国有阿尔贝拉自然公园,西班牙加泰罗尼亚

国有阿尔贝拉自然公园位于Alt Empordà地区的东北部,在拉容克拉,埃斯波拉和拉博斯等市内的阿尔贝拉山脉地区。国有的阿尔贝拉自然公园是一个高质量的生态和景观单元,在这里您可以看到比利牛斯山脉物种与最典型的地中海物种之间的过渡。全部插入由比利牛斯山脉,页岩和板岩变质岩为主的区域。

它由两个完全不同的区域组成,其中一个位于西部,分别是雷克森斯-鲍西格斯(Requesens-Baussitges)和东部的桑特奎尔兹-德科莱拉-巴拉梅塔(Sant Quirze de Colera-Balmeta),被著名的Coll de Banyuls地区隔开。

Requesens-Baussitges地区是最潮湿和最高的地区,森林覆盖率几乎为100%,植被极为丰富,其中包括软木橡树,木,栗树,橡树,山毛榉和高海拔地区的高山草甸。雷克森斯(Requesens)地区包括Anyet河的源头,河滨植被繁茂,有灰烬,柳树和al木。Baussitges地区包括Orlina河的上游山谷,该半岛上最东端的山毛榉种群持续存在。

Sant Quirze de Colera-Balmeta区围绕着重要的Sant Quirze de Colera修道院而建,这是加泰罗尼亚罗马式艺术的真正瑰宝。它已经是一个完全具有地中海特色的地区,长期以来受到森林大火的惩罚。植被以稀疏的软木橡树,灌木和灌木丛为主。在这个地方,伊比利亚半岛的最后一批地中海龟生活了下来。

阿尔贝拉断层块
阿尔贝拉山脉(Sierra de l’Albera)是比利牛斯山脉的主要东部山脚。阿尔贝拉山脉(Sierra de l’Albera)是位于Empordà和Rosselló平原之间的山脉。它的山脊标志着南部的AltEmpordà的分界线,以及北部的加泰罗尼亚州的Rosselló和Vallespir县。它从Coll delPertús延伸到地中海,介于科斯塔韦尔梅拉(Costa Vermella)和布拉瓦海岸(Costa Brava)北部之间,介于阿尔及尔(Algiers)和切尔韦拉(Cervera)城镇之间。阿尔贝拉(Albera)的东部被认为是鲁西永(Roussillon)的一个子区域,称为La Marenda。

它是比利牛斯山脉的最后山麓之一,尽管低海拔和山脉的侵蚀使它们与该山脉的中轴具有非常不同的特征。最终达到PuigNeulós(1,256 m)。其他杰出的高峰还有Puig dels Pastors(1,167 m),Puig dels Quatre Termes(1,156 m)和Pic de Sallafort(992 m)。

从1659年起,根据《比利牛斯条约》,该山脊成为法属和西班牙之间的边界。

地名阿尔贝拉(Albera)来自拉丁语Alberia(“白色”,应用于一个地区)。该名称最早出现在844,名称为Alberiæ。它强调在拉丁语中使用复数形式(法语)(LesAlbères,错误的正字复数形式以适应加泰罗尼亚语或拉丁主义吗?),以及在北加泰罗尼亚语系中使用,可能会干扰法语(在Alberes)。

阿尔贝拉自然公园
自1986年以来,安珀拉山脉(Sierraampurdanés)的领土满足了国有阿尔伯拉自然区,该自然区包括两个截然不同的区域:一个是西部,分别是雷克森斯(Requesens)和博伊西特(Baussitges),一个是东方奎斯特·德·科雷拉(Sant Quirze de Colera)和拉·巴尔梅塔(La Balmeta)东方人,被Banyuls通行证隔开。

这种自然的环境使您能够在变质岩石(如页岩和板岩)的地形中观察比利牛斯山脉物种与最典型的地中海之间的过渡。

最高的地区植被多样,有软木橡树,圣栎,栗子,橡树,山毛榉和高山草甸。随着离海越来越近,山脉失去了植被,并以稀疏的软木橡树,灌木丛和灌木丛为主导。

在动物种类方面,伊比利亚半岛的最后一批地中海龟在Sant Quirze de Colera和La Balmeta地区生存。阿尔伯拉牛是土生土长的品种,完全自由地生活在森林中。

自1973年以来,在鲁西永(Roussillon),马卡纳(Maçana)森林也一直是受保护的自然保护区。

历史背景
加泰罗尼亚大将军在1931年制定的领土计划中已经有保护保护阿尔贝拉山脉某些生态系统的需要。但是直到1986年,加泰罗尼亚议会才宣布在该地区的南坡上划定某些土地。山脉,在国有的自然保护区AltEmpordà的北部。

该保护区总计4,207公顷(包括969公顷的自然保护区和742公顷的圣奎尔兹德科雷拉附属保护区。自然公园在其周边包括两个部分自然保护区。第一个位于Orlina头,占地395公顷,其目的是保护Coll dels移民与Pic de Sallafort之间的山毛榉和橡树林,比利牛斯山脉南坡的最东端,Sant Quirze山谷和Valleta的源头之间的第二个该溪流有580公顷的面积,旨在保护爬虫类动物,特别是地中海龟,它于1987年进行了扩建,在自然公园的外围(西南极限)以外增加了680公顷。 -管理领土,Bosc de laMaçana自然保护区是保护区,位于Puig dels Quatre Termes和Sallafort峰之间。

西班牙历史遗产理事会已选定比利牛斯山地中海沿岸的候选国,其中包括阿尔贝拉断层块的文化和自然景观,被联合国教科文组织宣布为世界遗产。

自然遗产
阿尔贝拉山脉的文化遗产非常出色。在相对较小的空间中,存在各种各样的环境,例如地中海乌龟等具有代表性的物种,在这种环境中,人们从新石器时代到今天都已留下自己的印记。

植被
Requesens-Baussitges地区是最潮湿和最高的地区,森林覆盖率几乎为100%,植被极为丰富,其中包括软木橡树,木,栗树,橡树,山毛榉和高海拔地区的高山草甸。雷克森斯(Requesens)地区包括Anyet河的源头,河滨植被繁茂,有灰烬,柳树和al木。Baussitges地区包括Orlina河的上部山谷,Beech的人口在该半岛的最东部持续存在。

Sant Quirze de Colera-Balmeta地区已经是完全地中海特色的地区,世俗地受到森林大火的惩罚。植被以稀疏的软木橡树,灌木和灌木丛为主。

动物群
伊比利亚半岛上最后的地中海海龟种群在此生存。爬虫动物群的其他物种(两栖动物和爬行动物)种类繁多,其中包括:青蛙,蛇,蜥蜴,蜥蜴等。

已发现200多种鸟类。在鱼类中,应特别提到鳟鱼和山口须。自然公园内哺乳动物的多样性及其影响范围非常显着,已经计数了44种,这一数字几乎占加泰罗尼亚所有哺乳动物的75%。

阿尔贝拉(Albera)奶牛是该地区特有的半野生野生动物。

水文地质
从Albera的最高峰垂直下降的Llobregat d’Empordà,Anyet,Torrelles流和Orlina通常具有连续的水流。在最后阶段,Llobregat d’Empordà汇入了这三条河的水,不久便汇入了盆地的主要河流Muga。东部地区的溪流已经具有明显的洪流特征,加里奎拉的溪流下降到Aiguamolls de l’Empordà系统。瓦莱塔河(Valleta)和加尔贝特(Garbet),科雷拉(Cerera)和波特布(BT)的洪流直接死亡。

阿尔贝拉(Albera)最重要的水文要素之一是池塘。它们是雨水积聚的土地上的小洼地,您可以找到其中的三十个,并且它们具有极大的生态价值。有些常年储水,而其他大多数则在夏天变干。延期最大的湖是格罗斯德拉琼克拉湖,占地3.5公顷。阿尔贝拉山脉地质的基本特征是比利牛斯山脉,页岩和板岩的变质岩。地质学最感兴趣的地区是Llançà和Colera市的Puig d’Esquers附近。

景观
西部地区基本上由两个最大的庄园组成:雷克森斯(Requesens)和鲍斯西格(Baussitges),是湿润程度最高的地区,森林覆盖率几乎为100%,植被极为不同:从下到上,我们发现了软木橡树,木,栗树,橡树,落叶混合森林(枫树,叶片,榆树,粉刺等)和高发区的草地。在Anyet和Orlina岸边的河岸植被,还有灰烬,柳树和al木,也很引人注目。东部地区,Sant Quirze de Colera-Balmeta地区,具有更多的地中海特色,低地有灌木,灌木和软木橡树,高地有圣栎。第三部分是阿尔贝拉拉(Alberera)或阿斯普雷斯·德阿尔贝拉(Aspres de l’Albera)的山麓,这是山脉本身与Empordà平原之间的中间区域。

主要景点
阿尔贝拉的主要景点是巨石纪念碑,Sant Quirze de Colera修道院和雷克森斯城堡,作为历史和文化遗产。另一方面,作为自然遗产,值得一提的是阿尔贝拉龟繁殖中心,La Jonquera湖和法国LaMaçana自然保护区。

巨石阿尔贝拉
在其南部山坡上,是地中海盆地最重要的巨石纪念碑集中地,有四个主要类别的都尔门,走廊墓,加泰罗尼亚美术馆,简单的都尔门,带丘陵和竖石纪念碑的壁垒,以及新石器时代中期之间的年代顺序和方解石(公元前3500年/ 1800年),我们发现它们位于平坦的丘陵和丘陵地带,海拔分别为100 m和460 m,向南和向东南方向。

金属时代的阿尔贝拉
青铜业出现在第二个千年,起源于地中海东部的国家,并逐渐进入新石器时代。田园和丧葬生活的模式一直存在,发现了几处丧葬的空洞,古代青铜时代的Roc delNapolità(la Jonquera)和Roc d’en Xuliman(Cantallops)Cau Coniller(Espolla)。从青铜时代的末期(公元前900-600年)开始,我们发现了维拉斯墓地(埃斯波拉)。

封建时期的阿尔贝拉
到了10世纪,出现了第一批城堡,例如La Jonquera的Castrum Bertini(在948年)或Llança的Castrum Miralias(在974年),这些城堡都位于主要位置。当阿尔贝拉(Albera)的定居点得到巩固时,也保留了中世纪前时期的罗马式和罗马式艺术的丰富遗产。

在该地区,最著名的纪念碑是Sant Quirze de Colera的本笃会修道院,其历史可追溯至9世纪末或10世纪初。原始建筑物的遗迹仍然保留。十世纪初,它被毁并被新的建筑物所取代,并于935年奉献。该建筑物的平面布置图带有三个中殿和一个小灵通,一个桶形穹顶和一个带有半圆形后殿的三角顶,在11世纪。西翼来自s。第十二至十三世纪,方丈之家属于s。十一十五 该建筑群被一个坚固的围墙包围,那里仍然有一个塔,带有漏洞和护城河的墙壁。回廊仅保留两个支撑在首都上的半圆形拱门。

距离修道院不远的是s教堂。XII展示/显示带有尖头拱顶的半圆形头部。同样值得注意的是按市政府术语分布的教堂:Sant Climent Sescebes:8-9世纪的Santa Fe dels Solers,带有梯形的头部。-Espolla:SantMartíde Baussitges del SX,方头;12世纪的Sant Genis d’Esprac;十世纪的Sant Pere dels Vilars具有过时的半圆头和十六世纪的Sant Miquel de Freixa。十一与半圆头。-Llançà:10世纪的Sant Genis del Terrer,过时的半圆头,16世纪的SantMartíde Vallmala。带有梯形头的XI和S的Sant Silvestre de Valleta。X半圆头。-霍乱:

La Jonquera:10世纪的SantMartídel Forn del Vidre,三叶形的头部; 10世纪的Sant Jaume de Canadal; 10世纪的Sant Pere Pla a l’Arca;半圆形的头部,上面长着opus spicatum,SantaLlúcia,当前建筑物的日期为。十三至十三,圣玛丽亚德雷克森斯。十一中的两个中殿和两个半圆形的近地点,被改造成一个农舍。十八,s的门户。十二世搬到了在s修复的城堡教堂。十九。雷克森斯的原始城堡建于11和12世纪。在中世纪建筑中,仅保留了几座堡垒锁,一座方形塔楼和一部分上层门。s末期几乎完全翻新。XIX由其所有者Peralada的TomàsdeRocabertíDameto先生进行。在雷克森斯的同一庄园,

阿尔贝拉龟繁殖中心
它是由与自然公园相连的Alics de la Tortuga de l’Albera组织(ATA)管理的设施。它位于加里吉亚(Garriguella)的Virgen del Camp避难所。创建它是为了繁殖和保护濒临灭绝的地中海龟。从一直被囚禁的个体开始,由个体捐赠,然后进行繁殖,并将新个体释放到自然栖息地中。该中心还拥有其他种类的海龟标本,这些标本基本上来自地中海盆地。还提供了有关Albera的各种信息。

Estanys de la Jonquera
这是一个小池塘和30公顷池塘的区域。它位于La Jonquera市的最南端,靠近Cantallops和Capmany市。格罗斯湖(3.5公顷)是唯一一个常年缺水的湖,而其他的小湖,贝蒂克斯湖,贝克斯湖,特拉内格拉湖,菲加湖和埃尔斯乌拉斯特雷斯则可能会缺水。-如果在炎热干燥的夏天。

在迁徙期间,许多鸟类会找到休息和食物,特别是在北风的日子必须向北穿越比利牛斯山脉的鸟类。另外,稳定水体的存在使该地区成为许多其他动物尤其是两栖动物繁殖的有利场所。在池塘中观察到115种鸟类,23种哺乳动物和24种爬行动物和两栖动物并进行了分类。该地区受La Jonquera城市总体规划的保护,并包含在1992年12月14日第238号法令批准的自然景点区域(PEIN)计划中。

玛卡纳森林
它位于法国境内的阿尔及尔(鲁西永)市阿尔贝拉的北坡。这是一个有趣的生态保护区,被列为自然保护区。它距海仅5公里,位于海拔600至1,150 m之间,面积300公顷。它主要由山毛榉(Fagus sylvatica)和圣栎(Quercus humilis)组成。自1850年以来就没有被利用过,它包含300多年的历史标本。除了纯粹的植物兴趣外,树木的生死自然过程也有利于存在极为丰富和多样的无脊椎动物区系:仅在15公顷的土地上发现了1,256种甲虫。

文化遗产
阿尔贝拉山脉(Sierra de l’Albera)在比利牛斯山脉的脖子最低,一直是欧洲和伊比利亚半岛人民与文化之间交流的地方,也是人类居住的地方。在加泰罗尼亚南部斜坡上,是最重要的巨石碑集中地带之一,其年代顺序介于新石器时代中期和黄铜矿时代之间(公元前3500-1800年)。在拉容克拉(La Jonquera),Canadal,Mas Baleta,Els Mesclants,El Pedreguer的都尔门以及Els Estanys的都尔门和门罗尔都出类拔萃;在埃斯波拉(Espolla),阿尔贝塔(Albera)最大的小屋之一-阿瓦塔小屋(Cabana d’Arqueta)的都尔门,鲁昂河(Font del Roure),Arreganyats和巴兰克(Barranc)–带有雕刻雕刻的屋顶板–卡斯泰拉(Castellar)的竖石纪念碑或Vilars和Rabós中的Coma de Felis的都尔门,来了Llobes,Solar d’en Gubert或Mas Roquer的杀人狂。附近,在Sant Climent Sescebes中,有著名的La Gutina墓穴和Murtra或Gentile Stone的墓穴。

La Jonquera市的Panissars和Pertús通行证是整个山脉中最通行的通行证,自远古时代以来就被重要的道路所穿越。与法国接壤的是圣玛丽亚·德·帕尼萨尔(Santa Maria de Panissars)旧修道院(11世纪)的废墟,该修道院曾作为公路医院。最近的考古发掘发现了罗马路的遗迹和大块的石头,这些石头与庞培的奖杯在多米蒂亚大街-奥古斯塔大街(公元前1世纪)的遗迹中被发现。

当该行业的人口得以合并时,罗马式艺术便具有浓郁的中世纪中世纪风格。在该区域内,最著名的纪念碑是圣奎尔兹德科莱拉的本笃会古老修道院,该修道院始建于十世纪,至今仍是一座宏伟的教堂,并保留着修道院,修道院附属建筑和防御工事。靠近它的是圣玛丽亚·德·科雷拉(Santa Maria de Colera)的老教区,也是罗马式的,都位于圣奎兹山谷的拉博斯市内。我们还应该提到圣卢卢西亚(SantLlúcia)的偏僻寺院(12至13世纪),前身是Sant Miquel de Solans教区教堂,SantJuliàdels Torts教堂(12至13世纪),以及罗马特式前Sant Pere有趣的例子del Jonquera的del Pla de l’Arca(10世纪)。SantMartíde Baussitges(10世纪)和SantGenísd’Esprac(12至13世纪)的旧教区分别在埃斯波拉(Espolla)处于罗马式和罗马式之前。或是Sant Quirc的偏僻寺院和Rabósd’Empordà的罗马晚期教区SantJulià(13至14世纪)。

在拉容克勒(La Jonquera)市,战略性地统治着阿尔贝拉山(Sierra de l’Albera)的山丘,这里有罗卡贝蒂(Rocabertí)城堡的遗迹,与佩拉拉达(Peralada)县有联系,在加泰罗尼亚的历史上起着举足轻重的作用。他们还拥有附近的PuigNeulós南部的Requesens城堡,该城堡在19世纪末以所谓的建筑浪漫主义的典型幻想方式进行了翻新,Viollet Leduc在法国盛行。靠近它的是圣玛丽亚·德·雷克森斯(Santa Maria de Requesens)(18世纪)的圣所,这是人们热爱的中心。该地区的第三座城堡是加拿大城堡,其中有14至15世纪著名的防御工事。我们可以欣赏一些流行的建筑和富丽堂皇的房屋的美丽例子,例如皇家邮政局(Ca l’

Tags:

Albera Natural Park of National Interest, Catalonia, Spain

The Albera Natural Park of National Interest is located in the northeast of the Alt Empordà region, in the area of the Sierra de l’Albera included in the municipalities of La Jonquera, Espolla and Rabós. The Albera Natural Park of National Interest is a high quality ecological and landscape unit where you can see the transition between the species of the Pyrenees and the most typically Mediterranean; all inserted in an area dominated by the metamorphic rocks of the Pyrenees, shales and slates.

It consists of two well-differentiated sectors, one in the west, that of Requesens-Baussitges and the east of Sant Quirze de Colera-Balmeta separated by the area of the famous Coll de Banyuls.

The Requesens-Baussitges sector has the wettest and highest areas, with a forest cover of almost 100% and with extraordinarily varied vegetation with cork oaks, holm oaks, chestnut trees, oaks, beeches and the alpine meadows of the culminating area. The Requesens area includes the headwaters of the Anyet River with splendid riverside vegetation with ash, willow and alder trees. The Baussitges area includes the upper valley of the river Orlina where the easternmost beech populations on the peninsula persist.

The Sant Quirze de Colera-Balmeta sector is structured around the important monastery of Sant Quirze de Colera, a true jewel of Catalan Romanesque art. It is already an area of fully Mediterranean characteristics, secularly punished by forest fires. The vegetation is dominated by sparse cork oaks, shrubs and bushes. In this place the last populations of Mediterranean turtle of the Iberian Peninsula subsist.

Albera massif
The Sierra de l’Albera, is the main eastern foothills of the Pyrenees. The Sierra de l’Albera is a mountain range located between the plains of the Empordà and Rosselló. Its ridge marks the dividing line of the Alt Empordà to the south, with the counties of northern Catalonia of Rosselló and Vallespir. It extends from the Coll del Pertús to the Mediterranean Sea, between the Costa Vermella and the north of the Costa Brava, between the towns of Algiers and Cervera. The east of the Albera is considered a sub-region of Roussillon called La Marenda.

It is one of the last foothills of the Pyrenees, although the low altitude and erosion of the mountains make them have very different characteristics from those of the central axis of this mountain range. It culminates in Puig Neulós (1,256 m). Other outstanding peaks are Puig dels Pastors (1,167 m), Puig dels Quatre Termes (1,156 m) and Pic de Sallafort (992 m).

From 1659 onwards, following the Treaty of the Pyrenees, the ridge forms the border between the states French and Spanish.

The place name Albera comes from the Latin Alberia (‘white’, applied to an area). The name first appears in 844 under the term Alberiæ. It emphasizes the use of the plural one in Latin, in French (Les Albères, false orthographic plural to adapt the Catalan term or Latinism?), As well as in the North-Catalan denomination, perhaps to interfere by the French (mountain range of the Alberes).

Albera Natural Park
The territory of Sierra ampurdanés satisfied, since 1986, the Natural Area of National Interest Albera, consisting of two distinct sectors: one west, the Requesens and Baussitges, and an Oriental of Sant Quirze de Colera and La Balmeta, separated by the Banyuls pass.

This natural setting allows you to observe the transition between the species of the Pyrenees and the most typically Mediterranean, in a terrain of metamorphic rocks such as shales and slates.

The highest areas have a varied vegetation, with cork oaks, holm oaks, chestnuts, oaks, beeches and alpine meadows. As it gets closer to the sea, the mountain range loses vegetation and is dominated by sparse cork oaks, bushes and scrub.

In terms of fauna, the last populations of Mediterranean turtle in the Iberian Peninsula survive in the Sant Quirze de Colera and La Balmeta sectors. The Albera cow, an autochthonous breed, lives in the forest in total freedom.

In Roussillon, the Maçana forest has also been a protected nature reserve since 1973.

History Background
The need to protect some of the ecosystems of the Sierra de l’Albera is already in a territorial plan drawn up by the Generalitat de Catalunya in 1931. But it was not until 1986 that the Catalan Parliament declared certain lands on the southern slope of the mountain range, in the northern sector of the Alt Empordà, a Natural Site of National Interest.

The protected area amounts to 4,207 ha (includes 969 ha of nature reserves and 742 ha of the attached reserve of Sant Quirze de Colera. The Natural Park includes within its perimeter two partial nature reserves. The first, at the head of the Orlina, with an area of 395 ha, its purpose is to protect the beech and oak groves between the Coll dels Emigrants and the Pic de Sallafort, the easternmost of the southern slopes of the Pyrenees, the second between the Sant Quirze valley and The headwaters of the Valleta stream, with 580 ha, are intended to protect the herpetological fauna, specifically the Mediterranean turtle, it was expanded in 1987with 680 ha outside the perimeter of the Natural Park, at the southwestern limit. On the northern slopes of the mountain range, in French-administered territory, the Bosc de la Maçana Nature Reserve is a protected area, between the Puig dels Quatre Termes and the Sallafort peak.

The Spanish Historical Heritage Council has selected the candidacy of the Mediterranean Slope of the Pyrenees, which includes the cultural and natural landscape of the Albera massif, as a candidate to be declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

Natural heritage
The heritage of the Sierra de l’Albera is exceptional. In a relatively small space there is a wide variety of environments, with such emblematic species as the Mediterranean turtle, in an environment where human populations have left their mark from the Neolithic to the present day.

Vegetation
The Requesens-Baussitges sector has the wettest and highest areas, with a forest cover of almost 100% and with extraordinarily varied vegetation with cork oaks, holm oaks, chestnut trees, oaks, beeches and the alpine meadows of the culminating area. The Requesens area comprises the headwaters of the Anyet river with splendid riverside vegetation with ash, willow and alder trees. The Baussitges area includes the upper valley of the river Orlina where the populations of Beech persist easternmost of the peninsula.

The Sant Quirze de Colera-Balmeta sector is already an area of fully Mediterranean characteristics, secularly punished by forest fires. The vegetation is dominated by sparse cork oaks, shrubs and bushes.

Fauna
The last Mediterranean turtle populations in the Iberian Peninsula survive in this place. The great variety of the other species of the herpetological fauna (amphibians and reptiles) stands out: frogs, snakes, lizards, lizards, etc.

More than 200 species of birds have been detected. Of the fish, special mention should be made of the common trout and the mountain barbel. The diversity of mammals in the Natural Park and its area of influence is remarkable, 44 species have been counted, a number that represents almost 75% of all mammals in Catalonia.

The Albera cow is a native breed, endemic to the area, semi-wild.

Hydrology and geology
The Llobregat d’Empordà, the Anyet, the Torrelles stream and the Orlina, which descend perpendicularly from the highest peaks of the Albera, generally have a continuous stream of water. In its final stretch, the Llobregat d’Empordà receives the waters of these three rivers shortly before joining the Muga, the main river in the basin. The streams in the eastern sector already have a marked torrential character, the Garriguella stream descends to the Aiguamolls de l’Empordà system. The Valleta stream and the Garbet, Colera and Portbou torrents die directly into the sea.

One of the most important hydrological elements of the Albera are the ponds. They are small depressions in the land where rainwater accumulates, you can find about thirty of them and they are of great ecological interest. Some store water year-round, while others, most, dry out during the summer. The one with the largest extension, Gros de la Jonquera lake, occupies an area of 3.5 ha. The basic characteristics of the geology of the Sierra de l’Albera are those of the metamorphic rocks of the Pyrenees, shales and slates. The area with the most geological interest is the one in the vicinity of the Puig d’Esquers, in the municipalities of Llançà and Colera.

Landscape
The western sector, basically made up of two large estates, Requesens and Baussitges, has the wettest and highest areas, with a forest cover of almost 100% and extraordinarily varied vegetation: from bottom to top we find cork oaks, holm oaks, chestnut trees, oaks, mixed deciduous forests (maples, blades, elms, moixeres, etc.) and the meadows of the culminating area. The riparian vegetation, on the banks of the Anyet and the Orlina, with ash, willow and alder trees, also stands out. The eastern sector, the area of Sant Quirze de Colera-Balmeta, has more Mediterranean characteristics, with bushes, scrub and cork oaks in the lowlands and holm oaks in the highlands. The third sector is the foothills of Alberera or Aspres de l’Albera, the intermediate area between the mountain range itself and the Empordà plain.

Main Attractions
The main places of interest in the Albera are the megalithic monuments, the monastery of Sant Quirze de Colera and the castle of Requesens, as historical and cultural heritage. On the other hand, as a natural heritage, it is worth mentioning the Albera Turtle Reproduction Center, the lakes of La Jonquera and the French nature reserve of La Maçana.

The megalithic Albera
On its southern slopes there is one of the most important concentrations of megalithic monuments in the Mediterranean basin, there are four major categories of dolmens, corridor tombs, Catalan gallery, simple dolmen, cist with mound and menhirs, with a chronology between the Neolithic middle and the Calcolitic (3,500 / 1,800 BC) we find them located in flat areas, on hills and hills, at an altitude of 100 m and 460 m high and with an orientation to the south and southeast.

The Albera in the Metal Age
The bronze industry appears in the 2nd millennium, originating in the countries of the eastern Mediterranean, where it gradually enters the Neolithic communities. The model of pastoral and funerary life persists, several funerary cavities have been discovered, Roc del Napolità (la Jonquera) and Roc d’en Xuliman (Cantallops) Cau Coniller (Espolla) of the ancient Bronze Age. From the end of the Bronze Age (900-600 BC) we find the Necropolis of Vilars (Espolla).

The feudal Albera
In the 10th century, the first castles appeared, such as Castrum Bertini (in 948) in La Jonquera or Castrum Miralias (in 974) in Llança, all located at dominant points. There is also a rich heritage of pre-Romanesque and Romanesque art, the style of the High Middle Ages, when the settlement in the Albera was consolidated.

Within the area, the most notable monument is the Benedictine monastery of Sant Quirze de Colera, dating from the end of the 9th or beginning of the 10th century. Remains of the original building remain. At the beginning of the 10th century it was destroyed and replaced by a new one which was consecrated in 935. This building has a basilica floor plan with three naves and a transept, a barrel vault and a triabsidal head with a semicircular apse, modified in the 11th century. The western wing is from the s. XII – XIII, the House of the Abbot is of the s. XI XV. The complex is surrounded by a fortified enclosure of which there are still a tower, walls with loopholes and moats. The cloister retains only two semicircular arches supported on a capital. Currently this jewel of Catalan Romanesque art is in the process of restoration so it can only be visited externally.

Not far from the monastery is the church of Santa Maria de Colera from the s. XII presents / displays a semicircular head with pointed vault. Also noteworthy are the churches distributed by the municipal terms of: Sant Climent Sescebes: Santa Fe dels Solers from the 8th-9th centuries with a trapezoidal head. – Espolla: Sant Martí de Baussitges del SX, with a square head; Sant Genis d’Esprac from the 12th century; Sant Pere dels Vilars from the 10th century with an outdated semicircular head and Sant Miquel de Freixa from the 16th century. XI with semicircular head. – Llançà: Sant Genis del Terrer from the 10th century with an outdated semicircular head, Sant Martí de Vallmala from the 16th century. XI with trapezoidal head and Sant Silvestre de Valleta of the s. X with semicircular head. – Cholera: Sant Miquel de Colera from the 12th-13th centuries, with a semicircular head.

La Jonquera: Sant Martí del Forn del Vidre from the 10th century with the trilobed head, Sant Jaume de Canadal from the 10th century, Sant Pere Pla a l’Arca from the 10th century with a semicircular head overhanging with opus spicatum, Santa Llúcia, the current building dates from the s. XII-XIII, Santa Maria de Requesens del s. XI of two naves and two semicircular apses, was transformed into a farmhouse in the s. XVIII, the portal of the s. XII moved to the chapel of the castle restored in the s. XIX. The original castle of Requesens was built in the 11th and 12th centuries. Of the medieval building only a few bastion locks, a square tower and part of the upper door remain. It was almost completely renovated at the end of the s. XIX by its owner Mr. Tomàs de Rocabertí Dameto count of Peralada. In the same estate of Requesens, on the banks of the Puig Neulós, there is an interesting snow pit dating from 1779, although it was rebuilt in 1992.

Albera Turtle Reproduction Center
It is a facility managed by the organization Amics de la Tortuga de l’Albera (ATA) which is linked to the Natural Park. It is located in the sanctuary of the Virgen del Camp, in Garriguella. It has been created with a view to the reproduction and conservation of the Mediterranean turtle, an endangered species. Starting from individuals who have always lived in captivity, donated by individuals, their breeding is carried out and new individuals are released into their natural habitat. The Center also has specimens of other species of turtles, basically from the Mediterranean basin. Diverse information on the Albera is also given.

Estanys de la Jonquera
It is an area of small ponds and ponds of 30 ha. It is located at the southern end of the municipality of La Jonquera, near the municipalities of Cantallops and Capmany. Gros Lake (3.5 ha) is the only one that has water all year round, while the others – Petit Lake, Baix Lake, Terra Negra Lake, Figa Lake and Els Ullastres – can dry out. -if in dry and hot summers.

During times of migration, many birds find rest and food, especially those that have to cross the Pyrenees in a northerly direction on northerly days. In addition, the presence of a stable body of water makes the area a favorable place for the reproduction of many other animal species, especially amphibians. 115 species of birds, 23 mammals and 24 reptiles and amphibians have been observed and cataloged in the ponds. This area is protected by the General Urban Plan of La Jonquera and is included in the Plan of areas of natural interest (PEIN), approved by Decree 238, of 14 December 1992.

Forest of the Maçana
It is located on the northern slope of the Albera, in the municipality of Algiers (Roussillon), in French territory. It is an interesting ecological reserve, protected as a nature reserve. Located just 5 km from the sea, it is located between 600 and 1,150 m above sea level and has an area of 300 ha. It consists mainly of beech (Fagus sylvatica) and holm oak (Quercus humilis). It has not been exploited since 1850 and contains specimens over 300 years old. In addition to the purely botanical interest, the natural processes of life and death of trees favor the presence of an extremely rich and varied invertebrate fauna: 1,256 species of beetles have been found in an area of only 15 ha.

Cultural heritage
The Sierra de l’Albera, which has the lowest necks in the Pyrenees, has always been a place of passage between the peoples and cultures of Europe and the Iberian Peninsula, but also a place of human settlement. On its southern slopes there is one of the most important concentrations of megalithic monuments in Catalonia, with a chronology between the Middle Neolithic and Chalcolithic (3500-1800 BC). In the municipality of La Jonquera, the dolmens of Canadal, Mas Baleta, Els Mesclants, El Pedreguer and the dolmens and menhirs of Els Estanys stand out; in Espolla, the dolmens of the Cabana d’Arqueta —one of the largest in the Albera—, the Font del Roure, the Arreganyats and the Barranc —with a roof slab with sculpted engravings—, the menhir of Castellar or the hallstatic necropolis of the Vilars, and in Rabós, the dolmens of Coma de Felis, Comes Llobes, Solar d’en Gubert or the menhir of Mas Roquer. Nearby, in Sant Climent Sescebes, there is the remarkable dolmen of La Gutina and themenhir of the Murtra or Gentile Stone.

The Panissars and Pertús passes, both in the municipality of La Jonquera, are the most passable passages in the whole mountain range, crossed by important paths since time immemorial. On the border with France are the ruins of the old monastery of Santa Maria de Panissars (11th century), which served as a road hospital; Recent archaeological excavations have uncovered vestiges of the Roman road and large blocks of stone that have been identified with the remains of Pompey’s trophies on the Via Domitia – Via Augusta (1st century BC).

There is a rich heritage of Romanesque art, the style of the High Middle Ages, when the population of the sector was consolidated. Within the area of the place, the most notable monument is the old Benedictine monastery of Sant Quirze de Colera, documented since the tenth century, which remains the magnificent basilica church and remains of the cloister, monastic outbuildings and fortifications; near it is the old parish of Santa Maria de Colera, also Romanesque, all within the municipality of Rabós, in the valley of Sant Quirze. We should also mention the hermitage of Santa Llúcia (12th-13th centuries), formerly the parish church of Sant Miquel de Solans), the church of Sant Julià dels Torts (12th-13th centuries) and the interesting pre-Romanesque example of Sant Pere del Pla de l’Arca (10th century), in La Jonquera. The old parishes of Sant Martí de Baussitges (10th century) and Sant Genís d’Esprac (12th-13th centuries), pre-Romanesque and Romanesque, respectively, in Espolla; or the hermitage of Sant Quirc and the late Romanesque parish of Sant Julià (13th-14th centuries) in Rabós d’Empordà.

In the municipality of La Jonquera, strategically dominating the hills of the Sierra de l’Albera, there are the remains of the castle of Rocabertí, of a noble lineage linked to the county of Peralada that played a prominent role in the history of Catalonia. They also owned the nearby castle of Requesens, south of Puig Neulós, which was renovated at the end of the 19th century in the fanciful way typical of the so-called architectural romanticism, which Viollet Leduc had put in vogue in France; near it is the sanctuary of Santa Maria de Requesens (18th century), a center of popular devotion. A third castle in the district was that of Canadal, of which there are notable fortifications from the 14th-15th centuries. We can admire beautiful examples of popular architecture and stately homes, such as the Royal Post Office, Ca l’Armet and Can Laporta, in the castle of La Jonquera.

Tags: