assembled by Byzantine humanist, scholar, patron and collector, Cardinal Bessarion; he made a gift of his collection on 31 May 1468: some 750 codices in Latin and Greek, to which he added another 250 manuscripts and some printed books (incunabula), constituting the first “public” library open to scholars in Venice. (In 1362 Petrarch’s library was donated to Venice but this collection of manuscripts, ancient books, and personal letters was lost or dispersed.)

The reasons for the birth: XIV – XVI century
The idea of creating a public library in Venice took shape for the first time with the stay of Francesco Petrarca in the city of the lagoon. In 1362 he decided to donate his books to the Republic to form the first nucleus of a larger collection open to scholars and culture lovers.

In the deliberation of acceptance of the poet’s proposal, the Maggior Consiglio envisaged the expenses necessary to create a suitable place for the preservation of books. The design by Francesco Petrarca, however, did not follow.

In the following century the donation of 1468 of the imposing and precious book collection of the Greek cardinal Bessarione , who arrived in Venice starting from 1469 and was housed in the Palazzo Ducale, governed by the Senate and placed under the care of the Procurators of San Marco , gave a real impulse to the idea of building the state library.

However, it took shape concretely only under the doge Andrea Gritti and his project to revitalize the city.
The construction of the Public Library building , hosting the Bessarione collection with future acquisitions and the offices (or reduced) of the Procurators of S. Marco, was entrusted to Jacopo Sansovino who began work in 1537.
The completion of the work, after his death in 1570, it was the work of Vincenzo Scamozzi.

In 1560 the Library of St. Mark, submitted to the judiciary of the Reformers of the Studio of Padua , was in operation: the large hall was equipped with walnut wood benches for reading which were chained codes and some closets to store books, and embellished with a rich decorative apparatus.

The Vestibule was used as the seat of the Scuola di S. Marco and of academic meetings.

In 1596 the Public Statuary of the Republic was inaugurated in the converted Vestibule of the Library, to accommodate the donation of Greek and Roman statues by Cardinal Giovanni Grimani, supplemented by other pieces by Federico Contarini.

The life of the Library and that of the Statuary have since been intertwined until the early twentieth century, when the Archaeological Museum was established.

The life of the Library in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries
The Library was enriched over time mainly thanks to donations and bequests, as well as due to the obligation imposed on the printers to deposit a copy of each published book, as required by a Venetian law of 1603 (the first in Italy on the subject).

To the patrician librarian, elected by the Reformers of the Study of Padua, he was then joined by a custodian, or a scholar, in charge of the reorganization of books, the editing of the catalog and the opening to scholars, helped by a soldier.

Around 1624 a first catalog of the library was published, describing codes and printed books. At the end of the seventeenth century the plutei with chains were replaced with 4 large reading tables.

At the beginning of the eighteenth century the library’s library patrimony was around ten thousand volumes, which from 1722 were equipped with an ex libris .
The growth required an expansion of the space and the Senate granted in 1725 the use of a room of the Procuratie wing adjacent to the Hall, which was intended for the conservation and reading of the manuscripts.

The Library was also granted an annual budget for the purchase of new books and the printing of the Greek, Latin and Italian manuscripts catalogs, published in 1740 and 1741, was financed.

In the same years an extensive reconstruction of the codings of the codes was carried out, all equipped with a leather binding with the march lion imprinted on the front plate.
The increase in volumes made it necessary to build shelving up to the ceiling and the transfer of paintings to the Palazzo Ducale.

At the end of the century, Marciana also increased its collections thanks to the transfer of part of the libraries of some monasteries, such as S. Giovanni di Verdara of Padua and SS. Giovanni and Paolo of Venice. Codes, printed matter and collections of documents in the venues of the Venetian magistracies were also confiscated, including the Council of Ten and the Senate, and the assignment to the Library of another room of the Procuratie was arranged.

Following the first French domination, after the fall of the Venetian Republic, the Library was stripped of 203 manuscripts and two printed musical works as well as a precious cameo donated by Girolamo Zulian, which were added to the rest taken from monastic libraries and brought to France .

After the fall of Napoleon, in 1816 the restitution was succeeded. Other requisitions of works, albeit limited, took place with the subsequent Austrian dominion, also recovered later.

The life of the Library in the Doge’s Palace from 1812 to 1904
In those years the library succeeded in obtaining an increase of two more rooms and the delivery, in 1801, of the famous Breviary Grimani , together with a group of codes embellished with very rich ligatures.

When the French returned in 1806, the library was to incarnate other monastic funds, following the suppression of religious institutions; among these a choice of the library of the Dominicans observing at the Zattere (Gesuati) where the rich collection of Apostolo Zeno was merged, and among the works conserved in the library of S. Michele di Murano, the Mappamondo di Fra Mauro .

Left in its original location until 1811, the Marciana, together with the Statuary, was transferred to the Palazzo Ducale, by decree of the ltalian Kingdom.
The rooms of the Maggior Consiglio, that of the Scrutinio and others adjoining it were assigned to the librarian’s office and the deposit of the volumes, which however could occupy only the space left by the numerous paintings on the walls.

The Quarantine room was instead adapted to a reading room. The consistency of the Library’s patrimony was then around 50,000 printed and 4556 manuscripts.
In the rooms of the Library, which had already been the seat of the National Assembly of the Provisional Government of the Republic of 1848-49, between October 21st and 22nd 1866 one of the votes of the plebiscite that ratified the annexation of the Veneto to the ‘Italy.

The Library in the twentieth century
The small spaces, the increase in the book heritage, the damage to the building, convinced the government in 1900 to assign a new headquarters to the Library.
This was the Sansovinian building of the former Mint of the Veneto State: for this purpose the courtyard was readjusted and covered to house the reading room, where twelve new tables for the readers were placed, while the real well was placed elsewhere.

Towards the pier, the largest room was reserved for the reading of manuscripts and rare and prepared rooms for consultation of various types of materials.
The transfer took place in 1904 and the statue of Francesco Petrarca, by the sculptor Carlo Lorenzetti, commissioned by the City of Venice for the centenary of the birth of the poet, was placed in the reading room in the opening ceremony of 27 April 1905.

In 1924 the Marciana got back, in addition to the Mint, also the Sansovian Library which was inaugurated in 1929 after three years of restoration and in which the canvases of the philosophers were repositioned.

Today
Since then the Library has developed both for the services open to the public, and for the reading rooms and for a part of its book deposits, in the sixteenth century Mint building.

Consisting of book collections and other offices are housed in the Procuratie Nuove building and in the Sansoviniana Library building, while the Vestibule and the Sansovino salon are mainly dedicated to exhibitions and events.
The facade
Jacopo Sansovino is called upon to construct an important artifact that has the heavy task of marking a strong mark in the square, always designed by him but also that of not diminishing the meaning and value of it: it must also dialogue with the pre-existences.

The project is remarkable, the important structure. The decoration is at the base of the library, built on two floors. The architectural order, which significantly defines the decoration of the artefact, is superimposed, that is to say that we find on the ground floor a rich three-dimensional Doric that is supported by pillars (Roman) with triglyphs and metopes evident and on the upper level the Ionic . An example of great innovation are the very compact serlianas that characterize the building on the first floor.

The decorative enrichment of the library is embellished with sculptural works (do not forget that Sansovino himself was a sculptor and in this case puts his abilities to good use). Festoons of fruit, a large cornice with important statues in correspondence of the columns characterize the evident Renaissance crowning. For the first time we notice the emptying of the parapets right on the crown, an absolute novelty for the library.

In addition to innovation, everything is designed with reference to Roman models, such as festoons that were used in Roman funeral works.

Palladio defines the library “the richest and most ornate building ever made by the ancients up to here”.

The façade is on two levels:

the arches of the ground floor are of Doric order . On them stands a Doric trabeation that alternates triglifi and metope;
on the second level there is a loggia of the Ionic order , dominated in turn by a rich frieze in which there are putti and festoons of flowers and fruit. In the sottarchi, a rich sculptural decoration. On the crowning, a balustrade surmounted by statues of classical deities, works by Alessandro Vittoria , Tommaso Minio , Tommaso and Girolamo Lombardo , Danese Cattaneo and Bartolomeo Ammannati (the latter are attributed to the six rivers lying closer to the loggia and the god Phanes) .
In the façade, light and chiaroscuro, the voids prevail over the full ones. It is a polyvalent organism, whose elevation on the square is solved with a double order of Roman-style arches, inspired by the Teatro di Marcello and the sangalleschi projects for the courtyard of Palazzo Farnese, but the alterations of proportions show a desire for interpretation that goes beyond the academic citation. The first order, portico, takes up the double Roman system of the columns supporting the architrave and pillars supporting the arches, and the second (here prevails the Mannerist derogation) which presents discontinuous balustrades, columns supporting a very rich frieze and serliane so contracted by cancel their trifore value.

The library
Bessarione had placed the placement of books in a worthy place as a condition. But the Serenissima took a long time to fulfill this condition. The library was first placed in a building on the Riva degli Schiavoni , then in San Marco and finally in the Palazzo Ducale .

Only in 1537 was the construction of the Palazzo della Libreria, located in Piazza San Marco and designed by Jacopo Sansovino .

In 1545 the ceiling of the reading room collapsed and Sansovino found himself in prison. Thanks to the recommendations of influential friends, however, he was soon released and was able to resume his work, but he had to repay the damage with his own money. The library moved to the Old Library in 1553 . The building, however, was completed only in 1588 by Vincenzo Scamozzi , who had taken over the work after the death of Sansovino in 1570 .

Among others, Tiziano , Paolo Veronese , Alessandro Vittoria , Battista Franco , Giuseppe Porta , Bartolomeo Ammannati and Tintoretto contributed to its decoration .

Heritage
The Marciana National Library specializes in classical philology and the history of Venice . Its book heritage consists of:

622,804 volumes Press
2,887 incunabula
13,113 manuscripts
24.069 cinquecentine
The most important examples from Marciana are the two most illustrious Iliad codes , the Homerus Venetus A (10th century) and the Homerus Venetus B (11th century).

Worthy of mention also the magna Chronology of Fra Paolino , a manuscript of the Naturalis Historia of Pliny , copied by Giovanni Pico della Mirandola in 1481, a copy of the first book printed in Venice, the Epistulae ad familiares of Cicero in 1481 and four consilium manuscripts Bartolomeo Capodivacca in the fourteenth century.

The library also houses 56 volumes of journals by Marin Sanudo , one of the most important sources of Venetian history between 1496 and 1533 . A particular library treasure is a complete collection of the Aldines .

The library also has a remarkable collection of maps and atlases , both historical and current. The world map of Fra Mauro (1459) and the map of the city of Venice by Jacopo de ‘Barbari (1500) stand out. Since 1996, the Library’s heritage has been the subject of a series of interventions for bibliographic retrieval, reproduction, digitalisation and cataloging. Some of these interventions have been realized also thanks to the funds of the Gioco del Lotto , according to what is regulated by the law 662/96 .

Monumental rooms
The Monumental Halls of the Library give the opportunity to know the beauty of the ancient Library of St. Mark, made largely by Jacopo Sansovino and completed by Vincenzo Scamozzi: equipped with an extraordinary staircase of honor, a vestibule, then transformed into Public Statuario, of the Hall used as a Library, with a very rich decoration, composes an historical-artistic itinerary of considerable interest and value.

Today, the museum area is home to exhibitions and events.

Tags: