Categories: اشخاص

ألونزو تشابل

كان ألونزو تشابل (1 مارس 1828 – 4 ديسمبر 1887) رساما أمريكيا، اشتهر باللوحات التي تصور الشخصيات والأحداث من الثورة الأمريكية وتاريخ أمريكا في أوائل القرن التاسع عشر

ألونزو تشابيل ولد ألونزو تشابيل في عام 1828 في بويري في مانهاتن السفلى، وبدأ حياته المهنية في سن مبكرة من التاسعة، وقدم صورة لواشنطن بعنوان آب بلده لمعرض المعهد الأمريكي بحلول الوقت الذي كان فيه اثنا عشر، تشابل كان يعمل في شوارع مانهاتن، يتقاضى ما بين خمسة وعشرة دولارات للصور انه ترك المدرسة في أربعة عشر لدراسة فنون جابانينغ و نافذة الظل اللوحة، وبحلول ستة عشر كان مدرجا في دليل مدينة نيويورك كما فنان عمودي يكسب خمسة وعشرين دولارا لوحة في حين انه حصل على المال الغيار اللوحة المشهد مشهد للعب في مانهاتن، استغرق تشابل دروس فنية من صموئيل فب مورس، وكان من خلال مورس أنه كان أول تعرض للاتفاقيات الفنية الأوروبية اهتماماته في هذه تم شحذ التقنيات على مدى العقود القليلة المقبلة، كما جاء تشابل في اتصال مع الرسامين مثل جورج إينيس الذي ساعد على تأسيس جمعية بروكلين الفن على عكس كرو دي، عام، الأشكال، بسبب، كروم.

ألونزو تشابيل يمارس شكلا من أشكال البورتريه في “الطريقة الكبرى” على أساس النمط الضخم المشترك بين بنجامين الغربية في انكلترا، إيمانويل ليوتز من مدرسة دوسلدورف في ألمانيا، وبول ديلاروش في باريس هذه الرسامين التاريخ ينظرون أنفسهم على أنها ليست مجرد محرري الحرفية من والأحداث، ولكن كمترجمين لفهمهم الفلسفي والتاريخي. وكان أسلوبهم استخدام الرمزية الثقيلة، المتاخمة للرسومية، فضلا عن صور عاطفية من الشخصيات التي قدمت في يلقي البطولية عمل شابيل كرسام وفي وقت لاحق كما مصور كتاب لأميركيون جونسون البارزة من هذه الاتجاهات

مثل العديد من هؤلاء الفنانين مع تطلعات في يومه، وشابيل شارك في المعارض معرض في أماكن مثل الأكاديمية الوطنية للتصميم حيث دفع الزوار للحصول على امتياز عرض لوحاته، ولكن في معظمها لم تكن هذه اللجان مربحة ونتيجة لذلك، استكمل له الدخل عن طريق العمل كرسام كتاب ليس فقط لوضع الطعام على الطاولة ولكن أيضا لتوفير فرص ترويجية لمزيد من تسويق صوره رسمت الرسامين الذين كانوا في السابق تحت رحمة الأثرياء رعاة الذين يملي موضوع وأسلوب عملهم الآن فرصة للوصول إلى الجماهير مع صور بصرية من صنع الخاصة بهم

Related Post

وبحلول الخمسينيات من القرن التاسع عشر، كان تشابل مشغولا جدا كرسام ومصور كتب، حيث نقل عملياته إلى لونغ آيلاند، حيث استأجر مجموعة من الفنانين الشباب لترجمة لوحاته الزيتية إلى مطبوعات حجرية للأسواق التصويرية والمطبوعة المعروفة باسم “مصنع تشابل ، “كانت هذه المستعمرة من الفنانين غزيرة جدا وغير متسقة في عملها أن عبارة” استنادا إلى اللوحة الزيتية الأصلية من قبل ألونزو تشابل “تزين الكثير من الرسوم التوضيحية له في الأعمال التاريخية والمطبوعات الشعبية أصبح مرادفا للفن الميكانيكي أو معالجتها الإفراط في استخدام من هذا النقش على مئات من الرسوم التوضيحية تسبب أحد ناقد الفن لتشكك في وجود تشابل تماما “كل ما يسمى صور تشابيل تتكون”، وكتب “لقد سمعت أنه لا يوجد تشابل انها مجرد اسمه المستخدمة”

رسمته 1857 “تجنيد الضباط الأجانب” في جمع متحف الثورة الأمريكية

لم يكن شابل موجود بالطبع، ولكن من الصعب حتى يومنا هذا تحديد المدى الحقيقي وقيمة مجموعة فنية له العديد من اللوحات الزيتية الأكثر تميزا تشابل لم تقدر أبدا من قبل الجمهور الأمريكي، عقدت كما كانت في مجموعات خاصة من الناشرين وصناع الطباعة الذين عمموا نسخا عديدة وأحيانا أدنى من هذه الصور في الكتب والطباعة الحجرية لأن الكثير من هذه الأصول الأصلية فقدت في وقت لاحق، سمعة تشابيل كرسام استراح (في كثير من الأحيان إلى عيبه) إلى حد كبير على نسخ رديئة من الأعمال الأصلية التي كانت محفورة من قبل موظفيه للأسواق التصويرية

Share

Categories: People

Alonzo Chappel

Alonzo Chappel (Mar 1, 1828 – Dec 4, 1887) was an American painter, best known for paintings depicting personalities and events from the American Revolution and early 19th-century American history

Alonzo Chappel Born in 1828 in the Bowery in Lower Manhattan, Alonzo Chappel [Image 41] began his illustrating career at the early age of nine, submitting a portrait of Washington entitled The Father of His Country to the American Institute Fair By the time he was twelve, Chappel was working the streets of Manhattan, charging between five and ten dollars for portraits He dropped out of school at fourteen to study the arts of japanning and window-shade painting, and by sixteen he was listed in the New York City Directory as a portrait artist earning twenty-five dollars a painting While he earned spare money painting stage scenery for plays in Manhattan, Chappel took art lessons from Samuel F B Morse, and it was through Morse that he was first exposed to European artistic conventions His interests in these techniques were honed over the next few decades, as Chappel came into contact with painters like George Inness with whom he helped establish the Brooklyn Art Association Unlike the crude vernacular forms of Croome.

Alonzo Chappel practiced a form of portraiture in the “grand manner” based on the monumental style common to Benjamin West in England, Emanuel Leutze of the Dusseldorf school in Germany, and Paul Delaroche in Paris These history painters viewed themselves as not merely literal transcribers of events but as interpreters of their philosophical and historical meanings Their style included the use of heavy symbolism, bordering on the allegorical, as well as sentimental depictions of figures rendered in heroic casts Chappel’s work as a painter and later as a book illustrator for Johnson’s Eminent Americans was informed by these trends

Like many such artists with aspirations in his day, Chappel participated in gallery exhibitions at places such as the National Academy of Design where visitors paid for the privilege of viewing his paintings, but for the most part such commissions were not lucrative Consequently, he supplemented his income by working as a book illustrator not only to put food on the table but also to provide promotional opportunities for the further marketing of his painted images Painters who had been previously at the mercy of wealthy patrons who dictated the subject matter and style of their work now recognized an opportunity to reach the masses with visual imagery of their own making

Related Post

By the 1850s, Chappel was so busy as a painter and book illustrator that he moved his operations to Long Island, where he hired a group of young artists to translate his oil paintings into lithographs for the pictorial book and print markets Known as “Chappel’s factory,” this colony of artists was so prolific and yet inconsistent in its work that the phrase “based on an original oil painting by Alonzo Chappel” adorning so many of his illustrations in historical works and popular prints became synonymous with mechanized or processed art The overuse of this inscription on hundreds of illustrations caused one art critic to question the existence of Chappel altogether “All the so-called Chappel pictures are made up,” he wrote “I have heard it said there is no Chappel It is merely a named used”

His 1857 painting “Enlisting Foreign Officers” is in the collection of the Museum of the American Revolution

Chappel did exist, of course, but it is hard to this day to determine the true extent and value of his artistic corpus Many of Chappel’s most outstanding oil paintings were never appreciated fully by American audiences, held as they were in the private collections of publishers and print makers who circulated numerous and sometimes inferior reproductions of such images in books and lithographs Because so many of these originals were lost subsequently, Chappel’s reputation as a painter has rested (often to his disadvantage) largely on the inferior copies of original works that were engraved by his employees for pictorial markets

Share