Annecy-le-Vieux, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France

Annecy-le-Vieux est une ancienne commune française située dans le département de la Haute-Savoie, en région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Au 1er janvier 2017, il fusionne avec les communes d’Annecy, Cran-Gevrier, Meythet, Pringy et Seynod, pour former une nouvelle commune. Cette ville, qui s’étend au-delà des rives nord-est du lac d’Annecy, est devenue la banlieue très résidentielle de l’agglomération d’Annecy, à moins de 3 km de son centre-ville.

L’histoire
L’histoire d’Annecy-le-Vieux débute sur les rives du lac, à Petit-Port, il y a environ 6000 ans. Nos ancêtres y vivaient dans des huttes que la montée des eaux à la fin de l’âge du bronze les a obligés à quitter.

Les populations occupaient déjà les rives du lac d’Annecy entre -4000 et -900 et étaient principalement des agriculteurs et des pêcheurs. Les Allobroges celtes occupaient à leur tour les territoires des Préalpes, les montagnes savoyardes et les rives des grands lacs. Ils ont très vite eu des contacts commerciaux avec les territoires «italiens». Occupés à partir de -121, les Allobroges sont définitivement vaincus par les légions romaines en -62 et leur territoire s’ouvre à la colonisation romaine.

Les Romains s’installent à partir de -50 sur la rive nord du lac d’Annecy, dans la Plaine des Fins, au pied du site d’Annecy-le-Vieux, et fondent la ville de Boutae (future Annecy), qui regroupait près de 2000 habitants entre les II et V siècles; il occupait une position stratégique au carrefour de trois grandes voies de communication romaines (Italie, Genève, Cisalpine Vienne). À peu près à la même époque, un propriétaire romain nommé Annicius – peut-être de la célèbre et puissante famille de patriciens romains, les Annici – possédait une importante villa appelée Anniciaca, située sur la colline en contrebas du mont Veyrier, à l’emplacement actuel de la capitale d’Annecy. le-Vieux, d’où il surplombait la Plaine des Fins et le lac. Les villas romaines étaient en fait de puissantes fermes pouvant rassembler plus d’une centaine de personnes.

A l’époque gallo-romaine, Annecy-le-Vieux abritait de nombreuses villae (fermes) qui approvisionnaient Boutae, le village qui s’est développé dans la Plaine des Fins, à partir du Ier siècle. Ces fermes abritent jusqu’à une centaine de personnes vivant pratiquement en autarcie. Selon les érudits du XIX e siècle, c’est l’importante propriété d’Anicius (Anniciaca), située sur le site de l’actuelle capitale, qui aurait donné son nom à Annecy-le-Vieux. Affaibli par les invasions, le vicus de Boutae abandonna progressivement au cours du 6 e siècle au profit de la colline d’Annecy-le-Vieux considérée comme plus sûre.

Dès le 12 ème siècle, «la petite capitale rurale» est supplantée par Annecy-le-Neuf qui pousse sur les contreforts rocheux du Semnoz près de Thiou. Depuis lors dédiée à l’agriculture et à l’élevage, Annecy-le-Vieux connaîtra une profonde transformation après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La ville de quelque 2000 âmes avec plus de 90 fermes deviendra une ville de 21279 habitants (recensement 2017).

Avec l’affaiblissement de l’Empire romain, de nombreuses tribus barbares ont déferlé sur la Gaule. Les Bourguignons ont occupé un certain temps dans la région et ont laissé de nombreuses preuves archéologiques, mais trop d’attaques, d’incendies, de pillages et de meurtres ont sonné le glas de la ville romaine de Boutae, et au VI siècle la population a finalement complètement abandonné la ville pour se réfugier. sur les collines voisines. Villa Anniciaca a accueilli de nouveaux habitants et a été fortifiée pour protéger sa population, tout en continuant à vivre principalement de l’agriculture. Du VI au XII siècle, Anniciaca atteint son apogée, devenant une véritable capitale rurale. A partir de 1107, la nouvelle bastide d’Annecy-le-Neuf commence à prendre de l’importance, l’ancienne Anniciaca, devenue Annecy-le-Vieux, perd sa position hégémonique, et retourne à ses métiers agricoles (vigne, céréales, élevage ),

L’histoire industrielle d’Annecy-le-Vieux débute en 1857, lorsque Georges Paccard installe sa fonderie de cloches sous la ville et se poursuit avec le moulin acquis par Joseph Cléchet en 1868 qui devient un très important moulin à farine. Sur 65 hectares, le parc économique des Glaisins, ouvert en 1972, regroupe plus de 300 entreprises actives dans les secteurs de l’informatique, de la mécanique, de l’électronique, de la haute technologie et de la banque. Le domaine universitaire regroupe une IUT, une école d’ingénieurs (EIES) et un Institut de management (IMUS) qui forment plus de 4000 étudiants. Sans oublier le Laboratoire de Physique et Particules (LAPP) inauguré en 1976.

Le caractère résidentiel de la commune se confirmera au XIX siècle et au début du XX siècle, lorsque de nombreux artistes viennent séjourner ou se retirer à Annecy-le-Vieux, pour créer, se reposer et profiter de la vue magnifique sur le lac et la montagnes: Eugène Sue, Astolphe de Custine, John Ruskin et Gabriel Fauré, entre autres, sont devenus fidèles de la commune. Au milieu du XIX siècle, sur le terrain du bas de la commune, s’installèrent quelques industries, deux fleurons étaient le moulin Cléchet et la fonderie des cloches Paccard, qui fit la réputation d’Annecy-le-Vieux dans le monde entier. La cloche «La Savoyarde» du Sacré-Cœur à Paris a été coulée à Annecy-le-Vieux en 1891. Ce drone, toujours l’un des plus gros au monde, pèse 18 835 kg, mesure 3,06 m de haut et 9,60 m de circonférence, avec une épaisseur à la base de 22 cm,

Avec le rattachement de la Savoie à la France et l’arrivée du chemin de fer, les vins français sont venus concurrencer dangereusement les vins d’Annecy-le-Vieux, mais ce sont surtout les attaques de moisissure, puis de phylloxéra, qui ont entraîné la réduction et le disparition complète de la production viticole au début du XXe siècle. En 1973, les habitants d’Annecy-le-Vieux choisissent de rester indépendants et refusent la fusion-absorption proposée par Annecy, sa voisine et sœur. Au 1er janvier 2017, elle fusionne avec les communes d’Annecy, Cran-Gevrier, Meythet, Pringy et Seynod, pour former une nouvelle commune, nommée Annecy, de 121809 habitants (données 2013).

Tourisme
Au bord du lac, la spacieuse plage d’Annecy-le-Vieux, bordée de fleurs, de plantes et d’arbres, est l’une des plus fréquentées et offre aux baigneurs un cadre harmonieux. La marina abrite 214 bateaux, avec une rampe de mise à l’eau, refaite en 2004. Les roselières, au bord du lac, sont un cadre agréable pour une promenade. Ils ont été restaurés en 1999, sont entretenus et abritent de nombreux oiseaux. Un sentier lacustre sur une passerelle a été créé en 2003 et depuis début 2007, la dernière propriété (4 500 m) de la commune avec accès direct à la rive a été achetée pour 4,4 M €. ce qui permettra de rendre publique toute la péninsule.

Héritage historique

Le clocher roman du XIIe siècle
C’est probablement l’un des plus beaux monuments romans classés de toute la région. Situé dans le cœur historique de la capitale, il faisait initialement partie d’une église dédiée à Notre-Dame, elle-même construite sur l’emplacement d’un temple dédié à Jupiter. Cet édifice de culte a été détruit à la Révolution et une nouvelle église Saint-Laurent a été construite en 1849. En 1988, la restauration de la tour a ravivé les peintures murales du XV e siècle. Il y a aussi une cloche en bronze «républicaine» de 700 kg, coulée à l’époque révolutionnaire (1792) par Jean-Baptiste Pitton et classée monument historique en 1937.

Maisons fortifiées et châteaux
Annecy-le-Vieux possède un riche patrimoine bâti mais les principaux bâtiments privés ne se visitent pas.

La Villa Dunand
Le compositeur Gabriel Fauré y vécut plusieurs étés de 1919 à 1924. De nombreux musiciens venaient à Annecy-le-Vieux pour rencontrer le Maître.

Le château de Pesse
Cette forteresse du XIV ème siècle tire son nom d’une pesse (sapin) remarquable. C’était aussi un point de rencontre de chasse pour les ducs de Nemours.

Château de La Cour
Magnifique demeure nichée dans un écrin de verdure, qui a vu naître la «Vénérable» Anne de Guigné.

La Villa La Tour
Il a accueilli l’un des écrivains français les plus populaires du XIX e siècle, Eugène Sue. Exilé en Savoie, ce célèbre joueur de feuilleton a passé les dernières années de sa vie à Annecy-le-Vieux.

Les chapelles
Dans les quartiers de Frontenex et Provins, deux jolies chapelles témoignent d’un riche passé rural.

Le site sublacustre du Petit Port Monument historique logo Inscrit MH (1991).
Le clocher d’Annecy-le-Vieux Monument historique logo Classé MH (1908), situé dans la capitale, de type roman, il date du XII e siècle. L’église Notre-Dame, à laquelle elle appartenait, a été dévastée pendant la Révolution française. Il est classé monument historique par décret du 7 mai 1908. C’est un beffroi remarquable avec deux étages de fenêtres jumelées. L’église d’origine a été construite sur les fondations d’un temple gallo-romain dédié à Jupiter. La cloche en bronze a été coulée en 1796 par Jean-Baptiste Pitton, saint voyageur de Carouge, ville située près de Genève. À l’origine, c’était une cloche républicaine, de 90 cm de haut, 109 cm de diamètre et pesant 700 kg. Il est orné de deux bas reliefs, l’un représentant un Christ en croix, l’autre une vierge portant l’enfant Jésus. Il a été classé monument historique en 1937.
L’actuelle église Saint-Laurent, de type néoclassique sarde, a été construite de 1849 à 1952. Sa façade comprend un tympan triangulaire et deux niches abritent les statues de Saint Laurent et de Saint François de Sales. A l’intérieur, deux palourdes en pierre, placées dans le narthex de la première église. Il y a aussi un beau Christ en bois du XVIe siècle. En 1986, la municipalité fait refaire la toiture et la façade, et en 1995, l’intérieur est également rénové. Les orgues sont l’œuvre du facteur d’orgues Dunand de Lyon et datent de 1961.
La chapelle Frontenex, construite en 1861 par le chanoine Paul-Bernard Croset-Mouchet.
La chapelle Provins, construite en 1877, de style néo-gothique. Plusieurs chapelles se sont succédées à cet endroit qui a fait l’objet, lors des célébrations de la Vierge et au XIX e siècle, de pèlerinages locaux de renom. L’édifice actuel abrite une Pietà (Marie pleurant son fils mort) cachée par les jeunes Albigny à l’époque révolutionnaire (voir ci-dessus xviii e siècle) classée Monument Historique à titre d’objet.
Le château de Pesse est une belle demeure du xiv ème siècle et était une chasse aux ducs de Nemours. C’était la possession de ou de: Emyon, la Rochette, Montfalcon de Flaxieu, Viollon, Viollon de la Pesse, du Tour, Croset, Girod et Robert Friess.
Le château de la Cour, construit avant 1419, est une ancienne place forte et résidence de plaisance du xviii e siècle. Le château appartenait à la famille Menthon (des origines à la Révolution) puis aux familles Livet et Guigné notamment. Il a vu la naissance d’Anne de Guigné (25 avril 1911 – 14 janvier 1922), déclarée «Vénérable» en 1990.
La Villa de la Tour, où vécut l’écrivain Eugène Sue.
La Villa Dunand et son parc, où vécut le compositeur Gabriel Fauré de 1919 jusqu’à sa mort en 1924, appartiennent désormais à la commune. La villa abrite quelques services municipaux. Situé dans la capitale, le parc Gabriel-Fauré a été restauré en 2005 dans le goût de l’époque. C’est un lieu de divertissement et de rencontres festives durant l’été.
Café Brunet, classé «Café Européen Historique», et connu pour ses soirées philosophiques, ses soirées débat et ses soirées performances.
L’abbaye, située en contrebas de la capitale, est un quartier de la ville. En effet, il n’y a jamais eu d’abbaye sur le territoire d’Annecy-le-Vieux, ni de moines, uniquement des terres appartenant à des congrégations religieuses. Ces terres agricoles ont été initialement vendues au xiii e siècle par le comte Guillaume II de Genève, les Dames de l’abbaye cistercienne de Sainte-Catherine du Semnoz. La ville a restauré l’ancien corps de ferme et l’a consacré aux arts graphiques avec l’école municipale de dessin et une salle d’exposition d’art contemporain.

Événements culturels et festivités
Voici les principaux divertissements proposés par Annecy-le-Vieux:
Comédie musicale Gabriel Fauré
La course autour du lac, “l’Ancilevienne”.
Coupe Haute-Savoie Mont Blanc, 13 édition en avril 2007. 750 jeunes footballeurs de six pays européens.
1 discothèque et plusieurs clubs privés.
L’Ancileviennerie est un festival traditionnel d’automne organisé en octobre.

Espace vert
En 2014, le jury régional du concours des villes et villages fleuris a confirmé le maintien du classement de la commune en «2 fleurs».
La population compte 11 parcs et jardins publics, sans oublier le vaste domaine forestier de la commune: parc des Raisses (2 hectares), parc des Vignières / Pommaries (2 hectares en développement), parc Gabriel Fauré (6700 m), parc du Petit Brogny ( 6 500 m), parc du Lachat (4 900 m), place d’Albigny (1 200 m), aire de pique-nique d’Albigny (2 500 m)… La commune offre également de nombreux sentiers et allées de charme pour se promener formant un véritable réseau piétonnier reliant les différents territoires.
Un nouvel espace de 5 hectares, à la fois place urbaine et parc paysager, est en fin de développement. Le projet a été choisi en novembre 2005 par les Ancileviens, parmi quatre projets, permet de relier plusieurs quartiers, et comprend des voies de circulation (voitures, bus, vélos, piétons), un parking souterrain avec 180 nouvelles places trop peu utilisées actuellement selon l’opposition, un skatepark, une structure de la petite enfance, un jardin d’enfants et deux hectares de parc paysager. Les travaux ont débuté en septembre 2006 et devraient s’achever début 2008.
La vallée du Fier est un poumon vert et sauvage situé à la limite nord de la ville qu’elle longe sur plusieurs kilomètres. Le Fier est une rivière-torrent dans les Préalpes de Haute-Savoie, qui traverse l’agglomération d’Annecy. Sur une longue distance, entre le Pont de Brogny et le Pont de Tasset, la communauté de l’agglomération d’Annecy a décidé de valoriser ce milieu naturel et de le restituer aux habitants. Les travaux devraient démarrer en 2007, ils concernent 118 hectares de rivage.
Le Mont Rampon (957 m) et le Mont Veyrier (1291 m) sont riches en sentiers de randonnées offrant un magnifique panorama sur le lac, sur toute l’agglomération d’Annecy, et sur les montagnes (Aravis, Tournette, le Semnoz et le plateau des Glières).
Le mont Rampignon (894 m) offre un sentier botanique d’environ deux heures de marche, et permet également d’avoir une vue magnifique sur la ville d’Annecy et le lac.
Le 10 octobre 2010, l’opération «21 000 arbres pour 21 000 ancileviens» a été lancée sur quatre ans. Au cours de la première année, plus de 3 500 arbres, principalement des chênes, des tilleuls et des genévriers ont été plantés, dans des lieux publics et privés.

Tags:

Annecy-le-Vieux, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France

Annecy-le-Vieux is a former French commune located in the department of Haute- Savoie, in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region. At1 January 2017, it merges with the municipalities of Annecy, Cran-Gevrier, Meythet, Pringy and Seynod, to form a new municipality. This city, which extends beyond the north-eastern shores of Lake Annecy, has become the very residential suburb of the agglomeration of Annecy, less than 3 km from its city center.

History
The history of Annecy-le-Vieux begins on the shores of the lake, in Petit-Port, some 6,000 years ago. Our ancestors lived there in huts that the rising waters at the end of the Bronze Age forced them to leave.

Populations already occupied the shores of Lake Annecy between -4000 and -900 and they were mainly farmers and fishermen. The Celts Allobroges in turn occupied the territories of the Pre-Alps, the Savoy mountains and the shores of the great lakes. They very quickly had commercial contacts with the “Italian” territories. Occupied from -121, the Allobroges were definitively defeated by the Roman legions in -62 and their territory opened up to Roman colonization.

The Romans settled from -50 on the north shore of Lake Annecy, in the Plaine des Fins, at the foot of the Annecy-le-Vieux site, and founded the town of Boutae (future Annecy), which regrouped nearly 2 000 inhabitants between the II and V century; it occupied a strategic position at the crossroads of three major Roman communication routes (Italy, Geneva, Cisalpine Vienna). Around this same time, a Roman owner named Annicius – possibly from the famous and powerful family of Roman patricians, the Annici – had an important villa called Anniciaca, located on the hillside below Mount Veyrier, at the current location of the capital of Annecy-le-Vieux, from where it overlooked the Plaine des Fins and the lake. The Roman villas were in fact powerful farms which could bring together more than a hundred people.

During the Gallo-Roman period, Annecy-le-Vieux hosted many villae (farms) which supplied Boutae, the village which developed in the Plaine des Fins, from the 1st century. These farms are home to up to a hundred people living in practically autarky. According to 19 th century scholars, it is the important property of Anicius (Anniciaca), located on the site of the current capital, which would have given its name to Annecy-le-Vieux. Weakened by the invasions, the vicus of Boutae gradually abandoned in the course of the 6 th century in favor of the hill of Annecy-le-Vieux considered safer.

As of 12 th century, “the small rural capital” is supplanted by Annecy-le-Neuf that grows on rocky foothills of Semnoz near Thiou. Since then dedicated to agriculture and breeding, Annecy-le-Vieux will undergo a profound transformation after the Second World War. The town of some 2,000 souls with more than 90 farms will become a town of 21,279 inhabitants (2017 census).

With the weakening of the Roman Empire, many barbarian tribes surged through Gaul. The Burgundians occupied some time in the region and left many archaeological evidence, but too many attacks, fires, looting and killings, sounded the death knell for the Roman city of Boutae, and the VI century the population eventually completely abandon the city to take refuge on the neighboring hills. Villa Anniciaca welcomed new inhabitants and was fortified to protect its population, while continuing to live mainly from farming. The VI to the XII century, Anniciaca reached its heyday, becoming a true rural capital. From the year 1107, the new fortified town of Annecy-le-Neuf begins to gain importance, the old Anniciaca, which has become Annecy-le-Vieux, loses its hegemonic position, and returns to its agricultural occupations (vines, cereals, breeding), but retains a certain residential character, with many manors and hunting lodges, belonging to the nobles and bourgeois of Annecy-le-Neuf.

The industrial history of Annecy-le-Vieux began in 1857, when Georges Paccard set up his bell foundry under the town and continued with the mill acquired by Joseph Cléchet in 1868 which became a very important flour mill. On 65 hectares, the Glaisins economic park, opened in 1972, brings together more than 300 companies working in the IT, mechanics, electronics, high technology and banking sectors. The university field brings together an IUT, an engineering school (ESIA) and an Institute of management (IMUS) which train more than 4000 students. Without forgetting the Physics and Particle Laboratory (LAPP) inaugurated in 1976.

The residential character of the town will be confirmed in the XIX century and beginning of the XX century, when many artists come to stay or withdraw at Annecy-le-Vieux, to create, to rest and enjoy the magnificent views on the lake and the mountains: Eugène Sue, Astolphe de Custine, John Ruskin and Gabriel Fauré, among others, became faithful of the commune. In the middle of the XIX century, on the grounds of the bottom of the town, settled some industries, two flagships were Cléchet mill and foundry Paccard bells, which brought the reputation of Annecy-le-Vieux in the whole world. The “La Savoyarde” bell at the Sacré-Cœur in Paris was cast in Annecy-le-Vieux in 1891. This drone, still one of the largest in the world, weighs 18,835 kg, measures 3.06 m in height and 9.60 m in external circumference, with a thickness at the base of 22 cm, and a leaf of 850 kg.

With the attachment of Savoy to France and the arrival of the railway, French wines came to compete dangerously with the wines of Annecy-le-Vieux, but it was above all attacks from mildew, then from phylloxera, which resulted in the reduction and the complete disappearance of the wine production in the early XX century. In 1973, the inhabitants of Annecy-le-Vieux chose to remain independent and refused the merger-absorption proposed by Annecy, its neighbor and sister. At1 January 2017, it merges with the municipalities of Annecy, Cran-Gevrier, Meythet, Pringy and Seynod, to form a new municipality, named Annecy, of 121,809 inhabitants (2013 data).

Tourism
The shores of the lake, the spacious Annecy-le-Vieux beach, lined with flowers, plants and trees, is one of the most frequented, and offers bathers a harmonious setting. The marina is home to 214 boats, with a launching ramp, redone in 2004. The reed beds, on the edge of the lake, are a pleasant setting for a walk. They were restored in 1999, are maintained and are the home of many birds. A lakeside path on a footbridge was created in 2003 and since early 2007, the last property (4,500 m) in the municipality with direct access to the shore has been purchased for € 4.4 million. which will allow the entire peninsula to be made public.

Historical heritage

The Romanesque bell tower of the 12 th century
It is probably one of the most beautiful listed Romanesque monuments in the whole region. Located in the historic heart of the capital, it was initially part of a church dedicated to Notre-Dame, itself built on the site of a temple dedicated to Jupiter. This building of worship was destroyed in the Revolution and a new church of St. Lawrence was built in 1849. In 1988, the restoration of the tower has revived the murals of the XV th century. There is also a 700 kg “republican” bronze bell, cast during the revolutionary period (1792) by Jean-Baptiste Pitton and classified as a historic monument in 1937.

Fortified houses and castles
Annecy-le-Vieux has a rich built heritage but the main private buildings cannot be visited.

The Villa Dunand
The composer Gabriel Fauré lived there several summers from 1919 to 1924. Many musicians came to Annecy-le-Vieux to meet the Master.

The castle of Pesse
This fortress from the XIV th century draws its name from a pesse (fir) remarkable. It was also a hunting meeting point for the Dukes of Nemours.

Château de La Cour
Magnificent residence nestled in lush greenery, which saw the birth of the “Venerable” Anne de Guigné.

The Villa La Tour
It hosted one of the most popular French writers of the XIX th century, Eugene Sue. Exiled in Savoy, this famous soap opera player spent the last years of his life in Annecy-le-Vieux.

The chapels
In the districts of Frontenex and Provins, two pretty chapels bear witness to a rich rural past.

The sublacustrine Site of the Petit Port Historic monument logo Inscribed MH (1991).
The steeple of Annecy-le-Vieux Historic monument logo Ranked MH (1908), located in the capital, novel type, it dates back to the xii th century. The Notre-Dame church, to which it belonged, was devastated during the French Revolution. It is classified as a historical monument by decree of May 7, 1908. It is a remarkable belfry with two floors of twin windows. The original church was built on the foundations of a Gallo-Roman temple dedicated to Jupiter. The bronze bell was cast in 1796 by Jean-Baptiste Pitton, traveling saint of Carouge, a town located near Geneva. Originally, it was a Republican bell, 90 cm high, 109 cm in diameter and weighing 700 kg. It is decorated with two bas reliefs, one representing a Christ on the cross, the other a virgin carrying the infant Jesus. It was classified as a historical monument in 1937.
The current Saint-Laurent church, of Sardinian neoclassical type, was built from 1849 to 1952. Its facade includes a triangular tympanum and two niches shelter the statues of Saint Laurent and Saint Francis de Sales. Inside, two clams stone, placed in the narthex from the first church. There is also a beautiful wooden Christ from the xvi th century. In 1986, the municipality had the roof and facade redone, and in 1995, the interior was also renovated. The organs are the work of organ builder Dunand de Lyon and date from 1961.
The Frontenex chapel, built in 1861 by Canon Paul-Bernard Croset-Mouchet.
The Provins chapel, built in 1877, in neo-Gothic style. Several chapels have succeeded at this location which was the subject, during celebrations of the Virgin and to the xix th century, local renowned pilgrimages. The present building houses a Pietà (Mary mourning her dead son) hidden by young people Albigny during the revolutionary days (see above xviii th century) classified historic Monument to object title.
The castle of Pesse is a beautiful house of the xiv th century and was a go hunting Dukes of Nemours. It was the possession of or of: Emyon, la Rochette, Montfalcon de Flaxieu, Viollon, Viollon de la Pesse, du Tour, Croset, Girod and Robert Friess.
The castle of the Court, built before 1419, is a former stronghold and pleasure residence from the xviii th century. The castle was owned by the Menthon family (from the origins to the Revolution) then by the Livet and Guigné families in particular. He saw the birth of Anne de Guigné (April 25, 1911 – January 14, 1922), declared “Venerable” in 1990.
The Villa de la Tour, where the writer Eugène Sue lived.
Villa Dunand and its park, where the composer Gabriel Fauré lived from 1919 until his death in 1924, now belong to the municipality. The villa houses some municipal services. Located in the capital, the Gabriel-Fauré park was restored in 2005 in the style of the time. It is a place of entertainment and festive meetings during the summer.
Café Brunet, classified as a “Historic European Café”, and known for its philosophical evenings, debate evenings and performance evenings.
The Abbey, located below the capital, is a district of the town. In fact, there has never been an abbey on the territory of Annecy-le-Vieux, nor monks, only land belonging to religious congregations. These farmlands were originally sold to the xiii th century by Count William II of Geneva, the Ladies of the Cistercian abbey of Sainte-Catherine of Semnoz. The town has restored the old farmhouse and devoted it to the graphic arts with the municipal drawing school and a contemporary art exhibition hall.

Cultural events and festivities
Here are the main entertainment offered by Annecy-le-Vieux:
Musical Gabriel Fauré
The race around the lake, “l’Ancilevienne”.
Haute-Savoie Mont Blanc Cup, 13 edition in April 2007. 750 young soccer players from six European countries.
1 nightclub and several private clubs.
L’Ancileviennerie is a traditional autumn festival organized in October.

Green space
In 2014, the regional jury for the competition for towns and villages in bloom confirmed the maintenance of the municipality’s classification in “2 flowers”.
The population has 11 parks and public gardens, not to mention the vast forest estate of the municipality: Raisses park (2 hectares), Vignières / Pommaries park (2 hectares under development), Gabriel Fauré park (6,700 m), Petit Brogny park (6,500 m), Lachat park (4,900 m), Albigny square (1,200 m), Picnic area d’Albigny (2,500 m)… The town also offers many charming paths and alleys to walk around forming a real pedestrian network linking the various territories.
A new 5-hectare space, both an urban square and a landscaped park, is at the end of its development. The project was chosen in November 2005 by the Ancilevians, among four projects, allows to connect between several districts, and includes traffic routes (cars, buses, bicycles, pedestrians), an underground car park with 180 new spaces too little used currently according to the opposition, a skatepark, an early childhood structure, a kindergarten and two hectares of landscaped park. Work began in September 2006 and should be completed in early 2008.
The Fier valley is a green and wild lung located at the northern limit of the town which it runs alongside for several kilometers. Le Fier is a torrent-river in the Haute-Savoie Prealps, which crosses the agglomeration of Annecy. Over a long distance, between the Pont de Brogny and the Pont de Tasset, the community of the agglomeration of Annecy has decided to enhance this natural environment and return it to the inhabitants. Work should start in 2007, it concerns 118 hectares of shoreline.
Mont Rampon (957 m) and Mont Veyrier (1,291 m) are rich in hiking trails offering a magnificent panorama on the lake, on the whole agglomeration of Annecy, and on the mountains (Aravis, Tournette, the Semnoz and the Glières plateau).
Mount Rampignon (894 m) offers a botanical trail of about two hours’ walk, and also allows you to have magnificent views of the city of Annecy and the lake.
In October 10, 2010, the operation “21,000 trees for 21,000 ancilevians” was launched over four years. During the first year more than 3,500 trees, mainly oaks, lime trees and junipers were planted, in public and private places.

Tags: